All hotels in San Francisco, California, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
2 New Montgomery St, San Francisco, CA, 94105, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.5 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 84 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.6
  • Service
    4.5
  • Comfort
    4.5
  • Condition
    4.5
  • Neighborhood
    4.5
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next >
5.0 / 5Outstanding
This is an amazing hotel. Simply beautiful in the heart of San Francisco.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Aug 21, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Just Fantastic!"
Great hotel. Everything was gorgeous and the people working there were courteous, efficient and professional. The only issue we had was a shower that didn't drain really fast... and that's nitpicking at its best. A+!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Aug 14, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Top notch"
This was my first stay at the Palace, and I would go back again any time. The renovations have kept the feel of an old luxurious hotel, but with fresh, contemporary features. Our room was quiet -- facing the courtyard -- and the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave. The concierge was extraordinary -- patient, with detailed suggestions answering any question. My only complaint is that there was a charge for the Wifi in the rooms ($8 a day). Eventually I hope that high-end hotels will respond to competitive pressure and offer free wifi.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jul 30, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect romantic getaway"
A beautiful, well appointed hotel. Great location. Steeped in history and tradition. Would go back again in a minute!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 31, 2015
Susan
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Horrible Customer service for "high class" hotel"
Nice hotel, horrible customer service. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 31, 2015
Shane
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"The Palace is Classic SF Lodging"
This is not the first time that we have stayed at the Palace. Great location on Market Street... 20 minute walk to ATT Park... We checked in early and went to the SF Giants game. Upon return to the hotel from game, our luggage was at our room quickly. 10 minute walk to Union Square... We had an inside room that was very quiet. Well appointed room with comfortable bed... Valet and Bell service is excellent. The gym and pool are nice. We had night cap drinks in the bar, and service was good. One downside is that the main dining room is closed for remodeling.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Birthday weekend"
Just remodeled so very nice...people all super friendly and a very strategic spot for everything San Francisco!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 24, 2015
David
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Classic luxury, modern remodel"
Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great job remodeling a classic hotel. They are dog friendly with larger dogs. I was shocked but my dog loved the hotel as well. I didn't try any of the dining or amenities, but the room and hotel were great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 18, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Hotel is beautiful. Service is impeccable. Loved the Pied Piper bar!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 17, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
There was an issue with the AC unit in the Standard room I had booked and the front desk quickly upgraded me to a suite with a view. 5 Star Service.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 18, 2015
Daniel
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent weekend getaway!"
Excellent location! The staff was so friendly & helpful. The concierge helped us select several restaurants based on the style of food that we were interested in. The newly redecorated rooms were very comfortable. We will stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jul 16, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Historic Hotel"
The Palace Hotel was a great place to stay. Not only is it in the business center area of San Francisco, it is a wonderful property with an historic past. It is also situated near some very good restaurants.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 16, 2015
Cheryl
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Hotel!"
From the gentleman at the front desk that checked us in to everyone there, the service was excellent. Great food too!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 4, 2015
Michael
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"SF trip"
Awesome Hotel
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jun 25, 2015
David
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good hotel. Good location if you love shopping."
Hotel has been renovated and is much much nicer than before. Before it felt like being trapped at grandma's house. Front desk was friendly. Security guard wasn't very friendly tho.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 27, 2015
Eric
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Wonderful but stayed next to an employee entrance which was loud.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jun 26, 2015
Gary
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Romantic Getaway"
My wife and I had a 24 hour getaway from our 3 year old twins. The hotel is beautiful. We had high tea. The bed was fantastic. The room was great. The staff were great. The one chink in the armor was that we had problems with our key cards throughout the stay. Otherwise, it was perfect.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 27, 2015
Michael
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A wonderful splurge in SF"
This was not our first get away to SF, nor will it be the last. When we go, we love to stay at the Palace. Comfortable, convenient, and takes you back to a time when only certain people could stay at a hotel like this.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 20, 2015
Christine
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"WORST Hotel Experience I've Ever Had"
I eventually did get one or two hours of sleep. We were on the 6th floor and I could hear Market like it was the 1st. How you put a room facing such a noisy street without any noise cancellation is beyond me. And why are people honking their horns and backing up trucks at all hours of night? This is after: 1. I waited from 3:30 until 4:30 for them to prepare my room (check-in at 3:00). And they didn't call to let me know, so I ended up going to the front desk and waiting in line for 15 minutes just to be told "Yes, I think your room is ready." 2. The keys they gave me for my room that was half a block away didn't work the first time. 3. The first room they prepared had no bath tub, when the only thing I wrote in my booking was that I wanted a bath tub. 4. The bath tub in my new room is literally too shallow to cover my size 9 feet. 5. The TV, which I had put on a nice relaxing channel reset itself 3 minutes after I got in the bath, which means I was stuck with the default channel, which had on football, a lovely relaxing sport.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 14, 2015
Robert
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great location!"
The location was perfect walking distances from many of the places we wanted to go.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip May 29, 2015
Kelly
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Absolutely gorgeous"
My husband and I live in the peninsula and we were looking for a last minute getaway, as well as an excuse to stay in San Francisco. During our hotels.com search, we noticed The Palace was having a "last minute" deal so we took it! Words cannot describe the beauty of this hotel. Everything from the room, to the bed, to the bathroom, to the location of the hotel itself: PERFECT! We wish we could have stayed longer, but we promised each other that we would come back!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Apr 17, 2015
Jessica
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"WATCH YOUR LUGGAGE!!! TAKE YOURSELF"
WE LEFT OUR BELONGINS WITH STAFF TO BRING TO OUR ROOM. EVIDENTLY THEY WERE BACKED UP AND NOBODY WAS WATCHING OUR LUGGAGE BECAUSE WE HAD A BAG STOLEN. NOT JUST US BUT OTHER CUSTOMERS AS WELL GOT THEIR BELONGINGS STOLEN. HOTEL TOOK LONG TIME GETTING BACK TO US. THEY SAW MAN TAKING LUGGAGE ON THEIR FOOTAGE TAPES. NOT SURE WHAT HAPPENED. HOTEL NEVER FOLLOWED UP
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"New Years Excursion"
Great location to spend New Years.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 31, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"First Time Stay"
The Palace was wonderful. The only hang-up was all of the refurbishment that was going on while we were there. But other than that, it was very nice and the entire staff was super friendly. Definitely coming back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great staff eagerly waiting their hotel remodel"
Hotel is in the middle of getting ready for a remodel. Wait to come here, after May of next year 2015 for the new rooms and then I can rate it a 5. They worked hard to make us happy. Rooms are just dated and need the update for now.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 13, 2014
Tonya
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"SF Classic Hotel"
Shopping wknd in SF
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 13, 2014
Noelle
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"very nice"
very nice stay at the palace. valet staff and front desk staff made first impression fantastic...Debbie(concierge)was terrific. She took the time from her duties to give us a private tour of the ballroom/public areas of the hotel and told us wonderful anecdotes of the property. This type of customer service is what makes for a memorable stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Nov 29, 2014
jason
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Property, Tiny dated rooms. Still great."
Amazing property but the rooms lagged in fit and finish for the level of the hotel. Everything was a bit on the older side. Still perfectly clean and nice, just not up to par for the grandeur of the hotel itself. Very small rooms as well.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Nov 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Even more than I expected!!"
Great Location, Historic Hotel with lots of Class. We really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel staff really friendly and wanting to please. Perfect location right off Market St, central to so many of the highlights of the city. Will stay again!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Nov 22, 2014
Francee
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Quickie getaway"
What a great hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Nov 24, 2014
fred
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"nice trip"
first time visit to san Francisco, the palace is centrally located.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Oct 23, 2014
Peter
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Grand opulence"
We had a late arrival and they were sold out of the standard room we had booked so they graciously upgraded us to a beautiful suite which was amazing, and also extended our checkout. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean and amazingly impressive in its old world opulence. While expensive, it was comparable to other luxury hotels and worth every penny. We had a great stay and will definitely return.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 25, 2014
Scott and Dave
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great hotel"
Stayed one night at this beautiful and elegant hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean and the staff very helpful. Would love to stay here for several days on another visit.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 10, 2014
John
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"As beautiful as you've always heard."
Stayed for on night when in town to attend a concert. The building is justly renowned for it's beauty and elegance. The location is good and relatively easy to get to. The room was a "Superior" and was very spacious. The furnishings and decor were wonderful, the bath delightful. The Pied Piper Grill is beautiful, overseen by Maxwell Parrish's breathtaking mural of the fairy tale. Negatives? At this price and in this business so aware of it's status and excellence you will be charged for WiFi and you will find use of the computers in the business center has hefty charges for internet access plus a hefty per minute fee. Most FAR lesser properties include these services in their usually less substantial room charges.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 11, 2014
Donald
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Right in the middle of it all"
The Palace is fantastic. It was also near impossible to get to by car when POTUS, Blue Angels, and Friday afternoon converge. Nevertheless, we wanted the big city experience and the Palace Hotel was the jewel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 10, 2014
Eric
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"good location and nice public rooms"
Not pleased with being assigned a handicapped room. That is not what I had requested.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Sep 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great stay / Breakfast at the Palace is a must"
We definitely enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Palace Hotel in August 2014. Congratulations for the buffet breakfast: the pancakes were to die for, and having such good food in the morning in such a fancy looking location (the "Garden") was the best start for our day. Furthermore, the hotel design feels classy and old at the same time, but I appreciated staying in a place which looked different from all the modern hotels out there. Our room was big and comfortable, with high ceilings and a lot of natural light. Some of the furniture pieces showed some signs of wear, but it felt understandable to me. The only downturn was the bathroom which was not outstanding for some reason. It just felt somewhat "cheap" compared to the rest of the hotel. Also, drying towels right above the toilets is something I personally find highly unhygienic.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Aug 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
The lunch that we had in the Pub & Grill was delicious and hearty.The room was spotless and quiet with a fantastically comfortable bed. The only thing that we missed was a coffee/tea pot to make beverages in our room. Room service would have amounted to about $12.00 just to have my morning tea! That's a bit steep for us.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 4, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Used to be amazing :("
The Palace used to be an amazing, special getaway location. Lately though, it seems to be in need of some updating. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff is attentive, but there are little touches that make this less than a luxury-class hotel. For example, the lamp shades in my room were yellowed and stained, the furniture had some significant scratching, and the carpets are either in need of replacement or a deep cleaning. Aside from that, the rest of the amenities made the room where we stayed just a basic, simple room -- nothing as elegant or special as the rest of the hotel would have you believe you were getting.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 4, 2014
Jeff
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Anniversary stay"
Everything was excellent. Only a minor problem with the room service ignoring the don't disturb sign on the door
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 21, 2014
Good guest
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
ther is no coffe maker in the room it is very important ,the hotel is beutiful and in a grate location/
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip May 16, 2014
nava
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beautiful hotel"
We loved this historic hotel, the lobby is gorgeous. Our room had no view but was the quietest hotel room we've ever had in the city. Hotel staff helpful and friendly. Very fast service from everyone. We enjoyed the location and walked everywhere except Aaron night. Will definitely return!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip May 16, 2014
PM
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"close to all sights"
Extremely comfortable, nice and quite, convenience, great location
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Apr 17, 2014
Rog and Rose
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel, but very dated"
Very nice posh hotel, but missed many modern features, such as free wifi, or power plugs in the room to charge your phone at night. We stayed 4 nights and on two of the nights we were distrubed by loud guests. Not the hotel's fault, but indication of the thickness of the walls. Otherwise, the hotel was in a great spot, and the staff were very friendly.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Mar 28, 2014
Andrew
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
The stay was great..parking was very expensive
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 3, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel in a great location"
Centrally located near Union Square and the Bart station and Muni stop are literally outside its doors on Market--so convenient to just leave your car in the garage. Also necessary because this area is always busy, and in my case with the President in town, essential. As a high-end hotel with historic significance, the facilities, staff, the comfort of the room, etc., are all superb and to be expected. The dining room is a marvel and well worth the price (plus good service).
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Nov 23, 2013
Robert
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Pure Romance"
We had a lovely stay at The Palace. Upon check-in, we mentioned we were on our honeymoon. When we entered our room, it was cozy, romantic and very clean. As we were freshening up for dinner, we heard a knock on the door. We were surprised with a bottle of chilled champagne, delightful chocolates and a hand written note from Adriana at the front desk congratulating us. We loved exploring this beautiful hotel, eating at their delicious pub and reading about it's history! Thank you...we WILL be back!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Aug 6, 2013
Kelli & Emil
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Simply stunning"
We were not familiar with the hotel and picked it based on other Hotels.com reviews. We were NOT disappointed. The hotel is stunning, the guest rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. Great place to stay when visiting San Francisco!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Aug 2, 2013
Michele
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"historic hotel"
hotel hospitality wonderful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 29, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"One nighter in SF"
My husband and I found our room to be very comfortable and quiet. I guess got lucky. The others we traveled with had noisy neighbors. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very comfortable as was the bed. The only think I would add is a mini bar. We enjoyed tea at hotel on Sat and it was delicious although service was very slow. Would definitely stay again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip May 24, 2013
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next >