All hotels in San Francisco, California, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here440 Post St, San Francisco, CA, 94102, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.6 / 5Outstanding

Score breakdown (from 273 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.7
  • Service
    4.8
  • Comfort
    4.4
  • Condition
    4.4
  • Neighborhood
    4.8
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Small Hotel, Big Service"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Book this hotel! I came to San Francisco for a conference and by the time I tried to book my hotel, all the conference's room blocks were sold out. Even my family member, who works for a boutique hotel chain in the area, couldn't get me a room. But there were rooms left at the Inn at Union Square. And I am so glad there were. The rooms, while small, were clean, updated, and decorated nicely. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The location was perfect. Book your stay here, you won't regret it!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 22, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Location!"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Stayed here for an event. The room was tiny and old but we really only needed a room as a place to sleep so it did the job. The room faced a brick wall so no view but again we didn't need a view. The hotel staff was AMAZING!! Super nice! The only bummer was we didn't have a fridge or microwave. There seemed to be a communal mini fridge on each floor but I don't trust others enough to leave food there. I will absolutely stay here again!! I am a hotel snob! The city can be a stressful place but the staff made our stay GREAT!! We will be back!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Oct 19, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Unique Hotel Experience"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The staff was very friendly and welcoming right from the very start. Wayne the Innkeeper was very insightful and willing to provide suggestions on places to visit in the city. This hotel is not for everyone. It has a very European Bed and Breakfast feel to it. If you want a typical hotel experience then you shouldn't stay here. This however is part of the charm. To stay in such a large and busy city and be able to forget you're right in the middle of everything is pretty neat. Wine and cheese tastings are offered every night and included as part of your stay. We only took advantage of this a few times but it was a nice touch. The location is great and central to just about everywhere you would want to walk to in the city. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking to have a unique experience in such a unique city.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 13, 2013
Ricky
US
3.0 / 5Good
"NO AIR CONDITIONING !"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The rooms are small and oddly shaped...they overlook the back of a Morton's steakhouse, so the smells and sounds are strong. The staff is excellent and did their best to make our stay comfortable by bringing in a portable window air conditioner. While it was helpful, it was HUGE and loud.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip with friends Sep 29, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    -
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Room was small although pleasant. It could do with air conditioning as it was warm and stuffy. Bathroom was tiny with even smaller shower stall.
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Oct 6, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    -
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The hotel staff and especially the receptionist were extremely helpful, friendly and pleasent. We had a double ensuite on the 4th Floor. Very clean and plenty of towels provided. Our only complaint would be that there is no view from any window. Our room windows opened out onto the brick wall of the adjacent building. Also the noise from the air conditioning unit on the roof of level 1 below our window was very intrusive especially since the room we had did not have any air conditioning! This is a quaint boutique style hotel and is compact in every way. The location is very central and a stones throw from Chinatown and little Italy.
Genuine Venere guest review
Other trip Oct 1, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent choice"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This is our second time and we love the inn. The rooms are lovely and comfortable...the only drawback is the lack of air conditioning - honestly not normally a problem in SF, but this year was humid and warm the few days we were there.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 23, 2013
p
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A great place to stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every one of them. The hotel and the staff are great. The rooms were extremely clean and well decorated. It is an older hotel but so much more personal than the large chains.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Sep 15, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
DrAin in sink wAs slow. Hotel could use some maintenance. Housekeeping missed one day. Excellent staff
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience and comments such as yours help us improve our facility and services. We are sorry to hear there was an issue with your housekeeping service and the drain in your sink. We will certainly take appropriate action to rectify these issues. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our excellent staff and we look forward to welcoming you back when travels again return you to San Francisco. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
3 night business trip Aug 18, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"A rocky start to a good stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We arrived at 5 pm on a Thursday. Bumper to bumper rush hour traffic and no place to park on street to check in. I'd recommend not arriving during rush hour! On our second long go around we found a loading zone, I rushed inside and was told the parking valet would be back in 10-15 minutes. Was I going to get a ticket where I'd parked, I asked. The clerk went outside and asked a driver to move his big black sedan forward. The hotel is next to Morton's Steakhouse which had a parking valet out front who won't let you park in their 'slot.' The hotel entrance is one car length wide. We finally parked in front of the hotel and from then on our stay was wonderful. After a quick check in our bags were handled and we went to a lovely wine tasting with a Napa vintner. A delightful surprise. The next day we didn't want to do the same old visit to Fisherman's Wharf and the front desk clerk told us about the Ferry Building. What a great suggestion. The one other problem we encountered was housekeeping didn't clean our room by the time we returned at 3 pm. We put in a request and they arrived in minutes. We then realized maintenance had switched out the old wooden coffee table and replaced it with a slick new glass top one.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 12, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice close to city and cable cars."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We enjoy your supplied great wine and snacks. Thank you!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 9, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Quick Trip to San Francisco"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The staff here are GREAT! Wayne and Ann and Omar were all so helpful and friendly. Great location, great charm.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 5, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect location"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
A very sweet hotel very near Union Square. The rooms are a comfortable size with all amenities at hand. Breakfast is good and plentiful. The staff is very charming and helpful. It's a small hotel that is very appealing and quaint. I would definitely go back to it.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Aug 2, 2013
Paul
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Awesome hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Inn at Union Square was wonderful, great location, superb staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 29, 2013
MJ
US
3.0 / 5Good
"small hotel, convinience for shopping"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
it is in the downtown, convenient for shopping. But the room and the stairs are not spacious. The breakfast is terrible.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 24, 2013
sunny
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place to stay"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Wonderful place to stay. Great access to everything, wonderful, super friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast every morning, wine and appetizers every evening, service was phenomenal. My only complaint was the carpet in our room could have been cleaner but I've seen worse. However, new carpet was being installed in all the rooms the day we checked out so that should not be a problem any more! Thank you Inn at Union Square for making our stay so enjoyable!!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Jun 22, 2013
Robbyn
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"AWESOME!!!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
From the minute you arrive you are greeted with the best service ever! Not a single complaint! Complimentary wine tasting & freshly baked cookies! Omar at the service desk is beyond amazing and helpful! The inn keeper is extremely nice & definitely makes you feel welcome & right at home! Definitely staying here again & recommending to everyone!!!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 24, 2013
Denise
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice place to stay."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Great time and location. Rooms and elevator were cozy but function able .
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night trip Jun 16, 2013
Andy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Charming, historical hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This is a charming hotel located off Powell near Union Square. The hotel staff go out of their way to assure that the guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Although the rooms are a little small by American standards, the space in the rooms is well used. Rooms are located to minimize the intrusion of outdoor noise. Unlike the other places we read about, we were not bothered by noise from adjacent noise. As currently configured, however, when the doors from nearby rooms close this occurs as a loud slam. We brought this to the attention of the staff who said they would propose dampers be put on the doors. We thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to visit with other guests over evening wine and cheese and the morning breakfast.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. Feedback such as yours helps us improve our product and services. We will certainly look for a solution to the noise caused by doors closing. We are pleased you enjoyed our otherwise quiet guest rooms, helpful staff and convenient location. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
Other trip Jun 13, 2013
Jerry
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It is in an older building but well kept. The hallways are narrow which felt a little confining to us and the elevator is tiny. Overall, we had a great experience. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious. We would stay here again. We arrived early and were able to get into our room. We were upgraded to the queen suite. We weren't sure we would like the suite since we had reserved a king bed. In the end, it was the better experience. There was a nice sitting room to the side which was a nice way to unwind after flying all day. We were not in the hotel at the time of the wine/cheese so we can't rate that experience. We took the BART from airport to Powell station. Then hauled our luggage to the hotel. We had the hotel mapped on our phones. Note to self...have roads memorized before starting off. Homeless people around the BART station were very happy to try and assist us. :) They were friendly and we didn't have any issues with them.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jun 6, 2013
Brenda
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Cozy, friendly, B&B-like ambience!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Very handy to everything! We particularly liked being near the theater district, Chinatown, shopping, and an amazing assortment of cafes and restaurants. Early check in made it extra easy for us. Especially enjoyed the happy hour refreshments!. Also the comfortable robes provided. Information would have been helpful at Hotels.com regarding valet parking available at the Inn and cost. I had to call to find out about parking. Food area needed another small table or a few more chairs. Staff or info in room could have mentioned the nearby visitor information booth at Union Square. The Inn was perfect for our anniversary celebration!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Jun 2, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"The Inn at Union Square - Boutique Surprise"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
We were pleasantly surprised by this boutique inn only a half block off Union Square. The service was outstanding and guests are greeted with freshly baked cookies each evening. It is only a short walking distance to all major transportation modes including the cable car, BART, and MUNI rail. Abundant shopping and dining opportunities within minutes by foot. We would highly recommend this accommodation and plan to return.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip May 28, 2013
Dave U
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"I'm definitely staying here again!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I purposely picked a hotel that was a 4 min. walk to Urban Outfitters. The location of the hotel is just awesome! The hotel has a European feel to it and is quite charming. We stayed in the junior suite which was pretty swanky. They do not have refrigerators in the room, but they do have a communal one in every floor. I LOVED the wine and cheese spread they had for us from 5p-7p and they serve breakfast every morning as well. I wouldn't recommend their valet service because it's $35/per day and they take anywhere from 30-40 mins to get your car..crazy. There's a parking lot just around the corner where you can park for $24/day. I enjoyed my stay here..would definitely book this place again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, wine hour and our "awesome" location just off Union Square. Choosing to return to a hotel after a great experience is our ultimate compliment and for that we thank you. Looking forward to welcoming you back when travel once again brings you to San Francisco At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
1 night trip May 26, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Personal attention"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Wonderful hotel in great location. Has the feel of being at a B and B Staff is phenomenal Rooms a bit small with no A/C (ok in May), and view of a wall. I would definitely go back!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. Our staff takes great pride in providing each guest with personal service and appreciative of the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location just off Union Square as well as our complimentary wine hour. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
Other trip May 19, 2013
peter
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The staff couldn't have been moe accommodating! The breakfasts were well supplied with nice choices and I enjoyed the wine & cheese afternoons as well. And the cookoies and coffee were an added fabulous little surprize!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip May 5, 2013
NS
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Mother& daughter night"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I normally staying at least 4 starts hotel but this time me and my daughter plan just staying over night in the city after shopping and see the show. we just pick up the closer hotel in union square. So happy we staying in this cute inn since first we check in received ANN the pretty girl in the front desk warm welcome till we check out all the way treat us like first class customers. It's really worth having 4 seasons service but only paying half price.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Other trip Apr 20, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A small hidden jewel at Union Square"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I stayed here 25 years ago and again this past weekend. I somehow booked it the first time before the Internet. A small place that is quiet because only a couple of rooms have a view, the rest have no street view and no noise. If you're in the City, you don't care about the view. Enjoy.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding you recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are so pleased you enjoyed our quaint Inn in the heart of San Francisco and hope to welcome you back soon; sooner the another 25 years for sure. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager General Manager
2 night trip Apr 13, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A Little Gem"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
A small intimate hotel. The staff is, very friendly and eager to please. It is located right in the middle of a beautiful urban area. It provides a great complementary breakfast and wine. It's expensive but worth it! I await an opportunity to return.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Apr 13, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"An unexpected pleasure"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I booked this hotel based on the reviews and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. It was everything the reviews raved about and more. The Inn has a very European feel: Friendly staff, cozy, great charm, clean. The cheese and wine reception was very nicely done, the evening chocolate chip cookies were an absolute treat, and the complimentary breakfast was a very nice spread. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to the Inn at Union Square. LOVED IT!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you for much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square in San Francisco. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are pleased you enjoyed our convenient and central location, complimentary wine hour and breakfast. Oh yes, and the cookies….. Our friendly staff awaits your return which we hope will be soon. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
Other trip Apr 2, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Love the service!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We had a great stay with exceptional service by everyone at the Inn.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Mar 28, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"mother / daughter trip"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
our room was #302 near elevator and 3rd floor breakfast room. good news was that t was close to lovely continental breakfast as well as the wine and hors d'oeuvres spread in the evening....bad news was that along with the proximity came the accompanying noises. our window was open for fresh air and that also brought in the sound of dishes from the kitchen that opened to the alleyway . the daytime girl at the front desk was lovely , accommodating and friendly. The halls are long and narrow so next time I would request one either in the middle of the floor or on a floor did not have the food service......and yes , I would stay there again! my daughter and I were on a girls trip and shared a king room. the room was tight for 2 people but bath was immaculate and bed comfortable....you don't go to san francisco to stay in the room!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guests, Thank you for posting your feedback and for staying at the Inn at Union Square. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are pleased you found the service and amenities to your liking. I apologize for the noise that disturbed you as we take the feedback to heart and we do what we can to mitigate the issue. We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
Other trip Mar 22, 2013
GG
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Elegant and personal boutique hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
We loved our home away from home in this delightful small hotel. From the morning pastries to the evening wine and cheese, we felt pampered. We also met interesting guests in the small gatherings. The location is in the midst of many tempting stores and restaurants.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed our central location, complimentary breakfast and evening wine and cheese gatherings. Our staff takes great pride in pampering our guests and look forward to your return Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
6 night trip Mar 3, 2013
Meredith
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Loved the Inn!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Lovely small inn, right around the corner from the St. Francis and the Sir Francis Drake, a few steps off the cable car line, easy access to public trans, great restaurants nearby. Friendly service at the inn, free continental breakfast, in-room Wifi, daily paper, wine and cheese every evening. We live near San Francisco, but nevertheless loved our delightful getaway for couple of days here and recommend the Inn at Union Square heartily!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Feb 20, 2013
BZ
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Happy and I know it !"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The breakfast is outstanding 4hrs.,wine cheese 3hrs. And warm cookies before bed! Am I on a cruise? No the room is to big . Decorated just right. Wayne and staff a delight. Great location,pretty quite. Roger and Christie
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you for visiting the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our excellent location just off Union Square, our breakfast and evening wine and cheese offerings. We are glad you got to have some fresh baked cookies before retiring for the night as well. Wayne and the rest of the staff appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your return Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
Other trip Feb 19, 2013
Christie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Almost perfect"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
We loved many things about this hotel: amazing location, clean and well maintained rooms, friendly staff, delicious continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese reception, and turndown service. Our only complaints were that we were put in a room very close to the sitting area on our floor--#502--(very very loud at 6:30am when they were setting up breakfast--and we specifically asked for a quiet room), and the water pressure in the rain shower was very weak. But we'll definitely stay again for all the great things the hotel has to offer!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your feedback. Comments from our guests are the best way for us to improve our services and product. I am sorry to hear you were bothered by the early morning noise. We have reviewed this with the staff to mitigate any future guest disturbance. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff, complimentary breakfast, our clean and well maintained rooms as we ll as our evening wine hour. We all look forward to your return visit in the near future. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
2 night business trip Feb 9, 2013
Michelle
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wow!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
All elements of the experience exceeded my expectations. Very individualized service. Felt like a mini trip to Europe because of the everything worked. The evening wine and cheese tasting was perfect, and the morning continental breakfast was amazing. It is what a hotel should be. Hard to believe such an incredible find in the heart of San Francisco. Outstanding staff. Can't wait to return.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour and, of course, our accommodating staff. We all look forward to your return. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
1 night trip Feb 5, 2013
Mr. Abbott
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"hotel to keep in mind"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
good location, good service a bit too expensive breakfast -ok, but needs some variation
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 7, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"In town overnight for theater."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great Location. Narrow historic building with a lounge on each floor that faces the street so very little traffic noise. Very friendly and helpful staff. Everything worked and the little added things like the wine receprion and breakfast made for a very pleasant stay. Parking is just around the corner so did not need the extra charge for valet.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 4, 2013
Napa Nesters
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Boutique Hotel with lots of perks"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
This hotel had great customer service... and by that I mean they give you a lot of free stuff. They offer free breakfast, free wine hour with meats, cheese, and crackers, free wifi, free bottled water every morning with chocolates and the daily weather forecast. Everyone was extremely friendly and accomodating. My only complaint is the hotel rooms are a bit on the small side, but we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely come back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for visiting the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We value all guest feedback and appreciate your compliments of our friendly and accommodating service, complimentary WiFi, breakfast and wine hour. On behalf of all the staff, we look forward to your return Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
3 night trip Jan 24, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Hidden Jewel amongst giants"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The Inn at Union Square is a quant San Francisco treasure hidden amongst the giant buildings and corporate hotels encircling Union Square. The staff was very helpful and tended to your every needs. The Free internet, Continental breakfast and wine & cheese get together was an unexpected plus that shows up many of the bigger hotels. Although there is no A/C. this is San Francisco not Miami. It's all part of the City experience!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jan 18, 2013
Nachobiznes
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great boutique hotel."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
An absolutely wonderful hotel. Friendliest staff ever. Delicious breakfast pastries (not your usual packaged variety). Also lovely wine and cheese evening offering. Junior King room was just right for a couple.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 28, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wonderful Stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Stayed here for two days and absolutely loved it. The staff is very friendly and the rooms make you feel like if you are right at home.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jan 12, 2013
Angie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Weekend getaway with xmas shopping"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Our Favorite San Francisco Hotel! We Have Stayed Here 5-6 Times Over The Last 10 Years. Great Breakfast Friendly Staff Quiet Location Next To Union Square Shopping My Husband Love It Here!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Inn At Union Square
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square and sharing your kind comments. We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to you home in San Francisco Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn At Union Square
3 night trip Dec 13, 2012
Donna
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Lovely boutique hotel in Union Square"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This Inn is our favorite place to stay in San Francisco. It's cozy and convenient. We love the breakfast spread that's served each morning. There's a nice sitting area on each floor with tea and coffee always available, as well as fresh apples and oranges. There's a wine and cheese hour in the late afternoon. The location is very convenient.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 28, 2012
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Didn't want to leave!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We had our best hotel experience here! Everyone we came into contact with was exceptionally nice and helpful. We were expecting big city feel but received a small town welcome! From the amazing breakfast to the wine reception, fresh baked cookies and turn down service with bottled water and chocolates every night we had trouble going home! Thanks Wayne for your amazing hospitality and suggestions of things to do/see and eat in the city. We loved the boutique feel of the hotel and thought it was exceptionally clean. The hotel has a super great location on a quiet side street but right downtown in the middle of everything. The staff was so nice and helpful from booking our hotel room to reserving a cab for our departure we sure felt spoiled! Thanks again for everything. We'd make a trip back to the city just to stay here again!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 7, 2012
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel at an excellent price"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I travel a lot for work so I see a lot of hotels. I stayed here for 3 nights . It's an old building in a very high rent district so the rooms and baths are on the small size. Other than that, the place is terrific. Unbeatable location (a block off Union Square, 3 minutes to BART, on the trolley line), really nice staff, decent "continental" breakfast that adds hard-boiled eggs for protein, coffee & cookies at most hours, comfortable bed, upscale Aveda products in the bath, bathrobes. The windows work; mine overlooked a mini-fountain. I did not try the free happy hour. Farallon up the street and a sushi restaurant a few blocks further are great dinner choices.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Nov 5, 2012
Ted
US
2.0 / 5Fair
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The staff at the hotel were wonderful and very accommodating and friendly. the elevator repair noise was disturbing mostly because my room was adjacent to it. The room was very small but clean, however for my needs it was too small. It was challenging for 2 guests to shower and prepare for the day in such a small space. The fact that there was no air conditioning wasn't a concern for me when I made the reservation but it was over 80 degrees while I was there and therefore the room was a little warm. The location is great however, considering the cost of the room I would probably choose something different in the future.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night business trip Oct 16, 2012
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"perfect location"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Staff helpful with questions, was able to have an early check in.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 20, 2012
Donna
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Loved staying at the Inn at Union Square. The best parts included the social gatherings for wine and cheese and breakfasts where we got to meet many other guests from out of the country. The staff was kind to get us a breakfast the night before because the Nike Womens Marathon started before breakfast hours.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit and congratulations on completing the Nike’s Womens Marathon. We are very pleased you stayed with us and enjoyed the evening wine hour and our kind staff. Looking forward to your return for next years race. Kind Regards and Safe Travels
2 night trip Oct 13, 2012
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Boutique on Union Square"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This is a very small boutique hotel in a great location by Union Square across the street from the St. Francis. Room service is by Morton's adjacent to the hotel. Rooms are somewhat small but comfortable and clean. The rooms have heat and a ceiling fan, but are not air conditioned. Generally, this would be OK in San Fran, but I was there on the warmest days of the year, and the room never got below 75, so it was a bit uncomfortable sleeping. Usually this should not be a problem. Bathrooms are reasonably large - not New York small standard - and well equipped. The wine and cheese in the afternoon is nice.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Oct 5, 2012
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews