Bad Room Service for breakfast.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Agramonte: Thank you for your review. We regret that the room service was not satisfactory. However we will take into consideration your kind review. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Hope you can visit us again. Best regards,
"TLuna Barcelo Santo Domingo Review"
overall good.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear traveler: Thanks for your comments and for rating our hotel. We hope you can visit again. Best regards,
1. On the same floor we stayed there were few smoking rooms close by our room. The smoke on the hallway was really bad and you could actually smell the smoke inside our room. 2. They only give you one bottle of water per room the first day, we were three people. That is a bit ridiculous when a bottle of water is only 15 pesos and the tap water in DR […] is not clean to drink... 3. Last but no least, I waited one hour and half for the towel at the pool...left wet and cold to my room.... Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Darithza: Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience occurred. We will pass your comments to the responsible of these areas to make new improvements on these areas. Best regards,
"Nice building, bad Internet, to much restrictions"
Internet is 12.00 dollars a day and work slow like dial up. They knock your door every day at 9:30 am for "report", like a prison. They don't allow you bring guest to your room. I do not recommend this hotel to my friends.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Andres: Thank you for your review. We are working to improve the internet service. We will consider your comments to prevent it from happening again with another client. Best regards,
"very clean hotel, lots of shops , parking also"
I had a wonderful stay , from the beginning to the end, the staffs were so friendly and helpful. the food was amazing , and not too expensive. security was great, plenty of parking for my rental car. room was very clean every day. I had a wonderful view from the 7th floor . I had no complain while I was there. I heading back again in march.Genuine Expedia guest review
The hotel looks very nice. However the staff is absolutely horrible. It takes thrm over 30 mnts to do a check in because theyre talking to each other about their personal life. I ordered two extra towels, they never got to my room. The second time I stayed there they gave me a key to a room that was already taken and I walked into a guy on the bed. […] Absolutely horrible experience. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear traveler: Thank you four your review. We apologize for the delay in the check in process and the inconvenience during your stay. We have informed the corresponding departments about what happened, with the intention to improve in this area. We hope you can return to our hotel. Best Regards,
very slowly service in the reception Area , the carpet in the room so bad . if you book via expedia , they will give you the poor room and you need to ask to change the room . the mini bar will be free nothing beacuse you book via expedia since they do not have your credit card no. and even the phone it will not open for you since the do not have your […] credit card no. and the restaurant as well you need to pay cash they will not registed under your Room no. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thanks for your review. Please excuse us for the inconveniences. We are a city hotel and depending on the regimen you book, our service includes breakfast, dinner, mini bar or other services. We are making changes to our hotel, including new carpets on the rooms. We will consider your feedback to serve you better. Best regards,
"Average hotel with really bad service"
It was overall a disappointing experience. Service unsatisfactory. Food generally not good.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Worst staff ever"
I asked for double room, separaté d bed, and they got me King beds. It was a business travel, and want separated beds. The staff didnt help us, was dude. Non profesional. The hotel facilities are crear and the location too, but need to chance staffGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler We deeply regret the inconvenience you had during your stay in the hotel, and we ask that you give us the opportunity to serve you again and show the kind of service we can offer. Again sorry for the inconvenience! Regards,
"May or may not go back!!!"
Hotel is undergoing major renovation, staff was nice but service really slow. We did have problems with the telephone lines and sometimes we couldn't talk room to room or dial out for anything....that's was bad. Internet service was good but you have to log back in everytime you walk away from your laptop or any electronic device with internet. Service […] at the restaurant was really bad, it took forever just to get coffee or breakfast. I may go back or not...time will tell!!! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Cristian: Thanks for your comments. We apology for the inconvenience, we were working on maintaince of our telephone lines, and this is the reason that you have problems trying to comunicate with other room. Regarding your concern about the service at the restaurant. We are implementing new improvements on this area. Please provide us the opportunity to serve you again. Best regards,
All great except dirty carpetsGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thank you for your comment! We regret that the carpets have not been addecuate to your room, but we are working to improve. We appreciate that you've stayed with us Regards,
"Nice hotel in a poor location!"
This hotel was very nice in a poor location. There was a bar with live music, a Casino where locals would go and a Cigar place around the corner. There were conventions and weddings while we stayed. Never had the opportunity to swim in the pool because we were out and about every day and they closed the pool area too early!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Lucy Thank you for your comment! We regret that you were unable to enjoy our pool. We have taken note of your comments, to implement improvements. We appreciate that you've stayed with us Regards,
Even though it took us an hour to get checked in the hotel was fine. The price was right and the rooms were really nice.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Jorge: Thanks for your kind review! We are working to improve our check in process, we apologies for the inconveniences. Hope you have the opportunity to visit our hotel next time! Best regards,
It nice and cleanGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear JV: Thank you for your review! It is nice to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel!! If you need any further assistance, do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards,
"free parking, very close to usa embassy,"
nice size pool, breakfast is the best in Santo Domingo, 2 blocks from the usa embassy. Could be rated as #4 hotel. Very good security without you feeling overwhelmed by the staff.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear DGWILLY Thanks for your comment! It is an honour that you visit our facilities and enjoyed the services that we offer. Hope you have the opportunity to visit us again!! Best regards,
"Poor room service"
I called twice to order room service and the person never showed up.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Steven: Thanks for your comment! We're sorry you had a bad experience with our room service. We hope you can give us a second chance to serve you. Regards,
The expereriencia was very good. It would be great to include free internet service in the grounds of the hotel. Visit other places and not just the Barcelo Hotel includes free internet to its guestsGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Nancy Thank you for your review!! We are working to improve our internet service. We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Thank you for choosing us! Regards,
This hotel before it was named Lina , now under the name of Barcelo it has been completely remodel and it is amazing, please always choose the premium club, you cannot go wrong with that , speak with Beatriz she is amazing.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Mr. Hector: Thanks for your review! We are pleased to know that felt comfortable with our services and our new facilities. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit us again. Regards,
Booked the VIP floor. Words cannot describe the beautiful facility, excellent staff, and great value. Definitely worth the extra expense for VIP rooms. Great shower, private buffet breakfast (albeit small), private snacks late afternoon, open rooftop with jacuzzi and amazing views of city and pool (which is beautiful). Did I mention the free beer, coffee, […] and soft drinks too? The regular buffet breakfast Is definitely the best I've ever had! Selections galore. Only negative experience was the dinner buffet we had one nite. We confirmed that dinner was between 5-8 pm. We arrived around 7ish and they promptly took our money (almost $120 for 4). Within 10 minutes they began removing items from the buffet!! When we spoke with the ignorant manager, he refused to understand our frustration with the situation. I dont think he even apologized for misleading us into believing that the buffet was to be until 8pm. You would think he could just "eat it" and negate our bill... Handled very poorly. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Jeff Thanks for your review! We are sorry you have had problems during your dinner. We took note for this in order to discuss it with the restaurant manager. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards,
Everything was great this time, new fresh towels. We ask for room service, good quality food...but it arrive a bit cold to the room. The person who answered at room service was not nice.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thanks for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our room service. Thank you for choosing our hotel! Regards,
"Excellent hotel and very central."
This hotel was very impressive. The room I got was a much more expensive room than what I paid since Expedia was having a sale. The hotel is very central to all the important sights of Santo Domingo. Very pleased with everything.Genuine Expedia guest review
"In the center Of Santo Domingo, very convinius"
ExcelentGenuine Expedia guest review
The hotel pretty much has everything you will need, Casino, disco bar, restaurant, pool, pool bar, and you are centrally located in the heart of Santo Domingo City. Really comfortable stay, the only minus side, no wifi on common areas, you will need to pay for internet or use the pre-pay at the lobby...but any other then that an excellent hotel.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Graciela: Thanks for your comment!! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With wireless service provider relationship, we are working to improve this and hope that on your next visit, you can enjoy a better service. Thank you for choosing our hotel! Regards,
"Great hotel in the middle of everything"
This hotel is great, its near the old city and all major attractions in Santo Domingo. Loved the pool and the rooms are incredibly big and confortable. I did got asked twice if I was staying there... not big deal. I would stay there again, the staff are great and helpful, I ended up booking a extra night.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice hotel convenient location"
Good place...very minor issues with staff. Nothing serious. I was happy and can recommend the place.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great as usual"
Every tine i go to sd we stay at this hotel always great serviceGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Hope you had a great stay!! Thank you for your loyalty to our property and for taking the time to write this kind review for us. Best wishes,
"very good service, el personal muy amable."
it was great, the staff very friendly.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Roland: Thank you for this kind review! Hope you can visit us again in a nearly future! Best wishes,
"An Excellent Hotel in the Center of Santo Domingo"
The hotel was well appointed. The staff very helpful. The room, very clean with an overflow of pillows for the bed which was very comfortable. The only downside is NO FREE INTERNET. For any hotel, this should be standard. My home internet cost per month what I paid for 3 days of Internet service in the hotel. (you can tell i'm not happy about this).. […] The restaurant's buffet was exceptional. All in all, i would give the experience a 4 out of 5 because of the HIGH PRICE FOR INTERNET SERVICE Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Mr. Ron: Thanks for leaving us this comment and for taking your valuable time to write it. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay because of the cost of the internet. We have noted your suggestion about the high cost of internet. Again, sorry for the inconvenience. Best Regards,
"Nice Hotel In A Bad Area"
Hotel was great! The hotel restaurant served excellent food! One Club member staff on the 9th floor was a little rude. When asked to repeat herself she rolled her eyes. I was also nickeled and dimed for a bottle of water that is usually free a most hotels. Be careful of hustlers outside. This hotel is misplaced in this area. If you need to break U.S […] bills go to the casino like most places in the DR they won't break bills or like to give you your change in US currency that they keep in the secret draw! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thank you for your review. We ask excuses for the inconveniences during your stay. We understand that it is not professional making body gestures as you experience. Please apologies us for that. We take note about the exchange inconveniences in order to prevent this from happing again. Best regards,
"Easy 10min walk to US Embassy"
Very comfortable bed! Best night's sleep of stay in Dominican republic thus far. And loved the shower! Good customer service. Only down side is located off very busy street therefore difficult to make any left hand turns out of hotel, will need to turn right and make u-turn further down. Also not as sound proof therefore able to hear some of the outside […] traffic and music. But noise not as loud as other hotels we've stayed. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler Thank you for your kind review!! We are working on new improvements regarding the noise of the street and we really appreciate your consideration. Hope you have the opportunity to visit our property again! Best regards,
Cons: Staff - The staff were extremely unprofessional and made on on occasion a nasty allusion to my skin colour in spanish (based, I guess, on the assumption that I did not understand spanish) - I was assaulted physically in my room on Dec 1 (reported to hotel and Expedia) - Charged for services I did not consume (reported to hotel and Expedia) - […] Yelled out by Room Service in-person for a mistake THEY had made, and deceived by the head of catering about some personnel episodes among his staff (reported to hotel and Expedia) The hotel ultimately admitted to me that their staff had failed, apologised to me and offered me compensation which they said would be forthcoming to my account a few days after I left the hotel. This was communicated to me by the head of Guest Services. Immediately I returned home and contacted Expedia to follow up with the hotel on my behalf, the head of Guest Services did a 180-reversal and denied that compensation had ever been offered. Due to my extremely unpleasant stay, Expedia intervened and settled the compensation issue on my behalf. The contact with the hotel was unbelievably nightmarish and unprofessional. Pros: great location, good facilities Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Mr. Duke Thank you for writting us this review! We are sorry that you've had a bad experience at our facilities. We know we have not met your expectations for travel, but we ask you to give us another opportunity to serve you and show you the kind of service we can provide. Best regards,
"Great room, bad location"
Once inside, the room is very comfortable. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. Bathroom fixtures are modern, lighting is good. However, internet access is $12 a day - which rendered meaningless the "discounted rate" upon booking. The ice machines on all but one floor were inoperative. The elevators require the room key, which must be used to keep […] lights and AC on, so to go hunting for ice, or just down the hall, must deactivate everything in the room, as there is only one key. The hotel is located in street with very uncomfortable access. Street separated by median, must go roundabout to access entrance; police all over, unmarked turn rules, got stopped, and had to pay cops $25 on the spot to avoid "hassle of going to court and confiscate license." Once in the room, service was ok. Room service was efficient, albeit pricey. Otherwise, staff was friendly enough, parking is ok, and hotel is clean. For the money, would rather stay at El Embajador, better quality, better location, with free internet. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Richard: Thank you for your comment!! Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences you had to go through. Being our goal to exceed each customer´s experience I have also distributed these comments to the corresponding departments. Even though there are somethings that escape our hands we go ahead and try monitor them as well preventing all our guests of any situation that could affect their stay. I hope you could give us a second chance so we can prove these changes have indeed been implemented.
"A break from tourist hotels"
I stay here frequently and it represents good value for your $. The hotel is mostly frequented by locals, so it is a nice break from the tourist areas. A bit slow to check-out and the maids tried to barge in at 9:30am for cleaning so put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. Otherwise, nice and clean.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear KB Thank you for letting us know your comment of our property! We are taking notes of your review in order to avoid this situation in a nearly future. We really apologize for this. Best regards,
"Great location for business"
This hotel is strategically located for business. A great price-value also. Service is efficient.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Olivier Thank you for this kind review!! Hope you can visit us again in a nearly future! Best regards,
My second time here. I enjoyed it just like the first time.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Bryan: Thank your for your review! It is an honor for us to have loyal customers like you. We hope to see you again! Best Regards,
Facilities are wonderful but staff need to improve servicing guests.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Nilda Thank you for your comment!! We are working on improvements in this area, sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Best regards,
Very SatisfiedGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for rating our property and letting us know that you are satisfied with our services. Best regards,
"NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO ALL IN THE CITY, CLEAN COMFORT"
ROOM SERVICE PRICING IS BETTER THAN HOTEL RESTAURANT PRICING!!! COULD NOT UNDERSTAND THAT BUT IT WAS FINE. ONLY PROBLEM IS THERE IS NO CONSISTENCY IN ROOM SERVICE. YOU CAN ORDER THE SAME BREAKFAST 3 TIMES IN A ROW AND GET 3 DIFFERENT ORDERS. ALL IN ALL IT WAS A GOOD STAYGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Adine Thank you for visiting and rating us! We are proud to know you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Regarding the the prices at the restaurant, we will verify it in case that there is some mistakes on it. We hope you can visit us again! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Regards,
"it is okay"
It was ok, nothing special.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thanks for your review of our property! We regret not having met your expectations, but please give us the opportunity to serve you and make a difference on your stay. Hope you have visit us again! Best regards,
"Not bad not so good."
The internet service is expensive and only let you use one equipment at a time (if you like to connect adittional machines you have to pay for), the bandwith is not enough. The breakfast is the best !Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Eduardo: Thank you so much for rating our property! We are working on improvements on our internet service, please let us apologize for the inconvenience your had during your stay. Give us a second chance and enjoy our services again. We assure you will live a different experience. Best regards,
"DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BOOKING HERE!!!"
The worst experience ever. Confirmed and prepaid reservation, only to arrive and find out that they had no rooms. They transferred me to some fleabag hotel full of unsavory charactersGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thank you for booking at our property! We apologize for the inconvenience our overbooking cause you. We are able to provide you an upgrade for this matter. I took note so we can discuss it with the directors in order to prevent this from happening to someone else. Best regards,
Great restaurantsGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thank your for your kind review! Hope that you can visit our property again! Best regards,
"Great hotel and service"
Stayed there for 5 days on business, and just as nice as the other 4 star hotels that i have stayed at. Ask for a room in the rear of the bldg. Front rooms are noisy because of traffic.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear E.Aponti: Thank you for your review! We regret that the noise did not allow you to enjoy your stay to the fullest, but please give us the opportunity to serve you again. Best regards,
Location of the hotel is good for getting in and out of the city when on business. The only drawback is that there are not many restaurants around the hotel. The only "complaint" is the quality of their wireless internet service-- spotty at best.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thanks for taking your time to write this kind review. We are working to improve our WIFI service so we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We invite you to visit our facilities again. Best regards,
"Enjoyed the hotel"
Happy with all!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Mr/Mrs. Hall: I hope this letter finds you well. We would like to thank you for your kind review. Hope to meet you at our property next time. Best regards,
"great location, very clean,"
this hotel is a great location, close to everything in the city, the room is very clean and comfortable, the personal are very please to help u, most of them speak English, the pool was magnificent clean water, the hotel try the best to keep family friendly, I went with my daughter 9yr and my son 6yr. down side the rooms facing the two mayor intersection […] are extremely noisy, could sleep after 4:30am, and the room service took 2 hours to bring the food to the room. but overall good hotel. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thanks for taking your time to write. We are working to improve our service room service, so we appreciate having written us about the problem you had. Hope to meet you at our facility again. Best regards,
"Disappointed... Is this a Barceló?"
When we got into the room, one of the beds was uses, the second morning there were not clean towels and that afternoon, I was sleeping into the room and somebody got in the room and took the electricity card. Very bad room service.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Traveler: Thanks for taking your time to write this kind review. We have taken note of the problem you had, and we will be working to avoid this inconvenience to be repeated. We ask excuses for this. Best regards
"It's in a great location to get different places."
It was ok, room service and housekeeping took forever, the room really cold but other then that is was ok.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Fatmac: Thanks for taking your time to write this kind review. We are working to improve these actions, so we ask excuses for these inconveniences. We hope to have you again at our property. Best regards
Was a very good hotel. I was disappointed with the food quality though, just not much flavor. ( this is from room service) But there are plenty of very good places to eat near the hotel. Staff was very friendly and responded to and questions promply.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Mr. Rick: Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We apologize for any inconvenience you might suffer for this. We are working to improve this. We hope to have you again at our property. Best regards,
rented the hotel from the 26th of November 2013 got to the hotel at 330 on the 26th in the morning and I was charged for Early checking in when it was not specified about what time I needed it to check in got there on the 26th which it was the day without specification of the time I was supposed to check In got charged 30 something dollars for checking […] in supposably earely.the conditions of the carpet in the room I was put in was really really dirty the people who worked at the hotel we're always hustling for money. housekeeping forgot one time to leave me towels I called in the front desk ask to bring me some and it took them three and a half hours before somebody came to bring them in after 3 more calls to the front desk. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Barceló Santo Domingo Dear Luis Jerez: Thanks for taking your time to write. The schedules of check in and check out are specified when booking the room. The check in time is at 3:00 pm and check out at 12:00 pm. We regret what happened at the time of arrival and for the inconvenience held for your towels. I noted to discuss this matter with the directors. Again I apologize for the inconvenience caused at our property. Best regards,
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )