All hotels in San Diego, California, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA, 92101, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.2 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 681 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.4
  • Service
    4.5
  • Comfort
    4.2
  • Condition
    4.3
  • Neighborhood
    4.2
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Holiday Bowl 2014"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I was in San Diego for the Holiday bowl. This hotel was in the perfect location for night life and other activities. The staff was super nice. The parking isn't that great so be prepared to use valet.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Dear Ruqayyah We hope you had a great time in San Diego and at the Holiday Bowl! Thank you for your great comments about the staff and we are glad to hear that the location worked out well for your plans! We hope you will be back in the future for another visit. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night trip with friends Dec 28, 2014
Ruqayyah
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not so clean"
  • Cleanliness
    1.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
My room was dirty — dusty, windows dirty. There is little insulation, so you can hear your neighbors. The hotel staff was the best part. They were excellent.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Michele Thank you for the kind comments about the staff! We appreciate your time in writing a review and providing the feedback. If this is something we could chat about further, that would be great as I regret to hear the guestroom was dusty. Again, thank you for letting us know! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
4 night family trip Dec 24, 2014
Michele
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Nice day staff was very accommodating to meet any requests we had.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for visiting Palomar SD! We appreciate the great comments about our staff. We hope your travel plans bring you back this way again soon. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Dec 30, 2014
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Left a day early."
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Disappointed the room didn't have a bathtub, shower only partially closed. Doors slamming jolted me awake from neighboring rooms throughout night. Homeless people are all around the area and don't hesitate to approach you…one asked me for $50. Even though I paid for 3 nights I left after 2. Clean and nice, but not a comfortable place to stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
I am sorry to hear that you were kept awake during your recent stay. That is disappointing and to know that the experience caused you to shorten your stay. We do appreciate your taking the time to let us know and if we could work together to turn around this impression, we would certainly appreciate the opportunity. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Dec 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"nice hotel in the perfect location"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
we had a great experience at the palomar. the location is great for exploring the numerous nearby restaurants, bats and other nightlife. I'd definitely recommend staying at the palomar!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Dear Liveshindigs We so appreciate your recommending our hotel to other travelers-thank you so much! Hopefully, this means you will be back for a future visit! Sincerely,
Other trip Dec 29, 2014
liveshindigs
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Dissapointed"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
The room(1 king bed) is very small - you wont see it in the posted pictures . There is a maybe 2 foot strip of walkable space around bed and dresser/window/closet. The TV is in a awkward position , on the right side of the bed, not in front as it should be. Bathroom was terrible. It has a glass sliding door that leaves a 2 inch gap on both sides when closed. You can easily take care of business :) while having a conversation with the poeple in the room without raising your voice. Expect zero privacy. The shower was seriously the worst design I've saw so far - shower head is hooked on the shower ceiling and it's adjustable ONLY if you're at least 6ft tall. - only half of the shower is enclosed and the other one fully open - no curtain, no sliding door. The result - splash water on the floor. - shower tiles were slippery Little things: - TV remote was not working. (promptly replaced by hotel staff) - Clock alarm was preset for 6am and indeed wake us up. Nothing like a little puzzle solving early in the morning. Parking is not included - so add extra $40/day for it. Quite expensive, considering the room was $120/night. Bed was ok, clean. Hotel staff was good.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Dear Horia Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that the guestroom was not comfortable. We hope you will consider visiting again in the springtime as we will be showcasing our new guestrooms that are currently under renovation. We will have some new room designs and décor and it would be great to have you check them out and give us your feedback. Thank again for visiting and we appreciate your kind notes about the staff. Sincerely,
2 night romance trip Dec 24, 2014
horia
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful updated hotel, expensive parking"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown San Diego, walking distance from lots of restaurants. The only reason I gave the neighborhood four stars instead of five is that it's busy, the street where the hotel is on apparently shuts down to through traffic on weekends, the hotel parking is $40 per night!!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hi Cathy Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that the location worked well for you as well as your kind comment about the hotel being beautiful! We so appreciate hearing that! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night family trip Dec 21, 2014
Cathy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Celebrated me and my boyfriends anniversary here. Loved the hotel! Gorgeous pool area and room. Called to ask if I could check in early and Joe was working at the front and was so accommodating and was such a great way to start our stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 25, 2014
sonia
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Awesome stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Very nice, trendy spot. Will definitely stay at thIs establishment again in the future. Loved my balcony suite overlooking the pool.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for the awesome comments about your stay! We are thrilled to read the nice feedback and to hear you will be visit again in the future! We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Dec 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fabulous hotel!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
beautiful hotel. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the rooms were gorgeous, clean and beds were very comfortable. best sleep in a hotel for me. cant beat the location for downtown san diego right in the gaslamp area! the palomar is by far one of my favorite hotels i have ever stayed in! the salt box has great food as well!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Elaine Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled to read your great comments. Knowing that we rate up there as being one of your favorite hotels is such an honor! We hope your travel plans will bring you back to San Diego in the future. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night trip Dec 10, 2014
Elaine
US
3.0 / 5Good
"No door on the shower!!!"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
So first off I will say it was a nice hotel. I like boutique hotels like that BUT there were some things that I was unsatisfied with. For one the shower had NO door! The water took a while to warm up but I was freezing while I was taking my shower and the "rainfall" showerhead had about 15 water holes and the pressure was meh. Not cool. Also they put me on the 14th floor which normally is a good thing when you're downtown in my opinion BUT they have construction going on the 15th-20th floor. Now granted they had a letter in the room with earplugs to be courteous BUT I wasn't told there would be active construction at 9am or I would have chosen a different floor. The foam pillows about cricked my neck until I got the feather pillows, much better. The appearance was nice and the staff was great. And there's at least a 1 hour free wine in the lobby from 5-6. cool addition.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Dear Nikki Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of the inconveniences and regret that our Executive Office was not aware of the challenges you were experiencing during your visit. We certainly would have worked to turn this around. We appreciate your kind comments about the staff and to know that you enjoyed the appearance of the hotel. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Dec 15, 2014
Nikki
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great service!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Quick trip but the hotel staff was wonderful! Very accommodating and quick to be helpful! Definitely would stay there again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you Amy for the great comments! We hope you will be back for a longer visit in the near future. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night business trip Dec 9, 2014
Amy
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"If you need a hotel for pets this is your place..."
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The hotel was nice considering that there was some sort of construction going on. A large dumpster was obstructing the valet station. Was surprise to find that pets were allowed. I thought this was something we should have been made aware of. I have nothing against pets, we have a dog at home. But, we don't keep pets indoors...but nothing against those who do. Over all out family enjoyed the get away!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Gregory We're happy to hear that your family enjoyed your get-away and hope you had a great time in San Diego. As you mentioned, we are a pet friendly hotel and I am sorry if you were not aware of that in advance and hope that you were not inconvenienced by the pets of other guests. The construction dumpster is being removed on some weekends as is possible and we regret if it obstructed your path to the valet area. We do hope you will be back to San Diego and come back for a visit. Sincerely,
2 night family trip Nov 26, 2014
gregory
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"we will be back"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Hotel is beautiful. Literally right next door to house of blues. Pool is stunning. Rooms are modern and cozy.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for the great feedback! We are thrilled to hear you will be back for a future visit! That is great news and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night romance trip Nov 28, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Felt like family"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Vanessa at the front counter made me feel like family.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
What an awesome comment! Thank you very much and I will be happy to share with Vanessa! We are thrilled that you felt like family, that is music to our ears! Thank you, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Dec 2, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"great!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Great room. Great service. Great location. Everything was great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for the great feedback about your recent stay and the service you experienced. We hope you will be back to visit soon. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night romance trip Nov 28, 2014
Getsemani
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel in downtown"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The hotel is located just in heart of down town, easily approachable to almost everything. Except for the cozy valet parking $40.00 a day fees which were not included in the hotel charges, and no free hotel parking available at all ( like street parking nearby ) you have to be almost be dependent on paying valet charges. Every thing else seemed okay with the hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Dear Mohan We're happy to hear that the location worked out well for your visit to San Diego. We appreciate being steps away from the Gaslamp and being in the heart of the City. We hope your plans will bring you back to the area for another visit in the future. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Nov 30, 2014
Mohan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"5 star hotel with an exception."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
5 star hotel with an exception. Who pays $40 for overnight parking? I was a bit shocked that was how much it costs to park out vehicle in this hotel. There are $10 parking available if you're willing to walk two or three blocks. Other than that, staff was superb! They accommodated our needs (ie. late checkout, bathtub accessible). And location is key as it's located in the heart of Gaslamp District. It may get a bit loud from bypassing drunks but they provide ear plugs to all guests.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Paul Thank you for the great rating and taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We do utilize valet parking as we do not have an onsite lot and I am sorry you were not aware in advance of the parking fees. We're thrilled to hear the great comments about the staff and that the location worked out well for you. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Nov 30, 2014
Paul
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great service, tiny room"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
I'm used to small rooms in downtown hotels, but these rooms were especially small. Amazing service and great location though.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Meredith Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind comments about the service and location. We hope you will come back in the springtime and stay in one of our newly renovated guestrooms. I think you will enjoy the decor and the great updates that are taking place. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
2 night romance trip Nov 22, 2014
Meredith
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great hotel, very beautiful. Amazing Staff made us feel very welcome. Rooms are a bit small and the TV is not optimal BUT it's clean and well decorated.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thankyou for the great comments about the hotel and our staff! We're thrilled to know that you were made to feel welcome and hope you felt right at home during your stay. Hopefully, you will be back for a future visit! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Nov 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Curious staff, very clean, excellent value
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Susan Thank you for your awesome comment and review! We are thrilled to receive your feedback. We hope you will be back to the area and visit the hotel again soon. Sincerely,
1 night business trip Nov 8, 2014
susan
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel downtown and very convenient"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
construction next door started at 5:30 a m . as you know Expedia seems to get the worst located rooms....it was a little early
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Phil We do appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and regret that nearby construction awoke you in the early morning. We realize that is not quite the "wake-up" call that you would be expecting. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Nov 21, 2014
phil
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Comfortable spot in convenient location"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Our experience at Hotel Palomar was great, with one major exception--the bathrooms. The design of the rooms' bathroom doors prevented them from being fully closed. The sliding doors left large gaps on either side, making using the restroom a very public experience for anyone sharing a room. Also, the showers did not have doors/curtains and were glass paneled, preventing any sort of privacy. Luckily this was not an issue for my boyfriend and I, but I can imagine this being an issue for many travelling companions.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Ashley Thank you for the comments about your recent stay. I am sorry the bathroom design was not the most comfortable for you. We are undergoing a renovation at this time and we will have some newly appointed guestrooms available in the springtime that will be configured differently. Hopefully, your travel plans will bring you back to the area and you will visit the hotel and check-out the new rooms. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Nov 20, 2014
Ashley
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"One of San Diego's best"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Modern comfort, deep rich wood and earth tones, exceptional linen. The end result is a good nights rest.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for your nice comments. We hope you will be back to enjoy Palomar San Diego again in the near future! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night business trip Nov 10, 2014
Dave
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect getaway!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
We love this place, room was very comfortable and clean. Hotel amenities are awesom. One negative comment - TV placement was odd, on top of desk to the left of viewing area. why?
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you! Thrilled to read your great comments. With regard to the TV placement, the original design of this room-type was configured in a way (including wire installation) in which theTV's are positioned as they are. Having said that, we are looking at ways to make some changes to theTV placement. We hope you will be back to visit again soon! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night romance trip Nov 9, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Awsome"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I went with friends to a concert at the house of blues. The hotel was super nice, the staff was very friendly and attentive. I would definitely go back and stay here for my next trip.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Jacqueline We are thrilled to hear you had a great time during your recent visit to Palomar San Diego! Thank you for the nice cooments about our staff! We do hope you visit us again on your next trip ! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night trip with friends Nov 4, 2014
Jacqueline
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Stay somewhere else unless its $100 a night"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Overnight covered parking was more than a 5 star resort which makes no sense . Room service menu is extremely misleading. The prices are cheap but they fail to mention that they charge a ton for service and delivery charge amd tip isnt included. Bathrooms have no privacy and no fan while showering. The door is a sliding door and is see through .
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Jamie and Dean Please accept my apologies for the delay in this response. For some reason, my prior attempts have failed to post. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about the room service menu. I am sorry if it seemed mis-leading and I will follow up with our team on that item. Thank you for visiting the hotel and sharing your thoughts about your stay. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
2 night trip with friends Oct 25, 2014
Jamie and Dean
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Great staff and great location made this an amazing trip for my wife, dogs and I.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for the great feedback! So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Palomar San Diego! We love having four -legged friends visiting and we're thrilled to hear you had an amazing trip! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night romance trip Nov 1, 2014
Grant
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The hotel was perfect. The location was great. The staff was very nice and friendly.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thankyou! We appreciate hearing the nice comments about our staff and to know that your stay went great! We hope you will be back for another visit in the near future! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
2 night romance trip Oct 31, 2014
kierra
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I had a nice experience. Staff was friendly. We got two free drink vouchers upon arrival, that was nice. Our room was upgraded for free loved the balcony. I did have trouble with the t.v. It turned itself off constantly and took a while to turn back on. I think it would also be nice if they had an in room coffee maker. Over all I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again and just bring instant coffee next time.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Christina We appreciate the feedback and nice comments about your recent stay I'm sorry that you missed the coffee maker in the guestroom. We do have complimentary coffee service in the lobby and I hope you were able to enjoy that during your stay. If there is a way we can make your stay even more comfortable in the future, please do not hesistate to let me know. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Nov 3, 2014
christina
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Cosy, stylish. Great hotel, great stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Jeffrey We appreciate reading that you enjoyed the design and found our hotel to be cozy! We want our guests to feel at home and are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay. Come back and visit us again soon! Sincerely,
2 night business trip Oct 26, 2014
Jeffrey
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Accomdations"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Professional, friendly and attentive staff. Great accommodations. Ten blocks from Gas Lamp central. The further you travel toward the hotel, the sketchier the surroundings, but I never felt unsafe, just prepare to get hit up for change at least a dozen times on the walk to the convention center.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Hello Chris Great comments about our staff!! We are thrilled to hear that your enjoyed the accommodations. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will be back soon! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
5 night business trip Oct 23, 2014
Chris
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice enough but overpriced"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The staff was very friendly and the location was great. I just think for the price it should at least come with complimentary wifi.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the four star review. At Kimpton Hotels if you sign up for our Karma Rewards Program, wifi is free at any of our hotels. Hope that helps for next time.
Other trip Oct 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great hotel. Concierge Mike is awesome and totally helpful. Fitness center, pool, restaurant, location all great!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the five star review and the shout out for Mike our amazing concierge.
Other trip Oct 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Palomar shines"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
An excellent weekend visit to downtown San Diego at the Palomar. This area of downtown is, as always, a little bit sketchy, and is a few blocks from the heart of the Gaslamp action, but the hotel is lovely, clean, and has the friendly Kimpton feel (and smell!) that all Kimptons seem to have. My room was a medium-sized king room and had plenty of space and convenience. High ceilings made it seem even larger than it was. Hotel bar is on trend and has tasty cocktails.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the great review Adam. I'm glad you loved the hotel and got to experience Saltbox as well.
2 night romance trip Oct 10, 2014
Adam
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Location"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
It was a great stay, great location
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the great comments.
1 night trip Oct 4, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"My wife could live here!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The hotel was EXTREMELY well detailed and well finished. Everything was well thought out, very consistent in design and fit and finish. Loved our stay, we were their for our son's wedding and it was beautiful! The temperature when we were there was 100 degrees F, and 10% relative humidity (unusual), but at 5:00 PM during the ceremony the outdoor space we were using fell into shade, a beautiful breeze came through, everyone was comfortable and we all enjoyed the evening!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the great review Granville. We look forward to you and your wife returning soon.
1 night trip Oct 6, 2014
Granville
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel in downtown SD"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
I have been to this hotel a few times now. Super dog friendly, very accomidating! Great location ( can't control the homeless population obviously). While the hotel and rooms are fantastic the bathroom doors are HORRIBLE. The are big glass sliding doors which are not flush against the wall ( big gaps - little privacy) and the handles smash your fingers against the door frame. Everything else is great, the valets even accommodated out electric car, plugging it in every drop off!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the five star review Nicole. I'm sorry about the bathroom doors. We're taking that into consideration for future renovations.
1 night trip Oct 5, 2014
Nicole
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very Trendy Hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
This place rocks! Love the Free Happy Hour daily plus it's right there near the Gas Lamp District. Very trendy hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks Connie Jo for the great review. I'm glad you loved our wine hour!
3 night family trip Sep 27, 2014
Connie Jo
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fantastic hotel!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We were here for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the five star review.
Other trip Sep 30, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great place, great service, one little discomfort."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
This place is fantastic, really nice, really accommodating for a younger "hip" crowd looking to take part in the night life of the Gaslamp district. The staff was very nice and overall we had a good stay. One little thing was that the doors to the bathroom don't exactly give you privacy. It's a "chic" set up which would be fine when you're significant other is sneaking a peek while you shower but on the other hand, when you're doing natures business...it's a little discomforting. But if that's your thing, 5 stars all the way!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks Bryan. I'm glad you had a great stay.
1 night trip Sep 20, 2014
Bryan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Chic hotel in Downtown Gaslamp"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
I LOVE kimpton hotels. They are the best boutique hotels ever. The Hotel Palomar in downtown San Diego is gorgeous. Super chic, beautifully decorated and very close to all of the best spots in the gaslamp quarter. Also, check out the spa and the couples room - it's amazing!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks Faye for the great review.
1 night trip Sep 20, 2014
Faye
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Cozy,quiet,and the showers are awsome"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The experience was great,good people great food.everything was within walking distance,
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the great review Steven.
Other trip Sep 20, 2014
steven
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Really nice hotel but......"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
Really liked the location and quality of this hotel. Clean and hip hotel. What caused me to drop the rating was mostly the sketchy neighborhood on the edge of the Gaslamp District. Pawn Shops and Tattoo Parlors with many homeless all around. Also, the fitness center should be called the fitness Closet. I hate when hotel say they have a fitness center when all they have is a bike or two...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Sorry about the fitness center Barry. We had a few of our pieces out for repairs and tune ups.
3 night business trip Sep 14, 2014
Barry
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Close to where daughter lives."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Pillows and bedding were musty smelling.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the four star review. I'm sorry your pillows and bedding were smelly. I hope we were able to fix that while you were with us.
3 night trip Aug 24, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very Nice Gaslamp Quarter Hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The hotel is beautiful, beds are super comfortable, location is convenient to the Gaslamp Quarter. Overall very happy with the stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for the great review.
2 night trip with friends Sep 13, 2014
Jennie
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Disappointing."
  • Cleanliness
    1.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
We spent our 1 year anniversary here. Previously resided in San Diego, so chose the hotel based on location and our previous experience at the sister hotel Solamar. We arrived to a filthy suite. Old smelly food in refrigerator. Housekeeping came to retrieve, then found an old empty wine bottle near window. Left the room and requested a "reclean". After apologies from front desk and some free drink tickets, we returned to our room once told it was ready and began to unpack. Found a dead bug on bathroom floor, just as management arrived to make sure room was ok... No, not really ok. Our suite was right next to the pool. We thought it would be ok since we would be venturing out every day. But the loud hip hop pool parties everyday were unexpected.. And we as guests could not even enter (unless we went downstairs to pay $40 and then waited in line?! With the warning we would probably not get in since so packed) Thus the only time I was even able to step foot in the pool was Monday morning at 8am. So disappointing. Especially for the cost of this place. Will not return.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
I am sorry to hear of your experience as noted in your review. This is certainly not the excellent level of standards that we strive to maintain. We are disappointed to know that we missed the mark on providing you with an awesome stay for your anniversary. Again, our sincere apologies are extended. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
3 night trip Aug 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good rate - right downtown"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
the hotel was run-down a bit - I love the Palomar in Philadelphia so i decided to try it in San Diego and was disappointed - a dirty decor pillow on the bed, towels not plush or white/a little dingy...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Shawna Thank you for providing about your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about the pillow and towels. Anytime you are staying at a Kimpton, please let us know if there is anything that is not in great shape as we want to provide you with accommodations and amenities that are in excellent condition. I regret hearing that we missed something during your stay and hope you will consider us again in the future (our new guest rooms are in their final stages of completion and we are excited to have brand-spanking new rooms to showcase). Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
1 night trip Sep 4, 2014
Shawna
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hotel downtown San Diego"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Very nice, clean hotel. Only complaint is due to it's location, noise level was high. Hard to sleep through all the noise. Other than that, great hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments. We regret to hear that you experienced some noise related issues and truly hope that it was not too much of an inconvenience. Again, we appreciate and taking the time to comment on your visit. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Sep 7, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Palomar: Nice but Staff/Organization Issues"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This hotel is in 5th and Broadway, close to everything and to transit. GREAT location. It is a boutique-style, very stylized and comfortable. There are available treats and beverages in the room, but high prices ($6 for a pint of bottled water, as I recall), so get your room treats and water elsewhere, like the 7-Eleven on the corner of 5th and Broadway. Has complimentary wine hour, and coffee in the lobby in the morning. Comfy room and bed, very cool/spacious bathroom, nice appointments and style. Very nice lobby, good for hanging out, reading, chatting. Nice and pleasant staff, fast to visit the room as needed. I did not choose housekeeping while I was there. Issues: - I shipped a box, which arrived before I did, and they could not recognize who signed for it, or find it for well over 1/2 hour after I checked in. Someone at the front desk had put it in the wrong place. - TV programming freaked out on night 2 - showing ALL channels as "restricted" , and one of the "listed" channels (SyFy) disappeared forever). - Clock doesn't seem to have any alarm time changing ability. - Therefore, I specifically requested a wake-up call for 8:30am, and they didn't do the call until 9:15am. Same guy at front desk that morning as the day my box was signed for and "went missing". Probably pricey, but I got on an Expedia package deal. I would stay again, but would bring my own alarm clock, and ship box at least 3 days earlier than I did, and harangue them BEFORE I arrived to find it.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Palomar San Diego, a Kimpton Hotel
LJ Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments and the informative points that you made. We hope you will be back to the San Diego area again soon and that you select our hotel for your accommodations! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
Other trip Sep 7, 2014
LJ
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews