All hotels in San Francisco, California, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
2 New Montgomery St, San Francisco, CA, 94105, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
4.6 / 5Outstanding

Score breakdown (from 143 reviews)

  • Amenities
    Great amenities
  • Vibe
    Awesome vibe
  • Pool
    Great pool
  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • Food
    Food is all right
  • WiFi
    Bad internet service
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"How did I not know of this beatiful hotel?!?"
It exceeded our expectations. Very historical. Truly a lovely hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jan 8, 2016
john
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"excellent and smooth"
great location. easy to park 1 block away at paramount garage. the grove nearby is excellent for breakfast.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 2, 2016
Norman S
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Bucket List Hotel ended up being a Dump List Hotel"
This was a Horrible Experience We waited 2-hours until we were checked in No Bath robes as advertised No Slippers as advertised No free coffee in the gym area or lobby area as advertised Curtain Rod-Nobs fell off when I tried to close the drapes Rude Staff - The Manager ignored me - Another employee was extremely rude. when I asked what his name was, he looked down on me and said "What is you name". Cold Hotel Lobby. I go to these hotel because I want to feel special, not to be ignored and insulted. I go to many Luxury Hotels all over the world and this was a 1-star for Service and Amenities
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 1, 2016
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
We were not able to check in until 5pm as the hotel guest from the night before we all checking out late and the staff could not keep up with preparing the rooms for the new guest. We were told that our room was being cleaned and we should be able to check in within the next 30 minutes; we were told this several times by several different employees. Front desk staff was very busy and rude. Jake was terrific; he resolved the check in issue and was able to compensate us with valet and gave us a food and beverage voucher to use in the hotel. Once we checked in our stay was nice. We ate at the hotel's restaurant, the Pied Piper; the food was good and the staff was friendly. Great location, near the Ferry Building, walking distance to Union Square and many great restaurants.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jan 1, 2016
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Rooms are smaller than represented / Lousy service"
This hotel doesn't have its 'stuff' together and misrepresents the room sizes. I booked a grand deluxe room and was given a Superior room (2 grades down). The hotel tried to tell me I was in a Deluxe room. Their website says a Deluxe room is 360 sqft. However I measured the room, and it was only 286 sqft, which is slightly smaller than the promised size of a Superior room (300 sqft). I had to interact with the front desk multiple times to resolve the problem. Each time there was no follow-through. The problems didn't end there. The room wasn't serviced in between our two nights, posted times for the restaurant and bar were different based on where you looked, room services trays were left in the hallways for hours. No turn down service...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 27, 2015
Damien
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Keep me hanging on...."
They weren't ready too check us in, spent 2 1/2 hours in the lobby waiting to get room...not what you would expect from a "luxury" hotel...but the room was very nice .
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 1, 2016
troy
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Disappointed in The Palace hotel"
The Palace is lovely and impressive hotel, but for a hotel of such stature it fell short. There was no free wifi in the room. In this day and age, wifi is almost as important to most guests as running water. All hotels should have free wifi in the rooms, however The Palace charges for wifi, and although they said there was free wifi in the lobby, it did not work. There is no excuse for such an upscale hotel to charge for wifi. If McDonalds and Starbucks can provide wifi for free, so can The Palace. We booked the breakfast because we looked forward to enjoying it in the beautiful hotel Atrium. However, on New Years Day, of all days, the breakfast was served in the the rather dark and cold Pied Piper restaurant. It was quite a disappointment. If we had known ahead of time where the breakfast would be served, we would not have booked it.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 31, 2015
Stephen
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel. Be ready for a great stay."
Of our 7 day tour of Northern California, including three nights in San Francisco, this was our favorite hotel stay. We felt pampered from the minute we pulled up. The dining area is beautiful. Brunch, while spendy at $38 per person, was excellent. On the other hand, valet parking was included so I think. This offset thedining expenses. Would definitely return! Well done.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 26, 2015
Kevin M.
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"In the lap of luxury"
Loved it. Historical. Luxurious. Quiet. Convenient.
Genuine Venere guest review
3 night romance trip Dec 25, 2015
mark
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Awesome historical hotel!"
I alway s think it is a bit helpful to add a bit about what kind of person is traveling! I am the picky one of the couple! I am happy eating at a diner, or a four star restaurant as long as it is done well for that particular genre, if that makes sense. The Palace is super fun. Historical, fancy, with very well trained from desk, valet and servers. These are professionals, and just know how to do it! Be sure to read the square footage, these are smallish rooms, but we were aware of the square footage and felt that the space was utilized well and the super tall ceilings added a lot to the perception of the size of space. ALSO....heated toilet with bidet! Whoop whoop! Location wise, it was I think in the SOMA area which does not feel too super neighborhoody, but a perfect locale for launching and getting to know some of the smaller neighborhoods! I usually love modern hotels, and steer away from older hotels because the Victorian touches are not my preference. The Palace has blended modern and classic touches without it feeling stuffy, or a coach of centuries. Breakfast is crazy spendy but you are paying for the unbelievable space, and solid eats. The atrium is beautiful!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 11, 2015
Beth
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Grand Stay at a Gran Hotel"
Excellent stay in one of the grand hotels. There's something special about a hotel that's been defining luxury for more than 100 years. Service is top notch. The ambiance is from a different era. A night here is more than a stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 4, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Thank you for allowing a late check out!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 4, 2015
Lisa w
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
The staff was extremely friendly, and the hotel was beautiful. My only complaint is that the room smelled very strongly of smoke, even though it is a non-smoking hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 5, 2015
Laura
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful and elegant hotel"
The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holiday season, and the overall atomosphere was very friendly and elegant. This is also the first hotel that I had stayed in that had an automatic bidet toilet seat. The bed was comfortable and the people were friendly, checking in and out was a breeze. Would stay again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 5, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect in San Francisco"
Weekend getaway with my fiancé and this was perfect choice. Everything about it lived up to expectations. Perfect stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Nov 27, 2015
Scott
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful, classic hotel"
Beautiful lobby, enjoyable to enter and exit from. The rooms were small but not cramped. The bed and pillow were very comfortable. Not much of a view from the room, but that's ok. I didn't interact that much with the staff, but they were pleasant and professional.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Nov 24, 2015
khurram
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A perfect and unique place to stay!"
Great location and a georgeous old hotel with lots of history and charm. Everything and everyone was very nice, helpful and polite. The room was spotless and comfortable. No noise issues which lead to a great two nights of sleep. Smooth stay from check-in to check-out. Would be happy to stay there again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Nov 20, 2015
Sandra
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
We had a great stay. Everything was first class!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Nov 18, 2015
mark
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wonderful weekend in San Francisco"
We really enjoyed out stay. The hotel was perfectly located with a coffee shop around the corner and a ghiradelli store inside. There was also a brunch/lunch spot The Grove that was delicious and had a nice view if you sat outside. There were taxis outside of the hotel so you could easily get to where you wanted to go stress free. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. If we return to San Francisco we would definitely stay here again!|
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Nov 13, 2015
Kaitlin
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Service can be better..."
The hotel itself was beautiful. The service can be better, especially for a luxury hotel at this price. We had to ask for additional shower gels and water bottles twice. Also, I requested to be on a higher floor and additional pillows which were not accomodated. Not a big deal, but most luxury hotels I've been to have always paid attention to requests, if I had any upon arrival. Other than that, the room was in great shape. Well maintained. Great bedding and soft large pillows.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Nov 7, 2015
Carmela
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wonderful Romantic Getaway"
The hotel was beautiful and extremely well kept.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 30, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"SF native on vacation"
It was a last minute selection that exceeded our expectations...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 24, 2015
Judith
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"SF adventure"
Second stay at the Place. Will be our hotel choice each time we visit SF
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Oct 16, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Beautiful hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Oct 9, 2015
james m.
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent Guest Treatment"
I had a bad experience that almost made me rate the Palace Hotel very badly. The way Mr. Howard, the Night Manager took care of the situation was fantastic. He made us feel like family.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Oct 9, 2015
Rodolfo
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Lovely spot"
The hotel lobby is beautiful and elegant. The staff was very friendly and attentive, especially the waitstaff at breakfast. The immediate neighborhood is nice, but super quiet on the weekends. The room was nice, but small I could tell it had been recently updated though.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Oct 2, 2015
Neil
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Well worth the cost"
Nice time in a top-notch luxury hotel
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Sep 25, 2015
Gary
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wonderful stay"
Great location. Rooms are comfortable-bathrooms are a bit tight. Lobby is gorgeous.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 27, 2015
patti
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Very friendly personal
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent "Stunning Hotel!""
Absolutely loved the Hotel with amazing architecture! Great Location! Huge, luxurious room with comfy bed.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 19, 2015
Kangling
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"evening stay"
Wonderful place and extremely beautiful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 12, 2015
ivan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel!"
Wonderful stay. Great amenities. Perfect location.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 18, 2015
Ellen
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Outstanding!"
Hotel stay was quite and comfortable. Breakfast was superb. Only problem was aggressive homeless begging at valet parking.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 12, 2015
Steven
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
The breakfast buffet potatoes were awful, they tasted as if they were from the previous morning or a combination of previous day bfast potatoes and fresh potatoes. For the price I spent I would have expected fresh food.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 12, 2015
Carlos
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Other than the huge wait to get our room at check in it wa great
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Sep 5, 2015
vicki
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Honeymoon Treat"
Breakfast in the morning was magical!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Awesome location! We walked to the ball park for a Giants game. Convenient and easy to get around. We got free parking when booked on Hotels.com which is a plus when you're in SF! Would definitely stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 11, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Amazing hotel. Coming back for sure!"
The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The hotel decor is dreamy. The only reason I don't give it all stars is because the food at the hotel was subpar, though they charge you as if it was the best meal of your life! Skip eating at the hotel and everything will be perfect.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Sep 3, 2015
Susana
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"The Palace is fit for King!"
Went to celebrate turning 50 and hotel did not disappoint
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Sep 4, 2015
john
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
This is an amazing hotel. Simply beautiful in the heart of San Francisco.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Aug 21, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Just Fantastic!"
Great hotel. Everything was gorgeous and the people working there were courteous, efficient and professional. The only issue we had was a shower that didn't drain really fast... and that's nitpicking at its best. A+!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Aug 14, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Top notch"
This was my first stay at the Palace, and I would go back again any time. The renovations have kept the feel of an old luxurious hotel, but with fresh, contemporary features. Our room was quiet -- facing the courtyard -- and the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave. The concierge was extraordinary -- patient, with detailed suggestions answering any question. My only complaint is that there was a charge for the Wifi in the rooms ($8 a day). Eventually I hope that high-end hotels will respond to competitive pressure and offer free wifi.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jul 30, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect romantic getaway"
A beautiful, well appointed hotel. Great location. Steeped in history and tradition. Would go back again in a minute!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 31, 2015
Susan
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Horrible Customer service for "high class" hotel"
Nice hotel, horrible customer service. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 31, 2015
Shane
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"The Palace is Classic SF Lodging"
This is not the first time that we have stayed at the Palace. Great location on Market Street... 20 minute walk to ATT Park... We checked in early and went to the SF Giants game. Upon return to the hotel from game, our luggage was at our room quickly. 10 minute walk to Union Square... We had an inside room that was very quiet. Well appointed room with comfortable bed... Valet and Bell service is excellent. The gym and pool are nice. We had night cap drinks in the bar, and service was good. One downside is that the main dining room is closed for remodeling.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Birthday weekend"
Just remodeled so very nice...people all super friendly and a very strategic spot for everything San Francisco!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 24, 2015
David
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Classic luxury, modern remodel"
Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great job remodeling a classic hotel. They are dog friendly with larger dogs. I was shocked but my dog loved the hotel as well. I didn't try any of the dining or amenities, but the room and hotel were great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 18, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Hotel is beautiful. Service is impeccable. Loved the Pied Piper bar!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 17, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
There was an issue with the AC unit in the Standard room I had booked and the front desk quickly upgraded me to a suite with a view. 5 Star Service.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 18, 2015
Daniel
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent weekend getaway!"
Excellent location! The staff was so friendly & helpful. The concierge helped us select several restaurants based on the style of food that we were interested in. The newly redecorated rooms were very comfortable. We will stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jul 16, 2015
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >