Beds were really comfortable and i wanted to steal the pillows. Breakfast could have been better and cheaper though but overall good price for the night and i was safisfied!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to leave both positive and constructive comments of the Holiday Inn Harbourview. We are so pleased to hear that the beds and pillows met your expectations. However, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our breakfast offerings. We will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the Holiday Inn Harbourview and Café 101 team. We hope to welcome you back soon!
So convenient to stay near the ferry and bridge to Halifax Waterfront. Room was clean and comfortable aside from not having a refrigerator in our room and having to pay $15 to rent one. It was standard in other hotels we stayed in while we travelled three weeks in the Maritimes. Also, found 9:00 pm early for the pool to close. It is a beautiful outdoor […] pool that we really would have liked to enjoy more! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview It was very rewarding to learn that you have indeed enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all of your feedback and especially your feedback in regards to our pool hours. I will be sure to bring it up during out next management meeting. I sincerely hope that you will return to visit us again in the future.
"Daily Cleaning of rooms"
We arrived late in the early am. Our room was given away. We were then given a suite (which has a connecting room with a sofa bed, large dining table and bar area with sink). We went to the suite and saw that it had not been cleaned from the night before. There was food, trash and the pull out sofa's linens were half off. There were used towels in the […] bathroom. The suite was dirty and a mess. We had to call and get new linens and change them ourselves because no one from Housekeeping work nights. The next few days, the rooms were partially cleaned or not at all. I had to call down to the front desk on 2 days because housekeeping didn't leave any toilet paper.They always seem to miss cleaning the room with the pull out sofa bed or forget something. We didn't get any new towels some days, One day, housekeeping left 2 large bags of trash in front of our room doors for the entire day. For $110 USD per night, you would expect something better. Also, there was no mention of a parking fee of $10 per night in the Expedia hotel description. This information is only sent with your Expedia confirmation. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. I would like to offer my apologies for your accommodation experience. I am disappointed that you were provided with a suite that was clearly not maintained to our standards. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope you would give us an opportunity in the future to provide you with the stay that not only meets but exceeds your expectations
"Good for the price"
Very comfy bed. Clean. No breakfast but convenient to Tim Horton down the street. Helpful front desk staff.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future!
"Good for the price"
It was a fairly typical Holiday Inn, fine enough, with some nice features like the balcony, pool and laundry room. The rooms available on this site were only double beds, which was a bit small. The real disadvantage was that it was across the river from Halifax, and you had to drive over the bridge each time. The location directly adjacent to the bridge […] made that ok, but once back in your hotel there wasn't much to see or do in the neighborhood. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview I would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Harbourview for your recent trip to Halifax/Dartmouth and also for then taking the time to write a review of our property. It is our hope that we can welcome you back again soon
"Misleading location. Poor manners."
Firstly, the hotel is not in Halifax. It's across the harbor in Dartmouth. It's in the middle of nowhere and not really convenient for walking. In our first room, the air did not work. We called the front desk and they said someone was on their way. We left for dinner. When got back, the room was still hot and the air conditioner did not work. There […] was no indication anyone had done anything. No message to call the front desk. Of course we did, at which point they said the AC could not be fixed and offered a second room. We moved all of our gear to the new room, which smelled of cigarettes. Called the front desk and we moved to the third room of the night, which was now 1am in the morning. Next day, I mentioned to the front desk that we only had two breakfast vouchers and there were 3 in our room. The clerk looked at me and said that I only paid for two. I responded that I also paid for a room with AC and did not smell of smoke...which I only received after the third attempt. As she was writing out another voucher, she responded that she "understood," but that I only paid for 2 breakfasts. Adding to the insult, was the parking fee. It always amazes me, that a hotel would risk bad reviews and loss of future patronage, just to quibble over a few dollars for a breakfast, after being completely put out the previous evening. I definitely will not be staying there again, nor would I recommend it to any other travelers. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview I appreciate you bringing to my attention the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel.Your feedback has been shared with our management team for review. On a positive note we have 12 new A/C units that are being installed right now. While I'm happy to note most of our guests find out location ideal I'm sorry to learn that you did not. We would welcome the opportunity to make amends should your travels ever bring you back to the Halifax Regional Municipality.
"just wish they served breakfast"
very nice hotel. nice outdoor pool. close to ferry to Halifax.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Many thanks for sharing your impression of the hotel. We do have a full service restaurant on site that does serve breakfast every morning. Should you find yourself in Halifax/Dartmouth in the future, we hope to have you as our guest again. Thank you!
The A/C did not work in the room. I adjusted it down to 16 degrees C it came on and cooled for a few minutes and cut off. So I adjusted it lower, same thing. I switched it from C to F and adjusted it to 66 degrees F, same thing. In addition the exhaust fan in the bathroom ran all night without any switches in the room being turned on. It appeared to […] be an "always on" exhaust fan that could be heard throughout the room. So while the hotel appeared to be clean and safe, I got one hour of sleep all night. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas that are in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. Thank you for leaving your room number so we can have a look at the unit. I would like to apologize that our heating/cooling system did not operate correctly and ruined your stay. Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope you will return again
Can't say enough good things about the staff. They were friendly, helpful, and always up for a conversation if time permitted. Would definitely stay here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thanks for the kind review! It is always nice to hear how well our guests are treated by our employees and we focus on training them to provide each guest with an exceptional stay. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again in the future
"Average Hotel but good just for a place to stay"
The Hotel is average, next to the bridge and only located next to fast food options. One issue we had was that the entrance was totally block after a snow storm with guest having to walk from the road to the room. If I were not driving, I would not stay there as all the non fast food options are nit close and cabs in Halifax are expensive. The Hotel […] staff are O.K. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Overall, it was well (beds clean and comfortable, shower clean, etc.), however, there are more hotels around that are more comfortable as far as the room set up, space, etc. The double taples for desks does not allow for a comfortable seat. The top one is too high, forcing you to pull out the lower one in which there isn't any room to pull out. The […] heating/cooling units are out of date. Traffic is very heavy at the location. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Not modern but clean"
I was disappointed that the room did not have a refrigerator or microwave and parking is additional. Other then that the room was very clean.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Close to the Ferry to Halifax"
Did not like having to pay for parking but otherwise it was great. The front desk staff were superb in providing change for the ferry and information on where to go and what to see and just chatting. The room was clean and well maintained. At full capacity the water pressure and hot water were always at full flow on the sixth floor.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Nice room, bad location, outdoor pool is in front of the dining room, which seems like a strange location, no view.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Not fantastic but not bad"
The room was fine. It was small but nice. The hotel seems like it has seen better days but I really have no complaints. I received exactly what I paid for.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"will go back!"
Staff was friendly and very helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Harbourview! We are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely experience with our friendly and helpful staff and that you will return to the Holiday Inn Harbourview upon your next visit to Halifax/Dartmouth. We very much look forward to seeing you then!
"The No Sleep Hotel..."
Constant noise all night from the plumbing - terrible, woken up several times at night by dunks in the hallways. Stayed with a small group, they had a similar experience. The "gym" is a couple of cardio machines, lame. They have a deal with a gym across the street, if you want to go across the street in the weather. Wont stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Harbourview. All reviews are taken into consideration by management in order to identify areas in need of improvement. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel. We have shared your notes with the maintenance and night audit team and a thorough follow-up is being conducted. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.
"Good location in Dartmouth and close to Halifax"
The bed was too firm but overall the room was fine.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Harbourview. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive. We do apologize about the firmness of the bed. However, we are happy to hear that your overall stay was good. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Would stay again!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Harbourview. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel. We hope to have you back soon!
very relaxingGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Harbourview. We are so pleased to learn that you had a very relaxing vacation. We will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the Holiday Inn Harbourview team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
It was ok ,location and price were fine.The wash room could be bigger/Space.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for sharing your feedback. I do hope that the next time you are in town you will consider staying with us again.
"Nice hotel close to Halifax"
Excellent location, just off the bridge to Dartmouth. It took 5-10 minutes driving to get to the city where all the restaurants are, etc. The only thing to be improved would have been to have breakfast included. The hotel wanted an additional charge since the rate was so low ( booked through Expedia ).Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Many thanks for contributing your comments to Expedia. I appreciate your kind words about our excellent location. We do hope to have you return on your next trip to Halifax/Dartmouth.
"Nice hotel in Dartmouth"
We liked this hotel a lot. Nice restaurant. It is located close to the ferry, a 10 minute walk to the ferry across to Halifax. Very comfortable room.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Please accept our gratitude for the kind review you shared on Expedia. We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.
"Just what you expect"
Stay was comfortable and quiet. Location was Dartmouth but close to the Bridges to cross so best case if not downtown.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview We always enjoy hearing why guests enjoyed their stay with us so we thank you for your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future.
"Nice hotel but disappointed with the room"
I guess you get what you pay when booking online. Room was alright, bathroom was in two different sections, sink on one side and toilet and shower on other, did not like that at all. Air conditioner was way too noisy, had to shut it off to sleep then got to hot. The bed was super comfortable though, and the room was clean.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview We are very appreciative of you taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that the room layout wasn't to your liking, however I'm glad to note that you found the bed comfortable and the room clean. Thanks again and we hope to see you back.
Dated, good location, not walking distance to downtown Halifax. But a short drive or cabGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you
We had browsed different hotels on this sight, and after viewing the photos of this hotel, decided to upgrade to a king suite. What a disappointment that was, the photos they are displaying can not be of this particular hotel, our room was very small, old and dated, the bathroom sink was in the room where the closet should be, and the toilet and tub […] was in the smallest space I had ever seen, and you had to open the door and come out into the bathroom to wash your hands. Our room included two free breakfasts , but they said I only qualified for 1 because I didn't check the box with 2 adults and that it would be an extra 10 dollars for the extra person in the room. When I recieved the final bill, they charged me 14 dollars for parking overnight, even though there were no gates or ticket dispensers , and no signs stating they charged for parking. Do not choose this hotel!!! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been. I would like to point out that when booking on Expedia it does indicate that parking is an extra fee. We truly hope you will consider giving us a second opportunity in the future.
"Hotel was close"
Hotel staff very helpful and location within walking distance to many sights, up hill walk.lindaGenuine Expedia guest review
Was great manager very accommodation, gave us free breakfast and void the parking due to staff error, clean and quiet. Thank God we did not have to pay for the buffet breakfast it cold and over cook.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us despite the error that occurred. Thank you for your feedback about the breakfast buffet, I have passed your comment on to our Executive Chef. We hope to see you back should your travels bring you back to the city and again, thank you for your comments.
"close to ferry across to halifax"
Staff were friendly enough. no free breakfast or parking and no fridge all downgrade this one for me.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview It is quite common for people to confuse our hotel with the Holiday Inn Express brand that offers free breakfast. We do have some packages that include breakfast and parking, I apologize for any confusion. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
okGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"5-10 minute walk to Alderney, TIBS"
Decent room, clean. Beds were OK. Right off the Dartmouth commons, and very handy for the ferry. Parking is $10-12 extra.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Halifax/Dartmouth and also for then taking the time to write a review of our property. We hope to have you back soon. Thanks
From what the hotel looked like and getting into room! Very disappointed in the holiday inn on this one! Very old rooms and very run downGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to see how our customers perceive our hotel.
"Place to sleep and it's close to the bridge."
It was handy to the bridge and ferry to Halifax but non around the hotel.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview It's so pleasing to read that our location was convenient for you. I sincerely hope that you had a pleasant trip and would love to welcome you back sometime in the near future to experience more of what the hotel and area has to offer. Thank you!
"Yes I liked it!"
It was very comfortable and convenient.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Many thanks for your kind compliments and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
"expect little to avoid dissapointment"
Expect to pay for parking, expect very little else. For the money should be much nicer. Garbage in the parking lot, smells old book like. Convient location all it has going for it.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.
Had an issue . Hotel wouldn't correct it because we booked through hotels.comGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for your comment. Depending on what the issue was in most cases it does have to go back to Hotels.com to fix. I apologies you did encounter and issue but I hope it did not ruin your stay. Thanks again and we hope to see you back.
"nice hotel very clean pool"
The hotel was close to everything we wanted to see and do. (shopping, the Tattoo, etc.) The pool was very clean and not at all crowded. Dry pool towels were handily placed. The staff was friendly and the hotel was nice and clean.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview We always appreciate our guests that take the time to leave such nice comments about our hotel. Thank you and we hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Halifax/Dartmouth.
"Wedding night stay"
Great friendly service. Stress-free booking. Everything went as smooth as could be. Definitely recommended.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview It was our pleasure to host you as our guest! We are always striving to improve our hospitality and service and we appreciate your kind words about the hotel. Thank you!
service is good, especially the breakfast. Room keeping is also good.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for these kind words! I am very pleased that we provided you with a pleasant stay, a clean room and most importantly, good service. We also appreciate your comment about our breakfast and will be sure to pass it along to the team.
"Very nice Hotel"
The hotel have a very nice location, close to the MacDonald bright, a main bus stop, so you can come or go to the airport using public transportation. And it is just 3 blocks from the ferry stop, plus have some stores around Tim Hortons, Shopperdrugmart, Mc Donals, dollarama, subway. Etc The room are very comfortable and clean. The swimming look normal […] is no big but is not small neighter Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Amazing review, thank you so much for such lovely feedback! It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back
"Appreciate the ease"
Loving the fact that this hotel is close to downtown without the high prices. I also appreciate this hotl for not requiring a cash/money deposit for incidentals at check in. Who wants to pay a second time for their room? It is nice just to have my credit card on file but not be charged then credited after. Keep this policy! It sets you apart from all […] the others. This hotel is well kept and clean. Maybe I have low expectation but I have never had any problems with cleanliness. I was even worried booking through an outside source figuring we may have problems during check in but nothing but smiles and welcomes. Great job both holiday inn and expedia! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview What a great review! It is so pleasing to read that you found our property clean and the location ideal. We appreciate that you took the time to review our property on Expedia and we hope you will return again soon. Thank you!
The hotel was amazing, comfortable and clean! Everything was perfect and quiet. The staff was great and very polite. Only downfall was not knowing we had to pay an extra 9.95 plus tax for parking per night of our stay until we got there. After paying hundreds of dollars to stay to be made to pay for parking without choice of refusal so we could park […] somewhere else. Other then that amazing hotel and would stay over and over again! Beautiful hotel and very great stay! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview I was delighted to read of your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments in regards to parking. I have shared them with the Front Office Manager and she will address it with her team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back
"Close to halifax ferry"
Enjoyed the closenest of two cities, be prepared to pay for parking.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Thank you for taking the time to comment after your stay with us. It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were sooooo comfortable. Would defiantly stay there againGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Many thanks for taking the time to share your kind compliments on Expedia and we will look forward to your next stay with us.
"Better then you might think..."
We originally started our search for a hotel in Halifax but the price point was higher than we'd hoped for. Several hotels in Dartmouth kept popping up on the search and we finally decided to choose on Holiday Inn express. Although several people from Halifax laughed at us when they heard we are staying in Dartmouth and even said "why would you stay […] there" this had is a little worried. However it was all for naught! The hotel is situated right beside one of the bridges over into Halifax as well as a short three minute walk to the ferry dock. Access to Halifax was extremely easy as we were able to drive, take a taxi or the local ferry. The hotel was clean spacious and staff very accommodating with lots of parking. I would have no hesitation staying at this location again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Congratulations on discovering us at the Holiday Inn Harbourview. We think we are Dartmouth's best kept secret and it’s great to see that you think as we do! The team here at the hotel and myself are delighted to know that you have had a great time with us and that you would have no hesitations staying with us again.
"The worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed!"
Hard to imagine how small the bath room is. Bought a parking ticket from Holiday Inn parking lots, but when I checked in the staff told me I had to pay the parking fee directly to them, so I paid the parking fee twice!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so we can take appropriate steps to correct them. We hope you will give us another chance if your travels bring you back to Halifax/Dartmouth
Stained carpet, small bathroom, loud air conditionerGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview Sorry to read your stay was not all it could have been. We train our staff members to treat any carpets that have the appearance of any type of stain and we apparently missed the one in your room. I thank you for bringing this to our attention. It would be great if you have a chance to give us a go again
Good location, clean room, good food. They didn't seem totally prepared when we had to call housekeeping for something, but everything got worked out anywayGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Halifax - Harbourview I would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Harbourview for your recent trip to Dartmouth/Halifax and also for then taking the time to write a review of our property. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future
"Nice hotel, but......"
The hotel was nice, I restaurant was also very good. We were issued a non-working key card..which we had to go back to the front desk to have another issued to us. The location was good, and next to the city and highways. We booked the hotel through Hotels. com, and wasn't happy with the rate, because it was different than advertised on the internet, […] we though we were getting breakfast included, but were not, even asked the front desk, and we were denied that request. Also in the early part of the evening there was a barking dog in the next room. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )