All hotels in St. Louis, Missouri, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
4630 Lindell, St. Louis, MO, 63108, United States of America, ‏‎855-239-9222
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
3.6 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 84 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.9
  • Comfort
    3.7
  • Condition
    3.7
  • Neighborhood
    4.3
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great"
It is happy and excited during the stay
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Nov 16, 2014
Yueshan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Lovey, lovely, lovely!!!!"
The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom very clean and neatly appointed. Nice walk in shower (albeit a bit small for two). The towels were so soft! The bed was so comfy! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I think it has been newly remodeled as the carpet is lovely and so are the walls. It is in the perfect location for visiting all the sights at Forest Park and the rate was decent. Also, they have a secure underground parking deck that is easy to access, and an elevator to access the inside hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 20, 2014
ME
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location and neighborhood"
The hotel was clean and remodeled nicely. The location was perfect - zoo, City Museum, everything. Also, the bars around the corner had the best neighborhood vibe! Only negative, no pool but other than that our stay was perfect
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Nov 15, 2014
Elsie
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Nice area not so nice hotel."
This is the worst Holiday Inn we have ever stayed at. We only stay at Holiday Inn's when we travel, because we have always had good experiences. The only good things about the hotel are the area, its nice and close to all the attractions. There are a lot of little restaurants around, the beds are comfortable and free breakfast. The hotel parking was horrible, there is a small parking garage under the hotel that is creepy and being used to hold unsightly construction material, old carpet and toilets, there is construction going on behind the hotel that was really loud in the morning and woke me up, and made for a horrible view, there isn't a microwave or mini fridge in the room like there is in all the other Holiday Inn's we've stayed in. The bathrooms are SO tiny!! The toilet is right up against the sink counter and the shower is also very cramped. When you step out of the shower there is no room to dry off. We are slim people so I can only imagine how much harder it would be for a larger person. We would not stay in this hotel again in the future.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Your concerns are very important to us and we hope to have all construction material out of the park garage as soon as possible we are still completing the last finishing touches of the renovation. A Shanahan General Manager
2 night romance trip Nov 14, 2014
Elizabeth
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice area, needs attention"
Comfortable room, great area, good breakfast, but my room did not get cleaned and internet connection was spotty at best.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 15, 2014
Jean
US
3.0 / 5Good
"good location, Itty bitty bathroom"
The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Overall the room was clean. The bathroom was tiny (smaller than my closet) with exposed pipes. We ran out of toilet paper, and it took 45 minutes to get more. The hallways smelled weird due to renovations. Great neighborhood, and we were directed to some fantastic restaurants in walking distance.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Oct 28, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great deal in the Central West End"
The staff was extremely friendly, pleasant, and nice. They were always willing to help whenever we needed something or had a question about the area. The location was pretty good as well. Close to multiple bars/restaurants on Euclid, and easy access to the zoo and other areas. The free breakfast in the morning was pretty good - some hot stuff, along with yogurt, fruit, etc.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
We love our Team! Thank you so much for the kind words. Our Hotel is located in one of the most prestigious areas in St. Louis can you believe all the great restaurants and shopping! We’re really proud of our property and so appreciate the time you took to review our property. Should your travels find you back in our area, we sure hope you’ll stay with us again.
2 night trip with friends Nov 8, 2014
Alexa
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Clean rooms, helpful staff, bad breakfast"
Stayed two nights in early November. We had been told at time of booking that the three of us (me, my husband and our son) would have to be in a room with a single king-size bed, but when we arrived, the desk clerk said room with two double beds was available. We were very grateful. Room was clean. Bathroom was tiny, and shower was so small it was difficult to even move in! Beds had pillowtop mattresses, which was nice, but mattresses might have been a bit old, as they seemed to collapse toward the center a bit. Lobby and hallways had an unpleasant Lysol-type odor, but the room did not. Don't bother with the free breakfast if you want healthy food -- everything offered is either processed, animal products or bruised fruit. Walk a block or two in either direction on Euclid (hotel is at corner of Euclid and Lindell), and you'll find numerous restaurants with much higher quality food.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Nov 7, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Decent"
This hotel is great for a quick stay. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty small so an extended stay might be uncomfortable. The location is perfect. The staff is friendly. The hotel was just renovated so everything is still in great condition. It was a pleasant experience overall.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Nov 8, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
I stayed over night and it was very convenient by being within a few blocks of Barnes Hospital. And there were plenty restaurants nearby.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you felt our location was so convenient since we are close to Barnes Hospital and near many restaurants. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Saint Louis. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
Other trip Oct 31, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Improved but still needs work"
Maybe once they are finished with all of the remodeling work and get settled, things will be better but for now, the internet is very poor. I kept getting kicked off.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. We have now switched to a new internet company so the quality is much better. We hope that you will give us another chance and come stay with us again so we can provide you with an exceptional experience Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night business trip Oct 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice Stay"
The neighborhood around the hotel was adorable. Delicious eateries and many attractions within short driving distance. Hotel staff was friendly, room was clean, accomodations were overall more than adequate. Also, the price was not horrible.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your positive comments about the staff, the cleanliness, the price, and the location. We are delighted you had a nice stay. We hope we can welcome you back next time you’re in Saint Louis. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night romance trip Oct 17, 2014
Marjorie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"good hotel"
Great area for the hotel. Small showers and odd smell but great breakfast. Can tell this is a remodeled hotel, but nothing bad about the stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Oct 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"New carpet"
Very recent refurb. Room were modern and comfortable. The carpet in the hallways has been replaced. Ample parking. Great location. Friendly staff.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am very glad that you have noticed some of the many changes that came with the renovation, such as the new hallway carpet. Also, I am very happy to hear that you felt the rooms were modern and comfortable, that we had ample parking, friendly staff, and were in a great location. We hope to see you again soon if you are ever in the Saint Louis Area. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night trip with friends Oct 18, 2014
Thomas
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent service"
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The bathroom is really small, but otherwise, it was a nice stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I love that the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, that is what we like to hear. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience with the size of our bathrooms. We apologize for this inconvenience. However, I am glad that it didn’t keep you from having a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again soon if you are ever in the Saint Louis Area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night business trip Oct 16, 2014
Michael
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Was a great stay overall, the staff was excellent. The parking was the biggest Inconvenience, anybody that drives a standard pick up truck will understand. The garage gate was broke and their was no access to the parking garage, which had people parked all over.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the staff was excellent. However, I am very sorry to hear that you had such an inconvenience with parking. We have fixed our garage door so there is more parking now. We hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever in the area again. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night trip with friends Oct 11, 2014
Justin
US
3.0 / 5Good
"New staff, old problems"
hotel was recently sold and refurbished and has a new staff. they were nice, but a bit clueless at times. first room was flooded (probably from a leaky bathroom) so we moved to another room. rooms are small, beds are small, and the bathroom was really small.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Your concerns are very important to us and we have addressed them. I would like to apologize for the experience you had with the small room. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Saint Louis area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night family trip Oct 10, 2014
Jon
US
3.0 / 5Good
"disappointed"
The air didn't work. We set the AC to 67 and woke up at 5 am and the temp in the room was 82 degrees. When I spoke with the front desk...they didn't even apologize or anything. Just wrote our room number down and said they would look into it. The breakfast was ok...they ran out of coffee and it took almost 30 min to get more. And another 10 min to bring out creamer.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I hope you can accept our sincerest apologies for the issues that you experienced while here, and we will be sure to follow up with engineering regarding the issue with the AC and our breakfast attendants regarding the coffee and creamer. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience if you are ever in Saint Louis again. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night trip with friends Oct 11, 2014
Jessica
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Holiday Inn"
It was good, if you wanna be close to downtown, it's just 8 mins cab drive from hotel. Clean and comfortable.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that our rooms are clean and comfortable. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the Saint Louis area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
Other trip Oct 13, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not good"
Check-in took a long time. Apparently new employees were being trained and a new computer system was being implemented. Literally waited in line for half an hour and then took 15 minutes additional minutes to get checked in. The lady training the young man on the computer was terrible. I was worried he was going to quit in the middle of checking me in. I was charged $10 for parking even though free parking was advertised. The hallway had a strip club smell only not as good. The room was extremely hot so I turned on the a/c only to find out it was actually working as heat. The room temperature got to 84 degrees in the middle of the night. Maintenance advised me to prop the door open to the hallway. Yea right.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 13, 2014
Tommy
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Minutes from downtown."
Stayed there overnight on the way to and from Branson, MO. When we got there the first night, on a Saturday, the fire department was there. Apparently someone was stuck in the elevator. Consequently a lot of confusion in the lobby. Also, there was a long line waiting to check in. To top it off, someone in front of us had a problem with check-in that took 20 - 25 minutes to resolve, and, there was only one person at the front desk. She was doing her best, but there should have been at least two at the front desk, especially during check-in time. Also, the elevator service was not restored for several hours resulting in guests having to use the stairs. However, once checked-in, the room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was good. On the way back from Branson, it was a completely different experience. We got there before check-in. However, the front desk girl, (same one as on the way down), got us in early and upgraded our room. Room was the same as before, except had a strong odor of disinfectant. Unfortunately, this caused some breathing problems that led us to leave early (5:00 AM) the next morning. A good thing about the hotel is that it is located only a few blocks from some very nice restaurants, (Herbies, LLewyn's Pub, etc.) Highly recommend both, although there were several within walking distance giving plenty of variety. Sounds like a not so good experience, but considering everything, it was OK. I would probably stay there again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 14, 2014
Jim
US

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

1.0 / 5Poor
"Please don't stay here."
Not much to say about. Just horrible service and horrible room condition (a lot of hairs, messy bed sheet, terrible role away bed, etc.,). Even the room was not ready when we were checking in.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
I am so sorry you experienced less than great service. We strive to make every Guest that stays with us a memorable experience and we fell short. Thank you for taking the time to review our historic Hotel. I will alert the service Team of your sleeping room issues and inspect the roll-away beds. My apologies for a less than wonderful stay and appreciate the feedback. Marianne Rogers Director of Sales
1 night family trip Aug 1, 2015
Jeong Ho
AS
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice Hotel, Usual quality for Holiday Inn"
Parking cost an additional ten dollars. It was a nice location of town and easy to access downtown and get to the ballpark and watch the game. It was the reason we were in town, but prices seemed jacked up for the weekend or because the Cards, Rams and Blues were all in town. Prices were definately steep compared to most Holiday Inns I have stayed in.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear our hotel was in a good location for you to get downtown. I am sorry that you felt prices were steep compared to other Holiday Inns. Prices vary based on activities in the area. We would love if you came to stay with us again if you are ever in the area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night family trip Oct 11, 2014
Chad Nelson
CA
3.0 / 5Good
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 19, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jun 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 13, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Apr 2, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Mar 15, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Dec 14, 2014
Chris
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Oct 28, 2014
Juan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night trip Oct 15, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip May 27, 2015
A Traveler
CA

The following reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Nov 13, 2014
A Traveler
FR

TripAdvisor reviews for Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End

Overall rating:Based on 52 traveler reviews

Most recent traveler reviews:

Overall Rating
"Great location but that is about all"
08/23/15 Amistad1234
We were moving our son into WashU and wanted a hotel close to campus. We chose this hotel based on location and past experience with HI Express. The location was very convenient to campus and also within easy walking to several great restaurants on Maryland Ave. But the hotel itself is an aging property and recent "renovations" (as well stated in other reviews here) were mainly very cosmetic and basically an attempt to put a good face forward. Lipstick on a pig comes to mind. We paid for and stayed in a "larger" king room. While the room did have a few more square feet, the bathroom was very tiny. Very cramped and hard to maneuver around with just one person. Carpet was very dirty and needed to be replaced. Never tried the breakfast buffet. Not much interaction with staff.
Overall Rating
"Once was not enough"
08/18/15 MistralGrenoble2010 North Carolina
We booked this hotel as a stopover on a more extensive trip. It is well situated in a nice neighborhood within walking distance to some nice restaurants. Very safe feeling with nice surrounding architecture. The staff are professional, and the rooms are clean and quiet. Usual breakfast fare, but when staying, it is nice to be able to eat and get on with your vacation, rather than having to locate an outside restaurant. I was surprised that $5 parking was added on top of the bill. It's not like it's central city, but that's not as bad as some city hotel's $15 charge. On our return trip home, we decided to check out some of the attractions we had missed on our trip out, so we booked another night here and were glad we did.
Overall Rating
"Convenient location"
08/18/15 Robert S Leavenworth, Kansas
The location in the central west end is very convenient to the Forest Park attractions (Zoo and museums) and is a short walk from the MetroLink. While there is no restaurant at the hotel there are plenty of restaurants in the area, ranging from fast food to fine dining. Rooms were clean.
Overall Rating
"In a great part of town"
08/16/15 Sagebrush Kamloops
An easy walk to light rail transit downtown and located in a trendy area filled with good restaurants this is a great choice. The parking is relatively cheap ($5) and breakfast and wifi are included. Great location if you are going to an event. The pancake machine operates into the evening and made for a great late night snack on our return after a baseball game.
Overall Rating
"NEVER STAY HERE! BED BUGS!"
08/12/15 Amber H
We stayed here for a quick one night stop over on our road trip East and never will again. First of all, when we checked in, the guy gave us a parking pass and didn't say anything about a parking fee ($5, which they at least removed after I said something about it) and he told us breakfast was until 10AM (it was actually 9:30 and we missed it). Second, parking was terrible. There are a finite number of very small spots. We came back late in the evening and had to squeeze our SUV into the very last spot in the garage. You can see where lots of cars have hit and scraped against the walls in there. Third, the bathrooms are extremely small with a tiny shower. All of that aside, fourth is why I decided to leave this review. They gave us a room with two beds. They were so tiny, my boyfriend and I slept separately. Unluckily for me, mine was infested with bed bugs! The next day, I took off my shoes and was horrified to see my feet were covered with extremely itchy red bites. I had never seen anything like it. A quick search to my horror matched all the symptoms of bed bugs! I washed everything I had packed at our new hotel. The itching was unbearable and lasted for the entire week of our vacation. Since I purchased the room through Hotwire, I immediately contacted them about the bites from the hotel and wanting a refund. They said they tried to get a hold of the hotel but couldn't, which seemed odd to me. Then, days later, they got back to me and said the hotel said everything was fine and they wouldn't be giving us a refund. Well that's nice that they think everything is fine! I am officially done with Hotwire as well after this experience. Avoid this hotel at all cost!
Overall Rating
"Very mixed opinions"
08/03/15 Natalie H
My primary complaint is that the wifi doesn't work and no one on staff (though friendly) has any idea how to fix the problem. Connects fine, loads for a few seconds to let me know it should work, then quits. I cannot get any work done. Major hiccup in my stay. Secondly, the bathroom is gross. Moldy caulking in the tiny shower. There is only one "large" safe deposit box - big enough for a laptop - and it is in use by another guest. Defeats the purpose of the warning in the room to lock up all valuables. No mini fridge available, my fault for not reserving when booking? Maybe there is only one of those as well? On the other hand, there were gluten free bagels at breakfast, although the cream cheese wasn't restocked and there was an hour left to breakfast service. Location is great. Parking is secure but in a stinky, loud garage. Price was less than comps in the area. Nice courtyard and everyone was super friendly. If I didn't need wifi, I could live with the rest. Website doesn't have contact information for me to voice these concerns to mgmt.
Overall Rating
"DO NOT STAY AT THIS FACILITY"
08/02/15 SIBoiler2 Carterville, Illinois
I have a history of being a fair reviewer so take this review at face value. No person should ever stay here again. Spent last night there with my wife. This was not close to my first choice but all Drurys and Hamptons were full. Cardinals at home plus a lot of other things going on in summertime St L as usual. The location was good for our plans and the website claimed it was newly renovated. Throwing new furnishings into poorly designed rooms is not renovation. That's cosmetic covering. HIE has apparently tried to turn an old building into something that it is not. It can be done. For reference look no further than the Drury at Union Station to see what can be done with an old structure to make it modern and usable. The bathroom was TINY and had only a shower with poorly installed calking and was so narrow that I could not stand facing the shower head completely due to the narrow space. I will give them that the water pressure was good and the fixures were decent. One of the attractions to staying at HIE is the availability of a breakfast that is consistent from location to location with some hot items on the menu. Service on Sunday is from 7-10 AM. At 9:25 many items were running short and there did not seem to be much concern from the staff about restocking. My wife went to get biscuits and gravy but there were no biscuits and they were never replaced. There were some items that could best be described as omelets that obviously were microwaved. I had one and it was decent and warm. There were sausage patties in the same warming area and they were the temperature of cold cuts. Later they brought out more of the omelets and my wife brought one to the table and remarked it seemed much thicker than the one I had had earlier. She started to take a bite and found it was still frozen in the middle. At this point I took her cold sausage and frozen omelet to one of the management staff and he was apologetic but made no effort to fix the problem that existed in the dining area. As I returned to table and looked around I saw multiple people with virtually untouched food items due to them being underprepared. I pointed out to the management person that improper heating of food items could contribute to a variety of illnesses without much response. He later came and offered to "make me a plate." I questioned him on just why this would fix the problem and why it would be fair to other guests without response. We travel quite a bit. Over the years we have come to love Drurys but their coverage is not extensive enough for all our travels and began to use HIE with generally good results. Recently we have started to use Hamptons as well. While Hamptons are generally a little more pricy tha HIE I have yet to have an experience in any mid-range hotel that rivaled last night in St Louis. The LAST NIGHT I will stay with HIE.
Overall Rating
"Cards weekend "
08/02/15 marmishka Colorado Springs, Colorado
Came to see the Cardinals. The hotel is nice. I won't write much about the tiny bathrooms, because they are tiny, but it's been addressed in many reviews before. So if your hotel requires a luxurious bathroom, this place is not for you. Walking distance to shops and restaurants, just a short drive to Forest Park and Busch Stadium. The staff was nice and friendly, and their breakfast was pretty nice.
Overall Rating
"Pleasantly surprised at what an overall nice hotel this is!"
07/27/15 kenfr Effingham, Illinois
The location is ideal for touring sights at Forrest Park, The Basilica, Botanical Gardens, or if you have someone at Barnes/Jewish Hospital ! The front desk and housekeeping were extremely friendly and courteous , the rooms were clean and nicely updated! The property smelled very fresh. Breakfast was great, even though it was a full house and it's difficult to keep everything supplied. But they did. Only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that the workout room needed work. One treadmill out of three was broken and another did not work well. No pool. But overall I would stay in this area and at this location without hesitation.
Overall Rating
"A compromise hotel"
07/25/15 eric j Kenosha, Wisconsin
The location of this hotel is very attractive, close to the Basilica, the Forest Park, Zoo, and many other interesting parts of St Louis. But it is a compromise hotel. Because of size limitations the rooms and particularly the bathrooms are very small though clean. The AC sounded like a jet taking off and was not responsive at times. We and many other customers had to wait a few hours past normal check-in time to enter our room because the room was not ready. The counter staff were helpful but overall, a compromise hotel.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews