"Nice, clean hotel but outdated."
Found hotel to be very clean with very comfortable beds but noisy. I would advise staying on the back side of hotel away from street. Very busy intersection with bus stops. We found room nice but bathroom and rugs could use a upgrade. The room felt dated. I think a few minor adjustments, new countertops,rugs and windows would make a big difference.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Personal service, great location!"
I wanted to stay in a "neighborhood" away from Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square, and this was perfect. Close to boutiques, resale shops, good restaurants (particularly Ellas across the street for breakfast!), and right on the bus line. The front office staff was responsive, friendly, and personal. The room was clean and beds were comfortable! If you […] want a less touristy SF experience, this is it. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Very convenient for UCSF shuttle to hospital"
The perfect location for getting to and from UCSF Medical Center without paying for a taxi. The neighborhood has a choice of restaurants within walking distance.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Average Hotel, Great Service"
The service we received from everyone, especially Tanya at the front desk and Raymond at the bar, was outstanding. They were very friendly, informative, and helpful. The room itself was very mediocre and the hallways looked like they were in the middle of a renovation with paint on the carpets and holes in the walls. Given the price, I expected a bit […] more. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
great place in good neighborhood.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
"Well located but problematical"
We had to CHANGE ROOMS TWICE before getting one that was fairly comfortable. That means we were comfortable for only two of the four days we were there, which is not acceptable. (We have stayed here before, twice, with no problems but all rooms are not equal.) The main problem is the very spare furnishings which leave little surface space. In this grade […] of room, they provide one very small table - barely large enough for a laptop. (The only chairs are armchairs, therefore use of table is impossible for food consumption.) There was no other table or surface on which to place items . We had to place items on the floor. There is one piece of furniture which doubles as dresser + TV/dvd stand (therefore no surface on top). A night table has neither drawers or shelves; the top is almost totally covered by phones and lamps. Two front desk clerks tried to help us and one succeeded but not before we spent a 2nd night in a small room beside the elevator. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Dear B.J. - I am very sorry that you were unhappy with the set up of your first two rooms. As you have stayed before and enjoyed the rooms, we would be happy to note your personal room preferences on your guest profile. The next time you book, please ask us to look up your past room numbers and we can find the ones that you prefer and make the appropriate notes. Our primary goal is our guest's comfort and we want to ensure you continue to enjoy your stays with us!
"Great Motel with a friendly staff."
We found the accommodations quite pleasing and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and told us about great restaurants in the area. Our room was very clean. You didn't feel you had to put your shoes on to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. I would recommend the Laurel Inn to my friends and I would definitely stay there again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Dear Mike, I am so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff have been here for years and take a lot of personal pride in the hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We hope to see you again soon!
"Worked in neighborhood when hotel was reclaimed"
I had passed this hotel 100's of times and watched as it became a boutique hotel from just a 2 1/2 star hotel. I always wanted to stay but it was usually booked. I understand now that it was always booked because of the convenience, kitchenette, and what comfort it offers. It is not luxurious as I had assumed a Joie de Vivre Boutique would be. The bed […] was great, but the bath was spartan (no tub at all, toilet behind the door so inconvenient, shower pan was peeling) and there were basically no amenities (no hot tub, pool, etc but has relationship with JCC gym across the street that I did not have time to try). It was pricey considering those things. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am so glad that you decided to give us a try after all this time. We are constantly working to improve our hotel and in fact are in the middle of renovating our hallways this month. We are also working on proposed designs for our guestrooms and bathrooms that will remedy the issues you found during your stay. While it doesn't look like we'll be adding a pool anytime soon, we do have discount passes for the JCC directly across the street and they have an amazing facility. Thank you again for your time!
I owe a home in San Francisco but needed to be geographically closer to where the Laurel Inn is located so stayed there. It was such a nice surprise. I have driven by it for years. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms clean, and a great location for walking to restaurants and getting to other parts of the city. I enjoyed it.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Dear Chloe, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We'd love to have you back again soon!
"Close to Many good things."
Golden Gate Park, the Presidio, U.C.S.F. and University of S. F. I was happy with the room, I did feel it was overpriced. The staff to a person were super (not just very) friendly and helpful. I like staying in this part of the City because it is more of a genuine neighborhood.Genuine Expedia guest review
The location is great, however I don't have much else nice to say about the hotel. The hallways and room smell of mildew. The rooms were not adequately clean. Cleaning supplies were left in the hallways. This is a bottom of the barrel hotel/motel.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Dear Charlie, Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am very sorry that you found issues with our housekeeping team. I have been working with the team to update our standards and renew training. I am confident that we have remedied the issues you found in your room. We are also currently renovating all of our guest corridors. Again, thank you for your time and feedback.
"close to Presidio Park"
Great! Walked to Presidio Park with ease and just a little hike to the water. Room was clean and comfortable and didn't feel like just another chain, which was refreshing.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location and service"
We have stayed here many times and are always pleased with the service and location. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Many restaurants, shops and transportation within walking distance. Safe neighborhood. Bar/coffee shop attached to hotel. Hotel is always clean and welcoming.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great neighborhood to connect w/friends!"
Rooms need magnifying make-up mirrors!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"no repeat business"
For $200 plus per night I thought a small refrigerator in the room would be standard. Not available. Parking was unavailable on Tuesday and Wednesday afternoons. I was told that the ownership of the hotel had customers from another hotel in the area park where I could not.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Dear Traveler, First, thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. I understand your frustration with the parking on Wednesday afternoon. As you may have heard, President Obama was in the area and the street closures impacted the neighborhood parking a great deal. Our parking attendant was quite busy as a result and even stayed late to help our guests park. I can assure that this is not a normal occurance for the hotel and again apologize for the inconvenience you suffered. I do hope that you will return and give us another shot on a less presidential week! Warmest regards, Katie
There was a musty smell in the hallways that threatened to drift into the room so we had to keep our windows open. We paid $249.00 for one night plus $25.00 parking plus, plus, plus. Very mediocre. Only saving grace was the friendliness and helpfulness of the desk staff. Also, it is a pet friendly hotel, and they had a dish of water and a jar of treats […] for your pets (of which we had none - just reporting this for those of you who do). Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Christine, Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We are actually about to start renovating our corridors at the end of the month. I am confident that our new carpet, wallcovering, and fresh look will quickly remedy the issues you noted. I hope that you will return to check out our new look! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff as well. Safe travels, Katie
"close to our daughter's home"
The staff was friendly and helpful but the bathroom in the room was not up to standard, the shower was old and the toilet didn't work properly. definitely not the quality you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The price is a little too high and not competitive with the similar priced hotels downtown... it was convenient for us because our daughter lives […] in the area and we wanted to be within walking distance of her apartment Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed the staff and our location. I am sorry that our bathrooms fell short of your expectations. We are actually working with a designer on some new ideas for these rooms that will update and refresh this space. Again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you again on a future visit with your daughter. Warmest regards, Katie
"Laurels to the Laurel Inn"
I absolutely love this hotel! The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Lastly, I find the location to be very central and a nice break-away from the more tourist-centered parts of the city. The bar downstairs is also convenient with wonderful staff, good food, and pleasant patronage. This is my go-to place if I […] am ever in the city! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Thank you Lailani! We are so happy to be your home away from home. I completely agree that our location offers a nice break from the more touristy neighborhoods, without losing access to transportation, shopping and sights. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels! Katie
I was surprised at the shoddy quality of this hotel. My room had a disgusting, dank smell that was so offensive, I had to sleep with a scarf over my nose. Very disappointing.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Samantha, I am very sorry that we fell so short of your expectations. I am quite surprised that you encountered such a smell in one of our rooms. I am working with our housekeeping team on a deep clean of all of our rooms currently, so I am confident that this issue has been resolved. Again, thank you for letting us know so that we can remedy the issue quickly. Safe travels, Katie
"A fantastic stay!"
My wife, dog and I stayed last weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is pet friendly, which was a big factor for us staying there. The staff was great and the rooms are everything you need, especially since most of your time will be spent out in the city. Definitely staying here next time I'm in SF.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
The Hotel was perfect for what I needed, walking distance to a conference, safe neighborhood, and a lot of diverse amenities for shopping and eating without driving. I loved the neighborhood. The staff was helpful when we checked in and when we blew a fuse, too many hairdryers at once, they were timely in fixing it. I would stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great neighborhood find"
Gracious. Pleasant. Surprisingly quiet. Great location for our purposes.Genuine Expedia guest review
i wish there was an air conditioner in the room, rest everything was perfect..Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"ideal for all"
The staff was most accomadating and knowledgeable of the Bay area, location was great with food and transportation near by. Very clean.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
"Close to UCSF"
Staff was nice, gave drink coupons to Swank bar next to hotel. Swank bar had decent food and friendly staffGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Boutique Hotel"
Great service, clean rooms, fantastic place to go for a jog, good local restaurants and possibly the best blueberry scone I have ever tasted!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Old and tired."
Although the hotel was clean and everything worked it is simply old and tired. What is worse is that the bathroom was horrible. Dirty, out of date, rusted sink just to name a few. The hotel manager said the bathrooms at the hotel are going to be remodeled but no date set. Until the bath is redone I will not stay there again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that we fell so short of your expectations. The manager you spoke with is correct, we have a major renovation planned for Fall/Winter of 2013. We are currently working with a designer and can't wait to unveil our new look! Please stay in touch with us as we'd love to have you back after the renovation.
It smelt like I was at grandma's house. I got in after a long day of travel and took my shoes off and went to turn on the light on the other side of the room and felt something sticky under my foot. Not sure what it was as I avoided that area the rest of the stay. Not a good start!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Won't stay here again."
The lobby was modern and fresh. The room (#203) upstairs was like we entered a motel 6 somewhere along the interstate. Carpet was stained, the bathroom was old and in need of repairs: peeling paint on the walls, many times patched floor tiles missing grout, the sink had been painted and was peeling up, and the countertop paint was peeling off. The bedroom […] itself was very spartan and devoid of any charm. Being in San Francisco the room did not have A/C, but having a western exposure it was quite hot. We could not open the window because of the street noise and construction noise. The manager Mr Oo was very helpful and kind. Three of his counter persons had to be jump started into the customer service mode. They were not friendly when initally approached, but after some banter their soft side emerged. The continental breakfast was just that: pastries and coffee/tea, no juice. We went down the street for breakfast. Good location with many restaurants nearby. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience with both the rooms and the staff. We are in the middle of creating a design for renovating all of our guestrooms, and especially our bathrooms. I will personally follow up with all of our staff to ensure they are giving the warm and friendly service that I know them capable of. Thank you again for this feedback as it is only with comments like yours that we can address our weaknesses and ensure the superior service that we strive for.
Stayed here for a family vacation to SF. What a pleasant find!... tucked away in Laurel Hill, this hotel embodies simple elegance. Not alot of extras, e.g. fitness room or restaurant, but the essentialls are there and are provided well. The staff was fantastic and friendly. And while the location was not in the midst of typical tourist destinations […] (which for us was a plus), it is fairly centrally located. The price was very reasonable too. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to Ella's, not far from park"
Nice hotel in a neigbhorhood not near the tourists. If your looking for heavy tourist areas this isnt the hotel for you.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A viable alternative location for SF tourists"
Great little inn a little off the beaten bath, but well worth it. You can walk to the Presidio or to Cow Hollow from the hotel, and your walk will take you past some beautiful neighborhoods with stunning views. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. The coffee shop/bar was intimate and well appointed, but the service was a […] little suspect while we were there. This was a nice break from the hotels located in the tourist heavy areas like Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. I would gladly return. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"good for us, good for our pouch"
At truly dog friendly property...finally! We appreciate the open & welcoming attitude toward pets. It sure made us feel at home. Thank you! The construction was somewhat daunting, but the workers were friendly & helpful getting us in & out of the garage. Swank could use some cleaning up & remodeling, especially the furniture, which has obviously served […] it's time. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Near small boutiques"
My stay at The Laurel Inn was unremarkable. The hotel was recommended by a friend and it was near her flat. Great little boutiques in the area but they all closed really early. Within walking distance of Fillmore street which had several night spots, more shopping, and good restaurants. Would stay again if my friend is still living in the area. Overall, […] I had nothing horrible to say. The rooms do need a little attention as far as upkeep but it is a cute little spot to stay and chill. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Nice little hotel in a convenient area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"away from the crowds, steps from dining delights"
Enjoyed our stay at the comfy Laurel Inn. The rooms were bigger than expected, and even though we were there in Summer, we really didn't miss the air conditioning. We travelled along with a senior and three kids. (There is only one slow elevator, so we all got lots of exercise.) Right across the driveway from the hotel is an attached bar, that serves […] delicious morning coffee. And across the street is Ella's, which had an excellent breakfast and was careful to use sustainabile sourcing. You can go stay closer to the tourist destinations, but your rooms won't be this large, and the staff may not be as patient. I do suggest you give this place a try. Quiet spot - as long as we aren't there with the kids - upscale neighborhood, and only a walk away from pubs and cafes. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great quiet place to stay"
Hotel is in a great place if you're looking to stay near UCSF or japantown. Staff was great, except bed was a little squishyGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location for west side of San Francisco"
A lovely and comfortable hotel on the west side of San Francisco. As much of our activity was in the Presidio/Golden Gate area, this venue was ideal. It offered a quick in and out of the city, without getting involved in the center city/hilly area, which for non-residents can be a little intimadating! Clean, modern hotel with good amenities and a wonderful […] city view. Also, convenient to local restaurants. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great small neighorhood hotel"
I liked this hotel a lot. There are few hotels in this area - Laurel Heights. This one has no lobby but fairly big rooms - very comfortable beds and large bath. Parking also easy and half what you would pay by the Embarcadero.Only downside was fairly thin walls as this is an old building - so I could hear the footsteps upstairs. But, I would definitely […] stay there again. Wonderful local restaurant up the street: Osteria - just fantastic. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to UCSF hospital"
Overall I am satisfied with my stay. One complaint would be there is no air conditioning. In the morning, the pastries and cream for the coffee were all gone.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Comfy bed, clean room, quiet night, easy parking. Classy feel and look while being on a solid bus route to get downtown to Union Square. Great experience.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We enjoyed our stay, the front desk was helpful in telling us the bus routes and numbers to where we wanted to go.The room was nice and clean and the lemonade & cookies just right for the afternoon snack.The hotel was a little farther away from where we wanted to go, but the buses got us there without a problem and the kids enjoyed the experience of […] rising them. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"50's hotel value near the ocean"
This hotel is funky but clean and walking distance to coffee shops and restaurants, in addition to the ocean. A good worry-free way to watch your budget in a California resort town. Also an easy straight shot to LAX.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The staff was informative and helpful. We loved the fresh coffee, cold beverages and baked goods! Parking was easy. We will come back!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great Little Inn in a nice Neighborhood"
The Laurel Inn is a nice, clean place to stay and is located in a great neighborhood. The parking is so nice to have, however, it does cost $20 per day despite what the 2012 Frommer's travel book states. . I was disappointed in the continental breakfast. They had run out of pastries by 9:00 am and Ella's across the street was closed for change of ownership. […] The coffee was not available all day like the website states. That bothered my husband more than me. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to my family and friends. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Laurel Inn needs upgrading to justify rates. It looks and feels a little tired and old.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location for the JCC"
We went to a fundraiser at the JCC. The location couldn't have been closer and it is a great neighborhood too. There are lots of perks like $20 parking, 2 free drinks at Swank, free just baked cookies, coffee, tea and newspapers. The place is 3 stars with 4 star quality. The bedding is the usual great Joie de Vivre comfy quality. The only thing that […] could be a problem is that there is no air conditioning. It was June in SF and the room was hot when I got there so if the weather was unusually hot the room would be very hot. It cooled down so the sleeping temperature was perfect. Parking is reasonable for SF too. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"bus stop at door step"
Location was good, room size was decent, hotel was clean and quiet. Staff was helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location, but ..."
Good location, helpful/nice staff, but the hotel is desperately in need of maintenance/remodeling : 2 stains on the carpet in my bedroom and paint chipping from the bathroom shower and vanity. The photos on the website look better than the actual product !Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Laurel Inn-a decent place to stay"
Front desk persons were a little snooty except for the gal with the dog. Kitchenette room was perfect for our family. Pull out sofa bed is a twin bed sleeper that was very uncomfortable! Good location and close to everything. Parking fee is a little high-$20 per night.Genuine Expedia guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )