All hotels in Sedona, Arizona, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
100 Amara LaneSedonaAZ86336United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeIf you find a better price on the same exact stay within 7 days of booking, we’ll match it. See our ‘User Terms’ for details and recent changes.
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
4.4 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 765 reviews)

  • Location
    Great location
  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • Vibe
    Awesome vibe
  • Pool
    Great pool
  • Wellness Area
    Great wellness & sports facilities
  • Value for money
    Fairly good value for money
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent accommodation but ..."
Beautiful resort hotel. Our only complaint was that for the premium rate we paid, free wifi should have been included.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for sharing your experience. My apologies regarding the wifi. Wifi is complimentary as a Kimpton Karma member which is also free to join. There are many perks of staying at a Kimpton. Good things come to those who stay. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Oct 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Luxury, convenient location, great view"
All of the staff were super-nice and helpful in advising us on nearby hikes. The room was a decent size with really comfortable beds (and great pillows)! Since we were spending so much money on the room, my friends and I chose not to rent a car and just relied on the hotel shuttle (included in the mandatory $22.day resort fee). We used it for one or two round trips each day and only once did we have to wait more than 10 minutes. The resort fee includes free yoga classes each morning so I took two of those during our stay. The first yoga teacher was all about selling the props we used in class and her DVD, which was off-putting. The second teacher was much better and didn't try to sell us anything. Mostly I enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard each morning with my complimentary coffee, taking in the view of the red rocks. I love that they have giant wooden versions of kids' games (Connect 4 and Jenga) in the courtyard, the pool is lovely, and the location was close to the restaurants and shops of uptown Sedona. The only problem was that after dark you can only walk back to the hotel along a driveway so we always had to be on alert for cars surging up the hill around the bends. Overall though, it was a great place and I would definitely recommend it to others.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. The courtyard is certainly a guest favorite with incredible views as well as fun games to keep you occupied for hours. Yoga is a great way to start the day especially with our amazing instructors. A great way to relax after exploring Sedona is wine/social hour from 5pm-6pm every night. It’s a can’t miss!! Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Oct 23, 2015
Raincitykitty
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Sedona Amara"
Enjoyed a couples weekend in the beautiful red rocks of Sedona at the Amara. Beautiful hotel with great service and very friendly staff.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
We enjoyed having you! Thank you for making the Amara your special weekend getaway. Glad to hear you had such an amazing time and the staff had such a positive impact on your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
3 night romance trip Oct 15, 2015
John
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Right in the heart of things"
Very attentive staff and superior eating made this place exceed expectations!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Location, location, location… We think ours is pretty incredible. I love hearing we exceeded your expectations and the staff was dialed in. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Oct 17, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Too expensive but ambiance was great!"
The ambiance and service was 5 star !! The bed was horrible; my back ached in the morning. The bathroom was small and the shower difficult to operate. The phone was not working to request services. Ice had to be requested and morning coffee had to be gotten in the lobby meaning i had to get dressed to get some. The food was excellent though very expensive as was bar services.....$12 for a second shot of whiskey for my drink really!!! My patio faced a driveway to the adjoining hotel. Overal a 2+ rating.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Love hearing that the ambiance and service were 5 star. I am disappointed that you did not have a good night’s rest. The beds were replaced during the renovation last year so that is alarming. Having your first cup of coffee is never a problem as coffee makers are available upon request. We will certainly address the shower and phone line. Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback it is greatly appreciated. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night romance trip Oct 14, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
The Amara Resort delights in true Kimpton service and style. From the moment we checked in we were greeted by polite and friendly staff. We asked for burgers to be prepared at the Salt Rock restaurant when they were not listed on the menu, and we were cooked them with no questions asked. We arrived late and the bar was closing, we asked where we could get a drink and were immediately driven to a convenience store to pick drinks to enjoy out on the patio by the fire pit areas. The seating outside was complete with wool blankets for the breezy cool fall evening. Before we checked out, we walked outside by the pool with our luggage. Patrick the manager asked where we were headed. We told him we wanted to explore the shops in town, and he immediately offered to take our luggage and store it during the day. We were able to enjoy the day luggage free. The room was comfortable and stylish. Overall, the Amara is a great, friendly, excellent place to stay right in the heart of Sedona. Thanks for a great time!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Oct 12, 2015
Adam
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Amara (Kimpton) is the best"
In one word the Amara was perfect. Great location, beautifally appointed, and the best staff we've encountered. Kimpton does an excellent job and the Amara is a prime example. The poolside room was great. Nice size, comfortable, and great location. The 5pm wine bar was superb as was the morning coffee bar and trail mix bar. We ate at the restaurant several times. The food was amazing. Our margaritas were absolutely and perfectly crafted. Very well done. The staff were all so friendly and accomodating. I had mentioned in my hotel reservation that it was our wedding anniversary and was hoping for a great room location. Not only did the staff grant us that request they also had a special surprise waiting for us in the room. THANK YOU!!!! We would stay at the Amara the next time in Sedona. Sedona is such an amazing place. And what better than to stay in an amazing hotel, with amazing amenities, and such incredible staff. Because of our incredible stay here we then changed our plans and stayed at the Kimpton's Firesky Scottsdale resort later in our trip!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings Kevin and happy belated anniversary to you. Thanks for spending such a special occasion with us and glad we could make it so memorable. Thank you for the kind words about the staff and sharing your experience. We can’t wait to welcome you back!! Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night family trip Oct 11, 2015
Kevin
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent Hotel & Staff"
The staa at this hotel are very eager to please the amenities were excellent as was the room. I would definitly recommend to anyone wanting a nice relaxing stay in Sedona.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for the high praise regarding the team here. They take great pride in what they do and where they do it. They are thrilled they had such a positive impact on your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Oct 5, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"My new favorite hotel!"
Attentive and friendly staff, beautiful facility, fantastic views, great service, and a very convenient uptown Sedona location. The Amara quickly became my favorite hotel. We felt very well taken care of, and our entire stay was very relaxing. We will definitely return! Thank you!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greeting Victoria, Your “new favorite hotel” is very exciting to hear. Truly awesome! We think the courtyard is spectacular and thrilled that you enjoyed the best hour of the day ”wine or social hour”. We are all kids at heart and the games certainly make us realize that. Thank you for sharing your experience and we can’t wait to welcome you back. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
2 night romance trip Sep 30, 2015
VICTORIA
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Two night stay"
The courtyard was a fantastic place to hang out. The views were incredible. We loved the wine and giant sized family games. Unfortunately the bed was a little hard and uncomfortable and the shower drained slow.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings Timothy, We think the courtyard is spectacular and thrilled that you enjoyed the best hour of the day”wine or social hour”. We are all kids at heart and the games certainly make us realize that. Thank you for sharing your experience and the feedback. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
2 night romance trip Sep 24, 2015
Timothy
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Came in at Check-in time to a lot of confusion and a wait. The room with a view ended up being a patio on the first floor that opened up to the outside restaurant. This meant the curtain needed to be closed to get any privacy - so no view. The valet staff outside were great. The shuttle service to a mile around the hotel was nice.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. No one likes to arrive to confusion or wait for that I am truly sorry. The valet team appreciates the recognition and kind words. The shuttle is a great amenity that will take you anywhere within a mile of the property. Patrick Gaskin Genera
Other trip Oct 3, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good to relax a little bit more"
The location is really great
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for spending some time with us. It’s great to hear you were able to get some great rest and relaxation in beautiful Sedona. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night romance trip Sep 28, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Stay here in Sedona to feel worlds away."
You feel like you are away from it all at The Amara. The hotel is 'below' the main street (89) of Sedona, you go down the little hill and feel like you are worlds away. Their courtyard has a carefree, playful vibe while being family friendly. Outdoor restaurant seating with a play yard (bean bag game, oversize connect four games, chairs, blankets, water feature, fire pit) and the pool all in one, very thoughtfully constructed area. Infinity pool with the creek below. You are surrounded by trees and feel like you're close enough to touch the "Snoopy" red rock formation where you'll see the sunset reflecting off the formation (and the moon rise). The staff was attentive and bent over backwards. Ask reception to loan you a parking permit for your hikes, it's included in your stay. The coffee/tea bar includes hot chocolate (with fixings) and they're not playing, it's gourmet, your kids will love it and adults slosh some in your coffee cup for a creamy mocha taste. I have already recommended a friend stay here when they visit Sedona in February. This place felt like home. My husband said it's his favorite hotel stay - of all time; and he used to fly 100,000 miles a year.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 29, 2015
Mary
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Room with a View - SEWAGE TREATMENT"
We paid $322/day for a room overlooking a pine tree and sewage treatment. The hotel refused to move us to another room. We had to go up one flight of stairs walk through three buildings and up and down stairs to get to room. The carpet was dingy, hem was out of drapes, shower temperature impossible to adjust and one wash cloth per day. Restaurant served fishy fish tacos. This is the second horrible room we've gotten through hotels.com. Travelers BEWARE!! This was supposed to be a 4-star hotel - NOT.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings Beverly, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am so sorry it was not top notch and we were not able to move your room due to being a full house. We appreciate the honest feedback and will put it into action. Sincerely, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
3 night romance trip Sep 25, 2015
Beverly
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Cool Sedona Hotel"
the hotel was perfect for our little getaway! had never heard of Amara before i booked and we were really lucky that it turned out to be such a great place. decorated so tastefully. so cool! loved the pool area . the infinity pool that overlooks oak creek! amazing! evening party in the patio was a nice touch and the staff were really friendly. obviously have recommended Amara Resort already!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings Sylvia, Who doesn’t like being called “cool”? We are so glad you took a chance on us and now know who we are and we can’t wait to welcome you back. The pool and courtyard offer magnificent views and great place to relax. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night romance trip Sep 12, 2015
sylvia
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
It was really wonderfull to swim with a good view of red rock.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our courtyard and pool areas do have spectacular views. It is a great place to relax after a day of exploring Sedona. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night family trip Sep 12, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
The front desk staff really made our stay. We were trying to escape the heat from scottsdale and came up last minute. We stayed in a creekside room the first night and then a suite on the second....AMAZING views.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings Halley, Thanks for choosing us as your getaway to escape the heat. Thank you for the kind words about the front desk team; they really appreciate the recognition. They are so thrilled they had such a positive impact on your visit. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
2 night romance trip Aug 31, 2015
Halley
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Great stay at a wonderful hotel. Took advantage of the spa, restaurant, pool, etc. My only complaint is the extra charge for wifi on top of the daily resort fee - I just hate that.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Glad to hear your stay was wonderful and hat you were pampered at the spa. The daily resort fee includes valet parking, daily yoga classes, access to the steam and relaxation rooms at the spa, and shuttle service within a mile of the property. We have complimentary morning coffee and tea in the lobby from 5:30a-9a as well as nightly social hour from 5p-6p which are great perks. Wifi is complimentary when you join Kimpton Kara Rewards, which is also free to join. Thank you for sharing your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
3 night trip Sep 1, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Wonderful resort
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Kenneth, Love reading that the Amara is wonderful. Thank you for sharing your experience Patrick Gaskin General Manager
2 night romance trip Sep 2, 2015
Kenneth
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Favorite hotel on our road trip"
Sedona was a two night stop as part of a cross country road trip, and this hotel was our favorite stay. Kimpton's vision of an exceptional experience was truly felt at this hotel-- highlights included the awesome complimentary hot chocolate bar in the morning, the complimentary trail mix snack assembly station another morning, the incredible food in the hotel restaurant, and the overall hotel location, layout and pool setup. The staff was warm and helpful, in particular the bartender, who made incredible craft cocktails. It helps to have fallen in love with Sedona but I also can't wait to return to this hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
I love reading that the Amara was your favorite hotel on your road trip. All of the amenities certainly enhance your experience but we agree with you that our staff is pretty amazing. Sedona is certainly a bucket list destination. I can understand why you fell in love with Sedona. Don’t wait too long to come back and see us. Until next time… Patrick Gaskin General Manager
2 night trip with friends Aug 25, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
What can I say? This hotel was fantastic!! The view, the infiniti pool, the live music on the patio, watching the moonrise over the hills, the spa, the free happy hour at 5pm... everything was perfection! The setting is so dramatic and Sedona is truly a magical place. Highly recommend!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings Jeanne, Perfection is what we like to hear. Sedona is certainly a magical place and we are thrilled that your experience was so memorable. The pool, courtyard, and fire pits are great places to soak in the views and relax after a great day of exploring Sedona. Thank you for sharing your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night family trip Aug 28, 2015
Jeanne
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
So incredibly beautiful and relaxing!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
James, Sedona is definitely a beautiful and relaxing destination. Thank you for sharing your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night romance trip Aug 24, 2015
james
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice location and great staff"
Nice resort, just make sure to ask for a room with a view. On our first night we had a view of the parking garage, I called the desk and they fixed this for the second night, but could not for the first night. This is a great choice if you are traveling with pets or kids, but not as much for couples. When I travel with my wife I prefer to stay in resorts that are more adult oriented, but if you don't mind little kids this is a great place to stay. The rooms are big and have fairly nice amenities, but you can tell the exterior is due for some upkeep. The infinity pool is incredible. For the price it is a good choice, I would consider it again if I was traveling with my kids.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 31, 2015
FE4
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Can't beat the location!"
Amara hotel is a very friendly place that is in a perfect location in Sedona. If you're up for a slight uphill walk - the town, restaurants, & shops are all within walking distance. Although, they should create a safer sidewalk for pedestrians. Experiences: 1) valet parking is FREE & no need to tip - call for your car in advance & NO waiting! 2) Free water, coffee, trail mix (mix your own), and wine in lobby at certain times 3) FRIENDLY staff who welcomes you every time you come through the door 4) Need ice? No machines - but call down to the front desk & they are knocking at your door within minutes! 5) Stayed in a Creek side suite - BEAUTIFUL & PRIVATE! 6) Food at their restaurant was not our favorite but very good. 7) Grounds & pool are inviting & relaxing.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 30, 2015
Sergio
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Place"
They just have what you need for a secure base and spa = ready to get out and have the Sedona experience
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 16, 2015
David
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"I would go to Amara again."
I loved the location and the friendliness of the staff. The setting of the property is a plus with the dining seating outside, the grassy area of seats and games and the pool. My only note is cleaning of a stairway that I used to get to the second floor from the pool. It was in need of a vacuuming of the dead bugs and grass.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
We loved having you and can’t wait to have you back. Thank you for the kind words about the team and they are thrilled that they had such a positive impact on your experience. Our location is great, close enough to the uptown shops and restaurants but makes you feel miles away because we are nestled along the creek. The housekeeping team has the staircase on their radar and cleaned much more frequently throughout the day because of its high traffic area. We appreciate you sharing your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
5 night family trip Aug 7, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Loved it!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
It brings a smile to my face reading you loved it. We loved having you with us as well and can’t wait to have you back. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
3 night trip with friends Aug 4, 2015
Michelle
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Clean, unique, beautiful hotels. Watch out for hidden charges as you will get charged a resort fee regardless if you are aware of them or not. Yoga and valet was included in resort fee and I did not use because I was not informed. Food was delicious pool was beautiful very serene!!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Love hearing we are unique, that is the great thing about a Kimpton property. The resort fee of $22 per day includes valet parking, daily yoga classes, access to the spa, and shuttle within a mile of the property. My apologies this was not conveyed upon arrival. Additional perks of staying at a Kimpton, complimentary morning coffee in the lobby from 5:30a-9a, nightly wine hour from 5p-6p, complimentary mountain bikes to borrow as well. Glad you enjoyed your dining experience and took advantage of the amazing views from the restaurant patio, courtyard, and pool area. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Aug 10, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Amazing stay - will definitely return!"
Everything about the Amara was perfect from the moment we pulled into the hotel after a very long day of travel. The person taking our luggage from our car called ahead to the front desk so our check in was complete and our keys programmed by the time we walked in. We had two rooms, for us and our two teenaged daughters next to each other. I know it's a higher end hotel, but there were so many little things they did that all hotels should take a tip from. Outlets and USBs right next to the beds, wonderful beds, plenty of towels and wonderful air conditioning. We ate at the restaurant the night we arrived and the food was really wonderful. (Also had breakfast there the next morning and were blown away by the view). My daughter was sick, had a bad cough, and they drove my husband to a Walgreens to find her some medicine at 10:00 at night. The pool is wonderful - a relaxing and amazing way to while away some time and we actually sat there through sunset the second night. The location is great as well. Just a walk (okay, it's a long walk up a very big hill) but drops you right in the center of Sedona. There was always lovely infused water in the lobby, fabulous coffee bar in the morning, trail mix station and happy hour that we unfortunately weren't able to take advantage of. Loved this hotel and have every intention of returning!!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Aug 3, 2015
Karen
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Lovely place"
Loved the grounds, the pool, proximity to Oak Creek, patio area, upbeat, playful spirit and feeling of the place; comfortable and aesthetic rooms and spaces, spectacular views, responsive staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 4, 2015
barbara
US
3.0 / 5Good
Went for a overnight and glad I was not staying a week! The property is somewhat rundown and the service is poor. We arrived 4pm and dirty dishes were still in the hall the next day. To get to our room at the end of the hallway you had to go through outside walkway and up and down stairs twice. No bellman but we were lucky a employee came by and helped us.The room was clean but the balcony door was almost impossible to open or close. The perimeter lights at the end of the premise did not work which made for a dangerous walk back from the Jacuzzi at night. The pool was cloudy!!! When I mentioned this to a staff member his response was "it is a salt water pool". Unbelievable! There is not enough chairs for all who would want to be at this extremely tiny pool and it was overrun with children. One service person for the pool area while we were there and she could not keep up. The place was a mess. At check out they did take off the resort fee for the above but did not make up for a disappointing experience.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear your stay was subpar. The infinity pool is an extremely popular spot because of the spectacular views and amazing weather. The Amara is an intimate property with only hundred guest rooms and is a destination for couples and families alike. The honest feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve our service levels and overall guest experience moving forward. Thank you Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 29, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Walking distance to downtown. Shuttle within a mile
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 28, 2015
tlnorton
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
So pleasant! Wish we stayed more than just a night in passing. Very modern and stylish compared to other hotels we saw in the area. Great drinks at the hotel restaurant.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Michele, We wished you would have stayed longer as well. The best part is we can’t wait to have you back. Cocktails in the courtyard or SALTROCK patio are a must. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night romance trip Jul 16, 2015
Michele
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Good getaway"
It was a very lovely and relaxing stay
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Joseph, Thanks you for spending your getaway with us. So glad to hear it was lovely and relaxing. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night trip Jul 17, 2015
Joseph
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great staff, beautiful setting."
The staff was amazing from the valet guys who work their buns off to everyone else who wore a name tag, they were constantly greeting us and wishing us well. We wished the restaurant food was a little better.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Kathy, Thank you for the kind words about the valet and bellmen; they truly are incredible and do work extremely hard to ensure all of our guests have an amazing stay. I am sorry to hear your restaurant experience was not up to par. We will ensure we are dialed in across the board and appreciate the honest feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 20, 2015
Kathy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
It was a beautiful location with a romantic ambience.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Sedona is an amazing destination and certainly has the romantic component but it has something for everyone (hiking biking, hot air ballooning, jeep tours, yoga, spa, the list goes on and on) Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
1 night romance trip Jul 13, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Good hotel"
Good hotel, well located in Sedona Great views, restaurant menu limited, but the food and service is good Free shuttle service
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Cathy, Located in Uptown Sedona, close enough to the restaurants and shops but feels miles away because of the relaxing and tranquil environment. Our shuttle service will take you anywhere within a mile of the property. SALTROCK, our amazing restaurant, offers incredible food and spectacular views from our patio and courtyard area. Thank you for sharing your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 19, 2015
Cathy
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel close to town"
Comfortable resort hotel. Staff very nice and accomodating. Views are beautiful. Room a bit over priced but comfortable.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
JR, Can’t beat the location; close enough to the shops and restaurants but you feel miles away from the hustle and bustle. I love hearing you were well taken care of by the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 17, 2015
JR
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great uptown location."
The free car valet service was important as it is a very steep climb up to car park and city. The staff was nice but seem to forget requested ice for the room. The pool area was lovely but the pool water was a bit cloudy looking. Our room was comfortable and the bed was great. Very nice visit to Sedona
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Tamara, The valet team is exceptional; they are very knowledgeable about the area and love sharing their favorite Sedona spots. The hill is steep but the shuttle can take to the top if you would like or anywhere within a mile of the property. Sorry we forgot the ice. Thanks for sharing your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 16, 2015
Tamara
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice place but do you need a resort in Sedona"
This is a very attractive hotel. Well run. Excellent location. But odds are one would not spend much time there, given the outside attractions...sight seeing, shops, fine restaurants in the area. The valet parking is very convenient. On the not so good side, one of the valet crew used our car for personal activity...about 1.5 miles...we knew cause we'd just used the trip mileage device. There was fine red clay on the dash board and back seat...easy clean up but annoying intrusion. Getting hooked up to wifi is much harder than it needs to be. They ask an enormous number of questions. Not cool. Don't get a creek side room. Not worth all the extra money cause the creek is a zero.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings John, Our location is pretty amazing, close enough to walk or take the shuttle to the shops and restaurants in uptown Sedona but feels secluded and peaceful. There is a great deal out of outdoor activities (hiking, biking, jeep tours, hot air ballooning, etc.) but lounging by the pool or relaxing in the Spa are also great options. Shuttle service is available within a mile of the resort and valet parked cars are parked here on site. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 16, 2015
john
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"If you need exercise...."
.... and prefer to walk instead of taking the shuttle, the walk up the hill to downtown is quite a climb. My room was almost claustrophobic. Bed comfort so-so. Check-in was fast and staff friendly. There's a "resort fee" of $22. Bottles of water cost a small fortune - this with a hotel located in the desert. Who would have thought? I hate being nickel and dimed to death like this. Everything is a profit center with a business model like this. I'd rather pay more for the room and not be hit with stupid little fees like this. It's the main reason I didn't stay more than one night. I expect more at this price point, having stayed in numerous resorts and other 4-5 star facilities. I live in Arizona and will choose another property next time I want to chill in Sedona. Nice but just not impressed.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that you only stayed one night. Glad to hear the staff was friendly and provided great service. Guests love our complimentary amenities like daily yoga, morning coffee and tea service in the living room, the sea salt infinity-edge pool, fitness center, nightly wine hour, custom PUBLIC Bikes available for loan and a shuttle for guests to use within one mile of the resort. In addition, the resort fee includes valet parking, access to the steam and relaxation rooms at the Spa. There is complimentary water in the lobby 24 hours a day as well as bottles of water with our valet team to keep you hydrated. Complimentary wifi is also available when you join Karma rewards. It’s free and easy to join. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 15, 2015
Tio Paco
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great stay!"
Excellent location and very accommodating, friendly staff. It has a beautiful view of the red rocks and a nice pool and patio area. Loved our stay here.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
We loved having you! Glad to hear you were well looked after, felt relaxed and at home. We think we have a little piece of heaven here. Thank you for sharing your experience. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
5 night romance trip Jul 7, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent! Secluded but easy access to everything"
The hotel was beautiful and, although it was close to the 89A, it was situated along the creek in the valley below which provided a sense of seclusion. There was construction on 89A during the day and you would have never known it was going on if you didn't leave the hotel. Every staff member we interacted with was pleasant, helpful and courteous. Had a minor issue in the bathroom which they took care of immediately and completely to our satisfaction. The design of the court yard, which included a pool, a lawn area as well as water falls and a few fire pits, helped make for very relaxing evenings. We will definitely be back!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Rich, Can’t beat the location; close enough to the shops and restaurants but you feel miles away from the hustle and bustle. The courtyard, fire pits, and infinity are great places to relax and enjoy the views. I love hearing you were well taken care of by the team as well as addressing your concern promptly. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 12, 2015
Rich
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
valet parking attendants are very helpful. The bus tour trolley driver was very courteous and knowledgeable about the places we went to.. We walked along the streets near the hotel and we found the sceneries very attractive.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
The valet and bellmen are exceptional and love sharing their favorite spots in and around Sedona. The shuttle is a great way to get around anywhere within a mile of the property and you can leave the driving to us. Sedona is a magical place and has some of the most spectacular views in the world. Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 10, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Amara"
We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel. The service was perfect! The room was nice and comfortable. The only parking is through the Valet, but they were quick to get our car each time. The daily resort fee covered the parking, but not the internet. Pool was nice. We would stay there again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Jen, So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hearing the service was perfect makes the entire team here very happy and they appreciate the recognition. We do have complimentary wifi when you join Karma Rewards. It is easy and free to join. As you get to know us by staying and experiencing all things Kimpton, you'll earn perks and benefits. Good things truly come to those who stay. Until next time... Patrick Gaskin General Manager
3 night family trip Jul 1, 2015
jen
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Overpriced for what it is."
Staff were friendly and welcoming, hotel is nice enough, but overall the hotel was well overpriced for what it is. When we booked, we were expecting a room with a view over the valley - what we got was a room with a view of a courtyard wall.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Greetings Niall, Thank you for the kind words about the team and thrilled they had such a positive impact on your experience. While not all of our rooms have red rock or creek views, the courtyard, fire pits, and infinity pool are great spots to enjoy the views, soak up the views, or just sit back and relax. Wine hour nightly from 5p-6p is one of the highlights as well as an opportunity meet some amazing people visiting from all over the world. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 8, 2015
Niall
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location and walk to main street in Sedona"
Very sweet hotel with nice staff and excellent restaurant. Bathroom a little small but rooms had great closet and drawer space. Be sure to have breakfast there - great food - and the happy hour appetizers that we had were great. They are also very pet friendly and sweet if you are traveling with your pet!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
We love hearing that your stay was top notch and you felt well taken care of by the team. The location is superb, close enough to the restaurants and shops of Uptown but feels secluded and peaceful. Nightly wine hour 5p-6p) is a favorite amongst the guests and staff alike. A glass a wine, some treats from our amazing culinary team and great company. What more could you ask for? We are a pet friendly resort for those who enjoy traveling with their pets. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Amara hotel came highly recommended but had a disappointed stay. 1) we booked two rooms as this was for our 4th of July holiday with my adult children which is a rare event to get us all together. Upon arrival only one room was ready. We were aware check-in was noted as 3:00. So we delayed our scheduled events as we thought the room would be ready. At 5:00 we were told they were "deep cleaning" the room and it was not ready. As we were only staying one night, this affected all our activities that were scheduled. 2) We called and asked staff if we could get service at the pool and the staff said yes...pool side. We all went to the pool and went to inform the staff. They said someone would be right down to serve us and take the order. After a long wait, my son ended up going and placing the order himself!!! So much for customer service. 3) the pool was beautiful but was extremely cloudy. With the cost of this room So high this was just not acceptable. I will not stay here again as there are other places in Sedona that are just as nice, better price and customer service.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience although I am disappointed that your holiday getaway was less than stellar. I am sorry to hear your room was not ready upon arrival. Many guests arrive early or stay late so that they can soak up every minute of their Sedona experience. Our Spa is available prior to check in to relax or use the locker rooms so that you can enjoy the pool or prepare for a hike or afternoon adventure. We take great pride in providing exceptional service and it sounds like we missed the mark with your family. Not cool. I appreciate the feedback and we will address accordingly. Sincerely, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"great stay"
Great stay in a great location. Walking distance to many of the tourist shops and restaurants, but down the hill and secluded enough to enjoy the peace and serenity of Sedona with a great view of Snoopy Rock.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Mike, Location, location, location... Located in Uptown Sedona, close enough to the restaurants and shops but feels miles away because of the relaxing and tranquil environment. Our shuttle is available for our guests to transport them anywhere within a mile of the property or even to the top of the hill. Surrounded by amazing views, thank you snoopy rock, we think we have a little piece of heaven. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Warm regards, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Other trip Jul 6, 2015
mike
US
3.0 / 5Good
I was very disappointed with my stay at the Amara Resort. I was on my honeymoon and regret the amount of money we spent there. The pictures don't reflex the present condition of the resort. We called ahead of time to let them know it was our honeymoon and instead of giving us a room that would be as private as possible, they gave us a room next to a door that slammed everytime someone walked through. The door slammed all day and early in the morning. They refused to move us saying they were booked. The room was small and so was the bathroom. The hallways were dirty and the carpet throughout was absolutely disgusting!the food is over priced, 20$ for a burger! Rediculous! They didn't even have a coffee maker in the rooms. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Amara Resort and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Congratulations and thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. Amara is an intimate property with only hundred guest rooms and is a destination for couples and families alike. We offer complimentary coffee each and every morning from 5:30am until 9am in our living room as well as a nightly wine hour from 5p-6p. Coffee makers are complimentary and available upon request. Our entire team is committed to ensuring that each and every guest has an amazing experience New public area carpet is being custom made and will be installed before the end of the year. Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Sincerely, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
5 night romance trip Jun 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews