All hotels in San Diego, California, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA, 92101, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.4 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 152 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.6
  • Service
    4.5
  • Comfort
    4.4
  • Condition
    4.5
  • Neighborhood
    4.7
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Will come back
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
We look forward to your next visit! Thank you!
2 night romance trip Aug 7, 2015
Dirk
US
3.0 / 5Good
The bed was not as comfy as desired. Other then that, it was very nice hotel. The water main out front was broke due to construction and they took great care of us!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 31, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great lil get away"
Water was out... Was relocated very helpful staff
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 31, 2015
Cristian
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel and great location"
My wife and I planned to go to the Padre game for their "beer fest" and thought it best to stay downtown. The hotel is in the heart of downtown and super close to Petco. After the game we stopped by the hotel bar got great service from a well educated bartender who helped me pick out an appropriate bourbon. I only gave the room comfort a 4 because while super nice it lacked blackout blinds and lots of sunlight came through the top of the curtains making for a pretty bright room at 6 am.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the great review Grant. Glad you enjoyed our location and our bartender extraordinaires. We hope you can make the short trip down from Encinitas again soon!
1 night romance trip Jul 24, 2015
grant
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Details Count"
We enjoyed staying at Hotel Solamar, for the most part. Being located in the Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego is perfect with proximity to lots of restaurants, shopping and event venues. For the price of a room, though, you wouldn't think you'd have to request coffee packets for the little coffee maker, an iron to use with the ironing board that hung in the closet or a blow-dryer for wet hair. Really? No blow-dryer? And forget about the convenience of an in-room refrigerator to cool down a bottle of water (which was not offered, either). It's all in the details, you know. The least expensive hotel we stayed at in San Diego provided all of these amenities - and more.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Jane, Thanks for the review. You are correct- details absolutely count. Sorry we missed the mark on your stay. The items you mentioned are standard room amenities and should be in the room when you check in. There is an in-room refrigerator though located under the TV. I hope you give us another chance when you come back to San Diego.
1 night romance trip Jul 22, 2015
Jane
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"I'd stay here again."
This is a fine hotel a block from the ballpark and in the midst of the gaslamp district. Good pool by a 4th floor patio/café. A little pricey but worth it.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Hi Lewis, Thanks for the 5 star Review! We're glad you enjoyed our location and pool deck. Come back and see us again next time you're in town!
2 night romance trip Jul 20, 2015
LEWIS
US
3.0 / 5Good
"overpriced"
Ok
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Katherine, Thanks for the review. Sorry that you feel we're over priced. We are inline with other 4 Star hotels in the area with perks like complimentary wine hour and free bike rentals that the others do not.
1 night romance trip Jun 21, 2015
katherine
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fabulous Hotel !"
Great hotel - love the experience !
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the 5 Star Review Patricia. Kimpton will be popping up in your neighborhood in just a few months! Look for us!
2 night romance trip Jun 26, 2015
Patricia
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Stay away from rooms facing the pool"
Do not get a room above the pool. They poolside bar pumps their music until 12:30 on weekends, and it shakes the entire room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jun 26, 2015
Patrick
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Hotel in walking Distance from Petco Park"
Great hotel close to the ball park and within walking distance of many restaurants, bars and the water. The staff was friendly and the pool bar was nice with live music on Friday night.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Love this Hotel. Great location, very nice rooms and JSix, the bar on the 6th floor that is outside is awesome!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Love this! Thank you! Justin Assistant General Manager
1 night romance trip Jan 10, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
I reserved a room with a view. Got beautiful view on the 9th floor of the building under construction across the way. Just a very small view of other skyline when standing at the corner of the window looking to the far left.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the hotel and thanks for the 4 stars. I'm so sorry you were disappointed in your view. There is a lot happening in San Diego right now which unfortunately does mean construction. I sure hope you'll come back and visit again when you head back to San Diego! We will be happy to choose another location for your room. Cheers! Shannon Foster
2 night romance trip Jun 20, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Nice room! Very clean and nice hotel . Would definitely stay again . The poolside bar is a nice bonus
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
You definitely have to come back and see us soon! Thanks for the 5 star review!
1 night romance trip Jun 19, 2015
Toni
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Weekend getaway"
Fantastic location in down town San Diego and very close to restaurants and Horton Plaza. Very clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this property.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you Richard for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay! It sounds like you truly enjoyed the hotel and it's location, we can't wait to welcome you back again soon! Cheers! Shannon Foster
1 night romance trip May 23, 2015
Richard
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Close to everything, convenient"
We stayed at this location for two reasons. Close to the trolley/train station. We were down in San Diego for a graduation and decided to take in a Padre game. Very close to Petco Park. Room was clean. I would have enjoyed coffee in the room though.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed our location with so many things to do and see within a stone’s throw away! We have Kuerig coffee makers upon request; just give us a call next time for one. We hope to see you back again in the future!
2 night romance trip May 15, 2015
Neilan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Trip"
Great Hotel. Great location. In the Gas Lamp District. The construction around area concerned me at ist. Don't let it bother you, the hotel made it easy to get in and out. NOISE, not a big deal. The pool area was very nice, full bar area, lots of chairs and it's on the roof giving a great view. Parking is a bit pricey. I would recommend this Hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Dawes - Glad you had a great trip and that you were able to enjoy Hotel Solamar and the Gaslamp. You can tell that the market is doing great when you see cranes in the air... But don't let that concern you as urban growth is a sign of a healthy economy and it's almost done in our area... We look forward to welcoming you back!
2 night romance trip Mar 10, 2015
Dawes
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Great hotel but untrustworthy cleaning staff."
This place is great we had a really wonderful time there, until we found out that we forgot an item and they didn't have it after 1 day. Truthfully I woud rate this place a 5 but if you can't trust the staff then that really doesn't matter.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Feb 25, 2015
Anthony
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Give it a try."
Nice place. Good location in the Gas lamp District. Lots of nearby construction going on, but not a problem. Go 1.5 blocks north for $15/day parking rather than the $45/day at the hotel. Walls are pretty thin however. Great breakfast place 1/2 block south. Close to Coronado Island. Easy drive to the zoo. Would we stay again? I think so, yes.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Feb 17, 2015
Chuck
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Relax and get away !"
Always enjoyable to relax and enjoy the pool and ambiance.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Feb 15, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect"
Spent Valentine's weekend in San Diego. Hotel was perfect. Service was exceptional! The concierge even managed to get us dinner reservations for Valentine's Day:)
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Feb 12, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good time"
Overall good experience. However the maid had to return and dust of the desk area AFTER we had checked in also the pillows were to stiff to even sleep with.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Feb 15, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel"
Had an amazing stay. Staff was very friendly!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Feb 15, 2015
Andrea
US
3.0 / 5Good
"In the mix in San Diego"
The hotel is very nice, however our room was located near bar/pool so it was a little noisy. If you are looking for a hotel in the gaslamp that puts you right in the mix then this is for you. The hotel offers a mini bar that is fairly pricey, so I recommend avoiding it if you are on a budget. The gym is updated, clean, and nice. The staff are friendly.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jan 16, 2015
Jennifer
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Weekend Stay"
The hotel is in a great location in the Gaslamp area with many restaurants nearby. The pool was great and we were able to watch the NFC/AFC championship games with sound at the pool bar. Highly recommend this hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jan 17, 2015
Kristina
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Stay"
This hotel was perfect for a weekend getaway with my boyfriend and pup. Literally no complaints, and We will definitely book again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jan 9, 2015
caitlin
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"great stay"
Great environment, nice staff and beautiful room!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for your stay and glowing review. The team here works really hard to provide a great experience and your mention of it is fantastic. Wishing you all the best in the New Year and we hope to have your back as our guest in the near future.
1 night romance trip Jan 2, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Couples retreat"
so much fun !!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Couples retreats are amazing, and we are thrilled you had such a great time here in San Diego with us. We may to market more to couples get-a-ways... you may have turned us on to a new segment :) We appreciate your visit and your great review. Thanks so much!
1 night romance trip Jan 3, 2015
Jenna
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great place to stay!"
Hotel had a great location. Short walk to seaport. The hotel is presently doing some remodeling but we were never bothered by noise. Room was always clean. Outside bar area on 4th floor was great. Our one major complaint was in the next room they had a cat that cried all night long. We would stay at this place again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for your great 5 star review. We were in process of some lobby and living room tile work while you were here, and thank you for you patience with it. The project is complete and looks great, so we will need to get you back to see if for approval. Thank you again.
5 night romance trip Dec 26, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"NYE 2014"
Hotel was very nice, well decorated and in great location. Staff was very friendly and on point. Also offered great deal to eat at their restaurant. Only issue was given a room on fourth floor which was next to the pool. Felt lacked privacy as people could see inside room with curtains open. The shower head did not adjust as it was broken so the water came out with too much pressure. Overall happy with room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Great to see your comments about our staff and property. Thank you so much. We do indeed have those rooms on the 4th floor that outline our pool & lounge, most enjoy them although certainly privacy can be comprised with the curtains open. I hope you enjoyed your night and we hope to see you back again. Thanks so much for your 4 star review.
3 night romance trip Dec 30, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Xmas time"
A lot of construction going on around the hotel, but it still is a great location for San Diego
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks so much for your great 5 star review. We agree that the location here is fantastic, and the neighborhood continues to grow. The short term effect of some construction will be well worth the gain as the area continues to offer more and more venues for our guests. We hope to see you again once our new neighbors are open for business.
4 night romance trip Dec 22, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Staff goes the extra mile"
Very nice hotel. Went for my bday and sweet staff member, Marissa, arranged for the most delicious cupcakes to be in my room when I returned from my night out. Very thoughtful!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 29, 2014
rachelle
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great getaway."
The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. The location was excellent and within walking distance to everything. I will definitely stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Dec 26, 2014
Calvin
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Great hotel, but wait 2-3 months for construction"
This is usually one of my favorite hotels in southern california, but with the construction, this was a pretty bad experience. Not only were the remodeling inside (which is a complete eyesore), but the neighboring lots are being turned into condos, and half of the rooms look out at scaffolding. They were kind enough to transfer us to a room facing the pool, but I would've lost it if we hadn't been able to change. Also, the gym is probably the worst I've ever been in - super small (maybe 500 sq ft.), and no fan.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 18, 2014
Daniel
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hotel Salomar"
Nice boutique hotel with a great location. Friendly service and large rooms.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Loved it!!"
This place is G-R-E-A-T!!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 12, 2014
Tiffaney
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Gaslamp district, SanDiego"
Entrance to hotel is a bit odd, a dark and unassuming. But staff and accommodations were great. Some remodeling was going on in elevator area and surrounding neighborhood. It'll be nice to go back when completed.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 17, 2014
Charlene
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Awesome Pool!!!!"
It was a very nice hotel. Great value.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 16, 2014
CurtisJ
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Hotel Great Price"
Great stay. The staff even gave a late check out when our flight got delayed. The only sad thing was no hot tub :(
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 14, 2014
Sarah
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Love Kimpton Hotels"
This place was great. We've stayed at Kimpton Hotels before and we love them. We take advantage of all the amenities. Great fitness facility, free bicycles, free wine at the nightly social hour, coffee and tea every morning. We really feel pampered when we stay here. The staff is friendly, the pool and bar were fantastic. Location was perfect, just a block away from 5th street which is where all of the bars and restaurants are. The only complaint I would have is that there was a lot of construction taking place around the hotel. Our view was of a big construction site and every time we stepped out the front door, we had to walk through it all. But I'm sure it will be completed soon. Also, $42 per day for parking is a bit steep. But we would definitely stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Nov 28, 2014
Chad
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice Hotel"
Nice room - very polite staff mainly used public packing (a couple block away) due to high expense of valet.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Nov 10, 2014
Ed
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Cute hotel"
Nice lace to stay everything is walking distance only bad thing is overnight parking is 42 dollars even if your a guest there
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Nov 11, 2014
mariana
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Overall a very nice hotel in a great location"
This is a great hotel - honestly there are no complaints. The staff were friendly, the room was clean (we had a nice view of the pool area too), the common areas were clean and nicely decorated, and the location was perfect. Highlights are: free wine/beer in the lobby from 5-7 I think; free coffee in the lobby each morning; the pool and outdoor bar area; location. The only thing I didn't like was the bathroom sink, but that's SO minor!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Oct 30, 2014
Jamie
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Weekend Getaway"
Definitely overpriced. Wasn't worth all the money.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 11, 2014
Evelyn
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good hotel bad construction noise"
Constuction noise on a sayurday morning at 7 was NOT ideal but if i was to be promised no cobstryction i woukd gladly stay again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 10, 2014
Eric
US
3.0 / 5Good
"A bit overrated"
We selected the hotel because of its great location and high ratings. I don't mind paying the (high) rate I did, but expect an exceptional experience when I pay that. The room and hotel were nice, but there was nothing that I would note as above average. The room was a bit worn as were the hallways. The carpet in our room had a large stain and the bathroom walls and fixtures had makeup, toothpaste and other blemishes. And the bed was far from luxurious (small pillows, hard and squeaky mattress). The pool area bar was nice and quite busy but was generally filled with 20-30 year olds for most of the afternoon and all evening, relegating those who wanted a quiet or family experience to the morning only. Again not a poor experience, but felt I could have gotten similar or better accommodations for less, elsewhere.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Aug 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Rooms are extremely dated, furniture is worn, curtains were dirty and torn, beds are on old squeky box springs ( dont look under the bed), this a pet friendly hotel so be prepared to hear the barking of both small and large dogs, guest overnight parking was high at $41 a night. Not what you would expect for $275.00 a night. The upside we could find was the easy access to the psrts of Gas Lamp we love. We will not be staying here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 11, 2014
Christina
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"We Didn't Want to Leave"
My husband and I wanted to get away for our 25th anniversary, but our son graduated high school and we had a party for him, so we decided to take a long weekend trip to San Diego for the July 4th weekend as a belated getaway. The staff was so friendly, our room was spacious and very comfortable. They even sent up a bottle of champagne because of our anniversary and arranged a reservation for us at a restaurant with a view of the July 4th fireworks over Mission Bay. I liked that the shower had a rack with full sized shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel with pumps. Very convenient. We were within walking distance of the trolley and lots of bars and restaurants. We were able to take the trolley to the USS Midway and Old Town. It was a great homebase for a visit to Balboa Park. I really appreciated the blister kit that was in the minibar. It was reasonably priced and saved me having to take my blistered heels down to CVS. I was really sad to leave and will definitely be going back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jul 3, 2014
Sandi
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice, good location"
A very nice hotel, good location in Gaslamp district very near lots of bars/restaurants/attractions. Mostly a very quiet hotel, and I loved that it's so dog-friendly (was able to bring my small dog with no problems whatsoever). However, for the room price, I'd expect a little bit "more"…..it was definitely "very nice", but not amazing. The pool is nice, but again, I felt it could've been nicer for the overall hotel pice. We thought we were upgrading from the Palomar, but….maybe we should've just saved the $$ & kept our original reservation. The staff was lovely, and liked that they had loaner bikes (but, only 2….so you had to act quickly in order to secure one). Room & overall hotel was very clean. Overall: very nice hotel, but maybe a bit on the overpriced side.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 3, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Delightful weekend"
We love Kimpton Hotels and try to stay in one, wherever we go. We often travel with our dogs and Kimpton Hotels roll out the red carpet for them. This time, it was just us. The Hotel Solamar is a little jewel, right downtown San Diego. It is whimsical and welcoming. The room is well appointed and comfortable. We look forward to our next stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 28, 2014
Sandy M
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"none"
Stayed here before. Liked it just as much. Nice rooms, great staff, & sweet pool area. Little pricey for parking, but it is downtown San Diego. Good trip nice place to stay. Didn't make the happy hour this time. That's a must great way to meet new people.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip May 23, 2014
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >