"Worst Experience Ever"
We arrived 25 minutes before check in, and the person at the front desk kept talking about how we were too early (it's not like we were there a few hours early). In our room, the air conditioner was on, but it was still very warm in our room. Thankfully, the weather became cooler and we were able to keep our room comfortable by opening a window. The […] wallpaper was peeling off the walls in some places and the tub did not drain well (it was like taking a bath and shower at the same time). We found some garbage in the room when we arrived. Shampoo and conditioner were not provided-only a single, small bar of soap (barely enough for two adults). Also, complimentary breakfast does not exist, and no coffee pot in room. The bed was extremely uncomfortable-we woke up with back aches every morning. Next time we spend a few days in town, we will definitely stay elsewhere. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"What is the name again?"
When we made the reservations, the hotel was a Howard Johnson with continental breakfast. We spent 1 and 1/2 hours looking for it. There was nothing to indicate what it had been.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Motel 6 fka Howard Johnsons in Lacrosse,WI"
I booked 3 rooms for 2 nights 9/26 & 9/27 for a total of $863.16 thru Hotel.com. Rooms were $143.86 with tax per night. We were told a continental breakfast included with rooms. Upon arriving we found it was NOW a Motel 6. Rooms were very small, carpet dirty, quoted 2 queen beds and they were double beds. A bathroom you could hardly turn around in. […] We had no continental breakfast provided. No soap or shampoo in room. Very very disappointing and would not stay again in this hotel. The price of the hotel was extremely overpriced for the accommodations. There were 8 of us from the same family and for a weekend that should have been fun, the rooms were less than adequate but nothing else in area was available. We would not stay at this hotel again and feel perhaps a credit could be issued for the charges or a consideration of at least a partial credit. Thank you. Colleen Wood Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nothing special but worth the price we paid"
The hotel has just rebranded to Motel 6 so that was a little confusing. The room was adequate but not fantastic. Location was good for where we were going to be the day we checked out. It's an average hotel but not one I would pay top dollar to stay in. It was worth the price we paid for our room.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Room was dirty and smelled of dust and dirty carpets, window coverings, etc. Bed was comfortable. Housekeeping was spotty. Not worth the price. Will not stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I am sorry you had a bad experiance at our motel. I hope you do give us another try in 6 months or so as we will be renovating.
"Convenient, close to everything hotel"
Staff were very friendly and accommodating - I was allowed to check in early. Room and bathroom were clean and nicely appointed - flat screen, fridge, etc. Hotel was quite. The only negative was the AC in my room, it needed more freon. There was a fan in the room as well, which helped. I would definitely stay again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I'm glad to read that you were pleased with your stay. Sorry to read of the freon and I will let maintenance know. Looking forward to seeing you again.
"Cheap, easy stay"
Room was fine and comfortable for what we paid for. Best part was the excellent shower water pressure. Disappointed with the continental breakfast. A few too many flies in the front lobby area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thanks for taking the time to share - Hope to see you again.
Room was small but clean. Beds were very hardGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thanks for taking the time to share - Hope to see you again.
I was surprised that they would even get 50 for that room. It was definitley not like it was presented.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Sorry you were not happy with your stay . Hope you will give us another chance in about 6 months after our renovation.
I was stuck at the airport without a ride. I called the hotel and Pete called a cab for me. I came in around 10 at night. Rooms were not bad. Only thing was the bedspreads were stained. I took them off and asked for extra blanket. The room was clean. It was a lot better than I expected. I had the 2nd floor. It was quiet but it seemed a quiet weeken […] d. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thanks for sharing. I am pleased to read that you found our accommodation clean and friendly.
"Great people and location!"
While the room and building weren't the most up-to-date, they both met our needs. We were looking for something affordable and close to I-90, and we found them both at the Howard Johnson. I did find the staff to be very helpful! My wife (this was a stop on our our honeymoon) and I left a couple things after we left, and the hotel was kind enough to […] offer to ship them to us or keep them for us to pick up in a couple weeks. Despite the datedness, I wouldn't mind staying there again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thanks for sharing ! My staff will be pleased to read your review and they look forward to seeing you again.
"You get what you pay for"
It was fine for the price. No elevator.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for taking time to share. Hope to see you again.
Good except for the lack of electrical hookups for those with boats and their batteries.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thanks for sharing. Next time you're in the area, just ask the front desk for a downstairs room and we can run an extention cord out the window to your boat.
It's time to clean it up. The air conditioner, tub and fixtures were new; but, overall, the room was dirty.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I am very sorry and very supprised to read your review. I usually read that my property has very clean rooms. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.
"Great staff makes all the difference."
This hotel is well worn and showing its age, but the staff does a good job with what they have top work with. The rooms are small yet comfortable. The bed was firm and the bedding was on good condition.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for sharing. Going forward there are renivation plans for the property but it always feels good to see the compliments of "doing the best we can" while we wait. I'm glad you were pleased with your stay and I will share your review with the staff.
"Not pretty, but clean and inexpensive"
This hotel is not pretty to look at, but the rooms have been appear to have been redone a year or so ago. The room was clean and comfortable with updated security door locks. Parking is a bit tricky when the hotel is full but the staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent, with hot food on the weekend. Again, not the prettiest place, but if […] you need an inexpensive and clean place to stay choose this Howard Johnson. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for sharing. I'm glad you found your room clean and the staff friendly. With a "not so pretty building" clean and friendly is the best we can offer and we do work hard to provide that. It was great to read your review. Again, thanks for sharing.
Easy to find...close to down town. Bit dated but would stay here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Great to hear from you - thanks for sharing.
"Howard Johnson Review"
I've stayed at this hotel twice now, once in 2012 and again a few days ago. It is very convenient to get to from the highway. It is also close to the downtown area restaurants and entertainment. I travel a lot and don't think that I've met staff that are less friendly or welcoming. The rooms are clean but very basic. The hotels on Rose Street are popular […] destinations for biker rallies, so be prepared for a party atmosphere if you happen to coincide with a biker event. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for sharing! I'm glad to read that your stays have been pleasant. My staff will be happy to read your comments . Again - thank you.
"An OK experience"
Basically the accommodation worked for us and was reasonably priced. The hotel is between a U-Haul Rental Agency (our view was of their lot) and a run down gas station. The location is convenient to I-90 and on the major highway, so access is good. Room was ok, everything worked. Internet connection was slow. Continental breakfast was very basic.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for taking time to share - it sounds like your stay was satisfactory. I hope to see you again in the future.
"Old Hotel - has not been kept up"
We paid way too much for a hotel in this condition.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI This past weekend was the Wisconsin Track Meet and for La Crosse it is a city sell out. When demand is high and supply is low every motel raises their rates. This means every motel in the city was charging almost double what they usuall y do. Hope to see you in La Crosse again some day when it is not a city sell out.
"Old with very small rooms"
We stayed here on State Track meet weekend, which is a very busy weekend in La Crosse. We paid over $140.00 for a very dated, very small room (basically 1 full size bed and nothing else). The room was clean and the staff was friendly enough. If I was paying $60.00 I would have thought I would have received full value, but for that price, they should […] refurbish the hotel. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI The Wisconsin Track Meet is a city sell out for La Crosse. In the motel business rates are set via supply and demand. I used to be a truck driver and often stayed at motels. I recall many times being in a city that was selling out and paying well over $100 just to sleep and shower. I couldn't believe it. Now that I'm in the motel business, I see both sides. When the demand is high and the supply is low motels can set high rates. I set my rates according to my competition which means every motel valued at $60 was selling at $140 this particular weekend. But the bottom line is - you are right. Our value on a normal day would be $59 to $79. I've been in your shoes and understand. And thank you for the compliment of a clean motel and friendly staff. I hope to see you in La Crosse sometime when the demand is low and the supply is high.
"Good quality for good price"
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and I am very picky. The room size was good enough for two persons and well maintained. The bathroom and the sink were kind of new. And the Most of it; the room was super clean. Room was quite and personnel were gentle. For the location: you will need the car to go downtown, but it's at only 5 minutes and there […] is plenty of free parking overthere. Surrounding neiborhood; It's better to go downtown, except if you love fastfood. . Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for sharing and I'm glad you had a pleasant stay.
This was not an outstanding hotel, but it was adequate and the price was excellent.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI It was great to hear from you - thank you for taking time to share your review.
"Affordable, clean, easy find."
Stayed one night, room was nice size, comfortable. Right off main road.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Great to hear that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again.
The beds were so uncomfortable that we all suffered with sore backs for the next couple of days.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I'm sorry to read of this. I wish you had let the front desk know as we offer rooms with pillow top comfotors for guests that request soft beds. People are so different - some like hard beds and some like soft. Our aim is to please so do let us know if this ever happens again.
"Worn down and old"
Room was small...bed was small and low to floor. Decor was outdated. No view.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thanks for taking time to review our motel. I wish I'd have known as I would have put you in one of our king rooms on the opposite side of the motel as the opposite side over looks the Black River. Hope to see you again. Rod
If you can get a room here for super cheap, then go for it. Don't expect too much, however. The mattresses are cheap, the TVs are about 15 years old, the "continental breakfast" consists of waffles and instructions on how to microwave them, and additional amenities are nonexistent.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please do try us out again in another six months or so as the very items you mentioned are in our plans for upgrading.
The staff were very friendly, and the hotel was quiet.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for taking time to let us know that you were pleased with your stay. I do enjoy working with my staff as they are always friendly and fun.
"This one was juuuust right!"
When I needed a place to put up some out of town employees, I looked at price and location. I knew about the quality of Howard Johnson from personal leisure trips and it so happened there was one ideally located near work. In the weeks that I used them, I never heard anything negative word! Thank you Howard Johnson for making it easy for me!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI It is great to hear from you Ray and thank you for sharing!
"Room 126 is really an awful location."
Room 126 was so noisy all night long due to people coming and going all night and early morning. Stomping up and down and talking while coming and going. 126 should only be used as a conference / meeting room or for storage only. We had a terrible night TRYING TO SLEEP! Will never rent a room near the stairs EVER AGAIN..Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I am sorry to read of your situation. If this ever happens again at any motel feel free to contact the front desk and ask for a different room. Thanks for taking time to share your experiance!
Basic, about as expected for economy pricing.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for taking time to score and review our motel. Hope to see you again in the future.
"You get what you pay for..."
You get what you pay for! The hotel is pretty run down, but I expected that based on the price of the room. The surrounding neighborhood is pretty rough, and there are a lot of street people walking around. They also do extended stay rates, which is something to consider. The service was really great, and they actually don't charge for pets, just need […] a card for incidentals. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I'm glad you were pleased with the staff's service - they are also a pleasure for me to work with. Clean rooms and friendly-knowledgable service is what we focus on. Then month-by-month we improve our property best we can. Hope to see you again and I hope you enjoy the changes as we make them. General Manager Rodney A Piotraschke
"Cheap, good service"
This hotel was cheap, had good service, and was in a convenient location close to the highway. The beds were like rocks.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Ha ha - sorry about the hard bed. We do have some beds with pillow top comforters so next time you stay with us just ask for one. I agree with the convenient location. Close to downtow, attractions and right between Pizza Hut and a family diner. Glad you had a pleasant stay. General Manager Rodney A Piotraschke
I've stayed here before and I will stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for sharing and thanks for staying with us.
"Right off the interstate"
I got a smaller room, because all I wanted was a place to sleep overnight. If I'd been vacationing, I wouldn't have been satisfied at all, but to stay overnight - this fit the bill perfectly. The room was clean, although it was hard to find the thermostat so I froze most of the night. Overall, I got what I paid for and I would definitely stay here […] again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for taking time to share with us Jeannette. I'm glad you were satisfied and I look forward to seeing you again.
The staff was incredible *****Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for sharing that. I also enjoy my staff - they make coming to work a pleasure! Hope to see you again.
"Good location for a visit to LaCrosse"
The hotel is pretty basic. Some rooms have been renovated but many have not. Carpets are old with spots, lots of plugs to handle TV, microwave, mini fridge, etc. Front desk staff was very good but lobby area is cluttered and doesn't look very clean.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you for taking time to share your review. Hope to see you again in the future after we complete some upgrading. Maintenance Jim Brown
We were very happy with the hotel but VERY disappointed when we found out that hotels.com charged us $17.00 more than we would have had to pay for the exact same room as a walk-in.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Room rates could change on a daily basis due to supply and demand. For example, if a group had a number of rooms blocked but then cancelled the motel suddenly needs to sell numerous rooms and they will drop their rate .
Reservation of room type not met. Bed bugs suspected in second room. Third room didn't meet reservation request. Staff friendly but the resort was in need of major remodeling. Will never stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Please contact the motel and let the staff know which room you suspect has or had bed bugs . To be proactive this motel is covering every mattress and box spring with protective covers .
Traveling in truck with flatbed trailer...helped us find an appropriate place to park. Very friendly.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Great to hear that my staff was friendly - hope to see you again in the future General Manager Rodney A. Piotraschke
Overall it was very good stay. We stayed five nights and the only small complain I have is that the mattress was a little too hard. The staff was great!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I'm glad you enjoyed the staff - they are a pleasure to work with! General Manager Rodney A. Piotraschke
The goal of this trip was to make memories between sleep sessions, and the money saved by staying at this quite acceptable place more than paid for an upgrade to the "Holsteiner Art" variety of Wienerschnitzel the following day in New Glarus. Winner, winner, (non) chicken dinner!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I'm glad we were able to make your travels memorable! Hope to see you again. General Manager Rodney A. Piotraschke
"comfortable w/o frills"
This was a comfortable room, though it had a full and not queen bed. The breakfast was OK, mostly things to toast and cereal. The staff was very friendly to us.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I'm glad you enjoyed my staff - they are a pleasure to work with. General Manager Rodney A. Piotraschke
"I got all the amenities needed for a business trip"
This hotel often provides an evening pot-luck style, home cooked meal for its guests.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI I'm glad we were able to accommodate you! The pot-luck is actually put on by the construction crews that stay with us during the week days. I've eaten some amazing meals - those guys are good cooks. General Manager Rodney A. Piotraschke
"Good quality at affordable price"
Our room was clean and quiet, the staff were friendly, good WiFi connection, bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast was adequate: fruit, hard boiled eggs, 2 choices of cold cereal, English muffins and toast, juice & coffee. I did notice some wallpaper peeling away from the wall in the bathroom.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Currently we do have a few rooms that are actually getting remodeled. --perhaps the room you were staying in, is one of those. Thank you so much for the awesome breakfast review. Hope to see you back in the near future.
Friendly stuff, but breakfast was't anything special. Room was clean but dated.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI unfortunately we pick food, with speed in mind. Our hotel has a lot of guests that come in for work related reasons, they want to be in and out. we definitely keep that in mind when ordering foods. We will also keep your comment in mind when we order food. Thank you so much for your concerning thoughts. Hope to see you back in the near future.
"Comfortable,quiet , cheap but dirty"
The price was great. It was quiet comfortable room for an overnight stay. The desk staff was very accommodating. They earn their money as they perform double duty as breakfast stocker. The big disappointment was the brown dried stain in front of the bathroom. It looked gross and I rally don't want to know what it was.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI The front desk staff is very professional when it comes to doing their breakfast duties. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your poor visit. we do have a few rooms currently getting remodeled, maybe the one you stayed in is one of them. Hope to see you in the near future.
"Good value. Especially for a quick stay."
For the price, this hotel was perfect for a quick stay. I only stayed one night and didn't need anything fancy since I wouldn't be in the hotel long. This was perfect. Great value. The room wasn't super modern or updated but it was clean and that is more important to me. The bathroom was small, with the sink outside the door in the main room. However, […] this actually worked out nice for us. I was there with a friend and we both had big mirrors with outlets to use for getting ready. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you, and we hope to see you back. Quick stay. or longer :)
"I just want what I paid for"
We reserved a king room on Hotels.com - when I got there to check in they said they were currently out of king rooms - I replied that I paid extra for the king bed - and what were they going to do for giving my reserved room to someone else? They then put me in a room that they said was a king (was actually a double bed) that I was handed pillow cases […] for the bed that I had to put on myself, they removed the dirty towels (said the room had only been used for the hot tub, I don't even want to KNOW what that was about) and handed a bag for the garbage that he emptied when we walked into the room. If I reserve a room with a king size bed, I should get what I paid for. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Did they hand you the booking receipt? or the receipt off of wherever you ordered the room from? When it's booked online, it is't specified it just says number of guests. Also, you didn't pay extra a King size room is also the same as two doubles. Thank you for your concern. My team works hard on meeting every guests needs. We apologize for your previous stay, and hope to see you back in the near future.
"one night stay"
its fine for a one or two night stay very affordableGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Motel 6 La Crosse, WI Thank you, and we hope to see you back in the near future!
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )