All hotels in New York, New York, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
230 W 101st St, New York, NY, 10025, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
3.5 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 132 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    3.7
  • Service
    3.8
  • Comfort
    3.2
  • Condition
    3.2
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great value and location."
This was one of the cheapest hotels I could find on the Internet. I didn't expect much, but when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and the location was close to the subway. Perfect!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jul 10, 2015
Marivic
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice place for a good money"
My sister and I stayed there for 2 nights. The room was very small but clean. It was freezing at night so for the next one we asked for extra blankets. The staff was very nice and helpfull. The room didn't have any hooks for towels or chair. Just one small nightstand beetween the beds. It was hard to dry the towel overnight.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Jun 1, 2015
Magdalena
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Poor Management"
The location of Broadway hotel and hostel is just spot on! It is located close to the central park and is a mere two blocks south of the nearest subway (103 st) station which makes the downtown commute so much easier. The management however leaves much to be desired! I would like to share a personal example where the front desk nearly screwed up my early morning interview because they could not arrange one functional iron for me. After asking three times and waiting for three hours in vain, I was told by front desk to buy one form the neighboring Pharmacy and return it next morning. I felt shortchanged at that time because a. It was raining outside and b. I thought one of the staff could have easily arranged that iron for me (even from pharmacy) instead of smoking cigarette outside. Overall, a decent place for backpackers but not so much if you are in the city for professional reasons.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jun 1, 2015
Paritosh
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"My roommate was wonderful, I just didn't expect..."
So when they say mixed gender dorms they mean the actual room you will be staying in will possibly be with a person that is not the same gender as you. This is important to understand. I was fine with it, my roommate was VERY nice, it just needs to be stated a little more clearly for those who have never stayed in a hostel before. Bed was hard and I could feel EVERY coil. Other than that it was a good stay for the price.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip May 14, 2015
Melanie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Cant beat value"
Great value for the money, and location great
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Apr 14, 2015
Michael
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Convenient location, not luxurious but good enough"
It is a good location. Clean place. Nice staff. Better than most other equal places.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 13, 2015
Jackie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Just Enough"
Great value. Clean. Easy to find. Fantastic location. Definitely a new favorite when I'm in NY.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 7, 2015
Chris From SFO
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"manhattan eco hotel"
nice eco hotel close to subway
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Apr 4, 2015
kagan
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Hostel in poor condition"
It's a hostel and only $38 a night, so my expectations were low and I was unsurprised by the quality of this hostel. I'm used to staying in hostels, but have definitely had better hostel experiences. The room was kind of smelly, sheets were stained, mattresses were uncomfortable, bathrooms were tiny and shared by too many people. The bunk bed was really squeaky which made for several poor nights of sleep. I was there for a training at Columbia University and it was very convenient to the University and Subway. I have stayed in much better hostels in NYC and will not stay there again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Jan 7, 2015
Laura
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Hotel broadway"
My stay was for only one night, staff members where no very knowledgeable I had to go up 6 flight of stairs and they gave me the wrong room and not in a good way...but for me personally I have stayed in better.....make this place a last resort.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 3, 2015
Elle
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Efficient"
Affordable hotel. I had a single room and the room was clean and neat. The bed and sheets were comfortable. Room came with bed, towel rack/ coat rack, sink, night stand, tv, towels, and soap. The radiator was a bit noisy and windows were thin so heard traffic outside. Bathrooms where shared and was a few on every floor each with toilet, shower/tub, and sink and was clean. For what I payed for the room it was very worth it, defiantly not the nicest hotel but far from the worst. Defiantly worth it for anyone in their 20's that is on a budget. There was a cafe in the lobby that provided cheap breakfast foods and drinks. Staff was very nice and allowed me to check my bags after I checked out, the charge was $2/bag but they only charged me for one. Would say here again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 26, 2015
Dy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Highly Recommed"
Our stay was great. I would definitely book this hotel again and again in the future. The room was clean , a very nice size and the private bathroom was amazing.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Mar 12, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"It was close to transportation."
The bathroom was disgusting and the bed was itchy. Never again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 14, 2015
Elle
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Overall"
It was comfortable and cozy. The only problems I saw was the room was small and the locks need to be worked on.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Feb 27, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great location! Comfortable stay."
Great stay! And they upgraded our room for free to have an ensuite bathroom. Small room but perfect for New York in a great area!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jan 31, 2015
Thomas
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"ok"
Friendly staff, a lot of foreigners stay here, which is cool. All three TVs were connected so if the channel was changed then it changed on all of them, regardless of what room you're in. And I'm pretty sure the staff controls the TV, so you better like what they like or you're effed.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Feb 22, 2015
Richard
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Small but nice"
TV would not go on, but staff came quickly to correct
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 14, 2015
debra
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Place!!!!!"
The staff at the front desk were cool and knew how to get around city. Do not pay attention to the other reviews. This is just what nyc need cause of the price and the train station is 2-3 blocks away. This is a great place. Maggy and Marcell should be promoted cause those two work well together, and they are extremely friendly.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Feb 8, 2015
Eddie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hostel"
I stayed for seven nights. The only uncomfortable part was that the elevator was too small and slow. Otherwise, it is a great place to meet new people while you travel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
7 night trip Jan 16, 2015
Hangoon
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great place"
I stayed there for one night an it was amazing nice an clean place, staff was very friendly an lovely neighborhood
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 17, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Better than the first time"
This was my second visit to the hostel, the room was better, clean,
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Dec 29, 2014
Rosalia
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Small Hotel in Manhattan"
The room fulfilled our purpose of having a place to rest at night. There were some signs of deterioration (broken tiles, chipped tub, worn out rug) that didn't compromise the experience. But a really annoying issue was the TV image getting frozen after only 5 min of viewing, while the audio kept going. So I wasn't able to get the local news.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night family trip Dec 21, 2014
Samuel
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Emergency only or free"
the room was extra small
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Dec 21, 2014
Rosalia
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"GREAT HOTEL & FRIENDLY STAFF"
Loved the costumer service, I want to say MANY THANKS to all from the front desk who took care of me, all the doormen, and cleaning. I will definitely come back again. THANK YOU GUYS, HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Dec 13, 2014
Marco
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
a good place if you want to fun in NY and saving money
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Pleasant experience!"
If you're looking for a place to crash, this is a great hostel. I had a good time during my 4 day get away and I'll definitely stay here again if I have a chance to come back to Manhattan. The staff are friendly and polite. My room was clean and the room service was done daily without any complaints. The bathrooms are clean as well. The guy who I shared the room with was open to talk to and we had some good conversation despite the fact that I was first worried about sharing a room with a complete steanger. It was nice to meet another person who loves to travel just as I do from a different country. You will find some coffee shops, a multi purpose store, pretty good Chinese food and a subway station in walking distance as far as I know.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Dec 13, 2014
Tetsuya
US
3.0 / 5Good
Room was good for the price we paid. The only complaint was that it would get really cold at night. The heater seemed to turn off then.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"This was perfect for what we needed."
We had some qualms about whether this hotel-hostel could be too good to be true, but it really was fantastic. What we wanted and needed was some place a short, easy subway ride to Lincoln Center because we were going to see an opera that got out after midnight, and we did not want to pay the usual $300-500+ a night Manhattan rates, especially in the Central Park West area. After reading generally positive but a few mixed reviews, we took the chance. The staff was wonderful. They were courteous, friendly, and helpful about not just the usual checking in routine, but helping us check and store our luggage until we could check in later that evening, and directing us to the nearest parking garage. Our room was great. Although we were upgraded from a private room with a shared bath to a private room with a private bath, there were other rooms like the one we booked on our floor and they all looked clean and bright, and the shared bathrooms looked good even Sunday morning. Our room had a double bed, firm, no-frills mattress, a flat screen t.v., and hair dryer,etc. in the bathroom. There was no closet but there was a good-sized dresser and plenty of floor space to pile things on top of luggage. The place was, as we anticipated, full of mostly twenty-somethings from all around the world, who were delightful, and we heard no noise where we were on the 4th floor. Our bathroom was clean and bright. Yes, the rooms were small for the U.S. but spacious compared to most in Europe. Loved it.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 15, 2014
K.
US
2.0 / 5Fair
The room condition is just awful for the price paid.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 8, 2014
Aaron
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good location, reasonable price"
veryyy old, but they are currently repainting some areas so it should look better soon. they change the sheets everyday but the sheets and blanket are not comfortable. shower is old too but functional.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 28, 2014
jayjay
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"great value for the price"
The staff was super friendly. They accomodated my need to check in a little early and check out a little late at no extra cost. I stayed in a dorm room so one cannot expect too much. It was small but not tiny. It was warm and clean. The blanket was very old but it was clean and warm.The bathroom was close and clean. There was a sink in the bedroom. One thing that was not good: the towel was stinky. Maybe it had been left damp too long before washing. Other things that could improve but are minor details: I wish there were more hangers in the closet, and hooks in the bathroom. It would be nice if there were paper towels in the bathroom. Don't forget to bring your won padlock, as they have a locker in the room for your valuables. There is a subway station too blocks away. Overall great value for the price.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Nov 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great location."
Frayed carpet and bathroom tile in "Splash Room" in need of minor repairs.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 22, 2014
Xuan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Broadway Hotel anf Hostel stay"
It was great and the front desk was very accomodating
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Nov 16, 2014
Carlton G
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Room was cold with inadequate blankets. Very much over priced as was the use of the computers. Not as comfortable as some homeless shelters.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 20, 2014
Tom
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great service ... Nasty conditions"
Okay, the staff were very nice and friedly without a doubt. However, the hotel bad roaches and this was highly disturbing, The bathroom being shared for the entire floor didnt help either.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Oct 28, 2014
Jamal
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Spartan room with great sleeping comfort"
I arrived early but, the desk clerk was more than accommodating & checked me into a top floor corner room with no wardrobe to hang my clothes in. One was delivered later in the day. It's a bare bones, spartan room but, the sheets are first class and clean & the bed quite comfortable. The double pane windows keep it relatively quiet. The shower down the hall was not the best but, adequate. The elevator was under repair twice during my 4 day stay causing everyone to use the stairs! It was working when I needed to bring down my one heavy bag for check out. Sleep well here.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night trip Oct 25, 2014
Jimmie
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"not my first choice"
Noisy, bedside lamps not available, but clean room
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Oct 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"BAD PLACE"
This place said that they had Iron in the room, well they don't
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 16, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"You get what you pay for"
It's like a college dorm room except it is Very Small. The door is hard to lock and open and the shower is shared. Some bathrooms are better for showering than others but all has good water.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Oct 7, 2014
Gilbert
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Affordable clean place"
The hotel was good. The staff was Okay. The room were clean and spacious. The bath room was clean too. I would consider this option next time I am in NY.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 11, 2014
Jacqueline
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Good, efficient and clean. Thank you
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Oct 1, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Need a Make Over"
Hotel was a share with someone else (hostel) setup. The security/ bell man was very rude and threatened me after I checked in at 1 Am. He did not think that I should complain about the room accommodations. Another employee had to restrain him or he would have punched me. The guy became hostile because he did not know what the word facetious meant. The desk clerk handled the situation professionally. That bellman/security that night, should not work in the Hospitality Industry.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Thank you so much for your honest review. We will be investigating this matter further. We hope that had a lovely time in New York despite this significant complication with your stay.
3 night trip Sep 4, 2014
Bernard
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent value"
The staff graciously accomodated my request to check in a little early. The entertainment area in the lobby (group movie area, snack bar, ect) was refreshing. Starbucks is a block away along with hip restaurants and the metro. The rooms are clean and peaceful and my roommate was very polite and entertaining. This is the best hostel in new york of the dozen or so i've stayed in around manhattan. Great value. Looking forward to my next stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Thank you so much. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New York!
1 night trip Sep 9, 2014
Jason
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Never again"
The rooms do not have attached bathrooms. Hot water was not started until 8 AM.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Broadway Hotel and Hostel
We apologize for any issues you had during your stay with us. Thank you so much for your honest review. We are always looking for ways we can improve. We hope that you had a lovely time in New York.
1 night trip Sep 3, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location and extremely helpful staff"
We only stayed here one night, but the staff was very accommodating for all our luggage before and after we checked in and out. The room wasn't the most comfortable and we shared a bathroom with a couple other people, but definitely worth the money. The lounge area was great too, but we didn't get much time to use it
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 1, 2014
Carrie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very accessible and clean!"
This hostel was extremely clean! Although the building may be a bit small, they do a great job at maximizing space. The hallways are narrow but the rooms are very comfortable and air-conditioned. However, since it is NYC, you probably won't spend much time in the hotel itself. If you do, there is a large common area with a fridge and plenty of outlets to charge your electronic devices. The only downfall was that their beds were pretty hard. Stick a pillow under your knees to reduce pressure off your lower back, and this hostel will receive a 5!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Aug 12, 2014
Dani
US
2.0 / 5Fair
This is a nice place to stay if you are single and looking to have a good time in NY. Bunk beds too small and the area is definetly noisy. On the plus side though it's close to major attractions and souvenir shops
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Jul 31, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Very comfortable, clean hotel two blocks from metro station with everything you need nearby.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Jul 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"worth it for the money"
The hostel is very clean even the restroom. The staff are nice also and very helpful. Will definitely try staying here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jul 7, 2014
RJ
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
I enjoyed my stay. Will come back again. Next time I want a single room with my own bath & tv.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jun 23, 2014
C Fellows
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >