"Room type reserved ignored"
We booked a nonsmoking room and when we opened our room, it was a smoking room. When we returned to the front desk the clerk acknowleged that was true but the smoking room was all she had. this was never mentioned upon arrival or calls to notify the hotel we would check in late. As it was purchased through expedia, we could not request a refund from […] the hotel. After much persistance and aggravation, we were sent to a nonsmoking room. It was unacceptable that such a specification would be totally ignored. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Thank you for your review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologize that you were not initially given your requested room type. I can understand your frustration. We try to honor every request that we receive, unfortunately we can not guarantee a room type due to room inventory. We check them daily and continually move rooms as things become available, which is probably why you were not notified when you called. You should have, however been notified when you arrived. Again, I am very sorry. I hope you will be pleased to know that in just a few short months, we are converting to an all non-smoking hotel following our refresh. I hope you do give us a try again so that we may make you feel at home! Thank you very much for providing us feedback.
Location good ,small hotel ,Genuine Hotels.com guest review
It was horrible. If I had known how to cancel or get my money back, I would have done that. It was very disappointing.kGenuine Hotels.com guest review
perfect location for my weekend stay. all of my functions were right in the plaza area. my only complaint.....GET AN ICE MACHINE!!!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
HorribleGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Perfect location! Don't listen to negative reviews"
We went to KC from Dallas for the Chiefs/Cowboys game. The location of this hotel CANNOT be beat. It is just 1 block away from Country Club Plaza and just a short drive away from the Power & Light district. Yes, this is not a 5 star hotel, and you shouldn't expect that for the price. However, it t was clean, quiet, had free parking, offered a nice breakfast […] of coffee, muffins, and fresh fruit, and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay here again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
first time staying at an extended hotel, found it to be a nice place to stay for more than one night. Our friends stayed longer so we booked at same hotel and was pleasantly surprised in our room. It was very spacious and had extra chairs so we could spend time in the room without feeling closed in. Our stay was made even nicer with the help of Laci, […] who helped us find good places to eat and visit. She went above the call of duty to make our stay enjoyable. Hats off to Laci!!! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great HotelGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"good location, quiet, clean"
staff was nice. good to have a workout room on premises. Nice grab and go breakfast. Good place to land in KC if you want a central location and plan to spend little time in your room. Always good to have a frig, stove and sink for an extended stay. I was only there 2 nights so not as important for me.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza The team and I appreciate your wonderful remarks. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotels amenities including our kitchens and onsite fitness center. We are aware that our hallway carpets are in need of replacement and we are pleased to let you know that we are scheduled for a full hotel renovation in a few months, which will include installation of new hallway carpets. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
First of all in order to get 2 beds I had to pay upgrade charge - not the biggest deal but would have been helpful to know upfront. The room was overall dirty - crud on counter in kitchen, etc. Bedding and bathroom we clean - thank gosh. Not terrible for one night's stay, but wouldn't go back or recommend to someone else. Location was great however […] . Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. It upsets me to hear that you found your room to be unclean. I am sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am meeting with the entire staff to provide additional housekeeper training and review our guest room inspection procedure to ensure this type of situation does not happen again. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
"Oklahoma Joes BBQ"
Friendly staff, very helpful. Location is great. Not the fanciest hotel in the world, but for the price and the location I thought it was fantastic!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Vacation in KC"
I read the reviews on this motel and people said it wasn't the greatest so was pleasantly surprised to find our stay was perfect! Highly recommend this motel - especially for people trying to eat healthy. I loved the kitchenette and how clean everything was! Didn't even know that they were booked solid for the night - so quiet!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Poor service...especially the housekeeping staff. The "complimentary breakfast" can barely even be called continental. The room was very clean and the hotel desperately needs a renovation.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was disheartened to read that you were dissatisfied with your experience at our hotel. Please accept our apologies. I am taking action by coaching the staff on how to provide better customer service to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
"great KC hotel in the Plaza"
Great location especially for the price. Walking distance to the Nelson Art Gallery,the Plaza and local park. Great restaurants and shopping. On a major street but set back and quiet. Large room and kitchenette made it home like.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Karla - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm thrilled that you truly enjoyed your spacious, clean room and that it felt like 'home'. As well, that you found our location to be convenient, close to great restaurants and shopping in the area. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
"Good location, but a dirty room"
Toilet was dirty. Hair on the bathroom floor. Tub was not cleanGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The condition in the room you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we are going to have a manager inspect all rooms prior to check-in to make sure your experience is not repeated. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
"Convenient and friendly but needs refreshing"
Very nice staff, hotel needs some TLC, new carpets and paint. Very convenient location near the plaza.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Stayed 2 nights at different times First night shower very moldy so Afraid of catching something so passed on shower. 2nd night looked like blood on blanket? Otherwise ok. Breakfast is cheapo at best unless you like unripe apples and junk muffins.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Overall, we were pleased with our stay. The location can not be beat! It is very close to the Plaza and is very well located to other things in the area (UMKC< Rockhurst, Westport etc). We did have a complaint about the lack of things you would ordinarily find in a hotel..for example, there were no tissues or shampoo or hair dryer etc. The room was […] clean enough and the beds were fairly comfortable. There were 4 of us staying, but only dishes for 3, so that was a bit tricky! Overall, for the price, it was great. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Worth the price"
We will definitely stay here again. However, I expected the rooms to be a bit more clean. Especially the bathroom; toilet and bath tub were a little dirty. Also, we had a dog next door that barked almost our entire stay. Although smoking does not bother me at all, the hallways smelled of smoke quite strongly. I feel as if all pet and smoking rooms should […] be on a separate floor than the non-smoking, non-pet rooms. Hotel staff were friendly. The complimentary breakfast bar did not have any warm foods, but there was quite a variety of different fruits, oatmeal, bars, muffins, granola bars and COFFEE! We enjoyed it and really enjoyed our time! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"All that is needed"
Clean, comfortable, pleasant and all the neccesities. No trace of luxury.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
overall service was fine, however we extended our stay and not really sure why our room wasn't cleaned at all: beds not made, trash not removed, dishes not washed,etc. With kids in the room kind of defeated the purpose of being away from home for the weekend.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good location and that's it"
Not very appealing. Very old dirty cooking utensils and no service. Used more as apartments. Not worht the price.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that the cooking utensils in your room were not clean and that our housekeeping policy was not communicated to you upon check-in. We offer cleaning services every 7-days or in-between upon request for an additional, small fee. I will work with the staff to ensure that this message is conveyed properly, upon check-in, moving forward. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
"Enjoy historic Plaza District in Kansas City!"
Amazing location within easy walking distance to Plaza shops and restaurants. Adjacent to art museums and parks. Just north of UMKC Campus and beautiful neighborhoods of single family homes and classic apartments. Finally for fans of Starbucks several are within a short walk of the hotel.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our location, services, and proximity to several Starbucks. We are fans of theirs too! Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Used the Expedia service where hotel was not revealed until payment. Room was 1 queen with additional $20 at checkin for 2 beds. Heat could not be controlled and room was cold with not enough blankets.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your room temperature was not to your liking and that there not enough blankets in your room. I am going to order some more so that we always have some available upon request for guests, like yourself. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
"Disappointed in their "grab and go" breakfast."
Overall good but for the price their "grab and go" breakfast is very disappointing.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Stay again??? No way"
No happy with it at all..Genuine Hotels.com guest review
wont be staying there againGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location, near the Country Club Plaza"
This is a nice, clean hotel in a great location. The Country Club Plaza is just a short walk away, and there a couple of decent restaurants nearby as well. It is pretty much a no-frills hotel, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Cig butt on carpet. Heat didn't wk. no shampoo. Smoking room Room not cleanGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Knowledgeable, friendly staff"
Very friendly staff. The hotel manager was a font of information about where to go and what to do in KC -- seemed to know even the out-of-the-way blues and jazz clubs, independent restaurants etc. Don't forget to ask for the hospital discount if you're there visiting someone in a local hospital.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Overall good hotel"
Stayed here on NYE. Located near the plaza and on a major corridor - good location.Genuine Expedia guest review
It was okay. Roomy, nice location, clean. Bedding wasn't very visually appealing and not the most comfortable place I've ever slept. Carpeting in the hallways needed replacing. Overall though, my stay was just fine for my purposes and a good value for the cost.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Very adequate, no frills"
A very adequate no frills room great for a cheap weekend on the plaza. My only caution is that due to the low price point, a lot of young people seem to be staying there and it was a little noisy until about 1:00am. That could have been just the weekend I was visiting. Front desk gal was very nice and gave us extra coffee for the three of us in the […] room. Shower was great! Room was clean. If you will not be spending much time in the room and just need a place to lay your head, this works great! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Cheap place to rest"
Hotel smelled like it wasn't cleaned in years with stale smoke.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"dont stay here"
hotel was outdated, the people across from us had 4 dogs in their room and they all started barking at 6am, room was dirty and hallway stunk. wont have to worry about staying there ever againGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Bed was very uncomfortable, and smelled like smoke throughout hotelGenuine Hotels.com guest review
the beds were horrible and there was not any shampoo or plastic cups in the room..not that goodGenuine Expedia guest review
The hotel was great for the price. Definitely not a hotel I'd want family to stay in. However, for the purposes of a business trip, it was more than adequate.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
it served my purposeGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Got the job done"
Overall, the hotel was very basic, and a little dated. But the room was clean, and it was a great location. The little kitchen area was dated, but nice for making a snack and keeping our drinks cold.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Very good value for the location. Please read comments below.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Close to job site."
Dirty, I felt dirty.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"very basic, no frills"
Location was good but hotel could use some sprucing up.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Nice people and a comfortable room. I was passing through on the first stay and came back to the hotel on the second pass--will likely do so again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"One Night Stay"
The hotel was OK for a one night stay. But, would better suit a business traveler in town for a longer period of time. Locations is close to the Plaza which was nice.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Fine, but quite basic"
The hotel was conveniently located; the staff very nice, and the rates extremely reasonable. The rooms are spacious. The kitchen area and bathroom were clean, but the carpets would definitely benefit from a good cleaning. It just didn't feel as though the room had been deep-cleaned in a while.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location and great value"
It is not a luxury hotel by any means but it is a good location and the room was quite comfortable. Parking easy. Would stay here again for sure.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Don't overlook this great place to stay!"
The room was very clean and had lots of space. We only stayed one night, but it would be perfect for staying multiple nights. It had a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, toaster, flatware, glasses, and more. Everything was in top working condition. The location is within walking distance to the plaza. I am not in good physical shape, but a very easy walk […] to great shopping and food. The walk back is uphill, but still not too bad. The young lady working was very friendly and very helpful. She told us exactly how to get to Jack Stack Barbecue. We will definitely go back and stay there! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Hallways and general cleanliness of rooms was not that good.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Payroll Tax Accountant"
The AC/Heating unit was broken upon arrival but they immediately moved us into another room.Genuine Expedia guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )