"Affordable, Comfortable, and Clean"
We were very pleased to make a reservation here at the last minute. It is a quick trip to the movie theater, historic downtown, and Fisherman's Wharf. The room was infinitely comfortable, clean, and attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. This will be our new place to stop over in beautiful Monterey!Genuine Expedia guest review
It was what we needed at the very last minute.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Room was good fireplace didn't work and no maintenance person around.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not worth the money"
I paid $200.00 for a room. The entry light did not work, there was no art on the wall. Nothing special about he room. Nothing special about he bathroom..The continental breakfast was a joke. The people were nice and welcoming, I just don't want to spend that kind of money and get just a room!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Pretty nice place"
Architecturally not your usual motel, pretty interesting. Comfortable bed, clean room, no issues. Good location. Recommend the tapas bar at the bottom of the hill (in a hotel)Genuine Expedia guest review
"Far from Downtown"
I expected more value for the high cost of a room at this hotel. The mattresses were worn, there is no separate are to eat the continental breakfast, parking is very tight.Genuine Expedia guest review
"worked well for us"
We got this hotel at the last minute. We were happy with the features. The only problem is that they don't start breakfast until 8 a.m.!! We had to get on the road at 7 and when we asked even for coffee they said that was not possible. Most hotels start breakfast at 6 a.m. so this was quite a departure from the norm. But nice, comfortable room.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Very dated and only had a space heater. Did have a fire place although did not warm up the room. I wouldn't stay there a second time.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"good hotel, clean other than the towels."
The hotel is in a good location. Near fisherman's wharf. The room was decent, comfortable. Quiet. Spacious. Fireplace. it was clean. the bedding was clean. I liked that is had a microwave, decent closet. But the towels were not clean. One towel had brown spots all over it and mascara. Another towel had a red streak. Continental breakfast is only fruit, […] packaged pastries, and coffee. Good for the price. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Reasonably priced, clean and close to shops"
It was close enough to shopping, etc. and met our basic lodging needs for a 1-night stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Friendly staff. Room had all the basics. Visible dirt in bathroom. Continental breakfast was nonexistent. OK for the price.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"OK hotel in hotel row"
Room was OK. The sheer curtains were torn and needed replacing. The gas fire place was nice.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Convenient and Comfortable"
No curtain on window at end of building, 2nd floor. Otherwise pleasant and comfortable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A good base for seeing the sights"
I stayed in a king bed+fireplace room. The room had a bit of wear, but it seems like they're in the process of renovating (the linoleum in the bathroom was new). The room had a small private balcony, but no view except of the adjacent building. The gas fireplace works, but is on a timer that sounds like a wind-up toy, which I would guess might impact […] the romantic effect. The area around the hotel is downtown Monterey, which has a number of nice-looking restaurants and bakeries (which you will need if you want more than a pre-packaged danish and coffee from the hotel). It is a mile or more from the Fisherman's Wharf and the Aquarium, but it's an easy drive and easy parking if you don't want to walk. Overall, a good deal for a good location, just don't expect the Ritz. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
it was fine.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Pleasant surprise: nice room with nice amenities."
I booked this motel the day before I arrived -- based on it being the least expensive one still available (and not having recent really bad reviews). So I didn't expect much -- just a basic lower-end motel. So when I walked into my room, I was pleasantly surprised to see a large room, with King-Sized bed, a fireplace, vaulted wood-covered ceiling, a […] desk with 2 chairs, a couch (probably a convertible for extra guests), a microwave over a small fridge, the customary coffee maker and two closets. Oh, and the sink separate/outside the bathroom (tub with shower and toilet). Breakfast was quite basic: coffee, hot water for tea, some fruit bars and packaged puns from Costco; but also bananas and apples. There were some cosmetic issues which I considered minor. I'm told the motel has been undergoing numerous small renovations; and that a big one is planned during the Fall. I suspect the last-minute price of the room was significantly reduced from its normal price, so maybe someone paying more will feel like they got what they paid for. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great for the price."
Overall the room was fine but the two chairs in the room were ready to collapse. Could not sit in them.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Clean and close to everything"
Can't beat this place for the price. It was clean, the staff was friendly, and it was quiet! Just right for a tired traveler.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Met the need re. pleasant lodging/catching up..."
Just fine - the stay met the need for rest and catch up with some office-type work though no on-site printer...Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey I'm so happy to hear that during your stay with us allowed you to catch up on some rest. I know, we do not have a business center, but it is a good idea. Possibly in the future? Thank you for that idea, and again thank you kindly for this review. Sindy Buentello GM
"Clean hotel. Great guest service"
We came here on a road trip through California . Excellent service from the front desk. They helped us find some of the good spots to check out in Monterey. Helped us find cabs etc. would definitely stay here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Thank you kindly for your review. It brings me such pleasure to know that you were treated well by my staff. We are always willing to help, be kind and be courteous. If you come back to California, please come back and pay us a visit. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review.
For the price and short stay, room was decent and clean.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey I appreciate this short and sweet review. I wish you could have stayed a bit longer with us, we would be able to direct you to some sight seeing such as Monterey Bay Aquarium, Old Fisherman's Wharf, 17 Mile Dr. and some fine dining. There is so much to do in Monterey. Again, thank you kindly for your time in writing us this review.
Just to be accurate: there is no continental breakfast.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Our property offers our guests a continental breakfast from 8:00 am until 10:00am. We offer fresh danishes, fresh fruit, granola bars, coffee, hot chocolate and tea. We are in the process of expanding our breakfast choices, but as the new General Manager at Vagabond Inn, it is taking me some time to get these items in place. Thank you kindly for taking the time to write our hotel this review.
"Amazing discount deal."
This isn't some sort of paradise with people waiting on you hand and foot, but the manager dragged herself out of bed in the middle of the night to let us in, was polite and gracious, the room was clean and comfortable, and it may have been the most casual, convenient overnight stay I have ever had in a vacation town.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Well I would like to personally thank you for this wonderful review! I am the new General Manager at Vagabond Inn in Monterey, and I am doing my best to take care of all of my guests needs. So, it was my pleasure to attend to all your registration needs. Please come back and see us soon. Thank you again, for this fantastic 4 star review.
"Clean nice employees"
Room was clean, shower didn't work well, No A/C hot and muggy, after I showered then used fan to be covered with dust, bed was comfy...Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Dave, thank you kindly for taking the time to write us this review. Yes, the temperature was unusually high for us in Monterey over the 4th of July weekend. I'm sorry we weren't better prepared for the hot weather. However, after reading your review, I now know what I need to pay close attention to. I am glad you were greeted with a clean nice room and friendly staff. Thank you again for taking the time.
"A little run-down, but comfortable"
This hotel is not near the water. All activities are far away so you need a car. Breakfast consists of prepackaged Danishes, Costco granola bars and fresh fruit. Coffee is available with powder creamer. Shower had some mildew, shower head was coming out of it's attachment. Bathroom door handle fell off, but hotel promptly repaired. Carpet had stains. […] Room was warm with no AC, but there was a heat wave in Ca. Bed was comfy. Our room at the back was quiet and away from traffic. Cindy in the office was very friendly. No pool. Wifi access available but slow. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Gina, I thank you kindly for taking the time to write us this review. I remember checking you in, and I do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. I wish you would have mentioned any of these things, I would have taken care of them immediately for you. Normally, it is an average temperature of 65 degrees in Monterey. We definitely had some unusually warm weather during your stay. I am working hard on taking care of some of the maintenance issues. I just hired a new maintenance person, so we are on our way to much better prepared rooms so this doesn't happen again. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review.
Motel was definitely dated and need updating. The room was large, but they were having trouble with the Internet provider for the weekend and there was little sporadic service. Their idea of a free breakfast is bad coffee, prepackaged Danish and fruit.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Steve, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us this review. Update: Being the new General Manager at Vagabond Inn Monterey, I have been working overtime to get some things into pace, including Wi-Fi, breakfast and service. Wi-Fi is now fully operable, I am still working on the breakfast, and the service...well ...that should always be, and will remain to be my priority. I'm sorry you were not treated with your very best customer service. Another area I will work harder on with my staff. Thank you for taking the time. Sindy Buentello General Manager
"Great service and very reasonably priced"
A friend and I were taking a road trip up the coast and needed a place to stay for the night in Monterey. We knew that hotels were very expensive in this area. We found the vagabond for super cheap and so had low expectations. The staff when we checked in were unbelievably friendly. The room was huge with a loveseat and small dining table. It also had […] vaulted ceilings and a gas fireplace. I would totally stay here again! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Casey, thank you so much for taking the time to write us this fantastic review! It brings me such pleasure that you found my hotel "the best kept secret of Monterey." I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you were greeted with a warm smile and friendly staff. Please come back and see us soon! Sindy Buentello General Manager
"Clean and Friendly"
Staff friendly, room clean. I was very disappointed with the fact that as soon as we checked in 3pm, I was told the internet/wifi was down. Several calls throughout the day and night, still down. Check out at 10:30am still no internet or wifi. I would have not stayed here if I had been aware of this prior. Not recommended for business guests because […] the internet is a vital resource for many people. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey I appreciate the time you took to write us this review. I am so sorry to hear that you had such difficulty during your recent stay with us. As the new General Manager at Vagabond Inn Monterey, I a working my hardest to take care of some issues we are experiencing at our inn. Wireless Internet being one of them. I am taking extreme measures to take care of this issue, just as fast as I possibly can. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay with us.
"Horrible hotel, Good service"
By American standards this place is the worse. The room, although it has nice high ceilings, smelled very bad. The curtains were torn on both windows. It was extremely outdated and the parking was unacceptable. In this case you get less than what you pay for. "Buyer beware".Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Greetings, my name is Sindy Buentello, the new General Manager at Vagabond Inn Monterey. I recently took over this property about a month and a half ago. I assure you I am putting forth all efforts to bring our property up to our guests and our very own expectations. I thank you for pointing out some areas I need to turn my focus on. I'm so sorry your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please look keep an eye on our website for upcoming improvements.
service was really good but I had booked this hotel mainly for it's fireplace. however, when my boyfriend and i arrived in the late evening and tried to turn on the fireplace it didn't work. we contacted the front desk who immediately came to check it out. she said that the maintenance guy left around 10 pm and would be returning the next morning. we […] were really disappointed. the appliances can be updated. the walls are pretty thin as we were able to hear the people next door and above us. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Thank you so much for this review, I know it takes time out of your busy schedule. I do remember going to your room and personally trying to take care of the fireplace situation, unfortunately, without success. I have since then hired additional Maintenance help to ensure our rooms are in perfect working condition before our guests arrive. I really apologize for the inconvenience this caused both you and your boyfriend. Please, give me some time to bring the entire property up to both your expectations and mine. I just took over this property a month and a half ago, and have a few thing to work out still. Again, I do apologize and I am confident we will be at 100% in no time.
The walls in the bathroom especially where very dirty the cleanlieness of the room was okay but needed a little more attention to the walls and the fridgerator and the Microwave needed to be cleaned a little better, the room was very nice the fire place was very nice we opened the window to smell the ocean breeze and had the ambiance of the fire place […] thats the only thing that made our stay worth it . The continental breakfast looked okay the coffee was teribble and the constant over looking of the staff over our shoulder was uneasy. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey I'm sorry to hear you were not made to feel comfortable here at Vagabond Inn Monterey. My name is Sindy Buentello, the new General Manager and I am working over time to pay close attention to those details you mentioned. I pride myself in Customer Satisfaction and will not stop working at it until I reach 100% satisfaction. I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write us this review. It allows me to better understand the areas I need to focus on. Again, many apologies.
"Do not book reservations here!"
We stayed with our boys in the Vagabond hotel for 1 day. Upon arrival checked in, the room was filthy. Can't explain It any other way. The bathroom was so gross, I didn't want my Kids sitting on the toilet. Also, no more than half an hour in room multiple police were in the parking lot were making an arrest. My kids were freaked out! Checked for bed […] bugs and were okay there but, after 1 night I woke up with a spider in my shirt with multiple bites. I also, woke up several times with asthma issues. I so not recomend This hotel to anyone. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Thank you for making time out of your schedule to write us this review. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. My name is Sindy Buentello, the new General Manager at Vagabond Inn Monterey, and please let me ensure you that I am taking extreme measures to upgrade some minor issues in our rooms and in our building. I do have police patrolling our area, to make sure our property remains crime free. Guest's safety is my number one priority. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay with us.
Can't call it home cause of the bed but overall very pleasant hotel. I am a average person so I don't have high expectations. Only complaints was bed was hard to where it hurt my back. Only enough towels for one person and tv remote wasn't programmed to TV.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Thank you so much for writing us this review. My name is Sindy Buentello, the new GM at Vagagond Inn Monterey. I just took over the property and we are in the process to modify some key items in our rooms. I thank you kindly for writing us this review, and please come back to see me soon! I am sure you will be pleased with some improvements.
"Great hotel. Great price. Great location."
Hotel staff are extremely fiendly and helpful! They addressed me by name as I casually strolled by the front desk and I only stayed for one night! Talk about personalizing! The breakfast was not much and the bed couldve used more pillows. A fireplace in the room is a first for me and Ive stayed at higher star rated hotels.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Thank you kindly for taking the time to write us this review. My name is Sindy Buentello, the new General Manager here. I pride myself and my staff to provide superior customer service! I am so happy to hear that you were welcomed with great service and a friendly smile! I do hope you come back to see us soon.
"Drug dealers & trade customers only"
I stayed but was concerned about my safety. If my wife were with me she would have gone home!!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Vagabond Inn Monterey Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would like to personally apologize for the experience you had our hotel. My name is Sindy Buentello, the new General Manager at Vagabond Inn Monterey. Since I have taken over this property, I am personally taking extreme measure to ensure our property remains is secure. Again, I personally want to apologize for your experience.
For the price it was a good hotel. My daughter and I wanted to get away for a night. Our room had a fireplace which was a added plus. Room was nice and clean. It's close to the Monterey shopping mall and other places, not far to drive.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The staff at the vagabond was amazing they where helpful and friendly i loved it.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel - needs a bit of updating"
We had a hard time finding a place for our last minute stay, so this hotel had room and was recommended by Hotels.com . Like many older hotels, it had a musty smell, but was generally clean. The carpet was dark green and worn, so probably in need of replacement. It should be a law that carpets get changed every two years or less and that they cannot […] be dark. Some fixtures were in need of replacing, but paint was nice and the shower was newer, clean and did not have any apparent mold. Phone hanging over TP roll was not a nice touch and some towel holders were broken and left hanging on wall giving a bad impression. Not bad for the price, but since there were really no other amenities, cleanliness and updated fixtures should have been their best (and only) selling point. With a little work could be almost all 5's on our rating. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The sites list the beds as Queens and they were doubles. TOO SMALL FOR ME AND 1 KID.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good hotel for families"
The staff person at desk was knowledgable and extremely helpful. I enjoyed having a fireplace in the room. It was close to restaurant and attractions.Genuine Expedia guest review
We would stay again but not during the winter,to much of a gap on the door cold air would come in. We did love the fireplace. Internet was bad.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Last minute option on Saturday night"
Staff was kind. Accommodations not horrific. Neighborhood.. Sketchy. No soda machine. Two words for travelers visiting Monterey.. Book Ahead.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nobody was there to check us in, in the AM"
I made reservations through Hotel.com and indicated I would arrive in the AM. Nobody was there not they answered the phone when we arrived. We had to go and look for an other hotel nearby. Hotel.com took up the claim, confirmed the information and initiated the refunding proces writhing 5 minutes though.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"good cheap hotel"
good cheap hotel; family run thus better than other vagabonds i've been toGenuine Expedia guest review
"great spot to spend the night"
Right place, right price, clean, simple - really loved the fireplaces.Genuine Expedia guest review
"included breakfast with not much of breakfast"
One thing... Breakfast was included... Tang like OJ and some no name brand plastic wrapped sugar coated bread was not what I imaged breakfast....Genuine Expedia guest review
"Way better than I expected!"
At the time, I was just passing through town and it was late and I needed an inexpensive place to sleep for the night. If I were to visit Monterey again even for more than just one night, I would stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The room needed some repair. The repairs that were done were without any thought. For instance a shower curtain ring needed replacing and one was put in that did not match the other rings.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great location and helpful staff."
The front desk personnel was extremely helpful and insightful when it came to directing us around the area. He was well spoken and very helpful. I would stay there again and recommend this location to my family and friends.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Not at all as expected!"
Pictures made me believe this was the cleanest and most accommodating hotel for its price. I never felt safe, I carried all my belongings with me whenever I would come and go. It is old, dark and stinky! The AC did not work. One window did open but it was facing the street so I could hear the cars. Someone was staying here with dogs and a parrot, it […] was loud and annoying. When doors were closed they slammed and the whole building would shake! Inside, everything is stained, even the walls. I flipped the sheets on the bed just to make sure they were clean and they were but the back of the comforter had cigarette burn marks all over it. The comforter had dark stains, I dont even want to know what they were I just threw it off. The bed has a thin sheet over the mattress which is really gross, no fitted sheet or bed skirts. The bathroom was disgusting, it smelled and the toilet rocked when I sat on it. Oh and the carpet was gross with stains and also was sticky so I refused to walk around barefoot! I know hotels are not the cleanest places but when you feel so grossed out that you dont even want to get out of your clothes and shoes or use the sheets to sleep, no fireplace, HBO or free breakfast is worth it! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )