"Right on the beach"
We had a large villa on the beach. Simple in style, but clean and comfortable. Nice friendly staff. Simple amenities . You will have a quiet relaxing vacation.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
A lovely place to stay in peace and quietGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Pros and Cons"
Pros: Beautiful beach and great swimming. Cons: Very amateur staff including Dive Guide that was downright obnoxious.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Quiet Beach Holiday - Peaceful, Non-touristy!"
We loved our week at Phaidon, but it is not a luxury resort. You will not find hot water or fine shampoos or refrigerators stocked with cold drinks. You will only find WIFI at the front lobby area, not in your villa or rooms. You will not find shopping or anything touristy. What you will find is peacefulness, a warm and helpful staff and opportunities […] to learn more about the Filippino culture. You will walk the beach to find local farmers and fisherman. You will take part in guided trips to snorkel, scuba dive or hike to waterfalls with the aid of the staff. You will find personal attention, rest and relaxation. We enjoyed our meals; the international cuisine was excellent. I tried all of the Filippino specialties as well as pizza, pasta and chicken curry. Each bit of food was made to order with fresh ingredients. My daughter loved the cheeseburger and fries as well as the fresh fruit shakes. My husband loved the pork and German specialties. Happy hour from 4-7 set a routine to our day and we enjoyed the wide variety of music played during this time. The grounds are lovely - beautiful golden coconut trees and green grass - as well as a nice beachfront. We stayed in the Villa unit and enjoyed our two hammocks on the deck and view of the beach. We would recommend this to families who are looking for more of a peaceful, non-touristy experience. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"This is no Resort"
Searched under Boracay and it appeared that this was just nearby. In fact is on another island. Will also be a $70 van rental ride from Kalibo airport. Can't imagine why anyone would want to stay here. Even at the rate we paid per night is poor value. Noisy a/c that a fan would cool better, no jug for tea, or fridge, basic furniture and dusty room. […] Pool is like a spa next to the dining area. Beach is ok but rubbish everywhere outside the boundary. Had an award displayed from trip advisor for this year, unbelievable! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Phaidon Beach Resort Thank you for your review, but you did not read carefully where is the right location and even you did not watch the map. Shuttle services for about 250 km was US 60.00 for Kalibo and Catiklan. Better would be when you read the voucher more carefully. The pool is just a Kiddy pool which is stated and all other rooms except the cheap Standard room have more facilities. It is a romantic place where people come for relaxation, diving and nature lovers.
"Home away from home"
This is our 3rd visit to Phaidon Beach Resort. It is a great place to completely chill out and forget all your worries. Not for the tourist who is looking for highlife, girls, bars, parties and noise. Phaidon Beach Resort is for the traveller looking to get away from the world....A busy day on the beach is yourself and maybe half a dozen local children […] swimming near by. Water is crystal clear, the white sand beach is swept daily, the rooms are comfortable and the staff are fabulous with nothing too much trouble. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
It is nice place and quietly area. They did a wonderful job for service and friendly. The hotel is right next the beautiful beach.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"very nice place for rest and scuba"
Place is decent, very quite, boss and the staff are very kind. you feel that they try more than their best to give you service. Foods were delicious, for us this point is quite important as we are Muslim and we have to eat Halal food. The ingridients such as cheese and others they used in this place's kitchen were Halal certified. Of course the meat […] and chicken not an option to eat for a Muslim here, but fish was very nice. Also lasagna, pasta with cheese was delicious. If you are looking for a quite vacation, with nice sea and beach Phaidon Beach Resort is excellent. As a recommendation to the boss, they should arrange maybe one more boat with a tent to protect from the sun (which we see many in Puerto Galera) when a family book the boat for the activity other guest can not join that. Also the cost of the boat tour is more expensive when I compare to Puerto Galera. (We rented a middle size boat with tent for only 1500Pezos for all day in Puerto Galera, White Beach... in Phaidon it was like 700Pezos for 2-3 hours per person). Location of the place is little problem but they provide private Van for 1500Pezos from Caticlan. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
I would like to thank the staff and management for a fantastic stay. We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary here and a great effort was put in by all to ensure the eneving was as beautiful as possible. The location of the hotel is not convenient to any other facilities but this was exactly what we were looking for. Very safe and clean and the beach […] a treat to swim in. It was a great experience to be treated as part of a family instead of a faceless room number. Would definitely return again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Had an awesome time at the resort. Very private and secluded with almost your own beach. Staff arranged a special dinner on the beach for our wedding anniversary - magic. Don,t go if looking for nightlife and shopping but great for a romantic getaway or family vacation. Felt like part of the family by the time we lrftGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Our stay in Phaidon"
Beautiful place, very good restaurant, comfortable bungalows, very kind and smilling personal. I only regret there is no fridge in the bungalow but that's all !Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"주변에 너무 아무것도 없고, 특유의 독한 락스냄새도 너무심해요"
너무힘들었어요. 자는것말고는할게없어요Genuine Hotels.com guest review
해변 바로 앞에 위치해서 뷰는 좋으나 전체적으로 낡았다는 인상이 듭니다. 객실로 들어가니 환기가 제대로 되어있지 않아서인지 퀘퀘한 냄새가 났고 객실내가 눅눅해서 잠을 청하기가 어려웠습니다. 대신 픽업 및 조식 서비스등 직원들의 친절한 대우가 인상깊었습니다.Genuine Expedia guest review
"wondetful memory @ Phaidon"
there is the most peaceful resort near Boracay. I really appreciate hotel staffs and It was great time at Phaidon.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Cool and relaxing place. Staffs are friendly... Perfect place!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We stayed at Phaidon for 4 nights. We booked their cheapest bungalow which we found perfectly ok. It had aircon, and the room and toilet was clean. The resort is located in a very undeveloped area which we found appealing. Surrounding the resort lives local fishermen which you can see at work in the morning when the bring the fishingnet ashore. The […] beach has nice white sand, but it is not as white as boracay. There are no restaurants in the area so you are forced to eat the resort. The food is simple, rather pricey and it takes a very long time for them to prepare. The best thing is therefore to tell them beforehand what and when you want to eat. Overall we found the resort a very relaxing place and if that is what you seek we recommend it. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Prachtige locatie, prachtig strand"
Op een half uur van Caticlan een prachtig resort met veel mogelijkhedenGenuine Hotels.com guest review
I had a very nice vacation at this resort. The hotel/resort is marked with three stars which I don't think the standard room lives up to. Only cold/lukewarm water in the shower for instance. But it is nice and clean with a nice garden and a private beach with sunbeds. The atmosphere at the hotel is a very familiar and you almost feel like you are visiting […] friends. And if there wasn't for an incident I would've said that the personal was very friendly and helpful. But I went on a snorkling tour and they forgot to make sure that I had any equipment. When it was discovered no excuses or attempts to solve the problem was made. Talking to the manager afterwards he was furious that it had happened. On the other hand I was leaving early in the morning, 5 am, and they arranged so I got breakfast before I left which was unexpected from my side. If you are looking for a nice relaxing and quiet vacation this is a good place to go. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
性价比很高，很安静，非常适合渡假放松心情，在这里心情格外的好！所有人都非常友好，很是喜欢！就是离kalibo机场有些远，没有Bus，只能包车2000p。Genuine Hotels.com guest review
慘不忍睹Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Det bedste sted for en slapper"
Hotellet laa vaek fra alting lige paa stranden, saa der var ingen muligheder for noget shopping eller ligende, men helt perfekt til ren afslapning. Personalet var de sodeste mennesker paa jorden, og gjorde alt for at gore dit ophold perfekt. De andre par gaester vi snakkede med dernede sagde praesis det samme. kommer helt sikkert tilbage hurtigst m […] uligt. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"great place to relax"
11/02/14 Areyb Manila, Philippines
Together with my wife and three adolescents, we spent 5 days at Phaidon resort -Pandan beachfront villa- , and were very happy to have selected this hotel. If you are looking for a place to relax from the urban hustle, this is an excellent spot. You really appreciate the beauty of nature in rural Panay. It lies an hour and a half from Kalibo airport, and also from the overcrowded cemented jungle of Boracay (we did go there on a day trip). Accommodation and food are well above the average in this category, staff is most helpful and very friendly. Prices perfectly ok, we went in low season. Lost of options for adventures and day excursions. Beachfront is beautifully natural, no swimming pool - no need, I will definetly go back. Note: I have been lucky in travelling over 50 countries in the last 40 years, and I really appreciate calm places like this one.
09/15/14 Thomas S
Well we was the first time in the Philippines and we know definitely we will back again. Our choice was to find a place which is not too much touristy and glad we found Phaidon Beach Resort which meets all our standards and more. As well we took the Honeymoon view suite, right on the white beach with a beach front terrace, new facilities like air con, ref, HD TV e.g. and enjoyed spectacular sunsets. The staff read in our mind what we want and we got a very respectful and friendly service. Even the pick up service from the airport was more than easy, staff was waiting with a signboard and a welcome drink before we travelled about a little more than one hour on good roads. Also the restaurant with a big variety of different kind of menus shows how well organized the Resort is. Tour guides bring us to remote islands where we enjoyed snorkeling and an adventurous waterfall tour satisfied not only us, even the crew had a great day. Out of our 2 weeks vacation we love to read books from the large and assorted library, lying down at a very clean white beach, take a swim in crystal clear waters and found out that can be a little paradise forever. Thanks to the Manager Bernie which told us a lot about the culture, mentality and history during our sunset cocktails at the ocean overlooking Bar. At least we have to say, thanks to the staff and cooks which served us wonderful. Cheers ! and see you soon.
09/07/14 riclocke Noosaville, Australia
was seduced by the good reviews and thought this was in Boracay Island as I was searching for accommodation there and this came up. If you can imagine a home with several chalets on a couple of acres with a beach that is not to appealing with neighbours rubbish nearby and the remains of a roofless building saying dive shop. Can't imagine why you would want to stay here, there is nothing around to do and unless you have a car or bike nowhere to go. The owners were pleasant enough but really a mum and dad guest house not a resort. We booked 5 nights and realised we made a mistake as soon as arriving. The airport transfer cost us 2500 pesos and they couldn't find it. Took over an hour from the airport. The room had a pathetic air conditioner, fan would work better, hideous decor and very basic, not even a fridge or electric jug. Not good value and couldn't wait to get out and we got a nice modern apartment on Boracay island with a real beachfront for the same money. This had a current Trip Advisor award proudly displayed, doubt it was inspected. Lift your game Phaidon and listen to what travellers want
"Good prices, nice accomadations but in a very remote & quiet setting"
08/22/14 Seth Z Colorado Springs, Colorado
The rooms were very nice & prices were really adequately priced. The food also was very good quality & prices not too bad as well. The staff was extra, extra accommodating & very nice indeed. It is a tranquil & peaceful setting--no noise here whatsoever! Issues can be, it is far from the actual "Boracay Island" area but then again, the low prices reflect this as well & you certainly don't overpay here. Some issues can be: you can go to other places, via the resort's trip-agenda or schedules, but you pay for this & after a while it may start to feel as if you are actually back on the "expensive Boracay Island" area, by the time you go on these trips. Although, the "Phaidon Planned Tours & Excursions" are very nice & thorough, you pay for the luxury of the service, indeed. One problem I had an issue with, was the owner had a notice of a trip into a nearby city for a celebration written on a board in the dining area. But we weren't interested in going, because we were on our “little vacation” & we had our own agenda therein. However, after the owner's (Bernie) insistent nagging for us to join, we finally caved-in & went. Quite a miserable experience there! We were packed-in tight into a SUV (the resort owner, driver, & 8 couples), we had to sit on the floor in the back!! An hour's drive, bouncing along those horrible roads & we make it to the celebration—the celebration was fine & fun though. And the resort owner, drinking away, beer after beer--along with @4-6 others, it got to be a beer-bash & loud--plus the resort-owner (Bernie) was so wasted, he urinated into a bush along our way back to the vehicle. That urinating eposode was the most-extremely hilarious thing to happen, the entire trip!! Then, probably the worst issue to happen yet, after we got back to the SUV, & we once again, had to pack ourselves back into the vehicle. The drunken resort-owner (Bernie), was arguing excessively with the driver, that he, himself wanted to drive. I will tell you, I was glad that the pleasant & sober driver won the argument & the "drunken-Bernie" (resort-owner) reluctantly got into the passenger side! The other problem then commenced when the drunken resort-owner, Bernie, began to be a "backseat driver" & was shouting at the kind, & sober driver, to: "Floor-it; pass the *@%-ers!" etc., grabbing the steering wheel & ranting & raving, shaking his fists. This then, was the “icing on the cake” & was thoroughly etched into our minds, that this was a MAJOR MISTAKE, that left us pleading to turn-back time! If only we would have said no, 10 more times to the resort-owner, we could have spared ourselves from this unnecessary excursion to & back from HELL! Our lives--all of us--were in extreme danger--due to the drunken resort-owner's (Bernie) obnoxious behavior! Horrible, horrible experience! Although, I must repeat that otherwise, it was a nice & enjoyable stay with a beautiful resort & a lovely & accommodating staff – despite the crazy-excursion-celebration-trip to the city along with the drunken resort-owner’s very, very irresponsible behavior. One thing's for sure, if you see him drinking, he definitely cannot hold his liquor, & some trouble could arise. *ONE LAST POINT: the drunken-excursion-celebration-trip to the city, which "we" did not want to attend (& the resort-owner “Bernie,” begged us to go on), this bold resort-owner (Bernie) had the audacity to charge us for the excursion on our bill! I was appalled & very disappointed, to say the least! Rude & Crude on the owner's part! After all: 10 people cramped into an SUV, along those horrible roads, then the drunken owner, screaming at the sober driver, on how to drive & pass vehicles--when there is oncoming traffic on those horrendous roads, is a highly, highly caustic-catastrophe that we, will not attend again!
"awesome white beach and more..."
05/25/14 Raoul R Makati, Philippines
Cant get it better. My girlfriend and me just stepped out of the hot and crowded Makati City and what a surprise we'll found the right place...an awesome white beach just made for us and a few more nice people. Well this was the best opportunity after hard working weeks. So we found this little paradise and relaxed with a very friendly and helpful personal. They was always around and guess they do more service what we never expected. They invite us for an amazing birthday celebration from the owners daughter, with a big variety of foods, cakes, ice creams and a original Lechon Baboy. (grilled pork). A really great day...Thanks again. Next day we tried the Zip line near by going to the Cold spring Malaumpati just a few minutes away and experienced a ride through the rain forest. Another highlight in our short summer break. At evening we enjoyed Dinner at the beach with a smooth collection of music and we felt we are on our second honeymoon. All in all a great break and we know already more summers are coming and we are looking forward to come back again for more thrills....
04/26/14 Lindsay B
Phaidon is a fantastic place that I cannot wait to visit again! I'm 23 and my boyfriend is 25 and we had an absolute blast! We stayed for about 2 weeks and never got bored. It is a calm place, not a crazy "spring break" sort of place; go to Boracay for that. The dive instructor was knowledgeable and helpful. Since it was just us and my father with his girlfriend, we were able to take our time with the scuba diving lessons and were even able to take a few days off from it in the middle (my ears weren't equalizing well). Bernie is the owner and is a fantastic guy; he puts his guests first in every way. Bernie would come and eat meals and have drinks with us and go on dives with us as well. The staff satisfies needs without even being asked; no chasing down a waiter. The food is amazing and there are many choices; local foods as well as American, Italian, and Mexican. The food is made on site, nothing there is pre-packaged. I highly recommend the buco shakes. My dad stayed in one of the villas and it was beautiful. We stayed in a more classic hotel style room and it was perfect. There's ac, a ceiling fan, and a tv. The internet is mainly confined to the information desk but we didn't miss it as it turned out. All in all, it really felt like we were staying with friends. We were insanely comfortable and it really felt like home by the end. I really recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid the tourist-y stuff and just relax! I can't wait to go back!
"Depends on what your looking for!"
04/04/14 carrigon Delaware
While there are many nice things about this location, we would not book again. There just is not anything to do there aside from the resorts water activities like diving. I believe it's more for divers who will be gone all day. If you're at the resort all day, you may only sunbathe or read. While relaxation is important, we also want a resort with other options. You could not walk to anything outside the resort. It's a very narrow beach. And there are many, small, sand colored crabs on the beach. There was no shower curtain, nor a curtained the bathroom window. The pool was barely bigger than a hot tub and was on the edge of the restaurant covered by the roof. We upgraded to Honeymoon Suite. It had a living room, kitchen, master bedroom and bath. But only the bedroom and bath had air conditioning. And there was no wifi except in the bar and at the reception area. The resort provides comfortable, air conditioned transport to/from the airport. The driver as on time and did a great job! On the positive side, the staff were exceptionally friendly and very accommodating. We were the only couple there after the first night. They go out of their way to make sure your comfortable. Everything was clean. If you're looking for solitude or diving, this may be good for you.
"A slice of paradise"
02/23/14 windsurffun Boracay
Our stay at Phaidon was wonderful. Bernie the owner, his wife, daughter and all the staff are really friendly and made us feel so welcome. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and our parents stayed in the villa which both have awesome views of the beach, with a daybed to relax on on the balcony. The beach at Phaidon is beautiful and peaceful with the local fishermen hauling in their catch. The choice of food on the menu was huge considering the isolation and was always really tasty and fresh. The beef medallions are a must!! The food and drinks are all great value for money and they also have a great happyhour which you should take advantage of and watch the stunning sunsets. I cant recommend this place highly enough if you want to make an escape and we will definately be going back. Thank you Bernie and all your team.
""a SERENE PLACE""
01/09/14 Hope R Manila, Philippines
it's time to head to the beach..the wind blows through your hair..the warm sun bathes your skin..soft, white sand caresses your feet..If you love the sun, the beach "PHAIDON BEACH" is the right destination for u...The place is very peaceful...quiet..calm and very relaxing...staff are very friendly and always greeted u with the smile on their face that makes your day more beautiful...Beach is very nice...white sand and very clear water...food is very good..rooms are clean and very comfortable....rooftop bar is very cool and cozy coz its facing to the beach....Me & Jochen enjoy a lot during our stay there..we leave Phaidon with relaxed mind and free of stress...
"Don't go there."
01/05/14 AugusBagus Singapore, Singapore
Don't go there: This place is overpriced, unfriendly, and terrible value for money. There are some plus points at Phaidon beach resort, so I will start with those. The "private beach" feel is excellent. The rooms and common areas are very near and clean. The grass is cut to perfection. The rooftop bar is quite cool. Now that I am done with this "good start", lets talk about the room size. What they call "cottage" is literally what others would call "put a bed in a garage". The "deluxe room" is a bit better, but definitely a terrible value for money. If you book in this place because of the pool think twice: it's literally a bathtub. You can tell it has been built to be able to improve the resorts ranking on booking websites and it's not for people to use (except for foot bath maybe). The truly terrible part in this resort is the attitude. We got told to order food very early because food required time to "defrost". We checked our order twice but they still got it wrong and food was served randomly over a one hour window. When we requested breakfasts to be packed as we wanted to have a very early start with our private driver, they all got really aggressive as they realized we would not book one of their super expensive tours. They shouted at us. Charged us extra for a laughably small breakfast ("a lot of food" in their mouth = two boiled eggs, one small banana, two small pieces of bread per person). Told us we can't visit nearby malilisson island without them because it is "devastated" and we won't find a boat. It was all "non sense" (to reuse Bernie s own terms in his comments to other reviews). We gladly left phaidon with the firm intention to warn anyone against staying there. If you plan to have a good business, I don't think it's good to shout at your customers and lie to them. Nor that it's good to be clearly counting every last bean and practice "boracay station 1" levels of prices. The last thing you want during your vacation is to be treated like a dog... Go somewhere else.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )