All hotels in St. Louis, Missouri, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
3.7 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 75 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.1
  • Service
    3.9
  • Comfort
    3.8
  • Condition
    3.8
  • Neighborhood
    4.3
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Clean rooms, helpful staff, bad breakfast"
Stayed two nights in early November. We had been told at time of booking that the three of us (me, my husband and our son) would have to be in a room with a single king-size bed, but when we arrived, the desk clerk said room with two double beds was available. We were very grateful. Room was clean. Bathroom was tiny, and shower was so small it was difficult to even move in! Beds had pillowtop mattresses, which was nice, but mattresses might have been a bit old, as they seemed to collapse toward the center a bit. Lobby and hallways had an unpleasant Lysol-type odor, but the room did not. Don't bother with the free breakfast if you want healthy food -- everything offered is either processed, animal products or bruised fruit. Walk a block or two in either direction on Euclid (hotel is at corner of Euclid and Lindell), and you'll find numerous restaurants with much higher quality food.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Nov 7, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Decent"
This hotel is great for a quick stay. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty small so an extended stay might be uncomfortable. The location is perfect. The staff is friendly. The hotel was just renovated so everything is still in great condition. It was a pleasant experience overall.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Nov 8, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
I stayed over night and it was very convenient by being within a few blocks of Barnes Hospital. And there were plenty restaurants nearby.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you felt our location was so convenient since we are close to Barnes Hospital and near many restaurants. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Saint Louis. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
Other trip Oct 31, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Improved but still needs work"
Maybe once they are finished with all of the remodeling work and get settled, things will be better but for now, the internet is very poor. I kept getting kicked off.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. We have now switched to a new internet company so the quality is much better. We hope that you will give us another chance and come stay with us again so we can provide you with an exceptional experience Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night business trip Oct 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice Stay"
The neighborhood around the hotel was adorable. Delicious eateries and many attractions within short driving distance. Hotel staff was friendly, room was clean, accomodations were overall more than adequate. Also, the price was not horrible.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your positive comments about the staff, the cleanliness, the price, and the location. We are delighted you had a nice stay. We hope we can welcome you back next time you’re in Saint Louis. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night romance trip Oct 17, 2014
Marjorie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"good hotel"
Great area for the hotel. Small showers and odd smell but great breakfast. Can tell this is a remodeled hotel, but nothing bad about the stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Oct 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"New carpet"
Very recent refurb. Room were modern and comfortable. The carpet in the hallways has been replaced. Ample parking. Great location. Friendly staff.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am very glad that you have noticed some of the many changes that came with the renovation, such as the new hallway carpet. Also, I am very happy to hear that you felt the rooms were modern and comfortable, that we had ample parking, friendly staff, and were in a great location. We hope to see you again soon if you are ever in the Saint Louis Area. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night trip with friends Oct 18, 2014
Thomas
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent service"
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The bathroom is really small, but otherwise, it was a nice stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I love that the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, that is what we like to hear. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience with the size of our bathrooms. We apologize for this inconvenience. However, I am glad that it didn’t keep you from having a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again soon if you are ever in the Saint Louis Area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night business trip Oct 16, 2014
Michael
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Was a great stay overall, the staff was excellent. The parking was the biggest Inconvenience, anybody that drives a standard pick up truck will understand. The garage gate was broke and their was no access to the parking garage, which had people parked all over.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the staff was excellent. However, I am very sorry to hear that you had such an inconvenience with parking. We have fixed our garage door so there is more parking now. We hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever in the area again. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night trip with friends Oct 11, 2014
Justin
US
3.0 / 5Good
"New staff, old problems"
hotel was recently sold and refurbished and has a new staff. they were nice, but a bit clueless at times. first room was flooded (probably from a leaky bathroom) so we moved to another room. rooms are small, beds are small, and the bathroom was really small.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Your concerns are very important to us and we have addressed them. I would like to apologize for the experience you had with the small room. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Saint Louis area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
2 night family trip Oct 10, 2014
Jon
US
3.0 / 5Good
"disappointed"
The air didn't work. We set the AC to 67 and woke up at 5 am and the temp in the room was 82 degrees. When I spoke with the front desk...they didn't even apologize or anything. Just wrote our room number down and said they would look into it. The breakfast was ok...they ran out of coffee and it took almost 30 min to get more. And another 10 min to bring out creamer.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I hope you can accept our sincerest apologies for the issues that you experienced while here, and we will be sure to follow up with engineering regarding the issue with the AC and our breakfast attendants regarding the coffee and creamer. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience if you are ever in Saint Louis again. Sincerely A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night trip with friends Oct 11, 2014
Jessica
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Holiday Inn"
It was good, if you wanna be close to downtown, it's just 8 mins cab drive from hotel. Clean and comfortable.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that our rooms are clean and comfortable. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the Saint Louis area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
Other trip Oct 13, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not good"
Check-in took a long time. Apparently new employees were being trained and a new computer system was being implemented. Literally waited in line for half an hour and then took 15 minutes additional minutes to get checked in. The lady training the young man on the computer was terrible. I was worried he was going to quit in the middle of checking me in. I was charged $10 for parking even though free parking was advertised. The hallway had a strip club smell only not as good. The room was extremely hot so I turned on the a/c only to find out it was actually working as heat. The room temperature got to 84 degrees in the middle of the night. Maintenance advised me to prop the door open to the hallway. Yea right.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 13, 2014
Tommy
US

The following English reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice Hotel, Usual quality for Holiday Inn"
Parking cost an additional ten dollars. It was a nice location of town and easy to access downtown and get to the ballpark and watch the game. It was the reason we were in town, but prices seemed jacked up for the weekend or because the Cards, Rams and Blues were all in town. Prices were definately steep compared to most Holiday Inns I have stayed in.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express St Louis - Central West End
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear our hotel was in a good location for you to get downtown. I am sorry that you felt prices were steep compared to other Holiday Inns. Prices vary based on activities in the area. We would love if you came to stay with us again if you are ever in the area. Sincerely, A. Shanahan General Manager
1 night family trip Oct 11, 2014
Chad Nelson
CA
3.0 / 5Good
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jul 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jul 19, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jun 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jun 13, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Apr 2, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Mar 15, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Dec 14, 2014
Chris
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Oct 28, 2014
Juan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night trip Oct 15, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip May 27, 2015
A Traveler
CA

The following reviews were posted by hotels.com guests from other countries:

4.0 / 5Excellent
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Nov 13, 2014
A Traveler
FR

TripAdvisor reviews for Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End

Overall rating:Based on 46 traveler reviews

Most recent traveler reviews:

Overall Rating
"Very mixed opinions"
08/03/15 Natalie H
My primary complaint is that the wifi doesn't work and no one on staff (though friendly) has any idea how to fix the problem. Connects fine, loads for a few seconds to let me know it should work, then quits. I cannot get any work done. Major hiccup in my stay. Secondly, the bathroom is gross. Moldy caulking in the tiny shower. There is only one "large" safe deposit box - big enough for a laptop - and it is in use by another guest. Defeats the purpose of the warning in the room to lock up all valuables. No mini fridge available, my fault for not reserving when booking? Maybe there is only one of those as well? On the other hand, there were gluten free bagels at breakfast, although the cream cheese wasn't restocked and there was an hour left to breakfast service. Location is great. Parking is secure but in a stinky, loud garage. Price was less than comps in the area. Nice courtyard and everyone was super friendly. If I didn't need wifi, I could live with the rest. Website doesn't have contact information for me to voice these concerns to mgmt.
Overall Rating
"DO NOT STAY AT THIS FACILITY"
08/02/15 SIBoiler2 Carterville, Illinois
I have a history of being a fair reviewer so take this review at face value. No person should ever stay here again. Spent last night there with my wife. This was not close to my first choice but all Drurys and Hamptons were full. Cardinals at home plus a lot of other things going on in summertime St L as usual. The location was good for our plans and the website claimed it was newly renovated. Throwing new furnishings into poorly designed rooms is not renovation. That's cosmetic covering. HIE has apparently tried to turn an old building into something that it is not. It can be done. For reference look no further than the Drury at Union Station to see what can be done with an old structure to make it modern and usable. The bathroom was TINY and had only a shower with poorly installed calking and was so narrow that I could not stand facing the shower head completely due to the narrow space. I will give them that the water pressure was good and the fixures were decent. One of the attractions to staying at HIE is the availability of a breakfast that is consistent from location to location with some hot items on the menu. Service on Sunday is from 7-10 AM. At 9:25 many items were running short and there did not seem to be much concern from the staff about restocking. My wife went to get biscuits and gravy but there were no biscuits and they were never replaced. There were some items that could best be described as omelets that obviously were microwaved. I had one and it was decent and warm. There were sausage patties in the same warming area and they were the temperature of cold cuts. Later they brought out more of the omelets and my wife brought one to the table and remarked it seemed much thicker than the one I had had earlier. She started to take a bite and found it was still frozen in the middle. At this point I took her cold sausage and frozen omelet to one of the management staff and he was apologetic but made no effort to fix the problem that existed in the dining area. As I returned to table and looked around I saw multiple people with virtually untouched food items due to them being underprepared. I pointed out to the management person that improper heating of food items could contribute to a variety of illnesses without much response. He later came and offered to "make me a plate." I questioned him on just why this would fix the problem and why it would be fair to other guests without response. We travel quite a bit. Over the years we have come to love Drurys but their coverage is not extensive enough for all our travels and began to use HIE with generally good results. Recently we have started to use Hamptons as well. While Hamptons are generally a little more pricy tha HIE I have yet to have an experience in any mid-range hotel that rivaled last night in St Louis. The LAST NIGHT I will stay with HIE.
Overall Rating
"Cards weekend "
08/02/15 marmishka Colorado Springs, Colorado
Came to see the Cardinals. The hotel is nice. I won't write much about the tiny bathrooms, because they are tiny, but it's been addressed in many reviews before. So if your hotel requires a luxurious bathroom, this place is not for you. Walking distance to shops and restaurants, just a short drive to Forest Park and Busch Stadium. The staff was nice and friendly, and their breakfast was pretty nice.
Overall Rating
"Pleasantly surprised at what an overall nice hotel this is!"
07/27/15 kenfr Effingham, Illinois
The location is ideal for touring sights at Forrest Park, The Basilica, Botanical Gardens, or if you have someone at Barnes/Jewish Hospital ! The front desk and housekeeping were extremely friendly and courteous , the rooms were clean and nicely updated! The property smelled very fresh. Breakfast was great, even though it was a full house and it's difficult to keep everything supplied. But they did. Only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that the workout room needed work. One treadmill out of three was broken and another did not work well. No pool. But overall I would stay in this area and at this location without hesitation.
Overall Rating
"A compromise hotel"
07/25/15 eric j Kenosha, Wisconsin
The location of this hotel is very attractive, close to the Basilica, the Forest Park, Zoo, and many other interesting parts of St Louis. But it is a compromise hotel. Because of size limitations the rooms and particularly the bathrooms are very small though clean. The AC sounded like a jet taking off and was not responsive at times. We and many other customers had to wait a few hours past normal check-in time to enter our room because the room was not ready. The counter staff were helpful but overall, a compromise hotel.
Overall Rating
"Saint Louis Staycation"
07/16/15 marcar2411 Saint Louis, Missouri
We needed a place to stay during a home remodel. I have previously enjoyed HI Express' (what's not to like about warm cinnamon rolls). This one explored the bottom depths of the chain. The hotel marquee said "Newly Renovated". Amazing how a newly renovated shower could have so much newly installed mold and mildew. Amusingly, the tile shower had a drain at one end but the tile low point was in the center resulting in a sort of a perpetual pond. Still, one could look forward to the cinnamon rolls? Except Saturday and Sunday the hotel was full of guests and empty of staff. When we arrived, the choices were toast, juice and hot water. No effort to replenish the service and certainly no apologies. This, admittedly, got better by Tuesday. Avoid this hotel, there are better choices nearby.
Overall Rating
"Doesn't quite hit the mark"
07/08/15 vbnet Mt. Prospect, IL
Bed was good but it's an old building that's been renovated and with many old buildings come problems that can be fixed. While the room was quite spacious (we had a larger kingsize room) the bathroom so small and the ceiling was lower than the rest of the room. It felt like walking into a refrigerator box. Breakfast was ok. The typical lobby type breakfast with adequate variety. Front desk staff was nice but could not help when 2 boxes of crate and barrel Christmas ornaments that I was transporting went missing. They were in a shopping bag with a 1/2 bag of chips on top and the whole thing went missing. Oh yes, they took my name and called to acknowledge the problem - never to be heard from again. I did not follow up as I simply won't return.
Overall Rating
"Home away from home"
07/01/15 KM L Chicago, Illinois
This hotel is perfectly located - right near downtown, Forest Park, the Botanical Gardens - oh my goodness, too many awesome restaurants to even begin to list. I highly recommend staying in this hotel's suite. It's spacious, clean, and has a fridge and two televisions. I was able to comfortably work in one room while my family rested in another. The bathroom is small, but Holiday Inn didn't originally build this hotel... it was owned by another hotel chain initially. So, Holiday Inn has definitely taken advantage of all the space the bathroom does offer, making it an adequate space. Even though I might have to bring extra face towels when I come, I will definitely stay here every time I visit St. Louis!!
Overall Rating
"Over rated "
06/14/15 tdmcmain
We came to town for the cards game. We were informed we could check in at 3 we showed up at 230 thinking we get an early check in to no avail, no problem with that. We said we will pare and ride the metro to the game. When we come back after the game Vanessa at the front desk is very rude asking if we had pared a car before we checked in. I explained yes he did but we had cleared it with the morning lady. As we proceeded to check in I received the bill and there was no corp or AAA discount when I asked about this she was very frank saying we don't do that. I explain that I travel and use them all of the time and everywhere else does. But we moved on and she angry explained the "many amenities" the hotel offered. As we were heading to the elevator I mentioned that I thought she was cranky and another gent who checked in prior to us piped up to agree. Upon getting into the room I found out that 6.5' is not a good height I have to duck to use the sink or fit in the shower. The AC barley worked and was the loudest thing I have weber heard while trying to sleep at night. Lastly upon check out the manager asked about my visit I said it was sub par and he shrugged it off like it was nothing. I have said all of that to say the play is over priced and not friendly to tall folks. Also the staff could not care less about you or your comfort. I would strongly advise to stay elsewhere.
Overall Rating
"Bad Experience!"
06/07/15 gkschwart Missouri
Have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express across country and always felt positive after stay. This location and personnel was quite bad. The desk clerk was flippant at best and the person in the morning breakfast room was downright surly. In addition to personnel problems, this was supposedly a remodeled site. The bathroom was very small with cracked tile in the shower and dirty grout between the tile. Finally, there was no mention of a charge for parking but we were charged $5 to park and I still don't know why as we parked our car on the provided lot. Have written to the Holiday Inn but no response. Would not recommend a stay there.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews