The website made the hotel look a lot nicer than what it was. The pool was closed for remodeling. The elevators were broke. The staff was not the most pleasant. When I asked if they had a pack and play I received 2 different answers. The first was it was stolen last year. The second was it was in no condition to use. The blow dryer was missing from […] the wall and the television remote did not work. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Appears a little run down from the outside"
The room and halls were dingy, there were stains on the walls in our room, and a sticky wet ring on the desk from someone's prior beverage. There was garbage ( an old car seat?) in the hallway on 2nd floor by the ice machine. We stayed in our room and locked the door! would not repeat with this hotel.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Picture of the Victory Inn on the internet"
Very disappointing! The pool was closed, the elevator did not work, ice machine did not work on the third floor and not sure if any worked. The bathroom needed a little maintance on the shower. Not a nice place, the worker at the front desk were not very friendly and acted like we were bother them.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Staff less than hospitable, rooms old furniture."
We check in and there was no one at desk, upon return, checked if fine but not very friendly, only gave option of stairs to get to 2nd floor room. Did not mention breakfast. Pool was not working, ice machine not working on first floor. Rooms dark, dingy and ac was very loud.Genuine Expedia guest review
Nice, clean and close to everything a business traveler would need. Yes, we will rebook in the future.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not a good place to stay."
The hotel was in disrepair. The pool has not been open for years, the room had a hole in the ceiling. There were stains on the comforters, the elevator did not work and we were told that it had been that way for many weeks. The t.v. did not work and the staff was not interested in anything we had to say about it. I will never stay here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Last minute reservation"
For a last minute pick it wasn't too bad. Elevator and pool both appear to have been out of service for a while. Service was average. Rooms were clean however entire building especially bathrooms were quite run down. Location was within ten minutes to mi adventure which was a plus.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Disgusting- Should be torn Down"
August 4, 2013- (1) The pool never opened this year. they said it was closed for repairs but you could clearly see there were no repairs happening, or had for a long time. (2) The same with their only elevator- it had not worked in a long time. We carried our luggage up two flights of stairs. (3) The stairwell was SCARY, dark, unfinished cement, terrible […] smell, and unsafe. (4) The first room they gave us had no lights, they had to switch us. (5) While checking in we asked to use a public bathroom first, we were directed up the rickety stairs to the second floor where behind a door was a rusty toilette and a leaking dusty bathtub, you cannot even imagine how bad the smell of excrement was!!! (6) There were many holes and leaking water spots in the walls and ceiling. (7) The ironing board surface, in our room, was splattered in some type of nasty brown material and the cover was torn and jagged. (8) I have included some pictures that were taken in my room. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Clean but run down"
We only needed a place to sleep for one night, so we were not too picky about accommodations. The room was clean, but needing renovation. There were patched holes in the wall and one of the armoire doors came off when we opened it. There were burns on the lamp shades and tables. The room was too packed with furniture with the queen size beds. The pool […] and elevator were not operating. Breakfast was okay. The area was quiet and the beds were comfortable for a decent night sleep. We heard rumors from locals that there is a lot of police visits and rooms are rented by the hour here, but did not see anything scarey. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Decent size hotel but gross"
We needed a hotel in Muskegon for one night and this was the only available one in the area at the time of booking. It was not cheap; however, this is a "cheap" hotel. Gross carpet, multiple stains on the bedspreads, depressing breakfast, tired and worn decor, bathroom reminds me of a public bathroom, etc. Guests are told by the receptionist that there […] is "no partying". The pool was closed and the elevator did not work. The elevator has been out for awhile. Seems ridiculous to not have that fixed. This was a place where you want to get in late and out early. The less time spent there the better. If I had to go to the Muskegon area again, I would do not go there. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Hotel is not being kept up."
Hotel needs lots of maintenance to bring it up to a level 3. Staff is not friendly. Housekeeping does minimal cleaning. Also, we did not appreciate all the help and friends smoking right outside the front door.Genuine Expedia guest review
The elevators do not work. The pool is out of order. The stairway smelled musty. The bathroom floor was dirty in our room and the bathtub faucet was leaking. The color on the TV was fading in and out some.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Don't stay here"
Run down building, elevator broken, pool broken, wifi way to weak.Genuine Expedia guest review
"A nite in Pergatory"
This place was one of the worst places I have every stayed, and I have stayed in hundreds if not thousands of hotels all over the world my over fifty years of international travels. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Not even at 30% of what I paid.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The Room was dirty and people next to us was noisy until real late.Genuine Expedia guest review
The room was laden with dust. Furniture was stained. Bathtub drain nearly plugged. An ironing board hung with dust, but there was no iron. Swimming pool and elevator were not working. There were stains on the bed cover. It can best be described as "seedy".Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Although our room appeared clean things were so run down that it felt bad being there. Tub faucet dripped badly and tub was rust stained. Spots on the bedspread that had tears in it. The breakfast was cereal, toast and bagels with tables so close together that you couldn't fit more than six people in the room. This is a has been hotel!Genuine Expedia guest review
The pool was closed, the elevator was broke had to carry luggage up stairsGenuine Expedia guest review
"Close to Bike Time events."
Placed on 4th floor with no elevator. (broken) No water in pool pillows were smelly and gross. I don't think the sheets were changed either.Genuine Expedia guest review
Pool was closed. That should have been noted upon booking.air conditioner was inadequate for room size.towels were in the toilet instead of in the rack above the toilet. Had to go to desk for toilet paper. Elevator was non operational.burn mark in the middle of floor from an iron.this room needs updating if you expect to charge the price that you do.the […] continental breakfast was poorly presented and very plain Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Not well maintained, may be in transition"
Bathroom was so small that the toilet was mounted in a corner and you had to sit sideways to use. Pool was out of order, elevator was out of order, assigned a room on third floor. ice machine only worked on one of four floors. Ordered a King size single got two queens. Said nothing else was available, but parking lot was never full. Air conditioner […] was very noisy, thank God it worked. Two tiny bath towels in room, had to ask for extras. Just not a good experience. I was there during Muskegon Bike Time and felt for $139. a night, I got took. Attached restaurant was closed Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
The best thing I can say is the staff was very friendly. The hotel smelled musty and closed up. The furniture was filthy and the bedding was worn and tattered. I asked for a room that slept 5. 2 adults and 3 children. Gave them the ages (11/13/15) and was given a room with 2 queen beds and had to pay for a roll away. The outside of the hotel had litter […] and cigarette butts around the entrance. The room were they had the cont. breakfast was dirty and was never checked on. Just goes to show that because the pictures look good and the price seems fair, it not what it seems. Need to investigate more. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
The first hostess was cordial. The sheets were dirty and I called and said my husband will be down and she said no I will bring them to you. When she came, which was quick, I showed her the sheets and she said oh that is a stain, just put them on the floor and housekeeping will get them tomorrow. The bathtub had mold and the sink was dirty. Then my […] husband walked down to let know we wanted a wake up call which never came. Then it was super noisy we were right across the hall from the breakfast room. The ice machine on the first floor was broken and the elevator was out of order and after a day of traveling and walking it just wasn't happening. The day shift hostess was super friendly and the breakfast was very nice. Unfortunately we not stay here again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Not worth what we paid!"
The pool is being "remodeled", the elevator was broken, it was not the cleanest, the shower handle sprayed more water than the shower head, the parking lot needed cleaning up and not to mention I had to ask for a broom and dust pan to sweep up the needle and spoon I found in the parking lot. The hotel is in what seems to be a rough neighborhood but […] after venturing out it seemed safe. Not to far from the beach or Michigan Adventures (15 mins or so). Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The A Victory Inn and Suites in Muskegon, Michigan in an old, run-down facility that is poorly maintained and not cleaned thoroughly. I was appalled to see that the room was not vacuumed, and the bedspread was torn and stained. I could clearly hear the people staying above me. The staff was aloof at best, and were often outside smoking (instead of working […] at the front desk). It was not a pleasant experience, and I would never recommend the hotel to anyone. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"No elevator! No pool!"
They don't have a service mind! Just say no elevator! No pool! Crazy!!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Fairly easy to find"
Over all the room was mediocre. The bedspread was stained horribly with brown stains and also torn several places. The walls and doorways were half re-painted ,half not. The bathroom had black mold in the corners of shower and bathtub area, not to mention a crusty old penny stuck in the corner behind the door. At little bleach and good solid cleaning […] could make a world of difference! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Awful (is an understatement)"
We booked our stay last minute and it was the last room in the area, so after reading reviews, we kept our expectations low. To our amazement, this establishment failed to even meet those expectations. Here are the sorted details on this dismal "hotel". - Pool and elevator out of order. Reading the reviews from a year ago, we figured that they HAD […] to be operational by now. Guess what? They're STILL out of order. - Coffee maker in room still full of coffee from previous guest. - Completely disgusting bathroom with stains on toilet and bathtub. - Water damage on ceiling of bathroom and hole in wall next to one of the beds. - Remote control for TV only worked when you held the batteries in manually (because they were held in with tape). - In-room phone didn't work, so we couldn't call the front desk - Non-working hair dryer - Broken ice machine (on our floor) Our recommendation: If there are rooms available in other hotels, book as quickly as you can and forget you even found A Victory Inn & Suites. If it's the last room available, consider expanding your search area or changing travel dates. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Take the stars out!"
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, the services are bad, the rooms are dirty, the toilet don't flush in 2 out of 4 rooms that we booked for the night, their elevator and swimming pool have been out of order for more than a year and getting all this inconveniences for 130.00 per room excluding taxes and fees is not worth it. This singular experience […] almost ruined our vacation. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Myself, my mother and aunt came to Muskegon to visit my cousin in lock up and this hotel from pictures seemed to be a good catch but once we arrived @1p we had to wait till 4p for room instead of 3p and front desk staff was sitting outside on ground instead of inside doing something. One elevator that slammed hard opening and closing and everyone was […] scared to getting on it. Inside of the room smelled like smoke so I had to air it out. Room just didn't look clean and I probably wouldn't stay there next time I come to Muskegon. Good parking tho. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Extremely dirty hotel"
We are not expected any great service for tis hotel. But I never expected such a hotel was existed in USA. 1. Staff is very unfriendly 2. Elevator is broken 3. Air conditioning is broken 4. Bathtub stopper is broken 5. Pool is under maintenance 6. Public restroom is very dirty 7. Room is not clean (so many rubbish)Genuine Expedia guest review
We checked in and was meet by a very nice personnel and she originally gave us a room on 4 and when I asked were the elevators were she informed me that they were outbid service and asked if I needed them and I said to her I have a child with a handicap and she asked my nicely to wait and she would see if she could get me a room on first floor. While […] I was waiting for the young women to checkmin another guest I overheard that the pool was also out of service. She did make arrangements and was able to switch rooms. When I went in to put my items in the room I was very displeased to see that housekeeping had supposedly cleaned the room but when I went to turn a light on there was no light bulb in the lamp. I tried the rest of the lamps and done were unplugged do I went out to the desk and there was a nice gentlemen that went and found a bulb to put in the light and then we left. When thevrestnof my family and I came back to the closet door not shutting and the pillows were like laying on nothing. They were very very flat, bed was hard and the actual room/bathroom didn't even look like it had been cleaned. When I checked out the next morning I informed the front girl working that inwax very disappointed and she did not even act like she cared one bit. I did use Expedia to book this and she informed me that she was not sure why Expedis has not put it on their website about the pool bring out of service. Well I think the motel needs to take some responsibility for some too. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Could be better with s little Maint and upgrade"
Two rooms. Two AC units quit working. Multiple effort to engage but unable. Hot. Muggy. Smoke smell. They need bit more Maint and checking equipment ...Genuine Expedia guest review
"Older hotel near ferry."
Poorly maintained, not clean. Would not stay again.Genuine Expedia guest review
I definitely didn't feel safe in this hotel. It was a bit dated and run-down and the area wasn't good. A lot of noisy people coming and going and a few strange characters were hanging out in the parking lot. The back door had a sign saying "no night entry" but the door wasn't locked after hours. I won't be staying here again!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Close to Lake Express ferry & mid-priced eateries"
Motel has once-elegant furnishings but has become quite worn. Room was acceptable as I was only relying on it for sleep - having plans during 3 days. For this decaf person, the continental breakfast - with only "high test" coffee did not work. Fortunately several breakfast places close by opened early. In room - fridge had tray that didn't quite fit, […] limiting what could be stored; microwave plate was missing, and coffee placed in it to reheat did not change temperature. Toilet had slow leak (making noise occasionally); tub only drained if stopper were completely removed. Electricity near bed was unreliable, until I moved springs away from plug - which did not have a flat profile. Mattress could then be pushed into headboard without problem. Pool was closed. Had the sense it was closed indefinitely. Room seemed clean, but thick white spread was not super clean, and had ink stain on it. Pillows and pillow cases did not match. TV with limited stations. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Torn & stained bed spread. Their definition of a pillow is laughable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
THE PARKING LOT WAS COVERED IN TRASH< THEY NEED TO HIRE SOME ONE TO CLEAN THAT UP ASAPGenuine Hotels.com guest review
It was very dirty. Our comforter had stains on it and there was dirt on the walls.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nasty, Cold, Deserted"
I'm soooo glad I only spent one night here. I'm glad I did not have a guest. This place looked closed, and was kinda scary for a woman traveling at night alone. The front desk told me 'no drinkin', no smokin', no partyin'--apparently this is an issue, along with adding the 'g' to suffixes.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
It's dirty! Stairway had trash on the floor (elevator was slow). Some brown drips on the bathroom wall.Genuine Expedia guest review
My stay at the Victory Inn was an adventurous one. The hotel and the surrounding area was very seedy. The majority of the previous reviews are correct. The hotel personnel did not act or dress professionally. The hotel was dirty. Stains were on the chairs, carpet, and bed linens. Mold and mildew were in the bathroom. It was hard to sleep because of […] the fear of not knowing how clean the room and bed was. But I cannot complain, I got what I paid for. Don't expect much from the cheap price. It was like camping inside. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Toilet was nasty it was constant smoking in the hallways despite several attempts at alerting staff. Their were holes and snags in comforter as well as a hole in wall. I was moved to another room and there wasn't any smoking on that floor but bathroom could have been cleaner and as well the bed. Lamps were falling apart too. I would not recommend this […] hotel for these reasons. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by A Victory Inn & Suites- Muskegon We thank you for your review, however we can not comfirm or deny your post, due to the fact that you did not post your name or room number. But we have check all of our rooms for the discrepancies that you have mentioned and we could not identify the room you have mentioned in this review. Our Guest Service Reps are instructed to move a guests that is not satisfied with their room. Also, Hotels.com will relocate you to another hotel if you were not happy with our hotel. We would have aided hotels.com by inspecting your room and authorized your move to another hotel if the conditions were as you have stated. Again, we thank you for you review and hope to see you soon the next time you are in Muskegon. Have a nice day! Sincerely,
people that work there were nice. but there were fighting and i mean yelling yelling in the hotel for hrs. all night, hadTO BE UP AT FIVE and still were fighting, will not stay there very uncomfortable feeling. did not fill safe.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Motel from HELL."
Dirty, noisy and uncomfortable. No answer when calling the front desk. Pool out of order. Would NEVER stay there again. Stains and tears on the bed spread in the first room they gave us. It took three tries to get one habitable. Front desk person was on phone with a boyfriend and couldn't get any response. Short on towels. Someones car stereo was blasting […] rap music very loud from the parking lot and close to our room window. Beds were like sleeping a rock. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Hotel was in poor condition! There was a hole in the wall and the wall paper was missing in several places. There was a lot of other routine upkeep that had not been done. The lock and the door chain were broken. We asked for an iron and a few extra pillows and were told that it would take over an hour for her to find some. There were stains on the […] bed covers, curtains and walls. Also mold growing in several corners. The tub was backed up so the shower would not drain. The sheets to the bed had crumbs and hair on them when I pulled them back. I will not stay here again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"cheap place to stay"
the hotel was ok for the price did not seem that the hotel was in a nice part of the town. could use a fresh coat of paint and carpet cleaning over all an ok place to stayGenuine Expedia guest review
"Disappointing at best"
Part of the hotel is closed. The pool was closed; the parking lot was being repaved; rooms are overpriced; TV remote didn't work; TV buzzed; hair dryer didn't work well; toilet ran, etc. Generally run down and unappealing.Genuine Expedia guest review
We stayed at this hotel the night before taking our family to Michigan Adventure. I know they say you get what you pay for...but this was awful. We ended up getting 2 rooms for the night. One was for my mother and the children (which was OK) and my husband and I thought we would splurge and get the jacuzzi suite so we could enjoy some alone time. The […] jacuzzi tub was never used because it was discusting! Before you step in, the floor is bare wood boards as if a repair to the floor was never finished. The tiles surrounding the tub were broken and full of mildew and they ceiling was badly water damaged and also was mildewed. The carpet in the room was so bad, we would'nt walk around barefoot or let our children. It was just plain dirty, full of stains and several cigarette burns. The furniture and bedding were also full of cigarette burns. We booked this hotel hoping we could enjoy the pool they advertise on this website only to find out it was closed. When I ased the very rude desk clerk why the pool was closed, I was told they need to get a dehumidifier because of all the mold in the room. I could go on and on about all the things that were wrong but the point is...it was an awful experience and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel is under renovation, which can be a good thing, improvements are usually a good thing. However, room was not clean at all, towels were folded but dirty, tub/shower was dirty as was the toilet. Breakfast was not only not special, but pretty poor. Lights did not work in room. Big sign on front desk says "If any problems in room, report within 5 […] minutes of checking in". That spelled trouble right away! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )