For the price it was ok. The biggest complaint I had was the pillows were almost nothing, and you only got two per bed. Most places, even cheaper ones, have smaller ones but 2, on the bed. If they would have been a little thicker they would have been ok.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great hotel for the price"
I thought it was great for the price. The rooms smelled a little musty and there appeared to be some growth on the ceiling of the shower area. Continental breakfast was simple having English muffins or danishes. But it was inexpensive and perfect for us. We were hardly there much, but to sleep and go back to Cedar Point --so it was great!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
As some of the other reviews stated, the room did smell musty when we walked in.We had some spray deodarent that we sprayed lightly around the room-mostly on the rug. We also had a sock on the rug.I picked it up thinking it was my son's,but it wasn't-ewwww! I noticed another reviewer wrote something about an article of clothing left in their room.Maybe […] it's done on purpose-maybe for good luck :). It wasn't hidden either-it was right in the middle of the rug near the door.They couldn't have missed it when they were cleaning.We stayed 2 nights and the 2nd evening the room smelled fine.There were no bugs and everything looked clean.I always bring antibacterial wipes with me anyway to wipe door knobs,remote control-anything that people touch a lot(I'm really not neurotic about it).We didn't swim, but there were people swimming and the pool looked fine. Breakfast was adequate.There were english muffins and a toaster to cook them.Boxed pastries and mini muffins. Coffee,juice,tea.It was enough to get us going for the day.Staff was pleasant and helpful.We only used the motel to sleep at, so it was adequate for our needs. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Room for improvement"
The breakfast consisted of English muffins and Danishes plus coffee and juice. There was NOTHING else, not even fruit. Non smokers will be huffing and puffing as they lug their luggage upstairs with no elevator – the downstairs is all smoking. The staff was friendly. The water pressure is nonexistent so the shower was more like a trickle. The internet […] connection was intermittent, at best, with frequent and regular outages. Each website page had to be loaded again and again (at least 3 times for it to appear). Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Hotel near cedar point, good price"
I chose this hotel because it was cheap and near cedar point, well I didn't have high expectations but I did expect to have a clean room, and not worry about getting sick. There was mold in the bathroom that was visable and the whole room had a VERY strong odor of mold and mildew, as the night went on I was getting more fearful of what it could be doing […] to my children sleeping and breathing it in. I decided there was no way we were staying a second night I didn't even want to stay the reat of the night! The tv didn't work either but that was a very minor detail compared to the issue at hand. AWFUL EXPERIENCE ! We moved to the hotel next door it was actually cheaper and didn't smell or endanger our health and as a bonus the tv worked! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
beds are rock hard! other than that, it served its perpose.Genuine Expedia guest review
We enjoyed the hotel. The rooms could use an update on the comfortors and bedding. They were not very comfortable, crunchy and old. Other than that everything was great.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
This was a below average experience. I am not one to complain about hotel conditions as I try to avoid confrontation with those who have access to my personal belongings while I am away so therefore I did not mention any condition issues to hotel management. The cleanliness was sub-par with hand prints on the walls, half-used shampoo and conditioner […] amenities along with food morsels left on the floor. There was no alarm clock, no coffee pot and a dysfunctional ice machine. All of which were said to be provided in full operation. Disappointed. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The outside of the building could use a lot of updating, as many parts look old and un kept. Our room was clean and neat. Things were quiet. The continental breakfast was lacking choices and that could be fixed without much cost or effort.Genuine Expedia guest review
We checked in on Friday and found hair in bathroom. So they changed our room. Then the next room tv didn't work. Once we got into the third room we put our dnd on the door and housekeeping came in our room anyway. Very displeased will NEVER stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Value and Location"
For the price we paid - we have nothing to complain about. The TV didn't work in the room we were assigned so they moved us to another. It was very clean, the pool was nice after a long day at the park - the only complaint I would have is the pillows - there is nothing to them. The front desk staff was polite and courteous - it was a nice stay.Genuine Expedia guest review
We stayed here one night, Friday to go to Cedar Point. We were barely in the room since it is as t Milan Rd. and we wete enjoying the day out. Overally, great place, very clean and quiet.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Basic Lodging Close to Cedar Point"
The room was comfortable, two double beds, sufficient bathroom, and less than 15 minutes to Cedar Point. No refrigerator in the room, and the continental breakfast is just an English muffin, jelly, and coffee. We did not try the outdoor pool. The room was definitely non-smoking with no allergy inducing cleaning odors either.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good room, Breakfast is pointless"
I liked the room: very clean, good bedroom and bathtub.... They have free breakfast but it is like nothing... they have cheap cookies and orange juice from concentrate....they could include boiled eggs for goodness sake...Genuine Expedia guest review
"good stay,clean the pool."
Everything Was Good,But ThE PooL In Some Need Of Cleaning.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Price was right - but not much else was"
Rooms smelled incredibly musty. Desk staff failed to turn on AC units in rooms, so we spent an uncomfortable night before getting to the bottom of the problem the next day. The continental breakfast was a plate of english muffins and one of danish. Wifi did not work during rainstorms.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
My family got there checked in got room.wasn't even cleaned blackets towels trash dirty tables went down told front desk .she sai d o I will tell maids no appalgee.came back from cedar point still dirty room.it was.my worst stay ever. Thanks for a bad nightGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm VERY sorry that you encountered problems with our housekeeping department during your recent stay with us. I will direct the GM to have a discussion with our Executive Housekeeper to try to get to the bottom of this problem and enact a resolution. I'm hopeful that you might treat this issue as isolated and give us another opportunity in the future to serve your lodging needs.
The sink drained slowly and the air conditioning unit had a peculiar, sporatic noise. There was stale smoke smell in the hallway possibly due to the mix of smoking and nonsmoking rooms on the same floor.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm happy to hear that our accommodations were adequate but we're shooting for beyond adequate. It's comments like yours that help us focus our energies on the areas where we need improvement. Thanks for your input!
"Not a bad place to sleep"
The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The "continential" breakfast was meager at best. It lacked fresh fruit and the coffee was not kept full.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm very happy to hear that you found the room and beds comfortable and clean. It is true that Travelodge is a budget-brand franchise and, as such, we offer a limited continental breakfast. However, these kinds of things help contribute to our ability to keep our rates lower than the majority of our competitors. Thank you for your comments and we hope you'll give us another opportunity in the future to serve your lodging needs!
rooms were stinky. pool not clean. if you have an outdoor pool and we went for that reason, it should be clean.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm hopeful that you brought up the issues you raised here with our staff while you were on the property. This way, those problem would have been resolved. I hope that you'll treat these issues as untypical and give us the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to continuous quality improvement. Your comments will help us continue to make that priority one!
"over night stay"
We stayed here just for the night before heading to cedar point. I was skeptical, but overall it was a good experience. The room was very clean and nice. The staff were great and pleasant. The only downside were the walls. They are paper thin and it was hard for me to sleep only because we had noisy neighbors on either side of us. other than that i […] had a good experience Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experiences with our hotel. I'm happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and that you found our accommodations clean, comfortable, and safe. I'm sorry that you had to deal with noisy neighbors; I'm hopeful that you let our staff know about this so that they could appropriately intervene. We hope to see you back on a future visit to our area!
had 2 rooms with 8 people and only 4 bath towels!! asked for 4 more and didn't get them. room should have been available at 3 pm but wasn't ready until 5:(Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I must apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay. Thank you for sharing the issues with us so that we know better where to focus our training (and re-training) efforts. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again in the future and appreciate your business!
"You pay for what you get"
The room Sucked, bedding and linens were gross, decor of the room was early eighties, bathroom was all rusted and mildrewy. Never will stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm very sorry that we weren't able to meet all of your expectations. While this is a seasonal, budget-friendly hotel, you shouldn't expect or receive anything less than clean, comfortable, safe accommodations. I'm hopeful that you brought these issues to the attention of the staff while you were at the property so that they could be addressed before another guest had to encounter the issues that you did.
The first room they put us in was musty n moldy smelling couldn't stay in BC my son has alleges. So they put us in 2 different rooms no extra charge so that was great but the room my husband n I had was DIRTY! Pulled the blankets back n the sheets where dirty with blood stains, dirt, n hair on them along with the pillows where dirty n stained. They […] tried making things right but there is no reason for that. Will never stay there again. We heard all the guest that where there saying how bad it was. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm very saddened to hear about the hassles you had to endure during your stay. This is certainly not our standard level of service or cleanliness and your comments will help us to provide training for our housekeeping staff. Thank you for your input and know that it is important to us to hear ALL feedback from our guests, no matter whether it's positive or negative.
"travel lodge sandusky"
Only gave 1 set of towels, there was a huge "closet" taking up most of the space in my room, that I had no access to because it was locked. The breakfast wasn't even a breakfast in my opinion. The pillows were small I had to go to the front desk and ask for another one, in doing so I had to wait 20 mins for them to hunt one down.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We will have a discussion amongst our staff to ensure that housekeeping knows our standards and with the front desk staff to ensure that they're giving nothing less than stellar customer service--which is one of our main goals. We hope to see you back again--with think you'll be pleasantly surprised!
No hot water. Told housekeeping and front desk but they just shrugged shoulders.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm so sorry that you experienced problems with the hot water service during your stay. What I'm even more concerned about, however, is the response of the staff to the issue. That situation should have been resolved immediately or at the very least, you should have been kept apprised of the situation. I'm very sorry again and hope that you'll give us another opportunity in the future to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement!
our non smoking room had a terrible musty odor, We arrived about 11p after a full day at Cedar Point, We were exhausted. The guests in the room next to us were talking loudly not yeling and we could hear everyword they were saying. We were not very pleased at all with our stayGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I am sorry that your stay didn't meet (or exceed) all of your expectations. As you know, this is an exterior entrance property--and it's also seasonal. We are challenged by being located in a very humid area of the country (near the lake) and deal the best we can with this issue. I'm hopeful that you brought this to the attention of your staff while on the property so that the situation could be resolved or so that you could be moved to a more suitable room.
"Worst place I have ever stayed"
Overall the Travelodge in Sandusky, Ohio was by far the worst place I have ever stayed. After I get checked in to my room I walked to the room, and instantly thought this was going to be horrible. The room was very musty smelling, the plumbing sucked, and the towel that I used after I took a shower had hair in it. Not to mention you can hear every shower […] running around you. I ended up staying with a friend who booked at the Comfort Inn across the street, because I could not fall asleep in this room. When I checked out the lady at the desk asked me wlhow my stay was I told everything that was wrong and her only explination was that they open seasonaly. I wish I could my money back because that, was just terrible. If you are looking for a place to stay in Sandusky, OH I do not recommend the Travelodge Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky You are correct--this is one of our seasonal properties--but that doesn't mean that anyone should expect anything less clean, comfortable accommodations. As you also know, this property has exterior entrances to the guest rooms. With us being in a rather humid area of the country, this is a battle that we constantly fight--but have a pretty good system in place to combat the issue. I'm hopeful that since you brought this issue to the attention of the staff that they were at least able to remedy it for the next guest. Had you let us know right away, we probably could have moved you to a room that was more suitable. Again, my apologies!
"Great family hotel"
Not a luxury hotel; but very family priced. Since you will spend most of your time away from the hotel it offers everything a family requires at an affordable price. Staff all very friendly and helpful. VERY CLEAN which is a big plus. Close to everything.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you very much for your four-star rating and review of your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear that you found value in our property and that we could accommodate your family and a budget-friendly price. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again whenever your get the chance to visit our area in the future!
We spent the day at Cedar Point for Halloweekends, and the park was open until Midnight, so we had a very late check in. There were 4 children and 2 adults in our room, and we were thrilled to find a hotel that could accomodate us all with 3 double beds. However...the room next door was throwing a VERY LOUD party, and using racist, disgusting language. […] We tried to turn on the TV, so the children could try to sleep, and we went downstairs to talk to the manager to see if we could switch rooms...which we were told NO. The party was going on in the room directly above the check in desk, so the manager was well aware of the situation. We ended up leaving the hotel at 4am because they would neither move us to another room, or ask the party room to quiet down. I would NOT recommend staying here...Very disappointed in the management! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I am very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during your stay with us. I also want to tell you that, since your stay, there has been a change in personnel so that hopefully something like this won't happen in the future with our valued guests. I hope that you treat this situation as isolated and that you give us an opportunity to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement--both to our staff as well as to our facility. We KNOW you won't be disappointed!
Close to Cedar Point, quiet, clean and priced right. what more can you ask for. I checked in about midnight and the desk attendant was very nice, on check out too. I just love a great customer service experience!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky WOW--thanks for the wonderful compliments and your five-star rating of your experience at our hotel. I'm SO thrilled to hear of your great experience and that our staff was cheerful and accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
was ok just sleptGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm glad you chose to allow us to provide you with lodging accommodations and hope to see you back again soon!
"close to all things around"
it was nice and staff was friendly but the room had a musty smell when we first arrived but other than that it was a nice reasonable place to stay with convient stores and restaurants close by. very close to everything we were vacationing forGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your experience at our hotel property. As you know, this property has exterior entrances to most of the rooms (although we do have one building with interior corridors). This sometimes makes keeping the humidity in the rooms at acceptable levels troublesome. We do our very best to combat the humidity issues and have continued to work with our housekeeping department to pay attention to this issue. I'm glad that you found our location convenient and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I hope that you'll choose to stay with us again!
The 2 rooms were not clean. The service was terrible. No manager on site for the 2 days spent. Would never go there againGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for taking the time to offer valueable feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We've taken steps to improve our housekeeping department since your stay and I can report to you that we've received a lot of positive feedback regarding these changes. I'm a bit perplexed with regard to your comment regarding there being no manager on duty. We ALWAYS have a manager available to respond to customers--even if only via phone at certain times. I'm very sorry that you were told that there was no manager available--perhaps the employee was new and wasn't completely aware of all of our procedures. Still, no excuse and unacceptable, but just a possible explanation. Again, I apologize! I hope that you'll treat this as an isolated incident and give us the opportunity to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement!
price was right considering the proximity to highway and local attractions.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your stay with us. I'm glad that our property met (and hopefully exceeded!) your needs and that you found the price right. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again very soon!!
"Breakfast was not good and Bathroom was leaking"
Breakfast was not good. They kept same food each morning.Bathroom was leaking.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for the feedback. Even negative feedback gives us the opportunity to constantly strive to improve our property. As the new summer season approaches and we prepare to open the hotel for the season, we will consider what we might be able to do to improve the breakfast offerings. Thank you again for your input. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again in the future!
"Needs to be cleaned and updated!"
The rooms were dirty and smelled. The walls had stains on them and there were stains all in the hallway. The continental breakfast was a joke and you were better off going to by some breakfast of your own.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay. I can report that for this upcoming season, we've worked hard to get this property in tip-top shape and that we're also considering what changes might be made to our breakfast offerings. We hope you'll choose to give us another shot in the future. I know that you'll be pleasantly surprised with the changes!
The pool water was so cloudy, you couldn't even see the bottom of the pool.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for commenting on your stay with us. As you know, keeping a pool chemically balanced is, for lack of a better way of saying it, a delicate balancing act. There are times, with ALL pools, that cloudiness does occur--and it's normally rectified pretty quickly. I apologize if this wasn't the case in your situation. Hopefully, you'll treat this problem as an isolated issue and give us the opportunity to serve your lodging needs again in the future!
Cleanliness of room/hotel it was okGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"next to Cedar Point but look out!!"
My daughter insisted in sleeping in our rental car, she wouldn't take her shoes off in the room. It was scary.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Don't count on the free breakfast"
This is an OK hotel. It is at a reasonable distance from Cedar Point. I would suggest to stay most of your time at Cedar Point instead of this hotel. The room was clean, but the beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were pretty bad. Also, don't count on the free breakfast. It is just a couple of pastries, english muffins, juice, and coffee.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The room smelled like mildew when we entered. Also, the wash cloths became very dirty when we used them..as if they weren't very clean to begin with.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel needs updatingGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"close to cedar point"
old hotel. rooms were ok but they were clean. beds lumpy but clean. no bugs.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I would not recommend this room to anyone. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The room was the dirtiest room I have ever seen. After looking at the room we did not stay. The whole property was completely filthy.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Location and General"
Close to Cedar Point and Soak City. Clean rooms and fantastic service.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE!"
Room was very outdated, musty smelling, and when making the reservation I was told the room would have a pull out coach for one of my children to sleep on. This was not the case and we had to pay for a folding roll-away bed. If it was not 11pm when we checked in, I would have gone to a different hotel.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for offering feedback on your stay with us. I'm sorry that you were misled regarding the pull-out sofa but that option doesn't exist at this property--so I'm frustrated to know who gave you that information. We've made some changes to our housekeeping program for this upcoming season which should resolve some of the other issues you mentioned. I hope you'll give us an opportunity to be of service to you in the future and that you'll see our commitment to continuous quality improvement!
First room they gave us had somebody else in it, then they gave us a dirty room. My daughter left her retainer and they threw it away instead of contacting us. I will never stay in another Travelodge.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for offering feedback regarding your stay with us. I must apologize for the problems you encountered with regard to the confusion at check-in. There really is no excuse for that--and I simply must say that I'm sorry. In terms of your daughters retainer; we have in place a lost and found program so if the retainer was thrown away, I'm positive it was by accident--as we've had many devices like this turned into us in the past and have gotten them safely back to their owners. Again, my apologies!
"Great for the price!"
Our room was clean & maintained very well during our one week stay. Breakfast was ready and the coffee was good. The hotel served our purpose very well and the location was very convenient.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. It's really appreciated when people take the time to let us know when they've had an enjoyable stay and are happy with their experience at our property. We can't wait to welcome you back again very soon!
i got exactly what i deserved for my money, nothing to complain about.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky I'm very happy to hear that you feel as if you received value in the money that you paid for your accommodations with us. Thank you for leaving feedback--we hope to see you again very soon!
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )