Awesome hotel in a great location. The major downfall is the bathroom. It's tiny! Only a shower, the toilet is right next to the vanity. The hallways are narrow so it's hard to move a luggage cart through. They charge you for parking. You can park underground but only if you vehicle can fit. We drove a pickup truck and we're too tall to fit into the […] parking area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"You Did Your Best, But Never Again, Holiday Inn..."
The room was O.K. but not good if you are taller than 6'. The bathroom was especially cramped for tall people where a very low ceiling over the basin (again, for those over 6') will be an obstacle. The shower is very narrow, because of the overall small dimensions of the bathroom. I was scheduled to stay two nights, but on the second evening a gang […] of college folks had rooms on either side of my room, slamming basketballs against the walls. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Holiday Inn Express St. Louis – Central West End. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay. I hope the front desk was able to help with the noise issue on your second night. We hope you choose to give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience if you are ever in the area again. Sincerely, A Shanahan General Manager
"Nice but don't count on the internet"
Chose this hotel because it was very close to where we were attending a function. The hotel is clean and modern. Our room was nice and comfortable. Only a few minor issues for not receiving 5 stars. The internet never would work for the IPAD or our wi-fi connection on our phones. I asked the front desk, they told us turn our devices off then on and […] try again. Did that, nothing. They have a pop up card in your room for "internet issues" and a phone number to call. That screams red flags it never works properly. You could login, then in 2 minutes it would kick you off. Very annoying when trying to look up places to visit while we were there. Breakfast had a good selection and I was very happy to see gluten free bagel as a choice. The only downfall, the gal setting up breakfast cursed many a times about another shift and people making messes. Not appropriate with children sitting there eating. Maybe just a bad day because there was a large snowfall, but check your profanity at the time clock. And lastly, the bathrooms. Although it was not an issue for us, it could be for larger individuals. I sat on the toilet and the entire right side of my body was against the sink/vanity. I am not a large person by any means. In fact I think the only person who could have sat there without touching the vanity is a child. Overall, the hotel was worth staying at, friendly staff (even the curser was friendly to people), it was clean and I had a restful nights sleep. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great location. Hotel room was small as far as bathroom goes. Had to be a contortionist to fit in shower and wash hair. Not a great design. Staff was great. If we would have not gotten a deal on room. Room was very cold. Had to run heat continuously. It made a horrible noise everytime it cycled. Would have been very dissatisfied. Probably won't stay […] again unless we get a steep discount. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am sorry to hear you had problems with the heat in the room and that you felt the bathroom and shower were small. However, we love to hear that the staff here is great. We hope you give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience if you are ever in the area again Sincerely, A Shanahan General Manager
"Good room - Tuna Can Bathroom"
Hotel is nicely remodeled. Staff is nice. The bathroom is the biggest let down. It's the size of a closet literally. You cannot stand and face the shower head without your shoulders scraping the wall and shower curtain. The toilet is up against the vanity on one complete side. I am a very short woman, and I had extreme difficulty moving around to go […] to the bathroom or brush my teeth. Room and bed were nice. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great location. Looks like they are still remodeling. Construction noise behind hotel was a little loud early in the morning.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We booked this room for an event at the Chase Park Plaza. It's literally across the street from the parking garage of the Plaza. New hotel. we were very pleased with our stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Would stay there again"
Both the evening and morning front desk staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Shower was a bit small and awkwardGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Pros and Cons"
This is always a super friendly and comfortable hotel. The staff goes out of their way to make your trip better. However, the parking garage is under construction and there was a water leak on our floor (away from our room). Neither affected my visit but I would have been embarrassed to have recommended the hotel to friends. We stay here because of […] the great location - love being able to walk to the restaurants in the Central West End Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End I am happy to hear that the hotel is comfortable and the staff is friendly. I'm very sorry that you had issues during your stay because of the water leak, but I am glad it did not affect your stay. We hope you will decide to refer your friends once we have fixed the issue with the water leak. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area. Sincerely A Shanahan General Manager
"Like a new hotel"
I'd stayed here before, when it was operated by a different chain. At that time it was dirty and very run down. I didn't realize it was the same place when booking. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see how it has changed. It was updated and very clean. I'll come back.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Clean hotel, great staff"
We had a teeny problem with our fire alarm at 4am but the desk attendant came and fixed it for us. This was nobody's fault!!! She couldn't have been nicer about the situation I really felt that the friendliness of all the staff made the stay that much better. Also hotel was clean and entirely nonsmokingGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great place I loved itGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Perfect Neighborhood but Rattling in the Night"
The Neighborhood is the MOST attractive note about this hotel. Staff was friendly. No Refrigerator in the Room and the vent was very loud kicking on/off and running. Difficulty sleeping through the night with the constant disturbance.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
fineGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"a few annoying cons"
It was a decent room, got the king sized bed that was nice. The heater was extremely loud in our room. If I wasn't a sound sleeper I would have hated it. No microwave and only 2 cups of coffee were included. The shower is small there was no way to shower without touching the shower curtain. The reception on or TV was really bad, terrible picture quality […] across all channels. Other than that the room smelled and looked just fine. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
GoodGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"3 out of 5 stars"
Nice room. The bathroom could have been bigger. You have the right idea, but the bathroom was way too small. I wasn't a fan of how close to my wet naked body the shower Curtain was. Is in cleaned with every guest? The breakfast was great and so was the service. The rear door was broken, meaning the key never worked from the outside. Minor inconvenience, […] but was inconvenient. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Does its job"
The room served its purpose of giving us a place to sleep. Comfy beds, but super tiny bathroom and a funky smell in the lobby. There was no receptionist when we arrived, and we had to wait about five minutes for someone to show up.Genuine Expedia guest review
It is happy and excited during the stayGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Lovey, lovely, lovely!!!!"
The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom very clean and neatly appointed. Nice walk in shower (albeit a bit small for two). The towels were so soft! The bed was so comfy! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I think it has been newly remodeled as the carpet is lovely and so are the walls. It is in the perfect location for visiting all the sights […] at Forest Park and the rate was decent. Also, they have a secure underground parking deck that is easy to access, and an elevator to access the inside hotel. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great location and neighborhood"
The hotel was clean and remodeled nicely. The location was perfect - zoo, City Museum, everything. Also, the bars around the corner had the best neighborhood vibe! Only negative, no pool but other than that our stay was perfectGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice area not so nice hotel."
This is the worst Holiday Inn we have ever stayed at. We only stay at Holiday Inn's when we travel, because we have always had good experiences. The only good things about the hotel are the area, its nice and close to all the attractions. There are a lot of little restaurants around, the beds are comfortable and free breakfast. The hotel parking was […] horrible, there is a small parking garage under the hotel that is creepy and being used to hold unsightly construction material, old carpet and toilets, there is construction going on behind the hotel that was really loud in the morning and woke me up, and made for a horrible view, there isn't a microwave or mini fridge in the room like there is in all the other Holiday Inn's we've stayed in. The bathrooms are SO tiny!! The toilet is right up against the sink counter and the shower is also very cramped. When you step out of the shower there is no room to dry off. We are slim people so I can only imagine how much harder it would be for a larger person. We would not stay in this hotel again in the future. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Your concerns are very important to us and we hope to have all construction material out of the park garage as soon as possible we are still completing the last finishing touches of the renovation. A Shanahan General Manager
"Nice area, needs attention"
Comfortable room, great area, good breakfast, but my room did not get cleaned and internet connection was spotty at best.Genuine Expedia guest review
"good location, Itty bitty bathroom"
The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Overall the room was clean. The bathroom was tiny (smaller than my closet) with exposed pipes. We ran out of toilet paper, and it took 45 minutes to get more. The hallways smelled weird due to renovations. Great neighborhood, and we were directed to some fantastic restaurants in walking distance.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great deal in the Central West End"
The staff was extremely friendly, pleasant, and nice. They were always willing to help whenever we needed something or had a question about the area. The location was pretty good as well. Close to multiple bars/restaurants on Euclid, and easy access to the zoo and other areas. The free breakfast in the morning was pretty good - some hot stuff, along […] with yogurt, fruit, etc. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Clean rooms, helpful staff, bad breakfast"
Stayed two nights in early November. We had been told at time of booking that the three of us (me, my husband and our son) would have to be in a room with a single king-size bed, but when we arrived, the desk clerk said room with two double beds was available. We were very grateful. Room was clean. Bathroom was tiny, and shower was so small it was difficult […] to even move in! Beds had pillowtop mattresses, which was nice, but mattresses might have been a bit old, as they seemed to collapse toward the center a bit. Lobby and hallways had an unpleasant Lysol-type odor, but the room did not. Don't bother with the free breakfast if you want healthy food -- everything offered is either processed, animal products or bruised fruit. Walk a block or two in either direction on Euclid (hotel is at corner of Euclid and Lindell), and you'll find numerous restaurants with much higher quality food. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
This hotel is great for a quick stay. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty small so an extended stay might be uncomfortable. The location is perfect. The staff is friendly. The hotel was just renovated so everything is still in great condition. It was a pleasant experience overall.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I stayed over night and it was very convenient by being within a few blocks of Barnes Hospital. And there were plenty restaurants nearby.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you felt our location was so convenient since we are close to Barnes Hospital and near many restaurants. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Saint Louis. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
"Improved but still needs work"
Maybe once they are finished with all of the remodeling work and get settled, things will be better but for now, the internet is very poor. I kept getting kicked off.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. We have now switched to a new internet company so the quality is much better. We hope that you will give us another chance and come stay with us again so we can provide you with an exceptional experience Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
The neighborhood around the hotel was adorable. Delicious eateries and many attractions within short driving distance. Hotel staff was friendly, room was clean, accomodations were overall more than adequate. Also, the price was not horrible.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your positive comments about the staff, the cleanliness, the price, and the location. We are delighted you had a nice stay. We hope we can welcome you back next time you’re in Saint Louis. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
Great area for the hotel. Small showers and odd smell but great breakfast. Can tell this is a remodeled hotel, but nothing bad about the stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Very recent refurb. Room were modern and comfortable. The carpet in the hallways has been replaced. Ample parking. Great location. Friendly staff.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am very glad that you have noticed some of the many changes that came with the renovation, such as the new hallway carpet. Also, I am very happy to hear that you felt the rooms were modern and comfortable, that we had ample parking, friendly staff, and were in a great location. We hope to see you again soon if you are ever in the Saint Louis Area. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The bathroom is really small, but otherwise, it was a nice stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I love that the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, that is what we like to hear. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience with the size of our bathrooms. We apologize for this inconvenience. However, I am glad that it didn’t keep you from having a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again soon if you are ever in the Saint Louis Area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
Was a great stay overall, the staff was excellent. The parking was the biggest Inconvenience, anybody that drives a standard pick up truck will understand. The garage gate was broke and their was no access to the parking garage, which had people parked all over.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the staff was excellent. However, I am very sorry to hear that you had such an inconvenience with parking. We have fixed our garage door so there is more parking now. We hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever in the area again. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
"New staff, old problems"
hotel was recently sold and refurbished and has a new staff. they were nice, but a bit clueless at times. first room was flooded (probably from a leaky bathroom) so we moved to another room. rooms are small, beds are small, and the bathroom was really small.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Your concerns are very important to us and we have addressed them. I would like to apologize for the experience you had with the small room. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Saint Louis area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
The air didn't work. We set the AC to 67 and woke up at 5 am and the temp in the room was 82 degrees. When I spoke with the front desk...they didn't even apologize or anything. Just wrote our room number down and said they would look into it. The breakfast was ok...they ran out of coffee and it took almost 30 min to get more. And another 10 min to […] bring out creamer. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I hope you can accept our sincerest apologies for the issues that you experienced while here, and we will be sure to follow up with engineering regarding the issue with the AC and our breakfast attendants regarding the coffee and creamer. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience if you are ever in Saint Louis again. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
It was good, if you wanna be close to downtown, it's just 8 mins cab drive from hotel. Clean and comfortable.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that our rooms are clean and comfortable. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the Saint Louis area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
Check-in took a long time. Apparently new employees were being trained and a new computer system was being implemented. Literally waited in line for half an hour and then took 15 minutes additional minutes to get checked in. The lady training the young man on the computer was terrible. I was worried he was going to quit in the middle of checking me […] in. I was charged $10 for parking even though free parking was advertised. The hallway had a strip club smell only not as good. The room was extremely hot so I turned on the a/c only to find out it was actually working as heat. The room temperature got to 84 degrees in the middle of the night. Maintenance advised me to prop the door open to the hallway. Yea right. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Location, Location, Location"
Positives: The location was perfect for us as I was playing chess at the nearby St. Louis Chess Center, one block away. Also convenient was the beautiful Cathedral-Basilica of St. Louis, two blocks away. The neighborhood was safe and scenic. Very pretty girls stroll along Maryland ave. where the Chess Club is located during the evening hours. The continental […] breakfast was served on time and was more than adequate. The price was good for the area. Negatives: Three of us stayed at the hotel. We asked for a rollaway when we booked and they told us "first come - first served. We asked when we got there if we could get a roll-away that night (Friday) of the next (Saturday) and were told that none were available. Our remote to the TV did not work and were given another bad one. One guy's card to the room did not open the door and was given a second one which did not work and he went back for a third one. After it worked and a second guy came back to the room he found out that his card did not work and he went down for another card. When he came back with the third card, it worked but the first two guy's keys did not work. When they went down they heard the mnanager utter, "She screwed up again....She can't do anything. Indeed, the lady needed training. The lines at the counter were almost unbearable and we heard three straight couples n front of us ask for towels for there room because there were none in the room. The lady told them that they did not have any and she did not know why they did not have any. We had towels but had no toilet paper and had to go back for that. There was one bottle of shampoo the first day. The second day we still had the two small bars of soap but this day we also got some skin and hair conditioner, which we did not have the first day. Conclusion: All in all, I would dfinitely go there again. I think it is the best we can do for the price. If they improved service, we would pay more. As the price was on April 14 and 15 of 2012, we intend to Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
There was not hardly any place for my dog to comfortably use the restroom. I think that if a facility is to allow pets then it would be best for them to have an area in which a dog can relieve him/herself. Also the pet policy should be stated online as well. The hotel tried to have us pay an additional 50 dollars for my pets stay and there was nothing […] said to us prior to booking or checking in. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Under staffed air conditioning didn't work no water in vending machine garage hard to get intoGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice Hotel, Usual quality for Holiday Inn"
Parking cost an additional ten dollars. It was a nice location of town and easy to access downtown and get to the ballpark and watch the game. It was the reason we were in town, but prices seemed jacked up for the weekend or because the Cards, Rams and Blues were all in town. Prices were definately steep compared to most Holiday Inns I have stayed […] in. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear our hotel was in a good location for you to get downtown. I am sorry that you felt prices were steep compared to other Holiday Inns. Prices vary based on activities in the area. We would love if you came to stay with us again if you are ever in the area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
"Great hotel & Location"
03/31/15 Philipp L
Great central spot with close proximity of shops, bars and restaurants in a safe neighbouthoud in St Louis. a beautiful parkk and free zoo nearby very suitable for a run, also good breakfast buffet in the morning..
"Was in town for the State Wrestling champions."
03/28/15 elonwil KC MO
Great Hotel set in a beautiful part of Old St Louis. Hotel easy to find. Clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Was a little disappointed that there was no fridge or microwave. Was traveling alone and did not want to eat out alone at did not want to go out to eat late on Friday and Sat nights. Other wise was very satisfied.
03/28/15 EVGR Petersburg PA
I could not get into my hotel downtown a day early so I looked for an alternative. I didn't know anything about St Louis but the reviews were good for this hotel and it was close to Forest Park that looked interesting. I took the train from the airport and walked a few blocks to the hotel. It was unassuming from the outside but the staff inside really impressed me right away. Friendly and helpful. The room was fine as well. As a single woman I felt comfortable out on the evening alone. Enjoyed the zoo and park nearby as well.
"Great value - neat area"
03/27/15 Frugal_In_IL Champaign, Illinois
We landed a super deal with IHG points and stayed two nights. This hotel is an excellent location near great dining, Barnes Hospital, Forest Park, etc. It is a refurbished older hotel. It has low ceilings in the bathroom. Since we are a short family, it worked ok for us. If you are a tall family - I think you would be uncomfortable in the room we stayed. A couple of small things that bugged me - no bathroom fan ( it got very steamy in there) - The water from the shower leaked onto the carpet just outside the bathroom and was constantly wet. We actually had a nice experience here, it is a very basic hotel with no extras, but for the frugal minded it is great. The room was fairly small, but adequate.
"Great location, nice hotel"
03/26/15 OKCgirl Oklahoma City
You can't beat the location of this hotel -- within walking distance to tons of restaurants and bars and the park. Everything is within a short blocks, so leave the car at the hotel and stretch your legs a bit. I stayed here a few years ago when it was the Comfort Inn and happily returned again with my family during a cross-country road trip. The room was large and clean, but perhaps the best part of the experience was the great complimentary breakfast the next morning. There was a hot buffet, cereals, fruit, yogurt, juices, and even a pancake maker -- good stuff.
"Recommended with reservations"
03/13/15 Ron S Mountain Home, Arkansas
We had a good stay after requesting room change. The first room was small, and the A/C noise was absurdly loud. The second was normal, quiet, and clean with a nice balcony. The breakfast omelet was meh but, on balance, there was plenty of choices. There is a parking charge. The location was excellent for us.
"Not the best HIE I've stayed at but not the worst either."
03/11/15 southwesttravel Poplar Bluff, Missouri
If you need a place to stay in the area it's location is great. We stayed here because we spent the day at the zoo and art museum. The location for with of these spots and for the cathedral can't be beat. The hotel itself is in pretty good shape. John at the front desk was great. The room was average. Quiet with comfortable beds with a desk and nice chair. We didn't have enough towels for 4 folks and there was no coffee condiment packages in our room. Not a huge deal but still a pain. Shower was small but had a great showerhead. All in all, if we were in the area we'd stay here again.
"Comfortable stay nearby Barnes Jewish Hospital"
03/04/15 David S O'Fallon, Illinois
The reservation process was quick and easy and our preferred room type was ready upon arrival. The rooms are small but nicely appointed. Our king had a comfortable chair and ottoman in addition to the standard small desk. The bathroom was clean and the towels fluffy. The desk attendant was friendly and helpful and welcomed us as IHG Gold members. The breakfast had something for everyone including biscuits and gravy, sausage and pre-made omelets in addition to cereals, fruit and yogurt. Although clearly fast-food items, they were quick and tasty. Free parking, underground and covered available. Nice choice if you have business near Washington University or Barnes Jewish Hospital.
"Gave our room away :( What's a reservation for???"
02/18/15 Katycat29912 Akron, Ohio
Upon arriving they said our room wasn't ready yet. So we left and ate then came back. When we returned, they graciously informed me that our room was booked and all rooms with double beds were booked as well. Really long story short - they gave us a room with one King bed (so me, my brother and his girlfriend had to sleep in the same bed). I'm pretty sure the room they gave us - kicked someone else out of their "reservation" as well...Lucky for us, the heater in room 208 made a loud crashing sound every time it cycled on and off. all. night. long...Bathroom is small and has no counter or shelving to set items on. Breakfast was just ok. The bed was clean and comfy so that's one good thing? It's updated which I liked as well...we will not be going back even though we have many stays ahead of us due to my father being in the hospital right on the same street :(
"Convenient and Clean"
02/15/15 annalea52 Des Moines, Iowa
I think this hotel was a Comfort Inn until recently. Although an older property the furnishings and bath seemed recently updated. Everything was very clean - the room, the hallways, and the breakfast area. There is underground gated parking with an elevator that takes you directly to your floor which is handy. They had a nice self-serve breakfast - there's even an automatic pancake machine. Very conveniently located in the central west end. One last thing, the ceilings in the hallway and parts of our room were unusually low. We're tall and they were okay but it might be a consideration if you're really tall.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )