Loved it here. Had 5 girls stay for a bachelorette party. Room and staff were amazing. View of the city from our room. Will definitely be staying again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Lauren, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kansas City to host your Bachelorette party. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with your room and our staff! We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to the Kansas City area. Ashley Blair Guest Services
"It was nice...except the price"
I enjoyed staying at this hotel for the most part. It was right down the street from our concert and that was extremely convienent. It was clean and cozy. The room was a little small for $200 a night, actually really small for that price. For having to pay that much, I was pretty disappointed with having to pay just to park there and the food was really […] pricey! We ended up spending way more than intended just to eat breakfast! All in all, it was not bad, but I really feel that for what we paid to sleep there the breakfast and/or parking could be complimentary. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Jessica, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and it's convenience to your concert venue. Being so close to the Power & Light District is definitely a perk. We welcome you back as our guest again the next time you are in Kansas City, we have several great concerts coming up. Thank you! Ashley Blair, Guest Services
"Close to Sprint !"
There were no pop machines on our floor . Other than that it was great & very close to the Sprint Center . Stayed there a few years ago , will stay there again .Was treated very well !Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Deb, Thank you for a 5-Star review! I am sorry to hear you did not find our soda machines; we have them on alternating floors with snacks on every other as well. We can't wait to have you back as a guest again the next time you are in KC. Thanks again for staying at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City! Ashley Blair Guest Services
Easy to get to off of the interstate; traffic not crazy; great location for walking to restaurants or bars nearby; attentive hotel staff.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Group of 4, I am pleased to hear you liked our location. You can't beat the proximity to the Power and Light District and all of the fantastic restaurants. I am also very delighted to hear that our staff was attentive. Our goal is to please every guest that walks through our front door. Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I hope we will be your choice hotel next time you stay in Kansas City. Ashley Blair Guest Services
Well, hate to say it but I should have heeded all the other reviews of this hotel. The room was nice looking, but the knobs on the heat/air conditioning were completely broken. There was no way to control what the unit was doing. We unplugged it one night because it was too cold. The bathroom had no vent fan at all. I imagine that is why the door had […] been water or condensation damaged. It would not shut all the way without a loud noise and I'm sure I woke up my friends closing the door in the middle of the night. At night on a Saturday the downtown area was extremely loud. On the 9th floor you'd think you wouldn't be able to hear what was going on at street level, but here you certainly could. The service we got was good for the most part. Brunch in the restaurant was nice and had good service. So, if you get a good deal, then ok. But do not pay full or close to full price for this hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear KC Tourist, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. I am disappointed to read that we did not live up to your expectations, especially regarding the heating/AC unit. All of our rooms have thermostats on the walls controlling the units. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our brunch in the City Grille and received good service. I have passed that on to our restaurant staff. It always makes their day to hear positive feedback. If you travel to Kansas City again, I hope you would reconsider us as your hotel of choice and let us prove to you that we are definitely worth it. Thank you, Ashley Blair Guest Services
"Great Place To Stay."
Service and people were great. Only complaint is that we were on the 17th floor and a very heavy ran came through. The window leaked enough to soak the carpet about 3ft from the window.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Jason, Thank you for your kind words about our staff and your overall stay. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we would be your hotel of choice the next time you travel back to Kansas City. Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
"Walking distance to the Power & Light District."
Had an issue on Saturday morning with construction next to our room at around 8:30, laying carpet or something. noise at time, thought it kind of strange time to do this project. Management, Comped or parking for our stay 3 days $45.00 also lunch at there restaurant. $30.00, Thought that this was fair for the early wake up. Other than that very goo […] d. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Thank you for the review of our Hotel. I appreciate your kind words about the staff and their efforts to please &/or assist our guests. I am glad that you found the location to your liking and were able to visit the Power and Light district. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope you will choose us again when your future travels bring you back to Kansas City! Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
"nice hotel and so close to the convention center"
nice stay, staff very friendly. Only negative is the air conditioner was somewhat loud so hard to hear the TV. Did not keep me awake or wake me during the night.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Judi, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to the Kansas City area. Thanks! Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
The hotel is in walking distance to the Power and Light District. Front desk and ladies in the restaurant for breakfast were great, but be prepared to do done things for yourself at check in and out. For example, we had to wait for a valet for the car for some time on both occasions, and they do not help with your bags, we had to get a cart and maneuver […] our way to the room, then had to return the cart ourselves. Overall, good hotel for the location. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Shelby, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by the Front Desk and the City Grille Staff. It is our expectation that every employee goes above and beyond for all of our guests, therefore I have shared your comments with our team. I welcome you back to see the changes we have made the next time you are in Kansas City and let us know what you think. Thank you, Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
"Good Location; bad elevators"
Everything was good, but the elevators were VERY slow and sporadic. Elevators were def. frustrating.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Billy C , I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with the exception of our elevatiors. We are currently in the process of upgrading them and would love to have you back once they are complete to tell us what you think. Thank you for staying with us! Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
"Can't wait to go back!!"
I needed to get away for a few days after finishing college. The service was nice and the room was awesome. The beds are soft and clean. Wish bathrooms where bigger. Planning a trip back there next month.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Porscha, Thank you for chooing Crowne Plaza. We appeciate the opportunity to host you as our gueest and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We can't wait to have you back either. Thank you! Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
"Great place to hang out with friends"
Easy walk to the power and lights district for a night of fun. Beautiful hotel, beds are comfortable. The pool was nice however when they say roof top they are talking about the garage rooftop, not the hotel roof top so only a few hours of sunlight...not great for those that want to get a tan. I will definitly stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear Kayla, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our comfortable bedding. You can't beat the proximity to the Power and Light District for a night out. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kansas City. Thank you! Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
Unfortunately water pump broke so no water for quite a few floors and we were not offered another room to clean up in since it was morning. Didn't get to shower, use the toilet, brush our teeth. No compensation was offered either.Genuine Expedia guest review
Hotel is in walking distance to the power and light district. Every thing was appeared clean at first glance. The room was a bit dated, the furniture corners were broken down, the bathroom door was water damaged at the bottom, and wall paper was peeling in the main room. The staff was very friendly and prompt to fixing concerns. If your just looking […] for a place to sleep this is a great place to stay. We did use the valet service because of others comments about parking issues. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
I chose to stay at this hotel for the location and proximity of event. Although the price was a tad bit high for a one night stay I thought that the reputation of the hotel would compensate. Upon our arrival the hotel was completely packed with people that were waiting to use the elevator as only two were in working order. There was no organization […] by staff. The room was a disappointment... The space was small, the furniture was worn out and the bathroom seemed like it was wiped down rather than cleaned. I will say though that the food at the hotel was scrumptious but the Starbucks on location was a disappointment. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear TORRES, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Crowne Plaza. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our restaurant and you were able to be near your event. Our downtown location is prime for many different venues. The next time you are in Kansas City, we hope you will come back and see the changes we have made and tell us what you think. We want to provide you with the best guest experience. Thank you! Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
"Relaxing, Quiet Getaway"
My boyfriend and I needed a quiet one night getaway from our busy lives, and so reserved a standard room about a month in advance due to it's proximity to the Power and Light district and it's affordability. When we checked in, the woman working with us was very polite and helpful. We explained our need to just get away from home for the night and she […] immediately upgraded us to a suite room with a gorgeous view of the downtown area. She asked us our plans for the night, and I told her about our reservations at a nearby steak house. She was able to find us a coupon for the restaurant for a free dessert, what a treat! We also enjoyed the happy hour on the upper floor from 5-7 prior to dinner. Drinks and service were great, as well as the view. However, they could have kept the hors d'oeuvres more fully stocked. The room was extremely clean and had all the amenities. The bathroom was very roomy, which was appreciated. The bed was very comfortable, and again the front desk was very helpful for when we had questions about the area. It was also very nice that the checkout wasn't until noon the next day. It allowed us to take our time getting around the next morning. Overall, we definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning in the future! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown Dear A traveler, Thank you for staying with us and posting your great comments. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy one of our beautiful suites as well as our Executive Lounge. Also thank you for providing such wonderful comments about our staff. I have shared them with them team. We look forward to seeing you on your next night away from home. Thank you! Ashley Blair Guest Relations Manager
"great downtown hotel, but noisy neighbors"
This was a great experience. The person who checked us in was more than helpful and went out of her way to make us have a great stay including offering us free entry into local bars and clubs. The one down side to our room was that we had noisy neighbors and we had a room that had adjoining doors to them, making the walls thin and my morning loud. Other […] than that - great stay. Oh, and they have a beautiful roof top pool that you should definitely try! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great location, newly renovated, looks great, really nice restaurant/bar and Starbucks!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
SLOW! SLOW! SLOW! Staff was awesome ...... friendly and soooo nice.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"nice Hotel near the downtown the convention center"
our experience was that it was a nice hotel but extremely overpricedGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great location! Lots of music and great resturants"
Excellent room. Service was very good. Our room was incredibly comfortable. We were there during a very busy weekend and the staff was very busy but efficient. I would definatley stay there on my next visitGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Luxury frat house"
We just got back - husband and 2 kids (6yr old and 7 month old). If you think you will be able to sleep, think again! Every night we were there, a group of drunks ran through the halls, slammed doors, yelled and talked at a "drunk whisper" level, which means it was loud!!! Every night security was called to take care of the situation! Then I had 2 little […] ones up and it took at least an hour to get them back to sleep. Management did nothing! I talked with them every day - nothing! The best part of the stay - valet was super nice and efficient. My recommendation is to go only if you want to party and sleep off your hangover. Do not recommend for families, kids, or business. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Kids were looking for a microwave to pop popcorn and the security guard went out of his way to help them. Personally bringing a microwave to our room. All other staff extremely friendly and helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not worth the money!"
Motel 6 or Super 8 would have been equally as good. There was nothing exceptional about it at all. Will stay much cheaper the next time I go to Kansas City.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel was immaculate. Front desk gave me a no-hassle room change when I wanted to switch from 2114 to 2112 as I was in town for a Rush show. It was turned out to be a suite upgrade at no charge. Clean, comfortable, pleasant; an easy walk from the arena and the P/L District. Stay here!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"easy to get to and from the sprint center"
it was a nice place to stay but a little costly for what you get.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"First impression ruined entire stay"
Traffic in front of the hotel was hectic. It was difficult to know where to park. I would definitely recommend valet parking. My first impression of the entry was terrible. The entry floors were filthy. The lobby was packed with people waiting to check in. There was no order in the check-in process. However, check-in moved rather quickly. The hotel […] smelled musty and unclean. The flowers in the lobby were molded and disgusting. They appeared to have been there since Christmas as they had gold glittery pieces in them. My visit was in August. Eww! The parking garage elevators were being worked on. So taking the stairs was inevitable at some point. The lobby elevators were too busy. The stair access was not marked. And, when walking upstairs, it was difficult to know which floor you were on because they weren't clearly marked. We got to our room around 3:00 and the hallway was full of trash/housekeeping carts. The room was very disappointing: small, dirty, dimly lit. The bathroom was nicely updated but it took a long time for the lights to fully illuminate and the toilet didn't flush well. Although there has been attempts to update this hotel over the years, it's still outdated. Even basic hotels have nice vignettes. But upon exiting the elevator on our floor there was an outdated table and old phone. No artwork, floral piece, or anything I would've expected from an old historic 'grand' hotel. Even the Starbucks in the lobby was drab, poorly stocked, and felt dirty. Disappointed Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Hotel in downtown KCMO"
Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable.Genuine Expedia guest review
I was not impressed by this hotel at all. The service we received was minimal at best. It took over a half hour to check in, this was because the people at the front desk were talking amongst themselves, rather then helping clear the queue. When entering our room, it was nice, but they forgot to vacuum our room, and many tags from previous guests shopping […] antics covered the floor. I will not be staying here again, pricey, lousy service and not what I expected. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Everything was great the staff very polite. Downtown close to activitiesGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Review of Crown Plaza hotel"
The hotel is very dirty, carpet nasty, curtains, walls and the bathroom all unacceptable. We will not stay there next time.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very nice people and nice hotel. Close to everything we needed.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"It was ok but disappointing"
The bathtub did not drain good at all. The bathtub just filled up as you showered. The room did not seem conveniently set up for getting ready for a group- not many plug ins or mirrors. It took forever to get on an elevator. The staff was friendly at check in and the hotel had a great location for going out.Genuine Expedia guest review
I like this hotel - Convenient to a lot of nice restaurants. The only issue we had was the hotel was packed due to a concert and it took a very long time to get on an elevator. For as many floors as this hotel has, they may want to look at adding more elevators. Other than that - would stay here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great staff, convenient location"
My daughters and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Downtown primarily for the proximity to the Sprint Center and the reasonable rates. The night we stayed could have easily been a disaster, as we were in Kansas City for the One Direction concert. We walked into a lobby full of teen girls and their parents, with the longest check-in line I've ever seen at […] a hotel. And yet, the line moved quickly and the desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. No one seemed stressed or annoyed. The facilities are nice and the room was comfortable and clean. I only have one complaint and it's a little unusual. Our room faced west, and when we got into our room, the curtains were open and the room was very hot. It took a long time to cool down to a comfortable temp. I think the heat may have affected the door lock mechanism. When we left the room, the door would not automatically lock when it closed. I actually had to leave the room for a short time knowing I was leaving it unlocked. Inside the room, the deadbolt wouldn't work, either. I called the desk about that, and a very nice maintenance man worked on the door jamb and got the deadbolt to fit in the door plate better. This was before I knew about the other problem with the lock. It seems that once the room cooled, though, the door locks (both) worked fine. I wonder if it was a mechanical problem caused by the disparity in temp. between the hall and room, which was pretty pronounced at first. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
I really liked the location in conjuction with where our event was located. The hotel was nice, service great. The parking garage is in need of maintenance, as is the garage elevators. Roof top pool is small but decent. There were a couple things in bathroom, the hook on the back of the door almost pulled out and the shower dripped when neighbors used […] theirs. But overall very nice. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel, close to bar/dining & shopping!"
The hotel was fully booked during our stay, the elevator system was running poorly/slow that day; so we had to walk up & down 5 flights to the parking garage. For the money the hotel/facility is what you would expect. We stayed on the 14th floor during the middle of July & the A/C in the room did not keep up with the hot air from the windows entering […] the room. The bathroom seemed a little small for the money. The front desk clerk did ask what plans we had for the evening and when we told him we were going to the KCP & L district downtown; he gave us a card to get half off drinks and a no-cover pass at Shark bar which we used! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Great location for downtown activities"
Great time in KC for a concert at the Sprint Center and cruising the bars in the Power & Light district. Just a few block walk away from this hotel. Hotel staff was great and upgraded us to the executive suites level on 26th floor. The rooms were huge with a living room and bedroom. The decor is dated and is a bit wore out, but very comfortable. Slept […] great in the king sized bed. The bathroom had a lightbulb burned out which made it awfully dim. I was able to make due by switching the lightbulb near the shower with the one over the sink so I can see my face as I shaved. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Not worth the price"
Overpriced for mediocrity. Plus they waved us in the parking ramp for the hotel, only to let us know while we were checking in that it would be $15 a night for parking. The price to stay in a hotel with small bedrooms and no real amenities seemed ridiculous enough that parking should be free.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Enjoyed my stay, hotel staff very helpful, clean enviornment, comfy beds and pillows.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very dirty room Not working equipment inside Staff in restaurant area poor Gift shop needs a cleaning and face lift, but that's why it's in the very lower level I guess! Total disappointed!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel has a great location downtown and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities themselves seem like they could use an update, and not in the best condition.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Great place...only one small issue"
The hotel, location, pool on the roof, and food service were great! The only minor complaint was that we called two separate times for more towels and never received.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Top quality hotel. Not cheap but what is in downtown KC? Even the Quisnos was expensive.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Excellent Hotel in Downtown Kansas City, MO"
This is an excellent hotel in near the Power and Light District (several restaurants), the convention center, and the arts center. The room was clean, the staff was helpful. I noticed that the hotel had a courtesy van of which I was not informed when I arrived.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Would not recommend"
I booked this hotel because it is close to the power and light district in Kansas City and that would be the only positive thing I can say about it. Check in is at 3 and we did not check in until 5:30. The first room we were assigned had a broken air conditioner and one of the beds looked like someone had been laying in it and one pillow was on the […] floor. We thought this was strange but finally called the front desk when we found dried urin on the toliet seat. They gave us a new room and a kind maintenance man came up with the keys and took us to the new room. When we got to the door of the 2nd room their was a sticky note on it saying the battery needed to be replaced in the lock. The door of course would not open because of this. By now it was 6 and we still needed to get ready for a 7:00 dinner reservation. The maintenance man said we could wait but we told him our situation and that we would go back down to the front desk and try for a 3rd room. The maintenance man went down with us and explained that the battery was out in the lock and that we needed another room. The woman was extremely rude to the man and us, never apologizing and said their was no more rooms and nothing she could do. After arguing for 30 minutes she finally "found" another room. She was very unprofessional and rude. Not one time did she apologize for the inconvenience. I was shocked at how she treated us and the maintenance man attempting to help us. The 3rd room worked, but we were very late. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Nice hotel close to KC Power & Light District."
Staff was helpful in setting up shuttles. We enjoyed the pool on the 7th floor, which was shaded in the afternoon. We walked to the Power & Light District every night.Genuine Expedia guest review
"nice but all extras cost money"
Clean room, friendly staff. Pool outside so useless this time of year. No breakfast and had to pay $15 a night for parking! Although nice, will probably stay someplace that actually gives you basic ammenities for your money next time.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Pleasant Hotel. . ."
Stayed overnight during a baseball/business weekend. Fine hotel with quality room. Staff was pleasant and helpful but hurried. Ideal business travel location in heart of downtown KC near the Power and Light district. Walking distance to many venues. Families who want more hands on service should probably look elsewhere.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Filthy linens and paper-thin walls"
This hotel is, at best, 2.5 stars and only because the location is convenient. But I would rather spend a bit more and stay somewhere nicer where the elevators actually work quickly and the walls aren't paper-thin. The shower curtain and sheets/pillowcases were filthy. The walls were so thin that we could hear neighbors getting ice out of the ice machine […] down the hall and talking (we could hear every word). The only hope of getting a decent night's sleep was when the air conditioning kicked in and provided some "white noise". I would not recommend staying here, there are plenty of nicer places nearby. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )