All hotels in Newport, Oregon, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
536 SW Elizabeth, Newport, OR, 97365, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
3.4 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 1,025 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    3.6
  • Service
    3.8
  • Comfort
    3.4
  • Condition
    3.1
  • Neighborhood
    4.2
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Just right for the price"
6 travelers, 2 rooms. We put all of our young adult/teenagers in one room. My husband and I took the other. The rooms were small but adequate. Rooms need updating, but they were clean. Our room was very quiet with no noise for the street, parking lot or other travelers. The views from both rooms (different building locations) were awesome. the beds were comfortable. When vacationing, generally we don't spend much time in our room so for the price, these rooms were just right. Nothing fancy, but all of our needs were met. We would stay here again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 6, 2015
Heather
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Spend $20 more and stay next door"
Room was like an oven, no way to cool it down, mildew in bathroom on ceiling and tub surround. TV didn't work right or remote. only like 10 channels. Fridge door was broken and loud. View was good but windows were dirty. Whole place including pool area needed updating and cleaning considering hotels around it. Felt like Shilo was left behind. Food in restaurant was not good. Had to send drink back because of Aphids floating from mint in the drink. Bartender was sweet and fixed the issue. Other drinks were good. Maintenance guy stomping by on the front porch several times a day and looked like a homeless man.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Mar 29, 2015
Jesse
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Great stay with beautiful view and easy beach access.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 4, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Bejeweled weekend"
Nice hotel, wonderful view of ocean
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Mar 27, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Girls weekend getaway"
A very nice getaway for me and a friend...girls weekend! The weather was perfect. Our hotel was actually upgraded to a 4th floor ocean view room which was nice! Great breakfast at the cafe and wonderful service all around!! I'll be back!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Feb 27, 2015
Wendy
US
3.0 / 5Good
"O.K. hotel with great view"
The view is great but after one night at next door Elizabeth, this was definitely a downgrade. Nothing dramatically wrong, just dated - a few stains on sheets, torn carpet, etc. There is on site restaurant for breakfast and another for lunch/dinner. They are convenient, have great view, food is ok but not great. The rooms are a little cheaper than their next door neighbors, but they are also a little smaller and nothing is included (e.g., no breakfast, no bed time cookies). Personnel was pleasant.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Mar 27, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"This Shilo is good for family visits."
Our room had beach access, and was close to restaurants, We walked to Nye Beach.We saw whales from our room.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 1, 2015
Sharon
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Clean hotel but very hard beds."
Staff was very nice. They were very accommodating with correcting Expedia's error with booking a room for dogs. Room came with a very large glass of wine for the adults :) Unfortunately is was needed as the beds were very hard. Most uncomfortable bed I have slept in, in a very long time. Although it is beach side, you need to be prepared for a hike to the beach.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 31, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"spring break!"
This hotel has the most beautiful ocean front view!!! It's not crazy expensive either. The only negative was our room smelt soooo musty!!! We had a fabulous stay! The housekeeping lady was so nice!! Thank you! We will be coming back!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Mar 24, 2015
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Disappointing"
There was an incident during the night with the room next to ours. We were awakened by shouting, door banging and voices on walkie talkies. We weren't sure what was happening or if it was safe to be there. After some time, we were told to stay in our room by hotel management and security. It was very upsetting and disruptive. We got no explanation and lost sleep. The next morning when I spoke with the registration desk I was told that because I booked through a third party, they couldn't refund any of my payment! Our weekend getaway was supposed to be relaxing and restful, but turned sour thanks to our stay at Shilo!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Shelly, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and I personally want to apologies that my team did not communicate with you better that evening. We would like to have you return to show you we can do better at creating a more enjoyable experience for our guests. Best Regards, Mike Willock
Other trip Mar 30, 2015
Shelly
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Beautiful view"
Beautiful view but that is all. Hotel is badly needing repairs and upgrades.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments and please note we are currently upgrading many of our properties amenities here in Newport. I am happy you enjoyed the view and hope you will visit us again in one of our greatly upgraded rooms. Best Regards, Mike Willock General Manager
Other trip Mar 30, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good location but with some problems"
The building we were in needed repairs (faucets hard to turn on, black stuff came out of faucets), wallpaper was bunched up on places in wall. Ice cubes were contaminated with grit. Bed was too hard. No convenient access to beach and we had to walk (or drive) up a huge hill to get to office. Building just a little run down, porch needed painting, etc. Perhaps some of the other buildings might be in better shape.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Washingtonian, We appreciate hearing about your valuable feedback and will look into all these mentioned items. Being on top of the bluff does create a little hike to the beach, but gives us some great ocean views. Best Regards, Mike Willock General Manager
Other trip Mar 27, 2015
Washingtonian
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"no pool, no fun!!"
Having no pool available in the same building was very inconvenient! We had to walk outside of the hotel to the other side to use the other pool, it was raining & cold outside!! However they did take $ off our bill which was nice, but the kids were very disappointed!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Mar 23, 2015
Theresa
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Needs to be updated!"
The TV in our "children's suite" didn't work. The employee sent to fix it was hacking & coughing all over the place. When he moved the furniture, there were chips & garbage that hadn't been cleaned up from the las visitors. It would be nice if the rooms had DVD players, so if the cable doesn't work, there are still options, especially when travelling with kids. Restrooms closer to the pools would be nice. Hotel definitely needs to be updated. Restaurant staff was nice & price of food was fair for portion sizes.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Mar 20, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"recent stay"
good long walk to beach steps one pool out of order hair dryer did not work
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear carolyn, Thank you for posting your remarks and letting us know about your recent stay at the Newport Shilo Inn. We will make sure to review these items and have them improved and fixed. Best Regards, Mike Willock General Manager
Other trip Mar 26, 2015
carolyn
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Birthday Getaway"
Room was above main office a little noisy, but overall good. Room Service evening ext. was down, so we had to go elsewhere for dinner. Was counting on room service for dinner. The morning ext worked so we got to have breakfast.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Mar 21, 2015
Dawn
US
2.0 / 5Fair
The room and hotel in general was not what we expected.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will visit the Newport property in the future to see all our various improvements. Best Regards, Mike Willock General Manager
Other trip Mar 25, 2015
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"old room"
Restaurant was awful! Service was ridiculous and took forever. Food was cold and not that good. Room was gross, old and ghetto.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Mar 21, 2015
Amanda
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Disgusting place to stay"
We paid only $40.00 less to stay at this place than the Whaler Inn down the street and I really wish we would have just paid the extra money. We've stayed at the Whaler before and it is so much better than this place by a LONG SHOT. Our room was dirty, it smelled bad, the shower had hair in it, the bed had black hair all over it, our pillows had hair all over them, there was a stain on our sheets, and the pool was DISGUSTING. It was covered in hair and looked green and murky. I don't think the filter was working and no one cleaned it at all during our stay. They've just given up here, and don't care about the customers experience.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Ashley, We are sincerely sorry about your experience and we hope we can bring you back to show you are progress. We appreciate your feedback and are working on all the items you have mentioned. Best Regards, Mike Willock General Manager
Other trip Mar 23, 2015
Ashley
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Good experience, only thing my next room neighbors were so noise and kids screamed almost all night...
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to offer this feedback on your good experience at the Newport Shilo. We will do our best to help resolve any issues or concerns our guests have and I am sorry about your neighbors. We hope you will come and visit us again soon the next time you are on the coast. Best Regards, Mike Willock General Manager
Other trip Mar 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Acceptable, but the worst Shilo I've been to."
The Shilo Cafe was disgusting. I thought the one cup coffee pot untie room was broken because there was a bad outlet in the room. The pool was obviously neglected, as it always seemed to be out of towels. My secon night, I was able to sleep, since I'd finally found and killed the heater.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear about your café and hotel experience and I will address these items immediately with my team. We care about your comments and will take steps to improve your mentioned areas of concern. Best Regards, Mike Willock General Manager
Other trip Mar 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Rachel rocks"
Rachel was excellent and she did a good job finding me that perfect room. Room was nice and clean
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Mar 14, 2015
Abhinesh
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Awesome view of the beach"
I was surprised with how outdated everything was. There's no AC, just a fan. The microwave has a turn dial, no buttons. It seemed clean but my bed wasn't very comfortable. Beach access was ideal and the view from my room we better than I anticipated!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 16, 2015
Laneyloo
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Shilo Inn, Newport OR"
Million dollar view at a fraction of the price. Hotel is old but comfortable and with a view like that most other things can be accepted. Don't think it's our only stay there, we'll be back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Mar 9, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
We enjoyed the great view and picked a perfect day for a beach trip. I haven't stayed down here in the summer when it is warmer...I don't believe there was air conditioning. The beds were comfortable and it was very clean. Reasonable price for an ocean view.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 11, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Liked it"
Wonderful service great people very accommodating. Perfect view and sounds of the beach. Room size for what we needed was good, table and chairs, refrig and micro wave. Only bad thing, there wasn't a door strip around the door, cold air was blowing in. We added a towel on the bottom of the door so that helped, We never complained about because we didn't realize why it was so cold until later in evening. Greasy staff good room service food
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Mar 4, 2015
Cari
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Gorgeous view of the beach."
The room was horrible. Very small with a bunch of furniture crammed into it but the worst thing was the smell. There was a horrendous chemical ordor that burned the nose and throat. Also, it was not a quiet environment. There were doors slamming all night and someone set off some fireworks around 1:00 am. The decor was out of date, the carpets and curtains stained. I will never stay there again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 2, 2015
Sandy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect Werkend"
All the staff were very friendly. the room was very clean. Room service was fast and food was delicious.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 2, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Staff was ok.. It was a busy weekend"
Beautiful view.. Hotel is older, it was a busy weekend and you could tell staff was annoyed to be apart of it. I would stay there again,
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing us this feedback and I will certainly discuss your remarks with my front desk team. We do appreciate our guests and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 28, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Family visit to the coast"
The hotel is showing age..rooms need to be updated...wasn't very happy when our room wasn't cleaned after our first night stay. I called the front desk when we returned and the guy that answered the phone wasn't very pleasant.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip Feb 20, 2015
neil
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice place, would use again."
You can tell it is an older Hotel, but it has been kept up. The cabinets could use some work. I didn't ask, but would have liked a softer bed.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Joe, We appreciate all our guest’s reviews and thank you for posting this feedback. I will look into a variety of mattress options for different preferences that our guests have. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to having you visit us again. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 24, 2015
Joe
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Met our needs but could be better."
Good deal for the price but the hotel is definitely showing it's age. Could use an update but then I'm sure the price would go up a lot. Hotel staff was super friendly.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Feb 20, 2015
julie
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"building b room 211"
The beds are old and horrible on the back. The building is old and the water pressure can take the skin off. The raised their price so much for the wine festival My last time staying here. The fridge was not cold. It was on but no way to make it cold.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for staying with us and offering your appreciated input on your stay. I will review all your valuable input and work with my teams on providing updates to these items. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"a great spot for Newport Seafood & Wine Fest!"
As soon as we arrived, I knew it'd be a great stay. Thank you -- we'll be back next year!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip with friends Feb 19, 2015
Dina
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Beach stay"
Staff was great but the room was in need of some updating (wallpaper peeling, etc.). Also the bath tub needed a scrubbing. Great location and easy beach access!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Feb 15, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice view"
Very nice staff. Nice view just rooms need updated, breakfast should be free and movie rental price was majorly overpriced.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear blanca, Thank you for offering your kind remarks on my nice front desk staff. I will discuss the breakfast option you have presented as well as the movie prices. Please note that the movies are operated through an outside company. Thank you for staying with us. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 18, 2015
blanca
US
3.0 / 5Good
"The view was amazing.."
The view was the only thing we appreciated. Beds were hard and noise from other rooms!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear 4buddytravlers, Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Newport last week. We are happy you enjoyed your view and will review your other feedback. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 16, 2015
4buddytravlers
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"not as nice as the pictures"
the pictures looked like they had decent room but they were very old and not worth the price they charge.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Regina, We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to give us feedback on recent trip to the Oregon Coast. I will review your concern and make sure to update any necessary recommendations. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 16, 2015
Regina
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Queen Not King"
We went here for a 2 night stay for our first anniversary. Initially we booked a 1 king bed ocean view room. The room was very small and felt "cramped" to us. Back to the reservation counter we went. The woman assisting me was MORE than accommodating, and even though they were booked for our second night, she found a way to let us keep our new room for both nights. My recommendation is to get the 2 Queen bed room over the 1 King room … unless you like close quarters and little room to move about. Our anniversary celebration couldn't have been better. IDEA: I bought cards and pictures from home of our wedding, candles and a few other decorative items. We set up the table in our room right in front of the window overlooking the ocean. Since all the restaurants were booked (Valentine's night) we opted instead to buy some cracked crab and cocktail sauce and take it back to our room. We had dinner with an ocean view, undisturbed, sat as long as we wanted to and it was less money than we would have spent in a restaurant. Yes, we loved our stay at the Shilo … in the 2 queen bed room!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Donna, I always enjoy hearing about our guests experiences at the Newport Shilo Inn and I am so happy you joined us for your special celebration. Thank you for letting me know about my helpful front desk team and I am delighted we were able to find a perfect resolution for your stay. Happy Anniversary and we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 16, 2015
Donna
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"great veiw"
clean room good bed and no compliant from us. If we need a place to stay we will stay here.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with the great views at the Newport Shilo. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you as our guests once again in the future. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 16, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Spontaneous Weekend Getaway"
My boyfriend & I were looking for a quiet getaway together & this hotel was VERY nice. Right on the coast, we could hear the ocean waves crashing on our room & it was perfect. The rooms we exceptionally clean & nice while accommodating our 2 dogs. I honestly wasn't expecting our room to be luxurious & it surpassed my expectations completely. I would LOVE to stay here again, we had an amazing, relaxing weekend there. Little shops with in walking distance, sketchy (AT&T) cell phone service which we didn't mind but a heads up to those that might need it. We will be back for sure!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Krystal, We thank you for staying with us and offering your kind comments. It is great that you enjoyed your stay and were able to travel to the coast with your 2 dogs, as we always enjoying accommodating our guest’s four legged friends. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 13, 2015
Krystal
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Shilo Inn Newport, OR"
Our check in experience was great, nice guy at the front desk who was very helpful! My only complaint was that the room was very dated. Tiles in the bathroom were a mismatch, shower different from floor......made it look old. Enjoyed the view with the big windows. Reading lamp didn't work so they brought us a new one that was to short to read with.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Feb 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"ocean"
very nice room, looking over the ocean. the weather suck, but that not shilo fault.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Feb 3, 2015
scott m.
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Not horrible, not great."
Wasn't impressed with the restaurant on site, service was poor and food wasn't all that great either.Rooms were fairly quiet, and having the windows only open up about 6" give or take kinda bummed me out ( I love opening the windows during the night to hear the waves crash and smell the sea air) I locked both keys in the room, the lady at the front desk was very sweet and very helpful. That was the only thing that stuck out in my head about staying here. Would I stay here again? Maybe, if there weren't anything else available. Wasn't horrible but definitely not a top choice.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Jan 31, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hotel looking over the beach"
My stay at the Shilo was very pleasent,. The staff was very friendly and very informative. The room itself was nice and clean.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear Valued Guest, We are happy you found your stay with the Newport Shilo Inn to be a pleasant retreat. I will definitely pass along your kind comments to the staff and let the housekeeping team know they are doing a great job. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 12, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"quite stay"
Great time, nice staff, only problem was bed was uncomfortable to us. We don't go to the beach to watch TV but if you do the tv is older and there was no dvd player. We enjoyed watching the sea lions playing in the waves. Restaurant and café was nice as well. Great food.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Feb 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Love the staff and the rooms!"
We stayed two nights and it was wonderful. The staff is absolutely great! Love this place!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Dear sandra, Our goal is to always provide our guests with great service and I am happy we were able to extend this to you during your stay. We hope to have you come stay with us again in the future as our wonderful guest. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 10, 2015
sandra
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Angels in strange places."
Personal shout out to my maid Jodi (I think).This woman, though she may not know it, helped me through a tremendously painful experience during my stay; simply by knocking on the door to see if I needed anything. I know it's technically her job but I felt like she genuinely cared for not just my feelings but my soul and I cannot thank her enough.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Jan 30, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Location, Location, Location"
The Shilo is a great location for a good value. Is it a fancy update hotel? No. But it is comfortable, great views, easy walk to Nye beach and has all the basic amenities one needs. The bed was comfortable and the facilities were clean. The hotel is aging and takes a beating given its location on the coast, but they do a good job keeping it up and are slowly updating the rooms. We will certainly stay here again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
It is always very valuable for us to hear from our guests and receive their insightful feedback. I appreciate your honesty and am happy you found our property to enjoyable. Do certainly do have challenges being on the coast due to the constant weather, but do our best to keep our guest’s experience to be a great value. We look forward to your return visit. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 9, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Rainy night at the beach"
Me and mine had a wonderful stay the room was as described ready for our arrival and warm
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Thank you for choosing Shilo Inn Newport and staying with us during your recent trip to the Oregon Coast. I are happy you had a wonderful stay during a great rainy beach night. Best Regards, Mike Willock, General Manager
Other trip Feb 8, 2015
jakeo
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews