Hotel had a nice vintage feel to it. Rooms were a bit small, but not bad. Would have liked to had free access to the pool and athletic amenities. We were told it was a $12 per person for access. Only real complaint was the lack of water pressure in the bathroom. Both in the sink and in the shower.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"I had a good time"
I had a good time staying here for my birthday. However i got a suite and i assumed that a Queen bed suite would include a refrigerator and a microwave. But it didnt. And the bathrom was really industrial looking. With a shower only. Which was also a surprise. But the service was great. The workers were really friendly and helpful since this was my […] first time staying there. It made me feel exclusive even being a non member. A friend and i ordered room service for breakfast after a long night out on the town. And i do have to say that was the most delicious breakfast ive ever had anywhere. And being a Chef by trade that says a lot. I will consider staying here in the future and experiencing more of what the property has to offer. Which is indeed more than enough for anyone. But can you guys please put fridges and microwaves in your suites?! And do something about those bathrooms. It reminds me of highschool lockerroom shower stalls. And thats not a good thing. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The suite didn't have a refrigerator or anything to cook with. There was no bathtub only a tiny corner shower.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Well within walking distance to ballpark and Arch"
Enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is old but well kept, clean and comfy. Would definitely stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The only reason we chose this hotel was because of the gym, swimming pool, etc. Imagine our surprise when we checked in Saturday afternoon and found out they were closing in a few hours and would remain closed during our stay. Very disappointing! To add insult to injury, we returned to our room and found a huge cockroach dead on the floor which made […] us all uneasy. Needless to say, we will not be staying again nor recommending it to any friends/family. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel is totally outdated and extremely overpriced. The rooms are old. Don't waste your money!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The staff was absolutely great. However the rooms were very small and outdated. Bathroom had low water pressure, and the tile was cracked and dirty.Genuine Expedia guest review
"A Clubby Little Gem"
Yes. It is clearly a club. That is the good news and the bad news. The lobby, bar and common areas are elegant and beautiful. The art magnificent. The staff wonderful... though a bit slim. The rooms are Spartan, a bit shabby and dated... though it seems that they are renovating many of them (which will help a lot). However, considering the price and […] the location, I would stay here again in a heart beat. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel with classic old-school club atmosphere"
I was in St Louis for a meeting, and the meeting hotel had sold out, so I tried the Missouri Athletic Club Hotel. I'm really glad I did. It had the ambience/feel of a classic old-school club, with lots of pictures of MAC members from a century ago, and dark wood and crown moldings in the lobby area, etc. I recommend it. Nice people at the front desk. […] Guest rooms are on the upper couple of floors, and were clean and quiet, and reminded me a lot of other classic historical hotels I've stayed in elsewhere. The wireless worked great, and was free. The hotel is just a few blocks from the Convention Center Metrolink train stop from the airport, which makes getting to the hotel painless and inexpensive, too. Couple of things to be aware of -- if you want to be able to use the athletic club facilities itself, there is an extra charge. I also had to move rooms midway through my stay because of a cold water problem with the plumbing in my original room, but the MAC made that process painless (my original room had a bathtub with a shower while my replacement room had only a shower, so if you care about baths vs. showers, you may want to confirm which you're getting). Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
We stayed overnight. This hotel is vintage men's club in appearance. Very nice staff and accommodations. We felt a bit out of place as we were road weary and dressed for a road trip, whereas the club has a dress code of which we were unaware. However the staff was very pleasant and made us feel welcome.Genuine Expedia guest review
Best service ever. We loved every minute of our stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We only spent one night at Missouri Athletic Club but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The front desk staff, bellman, and restaurant staff were all so helpful and friendly. We immediately felt very welcome. The food is reasonably priced, and the rooms clean. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that the beds creaked really bad when we sat on them but […] it wasn't that big of a deal, as we were dead tired after the baseball game. We will definitely look at staying at MAC again the next time we are in town for a Cardinals ballgame. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice Lobby - Old Room"
The lobby and hotel staff were first class. The hotel was built in 1903 and the individual rooms have not been remodeled since then. The bed was fine. The bath room had the wall and floor tiles like in my parent's home in the 1960's. The toilet seat cover was normal and did not fit the elongated seat. The medicine cabinet was from the Roosevelt area. […] The front desk had to call the building maintenance to get the space heater working. The carpeting should be replaced. This hotel is fine if you are an athlete going to use the gyms, but needs upgrading if if you are looking for a business class room. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us about your experience here at the MAC! You have brought some very important feedback our way, and I have forwarded your notes on to our engineering and housekeeping teams for follow up. We will be embarking on the guest room portion of our renovation in the very near future, and many of these issues will be addressed. While I can assure you that all of our rooms have had several face lifts in the past 110 years since our opening, there are definitely some areas that show their age, and we are eager to fix these! I sincerely apologize that we fell short in this regard, but thank you for pointing out our friendly team members. I will be sure to share the commendations with all. Thanks again for your feedback; we hope that you will give us another shot in the near future! Sincerely,
"Suprisingly Unique Find"
When I booked the Missouri Athletic Club, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was more than pleased with the beautiful environment of the lobby and rooms within the club. The wood paneling, the furniture, the artwork added to the ambiance of the Club. The location was ideal to being able to walk to the convention center. I was very pleased with my stay […] at the Missouri Athletic Club. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Ken, Thank so much for your kind words in regards to your stay here. We are truly a one of a kind establishment, and our lobby is a piece of artwork on its own! I am so happy that you were able to enjoy this asset of our club. Our location is also something that is rarely rivaled in downtown St. Louis; we truly pride ourselves in being so close to all of the major St. Louis attractions! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and we look forward to having you back in the near future! Sincerely,
"Class and Style"
The hotel had an old-world charm that was very classy. I enjoyed the style and sophistication. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The only thing I wish I had known about ahead of time was the dress code. Not a big deal if you're just staying in the hotel, but you might check into it ahead of time if you plan to use the fitness or restaurant f […] acilities. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Erin, Thank you so much for taking time to let us know about your experience here at the MAC! It is a difficult balancing act to keep that classy "old world " charm that you speak of, while maintaining a clean and modernized facility. I am happy to know that we have met the mark in this regard! We do indeed have some of the most friendly and experienced guest services team members here, I will surely pass along the commendations! I apologize that the attire guidelines were of a disservice to your stay. They were designed to help maintain that "classy" feeling that you speak of and to help maintain that ambiance that were are so well known for. There are notes on our website as well as all of our booking sites; however your feedback may call for another look at how apparent this information is to someone on our site. Thanks again for your kind words; we look forward to having you back in the near future!
"Best hotel in St. Louis"
Staff treated me like royalty. Was in town for convention which is only 1 block away. Facility is older but well maintained. Won't stay anywhere else when I'm in St. Louis. This is the only hotel for me.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Randy, I am so glad to hear that our guest services team delivered during your stay! We indeed have some of the most experienced and friendly team members here at the MAC, and it is nice to hear when we have met the mark. I am happy to know that we have gained a repeat guest for life! We will be here when you return to St. Louis. Thanks again! Sincerely,
"nice hotel close to the Edwards Jones Dome"
The staff in the hotel was wonderful and the restaurant was very good. The staff in the restaurant was very slow and most of the time didn't appear to know what was going on but very friendly.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Not Kid Friendly"
I didn't realize this hotel was literally a "club". The facilities are for members only unless you purchase a rec pass which I did for my kids. However, this has very much an adult only country club type feel to it. The restaurants have dress codes so we couldn't eat there, not with 4 boys in tennis shoes, T-shirts and shorts. I didn't know this when […] I booked the room. The staff working the gym and pool were not kid friendly. It was a beautiful old historical building, but I will never take my family there again as it is not kid friendly. I chose this hotel due to it's distance to the Cardinals stadium and thought the kids would have fun playing basketball and swimming. I also had issues with the room, I couldn't get any air to work and the phone in my room wouldn't connect to the front desk when you push the front desk button. Later they told me you have to just push "0". Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Rude and incompetent staff (with the exception of accounting who were very nice in helping me with a billing issue). The rooms are gross, mold is growing on the wall near the floor. The shower temperature cannot be regulated, it's either hot lava or freezing rain. The rooms smell like a damp basement. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every […] noise from the hall and the neighbors rooms. The only reason that I give it two stars is because it's within walking distance of the Edward Jones Dome/America's Center and because it's the cheapest option in the area. Next time, I'll pay the extra 50 a night to have a clean, non-moldy room with staff that actually know what they are doing. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Crystal, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit! It sounds like we have completely fallen short, and I am terribly sorry that this was your first impression of us. I have pulled your reservation history and we will be sure to pass these notes along to our engineering and housekeeping team. Sometimes it takes a pair of fresh guest eyes to bring forth some attention to detail and while I am glad you did, I am so sorry to have left you with a poor impression of our hotel and facilities. We are about to embark on a large-scale guest room rehab project that should cover many of these issues, and we will be also adding some additional guest rooms and suites along the way. I am glad you were able to enjoy our location, and hope that you give us another opportunity in the future to let our assets shine. Thanks again for staying with us and bringing these issues to our much needed attention! Sincerely, Alex Cass
"Historical Hotel in downtown area."
Historical building in downtown area. Convenient to park and close to everything.Genuine Expedia guest review
If you are busy for the day and just want a comfy bed at night, this is the one for you (the room is small but the bed is comfortable). The only thing less than satisfactory is the maintenance, which can be done easily at very low cost (not sure why they don't do so). For example, adding more hooks to the bathroom, replacing those broken door stoppers, […] adding a coat of stain and polyurethane to those dull old wood doors. There is no desk lamp equipped in my room and I can hardly see my keyboard when typing on my computer. In addition, an electrical outlet is needed in the bathroom (and other locations in the room). Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Eddie, Thanks so much for reaching out to us in regards to your stay here last week. Although we are aware that we do have some guest rooms, that based on their layout on the inside curve of the building are smaller than some of the other rooms, we do have plenty of guest rooms that have a bit more space. Should you return to St. Louis in the future, please let us know in advance that you would like a room with a bit more room, and we will do our absolute best to accommodate that. You have definitely given us some great ideas for when we embark on the guest room upgrades in the near future. The age of the building has definitely left some areas that need to be brought back to life, and I am so thankful that you were able to identify some of the issues that only candid guest feedback can reveal. Thanks again for your kind words; we look forward to hopefully having you back again in the near future. Sincerely, Alex Cass
Visited the MAC for a quick weekend trip. The building, its facilities, and all of the MAC staff were wonderful. The location is unbeatable if you're looking to explore downtown.Genuine Expedia guest review
"A true Athletic Club"
The first floors are dedicated to the Athletic Club with amenities including a full court basketball court on the 5th & 6th floor, an indoor track, free weights, spinning classes, aerobic rooms, and a 1/2 size Olympic swim pool. The rooms are a little old and out dated, but was very clean, warm, and welcoming.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great location for sight seeing!"
From the moment we entered we felt at home. Woman at the desk was helpful and friendly. Would stay there again!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Dear John, Thanks so much for taking time to tell us about your visit here. We pride ourselves on having friendly and knowledgeable team members throughout the club; it is so nice to hear that you felt that sense of warm hospitality that our reception team tends to give off. We would love to have you back again in the near future! Thanks again. Sincerely, Alex Cass Guest Services
"Close to the Dome"
Not a big fan of cigar smoke, but the service and food was excellent!!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Thank you so much for taking time to tell us about your experience. I too am not a big fan of the cigar smoke, but it is one of the unique qualities about the club that gives it that old-fashioned feel, and our members love it. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the restaurant here; we do indeed have delicious food, and our chef and culinary team is absolutely top notch! We hope that you choose us again when you return to St. Louis; thank you again for your kind words. Sincerely, Alex Cass Guest Services
"Great hotel for price."
Couldn't of been any better. Walking distance to Edward Jones Dome and the Casino. Will stay at again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Great staff Alex is awesome. ...all of staff was greatGenuine Expedia guest review
"Beautiful historic venue in great location"
The Missouri Athletic Club exceeded all of our expectations. It is a beautiful place--incredible artwork in the lobbies and halls. Gorgeous woodwork, etc. Built in 1914 and still used for its original purpose. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Some of the reviews may mention that the rooms aren't insulated for noise, but this is an OLD hotel--still […] beautifully kept up--and buildings were simply designed differently 100 years ago. I love the feel of old hotels that have been lovingly cared for--kind of like time-traveling! Located only 2 blocks from LaClede's landing, where there are great restaurants and bars in old buildings on cobblestone streets. About a 4-5 block walk to the arch, a 5 block walk to the Hilton conference center and baseball stadium, a two block walk to the Conference Center and Metro station, and excellent places to eat and drink nearby. Incredible athletic facilities ($12 per room for the entire stay) Parking was easy (directly adjacent to the hotel) and safe-also very reasonably priced for a downtown hotel. We will return!! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great service. Overall a bit disappointed."
Our first room was across from some loud parties. Asked for a room change and was meet with a apologies and kind words. Rooms don't have a bath tub (2 small children to bath) only a shower. Next room faced busy street with St. Patty's day music and traffic till 11pm. Athletic facility a plus. Overall not disappointed not wowed.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Andrew, Thanks so much for taking time to let us know about your experience here at the Missouri Athletic Club! We truly value candid feedback from our guests to make improvements! I am so sorry that you had to encounter loud noise and music during your visit; it is obvious that the St. Patty's Day celebrations here in St. Louis definitely have their down sides, especially for visiting families such as yourselves that dont take part in the crazy festivities that this day often is known for. I too would be frustrated if I was hoping for a quiet stay, and was bothered by this type of partying and interrupting noise. We will be making some improvements and upgrades to our guest rooms over the next year, and I hope that you will come stay with us again; I am confident that we can find you accommodations that may be more comfortable for a family of 4. I am glad you enjoyed the athletic facilities, as that is what we are famous for! We would absolutely love to have you again in the future and have the opportunity to "WOW" you. Thanks again for your feedback; we look forward to hopefully having you stay with us again in the near future, hopefully during a week that is not so crazy in St. Louis! Sincerely, Alex Cass Guest Services
Only suggestions are for easier access outlets for electronics, more towel hooks and a shelf in shower.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Thank you so much for reaching out to us regarding your experience here at the MAC! As we wrap up our long-awaited hallway renovations, and embark on the next chapter which is the rooms portion of the project, these notes are going to be vital in determining what actual changes are made. Some of your ideas seem like they could be easy fixes, and I would totally agree; a shelf in the shower and easy access to outlets would definitely be simple and somewhat inexpensive and could definitely add to a comfortable experience for all of our guests With our building built in 1903, there remains some inconsistency from guest room to guest room, in that some rooms/bathrooms have different details and outlet placement than others. We appreciate the ideas, and hope that you were still able to enjoy the rest of our amenities and enjoy your visit to St. Louis. Thanks again.
Great historic hotel with great customer service.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Alyssa, Thank you so much for your kind words. You nailed it right on the head! We are extremely proud of our history, and have so much of it right inside our building. It is so neat to see some of the pictures of our members and facilities from back in the early 1900's. We always try to maintain that old-fashioned feel that our members love, yet stay current with our facilities and overall function. I am so glad that you enjoyed the aesthetic and hope that you were able to see all that this amazing club has to offer. We also pride ourselves with having some of the friendliest and outgoing team members, that absolutely love our guests and members and proving top-notch guest services at every interaction. It is so great to know that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future!
The building is old so it's understandable that renovations are taking place. But it took me by surprise and it was on every floor.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Thanks so much for taking time to let us know about your visit! I would indeed be frustrated too, to arrive at a hotel in hopes of a smooth and pleasant stay, to find that much of the guest hallway space was under renovation. In an effort to complete as much work as possible and not have the project drag on and on, affecting our guests for extended periods of time, the thought was to try and get all of the hallway public space completed and work as quickly as possible on all areas at once. A large portion of the project is now complete, with new wall vinyl, brand new marble tiling on each elevator landing, new hallway artwork and updated ceiling fixtures and wall sconces just to name a few updates. We are currently working around the clock to offer a new product with a gorgeous arrival experience for our guests, and again, sincerely apologize that you had to bear witness to some of the candid, behind the scenes renovation process. We greatly appreciate the feedback, and input such as your own only fuels our energy and excitement to finish this project and offer gorgeous downtown accommodations with a prime location for years to come. The updates were indeed long overdue, and we sincerely appreciate your business during this transition period. Thank you again for reaching out to us with your sentiments.
"I would use this as a back up plan."
the location was great. the parking staff and the staff at the front desk were not very friendly upon check out. the woman in the parking garage was very rude.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Missouri Athletic Club Thank you for taking valuable time to let us know about your experience. I must agree, that our location is one of our best assets, however, he have also always prided ourselves on the personalities and attitudes of our guest services associates, and it is troubling and concerning that your encounter with a few individuals left a negative tone to your visit. We will be addressing this immediately with the management teams in each of these areas to make sure that every single guest and member is offered a friendly face and tone and helpful information. You can rest assured that this information will definitely serve as a tool for training purposes going forward. I thank you again for taking time out to tell us about your visit; we will absolutely make the necessary changes to ensure that this does not happen again. Best Regards,
"We had a great view of the river!"
Well the step into the bathroom was awful! Can't imagine being any older and having to step up or down! No decent light for make-up! The heat works to good had to open window to not sweat to death. Your staff was excellent!Genuine Expedia guest review
"NOT worth the money!"
I stayed here because of the amenities which are nice (pool, gym, basketball court). None of these amenities were worth the terrible nights stay. The walls are paper thin and I could hear everything from a 4-5 room radius. The rooms are supremely dated and dirty. I don't typically leave harsh reviews but I'll never stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Hotel was very clean and comfortable."
This was my first stay at this hotel. I was pleased and very comfortable. Staff was excellent. Bed was very comfortable. I will use this hotel again.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Monday night football"
We enjoyed St. Louis and the Missouri Athletic Club. Nice hotel, very classy. Close to sports venues and attractions. Next time we'll stay longer.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We were in town for a concert and chose to stay here...but this place would be ideal for a sports fan! Very very close to the stadiums! Also close to the Arch and other great sites. Hotel is old and with that comes things like smaller rooms and more "classic" amenities which we thought were great, but may not work for everyone. Lots of history, and […] things to do and see right in the hotel. I did take away one half point because we stayed on a Sunday night and the restaurant was not open for dinner, and the other half point because I couldn't get the wifi to work (to be fair I didn't bother to call down and ask or anything so I can't really complain!) Other than that everything was top notch and the staff was truly the nicest I've EVER encountered! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Recommendations for the owner"
I was very disappointed when I arrived at the hotel with my three guess. The place could be nice if it was clean. The floor was so dirty in the elevator,the hall and room. There was no shower curtain in the room, and the stopper in the face bowl was broke. I became ill the next day after I arrived and could not enjoy my trip.Genuine Expedia guest review
My wife recently developed a heart problem, a few weeks before we arrived, they where very helpfull and left a wheelchair with us for our stay.... To the club, thank you very much.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to stadiums."
Older hotel, very nice staff but rooms are small and rooms do not have individual A/C controls. Next to freeway so if facing you can hear the traffic but convenient locatoin.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome"
A hotel full of character! Don't see many like this anymore.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice...if you want to stay in a dorm room"
Very disappointing. I thought I was getting a great deal considering the more expensive options. However, you get what you pay for. The hotel is old and outdated, the bed was hard, the pillows were hard, and the shower had standing water. Yuck! Just an overall bad experience.Genuine Expedia guest review
Loved this historic, well located hotel. Very comfy beds and good athletic facilities. Great club environmentGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"It's All About The Staff"
Being an endowed, no debt, members only club, they can indulge patrons with a forgotten era of personal services and facilities - there are staff everywhere and as a hotel patron you are treated as a member (note: not the pathetic Cancun "you're better than us service", but real understanding of your needs). If you appreciate service as conducted in […] the 50's and 60's in the US this place is a pleasant time tunnel. The facility is old and run down, but I don't care because the ambiance is in every corner (you don't see service people at the chains because that money is used to service their debt - the chains have an exercise room but this place has a three floor gym with ball court, swimming pool, running track, massage and full dressing rooms). If you are looking for shinny, supper clean, new, where you reside in splendid isolation - go to a new hotel in the burbs. But if you want a menu where the choices are limited but everything is good, if you want to sip 18 year old Scotch with a cigarette and watch a game, if you don't want to always be moving money around in your wallet to pay in cash and tips (billed to your room) - this is the place. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Needs an update"
You would think a hotel as historical as this would invest a little on updating their roomsGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Blast from the past."
Old school but refreshing compared to the chain motels we are accustomed to these days.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not worth $$$$"
Everything worked. Staff very courteous. But rooms are very old and look it physically. Bed, tv, desk . . . Did not look old, but walls, carpet, bathroom did. For the price, stay elsewhere and get the whole package nice. Did not use any of the amenities, so if you are going for those, and old doors, walls, . . . don't bother you, it may be worth it […] . Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"great hotel for price"
Hotel is a little outdated but great customer service. Great location. Will stay there again!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The location of the hotel was perfect for the Jags vs. Rams game. The staff was absolutely amazing, the rooms were comfy and clean and looked like they were kept in old time style on purpose.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )