私隱 聲明

最後更新日期:21/12/2022

作為 Expedia, Inc. 的一份子,Hotels.com LP, (下稱「我們」) 非常重視你 (亦即客戶) 的需要,並深明私隱對你的重要性。私隱聲明說明我們如何在你使用我們的平台及相關服務時收集、使用及披露數據、你決定我們如何使用所收集和持有的個人資料時的權利,以及聯絡我們的方法。

私隱聲明概覽

私隱聲明概覽如下,如需查閱完整的私隱聲明,請按一下這裡或向下捲動。

私隱聲明涵蓋內容

此私隱聲明旨在說明:

  • 我們收集及使用的個人資料方式及類型
  • 我們分享你資料的時間及對象
  • 在我們收集、使用及分享你的個人資料時可進行的選擇
  • 存取及更新資料的方法

我們使用及收集的個人資料方式及類型

我們會在以下情況下收集個人資料:

  • 你向我們提供資料時
  • 我們自動收集資料時
  • 我們從其他地方獲取資料時

在我們任何一個網站上建立帳戶、註冊以接收優惠或資料,或使用我們的平台預訂時,你需要向我們提供你的個人資料。當你瀏覽我們的網站或下載及使用 App 時,我們亦會在取得你的同意下  (例如適用) 透過自動化技術  (例如瀏覽器 Cookie) 收集有關資料。我們亦會從 Expedia Group 的聯盟夥伴,以及商業夥伴及其他第三方收集資料,協助我們改善平台及相關工具及服務、更新及維持準確紀錄、偵測及調查詐騙行為及更有效地推廣服務。

個人資料的分享方式

我們可能會分享你的個人資料作幾個用途,當中包括:預訂旅遊及/或度假行程、助你規劃行程及/或度假住宿、向你傳遞資訊 (包括於我們發送產品資料及服務或允許你與旅遊服務供應商及/或住宿擁有人溝通時) 及遵守法律。下方的完整私隱聲明會詳述個人資料的分享方式。

你的權利和選擇

你可從多個途徑行使你的數據保護權,如透過電郵中的「取消訂閱」連結、帳戶  (例如適用) 或聯絡客戶服務團隊取消接收市場推廣資訊。私隱聲明會詳列更多你擁有的選擇,以及數據保護的權利及選擇

聯絡我們的方式

完整私隱聲明會詳列我們的私隱慣例。你亦可按下文聯絡我們部分所述的方式與我們聯絡,向我們查詢有關個人資料處理方式的問題,或提出與個人資料有關的要求。

*****************************

私隱聲明

我們所收集的資料類型

手機 App

個人資料的使用

個人資料的分享

你的權利和選擇

國際資料轉移

私隱護盾

APEC 跨境私隱規則體系

安全性

紀錄留存

聯絡我們

私隱聲明更新

我們所收集的資料類型

使用平台、App 或相關工具或服務時,我們可能會於有需要時向你收集以下個人資料:

  • 姓名、用戶名稱、電郵地址、電話號碼,以及住宅、商務及帳單地址 (包括街道及郵政編碼)
  • 經政府發出須用於預訂或識別認證的身分證明文件,例如護照、駕駛執照、政府識別號碼及居住國家/地區 (旅遊保險需要),以及度假屋住宿擁有人的稅務編號
  • 付款卡號碼、到期日、帳單地址及銀行帳號等付款資料
  • 最愛目的地及住宿類型,以及特別膳食及無障礙設施等旅遊相關偏好及要求
  • 會員計劃及會籍資料
  • 出生日期及性別
  • 地理位置
  • 圖像 (包括臉部相片)、影片及其他影音資料
  • 社交媒體帳戶及其他公開資料
  • 與我們的通訊 (例如基於質素保證及培訓用途與客戶服務代表的通話錄音)
  • 你透過我們的網上服務及 App 進行的搜尋、交易及其他互動
  • 合作夥伴與旅客透過平台、群組內對話及旅客協作工具中進行的其他通訊

  • 透過平台進行的搜尋及交易
  • 你向我們提供有關其他人士的資料 (例如旅遊公司或你進行預訂的其他人士)
  • 我們從其他 Expedia Group 公司及第三方 (例如我們的商務夥伴及聯盟夥伴) 以及經授權服務供應商獲取有關你的資料,當中可能包括最新聯絡資料、人口統計資料、興趣及購買記錄,並將有關資料新增至你的帳戶或個人檔案及用於市場研究及分析

我們會在徵得你同意後、又或根據當地法律收集敏感個人資料,當中或包括可能揭示你種族或族裔、宗教或哲學信仰、性取向、以及健康或傷健狀況的資訊。

 

當你安裝任何 App 或使用我們的平台時,我們會自動從你的裝置收集以下類別的資料 (下稱「自動收集資料」):

  • IP 位址
  • 裝置類型
  • 裝置的唯一識別碼
  • 網頁瀏覽器類型 (例如 Firefox、Safari、Chrome 及 Internet Explorer 等)
  • 互聯網服務供應商
  • 作業系統
  • 流動網絡供應商
  • 你的裝置如何與我們的網上服務 (包括已閱覽網頁、已點擊連結、已檢視行程及已使用功能) 互動,以及相關日期及時間
  • 任何導向網站或退出網頁的詳情及一般地理位置 (例如國家/地區或城市)

我們的 Cookie 聲明進一步說明我們如何使用 Cookie 及類似追蹤技術

手機 App

下載或使用我們任何的 App 時,我們會從你的裝置收集若干技術性資料,確保 App 得以妥善運作,並作出私隱聲明所述的其他用途。技術性資料包括:

  • 裝置及電話連線資料,如網絡服務供應商、網絡類型、網絡營運商、用戶識別模組 (「SIM 卡」) 服務供應商及 SIM 卡國家/地區)
  • 作業系統及版本
  • 裝置型號
  • 表現及數據用量
  • 使用數據 (例如 App 存取伺服器的日期及時間)、點擊的功能及連結、搜尋、交易,以及下載至 App 的數據及檔案
  • 已選取或啟用的裝置設定,如 Wi-Fi、全球定位系統(「GPS」) 及藍牙 (可能用於定位服務,受下文所說明的權限限制)
  • 流動裝置設定
  • 其他提供服務所需的技術性資料,如 App 名稱、類型及版本等

定位服務的權限

我們可能會透過 GPS 訊號、手機基站、Wi-Fi 訊號、藍牙或其他技術收集你的裝置位置,視乎你裝置的設定及權限,以及你參與若干計劃的選擇而定。如於首次登入期間或期後透過 App 或其他計劃授權允許於 App 內使用若干定位服務  (例如定位離你最近的可訂住宿),我們就會收集此資料。如需停用 App 的位置功能,你可以登出或更改你的流動裝置設定。

手機 App 分析:

根據你裝置的設定和權限、以及你參與個別計劃的選擇,我們可能會使用科技來追蹤你選擇下載我們 App 的位置,並評估廣告成效。使用此類科技時,我們會盡可能採用去標識化、假名化、加密處理及改進通知等技術,提升私隱度。

個人資料的使用

我們會就以下所述各項用途使用你的個人資料,因應你瀏覽的網站或使用的 App 而定。

網站、App 及服務

  • 行程或度假住宿預訂
  • 提供與預訂及/或帳戶相關的服務
  • 於我們的平台上建立、維護及更新帳戶,並驗證你的用戶身分
  • 維護你的搜尋及旅遊紀錄、住宿及旅遊偏好,以及有關你使用 Expedia Group 平台及服務的類似資料及於本私隱聲明所述的其他資料
  • 啟用及促使接納及處理付款、優惠券及其他交易
  • 管理會員及獎賞計劃
  • 收集及啟用預訂相關的評價
  • 協助你在透過網上服務及部分 Expedia Group 公司網站登入帳戶時更方便快捷地使用我們的服務

通訊及市場推廣

  • 回覆查詢、要求資料及處理資料選擇
  • 允許你與旅遊供應商 (例如酒店及度假住宿擁有人) 溝通
  • 透過文字訊息、電郵、電話、郵件、推送通知或其他通訊平台的訊息與你聯絡,以提供旅遊預訂確認及更新等作市場推廣或本私隱聲明所述的其他用途
  • 我們產品與服務的營銷
  • 對瀏覽及/或購買紀錄等資料進行分析,並使用上述結果,根據你的興趣及喜好優化廣告
  • 評估及分析我們營銷與推廣活動的成效
  • 管理推廣活動,例如比賽、抽獎及類似送贈

其他商務用途及規定

  • 進行調查、市場研究及數據分析
  • 保持、改善、研究及衡量網站及 App、活動、工具及服務的成效
  • 監察或紀錄你與我們的客戶服務團隊及其他代表的通話、對話及其他通訊,以及合作夥伴與旅客於平台上的溝通,以作品質監控、培訓、爭議解決及本私隱聲明所述的用途
  • 建立匯集、匿名或不明身分的數據,讓我們在授權的情況下不受限制地使用及披露該等數據
  • 推廣安全、驗證客戶身分、防止及調查欺詐及未獲授權活動、針對索賠及其他責任作出辯護,以及管理其他風險

  • 遵守適用法律、保障我們及用戶的權利及利益、保護我們以及應對執法、其他法律機關及作為法律程序一部分的要求
  • 遵守適用的安全及反恐、防賄賂、海關與出入境以及其他盡職審查法律及規定
  • 按合法商業目的及在法律允許的情況下經營我們的業務

負責營運你使用之 Expedia 網站 (包括進行預訂) 的 Expedia Group 旗下公司,將會是對你個人資料負責的主要公司,又稱為「管控方」。在你使用多個 Expedia 網站的情況下,網站的各個管控方可能會共同行動,為你提供服務,當中包括我們的整合會員計劃、以單一帳戶存取我們旗下所有網站 (各個網站都可在你所處地方使用),以及其他支援管理和改進我們於 Expedia Group 旗下公司之服務的功能與營運程序,統稱為「聯合管控方」。這對你已作出、且未向任何個別 Expedia Group 旗下公司更新的營銷喜好並無影響。

 

點擊流數據

在若干情況下,我們或會透過點擊流數據來呈現你使用我們網站的情況。點擊流數據整合反映網站訪客行動的一系列活動。我們可能會根據你作出行動的時間及位置來重塑你的網站瀏覽歷程。這些數據主要用於客戶服務目的、驗證索償合法性,又或為我們辯護,亦可能用於其他內部用途,例如改善我們網站的用戶體驗及識別網站故障問題。

敏感個人資料

我們只會將你的敏感個人資料用於收集資料時所述的目的。

 

處理資料的法律基礎

我們只會在以下情況向你收集個人資料:(i) 須使用個人資料來履行與你之間的合約 (例如:管理預訂、處理付款,或應你要求建立帳戶);(ii) 處理資料合乎我們合法權益,而不受制於你的 (下述) 權利;或 (iii) 我們已徵得你同意,才採取行動  (例如在須尋求同意的情況下向你發送市場推廣通訊)。在部分情況下,我們有法律義務向你收集個人資料,例如我們須使用你的交易紀錄來依法履行我們的財務及稅務義務時。

如我們要求你提供個人資料,以符合法例規定或履行與你之間的合約,我們會在相關時間明確說明這一點,並告知你提供個人資料屬強制舉措與否 (以及不提供個人資料的潛在後果)。個別國家及地區允許我們據合法權益處理個人資料。如我們據合法權益 (或任何第三方的合法權益) 收集及使用你的個人資料,此等權益一般如下:在我們向你提供服務所需的情況下,營運或改良我們的平台,並與你通訊;在你聯絡我們時進行保安驗證;解答你的疑問;進行市場推廣;又或偵測或阻截潛在非法活動。

我們或會使用人工智能、機器學習及其他自動決策工具,為你提升用戶體驗,並保障我們的網站安全。

例如,我們或會將此項技術用於以下相關目的:

  • 你在我們網站上看到的排名;
  • 目的地、住宿或玩樂活動推介;
  • 航班價格分析資料及提示;
  • 你向我們網站上載的內容 (例如:你的住宿圖片),以確保素材符合我們的品質或格式要求,並識別你住宿內容中包含的相關設施服務;
  • 你與我們分享的評論,以確保相關評論不包含可識別身分的個人資料,又或評估客戶滿意度;
  • 預防及偵測違反我們條款及細則的行為,又或其他欺詐活動,以保障我們的網站安全;
  • 我們智能助理體驗所用的語言及方言。

我們或會將你的個人資料輸入系統,透過自動程序計算適用決定,以作出自動決策。

如個別決策涉及法律問題或具有同等影響力,我們不會僅以個人資料自動處理流程為基礎,作出自動決策,以下情況除外:(1) 你明確同意處理資料;(2) 處理程序屬簽訂合約的必要元素;或 (3) 適用法律另有授權。

你擁有與自動化決策程序相關的權利,當中包括要求改為進行人手決策,又或對僅以自動處理系統為基礎的決策提出異議。如需進一步了解你的資料保護權利,請參閱下文的「你的權利和選擇」部分。

個人資料的分享

我們會按下文及本私隱聲明所述,在適用法律允許下分享你的個人資料。

  • Expedia Group 旗下公司。我們會與 expediagroup.com 中所載的 Expedia Group 公司分享你的個人資料。誠如本私隱聲明所述,Expedia Group 旗下公司 (在適用情況下以獨立或聯合資料管控方身分) 會分享存取權,並使用你的個人資料。
  • 第三方服務供應商:我們會與第三方就服務提供及業務營運 (例如提供信用卡處理、客戶服務、業務分析及詐騙預防及合規服務,並提供符合你興趣的廣告) 分享個人資料。此等第三方服務供應商必須保護我們與其分享的個人資料,除為我們提供合約中規定的服務外,不得出於其他目的使用任何可直接識別個人身分的個人資料。除非你已根據第三方提供的條款另行與第三方達成共識,否則第三方服務供應商不得將我們分享的個人資料用於其直接行銷的用途。
  • 旅遊供應商:我們會與旅遊相關的供應商分享個人資料,包括酒店、航空公司、租車公司、保險公司、出租度假屋擁有人及管理人,以及為你預訂提供服務的活動供應商、鐵路或遊輪公司。旅遊供應商可能會聯絡你獲取可以助你預訂或以其他方式提供旅遊或相關服務所需的額外資料。
  • 商業合作夥伴及優惠:如我們與第三方商業合作夥伴共同推廣計劃或提供服務或產品,我們會與該合作夥伴分享你的資料,協助進行市場推廣或提供相關產品或服務。在大部分情況下,計劃或優惠會列明第三方商業合作夥伴的名稱 (可單獨或與我們的名稱一併出現),或你會收到將重新導向至該公司網站的通知。第三方會員計劃是這種商業合作夥伴關係的其中一個例子,讓你透過我們平台上的預訂賺取積分。
  • 針對性廣告。我們或會向第三方營銷合作夥伴披露你的自動收集資料,以放送針對性廣告。根據加州法律,針對性廣告可視為「共享」資料。受若干限制影響,美國部分居民有權選擇不據此目的披露個人資料。詳情請參閱下方「你的權利和選擇」部分。請注意,如選擇不披露此類資料,或會對我們造成限制,以致我們無法以你可能感興趣的內容打造個人化體驗或提供更佳旅遊體驗。請參閱我們的 Cookie 聲明,進一步了解我方使用追蹤技術放送針對性廣告的詳情。
  • 其他第三方:透過某些功能 (例如 Facebook 的「讚好」按鈕或單一登入功能) 使用社交媒體登入資料登入我們的網上服務時,網站瀏覽紀錄或與我們的互動等資料會與社交媒體公司等第三方分享。在歐洲經濟區 (EEA)、瑞士及英國,除非你同意我們使用 Cookie 及類似技術,否則我們不會在網站上載入社交媒體分享或登入按鈕。如需了解更多資料,請參閱 Cookie 聲明。第三方供應商可能會將此資料與其有關你的其他資料合併。所分享的個人資料將受第三方供應商的私隱政策規管,包括任何我們經由第三方供應商存取的個人資料。第三方供應商應通知你修改其網站上私隱設定的方法。 
  • 律權利及義務:在以下情況中,我們或會披露你的個人資料及相關紀錄:執行公司政策;滿足稅務或其他監管報告規定 (包括處理付款時匯交若干稅項);在適用法律允許 (或基於誠信原則認為有此需要) 的情況下,例如回應與實際或是擬議的訴訟有關的傳召或其他法律要求;或保護和捍衛我們的財產、人員以及其他權利或利益。
  • 公司交易:我們或會因分拆、合併、整合、分配或出售資產或破產 (可能性非常低) 等公司交易分享你的個人資料。如出現任何收購情況,我們會通知買方你的個人資料僅作本私隱聲明所述的用途。

你的權利和選擇

你擁有的個人資料權利及選擇如下:

  • 如你擁有我們的帳戶,你可以透過以下方式變更通訊偏好:(1) 登入和更新帳戶中的資料 (不適用於所有 Expedia Group 旗下公司);(2) 於這裡與我們聯絡。
  • 你可以遵循 Cookie 聲明中的指南,控制我們對某些 Cookie 的使用方式

Privacy Statement

 

Last Updated: September 11, 2023

Hotels.com, LP, a subsidiary of Expedia, Inc. (“we” or “us”) values you as our customer and recognizes that privacy is important to you. This Privacy Statement explains how we collect, use, and disclose data when you use our platform and associated services, your rights in determining what we do with the information that we collect or hold about you and tells you how to contact us.

Privacy Statement Summary

This is a summary of our Privacy Statement. To review our Privacy Statement in full, please click here, or scroll down.

What does this Privacy Statement cover?

This Privacy Statement is designed to describe:

  • How and what type of personal information we collect and use
  • When and with whom we share your personal information
  • What choices you can make about how we collect, use, and share your personal information
  • How you can access and update your information.

What personal information do we collect and use, and how do we collect it?

We collect personal information when:

  • You give us the information
  • We collect it automatically
  • We receive it from others

When you create an account on one of our sites, sign up to receive offers or information, or make a booking using our platform, you give us your personal information. We also collect such information through automated technology such as cookies placed on your browser, with your consent where applicable, when you visit our sites or download and use our Apps. We also receive information from affiliated companies within Expedia Group, as well as business partners and other third-parties, which help us improve our platform and associated tools and services, update and maintain accurate records, potentially detect and investigate fraud, and more effectively market our services. 

How is your personal information shared?

Your personal information may be shared for several purposes, including: to help you book your travel and/or vacation, assist with your travel and/or vacation stay, communicate with you (including when we send information on products and services or enable you to communicate with travel providers and/or property owners), and comply with the law. The full Privacy Statement below details how personal information is shared below.

What are your rights and choices?

You can exercise your data protection rights in various ways. For example, you can opt out of marketing by clicking the “unsubscribe” link in the emails, in your account as applicable, or contacting our customer service. Our Privacy Statement has more information about the options and data protection rights and choices available to you.

How to contact us

More information about our privacy practices is in our full Privacy Statement. You can also contact us as described below in the “Contact Us” section to ask questions about how we handle your personal information or make requests about your personal information.

*****************************

Privacy Statement

Categories of Personal Information We Collect

Mobile Apps

Use of Personal Information

Sharing of Personal Information

Your Rights and Choices

International Data Transfer

Data Privacy Framework

APEC Cross Border Privacy Rules System Participation

Security

Record Retention

Contact Us

Updates to Privacy Statement

Categories of Personal Information We Collect

When you use our platform, Apps, or associated tools or services, we may collect the following kinds of personal information from you as needed:

  • Name, username, email address, telephone number, and home, business, and billing addressees (including street and postal code)
  • Government issued Identification required for booking or identity verification, such as passport, driver’s license, government redress numbers, and country of residence (for travel insurance purposes), and for vacation property owners, tax identification number
  • Payment information such as payment card number, expiration date, billing address, and financial account number
  • Travel-related preferences and requests such as favorite destination and accommodation types, and special dietary and accessibility needs, as available
  • Loyalty program and membership information
  • Birth date and gender
  • Geolocation
  • Images (including facial photographs), videos, and other recordings
  • Social media account ID and other publicly available information
  • Communications with us (such as recordings of calls with customer service representatives for quality assurance and training purposes)
  • Searches you conduct, transactions, and other interactions with you on our online services and Apps
  • Other communications that occur through the platform among partners and travelers, and in-group chat and traveler-collaboration tools 
  • The searches and transactions conducted through the platform
  • Data you give us about other people, such as your travel companions or others for whom you are making a booking
  • Information we receive about you from other Expedia Group companies and third parties such as our business and affiliate partners and authorized service providers which may include updated contact information, demographic information, interests, and purchase history, which we may add to your account or profile and use for market research and analysis

We collect sensitive personal information either with consent or in accordance with local law. This may include information which could reveal your racial or ethnic origin, religious or philosophical beliefs, sexual orientation and health or disability information.

 

When you install any of our apps or use our platform, we automatically collect the following types of information from your device (“Automatically Collected Information”):

  • IP address
  • Device type
  • Unique device identification numbers
  • Internet browser-type (such as Firefox, Safari, Chrome, and Internet Explorer)
  • Internet Service Provider
  • Operating System
  • Mobile carrier
  • How your device has interacted with our online services, including the pages accessed, links clicked, trips viewed, and features used, along with associated dates and times
  • Details of any referring website or exit pages, as well as general geographic location (such as at the country or city-level)

Our Cookie Statement further explains how we use cookies and similar tracking technology.

Mobile Apps

When you download and use any of our mobile apps, we collect certain technical information from your device to enable the app to work properly and as otherwise described in this Privacy Statement. That technical information includes:

  • Device and telephone connectivity information such as your carrier, network type, network operator, subscriber identity module ("SIM") operator, and SIM country
  • Operating system and version
  • Device model
  • Performance and data usage
  • Usage data, such as dates and times the app accesses our servers, the features and links clicked in the app, searches, transactions, and the data and files downloaded to the app
  • Device settings selected or enabled, such as Wi-Fi, Global Positioning System ("GPS"), and Bluetooth (which may be used for location services, subject to your permission as explained below)
  • Mobile device settings
  • Other technical information such as app name, type, and version as needed to provide you with services

Permissions for Location-Based Services:

Depending on your device’s settings and permissions and your choice to participate in certain programs, we may collect the location of your device by using GPS signals, cell phone towers, Wi-Fi signals, Bluetooth or other technologies. We will collect this information, if you opt in through the app or other program (either during your initial login or later) to enable certain location-based services available within the app (for example, locating available lodging closest to you). To disable location capabilities of the app, you can log off or change your mobile device’s settings.

Mobile App Analytics:

Depending on your device’s settings and permissions and your choice to participate in certain programs, we may use technology to track where you chose to download our app and to measure advertising effectiveness. When we use this kind of technology, we will use privacy enhancing technologies such as de-identification, pseudonymization, encryption and improved notice where possible.

Use of Personal Information

We use your personal information for various purposes described below, which depend on the site you visit or the app you use. 

Your Use of Online Sites, Apps, and Services:

  • Book the requested travel or enable vacation property booking
  • Provide services related to the booking and/or account
  • Create, maintain, and update user accounts on our platform and authenticate you as a user
  • Maintain your search and travel history, accommodation and travel preferences, and similar information about your use of Expedia Group’s platform and services, and as otherwise described in this Privacy Statement
  • Enable and facilitate acceptance and processing of payments, coupons, and other transactions
  • Administer loyalty and rewards programs
  • Collect and enable booking-related reviews
  • Help you to use our services faster and easier through features like the ability to sign-in using your account within the online services and sites of some of the Expedia Group companies

Communications and Marketing:

  • Respond to your questions, requests for information, and process information choices
  • Enable communication between you and the travel supplier like hotels and vacation property owners
  • Contact you (such as by text message, email, phone calls, mail, push notifications, or messages on other communication platforms) to provide information like travel booking confirmations and updates, for marketing purposes, or for other purposes as described in this Privacy Statement
  • Market our products and services
  • Analyze information such as browsing and/or purchase history and use the result to optimize advertising in accordance with your interests and preferences
  • Measure and analyze the effectiveness of our marketing and promotions
  • Administer promotions like contests, sweepstakes, and similar giveaways

Other Business Purposes and Compliance

  • Conduct surveys, market research, and data analytics
  • Maintain, improve, research, and measure the effectiveness of our sites and apps, activities, tools, and services
  • Monitor or record calls, chats, and other communications with our customer service team and other representatives, as well as platform communications between or among partners and travelers for quality control, training, dispute resolution, and as described in this Privacy Statement
  • Create aggregated or otherwise anonymized or deidentified data, which we may use and disclose without restriction where permissible
  • Promote security, verify identity of our customers, prevent and investigate fraud and unauthorized activities, defend against claims and other liabilities, and manage other risks
  • Comply with applicable laws, protect our and our users’ rights and interest, defend ourselves, and respond to law enforcement, other legal authorities, and requests that are part of a legal process
  • Comply with applicable security and anti-terrorism, anti-bribery, customs and immigration, and other such due diligence laws and requirements
  • Operate our business using lawful business purposes and as permitted by law

The Expedia company responsible for the Expedia site you are using (including to make your booking) will be the main company responsible for your Personal Information, known as the controller. Where you use multiple Expedia sites, then each controller of those sites may act together to give you access to services such as our combined loyalty program, single account access to all out sites (each as they become available where you are) and for other support functions and operations to manage and improve our services across the Expedia Group companies. These are called joint controllers. This will not affect any marketing preferences that you have made and not updated with any particular Expedia company.

 

Clickstream data

In certain instances, we may use clickstream data to render an illustration of your usage of our site. Clickstream data is the collection of a sequence of events that represent visitor actions on a website. We may reconstruct your site journey modeled on the timing and location of your actions. This data is primarily used for customer service purposes, to verify the legitimacy of a claim, or to defend ourselves. This data may also be used for other internal purposes such as improving the user experience on our website and identifying website malfunctions.

Sensitive Personal Information

We will only use your sensitive personal information for the purposes for which it was collected.

 

Lawful bases for processing:

We will collect personal information from you only (i) where the personal information is necessary to perform a contract with you (e.g., manage your booking, process payments, or create an account at your request), (ii) where the processing is in our legitimate interests and not overridden by your rights (as explained below), or (iii) where we have your consent to do so (e.g., sending you marketing communications where consent is required). In some cases, we will have a legal obligation to collect personal information from you such as where it is necessary to use your transaction history to complete our financial and tax obligations under the law.

If we ask you to provide personal information to comply with a legal requirement or to perform a contract with you, we will make this clear at the relevant time and advise you whether the provision of your personal information is mandatory or not (as well as of the possible consequences if you do not provide your personal information). Certain countries and regions allow us to process personal information on the basis of legitimate interests. If we collect and use your personal information in reliance on our legitimate interests (or the legitimate interests of any third-party), this interest will typically be to operate or improve our platform and communicate with you as necessary to provide our services to you, for security verification purposes when you contact us, to respond to your queries, undertaking marketing, or for the purposes of potentially detecting or preventing illegal activities. 

We may use artificial intelligence, machine learning, and other automated decision-making to enhance your user experience and keep our site safe.

For example, we may use it in relation to:

  • the sort order you see on our site,
  • destinations, property or activity recommendations,
  • flight price insights and alerts,
  • the content you upload on our site (e.g., images of your properties) to ensure they meet our quality or formatting requirements, and to identify relevant amenities included in your listing,
  • the reviews you share with us to ensure they do not contain identifiable personal information or to assess customer satisfaction,
  • the prevention and detection of breach of our terms and conditions or other fraudulent activities to keep our site safe,
  • our language and dialects within our virtual agents’ experience.

Automated decisions may be made by putting your personal information into a system and the decision is calculated using automatic processes.

We will not engage in automated decision-making that involves a decision with legal or similarly significant effects solely based on automated processing of personal information, unless you: (1) explicitly consented to the processing, (2) the processing is necessary for entering into a contract, or (3) when otherwise authorized by applicable law.

You may have rights in relation to automated decision making, including the ability to request a manual decision-making process instead or contest a decision based solely on automated processing. If you want to know more about your data protection rights, please see the Your Rights and Choices section below.

Sharing of Personal Information

We sha