This hotel is very cute. It does need some work but our room was clean. We liked the quiet location off of the main street that goes through town. Yet we were able to easily walk to all of the stores. Biggest objection was the compact fluorescent light bulb hanging out of the wall sconce in the bathroom next to the mirror. It was not the correct bulb […] for the fixture and not only looked ridiculous but made it impossible to see what I was doing because of the glare. Had to use the window light to get ready. Also, if you have trouble navigating a flight of steps with luggage in your hands, make sure you don't get a room on the 3rd floor. There is an elevator to the 2nd floor but nothing to the 3rd floor. Breakfast was free/included but was terrible. Go somewhere else in town and start your day off right. All in all, we might stay here again. But if we come through again, we might try another hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Wine Valley Inn Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and your appreciation for our unique design and great location. I am sorry the lighting in your room was not adequate and more important it was not even the correct bulb. We have many of the same room types on all floors so on your next may I suggest requesting a room on the 2nd floor room. If that is not available we would be happy to assist with your luggage to any room. When your travel plans bring you back to Solvang, it would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you once again. Respectfully Sandy, GM Wine Valley Inn
"Cute place--a bit outdated."
We had a room on the third floor--elevator only goes to the second floor. In the evening there are no lights on the staircase. The room was comfortable and clean. The part of the hotel where we ate breakfast was not air conditioned, and there are no bathroom facilites in the near area. I had to go to the gym--not air conditioned--to use the bathroom. […] It is centrally located which is nice. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Wine Valley Inn Thank you for sharing your experience at Wine Valley Inn. Although I am very pleased you happy with your guest room, I am sorry to hear this did not extend throughout your entire stay. Since the power outage and excessive heat wave, all electrical has been restored to the third floor and air-conditioning units repaired in both the breakfast room and gym. I look forward to having you as our guest again and can assure you your stay will be a more pleasant experience. Respectfully Sandy, GM Wine Valley Inn
The hotel was nice and the rooms great. Only drawback was the delayed check-in and the long wait to get a room. We waited over an hour and they had assigned all rooms, we had to go back and remind them we were still waiting. Then an hour later, another couple opened our door; apparently they were given the same room as we were.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
This was my first time is Solvang, I loved the Inn, Very Cozy, Staff helpful, Lovely morning breakfastGenuine Expedia guest review
"lovely cottage style"
We booked last minute and the staff from hotels.com helped us with the booking over the phone. It was efficient. What is more exciting is the room we got was just lovely, located the first floor of a cottage style building. It was quiet, close to everything, and had parking space just outside of the door. It was a great experience.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not as nice as reviews said!"
The king room was cramped, carpet dirty, A/C left clothes feeling damp, Vanity area lighting dim, shower head mounted for very short people! The bed was comfortable and sheets nice. Towels OK. Parking on site Is limited. We parked on the street as the public lot across from hotel Posted no overnight parking.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Wine Valley Inn Thank you for taking the time to let me know how your stay was, I am very sorry to read of your disappointment. I will share this with our team so we are sure to step up our room inspections and monitoring all guest room equipment to ensure they are good working condition. Being a boutique hotel, Wine Valley Inn has a variety of room types to choose from. On your next visit may I suggest a Village Deluxe King; this would definitely give you more room and a larger shower. Respectfully Sandy,GM Wine Valley Inn
We had a wonderful & relaxing stay at the hotel. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the landscape was beautiful. The hotel was within walking distance to the shops and several wine tasting shops. We would stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Perfect hotel for a weekend away"
Great little place for a weekend getaway. Close to shops & restaurants.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel was very convient. Manager wasvery accomodating allowing us to check in early. Room was nice and clean.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Wine country trip"
Large comfortable room on 3rd floor with some stairs up to the room. Also there was a landing down to the bathroom in the room which could have been a problem for some in the middle of the night. Not a problem for us and the room was huge and a very comfortable bed. Great staff and full standard serve yourself breakfast. Would stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"a hidden gem"
Set up like and old Dutch town. Many great a shops great food many things to visit in the areaGenuine Expedia guest review
"Stay somewhere else"
This place is horrible. The air-conditioner clanked the entire time. We complained to the front desk, they were completely indifferent. Old rooms that haven't been updated since the hotel was originally built. The free breakfast is fake eggs and cold sausage. Go somewhere else.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Get-Away Hotel"
I love the Wine Country Inn. I have stayed there three other times and am always satisfied. The location is perfect, the staff is great, the breakfast is great. My only complaint is that there are some maintenance issues that the hotel will need to take care of soon - the stairs are pretty rickety and the walls are super-thin.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"nice hotel / close to alisal river course golf /"
very comfortable / dinner at solvang brewing co was excellent / breakfast was good. wine tasting was excellentGenuine Expedia guest review
"An amazing stay"
The hotel is neatly decorated and the location is fabulous.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"HAD A BLAST"
Solvang is a great little town, lots of fun. This Hotel was in the perfect location and our room was comfy and clean.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Only issue - facuet in tub looked like it was ready to fall out of the wall. Also could not take a bath because the drain stopper was broken.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Service was high-standard"
Service was high-standardGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Quaint and Relaxing"
This hotel is not the newest or quietest but it is very charming and low-key. The staff is friendly, they provide a complimentary hot breakfast and the location is excellent.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice location - Room substandard"
Hotel staff was friendly, but not knowledgable about area. Although rental bikes were available, they were not able to suggest where to ride, for example. Hot breakfast was hot, not tasty. Environment outside our room was well maintained. Parking was ample. Overall it was nice to be in the middle of Solvang, but the price for that room was too much […] . Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Perfect location but small room"
We had a regular room but was really small and outdated. We could hear the people above us, stomping etc. The bathroom had really low showerheads and super outdated with no fan in the bathroom. It felt very claustrophobic in the room. We were under the impression that they had a hot tub, but not for people in regular rooms, just cottages I believe. […] The toaster was broken so huge line at breakfast waiting for one side of the toaster. The location was perfect, they allow dogs, and the staff was wonderful - sorry that is all the nice things I can say about this place. Will not stay again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
The only problem we had was the wireless inter-net was very slow or weak. The employees were very friendly, helpful, and professional. We would not hesitate to come again!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Quaint with thin walls"
Quaint and clean but disappointed at level of noise from neighboring rooms. Would suggest a room on the second floor. The room with 2 queen beds was a bit cramped but ok. Biggest issue was the noise. Thankfully brought earplugs. Good location.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Perfect for a romantic weekend"
Such an adorable inn and very conveniently located to all of the sites in Solvang! The staff was wonderful, especially the woman working in the wine bar. In fact, the Inn was so adorable that my boyfriend decided to propose that evening in our room, instead of waiting to propose at a winery the next day (his original plan)! Now it looks like we will […] be making a yearly trip back to celebrate :) Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel in the heart of solvang"
Great location and staff. Free bfast every mrn. The only thing that the hotel lacks is a pool/jacuzzi.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Everything was great!!!!!"
We only stayed 1 night. Wish we planned for longer. We will be back and this hotel will see us again. Thank you.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
This hotel was more than I expected, the price was great and the room was more awesome, it had its own patio to sit out and enjoy breakfast, large bathtub, comfy king bed. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good too. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and will stay here again when we're in town.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A little neat hotel in Solvang"
The 'Wine Valley Inn' is great little hotel but nothing special either. It has a certain romantic/cozy look and feel to it, and it's location just off the main road in Solvang makes it a great location to explore the town center. The room we had was a dark as the only windows were on the walk way side, the only negative about the room was the air-conditioner […] which was really loud. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"PERFECT LOCATION - WALKABLE TO EVERYTHING"
Loved it. We chose Wine Valley Inn because we had our dog with us but after staying there, we would stay again with or without a dog. The location is absolutely perfect. Staff very helpful and pleasant. We consider it a great find.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Best hotel for the price in Solvang"
This is an excellent hotel especially for the price. I have never had such a good experience for so little money. The morning breakfast is delicious and plentiful, the rooms are as clean as a five diamond hotel, and the staff is kind and helpful. Several outdoor areas are pleasant to sit and enjoy the koi fountain. We will definitely stay here agai […] n. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"A Great Little Getaway"
The staff were amazing espcially when they knew we had arrived early to do a wine tour. Because they had rooms available they got us checked in which was important because we had our dog with us. Also we got complimentary upgrade! Highly recommended place to stay and visit!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Stay! Even better location!"
Great hotel in Solvang! Very quite and a very short walk to all stores and shops! Paid $99 a night and couldn't be happier!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great for a couple of days"
Enjoyed my stay. Hotel was in a good location. Staff were knowledgeable about the area and very accomodating. Room was adequate, breakfast was good. Overall pleasant stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"not for families with kids"
very noisy and very thin walls. not adecuate for families with kids..Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great Stay, Terrible Bed..."
Wonderful location and amenities, highly recommend a top floor room or a Cottage as the old wood resonated loudly when people walk outside or above you. The bed was too soft and left both my wife's and my back aching. Complimentary breakfast was as expected; frozen, thawed then heated and served. We passed on breakfast the 2nd and 3rd mornings. Hotel […] staff was friendly and the wine Happy Hour with cheese and crackers was very nice. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location in Sovag"
The exterior is great! Feels like you are really in Denmark. The room itself was a bit tiny and old! The age resulted in the corresponding smell. Fine for 1 night or even less.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Wine Valley Inn Thank you for sharing your experience at Wine Valley Inn, your comments are very important to me. Although being an older property has a special charm and ambience all its own, I would like to apologize for falling short in providing the clean freshness you expected during your stay. I will share this with my team to ensure we improve our housekeeping efforts to present a crisp and welcoming room on your next visit.
"A dogs place."
There were dogs in the rooms, in the lobby, in the wine bar area, and in the dining area. Not recommended if you have concerns about this.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Wine Valley Inn Good Evening Dickie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will share your comments with our Front Desk staff so we may inform our guests in advance of their reservation that we are a pet friendly hotel. Sincerely, Casey Klein Assistant Manager Wine Valley Inn
"Great place to stay"
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Solvang for a few days. It's in a great location and you can walk to anything you need. We stayed here for an anniversary trip and it was great because the grounds are very well kept and they had an outside fire place where we could sit and drink our wine each night. Everyone was friendly […] and our room was very nice, it looked like it had been recently remodeled. I did think that it was a little bit over priced for a weeknight stay and for the size of our room (it wasn't much bigger than the king sized bed). The only other down side is that there is no pool or hot tub. Overall, it was a great place though and their breakfast is really good. We would definitely stay there again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"happy, people were pleasant, polite and profession"
Comfortable, relaxing, employees eager to help and assist.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good not great experience"
My wife and I celebrated our eleventh anniversary at The Wine Valley Inn. We chose this location because we needed a place that was pet friendly. Several couples had their pooches. The hotel, the staff and the city of Solvang were great. I would have rated this place higher if they could verify if the room carpets were clean. I suspect not because I […] know my little pup left a few mistakes and we did take care of them but what about those people who aren't? I imagine that the dark colored carpet were in fact disgusting and probably rarely ever cleaned. Now this is only my opinion. We walked around in our room with our shoes on most the time. Other than that everything worked the rooms were clean and the people were friendly. Check out Yelp for good eats too. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Quaint but outdated. Horrible problems with water pressure, temperature and faucets that were too forceful.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Wine Valley Inn Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Wine Valley Inn. I am sorry to hear you encountered some maintenance issues in your room and our customer service fell short when you needed our assistance to correct them. I will share this with our team with the goal to improve upon both so you will not be disappointed on your next stay. I am very pleased you were able to enjoy one of our fireplace patios while you were here with your friends; it is a wonderful way to spend the evening.
Enjoyed it after having our room changed from the 3rd floor when we couldn't unlock the door. Shouldn't put older people on that floor when there is no elevator and we had to carry our own luggage up a flight of stairs. We were changed to the second floor and liked our room very much. Great room especially if staying for an extended period of time. […] Wish we could have stayed longer than one night. Next time! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Nice hotel, great location, and nice ammenties for the class it is in--in other words great hotel for a 3- star. It's older and decorated as such but, clean and nice. And they do a great job on breakfast. And have a (not complimentary) happy hour.Genuine Expedia guest review
Our stay was great with a few minor situations. One, the air conditioners could stand to be updated or serviced to work better. We stayed in 2 different rooms and the a/c was less than good. The plumbing was a little concern as the water pressure was not that great. The management could possibly consider raising the shower heads as they are considerably […] low. Other than those things, the hotel was good. The location was great and the breakfast was very good. We would stay again but would love to see these improvements. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Excellent Location & Great Room"
The hotel is right in the middle of town and the staff was very friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast was very nice and the coffee was first-rate.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We loved it here because we had a very nice room. The other rooms weren't so nice but very clean. The other rooms were kinda dark and lacked warmth. Sandra was so accommodating and a super nice person. We would go back if we could get the same room.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
they used very disgusting pillow. Pillow's zipper was very poor. it was not zipped completely due to that it cut my elbow. When i took a look what cut me it was the zipper and found mold inside it...I do NOT recommend this hotel. Please stay elsewhere.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Wine Valley Inn Thank you for letting me know the condition of your pillows, I can assure you this is not the standard of Wine Valley Inn. Please accept my sincere apology that you were offered these pillows and pillow covers to use for a comfortable night’s sleep. We will do a full linen inspection to ensure we find and destroy everything that is not in quality condition.
Check-in was fast and easy until we got to our room and discovered there was another couple inside...we had to return to front desk where staff apologize but it was a dissapointing first impression. Hote is charming but needs more maintenance, carpet was dirty and room was smelly. In my opinion the overall experience is not worth the price.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very cool shape to the rooms. Also, spacious with nice TV, shower, and fire place. Central location put us right where we wanted to be in Solvang. We shall return.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Very nice and all places were near"
my stay was excellentGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )