All hotels in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
1900 Douglas St, Victoria, BC, V8T4K8, Canada, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
3.5 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 253 reviews)

  • Location
    Great location
  • Value
    Best value for money
  • Food
    Delicious food
  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • Breakfast
    Tasty breakfast
  • Comfort
    Uncomfortable

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

3.0 / 5Good
It's OK, for the age of the facility. Paul's Restaurant is a great diner experience with good comfort food and nice staff
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thanks for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed the Restaurant.
Other trip Aug 16, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good find in Victoria"
It was a last minute booking and I was hesitant because from the pictures it didn't look so great. I was pleasantly surprised to see it was newly renovated and the room we were in was in great condition. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. Went to get water from the front desk and when the clerk found out I didn't have cash on me (was going to use debit) so she gave them to me for free. Very nice front desk service. Good location close to downtown.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised! We will be updating our website photos once our refurbishments are complete!
1 night family trip Aug 4, 2015
A Traveler
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Lot's of memories in Victoria"
Very noisy. Too many seagulls screeching all night helped along by a bunch of young men throwing food.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Gosh! We are so sorry to hear about the noise you experienced while you were here. We don't usually hear seagulls around the motor inn at night.
Other trip Aug 9, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Dated but comfortable and unexpectedly quiet."
Pet friendly (though NOT the courtyard rooms), great location, comfortable beds, terrific on-site diner for breakfast. Yes the motel is dated but they are refreshing the exterior -- I hope they redo the interior in a vintage 60's style with modern elements. It would suit the place and complement the diner's decor.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thanks for your review Brent. We are proud to share with you that not only are we refreshing the exterior but we are also refreshing our rooms. We hope that you will like the changes when you stay with us next.
1 night romance trip Aug 5, 2015
Brent
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to downtown- 15-20 minute walk"
Quite adequate, no air conditioning but supplied fan did the trick. Onsite restaurant was good.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thanks for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed the diner.
Other trip Aug 4, 2015
A Traveler
CA
2.0 / 5Fair
"Good location, for the price"
Hotel is what you expect for a motor Inn of this era, however with no AC it is uncomfortable, especially the courtyard rooms. Staff were friendly, lots of coffee shops in area and you can walk to harbour.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the Motor Inn. We are sorry to hear that you found your courtyard room to be warm. Until this summer, it seems, a fan was perfect for Victoria's moderate summer weather. We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that our temperatures have returned to their seasonal average.
Other trip Aug 4, 2015
Jim
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to Downtown"
Not anything fancy, an ok hotel that is close to downtown and walkable within many of the many of the attractions in the city.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 20, 2015
Peter
CA
3.0 / 5Good
The location is convenient . Walk to Chinatown ,downtown beach ,and parliament building .
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thank you Peter for your review, we are sorry to hear that you found your room to be warm. Until this summer, it seems, a ceiling or desk fan was perfect for Victoria's moderate summer weather. We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that our temperatures have returned to their seasonal average.
Other trip Jul 20, 2015
A Traveler
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Overpriced budget place"
Two things which are really disappointing: 1. No AC 2. Smelly room
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
We are sorry to hear that you found your room to be warm. Until this summer, it seems, a fan was perfect for Victoria's moderate summer weather. We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that our temperatures have returned to their seasonal average. We are currently renovating our guest rooms and we are sure that you will appreciate the changes on your next stay.
Other trip Jul 19, 2015
A Traveler
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Great parking walking distance from downtown"
Hotel did not have any air conditioning but the staff brought us a fan right away. Was close to downtown with great parking. Room was clean.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thanks Kevin for your review, we're glad we could get you that fan :)
4 night family trip Jul 4, 2015
Kevin
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Location"
The staff was fantastic & our room was quiet. Best hotel sleep I've had!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thanks Alison for your review, we are so glad that you had a great night's sleep.
Other trip Jul 13, 2015
Alison
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Too hot if no AC"
Not all Rooms have AC. Rooms ok. Old decor have fridge in all rooms. Ice machine. Just $50 security deposit for the whole stay. Paul Resturant retro look photo opts. Good food. A lot nicer with AC when hot. Walk to downtown.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thank you Raymond for your review, we are sorry to hear that you found your room to be warm. Until this summer, it seems, a fan was perfect for Victoria's moderate summer weather. We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that our temperatures have returned to their seasonal average. Louise - Guest Experience
5 night business trip Jun 14, 2015
Raymond
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Not all rooms have AC"
Not all Rooms have AC. Rooms ok. Old decor have fridge in all rooms. Ice machine. Just $50 security deposit for the whole stay. Paul Resturant retro look photo opts. Good food. A lot nicer with AC when hot. Walk to downtown.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Thank you Raymond for your review, we are sorry to hear that you found your room to be warm. Until this summer, it seems, a fan was perfect for Victoria's moderate summer weather. We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that our temperatures have returned to their seasonal average. Louise - Guest Experience
5 night business trip Jun 21, 2015
Raymond
CA
1.0 / 5Poor
"No AC, Lotsa Noise, No Service"
NO A/C!!! No elevator. No service. I asked how I was to cool my room in a swelter and was told to leave my room door open. Single female?!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Paul's Motor Inn
Hi Audrey, we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. You're right, as a classic motor inn we only have a flight of stairs that connects our ground floor to the second level. We are sorry to hear that you found your room to be warm. Until this summer, it seems, a fan was perfect for Victoria's moderate summer weather. We appreciate your feedback and are thankful that our temperatures have returned to their seasonal average. Louise - Guest Experience
3 night family trip Jun 21, 2015
Audrey
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
The room was very clean. Staff were friendly. It was a 15 minute walk to everything. The shuttle bus to the casino was great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 19, 2015
Doug
CA
3.0 / 5Good
No doubt it is an older hotel, however the staff is very friendly and helpful, due to changes in plans I had 3 one night bookings in a row. The staff was very happy to link the bookings to gather so I didn't have to check out and back in every day.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 31, 2015
A Traveler
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Loved it. Comfortable and within a short walk of all the best attractions.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 19, 2015
A Traveler
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Okay if you like motels"
Classically motel-styled place, with the doors and windows facing the parking lot, so if you want privacy you have to leave the curtains shut, and if you want quiet you have to leave the window shut. The room was a bit stuffy and quite smelly. The staff were very helpful, and helped me find a room for the next night at another hotel given that they were entirely booked up (Highland Games: the entire city was booked, I was lucky to find anything). I was awoken at 0720 on Saturday by a motorcycle starting right outside my window.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 18, 2015
Max
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"decent place to stay"
I stay here because the location is convenient for me, walking distance to everything and the price is reasonable off season. I enjoy the motel nature and not having to walk through a lobby to get to my room. The rooms are not modern and could probably use an upgrade but still are comfortable and clean.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Apr 14, 2015
Boyd
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
Really great location, walking distance from downtown. The staff were helpful with any requests that we had, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. For the cost, we were very happy with the stay that we had
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 12, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Clean and comfortable"
Stayed for 2 nights. The room was clean with a small microwave and a fridge which I really appreciate as I like to stick to my breakfast regime when travelling. The staff in the adjoining restaurant packed me up dinner to go and made sure I had cutlery. Definitely an excellent choice for a low cost establishment.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 11, 2015
A Traveler
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"overnight"
hotel room was clean,, bed really comfortable, hotel close to downtown stores breakfast in hotel was great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip May 5, 2015
Pauline
CA
2.0 / 5Fair
"It's Getting a Bit Run Down"
This hotel is close to downtown. It is a couple of blocks from Chinatown and it has free parking. The rooms have not been updated in a very long time, and while it's not unclean, it's not as thoroughly cleaned as I would like, and the age makes cleaning it that much harder. Put it this way: I'm a man who is not put off by much, and I was slightly uncomfortable.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip May 6, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Would stay again"
Friendly helpful staff,clean,comfortable,really convenient to downtown ,good stay
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends May 1, 2015
Marie
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Secure your property"
They need to have better security and cleanliness of their parking lot areas. Homeless people within the lot, piled up clothes discarded beside a garbage can right next to a stairwell.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip May 2, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good deal"
Didn't do more than sleep there. Quiet despite closeness to busy road. I'd come again
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Apr 25, 2015
Janet
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location and price."
Paul's is the perfect place for anyone travelling on a budget. The room is clean and comfortable but the staff is exceptional…. very accommodating and polite.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 21, 2015
Shirley
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Can't beat the price"
If you want a clean affordable place to stay in Victoria then look no further. Safe, clean, comfortable. Great location.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 13, 2015
like to explore
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Decent hotel for the price"
I lived across the street from this hotel for years and so had pretty low expectations going in. It looks like this place dropped in untouched from the 70s. Wood paneled everything, old furniture - for some reason we had a baby-change table in our room. The rooms are a decent size though, surprisingly had a flat screen tv and the requisite coffee maker. Hair dryer didn't work, but really for the price and location this is a decent, SAFE hotel option, unlike the others in the immediate vicinity.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 6, 2015
A Traveler
CA
2.0 / 5Fair
"cold/not too clean"
We arrived and the hotel front staff gave no help when we inquired about restaurants. Said she at'regular food' and had no idea where was somewhere we'd like. Ok that's fine. Room seemed ok, tacky decor, dusty but relatively clean etc. at night the gaps around front door made it cold and very noisy in room. A lack of warm/thick blanket made it hard to stay comfortable. Not a great time!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 3, 2015
Kate
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"nice hotel close to centre of town"
we went to visit family and hotel was clean and cheap
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 23, 2015
jeanette nigel
AU
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Can't really think of one!"
I was attending the Seniors' Expo at the George Pearkes Centre at Tillicum Mall, so it was just a brief one night stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Mar 9, 2015
Elizabeth
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good value"
Quiet, clean, an excellent value, well located.why would I want to add anything else
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 23, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Cheap alternative with good location"
The hotel is in a very good location, you can go waking from there to downtown which is great. The accommodation was decent for the paid price, the beds were comfortable and the room was cosy. The hotel is a little bit old, so some of the things are not new (like the old tube tv's for example, but at least there was cable and a lot of channels). One of the bath towels was not cleaned very well.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 23, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location to ....."
Great place, price, location. Close to downtown, china town & Save-on-foods arena
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 22, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"good location w/ parking, basic motel"
Paul's is just fine for a basic, economical place to stay in central Victoria. Just a few blocks from the central downtown, it features free parking. The staff was friendly & helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, certainly not lavish but providing all your basic needs (including free WiFi) at a great price. Comes with its own classic diner. Highly recommended for what it is.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 21, 2015
Bill
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Quick stopover"
One night trip to see a show
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Feb 12, 2015
A Traveler
CA
2.0 / 5Fair
"Pro's and Con's"
Paul's is a really convenient location for walking as it is close to everything downtown, however, the block it's on is a bit run-down. The person at the front desk was nice and friendly, the room was comfortable. It was, however, a little dodgy looking at times (probably because of the neighborhood) and we were really disturbed when we heard someone negotiating for what we think was a hooker/drugs outside our room. Pro's: - Free parking and can walk almost everywhere downtown - No extra charge for 4/room - Fit 4 fairly comfortably Con's: - Although very close to many nice parts of town this neighborhood felt a bit dodgy - Water pressure in the shower was bad - If you sleep with your window open it's pretty loud, and you might hear things you don't want to Overall it was an alright place to stay if you aren't spending much time in your room and aren't looking for a 'retreat'.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip with friends Feb 12, 2015
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Upgraded 50"s downtown motel"
This place is a pleasant surprise. I was looking for a one night bargain for a quick business trip, nd wasn't expecting much. However, the very warm welcome from attentive staff and the newly renovated clean room in this original 1950 classic motel was really nice. All very clean and right in the centre of Victoria, walking distance from everything. The only thing needed are more accessible pugs for a computer in the bedroom, but for the price Im not complaining. The restaurant is also an original 1950 's style place with very cool waitresses who must be descendants of the originals - cool and classic. The food was also wholesome and very good. - I has breakfast A throwback to good quality and friendly efficiency. Looks like dinner would be the same but I went to a Tapa Bar. Ill stay there again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 14, 2015
Michael
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Hookerville"
Location not very good, but for a one night inexpensive stay it was good.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Feb 5, 2015
A Traveler
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place."
Very nice. Rates were great. I'll be telling my friends and family what a great place.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jan 23, 2015
Aloyius
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Walking distance to Arena and downtown"
Satisfied all our needs, lots of hot water, comfy beds, had a great little restaurant, great deal on hockey games night. Rooms aren't fancy, but are very reasonably priced. Helpful staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 26, 2015
Deb
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Maid services needs some attention"
We stayed over the holidays and maid service was a bit non existent. There was articles left in the drawers from previous guests. One day just the garbage was taken out, beds weren't made. One clean towel was left.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip Dec 30, 2014
Les
CA
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place to stay in Victoria"
Went for a weekend getaway to this hotel we are very pleased with it although we did not spend much time in the room it was close to all the things you can do in Victoria like whale watching and other things for the price it's well worth it and check out there 50's restaurant great food it's attached to the hotel
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Nov 7, 2014
Leah
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good value"
Lovely staff, huge clean comfortable room, apart from the bed which was a bit uncomfortable.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Dec 21, 2014
Cameron
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"O.k. stay"
Not great but o.k.; close to downtown for walking; good restaurant adjacent.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 29, 2014
A Traveler
CA
3.0 / 5Good
"Slept like a log"
Staff was friendly
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Dec 17, 2014
Will
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very good for the price"
Just a n overnigher to visit family. The motel was fine,bed a little hard,but overall a good place for the money
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Dec 2, 2014
A Traveler
CA
2.0 / 5Fair
"very disappointing"
First room smelled of urine. Second room NO HEAT on a cold Nov. Staff did not attempt to adjust our bill or make any offers to us. When asked what they could do they said give us 10% off, then on check out recanted because we went through expedia. We'll never stay or recommend this place. There excuse was that it was a cheap motel, very possibly so but they should have said CHEAP MOTEL WITH NO HEAT IN THE WINTER.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 23, 2014
A Traveler
CA
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Victoria"
Great location. Good diner. Not so keen on the bed. Rooms nice and big
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Nov 14, 2014
A Traveler
CA
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews