All hotels in Taos, New Mexico, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM, 87571, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.4 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 167 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.6
  • Service
    4.4
  • Comfort
    4.5
  • Condition
    4.5
  • Neighborhood
    4.5
5.0 / 5Outstanding
This place would be perfection with an additional outdoor pool
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Jul 5, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"A series of mishaps equals not a great experience"
I don't even know where to begin. We had just come from a lovely hotel in Santa Fe and were expecting another pleasurable experience. Not! It all started at check in. We met with David who told us that there was an emergency and that the hot tub was closed. We weren't too happy since the main reason we chose the hotel was so we could do a daily hot tub for my 50th birthday weekend. He said they had a plan though and that we could use the hot tub outside a villa type room. That seemed OK to us and we asked if we could look at it. We got there and I'm not kidding - there had been no maintenance on that tub for weeks - it was green with decayed leaves and pine needles on the bottom. Not usable at all. Totally unacceptable. We couldn't believe this was their plan and that he would let us go look at that. We started losing confidence in the hotel at that point. We then went and looked at our room to see what else was going on. We saw dirty plates on the ground outside of rooms, unswept paths and water stains on the ceiling. Since we had pre-paid for our room, we had to stay but otherwise we would have left immediately. Turns out the hot tub was fine and the other front desk person hadn't even heard about any emergency. We were upgraded so our room was nice, but overall it was a terrible experience. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed that.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
We are so sorry that we failed to provide you the memorable experience we strive to give all of our guests. Thank you for your feedback. We will use your comments to take a look at departments and personnel requiring additional training.
Other trip Jul 2, 2014
Maria
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful grounds. Great showers"
Walking the property after a swim was so relaxing. The breakfast food was so good especially the bagel & salmon. We would return again
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 23, 2014
Sandy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
El Monte Sagrado is an amazing retreat and sanctuary in a spectacular setting. The staff was helpful beyond all expectations. The room was delightful, a perfect setting for our anniversary. Anyone who has traveled the world will appreciate the uniqueness of El Monte Sagrado and cherish the time spent there.
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Jun 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"lumpy bed/ hard as a rock"
This was my third stay in a taos mountain room. The bathroom is plush with an exceptional shower and the best oversized jetted spa tub ever, which you will need after sleeping on a rock hard, sinking in spots mattress. Not up to a regular Marriott standard, much less a resort. I blame myself for not complaining after the first night. But I was too tired and had limited time to see the area, so I let it go. The last night It hurt my back so bad I slept in the room chair. The staff apologized and said they would look into it. Also there was noise overhead that sounded like wild animals on the loose at all times of night. I don't think I will ever be back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
Our apologies. We appreciate your feedback. If you could contact us directly we can identify the room you were in and address that specific issue. We work to stay on top of all maintenance problems but if the word does not get passed to us we cannot fix it.
3 night trip May 12, 2014
rbaustin3d
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"A Sad State"
This hotel has an incredible campus and a wonderful location. The staff is first class and ready to help. It is a great disappointment to see how poorly the Kessler Collection has kept up with maintaining what could be the best hotel in Taos. Patio furniture that can give you splinters, beams that haven't been stained in years, and linens that are way past needing replacement spoil what should be the jewel of the valley. Still a great experience though.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
El Monte Sagrado has been investing a lot of time and money of late to upgrade and improve the property and amenities . Our Engineering team is constantly working on renovation projects and I am sure you will see the results of these efforts on your next visit.
Other trip May 17, 2014
2lane Traveller
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"N/a"
N/a
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip May 10, 2014
Fretwell
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Parking was problematic and rooms not soundproof"
For a "resort/spa" of this caliber, El Monte needs to come up with better parking solutions. It was really a hassle on a busy weekend to be in a car line all the time and told only valet parking was possible. I am not comfortable with leaving my keys and it was a real inconvenience. Also, you can hear every noise from the hallways and even the adjoining rooms. It didn't feel private AT ALL.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
Our apologies for the parking issues. El Monte Sagrado was carved out of an existing neighborhood with limited space for our parking lot. Therefore in order to maximize the capacitiy, it was designed with mostly double and even triple parking spaces. This requires extensive use of valet service to avoid having guests blocked in. On busy weekends, staff members are not allowed on the lot to help aleviate some of the problems. We are seeking a permanent long term solution to the overcrowding problem. We have 5 different room types at El Monte Sagrado and for a more private and peaceful stay on your next visit I would suggest a Casita or Native American Suite. I think you will enjoy these immensely.
3 night trip May 9, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Place - but"
We got there and the place was lovely. couple of minor points: 1. swmining pool was out for repairs, 2. no headsets for exercise equipment, 3. $20 charge for self parking in open lot - rather lame in my view
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip May 4, 2014
david
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Hotel"
Great service and beautiful room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Apr 26, 2014
LMG
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice views and great pool and spa area!!!"
Great for a romantic getaway and an easy drive from Denver, CO.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Peaceful and Beautiful"
So comfortable and pleasant surroundings everywhere. The décor was beautiful and beds super comfortable. The soaking tub was great after a long day and the pool and sauna were great for whole family. Would like to see El Monte offer free Wi-Fi though and it seemed a little odd to have to pay for parking when the lot was so close to the rooms. Will stay there again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Apr 17, 2014
Doug
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"El Monte is sweet!"
My lady and I had a great time, the buildings and grounds are beautiful, the staff was very nice, and we enjoyed our room, especially the jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room! We would definitely stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Apr 11, 2014
Eric
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Taos getaway"
Hotel was close to town. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 23, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"nice getaway..."
Excellent room with a nice giant bed that made it hard to leave in the morning. Kinda pricey but was perfect for our nice romantic getaway. I would definitely stay there again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Apr 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"A once great hotel obviously in foreclosure."
The recession has been especially ruff on anyone attempting a great task, like running the El Monte. And there lays the problem. The El Monte's appeal was in the receiving a comforting experience at every turn. The experience of sleeping and living in art. The three connecting points, the room, the landscape and the sweetness that pours out of the people of Taos. It was like some kind of Mexican opera and everybody was on the same page. It was a reminder of everything frighting of the last 5 years. We felt like we were in an Apocalyptic movie. The beautiful hardwood floors were separating from an obvious water damage. Our socks were catching on the lifting of the grain. The bed spread sham was tattered and the collection of decorate pillows were long gone. The hot tub was was also absent with the 240 cable laying in the dirt as if the tub had been reprocessed. The landscape was dirt. Not winter kill.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
We are far from being in foreclosure. We have been very busy with a number of capital improvements on the property with many more to come. Not everything is noticeable yet but over the next six months you will see many, many improvements to the property. We are all very excited about the positive changes being made at El Monte Sagrado and we think you will be impressed on your next trip here. Come visit the GM when you are here again and she will be happy to show you what we are doing.
Other trip Apr 10, 2014
Ray
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
We had a wonderful stay and loved the Art galleries and skiing.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Mar 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Love this place!"
Staff is top notch, love the feel of this place and Taos in general. Our stay was wonderful, great food in the restaurant, had fun in the Anaconda Bar. The hotel had lots of maintenance workers repairing stucco, etc. all over the property during our stay and our bathroom shower door had lots of water spots on it- very minor issues. Wish they had another hot tub- or an adult only one--both times we tried to use it, was packed full of young kids. We will definitely return to this amazing place and look forward to our next visit to El Monte Sagrado.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 21, 2014
Michelle Radford
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff"
We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days, and WOW are the hotel grounds gorgeous. The staff is incredible, and besides the scenery are definitely the hotel's best asset. The bartender gave me and my boyfriend a ton of information about hiking in the area, the waitress that we had for breakfast was one of the friendliest, most accommodating servers that I've ever experienced, and the check in and check out staff were also wonderful. We had an issue with some very noisy upstairs neighbors on our second night, and we ended up having to move rooms at about 11 PM, but the staff got us moved right away and also comped our parking for the trouble. This place is NOT cheap, but worth the price.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 30, 2014
Margaret
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Comfortable, relaxing evening"
My 13 year old granddaughter was thrilled to stay at such a lovely place as part of her birthday trip to NM. She felt very grown up! Grandmother was quite pleased also! Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Mar 20, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"average hotel nothing spectacular..."
respectable hotel, but lacked attention to detail. Dinner was average but pricey.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Mar 20, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect getaway"
This resort was the best we have ever stayed at in the area!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 21, 2014
Erik
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Stay here!!!"
This is the most fabulous resort I've ever stayed at. The rooms are top quality, immaculate, and the service is exceptional. Amazing food at the on property restaurant. I can't wait to go back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Mar 17, 2014
Kaci
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"gorgeous hotel"
We had such a lovely time here. Be sure to visit the pool!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Mar 15, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent place to vacation"
Staff very friendly beautiful place to just relax and enjoy the nice scenery. Close to a lot of restaurants and plaza . Restaurant is off the chain
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 17, 2014
BIG LOU
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Much nicer than we expected."
The staff was very friendly. There was a little confusion with our reservation and David was extremely patient and more than accommodating with the resolution. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Laura in the restaurant was extremely nice and she made recommendation for our travels based on her knowledge of the area. She even checked with us at dinner on night two to see how we were enjoying the area and our trip. Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend the El Monte to anyone visiting the area. We will defiantly stay here if in the area again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 13, 2014
Heidi
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Much nicer than we expected."
The staff was very friendly. There was a little confusion with our reservation and David was extremely patient and more than accommodating with the resolution. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Laura in the restaurant was extremely nice and she made recommendation for our travels based on her knowledge of the area. She even checked with us at dinner on night two to see how we were enjoying the area and our trip. Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend the El Monte to anyone visiting the area. We will defiantly stay here if in the area again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 13, 2014
Heidi
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful property"
Everything was perfect, great weekend getaway, can't wait to go back for another long weekend!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 4, 2014
Aaron
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great place, but they nickel and dime you"
To begin, let me saw this place was great for the price and we had a blast. The pool and sauna were great. The room was really nice. The service was very friendly. My only complaints are that they charge for wifi, parking, and have hidden fees, and the steamroom in the lockerroom takes a long time to get to the right temp and is small. These are really nitpicky things that i only mention because you should be aware of them.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Feb 27, 2014
Erik
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"A good choice overall"
Room was fantastic. Would stay there again. Couple of issues: Restaurant was not good. Food needs help. Also, charging for parking seems a bit "nickle and dime-ish".
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 24, 2014
Pat
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"The best in a small town!!!"
It's just special...especially for a ski vacation..
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 22, 2014
JL
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Loved our stay at this hotel. Perfect location, 30 min drive to Taos ski resort and about 5-10 minutes to most restaurants in town. The only reason I rated the overall rating 4 is because the first night we had warm but not hot water in the shower, shower head clogged and trickled out, TV was fussy on NBC during Olympics! The beds were very comfortable and room was nice and quite.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Feb 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!!"
WE ABSOLUTLEY LOVED THIS HOTEL, ALL OF TAOS CARRIES A UNIQUENESS, INCLUDING THIS HOTEL, AND THE STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMODATING, THANK YOU.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Always outstanding!"
First class accommodations. Very comfortable and cozy rooms with great local character. The staff is always friendly and helpful. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the resort and the food was wonderful and the presentation was impressive.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 14, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beautiful setting"
This is a beautiful resort with a helpful and pleasant staff. We enjoyed a relaxed and enjoyable time. It can be a romantic getaway or a family vacation for sightseeing or skiing
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 6, 2014
P
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great hotel, couple issues"
Nice hotel & valet parking if you like it ...........................................................................................................................................................................
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A great place to relax during vacation."
The experience I had was relaxing. I loved the garden that was near the pool and in the dining room. All the staff was courteous and pleasant, especially the on that attended the bar.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 13, 2014
Eric
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very Nice Stay"
I got tired of awful Taos hotels and decided to upgrade. I enjoyed everything about this hotel, except the nickel and diming. The internet advertised valet parking but did not say that you had to pay $20 for all parking--a pretty steep fee when all other hotels have free parking. Similarly, WiFi was $14 a night. Room Service $5 fee plus automatic gratuity. None in themselves outrageous, more the nickel and diming that is outrageous. The business office, including printing, was free, however.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jan 9, 2014
BG
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Wonderful accommodations, but horrible service!"
The accommodations continue to be fabulous. We stay, along with 5 other families, 4-5 times per year and I am always amazed at the horrible service we receive. One of these days, I'm going to stop staying here because it is so frustrating! If they could just get better service, it would be an amazing place to stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Jan 10, 2014
Dana
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
We stayed in Taos for a ski vacation 12/31 - 1/03/14. The El Monte was comfortable and convenient. The staff was responsive and helpful. No unpleasant surprises. We did not utilize the dining facilities.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 12, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Stunning facility!"
Stellar service, fantastic art throughout and can't say enough about the huge tub, fireplace and view! Great hot stone massage! The negatives: a big thumbs down on $20 a day for parking and some &15 a day for wi-fi! Come on! Also, only 4 stars on food--chicken was dry and hard. It must have led a harsh life. Also, spa is superb but be prepared to fork out some dough! Not crazy about the automatic 20% "tip." Even without it, it can get pretty pricy. Why not just add 20% to the price and let customers decide what to add for good service? We got engaged in our robes in front of the fireplace. It was about 12F outside but inside the heat was on.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 11, 2014
Alexxx
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wonderful!"
I had been to their spa before and lived it so I just had to stay there this time. It was exactly what I hoped and the spa was great again too!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Jan 1, 2014
Deonna
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Awesome!"
This hotel was amazing. The staff was welcoming and professional, the room was impeccable, and food was great. I would DEFINITELY stay here again and would recommend this place to everyone.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 5, 2014
Kelly
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Interesting property"
The ambiance was wonderful, the people terrific. It was unfortunate that they were having problems with their septic system making it a bit unpleasant. We were shocked to see a $20 a day parking fee added to our bill. We were disappointed that we would be charged to park on the very same property. It left a bad impression with us and as annual visitors to New Mexico we will think twice about staying there again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 23, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice but..."
Nice place & great service. However, when we checked into room #606 we noticed there was no clock in the room so we requested a clock. Guy brings clock but electric outlet didn't work. Sent "Engineer" to repair outlet. Then the toilet didn't work so they sent someone else for that. Also, half the TV stations don't come in very well, there's lots of static. Food in restaurant was excellent.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Dec 11, 2013
Horizontal Bop
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good price for the resort feel."
Great bell hops and registration staff. Facility was bigger than I thought it was going to be. Room had a nice tall ceiling and small patio. We could hear the people above us probably more than I was expecting, but it wasn't too bad. Carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed, and there was some water damage on the wall from the shower, but otherwise the room was very nice and clean. It would've been nice to have a little instruction card for the jet tub, but no big deal. Easy enough walk into the Plaza or they can shuttle you down. Would've liked to stay longer. You have to pay for parking and WIFI separately, but to me that isn't that big of deal.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Nov 30, 2013
Jason
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
We liked El Monte Sagrado Hotel a lot. However we were very annoyed to be locked out of our room after returning from a hike, loaded with packages and gear. We had reserved 3 nights and this was the afternoon of our 3rd day. One of our party had a light breakfast at the hotel and found our server brusque and not very friendly. Our only other mild criticism was the room was rather dark. It needed brighter lightening or more over head lights.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Oct 25, 2013
S.Jacobsen
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice room and setting, poor lounge and restaurant"
The room was very comfortable and the setting was quiet and scenic, but the restaurant was inferior and the lounge was terrible. The bartender (Scot) was very rude and the whole atmosphere of the place was funereal.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 23, 2013
Pat
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beautiful"
Beautiful hotel. However, while I understand why an expensive hotel still ends up charging its guests for parking and internet (means more money for them), I find it a ridiculous practice. Would have gotten a better review were they not to nickel and dime their guests.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 14, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Near town center"
Beautiful property within easy walk of Taos center. Pricey but good value for first class hotel. Very nice grounds and the rooms are unique and well decorated. My only peeve is charging for wifi, just include it in the room rate! I generally avoid hotels with fees like this...just put it in the room rate! Other than that very nice property.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 16, 2013
bruce
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews