All hotels in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
15 Edinburgh Avenue, Canberra, ACT, 2601, Australia, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
4.1 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 300 reviews)

  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • Location
    Great location
  • Vibe
    Decent vibe
  • Cleanliness
    Clean
  • Amenities
    Ordinary amenities
  • Pool
    Bad pool
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 6
  • Next >
2.0 / 5Fair
No gym, no pool no hang out places.. TV outdated with no channels. What's this charging so much for Canberra??
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to review Sedrak, We are sorry to hear you were unable to find the gym, we do have one here at Peppers Gallery. Just for next time there is a pool with in 10 minutes walking, the friendly staff at reception will be more than happy to give you a map with directions. We hope to see you again at the gallery.
6 night business trip Nov 5, 2015
Sedrak
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Simply the Best"
It's Canberra's best kept secret, but not for much longer. Peppers & HH have become the quiet achievers in Cabberra's hospitality scene. They've well & truly taken over where The Hyatt & Hotel Realm left off. In addition to beautiful facilities & prime location, New Acton hotels are now taking it a stto be ep higher. They provide professional, friendly & knowledgeable staff who keep their hotels running with military-ike precision. As always, my recent stay at Peppers was all that & more. It definitely has my vote for anyone considering a hotel room in CBR ;)
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad to be apart of the New Acton precinct were everything seems to be happening at the moment. Hope to see you back at the hotel again soon
1 night trip Sep 8, 2015
Alice
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"All right, but not perfect."
Pool is fine, but small. Sauna is essentially broken; door can not be properly closed, and bottom has large cracks, leaking the hot air. There is a tiny gym.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review, but I think this has not been written for us, as we do not have a pool or sauna facility. We do have a gym, with up to date equipment in full working order and is accessible from 6am til 10pm. We hope you stay with us in the near future when you are next in Canberra.
2 night business trip May 21, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Modern inside historic"
Using a historic building, the Peppers hotel has made a very modern feel amongst a range of restaurants and bars. Luxurious rooms and only a short walk to city or lake.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 2, 2015
Tayls
US
3.0 / 5Good
Our room was tiny but clean, we ate both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Dinner was good, but breakfast was disappointing- surprised this establishment is higher than 3 stars due to the self serve equipment not working properly, stale bread, lack of space, and all queries to staff being replied to with the word "sorry" with no further action, explanation or assistance.
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Apr 28, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"I'll stay here again!"
The hotel was very convenient for me and the staff was very helpful. My luggage had been misplaced by the airline and they waived the charges for my calling the airline for updates on my belongings. They have a great cucumber water in the lobby and apples and are very near some great food.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Jan 7, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Older style accommodation with charming service"
I was only staying 1 night and did not get a chance to use the restaurant and bar which looked fantastic. I stayed in a deluxe room with a bath #205 and the room was smaller than expected yet met my every need and was very comfortable. The bathroom was probably the same size as the room and very relaxing. I used the car park located in the adjacent building and there were no problems with the parking (booked in advance). The staff were very friendly and accommodating, there was only one person on reception. The hotel is not particularly large allowing for a more personal experience. The location is great, close to the center of town, only recently has this become somewhere to spend an evening with many new bars and restaurants popping up. If you are looking for reasonable quality with a quiet and personal touch in the CBD then I would recommend this hotel for you.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 1, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Well situated to the CBD. Priced well. Comfortable nights stay.
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Nov 22, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good hotel, but tiny room"
The hotel was excellent, good facilities and friendly staff. The only problem is that the rooms are quite small.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel caters to many different travelers. Our smaller rooms are much more cozy and cater to our corporate guests, I would recommend that for future stay you talk to our staff to help book a room that caters your needs.
4 night business trip Oct 13, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Clinical feel, more corporate than welcoming."
The hotel staff are friendly and willing to help. The room choices are limited and unfortunately ours overlooked a small unkept courtyard. The continental breakfast was poor as well. All the pastries were stale and the breakfast room is not set up well. Serve yourself to tea and coffee and manuevre your way around other guests to get to the breakfast bar. Its a very cumbersome room. This is a business/corporate hotel, definitely not for couples or a family.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Oct 7, 2014
Justin
US

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
"Heritage listed building."
We were excited to see what had been done with a building which had been empty for some years. Peppers have taken a 1920s heritage building and turned it into a comfortable hotel. The rundown area has been regenerated with bars, cafes, restaurants, cinemas.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jan 27, 2016
Geoffrey
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"The curates egg."
If you're young and trendy then this place is for you. Long in the tooth and you'd be better off somewhere else.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jan 15, 2016
Stephen
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great location and room"
Super comfy bed. Excellent bathroom and products. A coffee machine in room. A lovely place to stay, easy walk to Cbd, restaurants, art and cultural spots. 2 minutes to the lake and walking track. Highly recommended.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 15, 2016
haidee
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
Good location. Large room. Nowhere to put things in bathroom. Not advised via website that there is limited undercover parking and that it needs to be booked in advance.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jan 8, 2016
Norman
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
Location was excellent. Staff were helpful, room quite good and restaurant great.Was disappointed we had difficulty getting secure parking, even though I had asked for this in booking. No guest laundry - only a dry cleaning service (not much use for a weekend stay).
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for your review Elaine. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. We also love the area with so much to see and do it keeps you busy. Sorry about the issues you had with parking, we would like to hear more if you have a chance and we will be happy to resolve it for you. Hoping to hear from you shortly.
2 night family trip Jan 8, 2016
Elaine
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Canberra short stay"
Great location for short stay in Canberra.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for the great review Denise, See you next time!
1 night trip with friends Jan 3, 2016
Denise
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Stayed here for 2 nights, great stay, this hotel was perfect , great location and hotel facilities, staff made for a pleasurable stay
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for the great feedback Iain, This is a brilliant review, it brings us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again for your next holiday to the capitol!
2 night romance trip Jan 1, 2016
Iain
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
Relaxing, restful and perfect.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review.
1 night romance trip Dec 18, 2015
A Traveler
AU
2.0 / 5Fair
"A disappointing backyard break"
A little disappointing. For a 4 star boutique hotel, the attention to detail and amenity fell far short of the mark. Whilst it is obvious that cleaning staff are employed and do clean, dust in corners and under and behind furniture was not to put too fine a point on it a little disgusting. Even in the restaurant, dust and grease were evident on wine racks behind decorative wood piles and shelves. Before you leave the room, it would be nice not to flood the room while you have a shower or a proper bedside table to sit your glass on and a fridge cupboard with a working hinge. Similarly, whilst it was the week leading up to Christmas and restaurants and bars in the building were busy, some thought might be given to providing a quiet area where guests can eat and relax. As a proud local, I am disappointed that this will be the experience of interstate guests.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 11, 2015
Sue
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Enjoyed the hotel"
Enjoyed the stay. Wasn't in the hotel a lot; but it was very cosy & comfortable. Rooms aren't very big, but all you need. TV is a bit dated. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. In a good location with regard to the everything - very central.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your feedback, We appreciate that you took time out of your dayt write a lovely review, Early next year we are doing some reburshments to make our hotel more mopdern. We hope to see you again in the near future.
2 night business trip Nov 27, 2015
A Traveler
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
Clean and comfortable, lovely stay
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review Sue-Ellen. We appreciate that your feedback.
1 night romance trip Nov 21, 2015
Sue-Ellen
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Character counts."
Peppers was a nice change from the usual hotels. The whole place, from the lobby to the rooms, is packed with character and unusual features that add interest and comfort.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for the brilliant review, Our Hotel is a hertiage listed building which gives it a lot of character, we are lucky to be in such a beautiful precinct surrounded with cafes and restaurants. Happy Holidays and see you next time!
2 night business trip Nov 16, 2015
A Traveler
AU
3.0 / 5Good
"Hallways look like a scene out of 'The Shining'"
Hotel is different with interesting decor. There is limited lighting in the hallways to rooms which is very uninviting and made the stay very uncomforatable.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review. As a heritage listed property we do have an exciting funky building. We however are currently about to begin an update of all common areas and hallways of the hotel. Carpets, lighting and paint will all be freshened up. We hope you will stay with us again to experience the fresh property soon.
2 night business trip Nov 8, 2015
Belinda
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Peppers New Acton, ACT"
Lovely boutique hotel close to the Nishi cinema in the heart of the New Acton precinct
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review. We love New Acton, it has everything from good food, good bars, lots of art, to the cinema just across the road. Just park your car and dont worry about it because you can just walk everywhere with ease. Hope to see you again soon Kate!
Other trip Nov 2, 2015
Kate
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Not your average hotel"
Great interior design and very comfortable rooms. Loved the Bang & Olufsen TVs with outstanding sound quality. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great location too. I will certainly be staying here again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Being heritage listed the property does have some fun quirks but modern fittings and rooms. We are about to start a major update of common areas including hallways and updating of pain throughout the entire hotel. We hope you will stay with us next time you visit Canberra.
Other trip Nov 1, 2015
Giles
AU
2.0 / 5Fair
"Lacks attention to detail"
You couldn't swing a cat in the room. The finish is more like a Meriton apartment than a a place that claims to have the stars this place does.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your feedback. Housekeeping have been putting extra effort into cleaning all rooms and commons areas for a higher standard of Cleanliness. We hope that next time you have a more enjoyable stay. Please let us know next time if you need anything whilst you are here just so we can make it more comfortable for you. Happy New Year.
Other trip Oct 30, 2015
A Traveler
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Set in new and vibrant precinct area close to city"
This hotel gives the complete experience of a well managed hotel , excellent customer service , quality rooms, close to cafes and restaurants , river walks, bikeways, city action.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you so much for this great review. We are over the moon to know that you had a excellent time. We will see you again soon!
Other trip Oct 29, 2015
Georgie
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice rooms"
Had to go to Canberra for a wedding, and this hotel was recommended to us. It is an historic building, with the rooms well renovated. There are a number of restaurant options in the precinct, but pretty expensive. The rooms are very comfortable, except we prefr fresh air at night, and the windows wont open. The Aircon was tricky to operate.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear you had an enjoyable stay. New Acton is a new hip place to dine in, however the main city is only a short 15min walk for many more dining options. While most of our rooms do not have opening windows for safety reasons, our staff are more than happy to assist with the aircon, and can set it to fan only to provide fresh air into the room.
3 night family trip Oct 23, 2015
Colin
AU
1.0 / 5Poor
"Uncomfortable and quite clostiphobiv"
Please do not stay at this average Hotel and the cost for sub standard facility
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
We are sadden to hear you didnt enjoy your stay at Peppers Gallery. We are doing refurbishments in the new year, hopefully you will come back to be pleasently suprised.
Other trip Oct 27, 2015
A Traveler
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel and customer care"
Stayed here three times now and really like it. Requested the same room I've stayed in before. I didn't realise it was an upgrade. The hotel staff still made it happen with no extra charge. Great staff
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
We are willing to make it the best stay possible if we have the rooms avaliable, Its heart warming to know that you are making us your 'Go To Hotel', we look forward to seeing you next time!
Other trip Oct 27, 2015
A Traveler
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"great location"
This hotel was ideal for our "walk-about" tour of Canberra! It was clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
We appreciate your feedback, We are lucky to be very central in Canberra and surrounded by attractions. For next time don't hesistate to ask the reception staff for some new places to explore. On the corner of our block there is a convenience store in a place called Cafe 21 which is 30 seconds walk from the hotel, one of our staff would be happy to walk you down. Look forward to seeing you both again!
Other trip Oct 27, 2015
Bert
CA
3.0 / 5Good
Rooms were nice, hallways are dated, parking a car is a discovery tour.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for your review, We shall be renovating the property early next year which will include the hallways. If ever you would like one of the staff from reception to help you to thecar park we are happy to come along. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Other trip Oct 24, 2015
A Traveler
AU
2.0 / 5Fair
Not good. Unable to work properly in room as wireless internet failed continually. Each time it dropped out required a call to the desk to reboot the router, and this took 5 - 10 minutes.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you had trouble with the free wi-fi, we are in the process of switching to the NBN connection for a faster more stable connection. We hope to see you again soon.
Other trip Oct 24, 2015
A Traveler
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great find"
Cold water at reception on arrival a real plus.Use the cheap valet parking to avoid having to get up early to feed the meter.Staff seem really genuinely nice.Italian style breakfast a real treat.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for the feedback, just a heads up for the off street metered parking can be paid the night before after 8pm so that you dont have to wake up early to feed the meter. See you next time Brian!
1 night family trip Oct 18, 2015
Brian
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel"
Nice Hotel, make sure you book car parking with initial booking
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review.
Other trip Oct 21, 2015
A Traveler
AU
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to City"
Room was Ok but there was a coffee machine but no instructions on how to use it there was no instant coffee only tea. There was no TV guide or any literature about what was on in Canberra. Girls at front desk were very nice and went out their way to help .
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that your coffee machine didnt have the instructions displayed. For next time the reception staff are more than happy to help you with the machine. Hope to see you again soon.
Other trip Oct 20, 2015
Anna
AU
3.0 / 5Good
"Hotel was very central to our planned travels."
Location is central to many of Canberra's tourist locations.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your feedback, early next year we are doing some renovations which will include bathrooms and were are changing over to the NBN connection so our internet will be faster and more stable. We hope to see you on your next holiday in Canberra for some more sight seeing.
Other trip Oct 20, 2015
Doug
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"A nice hotel"
The rooms were recently refurbished and clean. The restaurant and bar were very nice. Food was delicious. Reception was slow to checkin. The fellow behind the bar was a bit surly/ offhand but not so much as to dampen our experience. Close to everything.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your check-in experince was not pleasent, hopefully we can make it an outstanding experince next time! We are very lucky to be so central in Canberra, if you ever need some tips on where to go feel free to contact reception.
Other trip Oct 19, 2015
GN
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Peppers Gallery Canberra"
Close to everything. Very nice room, however the corridors were a little gloomy and could do with better lighting and a brighter colour scheme.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for your review, we are lucky to be so central. Early next year we shall be doing some refurbishments to the property to improve our look. Hope to see you again in the near future.
2 night business trip Oct 11, 2015
A Traveler
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Comfortable quiet hotel."
Nice boutique hotel, room was comfortable & quiet, staff were very helpful. Nice area to stay in.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay Joanne, let us know for next time if there is anything extra that we can help you out with. See you again soon and thank you very much for reviewing our property.
2 night romance trip Oct 1, 2015
Joanne
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice hotel, good location."
The staff were very polite and did everything with a smile. The quality of the food at the restaurant was a pleasant surprise , and went back many times.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
We value this postive feedback, Hope to see you again soon.
Other trip Oct 10, 2015
A Traveler
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
While staying at Peppers during a recent work trip the bar staff invited to sit at the bar and chat with them, rather than let me sit on my own. Very friendly and great conversation. I will definitely stay there again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Very glad to here that you enjoyed your stay, We are always up for a good chat. We shall see you again next time!
Other trip Oct 9, 2015
A Traveler
AU
2.0 / 5Fair
"Ok hotel, close to the city"
Room was clean but very small. Bathroom sink very strange, to shallow splashing everywhere. Car park is off site and they have this remote which you have to continually return it back to the reception. Very inconvenient and you even pay for it. I won't stay there again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
We are sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay hear with us. To have your own car pass we recommend pre booking parking before you arrive, otherwise it will unfortunley only be a loan pass. Since your stay maitenance have fixed this issue in this room with the sink splashing. We hope that you do come again. Happy New Year
Other trip Oct 8, 2015
Gabe
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
Great value breakfast at Biciclette. Easy walking distance to the Lake and the Floriade
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for the great review, we look forward to having you again. Please feel free to ask reception for maps and good local food and markets etc.. Always happy to help.
3 night romance trip Oct 3, 2015
Susan
AU
2.0 / 5Fair
"Good Location"
The staff at Peppers were excellent and deco cool. Unfortunately the room was like staying in a shoe box, OK for 1 person.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed the modern look of our rooms. We have many room types available, try our Premier Room, with king sized bed and spacious bathroom for a more space comfortable stay.
Other trip Oct 7, 2015
A Traveler
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"great hotel"
amazing holiday away with the family and we all love the two-bedroom apartment. It is also close to floriade.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your 5 star review. Our 2 bedroom apartment is beautiful and Peppers Gallery Hotel is the perfect location for visitors attending Floriade. We also have lovely 3 bedroom apartments with fantastic views if you need to travel with more friends and family. Hope to see you again soon next time you travel to Canberra
1 night family trip Oct 4, 2015
Fan
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Relaxing Weekend"
Had a great weekend in Canberra. Nice time of year there. Pleasantly surprised by the entire New Acton area. Good vibe and establishments.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, and took advantage of being so close to Floriade as well as the fun New Acton precinct. We have a scheduled maintenance of all our aircons once a month. And will endeavor to make sure they are all working effectively.
Other trip Oct 7, 2015
LW
AU
4.0 / 5Excellent
Nice quiet room, spacious and perfect for a business or personal trip. My only complaint was that it was very dusty on arrival, but this was quickly rectified by hotel staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thankyou for taking the time to review us. Lovely to hear that you had an enjoable stay with us, and liked the modern fittings/design of the rooms. Apologies for the cleaniness of your room, housekeeping management has been notified, I'm glad that our staff were able to assist you promptly.
Other trip Oct 6, 2015
A Traveler
AU
3.0 / 5Good
Great location and a selection of places to eat close by. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room itself was comfortable, heating appeared to have a problem with adjusting and smoke detection light on ceiling over bed flashed consistently. The shower recess grout was very moldy which took away from overall expectation given the price of the room per night.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Peppers. We are doing some refurbishments early next year which will include bathrooms. Hope to see you soon.
Other trip Oct 6, 2015
A Traveler
AU
3.0 / 5Good
Good location, clean room, good service, Italian dining - food and service -great. Comfy bed. Bathroom door is see-through especially at night - not so good if travelling with a friend/relative.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Peppers Gallery Hotel
Thanks for the review. We take pride in our service so we are glad that it is shining through. We are doing some renovations early next year which will include bathrooms. See you again next time!
1 night family trip Oct 2, 2015
A Traveler
AU
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 6
  • Next >