All hotels in Karon, Thailand
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
4/1,4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, 83100, Thailand, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
4.4 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 364 reviews)

  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • WiFi
    Good internet service
  • Comfort
    Rather comfortable
  • Room
    Great room
  • Food
    Delicious food
  • Location
    Great location

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice decor and fantastic staff."
I cannot fault this hotel. My husband and two boys 7+13 stayed in room 526 ( spotless and big with garden view) the 529 ( better view but older furnishings) for four nights and it was a very pleasurable experience, wish we could have stayed longer. The staff are just amazing especially Pond and June. This hotel is on a steep hill so beware if you are not very fit. I am a very fussy person and I give it thumbs up!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 19, 2015
Sara
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very pleasant stay"
The hotel was nice and only 5 minutes walk from the beach and the staff very polite. The room was spacious and clean. The pool area was also nice. The breakfast could be much better with more options.
Genuine Venere guest review
4 night romance trip Aug 1, 2015
Dimitrios
IE
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Chilled - relaxed - out of the way"
Great hotel... Wonderful facilities.. Staff were friendly but not really knowledgable about alternative services to their own hotel (either by ignorance or by design. Sometimes couldn't tell if the staff honestly didn't know, or if I was being lied to just so I would use facilities at THEIR hotel). Food and spa were excellent albeit quiet expensive... If you care enough to explore a short distance around you can find plenty of similar quality. Although the massive hill leading to the hotel was horrible (especially in the heat). I suggest renting a scooter.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night trip Aug 9, 2015
Nkanyiso
AS
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good location and friendly staff"
As a family of 4 We stayed at this resort for 9 nights. We had a large room and a nice balcony . The staff made us feel very welcome and at home. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choices. I would recommend this resort.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 14, 2015
londoners
GB
3.0 / 5Good
"Ok"
everything was excellent during our stay. However, always had to ask to clean the sand from the balcony, as the rooms were cleaned but not the balcony. The damp. The smell of the dampness in the rooms was awful, even the sheets were damp when we went to bed. Kids play room is hidden and even staff couldn't explain properly where it is.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 10, 2015
simona
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Awesome hotel"
This is a great hotel where the staff are amazing and the location is great if you want quiet but still be close to everything. I highly recommend this hotel. I had my birthday there and they went to extra mile to make my day special.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 31, 2015
A Traveler
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent stay over New Years Eve 2015"
My boyfriend and I stayed at Avista Kata Beach for one week over New Years Eve 2014-2015. We stayed in the Avista Club room, which was spacious and very clean. The King bed was amazing to wake up in and the bathroom had both a bathtub and a huge shower. The buffet breakfast was also great, with staff seating you very promptly after arrival. They even make omelettes/eggs to order and cook it right in front of you. On New Years Eve, we did not get a chance to attend the special dinner which was put on by Avista as we went to Patong to get amongst the nightlife and everything was closed in Kata Beach when we returned. After watching the fireworks after midnight on the roof top terrace at Avista the staff happily arranged for a meal to be brought to our room as we were starving free of charge! Our stay with Avista was fabulous. We are returning to Avista for another week's stay in January 2016.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 19, 2015
Amy
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great resort in a pleasant area of Phuket"
We very much enjoyed the Avista at Kata beach. The staff were lovely and the room was comfortable and clean. Swimming pools were excellent and we never had any trouble getting a pool side lounge. The only down side was the walk up the hill which we did eventually get used to. It was slightly harder with a 3 & 5 yo children that meant we sometimes felt trapped to eat at the resort rather than walking to the local shops because of the heat combined with the uphill walk home. Having said that, I would go back to the resort. Thanks you to Avista and all of your friends staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 13, 2015
Sarah
AU
3.0 / 5Good
"great location"
Great location hotel and it's very nice ..sadly a few staff members let it down ..to cap it off they tried to charge me for phone calls to my lost phone more money than what my room cost for a 20x 1 second call..would not stay there again neither would I recommend it .
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 10, 2015
A Traveler
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Avista hotel & spa Kata beach."
Avista hotel was very good in every respect with the exception of the walking areas around the pools. These were very slippery when wet so were hazardous in the pool locations especially after swimming. All staff were very friendly and courteous. The location is at the top of a steep hill and was not the best situation for children or those with walking problems.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
7 night family trip Jun 19, 2015
mr
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"ROOM SERVICE - FOOD POISONING"
Everything at Avista was perfect EXCEPT for the room service. I ate a chicken burger on the second last day of our stay and have had food poisoning for the last 5 days now. When we advised the staff of what happened, all we got was a "sorry" and were still expected to pay for the room service.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 10, 2015
Megan
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"What a awesome resort!"
We just stayed here for 9 days and what a awesome place to stay! We loved every minute of it The front office staff where very friendly and helpful, the cleaner that came to clean our room everday always had a big smile on her face, the pool was great and our room was more than we could have asked for (club avista) we were on the top floor with a sea facing view. The only downside was the hill that its on although i enjoyed walking up it my girlfriend didnt. This is no big issue at all as there are taxis and tuk tuks or scooters for hire right infront of the resort. The restraunt food was good although a bit expensive as to be expected. The buffet breakfast was so good! I dont know what people are complaining about! Will definitely be returning to Avista!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 10, 2015
nick
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great"
Great location on top of small hill. Not a problem as if you don't want to walk it tuks cost about $3.50 AUD. Great family hotel. We came when it opened 6 years ago & the only thing they needed to fix but haven't is the tiles around the awesome pools. Slippery but ok if kids don't run. Staff were great. Kids room really good just not always available. 8/10.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
6 night family trip May 23, 2015
Kathryn
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Hotel excellent but Kata Beach a little quiet."
Me and my husband spent 17 nights at the Avista and found the hotel and staff to be excellent. We would certainly stay at the Hotel again, but we found Kata Beach to be a lot quieter than Patong and overpriced in comparison.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
17 night romance trip May 3, 2015
Sandra Lyn
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel with kind staff and delicious breakfast"
Overall very good hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights. Great wifi (about 5Mbps up and down speed using speedtest). The receptionist girl is very kind and outgoing. The swimming pool is very good.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 22, 2015
A Traveler
SG
4.0 / 5Excellent
Guests must go to the roof top bar and enjoy the stunning sunset view which the staffs hardly mentioned.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 17, 2015
DefunctOne
SG
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Good Location, Friendly Staff, Great Choice"
My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe room on the 4th floor. The location is perfect if you are looking for somewhere quiet to relax. 10 mins walk from Kata beach, 25 minutes walk from Karon beach. There are gift shops, restaurants and massage parlours close by. The hotel is new, clean and modern. The staff were first class, friendly and helpful in everything. The room was tidy and spacious with a nice veranda with lush greenery outside. The pool area is clean and looks as good as the photos. We visited the food markets & did the Thai cooking class with a chef at the hotel, Mr. Towchay. He was very kind and friendly and it was a lot of fun! There is a special event on the roof of the restaurant some nights with Thai dancing and special food, I highly recommend asking about this, it was the highlight of the trip, excellent value. I recommend spending the money to get the hotel shuttle bus from the airport direct to the hotel, it's not that expensive but we tried to save money by going with a cheap option on arrival and it was a stress, especially after a long flight. You can arrange the shuttle direct with the hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 12, 2015
Paul
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"A Lovely Experience"
My husband and I stayed at the Avista for 5 nights and had a very pleasant experience. This is a very pretty hotel with a very cozy feel. It is in a good area with lots of places to eat and shop. The beach is about a 10 min walk. We rented a motor bike and visited all the beaches in the area, Kata, Kata Noi and Karon. Our favorite was Kata Noi. The rooms are very spacious, but we found the bed and pillows too hard for our liking. The bathroom is very attractive. The pool area is lovely with lots of greenery. The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff very efficient and polite. We had dinner in the restaurant two nights, when they had entertainment. The food was very good and so was the entertainment. The restaurant manager, Ale, was very gracious...super nice! We were very happy with massages we had at the spa, that is located just off the pool area. Just wanted to mention that the hotel is located on top of a steep hill. So if you have bad knees or you are elderly it could pose a problem for walking. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 3, 2015
Silvie
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fabulous"
Great hotel where staff were super friendly and helpful, close to beach but a steep walk up the hill. Clean and plush with excellent facilities. Great rooms with plenty of space and a balcony to enjoy
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 19, 2015
jane
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
We stayed here for two weeks and found the hotel to be what we expected. Clean and tidy and very friendly and nice staff. Facilities were good although you couldn't sit by the pool very often as a lot of guests will reserve their seats before 9am. Some even leaving their belongings and leaving the area for several hours, this was very frustrating as other guests should also be able to use these facilities. The breakfast food was nice however there was little variation in the food served. The hotel offers dos treatments however it can be very pricey, especially when places outside the hotel provide the same treatment at a much cheaper price. Be prepared for a walk up the hill too.. It certainly kept us fit during our stay. It's a nice place for couples as kata is a bit quieter than patong and not a party hotspot. Overall a lovely stay here.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 18, 2015
michelle
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great stay at Kata"
I can't have enough good things to say about the service. Only feedback is, the quality of the bathroom amenities needs to be improve. Great location and the room is very spacious. We will be back.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 11, 2015
T
HK
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Strongly recommend"
Great service at this hotel. Lovely pool with a bar. Location's nice with everything closeby. Renting a bike is preferable and convenient. Couldn't ask for more.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Mar 22, 2015
Pearl
IN
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very nice and enjoying"
Very nice stay hotel was so clean very friendly staff Only problem was poor internet quality
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
6 night family trip Mar 18, 2015
Saharnaz
IE
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Location & Fantastic Staff"
We had a brilliant time at The Avista. There was a group of 8 of us staying to celebrate my friends 50th birthday. The friendly, helpful staff are simply priceless. Everyone we interacted with at The Avista were pleasant, happy & helpful. We ate at the Hotel Restaurant a couple of times. It was a very good alternative for dinner when you've had a busy day out. The location is excellent. Lots of shops & good restaurants in close proximity. People comment on the steep hill up to The Avista, However we all enjoyed walking up it (several times a day). The only issue for me was the mould in the shower. It's a shame as the rest of the room & Hotel & gardens are kept very clean & tidy.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 19, 2015
Clare
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wonderful"
Hotel is positioned in a very good place when it comes to nightlife, bars and the beach. Friendly staff, very clean and food is very tasty.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
10 night romance trip Mar 2, 2015
Agata
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great holiday again"
We stayed the 3rd time at Avista and never had bad experiences. The staff is very friendly, helpful and always answered our questions. the location is on hill and during hot season with humidity better reachable by TukTuk(100 baht) for people who are not good by foot.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
10 night family trip Feb 14, 2015
Juergen
AS
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice hotel only one small lift for whole building"
Overall service was good but room was noisy from room above. The hotel is at the top of the hill and the walk up 200 mts is very steep and hard to walk up Food in restaurant is only average I would rate the hotel as 4 star.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 21, 2015
john
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful resort and close everything"
The resort itself beautiful but located on quite a steep hill- great workout though :) The food is great (especially the buffet breakfast) and the staff are not only friendly but the service they provide is exceptional.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 11, 2015
Beck
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beautiful resort"
Beautiful resort away from city madness. Everything was perfect, just that the pool has some deep areas that are not marked.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jan 28, 2015
Abhinav
IN
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel - away from embarassing tourists"
Great hotel - away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. Still surrounded by quality places to eat and shop.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 1, 2015
Short Stop62
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great customer service"
Great customer service! We were upgraded to Family Delux room which is spacious and balcony with garden view.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jan 25, 2015
A Traveler
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good customer service"
Great service, we were upgraded to the Family Delux room!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jan 25, 2015
YANG
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Superb Hotel"
This hotel was an excellent choice for our holiday. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms very well appointed (we were upgraded free of charge from a deluxe to a club room) and the staff were among the friendliest and most helpful that we can remember in a hotel (and we have stayed at many). It's located in a pleasant, quiet spot but only a couple of hundred metres from the shops, restaurants, bars, etc. and is an easy walk to both Kata (400m) and Karon beaches (1000m). Short steep hill to the hotel but no problem at all except for the elderly or disabled. Excellent taxi service right outside the front of the hotel at sensible fixed prices. We stayed in the high season and never had any problem getting sunbeds at the pool when we needed them! Very good breakfast with lots of choice. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 23, 2015
Steve
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice clean hotel"
Very nice room, pool was lovely, but the steep steep hill put you off coming back to the hotel when out. Even taxis charged more to go up the hill
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 19, 2015
mary
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel, well located."
Great hotel at Kata Beach. Close to the beach and the shops. The only complaint we had was that the hotel was that the hotel was situated on top of a steep road. The hotel shuttle bus only ran twice a day so we had to pay for a taxi or tuk tuk every time we had bags or goods with us.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 14, 2015
A Traveler
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Pleasant all round"
Four families totalling 18 people checked in at the Resort 2nd January 2015 for 10 days.The staff at Avista were exceptionally pleasant and always willing to help out with any requests. Proximity to shops and beaches ever so close. Thouroughly recommend this Resort. No negatives with the onle exception being the hill up to the Resort.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 14, 2015
Nick
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Close to the beach and shops / restaurants."
The staff are wonderful and helpful. Located on a hill, albeit a small one but steep at one point. Good exercise but some would find it hard going. Coming up is easy enough as tuk tuks are happy to take you up if you don't want to walk back. Restaurant is very good and of course more expensive than some of the local eateries but that choice is yours to take. We ate there most nights rather than face the rigours of the Main Street as it was calm and relaxing. Pool area is tricky as not enough beds to cater for all and of course you get the usual folk who go down early to 'reserve' their spot with towels, shoes and hats placed on blocks of beds ! Happens everywhere so a tricky one for all hotels to deal with. It's a weird mentality. We loved the beach so wasn't a problem for us. The rooftop terrace / bar is open for sunset drinks from 5.30pm to 7.30pm and it is a fabulous view of the bay and providing not cloudy, spectacular sunsets. It was our first ever visit to Thailand and we had a great time. Would definitely stay again if we revisit the same area.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 12, 2015
Ross
SG
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good Hotel, but not the best..."
The hotel is a 4 star hotel, and 5 star. It's a good hotel, but not in the Luxury as it's said in some websites. The staff are excellent, always attentive and looking forward to assist you with a smile. That's the best thing about this hotel! The room is well designed, new style and clean. The pillows could be better. The breakfast is far below our expectations: no fresh juice, no Thai dishes, only 2 choices of fruit per day, and one of them is watermelon..too too less! Really disappointing... In the Thai restaurant, the food is ok, but nothing special, they have 2 set menus...nothing special and it's not comfortable! It's NOT a top rank restaurant for sure... Overall stay was good but we were expecting more... The beach is 5-10 min walking, it's ok...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night romance trip Dec 30, 2014
Malik
AS
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"overall,the service and room is comfortable."
it was a little difficult to adjust the temperature of shower. others are comfortable and clean.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 4, 2015
A Traveler
SG
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice hotel but.."
Hotel it self is nice, staff is excellent, food is so-so, rooms are very big, clean but I really dislike lack of some genuine Thai architecture and charm. When you are in some 4-5 star hotel in Bali you feel you're in Bali but this feels like some standard 4 star German hotel. Also, big dislike that this hotel is advertised as beach hotel, being there with the kid and stroller made my life very complicated going up that hill several times a day. Food prices are reasonable except breakfast which costs 6x more than in nearby restaurants.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 1, 2015
Dejan
SG
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hotel stay experience"
The hotel was very good, the room in which we stayed was not very comfortable. Lot of wetness can feel on the floor. Reason? The room space is less as compare to number of peolpe stayed in the room.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 28, 2014
Vikas
MY
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent location close to beachs/restaurants"
If you aren't fit the walk back to the hotel is a little strenuous after a couple of Changs. Get a Tuk Tuk or cab instead. Staff were very helpful the only problem was there were a load of kids in the hotel during our stay and parents don't seem to want to control them. I have to stay mainly Malaysian not British!! Other than this we would definitely recommend the hotel to others
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 24, 2014
Carol
GB
3.0 / 5Good
"Only just a 4 star"
Noisy hotel, very few rooms have sea view Great modern rooms & very friendly staff
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night romance trip Dec 13, 2014
warren
ZA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very comfortable hotel."
Overall very positive, enjoyable stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Loved the pool area. Very comfortable with plenty of sun beds and sun shades for those that need them
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 15, 2014
A Traveler
GB
4.0 / 5Excellent
"nice & very comfy hotel"
stayed for 4 nites...everything was superb and the only things we have an issues was the pool was to deep my my 6yo boy (kid pool was to shallow for him) and the cartoon channel always not available..not sure why but my kids only managed to watch that few cartoons channel twice only through out our stay there.. food was good and as a muslim, we have a very limited food during breakfast.. staff was superb friendly n nice..
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 13, 2014
MeorFadzly
MY
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful View"
We were greeted by warm and welcoming staff members and had a breathtaking room view of the kata beach.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 12, 2014
Viper
MY
3.0 / 5Good
"So-so"
Property nicely situated up a hill at the north end of Kata beach. Five minutes walking from the beach was an easy stroll. Used the comp. hotel shuttle service to Patong also. Pool area was nice, but at times hard to get a lounger poolside. Pool bar had happy hour 3-5pm daily with 20% discount. Room was spacious, though some fittings a bit worn. Shower had visible mould and would not stay at a constant temperature. Service in the restaurant was below par, and tasting banquet was served hot. Breakfast was okay, nothing special. Overall a great place for a family vacation, but for a more refined resort experience choose elsewhere, and perhaps another destination.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
6 night trip with friends Dec 3, 2014
James
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Lovely, pleasant stay"
I have just spent 10 nights at the Avista Resort and Spa in Kata Beach, Phuket. The hotel was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the cleanliness of the hotel was spot on.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 25, 2014
Diane
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Lovely hotel - amazing holiday!!"
Lovely, friendly staff, clean hotel in a great location. Breakfast was approx £10 each, but there's a great little place (3rd restaurant along) doing a lovely breakfast for a couple of pounds, it includes fruit, cooked breakfast or omelette, 2 x toast & tea or coffee really nearby (right at bottom of hill, then about 100 meters on left hand side). A shop called Hong Kong / Jack Fashion design is good (professional & good value) for made to order suits & coats and they're just along from the Avista hotel!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 24, 2014
Mamf
GB
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"close to the beach"
Nice hotel with good price, service is also very good in communication. You could book a room with pool view would be nicer when you have holiday overthere.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 3, 2014
maddy
HK
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews