All hotels in Paris, France
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
7 rue des Vertus, Paris, Paris, 75003, France, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.6 / 5Outstanding

Score breakdown (from 32 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.9
  • Service
    4.7
  • Comfort
    4.5
  • Condition
    4.7
  • Neighborhood
    4.7
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"charming boutique hotel"
Excellent stay at this boutique hotel. Very charning small room. Perfect neighborhood in the center of Paris. Lots of restaurants around.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Nov 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"feedback"
Nice and cozy. Friendly staff
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 15, 2014
Suman
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent value"
The room was spartan but clean. Hotel is convenient to the Pompidou Centre. I could hear slamming doors in the hallway, yet otherwise the room was surprisingly quiet and airy. It is a small room, a bit of a stretch for a couple with luggage but manageable. I doubt it would be possible to find a better deal in Paris.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Jun 15, 2014
Irwin Maus
US

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel, lovely rooms"
Lovely hotel in a ok area. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is quiet and very relaxed. Continental breakfast is served in the cellar room which is lovely
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jun 3, 2015
Matthew
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
Lovely place interestingly decorated in quiet location - pretty centra;
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 24, 2015
A Traveler
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Paris Treat"
Beautiful Chambre d'Hôte in the heart of the Marais district of Paris. Comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast, served in the converted cellars. A treat.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 28, 2015
John
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very Good"
Very pleased with our stay. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and is in a good location.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Dec 30, 2014
Kevin
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Stylish hotel in a great location"
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel du Haut Marais. Our room was very stylish and spotlessly clean. It combined period character with mod cons and the welcome was very warm (also the weather, which made the very quiet ceiling fan essential as there is no AC). The immediate neighbourhood was great - lots of nice bars and cafes away from the main touristy areas while still being very easily accessible by foot from the Pompidou Centre etc. We'll be back!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Jul 19, 2014
A Traveler
GB
3.0 / 5Good
"Reasonably priced, great bathrooms, poor breakfast"
Our bed was great and the bathroom was terrific however very noisy mornings with a school yard right in front of our window. I would recommend you pass on the breakfast and find fresh croissants elsewhere. The breakfast was overrated and your time would be better spent finding some fresh from some of the bakeries close by. I was disappointed that a bed and breakfast would skimp on fresh bread given how accessible and inexpensive it is there.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hôtel du Haut Marais
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on our hotel after your stay with us. I am truly sorry that you have not enjoyed our breakfast. However, be sure that we make a point of serve only fresh bread and croissants. Every morning we pick up our baguettes and croissants in our bakery on Rue de Bretagne "Chez Manon" which has a very good reputation in our neighborhood. we are really sad the you didn't like it. However, be sure we going to see if I can do somting better. All the best.
3 night trip Jun 19, 2014
CEB
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great family-run hotel in ideal location"
Rooms perhaps a little small for a long stay but perfect for a city-break. I'll stay there again when I next visit Paris
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Apr 1, 2014
Brett
GB

The following reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
Jättebra valuta för pengarna, små rum men superbra läge och bra frukost.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night romance trip Jun 19, 2015
Sandra
SE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Hotel de charme au calme en hyper-centre."
Hotel de charme,accueil très sympathique.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip May 4, 2015
A Traveler
FR
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Charmant et convivial"
accueil vraiment charmant, style maison d'hôtes, on a le sentiment d'être invité chez des amis, la propreté de la chambre et des sanitaires exceptionnelle.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Mar 23, 2015
BRIGITTE
FR
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Un petit nid douillet au coeur de Paris"
2 nuits dans ce charmant petit hôtel à la lisière du Marais. Très facile de trouver un restaurant et de quoi flâner entre boutiques, spectacle et expos durant tout le weekend. Tenu par Didier qui sait admirablement bien faire un œuf mollet, il vous fera également partager ses expériences de voyage autour d'une très belle table d'hôte au petit déjeuner. A recommander sans hésiter, mais chut... pas trop, il n'y a que quelques chambres.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Mar 13, 2015
PHILIPPE
FR
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Leuk klein centraal gelegen hotel"
Fijn schoon klein hotel. Bed wat aan de smalle kant. Didier niet zo vriendelijk als in de beoordelingen stond.Hij was erg kort en wat onverschillig. Daarom zeker niet voor herhaling vatbaar
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Mar 10, 2015
A Traveler
NL
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Lille unikt stilfuldt hotel"
Meget venlig, hjælpsom og imødekommende vært. Hotel udsmykning og møbler i gennemført stil. Morgenmad for alle gæster ved fælles storbord i kælderen mens værten laver kaffe og taler om politik og franske oste
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Feb 22, 2015
Nikolaj
DK
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Accogliente e pulito."
Il proprietario è stato sempre cortese e disponibile. La stanza - piccola come in tutti gli hotel parigini della stessa categoria - è arredata con gusto ed è stata sempre ben rassettata. Colazione semplice con prodotti di buon qualità. Ci torneremo.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 13, 2015
A Traveler
IT
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Hôtel de charme"
Impression de se retrouver dans une maison de famille .Bon accueil . Chambre petite ,mais confortable et ravissante ,ainsi que la salle de bain. Beau et bon petit déjeuner servi dans une salle voûtée à l'ambiance très sympathique. A recommander
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 3, 2014
Marie
FR
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Underbart hotell"
Ett underbart, personligt, hemtrevligt, vackert litet hotell i de trevliga Maraiskvarteren. Fantastisk frukost dessutom. Vi var på fritidsresa och hade velat stanna längre. Inget kunde varit bättre!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Oct 20, 2014
Eva o Allan
SE
4.0 / 5Excellent
Viihtyisä, kodinomainen hotelli hyvällä sijainnilla. Omistajat olivat mukavia. Huone oli aika pieni mutta kodikas. Ilmastoinnin puuttuminen miinusta kesäkuumalla.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Jul 23, 2014
A Traveler
FI
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fantastiskt personligt B'nB på bästa läge"
Jag och in trettonåriga dotter hade en mycket trevlig vistelse "hemma hos" Didier och Marc som driver hotellet. Rent, mysigt, personligt och på absolut bästa läge i supermysiga Le Marais.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jun 22, 2014
Anna och Ebba
SE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfekt!"
Super Lage, tolle Inhaber, schöne Zimmer. Mehr kann man nicht erwarten!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 7, 2014
Joe
DE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"tudo excelente"
Um hotel pequeno, muito simpático e bem arrumando. o quarto era pequeno, mas sem deixar de ser confortável. Localização excelente, perto de estação do metrô e próximo a muitos locais interessantes. Atendimento atencioso do proprietário.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Apr 14, 2014
A Traveler
BR
4.0 / 5Excellent
Nous avons passés 2 nuits dans cet hôtel et ce fût un séjour au top! l'accueil était parfait, la déco très jolie, avec un esprit chiné de brocante allié à l’authenticité du bois. Le petit déjeuner, dans une sublime cave voûtée en pierres, était vraiment bon : pain, croissant et brioches au chocolat frais, jus d'orange, fruit, fromage, yaourth, thé café, chocolat etc...un vrai festin dès le matin pour entamer la journée! La situation géographique est parfaite, proche du métro, de Pompidou des activités du Marais etc... et facile d'accès à partir de la gare de l'Est. Je recommande vivement.
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Apr 22, 2014
A Traveler
FR
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip May 20, 2014
A Traveler
IE
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Apr 29, 2015
A Traveler
SE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Apr 13, 2015
A Traveler
DK
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Mar 30, 2015
Marlene
DK
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Mar 25, 2015
A Traveler
SE
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Feb 27, 2015
A Traveler
IT
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip May 13, 2014
A Traveler
FR
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Feb 7, 2014
A Traveler
DE

TripAdvisor reviews for Hotel du Haut Marais

Overall rating:Based on 186 traveler reviews

Most recent traveler reviews:

Overall Rating
"A Gem"
07/23/15 Paperbackpaul
We needed a room for three and this was proving difficult until my wife found Hotel du Haut Marais. We got a two room suite which did the trick. It's more a guest house and it has a very homely feel to it. There are five floors and the stairs are steep, small and narrow. Thankfully there is a little lift from the first floor to move luggage. Our room was very tastefully decorated and clean. The bathroom was great with a fab shower. It didn't have AC but there were ceiling fans which helped as temperatures were in early 30's. Breakfast was served at a big communal table in the vaulted ceiling basement. A beautiful room. It was simple and did the trick. Good coffee, fresh fruit, squeezed orange juice, meats and cheese. Of course fresh croissant and pain aux chocolat too. Didier, our host for most of our four night stay was charming and helpful. Lulu the dog is also a lovely addition, it's nice to be greeted by a furry friend in the morning when you are missing your own one. We really liked the location, the accommodation and it was good value. Having visited Paris on many occasions in recent years it's nice to find a place which you can look forward to staying in again.
Overall Rating
"Kitchenette great for family"
07/19/15 mercerfamily2015 Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
We require a kitchen when travelling to prepare food for our son who has anaphylactic allergies to milk and nuts, and were delighted to find Hotel du Haut Marais has an apartment suite with a kitchenette (two heating elements, dishwasher, but no oven for baking), bathroom, bedroom and ability to sleep 5 (pull out sofa and a cot, plus the bed). The apt is on the 5th floor, and the hotel is small (I believe it has 8 rooms?), but there is a two person elevator; the walk up can challenge tired legs. The appt was tastefully decorated, and Didier was helpful with questions both in person and via email. A self serve breakfast of croissants, baguette, ham, cheese, boiled egg, yogurt, coffee, etc was provided each morning. The location is good, the metro stops a 1 minute walk at the end of the street. There are shops, cafes and restaurants near by, and larger grocery stores within 5 minutes walk. The area felt safe and we travelled home several nights and had no problems. There is no air conditioning, but there are ceiling fans in each room that help with keeping the room clean. the apt was spotlessly clean and maintained well throughout our stay, fresh towels daily, rooms cleaned, etc. We saw more of Marc than Didier, usually at breakfast, and he was always friendly, helpful and attentive. There is some noise from the street outside (usually children playing) but it was not disruptive. We had an excellent visit and would recommend this hotel to others. Thanks Didier and Marc.
Overall Rating
"Great value and location in Paris"
06/28/15 CandyB101
As other reviewers have said this hotel is more B&B than hotel. I'm surprised that so many other guests found the owners unwelcoming as they were nothing but friendly and pleasant to us. I really liked the location of this hotel. It is on a quiet street in fashionable Marais area. Only a couple of blocks from the underground and fairly easy to access from CDG airport if you use the RER (get the RER to Gare du Nord and then change onto subway to Reaumur-Sebastapol and couple of blocks walk from there). Lots of the sights of Paris are within easy walking distance- Notre Dame and Pompidou centre are less than a 15 minute walk away. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area too. Our room was small but not unbearably so. In fact probably quite generous by Paris standards! It was nicely decorated and well looked after. I thought this hotel was great value for money.
Overall Rating
"Lovely little hotel"
06/28/15 Matthew O
Not the most happening location in Paris but this hotel is worth the trek. Lovely rooms with very comfortable beds and very quiet. The continental Breakfast is served in the cellar dinning room and excellent. I will certainly try to book again on my next visit!
Overall Rating
"This hotel is a TripAdvisor fail"
06/18/15 Shahed T Jacksonville, Florida, United States
I use TripAdvisor to research my hotels and activities but I really do not understand why this hotel is rated so high. I have stayed in six hotels across Europe over the last three weeks and this has to be rated lowest among the six. It is close to a metro station and they have free breakfast (limited options). They also provide four bottles of water everyday free of charge. So considering Paris is an expensive city, this hotel definitely is a good value for your money. But our room was very small. The stairs are very steep. No air conditioning (though we did not really need it during our trip). But to echo other fellow reviewers, you just don't get the feeling that you are welcome here. You feel as if you are intruding a private residence of the owners. In conclusion, I will not recommend this place to others.
Overall Rating
"Nice location and clean accommodations"
06/11/15 jenandmartin Orlando, Florida
Pros: The neighborhood is trendy yet charming. The room was adequately spacious for Paris (particularly the bathroom) and very nicely (while subtly) decorated. Not an ideal location if you are arriving by car/taxi but very convenient if traveling by metro. It's located about 4 blocks from Arts et Métiers station or about 6 blocks from the Reaumur Sebastopol station which is convenient if traveling on the RER. Also, a nice breakfast is included. Cons: We don't expect a welcome mat anywhere we stay and are generally self-sufficient but the owner made us feel more like we were intruding in his home rather than paying customers. For example, the email he sent upon confirmation stated a 2:30pm check-in and we arrived at around 3pm. We were made to wait outside the door on the street several minutes and when we got inside, he told us we were lucky our room was ready as he was very busy with cleaning and such. Also, while not a problem for us, persons with low mobility should be aware that there is a flight of stairs to the elevator. To sum up, I feel we received a good value for the price in Paris and would consider staying again in the future.
Overall Rating
"excellent value, fantastic suite of rooms & good breakfast - highly recommended"
06/06/15 Imogen B London, United Kingdom
As other reviewers have commented, this place is more of a b&b than a hotel and if you're looking for staff at your beck & call 24/7, this isn't the place for you. But that's a small price to pay for the amazing experience of staying here. The rooms are wonderfully tasteful & stylish. I say rooms but I got a mini apartment (kitchenette, sitting room, bathroom, bedroom & hall) for around 130 euros per night. Amazing value for this part of Paris. And the breakfast is delicious. You'll be offered a boiled egg and fresh coffee by Didier, one of the owners, & can choose from other typical breakfast items (cheese, ham, baguette, orange juice etc) I've stayed in other hotels in the area for a similar price & they've been awful. This is a definite find & a complete gem for the price. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Overall Rating
"Felt unwelcome"
05/29/15 Crystal T
Didier, the owner, certainly did not go out of his way to make us feel welcome. I had originally booked our reservation by email and Didier indicated that check-in was at 2:30 but we could drop off our baggage early if we let him know our arrival time. On the morning of our visit, when I knew when we'd be arriving (after confirming train schedules), I took the time to email Didier to let him know we'd be only 1 hour early but would be fine to leave baggage if it was too early to check in. When we arrived at 1:30, we rang reception, were told to wait 2 minutes but we were left waiting in the street. My boyfriend buzzed Didier again after 10 minutes or so and he finally let us in. He then proceeded to tell us we were too early and that he was very busy. We were made to feel like a major inconvenience rather than valued paying customers. I mentioned that I had emailed him in the morning but he quickly snapped back that he is too busy to check emails in the morning. It really left a sour taste in our mouths after having so many great interactions with other service providers in France. The hotel itself was charming, clean and in a fantastic location. There was potential for it to be a great stay but unfortunately, being treated so poorly ruined this for us.
Overall Rating
"Good location but owner inhospitable"
05/27/15 Sarah W Toronto, Canada
This small B and B is in a good location for certain sites ie about 15 min walk to Notre Dame. Metro stop is excellent drops you at the street corner so getting around other areas of Paris convenient. Our room was incredibly small in that the bed took up the entire room and getting around it and accessing our suitcase was difficult. I know this is the norm in Europe but after staying at 8 other hotels on this we found this B&B excessively so. You have to crawl across bed if you place your suitcase on the floor. The room was very very clean as was the bathroom. There was no hair conditioner in the bathroom (men never think of these things, so bring your own). Also unlike most B&B's no lobby/public space so nowhere to hang out. The downstairs room is used as an office/owner's space and since the door to this room is always closed (even during daytime") you feel (and are made to feel like you are intruding). Breakfast is in the cellar a unique and interesting location. Our main issue with the B&B however was the owner. Either he was having a bad few days or he is just ill suited for the "hospitality" industry. Upon arrival he lifted our two suitcases and determined which was the heavier and said "that one is heavier" and left it to my husband. If he was worried about lifting the heavier suitcase why not just say something like "I think this one is the heavier, I'll take it". We would have been none the wiser but this first introduction made him appear ungracious to travellers visiting his home. The first morning at breakfast we attempted to engage him in conversation (surely something he should be initiating) however he was brusque and indifferent leaving the room as soon as he had sorted out our drinks. That was fine as we preferred him to leave given his attitude. On the following days his temperament didn't improve. When I asked if we could leave our cases at the "office" and go for a final walk (still prior to checkout time but thinking he may appreciate access to the room earlier) he practically barked at me and said "you speak too fast". I have to say my husband and I made concerted efforts to use our limited french while we were there. So for this reason we would not stay here again but would consider the Marais area if we could find a better "host".
Overall Rating
"Little gem"
04/13/15 claricehowell Manchester, United Kingdom
Beautiful hotel with charm and character. Our room was cosy and incredibly clean, the décor throughout is gorgeous and the friendly welcome we were given made us feel right at home. Have recommended this hotel to everyone !
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews