All hotels in Taos, New Mexico, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM, 87571, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
4.4 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 175 reviews)

  • Vibe
    Awesome vibe
  • Amenities
    Great amenities
  • Location
    Great location
  • Room
    Great room
  • Cleanliness
    Clean
  • Value
    Poor value for money
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Enchanted"
Went to Taos to see the sites and take the enchanted circle drive. Hotel was great, really no major complaints just minor issues.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 4, 2014
William
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Fantastic Weekend"
We loved our weekend getaway at the El Monte Sagrado. The hotel was beautiful and clean. Fantastic salt water pools and a gorgeous fire pit. We would definitely stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Oct 3, 2014
Hilary
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Too short a stay!"
Was a wonderful but short two nights! Lovely room and property! We had dinner at the Anaconda bar both nights as were too tired from day trips to go out, Food was fantastic. Never got to spa but really enjoyed the grounds and easy walk to town!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Oct 1, 2014
Jennifer
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"great stay"
Great hotel, enjoyed our stay and we will return next time we are in the area.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Sep 26, 2014
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"not a good stay"
My room was not cleaned from the last family. They would not move or up grade me so we went to the bar for a drink on the house...joke...we had to pay for our drinks because they only would pay for a house beer or wine. Our room was noisy all night from a broken air conditioner not to mention the ice machine was right out side of our door. This being a resort we wanted some spa time as advertised. They could not accommodate due to season. We left and went to another Hotel. Not worth the money
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
I'm sorry for the misscommunication between house keeping and the Front Desk causing you to be accidentally checked into a room that had not yet been cleaned We were extremely full during your stay and there were no other rooms to move you to. When we are full it is always a good idea to make spa reservations in advance to guarantee availability.
2 night family trip Sep 25, 2014
Brad
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Cost to Park a Surprise"
I booked this hotel using Hotels.com. If Hotels.com provided info on the $20 per day parking charge, I did not notice it. However the hotel charges that rate even for self park and it is not posted on site. The charge appears on the hotel's website and that is why they believe it is ok to assess the charge. We liked the hotel but did not use the pool area as it did not appear to be up to the standards we expect from a four star hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Sep 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Disappointed stay."
My wife and I were in Santa Fe for our anniversary. For the last night of our trip we drove to Taos and booked the 1-bedroom suite for an evening. The bedding and room furnishings were very worn. The fire alarm in our room went off in the middle of the night. After we got back to sleep, we heard the maids slamming doors for several hours the next morning. We later discovered that the maid's supply room was right outside our bedroom window. When we checked out, I asked to speak to the front desk manager to tell them about the issues. His only response was "Thank you for your comments". If you do choose to stay at this hotel, do not stay in Room 9.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
So sorry for the noise. We have briefed the housekeepers to be more conscious of noise so as not to disturb guests.
Other trip Sep 29, 2014
Mark
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Beautiful property and spacious rooms. Although by no fault of the hotel, a huge water main broke in Taos and the area lost water service after we checked in and was not back up before our check out the next day. The staff did what they could to accomodate guests with bottled water, but as you can imagine, it put a strain on the service and somewhat reduced our comfort during our stay. Still, I would try this hotel again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Sep 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Better value elsewhere in tiny Taos."
Generally a pleasing way to stay in Taos. Beautiful grounds with lots of open space and gardens to wander and ponder within. However, with so much space and a car park to match in size, we really felt ripped off having to pay an additional $20 per day for parking our car in the open. We thoroughly enjoyed the styling of our modern room with its garden patio. The interior décor of the hotel common and eating areas is eclectic in the extreme. We wonder whether this bizarre and expensive mix up of Spanish and New Mexican styling combined with must-have facilities engineered for extreme cold weather is the folly of a rich oil baron who ignored the advice of his architect and employed his/her own spurious ideas? We travelled to Taos to experience its culture of creativity including the cuisine offered from its many restaurants. In our opinion and, surprisingly for a 4 starred establishment, not to be found at the hotel itself. The breakfast room, adjoining the very formal and overtly sterile restaurant is filled with plants left desperately stringy from need for fresh air. We ate our restaurant meal at the bar so we didn't have to sit in the overstuffed upright chairs of the formal restaurant. However, the breakfast foods were fresh, well thought out and delicious.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 12, 2014
K & D
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Wow !! Was wonderful to stay here!!! Beautiful! Especially loved the "in house" kitty that came to visit me on the deck!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"The best"
Very nice, top notch, highly recommend. Great service never a No! You will love the price too, very reasonable for this quality.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Aug 13, 2014
Heather
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Really relaxing and sooo beautiful grounds!"
We had a really good time and the food at the restaurant was delicious. We ate there both nights. The atmosphere and customer service wherever we were in the hotel was impeccable! The only complaint we considered was the amount of rooms available and having people RIGHT next door to us, was confusing and constrained some of the privacy. We understand the 'why' of hotels placing their tenants close together to enable housekeeping an easier time, BUT the importance of a private getaway is very high to us because we work hard, and our time away, and alone is limited. Other than this, it was all good :)
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Aug 4, 2014
G&CB
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Incredible Hotel"
My wife and I have stayed at a number of Hotels, more and less expensive. This has been our all time favorite Hotel, ever. We would come back just to relax if we have the opportunity in the future.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jul 7, 2014
Steven and Regina
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Worth the cost
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jul 24, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Bathroom shower is a problem"
If you are over 50 climbing into the 2 foot deep tub from a one foot concrete is a problem. They need to renovate the bathrooms.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 17, 2014
Pat
US
3.0 / 5Good
"This place has not seen an update."
This place has not seen an update since it was built ten years ago. The room was nice but all the noise from the corridor comes right into the room. The wait staff at breakfast was terrible, long wait to get service, even though nobody was there, three tables had people and all the other tables had not been bused yet. The cool accents that were in the bar are gone, looks like they had an issue with them, and just took them down and never replaced them. The pool is tiny and indoors. The TV reception/ picture was terrible, all snow on more than half the stations. Quite disappointing for a $300.00 @ night place, would say it was a $125.00 @ night.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have five different room types and we would be happy to recommend one that would better suit your needs next time. We are not quite sure what you mean by cool accents in the bar. The art there has changed and we improved the aquarium. We have number of improvements in the works we hope you find enjoyable on your next visit.
Other trip Jul 7, 2014
John
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
This place would be perfection with an additional outdoor pool
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Jul 5, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"A series of mishaps equals not a great experience"
I don't even know where to begin. We had just come from a lovely hotel in Santa Fe and were expecting another pleasurable experience. Not! It all started at check in. We met with David who told us that there was an emergency and that the hot tub was closed. We weren't too happy since the main reason we chose the hotel was so we could do a daily hot tub for my 50th birthday weekend. He said they had a plan though and that we could use the hot tub outside a villa type room. That seemed OK to us and we asked if we could look at it. We got there and I'm not kidding - there had been no maintenance on that tub for weeks - it was green with decayed leaves and pine needles on the bottom. Not usable at all. Totally unacceptable. We couldn't believe this was their plan and that he would let us go look at that. We started losing confidence in the hotel at that point. We then went and looked at our room to see what else was going on. We saw dirty plates on the ground outside of rooms, unswept paths and water stains on the ceiling. Since we had pre-paid for our room, we had to stay but otherwise we would have left immediately. Turns out the hot tub was fine and the other front desk person hadn't even heard about any emergency. We were upgraded so our room was nice, but overall it was a terrible experience. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed that.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
We are so sorry that we failed to provide you the memorable experience we strive to give all of our guests. Thank you for your feedback. We will use your comments to take a look at departments and personnel requiring additional training.
Other trip Jul 2, 2014
Maria
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful grounds. Great showers"
Walking the property after a swim was so relaxing. The breakfast food was so good especially the bagel & salmon. We would return again
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 23, 2014
Sandy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
El Monte Sagrado is an amazing retreat and sanctuary in a spectacular setting. The staff was helpful beyond all expectations. The room was delightful, a perfect setting for our anniversary. Anyone who has traveled the world will appreciate the uniqueness of El Monte Sagrado and cherish the time spent there.
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Jun 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"lumpy bed/ hard as a rock"
This was my third stay in a taos mountain room. The bathroom is plush with an exceptional shower and the best oversized jetted spa tub ever, which you will need after sleeping on a rock hard, sinking in spots mattress. Not up to a regular Marriott standard, much less a resort. I blame myself for not complaining after the first night. But I was too tired and had limited time to see the area, so I let it go. The last night It hurt my back so bad I slept in the room chair. The staff apologized and said they would look into it. Also there was noise overhead that sounded like wild animals on the loose at all times of night. I don't think I will ever be back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
Our apologies. We appreciate your feedback. If you could contact us directly we can identify the room you were in and address that specific issue. We work to stay on top of all maintenance problems but if the word does not get passed to us we cannot fix it.
3 night trip May 12, 2014
rbaustin3d
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"A Sad State"
This hotel has an incredible campus and a wonderful location. The staff is first class and ready to help. It is a great disappointment to see how poorly the Kessler Collection has kept up with maintaining what could be the best hotel in Taos. Patio furniture that can give you splinters, beams that haven't been stained in years, and linens that are way past needing replacement spoil what should be the jewel of the valley. Still a great experience though.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
El Monte Sagrado has been investing a lot of time and money of late to upgrade and improve the property and amenities . Our Engineering team is constantly working on renovation projects and I am sure you will see the results of these efforts on your next visit.
Other trip May 17, 2014
2lane Traveller
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"N/a"
N/a
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip May 10, 2014
Fretwell
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Parking was problematic and rooms not soundproof"
For a "resort/spa" of this caliber, El Monte needs to come up with better parking solutions. It was really a hassle on a busy weekend to be in a car line all the time and told only valet parking was possible. I am not comfortable with leaving my keys and it was a real inconvenience. Also, you can hear every noise from the hallways and even the adjoining rooms. It didn't feel private AT ALL.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
Our apologies for the parking issues. El Monte Sagrado was carved out of an existing neighborhood with limited space for our parking lot. Therefore in order to maximize the capacitiy, it was designed with mostly double and even triple parking spaces. This requires extensive use of valet service to avoid having guests blocked in. On busy weekends, staff members are not allowed on the lot to help aleviate some of the problems. We are seeking a permanent long term solution to the overcrowding problem. We have 5 different room types at El Monte Sagrado and for a more private and peaceful stay on your next visit I would suggest a Casita or Native American Suite. I think you will enjoy these immensely.
3 night trip May 9, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Place - but"
We got there and the place was lovely. couple of minor points: 1. swmining pool was out for repairs, 2. no headsets for exercise equipment, 3. $20 charge for self parking in open lot - rather lame in my view
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip May 4, 2014
david
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Everything was as we expected -- first class. Only issue was entrance and egress in and out of the shower == could be dangerous as we get older.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip May 3, 2014
John Kaplan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Hotel"
Great service and beautiful room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Apr 26, 2014
LMG
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice views and great pool and spa area!!!"
Great for a romantic getaway and an easy drive from Denver, CO.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Peaceful and Beautiful"
So comfortable and pleasant surroundings everywhere. The décor was beautiful and beds super comfortable. The soaking tub was great after a long day and the pool and sauna were great for whole family. Would like to see El Monte offer free Wi-Fi though and it seemed a little odd to have to pay for parking when the lot was so close to the rooms. Will stay there again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Apr 17, 2014
Doug
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"El Monte is sweet!"
My lady and I had a great time, the buildings and grounds are beautiful, the staff was very nice, and we enjoyed our room, especially the jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room! We would definitely stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Apr 11, 2014
Eric
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Taos getaway"
Hotel was close to town. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 23, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"nice getaway..."
Excellent room with a nice giant bed that made it hard to leave in the morning. Kinda pricey but was perfect for our nice romantic getaway. I would definitely stay there again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Apr 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"A once great hotel obviously in foreclosure."
The recession has been especially ruff on anyone attempting a great task, like running the El Monte. And there lays the problem. The El Monte's appeal was in the receiving a comforting experience at every turn. The experience of sleeping and living in art. The three connecting points, the room, the landscape and the sweetness that pours out of the people of Taos. It was like some kind of Mexican opera and everybody was on the same page. It was a reminder of everything frighting of the last 5 years. We felt like we were in an Apocalyptic movie. The beautiful hardwood floors were separating from an obvious water damage. Our socks were catching on the lifting of the grain. The bed spread sham was tattered and the collection of decorate pillows were long gone. The hot tub was was also absent with the 240 cable laying in the dirt as if the tub had been reprocessed. The landscape was dirt. Not winter kill.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa
We are far from being in foreclosure. We have been very busy with a number of capital improvements on the property with many more to come. Not everything is noticeable yet but over the next six months you will see many, many improvements to the property. We are all very excited about the positive changes being made at El Monte Sagrado and we think you will be impressed on your next trip here. Come visit the GM when you are here again and she will be happy to show you what we are doing.
Other trip Apr 10, 2014
Ray
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
We had a wonderful stay and loved the Art galleries and skiing.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Mar 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Love this place!"
Staff is top notch, love the feel of this place and Taos in general. Our stay was wonderful, great food in the restaurant, had fun in the Anaconda Bar. The hotel had lots of maintenance workers repairing stucco, etc. all over the property during our stay and our bathroom shower door had lots of water spots on it- very minor issues. Wish they had another hot tub- or an adult only one--both times we tried to use it, was packed full of young kids. We will definitely return to this amazing place and look forward to our next visit to El Monte Sagrado.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 21, 2014
Michelle Radford
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff"
We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days, and WOW are the hotel grounds gorgeous. The staff is incredible, and besides the scenery are definitely the hotel's best asset. The bartender gave me and my boyfriend a ton of information about hiking in the area, the waitress that we had for breakfast was one of the friendliest, most accommodating servers that I've ever experienced, and the check in and check out staff were also wonderful. We had an issue with some very noisy upstairs neighbors on our second night, and we ended up having to move rooms at about 11 PM, but the staff got us moved right away and also comped our parking for the trouble. This place is NOT cheap, but worth the price.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 30, 2014
Margaret
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Comfortable, relaxing evening"
My 13 year old granddaughter was thrilled to stay at such a lovely place as part of her birthday trip to NM. She felt very grown up! Grandmother was quite pleased also! Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Mar 20, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"average hotel nothing spectacular..."
respectable hotel, but lacked attention to detail. Dinner was average but pricey.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Mar 20, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect getaway"
This resort was the best we have ever stayed at in the area!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 21, 2014
Erik
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Stay here!!!"
This is the most fabulous resort I've ever stayed at. The rooms are top quality, immaculate, and the service is exceptional. Amazing food at the on property restaurant. I can't wait to go back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Mar 17, 2014
Kaci
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"gorgeous hotel"
We had such a lovely time here. Be sure to visit the pool!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Mar 15, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent place to vacation"
Staff very friendly beautiful place to just relax and enjoy the nice scenery. Close to a lot of restaurants and plaza . Restaurant is off the chain
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 17, 2014
BIG LOU
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Much nicer than we expected."
The staff was very friendly. There was a little confusion with our reservation and David was extremely patient and more than accommodating with the resolution. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Laura in the restaurant was extremely nice and she made recommendation for our travels based on her knowledge of the area. She even checked with us at dinner on night two to see how we were enjoying the area and our trip. Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend the El Monte to anyone visiting the area. We will defiantly stay here if in the area again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 13, 2014
Heidi
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Much nicer than we expected."
The staff was very friendly. There was a little confusion with our reservation and David was extremely patient and more than accommodating with the resolution. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Laura in the restaurant was extremely nice and she made recommendation for our travels based on her knowledge of the area. She even checked with us at dinner on night two to see how we were enjoying the area and our trip. Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend the El Monte to anyone visiting the area. We will defiantly stay here if in the area again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 13, 2014
Heidi
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful property"
Everything was perfect, great weekend getaway, can't wait to go back for another long weekend!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 4, 2014
Aaron
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great place, but they nickel and dime you"
To begin, let me saw this place was great for the price and we had a blast. The pool and sauna were great. The room was really nice. The service was very friendly. My only complaints are that they charge for wifi, parking, and have hidden fees, and the steamroom in the lockerroom takes a long time to get to the right temp and is small. These are really nitpicky things that i only mention because you should be aware of them.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Feb 27, 2014
Erik
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"A good choice overall"
Room was fantastic. Would stay there again. Couple of issues: Restaurant was not good. Food needs help. Also, charging for parking seems a bit "nickle and dime-ish".
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 24, 2014
Pat
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"The best in a small town!!!"
It's just special...especially for a ski vacation..
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 22, 2014
JL
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Loved our stay at this hotel. Perfect location, 30 min drive to Taos ski resort and about 5-10 minutes to most restaurants in town. The only reason I rated the overall rating 4 is because the first night we had warm but not hot water in the shower, shower head clogged and trickled out, TV was fussy on NBC during Olympics! The beds were very comfortable and room was nice and quite.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Feb 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!!"
WE ABSOLUTLEY LOVED THIS HOTEL, ALL OF TAOS CARRIES A UNIQUENESS, INCLUDING THIS HOTEL, AND THE STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMODATING, THANK YOU.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews