"Great stay overlooking the beach."
There was a room mixup and the staff quickly remedied the situationGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Mari, Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments on Expedia. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff provided you with excellent customer service. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. Jennifer English General Manager.
"Got charged 40 extra dollars...."
My stay was pretty good, going so good that ny boyfriend and i decided to stay another night. We called down to the hotel to get another night added to our bill, and they told us it was going to be 149.99 to stay again. We agreed, and just yesterday inoticed i got charged 189.99! Tried calling and got disconnected twice.. will give it another shot today! […] Not happy about this. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Won't stay here again"
We will never stay there again. The front desk people were nice but that is about all that was nice. The bed was lumpy and very uncomfortable but the sheets were nice. The room was kind of old and dumpy, coffee maker didn't work right and the coffee went all over the counter. We couldn't sleep because there were drunk teens running around all night […] yelling and slamming doors, there were lots of other people yelling at them to shut up. You could hear people through the wall of this hotel. They don't even give out courtesy clothing bags to put your dirty clothes in. For the price there are better choices out there. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not a good stay : ("
We hardly slept at all due to band in the bar, people upstairs, people next to us. . . paper thin walls, could hear full conversations of people outside and in room next to us. Not to mention each shower, blow dryer, door closing or kids running outside the room were extremely noisy. Our goal for the night was to relax and get some much needed sleep […] away from the kids and we came home more tired than when we left : ( Seaside itself was good as usual but probably wont be staying at the Shilo again. Room was very stuffy and could not get it to cool down even after turning the thermostat to 55. Check in took forever as they don't let anyone actually check in until 4 pm so everyone is there at that time to check in because they wont do any earlier. My husband and I were there at 3 to check in and were told to come back at 4. We have never had such a late check in and lousy experience. Definitely not worth the price as there were cheaper hotels on the beach. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great location. The hotel is in OK condition. Great view from the balcony. Beds were not that comfortable. Sometimes it comes down to little things when you spend a lot of money. Kept running out of towels in the swimming area. No creamer packets for coffee in your room. Just things like that. But overall we had a good time.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"hungry but happy"
Instead of the complimentary wine / beer offer at arrival, we would have liked a coupon toward the expensive breakfast. The housekeeping manager was all involved and sponateously ready to help us retrieve our kite, fabulous lady!!! Loft room windows were having a salt water haze, but the loft idea is an architect's gem.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Avoid if you can"
Room was smelly. Could not believe someone below us complained about noise we were making by simply walking in our room until I could hear noise from above us. Hotel staff was so rude to send security to us instead of simply calling our room and asking us to tip toe instead of walking. The only thing the hotel has is the location, nothing else! Not […] even towels at the pool. Look for another place. Way overpriced! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and you were disrupted by Security. It is just our policy for the safety of all to have an agent approach a guest room instead of making a phone call. I hope that you give us another chance to redeem ourselves after reviewing us not at our best. Thank you, Jennifer English General Manager.
"Very nice place to stay"
The ocean is beautiful, lots of places to shop and eatGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Luis, Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments on Expedia. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was favorable. We hope to see you again soon. Jennifer English General Manager
"Home away from home."
Lovely vacation, staff, swimming pool, accessories. Small but accommodation room. Thank You.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Grandma, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation while staying with us. We look forward to the next time you are in the area and hope that you visit us again. Sincerely, Jennifer English General Manager
We chose to stay at the Oceanside Shilo Inn because our friends were staying at the Worldmark next door to the south. Although the location is the best, our room was extremely disappointing. Very noisy ... from loud guests to doors slamming at all hours, and walls that are paper thin. The entire property is outdated and is in serious need of an upgrade. […] For the money we were charged for two nights it was most definitely not worth the expense. I doubt we will stay there again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments on Expedia. Please note that all rooms and lobby were redone with tile, carpet and furnishings in 2013. We appreciate you offering your suggestions as we are always looking for ways to provide a better product for our guests. I hope that the next time you are in the area you can give us another chance to provide you with a more enjoyable stay. Thank you, Jennifer English General Manager
Had the best time this spring brake with the kids because the swimming pool at the hotel the food in the restaurant and the location so close to the beach . We will go back again in may .Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Lack of professionalism"
Took my son to the beach for his 16th Birthday. The room was great, but lack of recognition as we stood in line to check in for more than 1/2 an hour was irritating. When the girl finally got to us, she was quite curt. A special treat for my son was to be room service at breakfast. I asked for a menu at the front desk. I was directed to the restaurant. […] I got the menu and told them what was it was for. I was not told until the next morning when we tried to order that they do not do room service in the morning when they have the buffet. Would have been nice to know. We went down to the buffet, which had no prices posted. After a buffet of mediocre choices and coffee, we received our bill of over $42! The only joy of the breakfast was the Chef making omelets which were very well done. The hotel was close to all the touristy things my son wanted to do, which was good. Normally, I would not have stayed that close to the crowds. When we checked out, again with an extensive wait of no acknowledgment for quite some time, I was asked how our stay was. I said there was a lack of communication, the man said "that seems to have happened a lot this weekend". To me, that would warrant maybe some sort of accommodation for the inconvenience. No, just the statement that it was a known problem. I was disappointed but my son had fun and that was all that mattered. I do not recommend the Saturday breakfast buffet. You get better food for a better price a block away at Pig n Pancake. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"great location....good hotel"
location was perfect....service was great...room was not really clean...could see dirt around the beds.....I will come backGenuine Hotels.com guest review
it was a pleasing experience. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub they were the reason for choosing Shilo innGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Naomi, Thank you for staying with us while on vacation. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed one of our favorite amenities and hope that the next time you are in the area, you visit us again. Sincerely, Jennifer English General Manager
We spent 3 days in Seaside at the Shilo this March. The hotel is right on the beach and has the perfect location for stormy wave watching. Be sure you ask for an Ocean Front room if that matters to you since they are a large facility with many different views. Our room was clean, spacious and the kitchen had everything I needed.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Nicest room I've stayed in at the Oregon Coast. Loved the view, the amenities, the condition of the carpets, bedding.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Lynn, Thank you for staying with us and posting your experience on Expedia. I will have my Maintenance team check on the wall immediately in the room mentioned above. We do have the guest directory in our rooms that do list some amenities, but I will check on adding some extras to our welcome station to see if that is an option. Thank you for your feedback and staying with us here in Seaside. Jennifer English, General Manager.
"It's all about the people."
The first room assigned had lingering evidence of strong cigarette smoke. Enough that we didn't even want to set our luggage down for fear of transferring the odor. The second room took an extra trip back to the front desk to get the keycards programmed correctly. We found the hot tub in the pool area to be filthy... for our entire stay. I can understand […] it getting dirty but staying dirty is not acceptable. Housekeeping set the fresh towel on top of the wet swimsuits we had draped over the tub. We visited the attached restaurant 3 times: First waitress was attentive, friendly and professional. The next morning the second waitress didn't have time for us but the chef manning the omelet bar was great. The waiter on our third visit was professional and pleasant but not as attentive. A simple metric: If my wife's drink is still empty after 3 passes you aren't paying enough attention. If she has to go and find you in order to get a refill - FAIL. I can understand being able to hear voices from next door but I should not be able to understand the words. I certainly should not be able to see light shining through the door jam from the next room. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
The stay was fine, the people above us and on the side of us were very noisy at night. I felt that they should offer a continental breakfast. Even Motel 6 does that.. but overall, the stay was nice.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Vacation get away"
Aside from the restraunt staff my stay was awesomeGenuine Expedia guest review
"noisy, wet, uncomfortable.."
The room was above the lounge, next to the elevator and very small. It was clean, but I could not sleep as I could hear every door close, everyone getting off the elevator, the lounge music, the room was too dark to read in...I will avoid this hotel next year and pay more for the ability to sleep. Not enough parking as I can back to my room from dinner […] and had to park three blocks away in a heavy rain storm...I hate being stuck in a small room with wet closes. On the plus side it was clean..It is an old motel with all doors opening into a the outside..not a hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
it was definitely okay but not the best, i really hope next time we can book a ocean view room.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel was nice, bar and restaurant were beautiful, but some of the service in the restaurant not so much and the food was better down the street.. Loved the hotel part and the amazing views.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
So disappointed with everything about hotel! Don't waste your money!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Standard size room"
The standard size room didn't have a couch, and the bed was uncomfortable. The mini-frigerator was very loud with a humming and whining sound. I had to turn up the TV volumn to almost 70% just hear it. This is a dog hotel as well. Get use to the barking neighbors dog/s. Also, there was a girls basketball tournament in town and those girls ran up and […] down the stairs from 7pm until midnight. They sounded like a herd of elephants running, screaming, and laughing up and down. Do not let the hotel clerk put you by any stairs or the elevator. I heard the next several weeks there will be more girls basketball teams staying at this hotel. Not worth the money. Stay someplace else if you want peace and quite. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear D, Thank you for staying and posting your comments on Expedia. During the weekends of January, February and until the second weekend in March, the City of Seaside hosts the PBL Tournament (Pacific Basketball League) throughout many venues in the area. All hotels in the area are hosts to the teams that compete. I apologize that you had a restless sleep and urge you to contact the Front Desk so that we may attempt to remedy this by speaking to the team’s supervisors and chaperones. Please do not hesitate to contact me the next time you are in the area, and I will be happy to assist you with a more quiet room. Thank you, Jennifer English General Manager
"Rooms above restaurant/bar to loud at night."
Music was so loud in our room, could not sleep. If they are going to have rooms above a night club, better insulte them or let people know about it.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront Dear Sam, Thank you for staying and posting your comments on Expedia. I have spoken to the Front Desk about the importance of informing our guests about the location of those particular rooms which are located on the second floor. We hope that you will return the next time you are in the area and try a different room. Thank you, Jennifer English General Manager
It was great!!! The service was fantastic. The hotel is a little old but is more than made up by the service. Especially the welcoming by "Christie". It was the beginning of such fantastic people interaction by all the Staff. I wished all hotels were half as good. Thanks to the staff!!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Room too small - no view as advertised"
Will not return - curtains did not block light from hallway - bad night.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"It was a place to sleep."
The trip started with my wife being electrocuted from the hotel's faulty lamp. We were comped a night, given free breakfast, and switched rooms. We were called and hung up on the following night. Housekeeping not seeing the Do Not Disturb sign. But, in general, the staff was friendly and accommodating.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great stay at Seaside Shilo!"
We really enjoyed our stay at the Shilo Ocean front view room! We'll come back again and stay!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Right on the beach"
We loved staying at the Shilo Inn- it's right on the water. We stayed in one of the basic rooms, and I thought it was great for the price. Very clean and with a brand-new bathroom. My favorite thing about the hotel was the waitstaff. My husband and I had very kind and courteous people both at the restaurant and the next morning at breakfast. We would […] definitely stay at this hotel again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"The room was like a motel 8"
room was very small, no view at all, over priced for whati was. Food was good, veiw in dining and bar was nice. don't think we would stay ever againGenuine Expedia guest review
"Awesome weekend stay."
We arrive with many people to check in at the same time, employees acknowledge our wait and were very pleasant. We were waited on within a reasonable time.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Fun at the beach"
Need a book or paper in the room to tell you where things are at and when they open and close where Ice and snack machines areGenuine Expedia guest review
The only issue we had was the room only had a small heater, which was too small for the room.The beach access was right outside the door and the breakfast was good.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We came down for 1/18/14 for an anniversary trip. The hotel was filled with kids because of a basketball convention. We ate at the on site restaurant and it was really good and good service! When we went up to our room we had to call house keeping and have them come clean immediately!! The toilet was cover with some nasty make up looking film and the […] tub had black curly hair all over it and the wall had a make up spear on it. I'm pretty sure it was never cleaned but I called down to the front desk and a very nice man came up and cleaned the room. We went to the pool/hot tub it's 24hrs so that was awesome but the sauna was cold because Several kids were playing in the sauna and steam room. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great for a day at the beach with a kiddo :)"
Walk out the door and on the beach, swing on the swings, eat some food..even sit in the hot tub and watch the sunset :)Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel, bad placement"
The hotel itself was amazing. The staff was very nice and made us feel welcome. However they put us in a room that was surrounded by loud rowdy children. That put a huge damper on our stay.Genuine Expedia guest review
"I won't stay here again"
The walls are paper thin the doors slamming will make the whole room shake. The hot tub was the saving grace it was great to sit in the tub and watch the storm. It is way over priced for the room condition.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"great view of the beach"
Going to Seaside was a spur of the moment decision made during Saturday morning breakfast at home. We checked availability on line and Shilo Inn had a room. We arrived mid afternoon, checked in and had a spectacular view of the ocean during a terrific storm from the window of our 5th floor room! We had a great time!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"No insulation and very loud."
The room was tiny and quaint. The part that was bothersome was that the doors shut very hard and the people across the hall from us were constantly in and out partying. There were doors slamming all night as well as yelling. The doors seemed hollow and I could hear everything. The dog next door would then bark at them. It isn't Shilo's fault for partying […] guests, but the rooms certainly were not designed to muffle sounds. I could hear neighbors going to the bathroom. We liked the location right on the beach and the bar was decent, but we will never be staying here again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"will never stay there again"
Not much. Our keys did not work we found out when to front desk and the clerk told me sorry but she was having troubles making keys so she couldn't help. I asked her what the heck were we suppose to do as the girl who just got off came by the desk and made me a key. God knows what we would have done. The drains were plugged in the shower and sink. And […] the shower head barley had any water coming out of it for a shower. The walls are so thin we had to listen to the people next doing their thing and after throwing a shoe against the door did they stop. Just not what we thought by the picture on line. We were also told on check in we had a free buffet coming in the morning but was told later sorry that's only during the week. Nope not happy at all. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
enjoyed the time i was there,,,needed to get away...spa was very niceGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Everything was perfect!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Hotel room with view and small kitchen"
Check in was painfully slow with a long line and one person working the counter. Room was not ready even though check-in is 4:00 and it was after 4:00. I was told to come back "later" and I mentioned my dislike of standing in the long, slow line again. The clerk took my cell phone number and agreed to call me when the room was ready. I had my 2 young […] granddaughters with me and therefore, was a bit less patient with delays. I did not receive a call as promised. When I went to the counter to ask if the room was ready yet, the same clerk handed me my keys with no comment. We had dinner in the restaurant and while the meal was certainly fine, the service was amazingly slow and the restaurant was not that busy. We ordered a 2nd glass for wine which was finally served long after we had completed our meal. We asked for take-out boxes and it took another 10-15 minutes to get those. When the waiter delivered the check he came back in 1 minute to collect it. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Just what we needed"
My partner and I headed out for a local weekend getaway. Shilo was perfectly located for all of our plans. Plenty of hikes and adventure nearby and close enough to the beach to lug a box of firewood and marshmallows out for a romantic bonfire. I found the front desk staff to be quick, kind and helpful. I was very happy to be greeted by them each time. As […] for the restaurant/ lounge I was very unhappy with their service. I was in the bar area on a Saturday night. It was not busy at all, maybe 5 or 6 other couples. It took the waiter 10 minutes to find out I did not like the house wine then another 15 minutes to come back and tell me the bar was not stalked with the second drink I ordered. When I confronted him about the obvious slowness of the bar and his service he replied with the excuse that he was very busy and they,"were not playing around back there". I was pretty upset by that because I had just watched the bar tender change stations on the bar TV and put away glasses. We just left and then had a wonderful rest of the evening on the beach. The hotel was everything we needed the restaurant was not. I still would stay there again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Decent room, incompetent staff"
Published check-in time was 4:00 PM. We showed up at 3:00 PM hoping to check in and drive up to Astoria for dinner. We were informed the room was not ready yet, but left a cell phone number with a promise that we'd be called when it was ready. We stopped back by the front desk at 5:30 to ask how much longer it would be. They had a room ready then- in […] fact, a number of rooms- but said because of traffic at the front desk they had not been able to get around to calling people (there was a long line at the front desk). The next day, we asked about a 1:00 check-out (1 hour beyond normal check-out time) to make up for the lost time. The man at the front desk said that was fine, but at 12:30 we tried to get back in the room & our key had been deactivated. The place seems to be chronically understaffed. We won't be back. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Everything was just okay. It was nice being on the beach but we had some frustrations with the hotel itself. They didn't have our room ready until an hour and half after check in time. We stayed all week and not one person on staff told us the breakfast was not included on the weekend, we found out the hard way $40 for 3 people, with $9 off coupon the […] waitress gave us. The floors are very creaky, we could hear every time the neighboring people moved. Yes they allow dogs but we had a barking dog for a day next to us...no sleep that night. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Sunny warm Christmas Day in the Pacific Northwest"
It was a prefect mini vacation. Shilo Inn is right on the water. Room was a much smaller than most, but adequate. Best yet, my dog loved going on vacation. It was his first, not many hotels are as pet friendly. Clean room & clean common areas, staff was pleasant.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Beautiful views, close to everything, luxurious!"
I loved the gas fireplace, ocean front room, comfortable bed, hot tub, sauna and steam room. It felt like a luxury hotel but at a very affordable price!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
It was great.Genuine Expedia guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )