All hotels in Miami Beach, Florida, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL, 33139, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
3.2 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 546 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    3.6
  • Service
    3.5
  • Comfort
    3.2
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.5
1.0 / 5Poor
"Penguin Miami"
  • Cleanliness
    1.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
This hotel is seen as 3 star, but after looking the hotel condition and staying there, i think it is a 1 or 1.5 star. Dont waste your money.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Greetings from The Penguin, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are sorry to know that our property did not meet your full standard. We would of loved to have known of your experience while on property. We can assure you that we would of gone the extra mile to show you other wise. Thank you again for visiting us -The Penguin Staff
7 night romance trip Oct 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great location across from the beach and plenty to do near by. Staff was great!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Miami isnt for us!"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    1.0
I actually didnt stay even though we had paid reservations.Arrived later in the evening,there was people running everywhere,no were to park,people drunk at the outside tables, did go up and check room ,small and could hear all the noise from outside. After discussing we decided not to stay and would rather loose our money than stay at this hotel!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Greetings from The Penguin, Firstly, permit us to say thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our renovations and sizes of our rooms. It is always great to hear when our guest fully enjoy their stay and experience! We truly apologize for any inconvenience our WiFi may have caused. It is something that we will be investigating. Our guest comfort is our number one priority. Thank you again and we hope to see you back. -The Penguin Staff
1 night family trip Oct 12, 2014
SHERRY T
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to beach"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Although we had to wait for several hours for a room the staff was very good. It's a Great location right across from a park and the beach. It's an older hotel and decent in shape. Loud air conditioner. The employees are the best thing going for the hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 22, 2014
den
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Conveniently located in the heart of SoBe"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
It was short but very meaningful. I liked it very much. It is conveniently located and the room was perfect for the price that i paid.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Jorge, Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your feed back with us. We are happy to know that you had a great experience but we would had loved the chance to make your stay even more meaningful while still on property! Thank you again and we hope to see you back again. -The Penguin Staff
2 night trip Oct 17, 2014
Jorge
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
it's a nice hotel. rooms are clean. The only thing I didn't like is the "resort fee" lol
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 18, 2014
kevin
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Misleading, Lobby Bedroom and Dirty"
  • Cleanliness
    1.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
We arrived around 12p and the front desk lady offered us a room "on the first floor that's just down the hall" and she wasn't going to charge us an early check in fee. I signed all the paper works and got our keys. Our room was right behind the lobby's elevator and across from the kitchen's door?!!? We can constantly hear the kitchen door slamming and people walking in and out. We immediately went back to ask for a different room. Her response was that she told us exactly where the room was and we accept the condition, which wasn't true. We thought it was down the hall behind another door where the rest of the rooms are. She claim all the rooms are booked and we can't switch to another one. Not to mention, the bathroom wasn't very clean. We wore our flip flops when we showered. I wouldn't recommend this place. They charge too much for the room that we got, wasn't clean, misleading information and poor service.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Oct 13, 2014
Kellie
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"bar service sucks"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The front desk was really helpful. The bar service is horrible.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Greetings Jerome, Thank you very much for your taking the time to write to us and for your praises on our front desk staff! It was a pleasure to have served you. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had at our Bar. Believe that your experience is our #1 priority! Kind Regards, -The Penguin Staff
1 night romance trip Oct 3, 2014
jerome
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
It's was nice wish my room had a kitchenette or a mini fridge and they didn't have a pool but other then that it was cool
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 1, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"2 star rating in my opinion"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Check in was easy. The AC was a built in to the side window so whomever slept to that side, was freezing! Bfast was ok. They didn't allow any outside food at the patio. I ordered bunch of things on my girlfriend was on a special diet due to her health condition the manager said she cannot have any outside food at the premises due to some policy. Hotel also charges you for some resort fee which was not stated in the hotels.com
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Sep 27, 2014
Sean
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good Value"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
You receive vouchers for breakfast and drinks; both were very good. Great location across from the park and beach. Be sure to eat outside in the morning.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Sep 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent Location"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The customer service was excellent! This is a very cute boutique hotel across the street from the beach. You can't go wrong.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Sep 19, 2014
Tyson
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Beach is very nice...."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
LOvely hotel..........
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Sep 10, 2014
FAHIM
US
2.0 / 5Fair
  • Cleanliness
    1.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The location is the only thing we enjoyed about the hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Sep 12, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good location"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Good budget friendly hotel in south beach. Resort fee is a joke it's just to make extra $$$. But it was nice and quiet for ocean drive.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 14, 2014
jen
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Only stayed for one night, bathroom too small"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Very clean, however, bathroom too small, also the window blinds were not working properly and my window was facing the next door hotel room had to turn the light off in order to change my clothes. If I had to stay longer than one night this would've been a bigger issue.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Lee, Thank you for your feedback. It’s invaluable to us, as it helps us identify issues that need to be addressed. We are very sorry the size of the bathroom in your room failed to meet your expectations. We also sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to faulty blinds. We are happy you found our rooms clean, and we hope you enjoyed your overall stay with us. The next time you’re heading to South Beach, please consider another stay at Penguin. We look forward to making your next visit even better!
Other trip Aug 26, 2014
lee
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Restaurant servers need to be more attentive to the customers needs.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Aug 20, 2014
John
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Excelent location"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Small hotel with small room wihtout a desk or a chair. Bathroom confortable and complete. pleasant staff.. Morning coffee limited selection, included in your room rate, however you have to pay U$ 20 daily resort fee which include morning coffe (included in your room rate, side orders U$ 10), complimentary drink and wáter and one small towel for the beach. . Beach umbrella and confortable chairs U$ 35. Add to this parking fee of U$ 20.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
We appreciate the feedback. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful, beachfront location and its close proximity to so many of the best attractions in South Beach. We are happy you found our rooms comfortable and our service team friendly! We apologize if the size of our rooms, variety of our furnishing, and selection of fresh, morning coffee did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments under careful consideration, as we strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience. We would love another opportunity to win you over!
7 night trip Aug 13, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Overall OK"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
We booked this hotel just for a night and loved the location because it was right across the street from the beach. The front desk was not very pleasant when we first arrived. Nothing I take personal, but just made a little mental note about it. The 2 complimentary drinks at check in were great.. probably would have been better if the bartender didn't look like she hated her job... but again, nothing we took too personal. The room was a little small, but bearable I guess. The bathroom was tiny. Overall the hotel is good for just a night, 2 at max, but could definitely get a little uncomfortable beyond that.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate all your feedback, as it helps us identify areas we need to improve. We are very sorry to hear our reception team failed to make you feel welcomed. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary welcome drinks, but we regret you weren’t met with better service and contagious smiles. We also apologize that the size of your room and bathroom fell short of your expectations. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities. While brief, we hope you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you choose Penguin again; we’d love the opportunity to win you over!
1 night romance trip Aug 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great value gem on Ocean Drive"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Great location - beach right across the street. Nice and helpful staff. Restaurant just OK. Welcome drinks were a very nice touch. Would stay here again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Ryan, We love being considered a “gem”! Thank you for the compliment. We’re delighted you enjoyed Penguin’s fabulous location and dedicated team. We hope our welcome drinks truly made you feel welcome. We wish we had provided a more memorable dining experience, but we look forward to doing so during your next visit. Your loyalty would mean the world to us!
3 night romance trip Aug 10, 2014
Ryan
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Friendly staff at hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Good size room , and location is good. Only complaint no microwave in room.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Jr, Thank you for the great review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly team, spacious rooms, and fantastic location. We appreciate your helpful suggestion about providing in-room microwaves. We’ll take it into careful consideration, as we strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience. We’d love to see you back at the Penguin again soon!
Other trip Aug 16, 2014
jr
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Good location, but the hotel is not the best. The rooms are located close to a service door, and sometimes you cannot sleep.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location, but we’re very sorry to hear Penguin failed to impress you. We sincerely apologize if the location of your room caused any sleep disturbance. Please know, in the future, we would be happy to offer you a different room to ensure your comfort. We hope you consider us again; we would love the chance to win you over!
Other trip Aug 8, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Good clean room. Little small but comfortable. Valet parking best option. Everything in walking distance.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello TP, Thank you for the review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location, convenient valet services, and clean, comfortable rooms. We are sorry to hear our size didn’t impress you, but we hope you enjoyed your time with us. We would love to see you again and make your next visit even better!
2 night business trip Aug 3, 2014
TP
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great Location for a brief stay"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I'd like to put a disclaimer on this review. I am a penguin fanatic. So I may be biased. But, we very much enjoyed the stay. They give you free welcome drinks during happy hour the first night you are there and you get free breakfast on certain items or discounted rates on other meals. The food was good for being such a small kitchen. The room is not large so for an extended stay I might have wanted something bigger. But for the two of us it was great. Within walking distance to most restaurants, both shopping locations on Lincoln and Collins and SO close to the beach. We would definitely consider coming here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello CHacker, A guest after our own heart! We’re thrilled you love our namesake, as well as our fantastic location and great amenities. We’re happy you enjoyed our delicious breakfasts, and we hope the complimentary breakfasts truly made you feel welcome! We apologize that the size of our rooms failed to impress you, but we hope you enjoyed your overall stay with us. A repeat visit would be the best compliment! We look forward to making your next experience even better!
1 night romance trip Aug 3, 2014
CHacker
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Ocean front view."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I visited South beach for the first time, and I found the penguin hotel on expedia for a really good price. I bought it, and decided to stay for my 24th birthday weekend. It was the best visit I've ever had on vacation. Staff were friendly & social, drinks/food was great, the room cleaner cleaned the room every day; it was an automatic great four day stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Amy, We are thrilled to have provided you with such a wonderful experience! Earning “best visit” in your book is quite an honor. Thank you! We’re happy you enjoyed our great value, friendly team, delicious creations, and clean, comfortable rooms. We truly hope you come back and visit us again, for another fantastic vacation!
Other trip Aug 2, 2014
Amy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
This was a great little hotel to stay at and the price was very affordable! I will defiantly be back! Thank you!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Tiffany, Thank YOU for leaving us 5 amazing stars! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and its excellent value. We can’t wait to see you again! We promise to offer another wonderful experience.
3 night trip Jul 20, 2014
Tiffany
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The room needs to be updated. There are tile floors throughout.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We do have tile floors in our rooms due to the high humidity in our South Beach home. We're sorry to hear you were not a fan of the floors and we'll take that into careful consideration. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
2 night family trip Jul 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Ideal Location"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
It's an older building and as such it does not offer some of the newer amenities BUT it has two great things: service and location. The staff is extremely friendly and the building is perfectly located! Enjoy
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Oscar, We apologize if our range of amenities didn’t impress you, but we’re happy to hear our wonderful location and friendly service team won you over. We truly appreciate the review and would love to see you again. We bet next time we can really “wow” you!
1 night trip Jul 20, 2014
Oscar
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    -
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
I thought the breakfast was included but they charge an additional $ 19 ++ tax per day for a resort fee that includes breakfast and towels and the fee is mandatory.... valet is $ 30 a day. The location is great .
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Jul 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Last Minute conference trip"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Wonderful accommodating staff. Very personable hospitality. I really appreciated how kind and helpful the staff was at this boutique hotel. It's a role of the dice sometimes on SOBE but I was very satisfied.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Nyame, We’re thrilled our staff took such good care of you during your stay with us. Your satisfaction is our biggest reward! Please come and stay us again soon, whether for business or leisure. We promise to make your next visit even more exceptional and terrific!
2 night trip Jul 19, 2014
Nyame
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Overall great stay..
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Rick, We’re glad you had such a great stay with us! Thank you for the review. We would love to provide you with another wonderful experience, the next time you’re in our beautiful city!
3 night business trip Jul 18, 2014
Rick
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not that good"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Less than you expect.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
We’re very sorry your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. Please keep us in mind; we would love a second opportunity to win you over.
2 night business trip Jul 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great stay"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Entire hotel staff was very nice. The room was very clean and it included many amenities that are not available at other South Beach hotels. Great location!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Thank you for the stellar review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our friendly service team, fantastic location, convenient amenities, and clean, comfortable rooms. We hope you’ll return to Penguin soon for another amazing South Beach experience.
2 night trip Jul 13, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Good night everybody. Was good. Nice hotel character. But more price than on expedia stayed. Funny penguines in the hotel
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
What else would you expect to find in South Beach’s Penguin but charming little penguins and hopefully a wonderful time? We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our hotel’s unique character. Thank you for the great review! We hope your travels bring you back our way for another memorable visit.
Other trip Jul 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great location. Place is dated. Waiters sucked. Cleaning ladies were nice that's about it.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello, We love our Ocean Dr. location, and it’s great to hear you loved it too. We’re very sorry you didn’t enjoy our recent renovations. We put heavy emphasis on guest service, and we sincerely apologize that you did not feel the benefit of our efforts. We hope to see you again when you next visit our fun area; we’d love the opportunity to impress you with our ongoing improvements.
Other trip Jul 14, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"One day stay"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Great South Beach location. Hotel room is old and oddly configured. It appeared that they did not do a quality remodeling job. It was ok'd since we only had to stay for one day. I would not have recommended for any stay longer than 2-3 days. The staff members were nice though.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Robert, We’re thrilled you enjoyed our fabulous location on Ocean Drive. We love offering our guests beautiful, oceanfront views from the heart of South Beach. We’re sorry to hear you weren’t impressed with our configuration or remodeling. We aim to incorporate Penguin’s unique art deco history. Thank you for the pleasant remark about our friendly staff! We do hope you choose to stay with us again and let us win you over!
1 night family trip Jul 6, 2014
Robert
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
You get what you pay for. This was a good hotel at a good price. I do recommend if you are on a budget but still want something decent. If you want Ritz Carlton then you should go pay for Ritz Carlton.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello, We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Other trip Jul 7, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Cool little spot if you on a budget. Room was clean but small; bed was comfy but bathroom needed work sink was leaking. The tub floor was making a creaking sound while taking a shower .
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello, We’re glad you found our rooms clean, bed comfy and our rates a good value. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the bathroom sink and shower floor. We’re striving to always improve, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can wow you with our ongoing improvements.
1 night business trip Jun 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
It was wonderful. Anissa and David were fantastic. They took excellent care of us. Made sure we had everything and that we were comfortable. They both are assets to your hotel. Thanks again. We will definitely be back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello Pat, Thank you for the fantastic 5 star rating! We’re thrilled Anissa and David offered you excellent service. We’ll be sure to pass your praise along to them both; we know it’ll make their day! We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
2 night trip Jun 27, 2014
Pat Sinclair
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Expected more!"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I am far from picky and i am well aware of what to expect from a south beach hotel .... i have also stayed at the president hotel which is owned by the same company and i would recommend staying at the president ! but i can not say the same for the penguin.... for one our A/C did not work half of our stay we had leak in our bathroom sink and the bathroom although it looks updated you can tell it wasn't updated properly ! the bedsheets had what seemed like blood stains and there was hair in my bathroom when we 1st arrived
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hello, We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the A/C unit not working properly. We also apologize that our cleanliness did not live up to your expectations, and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We’re striving to always improve, and your comments are invaluable to our reaching that goal. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over.
Other trip Jun 24, 2014
fallon
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect location/great waitstaff/affordable drinks"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
From the moment we pulled into valet parking the customer service was on point. The room/location/ service was perfect. No complaints. I thank the hotel for a great south beach ocean drive experience.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hi Mel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It sounds like you were taken great care of from the moment you arrive until you left. We couldn’t agree more that our location is perfect. We welcome you back anytime, and we hope to see you return for another great South Beach experience!
Other trip Jun 18, 2014
Mel
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Perfect stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Check in and out was quick. We were welcomed with 2 welcome drinks. Breakfast was complimentary we were offered beach towels and they volunteered to hold our luggage after check out. Great! Will be back!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
We’re glad that check in and check out was smooth and fast. We’re happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and beach towels. We can’t wait to see you again.
Other trip Jun 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great location"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great location, I loved the room decor. The room was a bit small it only fits two comfortably. It did have a futon sofa that was nice. The staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again because the location was perfect.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
We’re happy to hear that you loved the room décor, and that you found the location to be exceptional. We’re very sorry to hear that room was a bit smaller than you were hoping for, but also happy that you found the sofa to be nice. We’re glad you found our staff to be friendly; we take great pride in our team. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Other trip Jun 14, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location with even greater staff"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Let me start by saying I am a super picky person who reads reviews on every place she stays at. In this case it was me & my fiance traveling to relax & celebrate his 38 birthday. I was still a bit shaken about the reviews I had read but had decided to give this place a chance myself since I have stayed at many South beach locations and had not yet been impressed by any. Carmen was at the front desk, I expressed my concern about the reviews & right away she called housekeeping to show us different rooms to choose from. Even the standard was nice especially room 108. Regardless Carmen seen how much I couldnt decide on which to chose so she upgraded us to an ocean front suite. We loved it! Florencia at the front desk was also very helpful and answered all my questions about the area. Even the housekeeping staff was super friendly and did a great job with our room. Yes there is a resort fee but I dont believe people realize they have that every where. In Orlando they charge 30 dollars per night so 19 dollars is not much. I would like to thank the entire staff including the waiters outside who were very friendly. Also their bar area is brand new and when you walk in the hall way all you smell is the brand new carpet. Hallways have the color blue since its supposed to have the feel of being in the north pole (PENGUIN HOTEL). lol I had read people complaining about it and I guess they just didnt figure it out.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Hi Mel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It sounds like you were very pleased with our staff’s excellent service. We couldn’t agree more that the location is perfect; close to everything! We’ll be sure and let Carmen and Florencia know how happy you were with their service. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your fiancé’s 38th birthday with us, we hope to see you both soon.
Other trip Jun 14, 2014
mel
US
3.0 / 5Good
"decent hotel to stay"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
It is a fair and reasonable hotel to stay near the beach. We stayed for 2 days. Rooms were clean but lacked mirror with lack of supplies. There were only two towels and toiletries were not replenished/supplied when room service cleaned the room. There are repairs going on in the next room. You can hear loud noises and drilling going on. You can hear everything in the next room :( The breakfast at the president hotel which is complimentary was not good and there is not a place to sit and tables were not clean with food still laying there.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you found the hotel’s cost reasonable, and that you enjoyed our close location to the beach. We’re sorry to hear that the cleanliness did not meet your expectations and that you did not feel you received adequate toiletries. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise coming from the room next to you. We are also very sorry that you did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast. We’ll take all your comments into careful consideration as we strive to always improve. We hope to see you again soon; we’re confident we can win you over.
Other trip Jun 12, 2014
Matt
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Location was great"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The staff was friendly and helpful . The valet service can be slow . Rooms and bathroom in need of repair
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Our location always keeps us smiling; we’re thrilled you loved it too. Thank you for your praise of our staff. We’re sorry you felt valet was a bit slow. We’ll take your comments regarding out rooms and bathrooms into careful consideration, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next return to South Beach.
Other trip Jun 8, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
parking problem,rooms not so good,food quality 2 star,
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
We’re very sorry that you were not happy with your recent stay with us. We will take your comments regarding the room and breakfast into careful consideration. For future reference; we do offer valet parking. If you would rather self-park, our staff are always happy to give you directions to several self-parking garages nearby.
Other trip May 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"This Hotel was Simple & Great"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I have read negative comments and was skeptical at first; however, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The location is great = very close to the beach and nightlife. We stayed one night and it was great. I'd recommend it to anyone who would like to crash for a night or a weekend.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Elbita, We’re thrilled to have pleasantly surprised you. Our fun location is one of our favorite qualities, and we love when guests fully enjoy it too, thank you! We will take your thoughts regarding our hallways into careful consideration. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Other trip May 17, 2014
Elbita
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Great place to stay if you want to be right on the beach. Lots of night life and resturants.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Ali, It sounds like you enjoyed a fun South Beach getaway! We’re thrilled that you loved your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
3 night business trip Apr 29, 2014
Ali
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Loved the location, staff was friendly and helpful, comfortable room but unfortunately it was located across from their very busy and noisy kitchen.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Penguin Hotel
Andrea, Our location is one of our favorite qualities, we’re happy you loved it too! We are very sorry for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from the kitchen. We hope to see you again in the future.
1 night trip May 2, 2014
Andrea
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews