We found Hotel Merkur ideally located outside of the train station, Interlaken West. The staff was excellent, providing us with a place to store our luggage. The staff was very friendly, giving us suggestions of things to do in the area including Harder Klum. The room was very clean and spacious.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Near the Interlaken West station"
I had booked room for 3 nights for my wife and children from 24th to 27th April and I was supposed to join them on 25th April. The room no. 20 was compact, stinking & my family was awake throughout the night. We had pre-paid for 3 days but my family checked out of room early morning on 25th April and I had to book an alternate hotel through hotels.com […] at 3 am on 25th morning, namely Hotel Bergnhof Amarnth near Interlaken East for 2 balance nights for which we paid after our stay and an excellent service. I especially went to Hotel Merkur on the evening on 26th April just to see our room at Merkur and understand what had happened but Ms. Macgnk at the hotel reception refused to show us our room no.20 as she had already given our pre-paid room to somebody else and the entire hotel according to her was fully booked. It was the first time in my life that I had paid for 2 nights stay in a hotel in which we actually did not stay and the poor lady at the reception had to bear part of my disappointment. I sincerely hope that this hotel improves the level of courtesy extended to their customers and most importantly one should be more careful while committing to a non-refundable hotel stay. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Merkur Interlaken Dear Guests, we are sorry to see your review here. Firstly,you have booked a double room with extra bed for yourself, your wife and two teenage children. Upon check in we informed your wife that it is not possible to overbook the room category and stay with 4 guests. We then offered you another double room for the next day, and even deduct part of the payment of your non refundable rate onto the different room as courtesy. When your wife decided to check out the following day there was no mentioning of any bad smells in the room at all, quite the opposite, after we checked your room we found it in a normal state with no smells at all. We are sorry you had a bad experience but you did not give us a chance to react as you did not mention any complaints during your stay here. Of course you can not return to the hotel more than 24 hours after your check out and request to see the room. We have tried our most to solve this matter with you, which in general was a matter of you overbooking the room category. Obviously we can not allow too many guests in one room. Kind regards The Management
"Terrible Service, Terrible Host"
1. Wi-Fi in the Expedia website, I can get the information "Wi-Fi including" but there was very limited, not in the room just in the reception. The reception zone is comfort? no, there were just little 4 stool, no electronic supplier. how could they say that guests use Wi-Fi? I think Expedia also make standard notation /Wi-Fi available (Reception only) […]
Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Close to train station which is convenient but noisy. Very comfortable beds, but the room was not well sound proofed. We had loud neighbors. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Near a nice shopping area, but the area didn't feel very safe at night.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel is okie but staff at reception was not that proactive n I felt like does not want to help or advise on any anything. I asked for my payment in pound but she just refused. I stayed in 4 other hotels in Switzerland but I did not face any of these issues.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The location was gr8, staff was very very helpful and friendly, neat clean hotel, very close to metro station, all food joints nearbyGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Not clean. Smelly. Bad toilet.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Very close to train station"
We were pleased that the Hotel was directly across the street from the train station. There were lots of shops in the neighbourhood. There was a Migros grocery store where you could pick up reasonably priced food. There was also a local mountain called Harder Kuhn which was reasonably priced and was located between the East train station and the West […] train station. The views from the top were absolutely SPECTACULAR. As guests of the Hotel we were given a tourist card which entitled us to travel on the bus or train within the city limits at no cost. This tourist card also allowed us to go to Harder Kuhn for half price. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Very convenient for the railway and staff very friendly. Also breakfast with a stunning view.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Best in locality. Rite next to Interlaken West."
Room is comfortable. Toilets could be kept clean, especially the shower screen. Receptionist - please put a smile on your face.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Across the road from Interlaken West Train Station"
The photographs of this room on the internet did not reflect the room we were given, the furniture was substandard i.e. unpainted chipboard, bed uncomfortable. Breakfast was average. Would not rate this room at more than a 2 star at bestGenuine Expedia guest review
"가성비 높은 호텔입니다."
호텔위치대비하여 가격 및 청결도가 괜찮은 호텔입니다. 단, 소음은 감수해야 합니다. 체류기간동안 버스이용쿠폰제공해 줍니다. 조식은 먹을만한게 없습니다. 주차장이 없어 불편한점 있으며 호텔앞(인터라켄서역주차장)에 주차가능합니다.(1일 8프랑-자리있을시)Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"비싸지만 괜찮았던 호텔 ~"
가격이 조금 비싸긴 하지만 돈은 돈대로 받고 호텔 청결도도 안좋은 다른 유럽 호텔들 보다는 훨씬 좋네요 역에서도 가깝고 조식도 잘나옵니다 ! 추천이요~Genuine Hotels.com guest review
GOOD LOCATIONGenuine Hotels.com guest review
객실은 춥고, 아침은 형편없고, 스탭은 불친절Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Bem localizado mas sem conforto"
Hotel bem localizado mas deixa a desejar na limpeza e na estrutura.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Wir benötigten das Zimmer lediglich für eine Nacht um am nächsten Tag einen Kurs zu besuchen, es war OK. Die Wände waren leider sehr ringhörig, unser Zimmer war wie eine Sauna da anscheinend ein technischer Defekt vorlag. Wir mussten die Fenster öffnen um überhaupt atmen zu können und da war natürlich der Lärm von draussen der störend war.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"alles tip-top, für Interlaken jederzeit wieder..:)"
mitten im Zentrum, Preis-Leistung wirklich TOP, super Aussicht vom Frühstücksraum 5. Stock - etwas komischer Geschmack im Zimmer, aber Lüften und dann war alles tip-top!! Wir waren dort für den Jungfrau-Marathon und für diesen Anlass wirklich perfekt gelegen. Jederzeit in Interlaken buchen wir es wieder... Personal war sehr freundlich ;-)Genuine Hotels.com guest review
WEST駅のトイ面にあり、街の繁華街にも近く足の便は申し分ありません。その分部屋は狭く、大きなスーツケースを広げるのにベッドをずらさなくてはなりませんでした。部屋の備品類は必要最小限と言えますが、1泊だったため特に不都合はありませんでした。Genuine Expedia guest review
Stanza e bagno piccoli, quest'ultimo poco agevole per 3 persone, internet presente in camera, colazione normale ma sala da pranzo ubicata all'ultimo piano non raggiungibile con ascensore.. Posizione ottimale per l'accesso a tutti i servizi, ristoranti battelli autobus e treni.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
인터라켄 서역 바로 앞에 있어서 위치가 너무 좋았습니다. 다만 호텔의 전반적인 관리상태가 너무 않 좋습니다.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
バスタブ無しが残念。駅の前の立地は便利。ホテルからの景色は最高。Genuine Hotels.com guest review
westですが立地は抜群です。eastじゃなくても不便ありません。 チューリッヒから夜到着の方には便利。朝飯が最上階、景色良いです。 スイス全般ですが、実に比べ高いです。このホテルも同様に。Genuine Expedia guest review
"Gutes Hotel, zentrale Lage"
Hotel liegt zentral, für eine Nacht optimal! Zimmer war nicht Richtung Bahnhof somit auch sehr ruhig gelegen. Service und Preis ok.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Der Aufenthalt war zu meiner ZufriedenheitGenuine Hotels.com guest review
아주 기본적인 호텔입니다.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"bon rapport qualité / prix"
dommage qu'il n'y a pas de fruits frais lors du petit déjeuner, places de parking difficile à trouverGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Rapport Qualité/prix correct"
dommage qu'il n'y a pas de fruits frais pour le petit déjeunerGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"tres bien dans l ensemble."
rien a dire tout nikelGenuine Hotels.com guest review
我坐火车到INTERLAKEN，下车时下着雨，有点冷，可衣服在箱子里，还不知道如何坐市内火车和公共汽车，当时又没有出租车，当我们感觉极其无助时，却看到了相距不足100m 的酒店，当时的感觉用喜出望外根本无法形容。下次去这家酒店还是首选！Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"very poor reception, nothing except the location"
it was the worst hotel i encountered during my trip in europe. if you are looking for good location only, this is one of your choice. the price wasn't cheap, but they would ask for deposit and charge you CHF 3 if you want to borrow the electric kettle just to boil hot water. very little choice for breakfast. the reception lady was rude.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Hotel met needs!"
12/30/14 Stacey M
This hotel is very close to the train station. All the receptionists were very pleasant and though you cannot check in until 2pm, they graciously held our bags so we could explore the town. Receptionists went above and beyond. Great hotel when you're traveling on a budget!
"great location lovely views!"
Stayed at this hotel in august 2014. On arrival the receptionist was really really helpful I didn't get her name but she was a credit to the hotel. She had a wealth of info about what to do in the surrounding area and on her advice we managed to book a clear morning to travel to the top of the Jungfrau! (which is definitely a must see) The staff in general were brilliant really friendly and couldn't do enough for us and the view at breakfast was amazing! Overall the hotel was pretty dated, the rooms were nothing to rave about, and although the location was excellent (literally opposite the train station) I was expecting a little more with regards to the room and facilities with the price that I paid, as it wasn't cheap. Some of the guests were also very noisy, early in the mornings and late at night, and the noises seemed to carry through the rooms so that was a little annoying. So it was an OK stay but we probably would not return to this hotel.
"Worst hotel to choose at interlaken wst!"
08/20/14 InvincibleKP Milan, Italy
We stayed here during our visit to interlaken wst for 3nights and this was the only one we could find online as we had booked at the last moment. GOOD: 1. the only thing that is good is the location which is right opp int wst station. 2. the receptionist who used to be in the morning who came from lauterbrunnen at the desk was very nice and helpful. She is the only good thing about the hotel :) A very friendly and helpful women, BAD: 1. the receptionist who come during night or evening post 7PM were horrible and not friendly at all.They do not greet the hotel guests or help us with informations. 2. It is very expensive and no value for money for the amount paid. 3. the worst ever breakfast i had in my entire life in any hotel !! The same food is served each day and its not fresh..We had to eat bread and jam!!..We preferred to eat from outside after 1st day! It is the worst ever. 4. The rooms were not good . Outdated and broken wardrobes and furnitures!. No safe lockers available , the double bed not suitable for couples as the gap is huge between the two beds , no bath foam or shampoos provided , the cleaning staff do not replace the bath towels or change the bed linens , no drinking water provided , not clean bathrooms and rooms , very small rooms and bathrooms, no soaps for washing hands etc...These are the BASIC AMENITIES which is expected from any hotel after paying a huge amount of 570CHF for 3 nights!. Deeply regret the amount paid and it was a total waste of money. Please do not visit this lodge or hotel and choose any other at interlaken wst. There are many other good ones!. The best western is right opposite the station as well.
"good location with superb view"
08/01/14 tulip158 New Delhi, India
The hotel is located in 2 min walk from station and offers a superb view of the Alps. Location is its USP. Downtown is just 5 min walk where you can comfortably stroll in the night. All the restaurants and shops are located just outside the hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Rooms are decent enough for a 1-2 night stay with all the basic amenities except the wi-fi.
"BASIC AMENITIES WERE MISSING"
07/26/14 Roshiv26 Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
The most disappointing thing about this hotel was the BROKEN BED due to which my husband had backache and still he is suffering from it. when we asked to change the bed or room thay refused. location is good.
"worse ever hotel stay"
06/17/14 marsfamily new delhi
smallest room sizes, terrible receptionist, worse cleaniness, disgusting toilets, a bitter breakfast experience, no electronic safe in the room, dangerous bed designs which hit me on my knees thrice in a day, too much of gap between the matresses of the double bed making it incovinient for sleeping a couple. sharp edges writing table which injured my daugther badly. no first aid box provided by the hotel staff. not recommended for a single , couples or the families. more like a hauted hotel. a bad tasting filthiest breakfast ever had in my life. no scenic view from the hotel windows. no air conditoner in the rooms . no fans/ table fans provided. no umbrellas provided by the hotel. many other beautiful hotels are providing rooms at the same or lower prices. total waste of money also it completely destroyed our holiday fun and excitment as we do not want to come back to our hotel rooms at the end of the day as it brings us the bad memories or the experience we had the last day or night. will never recommend or stay at this hotel again in my life. merkur is not actually a MERCURE brand of hotel we thought of. it is being given this name to fool the innocent customers worldwide. toilsts doesn't have locks from inside, no soaps for washing hands, no complimentry water bottles a day, no house keeping, no kettles provided, no extra beds provided for the kid even on request due to the tiny sizes of the rooms. feeling pity on ourselve and for the future of clients going to stay there.
"Great location, but only that..."
06/10/14 Vivek S
The USP of the hotel is its location. Right outside the Interlaken West station. But beyond this advantage, there's scarce little the hotel can boast about. The proximity to the station, and the smiling staff in the breakfast room earns the hotel two stars. We stayed two nights May-end, and were not impressed with the hotel at all. The free wifi was hardly if ever connected. But the worst thing about the hotel was the breakfast. The most limited spread I've ever experienced, little beyond bread and butter for vegetarians.
"Great location, average hotel"
04/28/14 LakshmanaPrakash Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Good things first - The hotel is located right on the main road with great views of the alps. Rooms are clean, decent in size but need a makeover, pretty old hotel. Though they claim to have Wi-Fi on the reception area, it never worked for us during the 3 days stay. Do not miss the views from the huge balcony near the breakfast hall.
"Hotel with a good view"
03/31/14 TravelFreak1177 Kochi (Cochin), India
The hotel is just opposite the interlaken west station and the bus station overlooking the snow covered mountains. We get a good view of the mountains. Enjoyed the stay there for 2 nights. The rooms are small but neat. The lady at the breakfast Ms. Elizabeth was very kind and helpful. Any info reg interlaken like places nearby or train and bus timings can be got from the reception. Only problem is the reception closes at 11pm and in any case u arrive late for check in , then you have to make a call and wait outside till someones comes to open the door for you.
"One of the best ever"
03/28/14 Madava Yathish K Interlaken
The Merkur Hotel was one of the best hotels which we stayed for 2 days, the staff at the receptio Madam MARY and at the breakfast MADAM ELIZABETH were so kind, cooperative and helpful and their way of guest recieving and treat was excellent. The location is again excellent hardly 10 meters from the INTERLAKEN (WEST) stn
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )