All hotels in Basel, Switzerland
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
Klingental 8, Basel, BS, 4057, Switzerland, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
4.0 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 60 reviews)

  • Bar and Beverages
    Bar is awesome
  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • Breakfast
    Tasty breakfast
  • Location
    Great location
  • WiFi
    Good internet service
  • Room
    Great room
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next >
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Good choice"
All very functional. Nice newer hotel with welcoming and helpful staff. A small hotel in a good downtown location. Will be back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Nov 16, 2015
Thomas
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Perfect location for everything and great staff"
Diverse amenities & simple design room, easy to access tour sights and shops via public transportation which free ride with the transportation card provided by the hotel
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 6, 2015
Synwon
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
We enjoyed our room and the staff was helpful. Fortunately we weren't affected by the street walkers who hung out by the back entrance of the hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Jun 28, 2015
Sally
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel near city center"
Nice, clean, spacious, affordable hotel near city center. The tram station is conveniently located a few meters away. The only negative was it didn't have a parking garage, but there was one located in another hotel within 5 minutes walking distance. The breakfast buffet room was a plus.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Balade
Dear guest, we'd like to thank you so much for your rating. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Balade. Regarding the parking garage, we offer our guests a free parking space during your stay. Anyway, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again! Kind regards, your Hotel Balade Team.
Other trip Jun 21, 2015
Marie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good hotel, neighborhood is a little dodgy"
I have nothing negative to say about the hotel itself -- friendly front desk staff, location close to the downtown area, clean and modern. My biggest issue with this hotel is the neighborhood. Basel has a few areas of the city where "ladies of the evening" are allowed to operate, and Hotel Balade is in one of those areas. I could not go out of my room for more than five minutes without being solicited, even right outside the hotel's front door. Even at 11am they were out and being rather aggressive. While I certainly did not feel unsafe, they were a bit of a bother. While it is not the hotel's fault, I probably would not stay here again if I ever go back to Basel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Apr 24, 2015
Eric
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Modern and clean.....within the red light district"
The room was in excellent condition! Modern, clean, and comfortable. Simple but wholesome breakfast bar. Friendly staff. But yes, the hotel is directly within the red light district of Basel. If you stay here, be fully prepared to see prostitutes on the corners as early as 10 am. I never felt threatened or unsafe (and we were three girls traveling) and getting out of this area is only a street away. If this doesn't bother you, the hotel is an excellent and affordable option for your stay in Basel :-)
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 28, 2014
Meagan
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great hotel..on the edge of the red light district"
Hotel Balade was a great hotel!. The service, cleanliness, and quality were all top notch. It was only a block away from a tram stop and about a 10 minute walk to the conference center (I was there on business). Also, in great proximity to the river and lots of restaurants. My only complaints: We got a triple room. But it was basically just a double room with a cot. I know this because one of the people I was staying with had a double room to himself the night before and said it was no bigger. Therefore, I dont think they should charge extra if all you are going to get is a cot. My other complaint didnt really bother me but just want to make some people aware. As other reviewers have stated this hotel is right on the edge of the red light district. There were typically 5-10 "women of the night" (Hotels.com wont let me use the correct term) hanging around the hotel all day, every day. For the most part they were respectful but did approach us on a few occasions. I dont know the rules about prostitution in Basel so maybe the hotel cant do anything about it but it would be nice if they would contact the police to run them off. Like I said it didnt bother me but it could bother others.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night business trip May 11, 2014
Joe
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Pleasant"
This is a good hotel, well located for kleinbasel or Basel Altstadt. The only downside would be that it is next to the red light district (albeit this is tiny), so it would not be the best place for kids. For business however, it's perfectly sound. Good breakfast too!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Sep 24, 2013
Colero1
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very Satisfied"
The hotel is located a block away from the Rhine - perfect for swimming. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They gave us all free tram/bus passes for the time we were there - very nice touch! No A/C but there was a nice breeze through the window AND they have an elevator :) Would stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jul 12, 2013
Traci
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"close to where I was supposed to be"
I had a very good stay it was very convenient to where I wanted to be. Very decent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Apr 30, 2013
Abe
US

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good central hotel but not ideal area"
Friendly and helpful staff and hotel was very clean and quite modern, the room was big and comfortable. Area is central but just behind a prostitution street which is legal in Basel, but just not ideal for a woman travelling for business as myself. Neighbourhood is safe and hotel is entry only with key card after 11pm - wireless in room worked perfectly, bathroom was big and bed was very comfortable.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Sep 28, 2015
A Traveler
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Pleasant Hotel but Not Suitable for Families"
The hotel was very clean and well maintained with newer fixtures in the bathroom and bedroom. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating and spoke a number of languages. But the location is very poor for families. Prostitutes frequent the street that the hotel is on, and it wasn't even dark outside when we encountered them. There are also striptease clubs around the corner from the hotel with woman hanging around outside their doors dressed in tight fitting and short, revealing clothing. However, we never felt threatened in any way by crime because there was consistent police presence around the area. One night we were kept awake when very early morning, like 4 a.m., there was a lot of loud talking and activity just outside the hotel. Not sure what it was about.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Balade
Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for the time you have taken to rate us. Thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district begins behind the hotel. During the day it is quite and usually you don’t realize it. Besides, the majority of our guests appreciates our central location close to shopping facilities, bars and restaurants. However, we do hope you are considering to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, your Hotel Balade Team.
Other trip Aug 26, 2015
Gerry
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Short stay in Basel"
Excellent value for money. No aircon is the only real downside. Location is practical (plenty of free trams at the doorstep - tram ticket included in hotel booking), if not upmarket (red light area close by)
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 14, 2015
Pierre
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Sr"
Very good service
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip May 21, 2015
leonardo
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good hotel (in the red light district)"
A lovely hotel, located very close to the river and the Kaserne culture venue, and convenient for the city centre and trams elsewhere. It does seem to be the red light district, though everyone was very pleasant. The area immediately in front of the hotel has lots of shouting passersby through the night (we were there at the weekend); with the window open we were repeatedly woken. With it closed the next night it was fine. Beware that reception closes early on Sunday afternoons. We had left our bags and weren't warned about this. After an anxious half hour wait a security guard arrived to retrieve our things. Desk staff could be better trained.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Apr 10, 2015
A Traveler
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Lovely clean hotel!"
Hotel is great! Clean rooms, comfy beds, everything you need. The staff are all lovely and nothing is too much trouble! Would definately stay again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Sep 27, 2014
Fiona
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Fours all round"
Good, Clean, modern Hotel. Quite funky in design. Not suitable for families due to its proximity to Red Light district. Its still fairly safe. Restarant Next door open until 0400am so good for younger crowd. Can be noisy
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Nov 7, 2013
DvT
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Friendly Service"
very pleasant !!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Sep 23, 2013
A Traveler
GB

The following reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
Der Lärm von Gästen der angrenzenden Wirtschaft hat die Nachtruhe erheblich gestört.
Genuine Venere guest review
1 night trip Dec 4, 2015
Wolfgang
DE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"I absolutely recommend."
Great hotel. Quite good breakfast,clean and wide rooms.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Nov 27, 2015
Anil
TR
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Gerne wieder!"
Super Lage, da vieles zu Fuss oder mit dem ganz in der Nähe fahrenden Tram erreicht werden kann. Da Herbstmesse war und auch auf dem Kasernenplatz viel los war, waren ständig viele Leute unterwegs und man hat das mit dem Rotlichtmilieu gar nicht wirklich mitbekommen. Das Zimmer war gross, sehr ruhig und mit allem ausgestattet was man braucht. Im Frühstücksraum war es v.a. am Wochenende etwas eng und ich musste ein 2. Mal wiederkommen bis ich einen Platz fand. Aber sonst absolut top und ich komme gerne wieder.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Oct 23, 2015
A Traveler
CH
3.0 / 5Good
schlechte Parkmöglichkeit vorab keine Information über Jahrmarkt/Vergnügungpark gegenüber
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Oct 29, 2015
A Traveler
CH
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Bon hôtel mais quartier mal fréquenté"
Très bon hôtel mais quartier très mal fréquenté
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Sep 2, 2015
JOSEPH
FR
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hotel de diseño, no lejos del centro"
Hotel de diseño agradable, a un paso del centro. Precios caros en general en Suiza, por lo que no se puede estimar la relación calidad-precio. Incluido en el impuesto diario por persona que cobra Basilea está un ticket para moverse en tram: muy útil (3,50 CHF/persona/día). A nivel anecdótico: hay una zona de prostitución a la vuelta, pero no es problemática. La ubicación y la calidad del hotel compensan. Ojo: aparcar es muy complicado y tienen muy pocas plazas de estacionamiento en un parking privado pequeño, frente al hotel. Es indispensable reservar con tiempo, si vais en coche. No hay aire acondicionado, por si vais en verano.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 7, 2015
A Traveler
ES
3.0 / 5Good
"Gute Lage zur Messe mit super Service"
Das Hotel liegt sehr zentral, wir konnten zu Fuss die Innenstadt und die Messe gut erreichen. Etwas ungewöhnlich ist der Strassenstrich direkt um die Ecke des Hotels. Wir, zwei Frauen, fühlten uns zu keiner Zeit bedroht oder unbequem deswegen, aber es könnte andere Gäste stören. Die Einrichtung ist modern und angebehm. Der Service war sehr gut, das Personal immer sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Die Beleuchtung war zu schwach im Zimmer und das Zimmer etwas zu warm aufgrund der fehlenden Klimaanlage. Das Frühstück war sehr lecker mit einer grossen Auswahl an Obst, Gebäck, Aufschnitt, verschiedenen Kaffees und sogar Smoothies.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Jun 19, 2015
A Traveler
DE
3.0 / 5Good
"Tolles Hotel am falschen Ort"
Das Personal empfing uns sehr freundlich und begleitete uns ins Zimmer, dies befand sich in einem Nebengebäude. Mit dem Zimmer waren wir sehr zufrieden. Leider fand in Basel zur Zeit gerade eine Kunstmesse statt und die Zimmerpreise waren sehr, sehr hoch. Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis würde stimmen, wenn sich das Hotel nicht direkt im Rotlichtviertel befinden würde. Wir fanden es sehr unangenehm, die ganze Zeit von Prostituierten angemacht zu werden. Schade, das Hotel ist toll aber für uns am falschen Ort...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jun 20, 2015
A Traveler
CH
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Günstige zentrale location!"
Gutes günstiges Hotel an zentraler Lage, ganz in der Nähe des Rhein's. Der Service war einwandfrei und dir Zimmer gross und sauber. Einziger Nachteil, es liegt im Rotlichtmilieu bzw. --strasse von Basel
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jun 12, 2015
Corinne
CH
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Super"
Quand on est prévenu du quartier dans lequel on atterrit, on est pas surprit. L'hôtel est super bien placé, entre l'avenue du tram, le pont central et les bords du Rhin (super pour les soirées). La réception a des horaires à respecter (pas de 24/24) mais il y a une porte pour entrer et sortir même la nuit. Rien à redire, j'y retournerai.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jun 6, 2015
A Traveler
FR
3.0 / 5Good
"bon hotel bien situé mais dans le mauvais quartier"
hôtel situé dans le quartier des prostituées ; hôtel bruyant
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip May 14, 2015
A Traveler
FR
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Godt, men med lidt larm"
Godt, men for meget larm fra mennesker på pladsen om aftenen og natten - også selvom vinduer var lukket.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip May 7, 2015
Gabriella
DK
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Très bien à un aspect près"
Tout très bien sauf que c'est dans un quartier de prostitution ...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip May 2, 2015
A Traveler
FR
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Super Zufrieden .-)"
Wir nahmen am Bscene Festival teil und dafür war es die perfekte Lage. Das Beste war...unser Favorite-Act war im selben Hotel...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Mar 6, 2015
Ruth
CH
3.0 / 5Good
"Bra service"
Låg mitt i red light
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Feb 13, 2015
A Traveler
SE
4.0 / 5Excellent
"scelta opportuna"
Albergo opportuno buona la posizione l'accoglienza. Molto confortevole. Da consigliare. Ci ritornerei.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip with friends Jan 22, 2015
Vincenzo
IT
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Das ist schlechter Service, kein Umgang mit Gästen"
Wir hatten zwei Doppelzimmer mit Verbindungstür gebucht. Bekommen haben wir aber ein Doppel- und ein Einzelzimmer. Erst spät Abends beim Heimkommen vom Seminar bemerkten wir, dass es sich um ein Einzelzimmer handelte. Es war nur eine Bettdecke, ein Kopfkissen und ein Handtuch vorhanden. Trotz Reklamation und Telefonaten wurden die benötigten Dinge nicht sofort gebracht bzw. das Zimmer gewechselt. Statt dessen erfolgten bis morgens um 2 h mehrere Telefonate, die nicht weiterhalfen.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Jan 24, 2015
Eva
DE
3.0 / 5Good
"Helt ok hotell i Basel"
Helt ok hotell, dock är själva området inte det bästa - och frukosten var verkligen inget att hänga i granen heller.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Sep 22, 2014
Lisa
SE
4.0 / 5Excellent
"바젤 1박"
아늑한 방과 조식도 세련됐어요. 직원 친절도는 인상적이지 않았어요. 교육이 필요한듯.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Sep 25, 2014
Jaewon
KR
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Super!"
This hotel couldn't be located better. Smack in the center of Klein Basel. Very friendly Very helpful reception always smiling. Tram card is given at arrival and there is fruit to go. Lots of hot water in shower with plenty of pressure. Coffee and tea in room and bottled water if tap is not your thing.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night trip Sep 19, 2014
A Traveler
DK
4.0 / 5Excellent
Der Aufenthalt war sehr angenehm. Im zweiten Stock waren auch die "Nebengeräusche" des angrenzenden Quartiers kein Problem. Lage sehr zentral, nettes und zuvorkommendes Personal. Schönes Frühstücksbuffet. Ein Nachtportier vor Ort wäre sehr komfortabel und wünschenswert.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Sep 13, 2014
A Traveler
CH
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Zentrums Nahes Hotel"
Sehr nah an der Messe,
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Aug 18, 2014
A Traveler
CH
4.0 / 5Excellent
très bon ! très agréable
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jul 31, 2014
A Traveler
FR
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"super Hotel - Leider umgeben von Rotlichtmilieu"
Wir haben den Aufenthalt sehr genossen. Das Hotel wäre wirklich super, wenn das Rotlichtmilieu nicht grad nebenan wäre.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Balade
Liebe Gast, Besten Dank für Ihr Feedback. Leider stimmt es, dass hinter dem Balade das Rotlichtmilieu anfängt. Dafür befindet sich unser Hotel direkt im Zentrum umgeben von Diskotheken, Bars, Restaurants sowie diversen Shopping-Möglichkeiten. Wir freuen uns trotzdem, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen. Sonnige Grüsse aus Basel, Ihr Team vom Hotel Balade
2 night trip Jul 11, 2014
A Traveler
CH
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Reasonable price"
Despite bar & prostitutes just next to the hotel, it is just next to the Rhine River.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip May 29, 2014
A Traveler
HK
4.0 / 5Excellent
War sehr zufrieden! Gerne wieder....
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Balade
Lieber Thomas Herzlichen Dank für das positive Feedback. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Besuch. Freundliche Grüsse Ihr Team vom Hotel Balade
1 night trip May 17, 2014
Thomas
CH
4.0 / 5Excellent
"시설은 좋지만, 안타까운 위치"
전반적으로 시설은 모던함이 느껴져서 좋습니다. 하지만, 역에서 멀어서 걸어가기엔 다소 무리가 있습니다. 또한, 주위에 클럽 및 술집이 있어서 밤새 시끄럽게도 합니다.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Apr 30, 2014
A Traveler
KR
2.0 / 5Fair
"beaucoup de frime pour peu"
le WIFI n'a été accessible que 45mn et ceci qu'au bout d'une heure de palabres avec la compagnie de telecom. La porte de ma chambre ne cessait de s'ouvrir lorsque quelqu'un ouvrait une porte du couloir,
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Mar 11, 2014
A Traveler
FR
4.0 / 5Excellent
angenehm
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Mar 30, 2013
Gruesche
CH
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 29, 2015
Kim
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Jun 24, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip May 23, 2015
William
GB
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next >