"Perfect for couples or families."
Thoroughly enjoyed our surroundings. Cutest little cottages with small balconies. Bar b q provided and all kitchen necessities. Updated bathrooms. Owner was very helpful and pleasant. Would definitey stay there again.Close to town shops and restaurants.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"wonderful cabin and great staff"
We were really impressed with the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. We stayed in the farmhouse and it was soo charming. I didnt want to leave. I love the full functioning kitchen. We did lots of cooking.it was a great family trip. We would definitely recommend this to anyone.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I am coming back here as soon as possibleGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Clean, Cute, Cozy"
It was nice to have a cottage to ourselves (no dhared walls). The jacuzzi was very clean and very big. The fireplace really added to the ambiance (and helped keep the room warm). We will definitely stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Cute romantic get away"
Great find! Affordable and close to the lake. Homey feel in the rooms but cozy and the fireplace makes for a nice alternative to the heater...however, both are gas run and the fireplace runs on a timer and makes a clicking sound. Overall, I will come back again and again! Love this cute cottage!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hello, thanks for the nice review. Some cottages have wood burning fireplaces and some are gas burning. We are sorry you experienced a clicking sound. Sometimes when the weather is shifting severely all heaters or gas fireplaces do that in the mountains. We avoid it as much as possible. As a reminder to all of our guests, please let us know right away any issues or concerns and we will do whatever we can to make your stay the best! Thanks, Josh P., Manager.
"My Birthday Getaway"
I thought this place was great. I will visit again in the future. It Could have been alittle more private because we were attached to the main office, overall the place was in a very good condition. Also it was Very clean! Which is a make it or break it in my book. I forgot a couple of items and they mailed back to me which I fully appreciated. I will […] be back soon. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hi, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Cabin 218 is the family cabin that we have attached to the office, although it is our favorite family cabin and has the most private front yard as well. As a reminder to all of our guests, please let us know right away any issues or concerns and we will do whatever we can to make your stay the best! We always have other room options unless we are booked solid, and we love to hear what you like or don't like. Thanks, Josh P., Manager.
"Definitely worth the money spent"
The staff was friendly and helpful. Very private, nicely sized cottage. The grounds were nice-trees everywhere as you'd expect. Tiny microwave and fridge worked well for our 3 night stay. Only real complaint was the firmness of the bed. We actually have a firm bed at home and this one was beyond that and actually became quite uncomfortable after two […] nights. The fireplace is the only other thing to warn about: we were in a room with a wood burning fireplace so we were excited. The fireplace itself is nice and pretty enough but it's small, so bring small wood pieces to burn-the logs won't work out well. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hi Amanda, we appreciate the review! We are however sad to hear that the bed was too firm for you. Our beds vary in firmness and we are always moving or replacing them. We do like to know while you are here if it is not right for you and are happy to upgrade or do whatever we can for you in that case. On the same note, we have gas burning fireplaces as well, and we only sell pine-logs and wood that fits in the fireplaces that take wood. In almost any case, if we are made aware, we can make changes in order to satisfy our guests wishes. We hope to see you again and talk to you while you are here! Thanks, Josh P., Manager.
"Cozy little cottage."
I can't complain at all, everything was pretty perfect besides that our coffeemaker was broken. I mean, this place is so reasonably priced that having a hot tub and fireplace in your room is pretty awesome (and totally unexpected when I ordered the room); we used it at night for relaxing and drinking some beer and in the morning a dip in there went […] perfect with coffee before heading up the mountain for more snowboarding. I can't comment too much on the service as we only saw them at check-in and check-out but the rooms had everything you could possibly need besides a stove, they may be small but the space is so efficiently used. Anyhow, had a great time. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hi, thanks for the very nice review! We are glad to hear the spa tub was well-enjoyed:) We are sorry to hear that the coffee maker was broken though, and also that you did not see us much! We like to be around to make sure everything is OK while you are here, and hope that we replaced the coffee maker for you right away! Thanks again and we hope to see you again! Josh P., Manager.
Just a quick trip to enjoy the end of ski season. Sleepy cottages made it great.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Great experience. Hotel staff was great, they provided suggestions for where to eat, etc. Cottages are located near all the great spots in Big Bear, will stay again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We went january 2013. We are a couple with a 2 year old. We were in family cabin #2. Our kiddo loved her "cabin bed". Everything was cute and this cabin can comfortably fit 4 or maybe 5... If the fifth is a little kid. Pros: attentive staff/ kind family business. Location is fantastic- 1/2 way between the little village and skiing/ zoo, etc. only con […] is: take quick showers- only a 30 gallon tank. P.s. the coffee is made at 8:30 in the main office- it's yummy- highly recommend! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hello, and thanks for this nice review! We are glad you had fun with the whole family. The hot water heater in this particular cabin is not huge, but standard size, and should allow a family of 4 showers. We also have cabins and cottages with larger or DOUBLE water heaters (to fill our large jetted-tubs), please request those in regards to this issue. We hope to see you again! Thanks, Josh P., Manager.
Beautiful cottage. Enjoyed our stay alot!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
This was the first time that I stayed at this hotel. It was better than I had expected. The room that I had was perfect for two. It was close to the slopes as well as the village. I had a great time and I will definitely book from this hotel again.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Best kept secret!"
I loved this place! I came up here with my boyfriend to have a ski/romantic getaway. Everything was clean, romantic, and the service was incredible! I love family owned gems! It's the best kept secret in all of Big Bear! Location was less than a mile away from Snow Summit.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Aimed at romantic couples seeking rustic room"
The hotel seems to cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway. I took my 11 year old son. At checkin we were instructed not to use towels for makeup removal as it ruins the towels. I assumed during Christmas / New Years week it would be impossible to address any concerns. Perhaps they would have - so thats on me. The property is within 3 miles of ski […] resorts. Just off main street but quiet enough. The cabin we got (14) was very small suitable for 2. It had a kitchenette, small flat screen tv, dvd, fireplace, small table, queen bed, gas fireplace and tub all within main room. My son tried out the tub but said it was dirty and had hair in it. The bathroom had nice tile. The hot water was plentiful and quick. The furnishings in the cabin appear low quality, all quite old and in need of cleaning / replacing. The bed was mediocre at best. The couch was brown, flat worn out love seat. The cleanliness of the carpet was bad. The toilet seat was either broken or loose. We stayed three nights. There was trash that needed to be removed 2 days but was not. The third night night about 5pm we were asked if we needed fresh towels. I said no we could use what we had but in my opinion they should have gone through the room at some point during the day. I handed them the trash that had been there 2 days and asked if they could please take it away. Overall my son and I enjoyed the stay. If I had it to do over again I would have asked to see if there was another newer cleaner cabin available. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hello and thanks for the review. We urge every guest at check in to let us know immediately if there are any concerns or anything you do not like about your cottage. We are eager to know how each guest likes the accommodations and eager to offer other available cabins and cottages at any time. We love to give free upgrades to make our guests happy. If a toilet seat seems loose, or the decor, furnishings or even carpet are an issue, we want to know so we can repair and fix any issues right away and make you comfortable. The couch in this cottage is fairly new, I'm a little surprised it is being called "worn out". The bed is also fairly new and the carpet very clean. We are forced to have each guest sign and initial in agreement with our policies at check in, including not using towels for make-up or cars (which always gets a little laugh), as we have had to replace many towels for these reasons. We have make-up remover in every room, and even available "car rags" for guests to use to wipe snow, mud, etc. off cars or motorcycles. This cottage is geared towards couples and is a romantic jacuzzi cottage. We run bleach through and clean the jacuzzis daily. To address the issues with trash and towels, we do maid services every day and take trash, refresh towels and amenities, and meet any desired needs. Often guests put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign then later ask for maid services. This might have been the case, otherwise I guarantee the maids attempted to do a maid service, refreshing towels AND taking trash. We do our best daily to clean and refresh rooms in a timely manner and get to them as soon as we can. If anything is specially requested it gets bumped up. Again, I must stress, all of these issues could have been dealt with immediately and we would have been happy to upgrade this guest to a room where they felt comfortable and happy. We will also always give full refunds if a guest is totally unhappy before they stay. To all guests, please let us know while you ar
"Christmas at the Cottage"
We loved this cottage. It was so tiny, but the perfect size for both my boyfriend and I. We loved being cozy on the bed in front of the fire. We brought our own wood to save some money, although they sell wood there for a great price if you do not have the room in your car for it. We had a great Christmas vacation and the staff made it comfortable as […] well. They were more than helpful and they also have a VHS/DVD player in the room so that can you can either bring your own movies or they have a selection that you can borrow from them. Loved it! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Sleepy Forest Cottage Romance"
This hotel is perfect for romance in Big Bear. The cottages are so cute and cozy. They are very clean and the heat works very well. I had a blast staying here and would do it again. Hotel staff is also extremely helpful and friendly.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great romantic getaway"
Had an amazing time! Definitely coming back. I would recommend this hotel to all couplesGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great for couples."
Great staff, cookies and coffee/tea in lobby. Clean. Private. Centrally located by downtown Village and ski resort/zoo.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Quiet romantic hideaway"
We loved it very quiet and romantic. We will go back and soonGenuine Expedia guest review
We stayed in cottage 207 for our second anniversary. The staff is super friendly and helped us via email and facebook before our arrival. They gave us complimentary champagne to help us celebrate and let us use candle holders for our candles. The jacuzzi tub in the room was so romantic....and the ease of the gas fireplace was awesome. The comfort of […] the bed is my only complaint...it was kinda hard and I didn't sleep well. But maybe that was just my personal preference. This is a GREAT place to stay and celebrate any special occasion, or for any reason at all! Thanks so much to everyone at Sleepy Forest Cottages! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hello and thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. We are of course concerned that the bed was hard for you and that you did not sleep well. We are always upgrading our beds and mattresses for this reason, and adding pillow tops and padding. We are also on call 24/7 so if a bed is ever uncomfortable for any guests, please let us know right away so we can take care of it or upgrade. Thanks again
"Fabulous Romantic Getaway!"
The pictures were true to life. I got exactly what I was expecting. This is a wonderful, quiet, romantic get-away. Can't say enough good things about Sleepy Forest Cottages!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Much needed getaway"
We had a very pleasant time, the service at the front office was outstanding. The staff is willing to go out of their way to answer any questions and accommodate.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Clean, all the comforts of home,friendly, efficient staff....close to activities and restaurants....loved the outdoor space!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A Hidden Gem"
Way exceeded my expectations for privacy, cleanliness, ambiance and proximity to all Big Bear's activities. Truly like your own cottage in the middle of a small woods. Great staff in the office and accommodating housekeepers.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The bed was like concrete but the staff had options to make it to our liking. The room was as very nice and clean. Would stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hello and thanks for this review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and might be back. We are however sorry to hear that the bed felt hard, but very glad to hear that we were able to do something to make it better. As always, we always offer upgrades to our guests if they are not satisfied, for free whenever possible. I am not sure if we upgraded you or were able to make changes to the bed (sometimes we add padding, change mattresses or repair off-set beds), but we are glad to have made your stay better. Hope to see you again.
"Nice place to stay"
Our stay was very pleasant, the staff was was great .Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hello, thanks for the great review! We are happy we could take care of an issue for you and that you enjoyed your stay. We are always going through looking at the beds and at our reviews to try to make them the perfect comfort between soft and hard. We hope to see you again!
Very nice placeGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"great hotel for family/ couple"
The cottage felt like home... my wife and I enjoyed it. Everything was clean and everything supplied in the rooms. The staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and hospitality. Can't wait to come back.Genuine Expedia guest review
"OK, depends on rate"
The stay was fine but I wouldn't pay their weekend rate for this stay again. The rooms were alright and we stayed both nights there but the beds are not queen size - more like a double bed. Decor is marginal and furniture is sort of crammed haphazardly inside. Lighting was terrible. We only stayed 2 nights so it wasn't that big a deal but had we stayed […] longer we probably would have searched out other accommodations. We weren't sent running away but we were certainly underwhelmed. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages thanks for the review. We are disappointed to hear you did not like the room, and we would love to know which room this was! All of our cottages have either a queen or king bed, and some family cabins have kings and doubles. We also inform and urge every guest at check in to tell us right away if there is anything they do not like or are unhappy with. We have many different types of cabins and cottages, all different sizes and styles. We often move or upgrade (for free) guests to a room they like better. We would have been happy to upgrade you! We hope you can return and perhaps try another cottage. Thanks,
"Great romantic getaway"
We spent two nights at Sleepy Forrest and did not want to come back home. We loved the room and felt very relaxed by the end of our trip.Genuine Expedia guest review
Outdoor bar-b-que was great. Enjoyed in room jacuzzi.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"BIG BEAR FOR ALL SEASONS"
Getting out of the heat was the first blessing felt...The drive up to Big Bear was almost poetic! The rocks, the pines and other small trees in their shade...and then The Sleepy Forest cabins... The inside of the cabin was in order ,,,everything clean and working... The fire place had to be gas because of the dimensions of the cabin walls... Would […] have been more roomy if the jacuzzi could have been taken out...but it was already stoned into the side of the room! The staff were friendly and informative about activities for us senior folks...in addition to pointing out some of the popular places to eat... All in all, we got to fly out kites in late afternoon after we got down from our mile high ride to the top...the view from that height was certainly magical... AND.... we made it back to Orange County in 90 minutes after 6:30 a.m. as the sun was rising over another magical view of the surrounding areas as we got lower near the freeways... Both my friend and driver agreed that Big Bear will keeps its magic through seasons... I , for one, would love to visit the area again when it is wearing its fall colors... Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Thanks for the wonderful review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to seeing you again. We noticed the negative point here was "Queen Bed", and want to make sure our guests know that we do not only have queen beds, but all different room types, many with king beds or Family Cabins with multiple queens. We also offer upgrades to all guests if a bigger bed or any other preferences are desired. Thanks again.
From the look of the cabins outside I was not too impressed, but wow the inside of the cabin was nice. Great place and we will come back for another visit.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Ideal for couple/newlyweds"
Great cottage with all the comforts of home. The location was quiet, peaceful and convenient.Genuine Expedia guest review
Staying at Sleepy Forest was awesome. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and well maintained and the location was great. The cabins are very cute and I'm looking forward to staying here again. I have absolutely no complaints and would recommend these cabins to anyone staying in the Big Bear Lake area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Perfect Vacation Spot!"
The cottage was just what I was looking for for my little get-away. I would definitely consider staying there again. :-)Genuine Expedia guest review
"Cant believe its been 17 years since we stayedhere"
Place had not changed other than some renovations....the owners were SUPER...loved them...and they assisted us in every way! We even got the cabin we stayed in in 1995..on our second night and stayed another night because everyone was soooo nice! We plan on going back there again soon...we wont wait another 17 years!!! Only thing we missed was not having […] A/C in cabins..had fans but no A/C but I guess mountain cabins doent usually need it...just an unseasonabily warm weather and then we had the Monsoons......still wonerful... LOVE BIG BEAR!!!LOVED the owners! Same ones as we had 17 years ago!!!! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Hi, thanks for the review! It was so great to meet you and find out you were here that long ago! I was an 11 year old running around here at that time. We are glad you enjoyed it, and do hope to see you sooner than later again. We do actually have AC in some of our family cabin upper loft rooms and in our 2 motel rooms at Cathy's Cottages. But you are right, most rooms do not have AC, and I don't know anyone up here with AC in their house, it is rarely needed, and when it might be needed, fans do the job well. We keep the rooms and our houses cool and shut during the day, and open them up in the evening for perfect natural fresh air and mountain weather. That is the trick! Thanks again and see you next time
"a place to relax"
Nice cozy place. We will be going back.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great value for an exceptional place"
My wife and I went to Sleepy Forest for our 10 year anniversary, and picked it because of the high guest rating on hotels.com. We were NOT disappointed, it was a perfect place to stay! We were in cottage 16, with a very comfortable king bed, a wonderful jacuzzi hot tub, a gas fireplace, a clean bathroom and a kitchenette. It was perfect for us, quaint […] but not too small. The only "complaint" (and I use the term loosely) is that the tv was old, but the owners told us that they were in the process of replacing them, so I expect that within a month or two the one that we had will be gone. The cottages are not next to the water, but it's only about a 10 minute walk to the water's edge. It's a very short walk to a McDonalds and a 7-Eleven, which is great for a midnight snack. The owners are INCREDIBLY helpful and kind, and the easiest people in the world to work with. I would definitely recommend talking to them if you have any questions or concerns about reserving a cabin. I have nothing but positive things to say about this place. Book here! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great for the price. Will definitely stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice place for a getaway"
We booked this place for a two-day midweek getaway. The service was very friendly, responsive, and competent. The room was in good shape and very clean and charming, The fan in the shower was noisy, but that was the only problem. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for cabin-style comfort.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Thanks for the great review! We appreciate the kind words. We want to take every opportunity to point out that we are on call 24/7 to check and repair things quickly, such as the noisy fan mentioned here. We also offer upgrades to anyone who is unsatisfied or interested in a different cabin or cottage. Hope to see you soon! Thanks,
"Great cozy getaway"
The staff was so kind and helpful. This cabin is located in an ideal location and even though we went at a busy time, it was very peaceful. We walked to shops, restaurants and it was a short drive to hiking trails. The room was small but very cozy. We found out while we were there that there are larger cabins available. Large shower and jacuzzi included […] in our room. The fireplace was a nice addition. I would definitely recommend this cabin especially since the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome! We will definitely return. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
I loved this place. My 4 year old and I stayed in cottage #7. It was clean, comfortable and decorated nicely. The Staff was warm, friendly and professional. We rate this place an A+++++Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The housekeeping service was terrible and the room was overpriced. The office hours, though stated as opening at 9:15 for coffee and pastries was delinquently late by 30 minutes. Excuse was "it's a family run operation".Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Thank you for staying with us and leaving your opinions. We are proud of our housekeepers and do not want to blame them for our failure to ask them to provide a guest with a maid service. That was my fault and I apologize. Occasionally, when we have already exchanged towels with a guest, we assume maid service is no longer required. The price mentioned was for a Saturday night in a 2 bedroom family cabin on a very busy weekend that I am sure the guests enjoyed. I am not sure there was anything of that size offered here for a lower price. We all offer lower prices on slower midweek days. Not only are we a small family business, but we were working to take care of some property plumbing issues on the date of this stay. We were unable to open the office at 9 am, as stated, and I apologize again that the coffee and strudel was not out until 9:45. This does not happen often. I would like to remind any readers of this review that every guest is very important to us. All are welcomed with a full page of information where we explain that you can call me or my son Josh anytime from the moment you see your accommodations until you check out. We forward calls to our personal cell phones all night. I took 3 calls that morning from other guests who said they had a perfect stay. If you have stayed with us, you know we always ask. We explain that we want you to let us know if there is anything that you are disappointed with. We never have or will ask anyone to stay in a room they do not like.
Enjoyed the tripGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice and convenient location"
My husband and I really liked our one night stay at Sleepy Forest Cottages. Our room was clean, cozy and comfortable.The staff was helpful and friendly. We will plan to stay again at Sleepy Forest Cottages if and when we visit the Big Bear Lake, California area again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Cozy and comfy with a twist."
My wife and mother-in-law stayed in this room, while the guys went camping. They giggled the whole time! The room was definitely fitted for a "couple", with a nice fireplace and jacuuzi tub. The shower, however, was where the giggles started. It was built for two, with the entire bathroom used as the shower! The room was well-maintained and clean. They […] mentioned they would definitely stay there again if given the chance. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
This cottage was a bit snug , and I am glad it was only for me only. Two would have been too crowded. It was snuggled among pine and aspen trees. The staff were very helpful, friendly, and readily made themselves available if I needed anything. I couldn't have asked for anything more. It was a perfect getaway, close to restaurants and relaxing by the […] lake. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sleepy Forest Cottages Thank you for the great review! We just want to point out, to remind our future guests, that we offer free upgrades to all guests if the room is not suitable, such as too small, with whatever we have available. But we are glad this worked well for this guest :)
"Close to downtown Big Bear"
Cute rooms that are separate cottages. Neat, well kept area outside, porch was a nice addition.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )