All hotels in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
Kilometer 4 on main road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio, Puntarenas, Costa Rica, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.4 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 33 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.6
  • Service
    4.2
  • Comfort
    4.6
  • Condition
    4.5
  • Neighborhood
    4.2
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Little piece of paradise"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
beautiful garden area
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night family trip May 29, 2015
Kimberly
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Highly recommended."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Great service, great location, huge room. 5 star experience. Great private beach. Saw monkeys and a sloth on the hotel grounds. Would stay again
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Feb 24, 2015
Jeffrey
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Ok hotel."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Beach is very small and not inviting. Other than the master suite, the bedrooms are small, however common area in the units are quite spacious. Trees have grown to obscure beach view unless you are on floor 6 or higher. Pool area is nice and the included breakfast is plentiful.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 14, 2015
Daryl
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fantastic hotel with its own private beach"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This was an amazing experience. The staff was by far the best hotel staff I have ever encountered. They treated us like family. I highly recommend this hotel if you are a family of 5 or more. The condo is very spacious and felt like we had our own house! With a full kitchen, 2 1/2 bathrooms and 2 showers, we had plenty of space to use. The hotel restaurant is wonderful. The food is fantastic and the service is superb!! To top it all off, the hotel has its own private beach. This place is paradise!!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 3, 2015
Deb
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"exquisite villas, ours overlooked the Pacific."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Staff and accommodations were wonderful. My family and I would go back again and again. Staff arranged all of our excursions (which were great). Personnel and accommodations could not have been better. Included breakfast was good and restaurant is beautiful, overlooking the Pacific. Go and you won't be disappointed.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 14, 2015
Pam
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great for families or multiple couples"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The Preserve at Los Altos is in a terrific location in Quepos in the heart of the Manuel Antonio area; The units are very large with 2-3 bedrooms plus a master bedroom. The kitchen is a full kitchen with large refrigerator, oven., cooktop and vent plus the usual microwave, toaster coffee maker etc. One could explore the area with a family and each member have privacy; there are terrific restaurants very close by and the Manuel Antonio Park is a very short drive away. Most tour companies will pick you up at this hotel/condo...The biggest issue here is that while the living room has an outstanding view, the Master bedroom is just the opposite---the windows all face a wall due to how the design of the building wraps around....it is more than a little depressing!! Having said that--get the heck out of bed and enjoy one of the most incredible countries on earth!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 1, 2014
John
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Spacious, But Several Missing Things"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
It is as advertised - a huge multi room beautifully decorated apartment. We had 6 of us, 2 adults and 4 teenagers (ages 15-18) and we usually get two hotel rooms so I was very pleased to have us all under one roof. So that's the good news. BUT.....many annoying things that had they been in place would bring rating from three to five. First - wifi is free - but doesn't reach to all the rooms because the place is so huge. But if you have guests in the generous private room in the back, they won't have in room wifi. Second - no laundry; wasn't promised - but this is at the end of our trip and we really could have used a washer/dryer to take care of the many wet items we had. They do have laundry hook ups which is what makes this frustrating that they don't provide a washer/dryer. Third -- no dishwasher or paper towels or napkins - imagine using the beautiful and spacious kitchen for 6 people and trying to clean up - not so easy and there were ants that came if dishes left out so we had to hand clean things in the sink. Again - dishwasher hooks up were there - but no dishwasher. Fourth - no TVs in any rooms except main living room. at least have a TV in the master bedroom. I know this sounds like I'm whining...but we are paying $800 per night - so you do have a certain expectation for amenities. Grounds are nice, ocean view is so so -- it's at an angle so you really don't see it from most of the room unless you are right on the porch or at the far end of the room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip Nov 26, 2014
Ellyn
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"amazing"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Amazing hotel worth every penny! :-)
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Aug 1, 2014
Christina
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"de walker"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Awesome
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Sep 26, 2014
Corvelest
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel and incredibly spacious 3 bedroom!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Hotel has excellent services, rooms with 3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, island with barstools, table seats 6, balcony and full kitchen are stunning. The staff, pool, restaurant are all very nice. Zero need for a car - easy taxis, bus and staff coordinated for any activities and were very accommodating to schedule even on late notice.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 13, 2014
Elizabeth
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great for a group of friends very spacious !"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great location / restaurant / suites and extremely spacious. Modern simple.... Could use a little more extras like robes slippers to make it more cozy. A bartender at the pool bar would've been nice to have. Overall very happy with our stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 15, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great vACATION"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The private beach is hard to get to. The WI is bad but otherwise execllent
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 14, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Hotel."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Had two nights at Los Altos and wish we had longer. Very spacious and well fitted out condo. Had a large balcony with a nice view and very quiet. Will recommend
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice luxury"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Very luxurious.. Beyond belief huge...lovely staff
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 9, 2014
sheri
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Awesome place to stay in Manuel Antonio"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The room was huge and decorated very well in contemporary style. Every room had spectacular views. Loved the stay. The staff was good but not great. The private beach was decent but not all that great. Breakfast was out of this world.The gardens were kept very well. The pool was unbelievable with a killer views of pacific. There were plenty of great restaurants to eat within walking distance. Overall loved the stay and would definitely recommend this hotel for families and larger groups.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 22, 2014
Emmanuel
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful Views"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
A great place to stay in Costa Rica with a great location (close to food, shops and the National Park) and beautiful views. A great place for groups as the accomodations are spacious.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night trip Mar 4, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Intersting luxury building"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Huge apartments in a safe location leading to the park. Luxurious. Only drawback is that eooms were hidden from the sea view.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Mar 1, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Amazing rooms"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Fantastic views and rooms. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Beautiful views of sunset from restaurant. Very safe. I highly recommend this hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Preserve at Los Altos
Thank you taking the time to write a wonderful review about our staff, restaurant and accommodations. We absolutely hope to see you and/or your family and friends in the near future!
Other trip May 18, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great hotel for a large family"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This hotel suite is the largest we've ever stayed. It has 3 large bedrooms and a huge kitchen-dinning and living room. The decorations are modern, the beds are comfortable, the beds are comfortable. The view and enviroment are beautiful. The only complain I may have is that there is only 1 TV in the living room. Although there are TV hook-ups in other bedrooms, but no TV. That leaves people fighiting for the remote-control of that only TV
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Preserve at Los Altos
Thank you for your review and nice comments about our condominiums and the views from the balcony! You are right, the views are wonderful. We can understand your comment regarding the TV and will keep it on file for sure. We do hope to have the pleasure of your visit in the near future again.
Other trip Apr 15, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"ok hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
i stayed in 13b. i thought it was a mansion in a room. the prices of the things are hig butt the luxury of the hotel makes up for it.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Preserve at Los Altos
Thank you Burnt Marshmall for your review. We certainly strive to offer all our guests a wonderful travel experience and we do hope to see you again on your next trip to Manuel Antonio!
Other trip Apr 8, 2013
burnt marshmall
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"nicest hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Room is HUGE and we loved the layout. Free breakfast is standard fare. Private beach was cool, but we enjoyed the main beach to the south. Only complaint is the WiFi sucks since you have to login every time you unlock your device or open your laptop. At least it was fast and free. Of the five luxury hotels we stayed at, this was the best.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Preserve at Los Altos
Hello Matthew, thank you for your review. We can't express enough how thrilled we are to hear that Los Altos was the nicest hotel you stayed at in Costa Rica. Regarding the WIFI, we will address the issue and find a better solution. At least when you are connected, as you mentioned as well, the WIFI is fast. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip out here!
4 night trip with friends Mar 2, 2013
Matthew
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Could be great- but it's not quite there."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Rooms, actually a condo, are large and well appointed. The staff however, was only minimally helpful- did not go out of their way at all to eg look up times and prices for excursions, or offer restaurant suggestions, etc. Appeared rather bored, not what one would expect at this type and price hotel. Other people suggested concierge at a nearby hotel who was wonderful and extremely helpful. Also, we chose an "ocean view" room- it actually looked out on a telephone pole and parking lot, with a Distant view of the ocean. They did change our room at our request. Finally, the hotel beach had chairs strewn around, not kept up at all, though it could have been a lovely place. Difficult to walk to- transportation provided, but when we requested a ride to another nearby spot this was not possible- in spite of staff/van not busy doing anything else. Much more friendly help would be needed to make this a really great place.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Preserve at Los Altos
Dear Susan. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I have to be honest, but it is a surprise to read your comments about our staff, as they always try to assist and help our guests with everything they need. From transportation, pre-arrival groceries to making activity reservations and bringing the guests to our exclusive beach during the day. We do not provide the service to bring the guests to nearby spots yet, but we are thinking about it and maybe in the near future we will offer it. We do hope to have the pleasure of your stay again, in order for you to experience a great service and in the end to go back home with wonderful memories.
Other trip Jan 12, 2013
Susan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Will be back"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
It is a beautiful hotel, with beautiful people in a beautiful place...just amazing.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Preserve at Los Altos
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review .We are very pleased to read your comments about our hotel, our location and our staff. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back!
Other trip Nov 19, 2012
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beyond my expectations!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
My experience @ Los Altos was amazing! The staff was beyond accommodating and the pictures does not do it justice. If you are looking for pure luxury, comfort top of the line customer service this is the place to stay. Miss you all!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Preserve at Los Altos
Thank you Mandy for your great review. We are incredibly pleased to hear that your experience was amazing. We pride ourselves on providing guests with a well-rounded vacation experience, from offering first class accommodations to booking excursions, and we are certainly happy to have met, and exceeded, your expectations!
Other trip Nov 5, 2012
Mandy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Awesome condo with beautiful private beach access. Great location, close to everything, including Manuel Antonio National Park.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Jul 19, 2012
A Traveler
US

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Beautiful grounds, great pool, helpful staff...lovely escape
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 19, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beautiful huge well equipped suites!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Based on the suite alone I would have given this hotel a 5 rating - they are very big and beautiful - no complaints there! My main problem was with the pricing and I feel both Expedia and Los Altos are to blame. I booked a suite online for what I thought was our family of four. When I arrived I was told I had to pay an extra $75 per teenager per night - as my reservation was only for 2 adults. This was never clear to me and when I looked back at both websites, there was all kinds of conflicting information. In some places they say the charge is $60 per extra adult and $40 per extra child. In others they say that all guests are considered adults regardless of age. In yet another area it says "these extra charges do not apply during peak season", which is when we were there, and yet they insisted we had to pay for them. The bottom line is we ended up paying over $500 extra for a 3 night stay - so beware of hidden charges/costs.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 1, 2014
Brenda
CA

The following reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

2.0 / 5Fair
"Never more"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
We had a really bad experience at Los Altos. It was one inconvenient after the other: a) We arrived at 5pm and the room was not ready/clean for the check in (which should be available at 3pm), I had to complain a lot to get the room ready and cleaned at 7pm. b) At the check in the front desk people insisted that my stay was not previously paid, only after some arguments they recognized it was already paid. c) All beds in the room are noisy, really noisy, and not comfortable. d) Poor breakfast. e) Asked for towels at pool three times and finally I gave up. In summary, although it is a very beautiful place, the poor service and the noisy and uncomfortable beds made our weekend unpleasant. Won´t stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Mar 21, 2014
A Traveler
CR
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Das Preserve ist sicher für den amerikanischen Geschmack ausgezeichnet - für uns mit Einschränkungen, da es an Charme fehlt, allein die Größe der Räume macht dies nicht wett. Auch das Design mit den dunklen Böden und dem mangelnden natürlichem Lichteinfluss bei den Schlafräumen, die nicht optimale Raumaufteilung durch den langen Gang entsprechen nicht unserem Geschmack. Der schönste Raum ist das Wohnzimmer - wenn sie allerdings die Balkone benützen stört der Lärm der Klimaanlage. Die Lobby ist ein improviserter Empfangsbereich und kein Hotelempfang (war aber vermutlich ursprünglich gedacht, dass alle Appartements verkauft werden und da dies nur teilweise gelang, wird es eben als Hotel betrieben). Alles in allem: gut geeignet für einen Familienurlaub mit mehreren Personen, die auch die Möglichkeit der Selbstversorgung nutzen wollen. (gut eingerichtete Küche)... wir bevorzugen eher Hotels mit landestypischen Charme und werden dies beim nächsten Mal mehr berücksichtigen
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Feb 6, 2014
Martina Steinbacher
AT
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Exelente servicio, personal exelente"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Un lugar maravilloso, exelente servicio, un apartamento lindo, limpio y exelente vista
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jul 13, 2013
Carlos
CR
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night family trip Jun 23, 2015
Amir
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 30, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
6 night trip Aug 19, 2012
Vanessa
US

TripAdvisor reviews for Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa

Overall rating:Based on 338 traveler reviews

Most recent traveler reviews:

Overall Rating
"Absolute Jungle Luxury"
07/05/15 Daniel S Brooklyn, New York
I don't write reviews very often, but my stay at Los Altos was unparalleled and I felt I should share my experience. I'm from NYC and my travels are usually limited to high-end city type locations, and so I was taken aback by the quality of the accommodations at Los Altos, a luxury style apartment reminiscent of home in an incredibly dynamic outdoor paradise of Manuel Antonio. My friends and I had no idea what we were doing in Costa Rica, but it has been a hot topic of vacation conversation for some time, and so when we saw the apartment at Los Altos, the view, the pool/spa, and the type of activities they could set up for us (zip lining, surfing lessons, water rafting tours, coffee plantation tour), it seemed like the obvious choice. We loved being able to play house in the jungle (we occasionally made our own snacks in the full kitchen after buying some groceries down the street), but also took full advantage of the meticulous daily service and great food at the on-premise restaurant. Views from both our room and the restaurant were stunning, and watching the sunset with delicious coffee and ice cream became a natural end of day activity. Sometimes we were even greeted by a local family of monkeys traveling by! Down the hill is the local beach, and though it's a bit rocky, we all enjoyed exploring and taking photos (I'm an avid photographer and talk about a vividly colorful, beautiful scenery). Plus there are gorgeous beaches a 4 minute cab ride away so it wasn't like we didn't have our beach days. When we weren't exploring, we were out on a number of curated tours as I mentioned before. Zip lining and the water raft tour were highlights. Manuel Antonio National Park had the most incredibly beautiful surf area cove - it felt like we were on untouched land, swimming with nature as it should be left. Absolutely lovely. And of course when we weren't running around on adventures we were lounging by the pool, sipping fruit smoothie cocktails, and soaking up the sun. The pool/spa area is as well crafted as any Miami hotel I've been to, and it was made all the better by the location - it was as if we had escaped that type of absurd scene we were so bored of and found a new one.... all for ourselves! Great for families or multiple families vacationing together. And of course great friends who have known each other forever who want to escape their normal routine. I highly recommend it all.
Overall Rating
"Great place for families."
07/04/15 Jehan J Irvine, California, United States
This is a great place for families. Be aware that the property is more like a condo than a hotel. This has its advantages and disadvantages. First of all the rooms are massive. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom unit on the 7 the floor of building 2. The room is huge with 2.5 bathrooms, full kitchen and very large living and dining room. Each bedroom had an ocean view. A great room for our family of 4. Maybe not as ideal for coupes. Every staff member we encountered was very polite and did their best to help. That being said, it's a bit different than he service you would receive at a 4 or 5 star resort The location of re hotel is great. It's an easy walk to some great restaurants and bars. We loved el Milagros and the falafel bar. The beach here is not an option. Its a difficult walk and there are no amenities down there. We had to use our cell phone to call for a shuttle ride back. The pool was on the smaller side but nice and warm.
Overall Rating
"A Fabulous Place To Stay"
07/03/15 vicskip2015 Atlanta, Georgia
Our family of 5 spent a week at Los Altos Beach and Spa Resort to celebrate an anniversary and birthday. We loved everything about this place... from the incredibly beautiful condo, to the wonderful staff, to the delicious food. We would recommend staying at this resort and in this wonderful area. There is so much to do...canopy tour, Manuel Antonio Reserve tour, Catamaran tour, and a night time nature hike.
Overall Rating
"2015 Summer Vacation "
06/30/15 mrspbs San Diego, California
Fabulous family setting. We spent 7 days in this hotel/condo style setting. Traveled with our 21-year old college daughter along with our 14-year old daughter. This is a private complex with restaurant, pool, and spa. We had a 2-bedroom, 2.5 bath with full kitchen, oversized living-family-dining room with full ocean views. Each bedroom has a balcony. Staff is gracious and very attentive. Saw monkeys and a sloth on the property.
Overall Rating
"Luxury and great location at a great price."
06/27/15 Chip M
We stayed at Los Altos for 4 nights - a family of 4 with two young girls. The hotel is lovely and beautifully situated on a lush hillside. We were in a penthouse suite (upgraded from a panoramic room at no charge - thank you!). The suite was massive, almost too big for the 4 of us (a high class problem). It had 4 bedrooms, including an upstairs master en suite that could have easily fit our family all by itself. Full kitchen, huge spa-style showers, very cool contemporary design overall and a private jacuzzi on a rooftop terrace - not to mention a jaw-dropping north-westward view of the coast and sunsets from the large balcony off the great room. The master suite actually had a great southeastward view of the coast as it meanders south. The grounds are quite nice - very lush and frequented by entertaining groups of Capuchin monkeys and sloths (the staff was great at alerting guests when there was something to see on site). The hotel's beach was a disappointment (the rocks literally preclude playing in the surf), but very nice beaches are an easy drive away just a few minutes south. All in all a splendid accommodation, but definitely a more cosmopolitan aesthetic so probably not the best choice for folks wanting a more traditional, modest/"authentic" environment. The guys at the front desk were warm and friendly and could not have been more helpful. Just great. Our girls loved the pool - a nice infinity design with decent bar service. The restaurant was nice to look at and the one dinner we had there was good. The breakfasts (included with stay) were OK if a bit on the boring side - they would benefit from mixing up the daily selections more creatively. If we didn't have two young girls clamoring for food each morning we likely would have ventured off site for alternatives. And as for venturing off site for food, the location could not be better - easy walking distance to a number of really good eateries (Emilio's, Agua Azul) and a very quick drive to others (eg Ronny's Place). There's also a handy mini market and bank/ATM within a 5 min walk from the grounds. We did not spend a lot of time in town or exploring MA Park outside of guided activities - namely a zip line tour with Canopy Safari which was a blast. We also did a scuba trip (Oceans Unlimited - Patrick and JD are great, see separate review) and family surf lessons (Manuel Antonio Surf School - James, Oscar and Ronald were phenomenal). In the end we left feeling like we did a lot and truly enjoyed ourselves but we barely scratched the surface. We had a wonderful time in MA, and the Los Altos and its friendly staff made for a great home base. We recommend the Los Altos highly.
Overall Rating
"Perfect for our Needs"
06/24/15 redheadmom Boston
We stayed here in late April as a family of four. I was able to get an upgrade to a higher level room which had awesome views of the water and "the jungle". Our unit felt very private. Lots of room for us to spread out the little time we actually spent in the unit. We spent most of our time on excursions (which the front desk guys helped recommend and arrange). The restaurant at the resort is average at best but the service at the pool was great, Degaldo was like our own personal naturalist at the pool who also served tasty drinks! We saw a variety of wildlife including toucans, monkeys and sloths and birds right there on the property. We didn't really like the beach and took the public bus to the public beach which we enjoyed. The resort is in a great location with markets and quality restaurants right outside (easy walking distance) the resort. Mid April is considered off season and so our rate for the room was a deal. No rain!
Overall Rating
"Great accomodation"
06/18/15 Carole W Van Buren, Arkansas
Great accommodation! Rooms are large and clean, but wish they had more tropical color. The food at the restaurant is really good. We didn't have plans and wanted to have a relaxing time at the infinity pool, since the small rocky beach is half a mile away down a steep hill. (They will shuttle you up or down or both ways.). At the pool they started blasting Hispanic rap music. Hardly calming!
Overall Rating
"American comforts in Costa Rica "
06/17/15 NathanJTravels
We didn’t get off to a great start with Los Altos Resort. Coming from a few hours travel via the Nicoya Coast, we arrived to a condo hi-rise in the middle of a hillside, not a beach, not a jungle- not what we expected coming from a coastal town where we stayed in a villa in the middle of a lush green heaven (see my Casa Chameleon review if interested). We didn’t really like it, they didn’t have our reservation when we arrived and I made the mistake of correcting them on how many days we planned to stay… They only had us for three nights, but I corrected them that we were staying 6… I should have let it be. You only need 3 nights max in Manuel Antonio. The hotel refused to let us out early, despite the fact that we asked an hour after seeing the room. They played hardball, probably because it was a slow season. That made us mad, but I promise to give an honest account of the place because for some it may work, and for others they should avoid it. Los Altos is like staying in a Manhattan highrise, the size of the penthouse. The interior is nice, posh, and the condos are ridiculously huge. If you want the American lifestyle in a foreign country, are going with a big group, and/or don’t want a boutique or rustic experience, this place could work for you. For my wife and I, we were pissed that we were staying in a place that looked more like home than it did Costa Rica. I recognize it’s kind of a ridiculous complaint, but good to know depending on what you are looking for in an experience. One of the staff made us laugh, he said “You want authentic Costa Rica, you can come stay in my house and I will live in your condo”. Perspective haha. The staff is friendly and helpful, despite not letting us out of our stay, we liked our front desk guys a lot. They helped us pick good tours and hooked us up with an incredible guide for Manuel Antonio National Park (Andres Martin Chavez Rojas if you are looking for a guide, the dude is amazing). The maids are sneaky little devils- they drank our soda and ate our cookies haha, who does that…? The food in the resort is disgusting. Sorry, I’m not going to sugar coat it. I ate better food in my elementary school cafeteria. They need to hire the chef from Emilio’s up the road- we had free breakfast included in our stay and after the second day, we opted to pay the money at Emilio’s to eat breakfast every day. We never ate dinner at the resort, I can’t imagine what they would make that wouldn’t offend my taste buds. This place isn't on the beach, it has rocky beach access down a giant hill. The best beach in Manuel Antonio is in the National Park. Highlight: monkeys migrated across the pool area the first day we were there, very cool! Manuel Antonio generally sucks in the food category compared to the Nicoya Coast, but there are a few hidden gems. Emilio’s is great for breakfast and desert as well! El Wagon has good wood fired pizza, and cheap. Don’t get suckered into Victoria’s Pizza, it’s expensive and El Wagon was way better for half the price. I would only stay in Manuel Antonio 3 days max- hit the zip lines, go rafting, and go to the National Park. And if you don’t like those adventures… Don’t go. It’s a tourist trap.
Overall Rating
"The best place for families to stay in Manuel Antonio"
06/11/15 josebrenes San Jose, Costa Rica
I recently stayed at Los Altos for a weekend and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, what a gorgeous place to stay. The rooms are very spacious with large balconies overlooking the ocean, rain forest and the fantastic pool. The swimming pool is one of the best in Costa Rica, for sure...loved the friendly staff, the restaurant, the food and the proximity to lots of restaurants, bars, supermarkets, etc. I recommend Los Altos for families looking to enjoy a deluxe stay in Manuel Antonio where their children will comfortably sleep in their own rooms and beds. Worth the splurge !
Overall Rating
"Overall a very nice stay!"
06/10/15 Ross R Noblesville, Indiana
Just returned from a eight night stay at Los Altos. The rooms have been well discussed on Tripadvisor, the only thing I would add is that we had problems with small ants with food left on the counter and ended up putting most everything in the refrigerator. The included breakfast is good but we found the other meals average at best. The free wifi worked well.The wildlife here was amazing as we were fortunate to have three different sloths in the surrounding trees. One afternoon at the pool we were visited by a family of white-faced monkeys that put on a forty-five minute show swinging in the trees and even came down to the pool for a drink. There was also a six foot Fluer-de-lance (may not be spelled correctly) snake on the property. This snake is presumably the most deadly in Costa Rica. It was killed by one of the hotel staff...scary, but cool to see. The beach here is not much, small with alot of large rocks to contend with. We did the Nucyuca waterfall, zip-line, water rafting and jet ski tours...all were great, and also went to MA park a few days which was full of wildlife and the beaches were very nice. The surrounding area has a dozen or more eateries, most quite expensive as our family of four were lucky to get out for under $100. The wildlife and beaches are what we came for and we were not disappointed. The public beach is a little dirty and you are constantly harassed by locals attempting to sell you jewelry, souvenirs, cigars, weed (yes weed), etc. The beaches at the park are where you will find some serenity when not too crowded.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews