The hotel is a 3 star with the exception that there in very limited parking. They have maybe 15 spaces, first come first serve. the other guests have to park two blocks down in an open public parking lot with no security. I wont go back for that reason.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not the same as pictures on hotel.com"
Overpriced for a older motel style hotel. Rooms entrances are outside of building . my room was #125 first floor , had to take stairs to second level for room #125 ?? Beds are very low and not comfortable . Shower has old style water controls . Free breakfast was not edible . Won't stay there agian unless I have to .Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice and cozy, but parking is disastrous"
I liked it, it was nice and cozy and clean. It had it's basics, one thing I absolutely hated was the parking. It was tiny and I think me and the other guests at the hotel felt that tiny parking garage which was stood by pillars was going to cause me a car collision. I understand that it would be really difficult to renovate the parking, and it was the […] only qualm I had while I stayed there. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I appreciate your comments. I'm glad that you found our hotel to clean and comfortable. We make a concerted effort to create a safe and comfortable parking experience for our guests. We have a limited number of spaces available directly on the premises. However, there is additional ample and spacious parking available only a few steps away from the hotel in a well lit public lot. While the offsite lot is not free, we will offset a portion of the cost to make easy and convenient for our guests. If you have specific concerns regarding parking during your next visit, please see the front desk for assistance. Thanks for your business and we look forward to your next visit.
"you get what you pay for"
The Hot Water didnt work.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear that you had problems with the hot water during your last stay. I can appreciate how frustrating it must have been for you to not have hot water when you needed it. I apologize for the difficulties. I will share your comments with our engineering staff and have them to further investigate to ensure we are providing hot water to every guest .
Outside of its location and price, I do not recommend this hotel. Upon my arrival, there was no one available at the front desk (had a sign up that said "Will be back soon"), and I wound up waiting for nearly 1/2 an hour! It's not a good feeling having to wait around for a room that has been booked and paid for after traveling for hours! Then, to make […] matters worse, my room was freezing! The hotel only has centralized heat/air, with no thermostats to set the temperature in the room. So there I was, freezing in a strange hotel room on a cold night in mid-October! I called the front desk, and the hotel clerk (the same one who wasn't around when I arrived to check in) told me he could bring me some blankets! When he arrived, I asked him to judge for himself whether the room was too cold/uncomfortable. He agreed that it was, and said that he would locate a space heater for me. Guess what? That never came! After a couple of hours, I went down to the front desk and explained the situation to a different hotel clerk who was on duty, and he FINALLY found me a space heater and brought it to my room. Other issues were that the hot water for the shower barely rose above lukewarm, and the continental breakfast left a lot to be desired (but at least it was offered). I will only stay at this hotel in the future as a last resort, as Bethesda is an ideal location for my travel needs to the DC area. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience during your recent stay with us. I can appreciate how frustrating it must have been to be delayed upon your arrival at the hotel. We will need to review our protocols to ensure that we are always providing the highest levels of service to our guests. Our sign does instruct our guests to pick up the house phone in order for immediate assistance. However, this obviously could have been more clear. I apologize for the inconvenience. I also apologize for the climate in your room. We are in a transitional season currently, which often can result in huge fluctuations in temperature from day to day. This can sometimes make it difficult for us to always maintain a comfortable temperature in our guest rooms and public space without the help of some external systems such as space heaters and fans. We closely follow weather and climate conditions in our area in an effort to provide a level of comfort in our guest rooms that guests expect. I'm sorry that we fell short of our goal during your stay. I hope that, despite the problems you encountered, that you will try us again in the future and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations with our exceptional service and great value. Thanks for your business.
"two night stay"
Great beds - run down room and bathroomGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you found the condition of your room to be less than satisfactory. We work to provide the best quality accommodations and service to our guests at a best value in Bethesda. I will share your comments with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to ensure we are exceeding our guest's expectations for every guest stay. I apologize for the problems you encountered and hope that you will try us again in the near future as we work to improve. Thanks for your business.
"Good basic hotel"
A good basic hotel. Room was clean and quiet. Hot water & coffee are available all day in the lobby. The free breakfast needs healthier choices. But the Woodmont Deli is a few doors away and has great breakfast options for the diet conscious.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your feedback. We are constantly working to improve our breakfast and are always open to suggestions and feedback that will help us to improve. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
"Excellent, helpful Front Desk staff"
Front Desk staff, Dipshan & Adeline, were very helpful getting Handicapped Rooms that met my needs. Greet returning guests by name. Rooms needed to be checked for plumbing and drape repairs. Great area- near our daughter's home.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm glad that our staff exceeded your expectations. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the room condition and will address them with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to ensure they resolving any problems before a guest discovers them. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
"A nice find"
This was a wonderful hotel for the price. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Although the hotel is in a walking distance to/from the Bethesda metro and many good restaurants in the neighborhood, there is a free shuttle service that runs around the center of the town every 15 minutes from early morning to late night. […] The nearest shuttle stop is right across from the hotel's back entrance. Very convenient when you are going to the metro with your suitcase, do not feel like walking alone at night (even if this is a safe neighborhood) or in the rain. We were very happy with our three-night stay and will likely use this hotel again in the future. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks so much for your comments. I'm glad that our location work well for you. I'm also glad that you took advantage of our close proximity to the Bethesda Circulator bus stop. Keep in mind that, in addition to this great free service, the hotel also operates a shuttle that runs within a 1 mile radius of the hotel on weekdays. We hope that you will stay with us again.
"too pricy for what it is"
pretty old hotel, the carpet was stinkingGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear that our accommodations did not meet your expectations during your last visit. We have made numerous improvements to the hotel over the past few months to ensure we are providing the best quality accommodations and best value to our guests. I will be sure to discuss your concerns of cleanliness with our housekeeping department to ensure we are providing a clean room to every guest. I hope that you will try us again in the near future as we work to improve. Thanks for your feedback.
"Staff very nice and helpful"
Location very good for our travel,Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda We're glad to hear that you appreciated our location. Thanks for your comments.
"Fine option in Washington dc area"
Relatively inexpensive and perfect for our needs. Room quite small but with good convenirnces. Parking a plus. Breakfast simple but adequate particularly since we were off to a big lunch in town. Good experienceGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your feedback. It's great to hear that you found the breakfast and parking to be a good value. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
a marginal hotel with terrible food. Eat next door at Double Tree.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sad to hear that you did not find our complimentary breakfast adequate for your needs. We attempt to provide a variety of options (at no charge to our guests) that can accommodate most dietary and personal preferences. We can even accommodate special needs if we have advance notice. However, we do have some logistical limitations that can make it difficult for our buffet-style breakfast to compete with a cooked-to-order served breakfast that you would purchase at a restaurant, like those at some other hotels. Our hope is to provide a quality, economical breakfast option that guests can use to start their day. If you have special items you would like to see available during your next stay, please feel free to let us know and we will do our best to accommodate your request. We appreciate your business and hope that you will try us again in the near future.
Room was way too small for the price. Hotel and room was getting long in the tooth.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with the quality, condition and size of your hotel room. Keep in mind that we have a limited number of larger rooms, some with king and double beds, which may better suit your needs during your next visit. Please let us know if you have any special requests for your next stay with us. We appreciate your business.
"Good deal for the price"
My stay here served my main purpose of being within walking distance to the Bethesda Metro. I like the neighborhood for the most part, and it feels safe especially in the daytime. As far as the hotel was concerned, it was pretty average. As noted by previous reviewers, the room was quite small. The shower in my took a LONG time to get hot (and never […] really did). However, the room was otherwise quite comfortable and quiet. The continental breakfast buffet left much to be desired, but at least it was free. I would not rule out staying here again, but will continue to search for better deals in the same area. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your review of the hotel. I appreciate your honest feedback. I'm sorry that you ran into problems with the hot water. I will address these problem with our engineering department to make sure we are providing providing adequate hot water to every guest, every day. I hope that, despite this problem, you will stay with us again in the near future.
"Nice Hotel to Stay"
Very good hotel according to the price. Employees are very polite and supportive. I was very satisfied during the five days I stayed there.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm glad to hear that your stay with us was a success. I hope that we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thanks for your comments and your business.
"Location Location Location"
This hotel is about right for a $65 to $80 room just about anywhere else in the country -- but it's location raises it's bar - it's convenient to where we are doing business -- and there is quite a little city, Bethesda, Maryland with all the Big city fixins largely within walking range -- there are multitudes of places to eat with in 3 blocks and Nirvana […] starts about a quarter of a mile down the road. - To be honest, all of the hotels in the area (there are many) are way over priced -- we had spotty service at best in our room and the free breakfast offering was not reliable -- one day it would be good and the next day with a different set up person it was lousy -- one big plus Guapo Mexican Restaurant is attached to the hotel -- it's great! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that our location and balance of quality and value worked for you. I will share your observations regarding our free breakfast (the only one in Bethesda) with our staff to ensure that the quality of our service and offerings remains high 7 days a week. We appreciate your business.
Our stay there was great. The front desk gentleman was nice and very helpful. He directed us to different locations a movie theater and and great breakfast spot seeing as we missed out on the free breakfast we enjoyed our stay there in our clean roomGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
"a very good location. Very close to metro"
it was good. Convenient, clean, and quiteGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Room was smaller then expected but place was clean & cozy. Staff were helpful & niceGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for your kind words and honest observations.
"Not too Shabby"
The room was very small. Parking was free if there was a spot. The front desk people were all very nice! Great location. Close to Metro station and restaurants.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Expedia. We appreciate your honest observations and I'm glad that you found our service and location to be of good value. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
"Good for the price"
The hotel itself was fine and very good for the money. Parking was a serious challenge and the spaces are not set up well and very limited. The room was small but comfortable and the staff was friendly. Not well marked either, could use more visible signage.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I appreciate your comments. Your observations are very helpful and we working to improve our overall guest experience. I'm glad to hear that you found our property to be a good, comfortable value. We look forward to your next visit.
We stayed at a lot of hotels on our trip, and this one was hands down the best! The only downside was the courtesy shuttle didn't start running early enough to get us to the metro by 7, but it was only a 15 minute walk away so not a big deal at all!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
"No Parking available"
Overall, my stay was fine. I took issue with the bad attitude desk worker wearing his sunglasses, like he was so cool kid. It was inappropriate and he came off completely rude and like I was in his house. I was shocked to hear I had to put quarters in a parking meter! I had to park over night across the street! I was completely confused when I got there. […] I would have expected some kind of valet service but there was no guest parking. So, I did all my errands, got my dinner for the night and parked my car at dusk because I'm not walking across the street after dark as a woman. No thanks. Would I suggest this hotel, sure. It was overpriced and old, nothing fancy about it. I could have stayed at the Marriot down the street for same price and got better service and value for your money. but overall it was clean and in a decent area. I think there was a few spots to eat around the hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear that you encountered problems with parking when you arrived at the hotel. We have focused on setting a reasonable expectation of parking for our guests on our website and through all partner websites, as well. However, we obviously fell short of doing that for you during your last stay. I am also surprised and sorry to hear your comments about our staff as we typically receive very high remarks about the quality of our service. I will share your comments with our staff to ensure that we are always providing helpful, attentive and pleasant service to every guest. Thanks for taking the time to talk about your stay with us.
"The American Inn is okay."
The location is perfect and the staff is very pleasant. The parking lot will hold about 8 -10 cars. If you are lucky, you can park your car at the hotel. There is free public parking on the weekends only across the street. The sheets smelled like bleach, the furniture was dusty, the microwave was missing, the shower was not very clean. The hotel is […] NOT dirty, but they could do better with the cleaning. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda We appreciate your candid and honest observations regarding our hotel. I have addressed your concerns with the cleanliness of the hotel with our housekeeping staff to ensure that they are consistently exceeding our guest's expectations of cleanliness. A clean room is a fundamental element of staying at a hotel. Anything short of this is unacceptable. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future as we work to improve.
"Started out terrible!"
It started out terrible. We got there and they were doing construction. Our room was super small, the head of the bed was tilted downward. The construction worker sounded like they were going to come through the door with all the . There was a bad smell on the elevator (smelled lime a dead rotten). They did change our room which made it a little better. […] But will not go back. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize for the problems you experienced while you were here with us. We have been in the process of refreshing our guest rooms and public space, including the elevator, over the past few months. We have been working hard to make our guests as comfortable as possible during this process. I'm sorry to hear that we failed to do that for you during your stay. But, rest assured that we have heard your concerns and I have addressed them with our staff to ensure we are taking steps to protect the quality of the guest experience for every guest. Although your last visit with us was not great, I hope that you will try us again in the near future to see how we have improved. I am confident that you will be pleasantly surprised.
"Worth the $"
near great restaurants, felt safe enough to walk to Metro Station alone in the morning, nice buffet in the morning all in all I would stay again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business. I'm happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and our location. We look forward to your next visit to Bethesda and hope that you will choose our hotel for your accommodations.
"Front Desk so helpful"
Has 2 Handicapped Accessible rooms, with walk in shower + shower seat, which meets my specific needs.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again in the near future!
"not a great place"
I picked the hotel because of free parking.I also wanted a clean place. I arrived at 10pm after a 12 hour drive of being stuck in traffic to be told I would have to park in one of the public parking lots because they were going to repave their garage. There were spaces available in the first floor of the garage the one night I was there and did not […] notice any paving happening during the night. So they could have let us park for the night? I was moving my daughter to college and had a car full of stuff. Not mention having to carry our stuff back and forth for about a block to the car. The wifi did not work in the room even given the password. One of the sheets had what looked like nail polish stain on it. The room smelled funny every time the air conditioner came on. Plus they were working on the fire alarm and could not use the elevator. I would probably not stay here again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay with us. The changes we have undergoing are meant to improve the guest experience and guest safety. However, it's obvious that our progress came at a heavy cost, which was the quality of your stay and experience at our hotel. It is also unacceptable that the room was not clean to your expectations. I will be sharing your comments with our entire housekeeping staff to give them perspective on our guest observations so they will see our hotel through the guest's eyes. I apologize for the problems. I'm sure that the challenges you experienced were very frustrating. However, I hope that, despite these problems, you will try us again soon to see our improvements and enhancements. Thanks again for your comments and thanks for your business.
"Great for the money"
A great bang for the buck. Friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business!
Breakfast ended too early and we weren't told the breakfast schedule during check-inGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your helpful feedback. I will address your concerns regarding our ability to provide the information to our guests that they need to make your stay a success. I'm sorry to hear that you were not able to sample our wonderful breakfast. Hopefully our staff provided you with a few satisfactory alternate options for breakfast. Despite this set back, I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Bethesda.
"Very nice stay"
Staff helpful. We would definitely stay again on our next trip to area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit to Bethesda.
I had read some reviews about this hotel after we booked.it. some of the reviews were not too good so I was a little concerned. Pleasantly surprised..the room was very clean, staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious! No complaints. Will recommend.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of the American Inn with Expedia. I'm glad that our accommodations met and exceeded your expectations. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
"Road trip...Washington DC"
The hotel is within walking distance from restaurants, shopping, transportation and about 20mins away from DC. You get inside the lobby and the concierge greets you properly and will answer any questions to the best of their knowledge. Get your keys and got to your room, open the door and you can smell is clean also comfortable. Im kinda OCD so I checked […] the top of the tv and mirror, light fixtures etc and there was very little to no dust. Took a swim at the pool which has a lifeguard. Pool was clean and do not smelled like chlorine at all like many other places. HOT BREAKFAST !!! theres some night life around on the weekends. PARKING is limited but have in mind..is one of the few hotels with parking. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future. Thanks for your business!
"Nice staff and comfortable room"
The people at the desk were very helpful and informative. But we arrived after a very long drive and were not permitted an early check inGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your recent stay with us. Although we make every attempt to accommodate every request, unfortunately, we are not always able to accommodate every request for early check in as this is based on availability. But, I hope that you had a satisfying and comfortable stay, despite the delay in checking in. We hope that you will choose our hotel again during your next visit to Bethesda.
Upon our arrival, we were given a room with one bed however, I had booked a room with 2 beds. After 40 minutes, I was moved to a larger handicapped room for the same rate. Hotel smelled musty, carpet felt dirty and air conditioning was difficult to monitor. Traveled with my granddaughter. She was disappointed that the hotel pool closed at 8 pm. We […] generally did not return to the hotel from our sightseeing adventures until 7:30 p.m. or later. As a result, she was able to use the pool a couple of times out of a 5 night stay. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I apologize for the problems you encountered during your visit. We will take a look at our pool hours to reassess if we are providing this amenity at the time when guests most want to use it. We are also working to improve our our accommodations and raise our level of service. Although I realize you were not completely satisfied during your last stay, please know that we have heard your observations and are taking steps to improve. Thanks for your business!
"Great Service, Very clean good Room"
The American Inn is a good value with clean rooms, great location and exceptional staff. I, unfortunately, arrived MUCH later than planned...about 2:30am! And the gentleman at the front desk was not only very polite, but was very helpful with information about parking, and getting me checked in. Looked out for me while I parked my car across Wisconsin […] Ave., and paid a parking fee a little extra so I could sleep in. The day shift staff was also excellent, with friendly, very quick responses to any and all concerns. Yes, the hotel is a little older, but I personally hold cleaniness and customer service in much higher regard to new fixtures. I wll definitely be staying at at the American Inn again when in Bethesda, MD, and will recommend it to friends and family. Thanks again Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your last visit with us. We look forward to your next stay.
"Only if you need a cheap room"
Was looking for a reasonable hotel for a quick one night stay to drop my daughter off at a conference. Pictures on Expedia looked nice. The hotel is really run down. Needs a major face lift. The room smelled funny. The lobby smelled too. The pool was ok but not very aesthetically pleasing. Looked like some construction/restoration is going on but not […] enough fast enough. Breakfast was only passable as it was edible but not really enjoyable. Not much to pick from and food was not very tasteful. The positive is that the staff was very friendly and nice. And there is a good amount of information about the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood. Lack of information has been my complaint at other hotels. In its current condition, I would not recommend it to anyone. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear that you did not completely enjoy your stay. As you noted, we are making considerable improvements to the quality of the accommodations and service at our hotel. I appreciate your honest observations regarding the pool and breakfast. We will try to build on your suggestions to raise the level of service and quality of amenities. Thanks for your business.
The hotel is in need of some upgrades and renovation work. Sepcifically the bathroom and mattress'. It was good for our one night stay. Close to good food and metro within walking distance.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your comments. We are constantly working to improve our service and amenities. Although we failed to exceed your expectations during this most recent visit, I hope that you will try our hotel again in the near future. Thanks for staying with us.
"Your average hotel just outside of DC"
The day of check-in I arrived early to the town that the hotel was located in. Naturally, I wanted to see if the hotel had any rooms that were ready for early check in so that I could at least put my things in the room before heading out for the day. However, I tried to call the hotel 5-10 times throughout a 2 hours period and never once got an answer. […] The first number which was listed just rang endlessly while the second number listed (on the hotel's site) provided just an answering machine. After awhile I decided to just go to the hotel early and see if I could check in early. After a few minutes of standing at the counter, the attendant arrived and was very nice. I do not believe that he personally is at fault for not answering the phone or anything, but I do believe that any hotel should have at least two attendants, especially during a holiday weekend (I stayed during the 4th-9th of July). He informed me that I could check-in early but not until 2 o'clock which was fine since I was there prior to noon. He did give me a parking pass prior to check-in which did allow me to at least park my car while I found something to do for several hours until I could check in. (All staff that I interacted with at the hotel were nice people, I just believe that certain areas were understaffed, despite the hotel being rather small.) The hotel had very limited parking, about 8 spaces inside of a garage and about another 8 outside, i always found a spot. The breakfast was good. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the difficulties you experienced with reaching the hotel prior to your arrival. I understand how frustrating this must have been for you. I am reassessing our call handling procedures as well as verifying that we have the correct phone number listed on our website and throughout the web in general. Also, I'm sorry that we were not able to check in your reservation as early as you desired. Our staff makes every attempt to accommodate all guest requests. However, occasionally it can difficult to honor every request based on our availability. I glad to hear that we were able to provide a satisfactory solution by allowing you to park your car early. We also offer baggage assistance as an alternative it you arrive to the hotel earlier than our normal check in time. It's good to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We're glad that you chose the American Inn and we look forward to your next visit to the Bethesda area.
"I'm glad that I chose American Inn"
Had been there early. But the hotel staff provided me with the parking pass. Helped me with the instructions to find the subway, which is 7 blocks away from the Inn, so that I could go to DC and pass my time. The best thing is that the parking is Free as mentioned and the complimentary breakfast is awesome. The pool is quite small and indoor. But you […] would hardly find anybody in the pool. The reason is: the Inn itself is cool 24hrs. Their cooler system is great. I feel like frozen unless I turn the cooler OFF in the middle of the night. The whole hallways and corridor is cool. Even if you are bound to go to the pool, I bet you will change your idea as soon as you are inside the INN. Can order food from nearby restaurants but you have to go to the front desk to pick it up as it comes in. You have Nepalese, Indian, Tibetan and Mexican restaurants close by. Grocery store is across street. The subway is 7 hocks away and is not that far since the blocks are shorter. About 10 minutes walk for a regular walk. If you walk faster like of a Newyorkers, it may take you only 4 to 5 minutes to reach to the subway. If you are in the train, it will take about 15 minutes to get to the Metro Center, DC and from there it will take about 3 minutes to get to the Smithsonian, the National Mall. The trains are fast and comfortable and run 24/7. On the weekends the trains may run in the interval of 15 minutes, otherwise faster. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you found our staff and accommodations to be well executed and maintained. Thanks for your business and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bethesda!
"Ok hotel for the price"
I had a nice stay overall. I just wish they had vacuumed the carpet and the bathroom floor. It looks like they made the beds and forgot to vaccuum.I am assuming this is not a normal thing though. There was a fridge in the room but the only microwave is on the 3rd floor. The guy at the front desk was very nice and answered any questions I had when I […] was checking in. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your comments. It is unacceptable that the room did not meet your standards of cleanliness and condition. I apologize specifically for the condition of the floor in your room. I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff to underscore the importance of providing a clean, quality guest room for every guest. Also, for your information, we have microwave ovens available to our guests which we can place in your room. You can always contact the front desk for more information on availability. Thanks for your business!
"Very average hotel."
The bed was comfortable and the bath room was clean and fine. Breakfast room was fine, and the server was very polite. However, the room was not ready at 3:00 PM check in time. I arrived early at 1:30 PM and had to wait for the room to be cleaned and at 3:00 it was still not cleaned. The stairway going up to the room was not clean. That did not help […] the appearance of the hotel, and when you entered the stairway it was like a dump. Parking was fine, even though not enough room on the premises. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the room was not ready by 3pm as you expected. I understand how frustrating this can be especially if you have a pending appointment. Our staff will make every effort to accommodate our guests, especially when we are not able to meet reasonable expectations. We obviously fell short of this goal with your stay. I apologize for the delay and will be using your comments to show our staff the importance of keeping our guests informed and delivering on expectations we have set for every guest.
"Good location without being in DC"
The service was great. Parking is free which unique in this area but very limited. Maybe 25 spots but they will try and find a spot for you if lot is full. Breakfast is buffet and very weak but free so cannot complain too much. It is a good hotel in a good location but needs some updating. Many good restaurants within 1-3 blocks. Would stay there a […] gain. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you were happy with our service. And, although our on-site parking is limited, these space are free which is unique to any other hotel in Bethesda. There is also ample parking available in very close proximity to the hotel. We are currently going through a complete refresh of the entire building including public space, interior and guest rooms, which should help to meet and exceed our guest expectations. Thanks again for your comments and we appreciate your business.
Pricey and well located but not very cleanGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with the cleanliness and condition of our hotel. We are working feverishly to improve and enhance the appearance and condition of our property. We have made changes to the exterior and interior of the building. We are also working to raise our service and cleanliness standards to ensure we are exceeding the expectations of our guests. I apologize for your negative experience and want to reassure you that your comments have not fallen on deaf ears. I hope that, despite your last experience, you will give our hotel another try on your next visit to Bethesda as we work to raise our level of service.
I really enjoyed the American Inn. Its location was very convenient to both parks where our family reunion was held. The staff was very nice, the breakfast was enjoyable and we slept well. Parking was ok, but could have been better. It was cool that we parked across the street after 10pm on Friday night and had free parking all weekend. I will definitely […] stay at the American Inn again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you taking the time to write about you experience at our hotel. We were happy to host you and your family at our hotel and are glad to hear that our accommodations met your expectations. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
VERY NICE STAY. COMFORTABLE BED, NOT THE USUAL ROCK HARD MATTRESS MOST PLACES SEEM TO HAVE. ROOM HAD CENTRAL TYPE HEATING/AC, WHICH MEANT NO NOISY IN-ROOM UNIT WAKING YOU UP EVERY TIME IT CAME ON.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Adequate and convenient"
Hotel was adequate for our needs. Room was clean and quite with comfortable beds. Breakfast was adequate. Hotel close to metro NIH and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thanks for your comments. It is our goal to exceed our guest expectations regarding our service and amenities. I'm glad that our staff had a positive impact on our stay. We hope that you will consider the American Inn again on your next visit to Bethesda.
I absolutely loved it. I had to rent because of an issue where I live and was quite pleased when I arrived. The staff was very helpful and the comp breakfast was a great start for the day. Food was fresh and the gentleman attending to guest there was top notch. I would definitely stay there again. Parking is a little scarce but there is plenty of on […] street parking and no worries the neighborhood is one of DC's nicest and safest. Short walk to downtown Bethesda and the Metro and lot's of great dinning and shopping near by. I would definitely stay again and as a matter of fact I will be using this place as my escape. No issues with the room. Small but very cute and comfortable like my girlfriend said...... I stayed there a total of the nights and have no complains what so ever. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda Thank you very much for your comments. I'm happy to hear that our accommodations and location met and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
"2 night stay that was not the best"
when we checked into our room the air-conditioner was not working so as we were leaving out for dinner we asked the front desk to have the maintenance person please go fix while we were gone - when we came back it was still not fixed so I asked to have another room but they were sold out. Then the front desk guy came up to try to see if he could get […] the windows open but we could only get the corners to pop out and we put shoes in the windows to hold it open. The next day they did get us another room but we had to take everything out of our room for the day and leave in the car all day until we came back. Front desk lady said that they will have to clean our old room and will need to rent it out - I told her why rent something that is broke. She didn't seem to care - I thought we would get some kind of compensation for not having air but it didn't happen. Also they said they have free parking - yeah - they have maybe 12 parking spots - good luck !!! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by American Inn Of Bethesda I'm sorry to hear about the complications you experienced with the Air Conditioning. It's obvious that we dropped the ball with your issue and were not able to resolve the faulty A/C in a timely manner. I can understand how frustrating this must have been for you. I have shared your comments with our entire staff to ensure they understand the importance of responsiveness and empathy in responding to guest issues. Please accept by deepest apologies. Although I cannot change this experience, please believe that we will take steps to prevent this type of situation from occurring again in the future.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )