"Nice place for the price"
Close to everything. The hospitality was wonderful. My only complaint was the mattress on the bed. It was worn out and needs replacement. The fireplace/meeting room in the main house was very comfortable and convenient. Great for family games etc....Genuine Expedia guest review
First room I was given a key to had people in it. 2nd try the room had no toilet paper. Dogs barking in the room next to us. Wouldn't go back.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"The Stowe Inn"
Nice place, but a total lack of ambiance. Very little is done by management to create a welcoming environment. This could be a very cozy, friendly, comfortable, attractive hotel with a great restaurant and bar. But it's not at this time.Genuine Expedia guest review
Friendly,very accommodating, bed and chairs very comfortable. Location was in walking distance to the village. Well definitely be backGenuine Expedia guest review
"Nice facility in Stowe village"
Really enjoyed a weekend stay. Decent breakfast, walking distance to bars/food, and comfortable rooms. Would stay here again any time.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great steal in downtown Stowe"
If you can look past the dated look it is an amazing hotel with friendly folks and two minutes to bars , restaurants and 10 mins to the mountain.Genuine Expedia guest review
Absolutely perfect in every aspect! Such a picturesque little Inn in the mountains of Vermont. Great place to stay for a romantic getaway! Very friendly staff that basically waited on us hand and foot!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Outstanding in all areas."
Outstanding in all areas. Beautiful view and a historical landmark as well.Genuine Expedia guest review
Stayed here with a friend in the economy room. Room wasn't bad but not updated.The room had a sheer curtain covering the main large window and darker curtains on the smaller windows so you are up with the sun and people from the outside can see you walking around in your room at night.Be aware that the hot food is not part of the continental.Lots of […] restaurants around. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great place and convenient to the mountain. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast could be improved there wasn't much to it, but overall was very nice!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We enjoyed our stay at the Stowe Inn. I did book a King Bed with Jacuzzi through Hotels.com though and was given a queen bed with regular bathroom. There was nothing the front desk was able to do, since they weren't sure "what rate I paid" though hotels.com. The place was quaint and pretty average inn. The location was great near Stowe village and 15 […] mins drive to the ski mountain. I would say the Tavern at the Inn had so much potential but lacked some key qualities. Service was very friendly but not very good. Also, we had the option of a hot breakfast until 10am. We go down there at 9:30 am and were informed that they would not make us more eggs or pancakes. It was a slow weekend but we were still surprised they refused to accommodate us. It was a nice spot but I will definitely be choosing another hotel next time. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
This is such a cute place! Very friendly staff. Close to skiing at Stowe Mountain. Only downside to our room was the loud heater/air conditioner. It worked very well, just made a lot of noise so I had to turn it off.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very nice historic hotel, with modern upgrades.Genuine Expedia guest review
"quaint town average inn"
Stayed in the long row of inn rooms across from the historic building - walls paper thin and little to no privacy. Room decor very basic including lack of complete set of shades on the windows. No curtains at all. Limited parking and snow made it difficult to navigate in the parking area. Very average continental breakfast. Overall not impressed.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Excellent location, rundown buildings"
We booked this at the last minute on a sale. We knew we'd be staying in the "motel style" buildings but we didn't realize how motel-like they really were. The room was dark (two lamps only one of which had a light bulb - we had to ask for another bulb to put in the desk lamp but even with that it was still very dark). The walls are extremely thin and […] we could hear our neighbors on the side and above us. The included breakfast was below average; we actually skipped it on our second day in favor or trying a local breakfast place. We were gone all day snowshoeing and came home to find no one had tidied up our room, then we got a knock around 5PM from housekeeping asking if we'd like them to "freshen up the room". Not a big deal, but a little disappointing given we'd been gone from like 9:30 to 4:30. So given all that, why is it still 3 stars? The location! It's a perfect spot - walkable to Stowe Village and right at the start of Mountain Road. Also, the Inn is beautiful - the common areas inside the main building are gorgeous - if you can get a room inside the Inn, I'd recommend splurging for that. And value for the location, it seems like a good deal. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great location and the hotel was very comfortableGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Very pleasant stay. Staff was warm and friendly. Food excellent in dining room. Would definitely stay here again. Good value.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Location To Ski At Stowe"
The Stowe Inn was perfect for a price-minded family to put down for the night before skiing the next day. It's not new or shiny but it is far and away one of the best deals on Mountain Road.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Staff very nice"
Everyone was nice. The girl at the front desk speak a little bit of french and make us feel at home. The lady at the bar was charming and chat with us ... A nice evening after a cold day at the hillGenuine Expedia guest review
"Wonderful place right in the heart of Stowe"
We were not there to ski, this time, so did not care about proximity to the slopes. Instead it was our anniversary. Really a very pleasant place, very good restaurant (had the prix fix for New Year's Eve), full service bar, etc.. Did not even get to use the spa tub, though it did open to the fireplace. Very comfortable and very friendly.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great hotel right in downtown stowe!"
Great hotel. The staff was amazing. Emily at the front desk was extremely helpful and took the time to give us great recommendations on where to eat, shop, and cross country ski. Great location- walking distance to most bars and restaurants in downtown stowe and their own tavern has great food a great lodge feel to It. Our room had just been renovated […] and all furniture was updated. Will absolutely stay there again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"so much potential, so disappointing"
Heating system in room archaic; so loud, woke everyone up every time it kicked on; Bathroom not completely clean and no effort to update; But what is really going to limit your success is the restaurant. Christmas eve dinner began with a gorgeous chestnut soup, probably the best soup I have ever tasted, followed by a just fair salad and a horrible main […] course: prime rib tough and flavorless, mashed potatoes watery and more tasteless, and asparagus so overcooked it was presented as mush on the plate. Next morning, CHRISTMAS morning, the continental breakfast was terrible AND the linens on the tables were dirty! Best Western does a better continental breakfast on a Tuesday! The next day, we went to the Green Mountain Inn for breakfast which was fabulous. Try it! You will not succeed if the food isn't good...if you cant even be bothered to make mash potatoes tasty on Christmas Eve!!! Try for simple great food presented with care. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great location - comfortable"
After an initial problem - we were told they were overbooked and our room was being downgraded - we eventually secured the type of room we wanted. The beds were comfortable - bathroom adequate. Very close to town.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Where everybody knows your name."
Good location close to downtown and convenient to the shuttle and the mountain. The staff was very friendly. We were on a first name basis with them on the second day. We arrived during the worst ice storm since 1989. During a short power outage the staff were great going into town for coffee and doughnuts. Our stay was most pleasant, we will retur […] n. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"It's nice to wake up in -12 weather and not know.."
Stay was great, the position is amazing if you're looking to ski at Stowe (about 15 minutes up the road). It's on a corner in the center of the townGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Poor Customer Relations"
We had to cancel late in the day of arrival . The Manager of the Inn would not even consider a credit for a future visit or a partial refund. Icy was weather was reported and it was almost a 4 hr drive in the evening. We had a college visit /appt the next morning. Most of the other appts has been cancelled according to Admissions staff at the College […] due to weather. Pick your dates carefully as this Inn is not friendly about cancellations Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great location, room needed updating"
We stayed here on business and got a great deal on the room from hotels.com. The hotel is in a great location and the staff is very friendly. The lobby and common area are very nice. The room itself (single with king) needed to be painted and the bathroom needed updating. The wall mounted heater was VERY loud and woke us up every time it came on. The […] furniture was a strange layout but comfortable enough for one night. Very slim continental breakfast. Not a horrible experience, but we probably wouldn't stay here again -- especially if we had to pay full price for the room. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Wonderful hotel in the heart of stowe"
We had made a reservation for only a few nights, but when we came to the conclusion we were going to stay longer the receptionist helped us out so much. All the staff we've come across during our stay has been so friendly and helpful. We had a hard time finding a hotel to stay in affordably with our dogs but here it was possible.Genuine Expedia guest review
The hotel is very conveniently located in the town of Stowe. It is within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. Also, we appreciated its pet-friendly policies. Initially we were assigned a room that was under construction but the staff apologized and moved us to an appropriate room promptly. The room was comfortable. The beds were firm and […] there were plenty of blankets and pillows. The room was spacious. The TV was old but worked. There was no temperature control in the room. The Wi-Fi worked well which can be an issue at some locations in the area. If you're looking for grandeur, this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for comfort and aren't fixated on every little details, you'll like this property. :) Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
They are in midst of a construction project, but are still able to accommodate customers and provided us with excellent pet friendly lodging at a very reasonable rate.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Fun Murder Mystery night"
Murder mystery night was a lot of fun! Make sure you play the part, and it will be that much more rewarding. The food was honestly only OK, but the plot was great. Rooms could use a little updating (there was a flower border from the 1970's that didn't seem to fit the style they were going for in our room). And the carpets in the room need to go! They […] are old, and I bet there is great hardwood under there... Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice Hotel very friendly staff"
We went up for a birthday get away. I would recommend this hotel as easy to get too , very pleasant and helpful staff. We ate at the restaurant not the best but food was good the waiter was very nice . will stay again and try looking around for different dinning experience.... overall could not ask for nicer people.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Very nice, comfortable and clean"
We really enjoyed our stay, the room was clean and comfortable . The staff was very friendly. Look forward to another visitGenuine Expedia guest review
"walking to shops"
We spent the weekend sharing the beautiful state of Vermont with friends. After checking in to the hotel we rode to Smugglers Notch which was only a short ride from the hotel then made our way to town to check out the shops. Lots of things to look at all with-in walking distance to the hotel. We were able to take an early morning walk along a quiet […] scenic country road right out of town. There was a walking path through fields. Our rooms were comfortable and quiet. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great for weekend visiting family"
Our room was very clean, and they gave me everything I needed since I had a baby with me. Their employees were very kind and the stay worked out awesome. Their complimentary breakfast could be better but beside that we are definitely staying again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn Thank you for your great review, Lauren! I'm very glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay! We have upgraded our breakfast and added a few new tasty options. Please come back again! - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
"Such a missed opportunity!"
The hotel location is ideal and the main building is historic and beautiful (not so much for the majority of the rooms, which are in a poorly ventilated building by the parking lot), but throughout my stay I repeatedly saw missed opportunities for the staff to comport themselves better (at one point when I was in the lobby getting [tepid] coffee, a […] staffer was about to show another staffer which were "good" rooms and which were "bad" rooms upstairs; at another point a maintenance guy took his break on a patio chair in front of my window, smoking) and for the hotel to be cleaner and generally better run. Such a beautiful location, it wouldn't take much for this hotel to be a real treat but the service and amenities--from the poor quality of the bedding to the paper cups in the room to the inexperienced housecleaning staff who seemed determined to clean my room by 10am whether I wanted to sleep in on vacation or not--continued to disappoint. The staff were all nice enough, but this location and property deserves better management. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm very sorry to hear that our Inn did not quite meet expectations! We have been working on better ways to manage our property, and I assure you that if you return to stay with us again, we could definitely change your mind! :-) - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
"Old, with minimal up-keep."
Way over-priced for what you get. The best example was the "continental" breakfast. Cold muffins in a jar. Stale coffee, not even juice. Rooms are antiquated.Genuine Expedia guest review
We did not stay the night. After seeing 3 different rooms we could not stay. We were willing to lose our money to not have to stay there.Genuine Expedia guest review
Toilet seat was cracked, light fixtures didn't work, wifi was weak, restaurant was closed. Would not recommend it.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm sorry to hear about your stay. We have fixed a lot of maintenance issues in our rooms since your stay. Our restaurant is unfortunately closed Mondays & Tuesdays, but I assure you it is definitely worth checking out! Food is delicious, service is outstanding, and we have new management in our kitchen! - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
I am usually a nice & easy going guest, however the night I spent at this hotel really failed to meet my needs. Where most of the rooms are located is a cheap motor inn motel. We stayed on a gorgeous cool October night but our room was as hot as the surface of the sun and only one window functioned. We did not have an air conditioner. In one of the […] windows a small glass pane was broken. This didn't make me feel safe and secure but I also was hoping they wouldn't try to blame it on us. Having the window open near the parking lot created a lot of noise that I unfortunately had to deal with. The windows did not have blinds and the thin cotton curtain does not provide privacy or block out the light. We left early in the moning so we could get home and sleep. I went around trying to find a bottle of water, then iI asked and they notified me that there is no vending machines. If this is the case then why do they bother having an ice machine. Perhaps they should over the guests a bottle of water or sell some drinks. There were a couple of positive aspects of this establishment. For one, the restaurant bar is beautiful and very comfortable. We only had a few drinks because we ate dinner at another place. We really liked the bar area in the restaurant and sat and looked out at the nice views. The bartender was really nice and appropriately talkative and attentive. His name was Ed and he was fantastic. The staff at the front was also friendly not they they had much to offer for me. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us! Due to the season coming to an end and winter nearing, we took out all air-conditioners from the rooms at the beginning of October. Very sorry to hear that your room was hot! We also have given bottled water and mints to the housekeeping staff to put in guest rooms as of this month. I hope you give us another chance in the future and let us surprise you with how far we've come! :-) - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
"No More Than Shelter for the Night"
Pictures in the ad looked good and place has curb appeal. Comfortable living room and nice dining room and bar. But beware the poorly constructed, badly maintained two-story edifice in the rear where your room may be. The rooms are adequately sized, but carpet was laid over bumps in the floor, resulting in tears and ravels in the carpeting. Window air […] conditioners were poorly installed and allowed mosquitos to enter freely around gaps and prey upon occupants. Mold and mildew flourished in bath enclosure. By a country mile, the worst accommodations we had during our two-week foliage tour of New England. We cancelled our second night there through Expedia and altered our itinerary. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
I am not a person that usually writes reviews, let alone bad reviews, however I feel I need to do this. We purchased this room for the night online as one night on one leg of a seven day vacation (each night in a different location). We arrived to check in and were told that they had just turned away six people who would buy our room if we wanted to […] sell it. So, we checked in and was given our key to a room in the detached outside two story block of rooms. I expected the hotel to be old, but not being updated since 1960 is deceiving. We opened the room and it had indoor outdoor carpet, an unpleasant musty odor and old furniture. The bathroom floor was rotted out under the linoleum and moved when you stepped on it. The counter around the sink was faded Formica and the bottom of the sink had rust for about two inches from the drain. Since we were told that there were no other rooms available in town, we felt like there were no alternatives. Last, when I pulled that covers back that night, there were two hairs on the pillow. The Hotel.com rating on three stars may apply to the rooms in the main building of the hotel, but did not come anywhere close to describing the room we stayed in, especially at the price (over $200) that was charged. I don't feel that I can trust the Hotels.com rating anymore. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm very sorry to hear about your stay. I hope that you can give us another chance in the future. Our maintenance team is aware of the issues in our rooms, and we also have an interior designer coming in during the slow seasons to renovate the building. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback! :-) - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
Great location but for the price, I expected more. Rooms on the website look waaaay nicer then the room we were given. Also there is a carriage lodge on the side of the inn, which is where we stayed, not in the inn, which is what I expected. Rooms are outdated and there are much more better options in the area for the price.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm very sorry to hear about your stay. I'm sure if you let us know that you thought you'd be staying the main building, we could have accommodated you and upgraded you free of charge. We strive to make our guests happy! - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
After reading all the reviews on The Stowe Inn it was better than I expected. It isn't the fanciest place but it's in a great location. The restaurant and the bar were better than most and the workers were very pleasant.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn Thank you for taking time to review our Inn! We hope to see you in the future! :-) - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
"lovely area with nice people"
The people were very nice and helpful for area info. We were placed in the carriage house which needs to be re-done and updated. We ate in the dining room and it was terrific.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We currently have an interior designer updating the rooms you indicated. Thank you again for taking your time to give us feedback! - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
It was, by far, our worst experience ever in all the years we've been going to Vermont.Genuine Expedia guest review
Loved it. Very homey, convenient location, friendly staffGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn Thank you for your wonderful review, Jane! We hope to see you again in the future! - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
It was a nice place and the staff was friendly but it was definitely dated.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn Thank you for taking the time to review our inn! We have hired an interior designer to update our rooms since your stay. Please come back in the future - we will surprise you for sure! :-) - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
"Not worth the money!"
We chose this Inn for the location and the restaurant (we didn't want to drive for meals). The location was good but the service was terrible and the walls of the room were so thin that when someone above us flushed the toilet or took a shower it sounded like there was a mac-truck in our room. You couldn't possibly sleep through that! The restaurant […] at the Inn where we planned on having dinner Saturday night was closed for a wedding and didn't open the next morning for breakfast because the cook called in sick. There was supposed to be complimentary hot coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning but it wasn't there at 8:00. Later there was coffee (too late for my husband as he had gone out for an early morning bike ride) which soon ran out but no water for tea. There were muffins but they were stale. And the desk attendant kept putting up a sign saying "Away from the Desk" and wasn't around when several us were trying to check out. I had to call her on my cell phone to ask her to check us out. I was definitely disappointed and would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. IT WAS NOT WORTH THE $$$$$$! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm very, very sorry to hear about your stay. We have taken measures to ensure that future guests do not have bad experiences. I hope you can give us another chance to change our opinion about our inn! - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
"stay in the carriage house not recommended."
Location was great and staff was very friendly but we stayed in the carriage house behind the Inn. Check in time was 3pm and we arrived at the Inn at 3:45 pm. The room we were given was not clean so we were given another room. . The second room was clean and comfortable but the remote for the TV didn't work. When I asked the front desk for another remote […] they said that our remote had to be re-programed and the person who did that wasn't available. Very frustrating stay. Would not recommend staying in the less expensive Carriage house. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Stowe Inn I'm very sorry to hear about your stay! We have tightened up the staff around here, and everything is in tip-top shape for future guests. Please come back again and stay in our inn so that we can change your opinion! - Jenna, Front Desk Supervisor
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )