They try to sell you on time shares after check in. The room was not ready on time. Having only one night stay at the hotel, we weren't able to check in until 5 pm and checkout was at 10 am with no ability to extend the check out time. The staff provided little help for restaurant recommendations after stating we weren't interested in time shares. The […] room's TV did not work, overall there are better hotel options. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Lovely but not interested in the hard pitch ."
Great place, beware though they try to sell you timeshare.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very clean spacious rooms. Slightly outdated.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. Although considered slightly outdated, we ensure that we are continuing on our ongoing commitment to making appropriate enhancements to the resort regarding the refurbishment of our units as needed. We sincerely hope that in spite of this, you did enjoy everything else about the resort. Thanks again for writing!
"very convenient location"
overall good, but very slow check-inGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location, pool, gym and hot tub!"
We had a great time! I had seen the reviews that the rooms were out of date - which is definitely true. Our refrigerator did not work and hot water ran out in about three minutes. We also had a service man enter the room without really explaining why........ But it is a beautiful setting, great pool/hot tub and work out facilities. Great location - […] can walk to restaurants. I would go there again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Nice villa style rooms"
Nice, clean, cozy rooms, good location in Sedona. I was a bit miffed at being sent over to the concierge for a 'gift' after checking in and receiving a pitch for a time-share or something of that nature (I didn't stick around to hear the details).Genuine Hotels.com guest review
There were a lot of highs and lows, so sometimes we were satisfied and sometimes frustrated. 1.) When we checked in, we were three hours early. The staff was accommodating and got us into a room right away. That was the best service we had all weekend. They sent us to a Concierge who tried to sell us another weekend stay. The spa staff gave us conflicting […] information and were rude and also confused whenever answering questions. 2.) The location of the hotel is weird. It's in the beautiful Tlaquepaque square, a VERY touristy center of town. It's surrounded by upscale art galleries, fancy boutiques, and a few overpriced restaurants. Just getting into the hotel is an exercise in patience- you have to battle some serious traffic. 3.) Finally, our room was clean, big, with a full kitchen and beautiful balcony. We were, however, located at the very edge of the property, across the street from a private residence with a barking dog. So, I guess my final word is that it is probably the most affordable spa in Sedona, but perhaps not the very best. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa We are grateful to you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate your comments and will focus on addressing the negatives and embracing the positive aspects. We do hope that you had an overall pleasant experience however and maybe you will consider visiting us again in the future.
The location was right where we wanted to be, & all the amenities were there. However, the room was stifling hot when we arrived, & there was a bug crawling around in the bathroom (& an odd smell). We were only there for one night, so it was bearable after we opened all the windows. Based on the 4pm check-in time & the 10am check-out time, I was not […] happy being charged an additional $15 resort fee, although I knew it was their policy. I probably will choose another place to stay if I have to be in the area overnight again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Room suite was tiny. We ran out of hot water. Only reversed the suite (not), because of red rock fantasy. It was cancelled. My guess is time share owners didn't wasn't to front cost. Can't blame them, not like they make any holiday cash off it. The place is becoming a sink whole.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa We are saddled to read of your disappointment that Red Rock Fantasy has been discontinued and of your impressions of our resort following your recent stay here. We recognize that Red Rock Fantasy has been a big part of the community for 22 years. However, the homeowners association for Los Abrigados can no longer absorb the full cost of this event as it has done in the past. We have offered to provide the naming right for the event, and help defray the costs working for any city or community partner who would like to create a holiday light festival. We look forward to our continued participation in the Sedona community and to your next visit to the resort if you do decide give us another chance and stay with us again in the future that we will deliver on our commitment to providing you with the Simplicity, Choice and Comfort that you deserve.
The best part was how close everything was! I also loved the heated pool and hot tub. The rooms were spacious, nice, and accomodating. The staff was friendly all the time and went out of their way when I needed something. The location was also right in the middle of everything which was so useful! It's understandable that their appearance is a bit messy […] during the day but that is only because of the construction/remodel, which will benefit them so greatly when it is done! Can't wait to go back Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great place to relax"
Have been visiting this hotel for years. Always a wonderful experience. Went for a spa weekend this time to relax. The sugar wrap at the spa was amazing!!!! Planning another trip next year. Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Close to shops"
Our first night was awful in that the room we got was not at all what was described and pictured on the site. It was a cottage across the parking lot behind the tennis courts. It took us forever to find it as we had to go through a wooden gate. The room had a wood burning stove (of which we didn't use) that made the room smell like a campfire all night. […] The bed took up almost the entire room and we had to plug the coffee pot in the bathroom. It was an old depressing area. So the next day, I went and got changed to another room that was part of the hotel. It was a very nice room with a bedroom and kitchenette. Allie who was who helped us and she was very accommodating and apologized for the smoke smell and the inconvenience. All the staff were very pleasant. If you want a service in the spa/salon, make sure you book before you go as I called on Tuesday and they didn't have any openings until Friday which was the day we were leaving. Other than that the place was nice. We didn't use the pool but heard it was a great pool. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Very nice hotel everyone was very pleasant"
Clean rooms staff very friendly great experienceGenuine Expedia guest review
Room and bathroom were small, cleaning was sporadic, i.e., made bed one of five days in stay, no wifi or computer space in room.Genuine Expedia guest review
We paid as hotel guest. This is a vacation timeshare. In our four day stay we did not get our room cleaned or linens. We could have paid additional! Also, no internet and we needed to go elsewhere for internet. We paid for our room in advance and were charged resort fees. YUK! It was not a positive experience.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Rooms are very outdated and parking is horrible."
The staff was very friendly and the grounds are pretty. Also being walking distance from the Oak Creek Brewery was very nice. And the bed was comfortable. Other than that our room was outdated, it looked like it was still in the 80s. Moth and spider in the room. Very limited parking which was stressful. And in the small print they charge a mandatory […] $15/day resort fee extra. We didn't use anything at the resort, so I don't agree with places doing this and feel it should be optional. We drive up to Sedona and stay at least once a year, but won't stay here again mostly because of the outdated rooms and the resort fee. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Los Abrigados Resort did not quite meet your expectations. We have made numerous strides in refurbishing both our accommodations and common areas here at the resort. Since Diamond Resorts has taken over management, we have replaced furniture and flooring, installed new Wi-Fi equipment, painted the exterior, repaired sidewalks and the main pool, and installed new blue ray DVD players in each unit. In addition, for 2014, our Homeowner’s Association (HOA) has approved a Refurbishment project, starting in 2014, in which we will be repairing the tennis courts, improving the lighting in the accommodations, and replacing amenities such as kitchen items. The resort fee you describe is advised to you prior to your booking, and is a mandatory fee, regardless of whether you use the services this fee covers or not. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
"great spot great location"
love staying at this place when in sedona usually a good place for the priceGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Our stay at this hotel was absolutely wonderful, there is so much to do in the hotel area, the room was very clean, had all the comforts of home, we would definitely recommend it to family & friends. We will definitely stay at the hotel again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Experience of Home away from Home only with Spa and great service.Genuine Expedia guest review
Front desk was very helpful when there was a snafu with our car rental. Food service at the outside bar was incredibly slow.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Dated hotel -spa facial best I ever had!"
Dated rooms! No daily room cleaning service! Having to ask for fresh towels. Vending machine outside room broken! On a positive note very close to our daughters home, we were able to walk. The gardens and outside views beautiful. The pools were very warm and inviting for a mid oct swim!Genuine Expedia guest review
I only stayed one night, but I think this would be a particularly nice place to stay if you were in Sedona with a family for a longer stay. They have lots of amenities on site and are pretty conveniently located, although I still drove into the main drag of Sedona.Genuine Expedia guest review
We had never been to Sedona and just found this on Expedia. We only needed a place to sleep as we spent nearly every other moment in town or hiking. That said, we didn't use any of the resort amenities. The room we had was fine but nothing special. If you are there to use the resort then it is probably great. Otherwise, find a nice bed elsewhere.Genuine Expedia guest review
The room rates are way out of line, for what is offered. The registration people did not seem to be wanted to be bothered, on two occasions we approached the desk when know one was in line or at desk and we were told by the two persons to "JUST A MINUTE" we had to wait until they were thru doing what seemed to be nothing, at least they could have looked […] up and recognized us standing there. We talked to other guests who said same thing regarding their stay. We wont be coming back, we so looked forward to staying at your resort, seeing that we make at least 3 trips a year to Sedona. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
We were very pleased with our large room. The staff was great got us in our room early with out a problem. The location is perfect the grounds are very well maintained, nice to just stroll around the area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
It was the best resort we have ever stayed at !!! Service was AWSOME !!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"I was paying hotel rates"
I was paying hotel rates and they did not clean the room every. I was there for 4 days and they did not clean the room onceGenuine Expedia guest review
"Beautiful grounds but rooms are dated"
Took forever to check in, only 2 people at desk on a weekend and lots of people. I love this resort but Diamond Resorts needs to spend money to update the rooms. My door stuck to where you had to force your body against it to open the door. No rugs on the floor, felt cold and institutional. The inside doesn't match the beauty of the outside for the […] price you pay. Was a little ticked off nobody told me the main pool was under contruction and the "kiddie" pool only one available. My idea of a nice swim is not in a pool with screaming kids. But again, the grounds are second to none and by Telaquepaque is perfect. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Past its prime"
Dont waste your money on this resort. Old,dated, and a time share pitch made this a far from pleasant choice. What a mistake.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa We are very sorry that your room did not meet expectations. While it is true that several of our rooms do need updating, we should never have a room that does not meet cleanliness standards. We have passed your concerns to our housekeeping departments so they can follow up with the proper attention to these matters. Although considered outdated, we ensure that we are continuing on our ongoing commitment to making appropriate enhancements to the resort regarding the refurbishment of our units, including replacing soft furniture as needed. We hope that our picturesque views, host of onsite services and newly reconstructed pool and surrounding area made up for what we lacked in modern furnishings. We hope you are willing to give us a chance and be our valued guest in the future, as we are very confident that you will be pleasantly surprised at the enchantments we are making. We can assure that Los Abrigados is not past its prime but, on its way to becoming a must stop destination of Sedona.
"Too Many Fees"
This is the third time we stayed here, as the location is great, and the resort is rather nice for the price, however the rooms could use some updating, but are overall clean and nice. A few things that bothered me, was when booking an extra $18 is added a night for fees and taxes, then when you get there (new this year) is a $15 "resort" fee, which […] I was told to use the fitness center and play miniature golf. Explained we would not be doing that - but it didnt matter. Then people next to me complained enough that they got the "fees" for half price. Yes, I couldve screamed louder, but I just can't do that. I was told if I got a time share I wouldnt have to pay the fees . Another thing was we stayed for 5 nights. Only once you get your room "cleaned" and garbage picked up. I thought at least for the 15 bucks extra they could at least include housekeeping. I told them that we would be looking for a new place next year, and they really didnt seem to care. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Disappointed with room."
I was unaware Los Abrigados was a time share not a hotel. There was no maid service. The room was tucked way back in a dark corner of the property and the room was outdated and worn. The location was good with restaurants and shopping in an easy walk.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa We regret to read that you have not been satisfied with your apartment allocation and we would like to note that we would like nothing more than to be able to accommodate all our guests in fully refurbished apartments, yet for practical reasons, until our refurbishment works are completed, regretfully this is not always possible. We try to keep all travel sites updated to reflect that we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property and as such, housekeeping includes a mid-week cleaning depending on the length of stay. We of course apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we hope this has not marred your stay with us. We really hope that you’ll give the Los Abrigados Resort & Spa another try. We’d love to see you again in the future.
"The only thing this place has is the location."
This place is like a time warp back to the 80's. The rooms are small, the towels were old and rough.The bathroom is small with old pinkish floor tiles, no fancy shower or tub here. There's no room in the bathroom for your toiletries. At check in the staff person was like a robot. It was difficult to find our room and parking. Another couple I encountered […] was lost looking for their room as well.Even though there was a "quiet from 9 pm to 9 am" rule, I had to ask a guy at 7:30 am talking on his phone right outside our door to please be quiet. There was a big floor vent which continued to blow cold air. We had to cover it with a towel and our ice chest. The room was so small, you could barely get around the bed. There was a small table where I had to put the coffee maker in the morning as there was no plug for it where they had it.The restaurant was OK. The staff was nice there. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa Thank you for your review of our resort. We are delighted that our location proved convenient to you and your family and you enjoyed all the attractions available in the area. We are, however sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your accommodation size. Please be aware that we offer several expansive bedroom types to suit your needs and provide a floor plan view and approximate square footage for each bedroom type shown on our website. While we understand that some of the units require updating, we can assure you that we are planning additional updates to the property for next year. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here. Regarding the noise issue you encountered, should you have notified the front desk our security staff would be more than happy to investigate and address any issues of disturbance or inappropriate behaviors, such as loud noises. While we want all our guests to enjoy their stay, we do not want them to do so at the expense of other guests. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future. Your patronage with us is appreciated and we hope that you will consider us again if you re-visit the charming Sedona area again.
Nice facility with dated look. Very convenient to the downtown area, but we never went there because of the mob scene of people from the tour buses. Our studio with a king bed was very small, and the front door key locks did not work well. We could not see us staying there for a week while living out of a stand up cabinet that housed all glasses, dishes, […] iron, with about 1/3 left to hang a few clothes. Balcony overlooked the parking lot and was very tiny. Had dinner at the Steak and Sticks on site restaurant and had great service and a very nice meal. If we were to do this again, we would definitely upgrade to a better room. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location and pool"
It was refreshing to stay at a hotel where you were greeted and welcomed as a guest. The grounds were just beautiful, especially the pool and hot tub, which had relaxing music playing on speakers by the poolside bar. My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom, which had a separate living space and kitchen. We would have enjoyed the balcony more if we […] had had more time. The location is perfect behind Telaquepaque, so we were able to walk to shops, restaurants, and galleries. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Quality all the way around it could not have been any better thank you all very much I will be backGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"RUDE . DIRTY ROOMS"
Staff was very rude . Rooms were old and run down and not clean . The grounds were run down . Not worth the money .Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Room was nice, but no ice machine nearby. Had to go to restaurant to get ice. Pool was not heated, but maybe that was on purpose. Nice hot tub.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa We are also pleased that our centralized location, close to within walking distance to many restaurants, galleries, shops and hiking trails, was exactly what you were looking for. The comfort and pleasure of our guests is always top priority at the Los Abrigados Resort & Spa, and as such, we are disappointed to hear that our premium Serta® pillow top mattress sets and separate sitting area did not suit you well. We do hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and you will consider us for your future bookings!
The hotel grounds are nice, the room was clean but needed some updating. Did not spend much time in the room being that we got there around 9 o'clock at night and had to be out of the room by 10am. This seemed like a bit early for a check out time. Upon our arrival I was informed that the only room they had available was a handicap accessible room. […] As I voiced my displeasure over what I was just told, the response from the person checking us in was, " I'm sorry sir but we are a very popular place to stay and we are 100% booked". After I told him that this was unacceptable and they needed to save that room for a handicapped person he asked me to hold on as he disappeared behind a door for at least 10 minutes. He finally came out and said that he would upgrade me to a one bedroom suite. You make of it what you would like but my guess is that when booking through Expedia at a discount rate that they will try anything to avoid upgrading someone. Beyond that, it was quiet and in a good location as we were able to walk to the shops for breakfast after checking out. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Nice resort, plenty if onsite activities available"
Only complaint was the early checkout time of 10am and didn't have the option ofl ate checkout.Genuine Expedia guest review
Stay was very satisfying. The only problem was that I booked/requested a single King size bed instead we got 2 beds. Hotel was not able to accomodate the change request.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel in center of town"
We were update to a nice suite with kitchen. An excellent opportunity to prepare our own meals.Genuine Expedia guest review
"No Blackout shades in beroom"
enjoyed propertyGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice resort in Sedona, AZ"
We spent two nights as part of our 35th anniversary excursion and it was very comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite, with kitchen facilities, dining area and front room area. The pool and whirlpool were well done. Initially, we were informed upon arrival that we would have to pay a resort fee but said we did not come to use the resort. They said it […] applies. However, upon check-out, we were informed that the $15.00 per day resort fee had been refunded! That was a very nice and pleasant surprise. The only negative, and it is a small negative, was that there was no computer internet access in our suite, which was located just beside the family pool. There was free internet access in the front lobby but not in the room. Otherwise, we had a most enjoyable experience. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
The lady at the front desk, Rose was very gruff the first time we stopped in and was still gruff when we returned but did let us check in early. I thought the resort fee was high for one night's stay since we did not have time to use any of the facilities. It was not fully disclosed on the Hotels.com page. You had to go to the detail information on […] the resort. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa We are sorry to read that you were not aware of the additional fees information at the time of booking, we do rely on our partners to convey as much detail as possible while making the reservation and we regret if you have experienced any dissatisfaction due to this miscommunication. As for the team performance, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and we are sorry if you were not given this impression. We hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay. We wish you all the best on your future travels.
"Decent place to stay for the money."
Nice place, have stayed here before. There was some construction going on during our stay. Noise was not a problem, but some areas were hard to get to because of it. This is an older resort but is upkept well.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Los Abrigados Resort And Spa Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Los Abrigados Resort. We are always very appreciative of our guests who have chosen to return here while they are here in Sedona. Please be advised that we are in the process of making improvements to our resort, which should enhance the guest experience once finished. We hope to see you again soon, so that you can view these improvements, firsthand!
"Nice place to stay in Sedona"
The first room we were given had a musty smell and no view, so we asked if there was another room we could have. They moved us to a room that had a nice view and smelled fresh. The grounds are beautiful, they have mini-golf on the property, pool and fitness center/spa. Our only complaint was they had a rug cleaning truck running outside our room most […] of the day, they had some carpet damage in the building across from us. When we mentioned it at check-out, they generously waived the daily resort fee, which was very nice. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Fantastic property and location...but...."
Los Abrigados is a fantastic property nestled in Tlaquepaque and right on Oak Creek. The property is beautiful and perfectly location. The staff is very friendly. With that being said, my complaint would be that the room we had was very old and outdated. It had horrible fluorescent lighting and outdated furniture and fixtures. The bedroom paint was […] an unpleasant avocado. I also didn't like being upsold to buy a timeshare while when I was paying upwards of $200 a night for our stay already. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Right in the middle"
The construction was a major bummer. They had arrears blocked off which made access to the pool and resteraunt very difficult. Parking was terrible.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
great stayGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Enjoyed our stay."
THE RUSHING CREEK WAS NOISEY AT NIGHT. LOVED THE PLACE. WE hIT A RAINEY FEW DAYS.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )