All hotels in Kansas City, Missouri, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO, 64105, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
3.8 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 325 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.1
  • Service
    4.1
  • Comfort
    3.9
  • Condition
    3.7
  • Neighborhood
    4.4
3.0 / 5Good
"Not bad"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The Crowne Plaza is a bit tired, having been around for quite some time. But for an overnight while at the P&L or after a concert it is a very reasonable choice. The covered/attached parking is a big bonus as well.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Elmer, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Our on-site parking garage is a definite plus, especially on the weekend ends and event days when downtown is very busy. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Jul 21, 2014
Elmer
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The room was clean but standard. Restaurant and Bar had good food and the staff was great! Housekeeping svc knocked on our door at 8am asking when we were leaving. Never had that experience before in a hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you staying with us at the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown. Also, thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience with the Expedia Community. I am very pleased to hear you found our staff to be great and enjoyed the restaurant and bar while you were here! I apologize for housekeeping knocking on your door so early, I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper. We hope to see you again, the next time your travels bring you to the Kansas City area. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Jul 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Enjoyed our stay, we did have to walk up to a motel up the street though to have a drink after 1200 a.m. Would be nice if their bar would have stayed open later.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. I am sorry you didn't get to enjoy the bar as late as you had liked, but I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay otherwise. We would love to have you back as our guest the next time you are in Kansas City. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Jun 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Would not repeat"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
I stayed 2 nights. The first night my room was near the elevator shafts, no one in my family got any sleep due to the whooshing sound going on every time the elevator went up or down the shafts. The next morning I complained and was moved to a different room which was still near the elevators but on the other side of the waiting area for the elevators. The whoosh was less, and less disruptive, but still there. The room (non smoking) also smelled of cig smoke, the extra linen for the fold out couch also smelled, 2 of the lamps did not work, the replacement room was smaller than the original (which may just be a building design feature). I have long felt that booking through hotels usually gets me a comparable room but slightly inferior, even though the price may be similar to booking via their website. After the past few months I think I'm going to stop using hotels to book for that reason. Nevertheless, considering the noise factor from the elevator and that the front desk saw I was traveling with 2 small children, the fact that they placed me in that room makes it very unlikely I would ever use, or recommend, this hotel again. It just shows a complete lack of consideration. On the plus side there is a bunch of nice restaurants and bars with 1.5 blocks from the hotel and their room service food is awesome. I do have to mention, as well, that it took 1.5 hour that first night to get linen for the rolling bed.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night business trip Jun 21, 2014
Joseph
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Pool is nice. Needs to be updated for the rates they charge.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for sharing your comments about our property. I am sorry to hear we did not live entirely up to your expectations but I am happy to hear you enjoyed the pool during your visit. Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Jun 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great location, great hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The room was clean and ready on time. Close to the Power & Light District and a lot of good restaurants.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Mike, Thank you for sharing your comments about the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location to you liking. We would love to have you as our guest again, the next time you are in Kansas City.
1 night trip with friends Jun 21, 2014
mike
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"best birthday get away"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
the hotel is a wonderful spot for going out in the power and light district of KC. We used it as a romantic get a way for a birthday. With the hotel being so close, (walking distance) we could both cut loose and let our hair down with out one of us haveing to hold back on the partying. The hotel really made the whole weekend worth while.thanks
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Mike & Tesa, Happy Birthday! I am so happy to hear you were able to enjoy your birthday getaway and not have to worry about anything. Thanks for staying with us, we would love to have you as our guests again the next time you need a getaway. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night romance trip Jun 6, 2014
mike and tesa
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Amazing staff and an excellent location if you want to enjoy the power and light district.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza- Kansas City Downtown. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and location. We share all reviews with our associates and I am sure this one will make their day. We would love to have you stay with us again when you're traveling to the area again. Regards, Ashley Blair
2 night business trip Jun 6, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice people."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. Front desk was well staffed and very friendly and knowledgeable. The location has a lot of options for restaurants and bars. We wonder why we always get the farthest room.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Char, Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you found your bed comfortable and your room clean. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and strive for 100% guest satisfaction. I am not sure why you always get the farthest room but the next time you are our guest, please let the front desk know if you'd prefer a different room and we'd be happy to accommodate you. Thanks for staying with us! Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Jun 9, 2014
Char
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Walk to Sprint Center"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The person checking us in, John, was extremely rude! Had there have been available rooms close by we would have stayed elsewhere and had our credit card company dispute the charge.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Guest, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment, I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced when the actions of our staff did not meet your expectations. We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else. I am sorry this was not your experience. You can be confident that we have followed up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. I can assure you that what you experienced is not typical from The Crowne Plaza - Kansas City.. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future to create a top notch experience. Thank you for staying with us. Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Jun 2, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Downtown KC"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great hotel, close to power and light! Enjoyable stay and we loved the moon checkout time.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear K, Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your recent visit at Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and it's proximity to the Power and Light District. I will share your wonderful comments about our staff and the hotel to everyone. We look forward to being your host hotel again in the future. Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip May 28, 2014
k
US
2.0 / 5Fair
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    1.0
very "used and abused" look to the hotel. Plaster was falling off the exterior by the pool area and an area was roped off. Elevators were ancient and slow, very long wait to get on. Rooms very dated
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
I appreciate you taking the time to send your comments regarding your recent visit at our property. I am so sorry that your experience at our hotel was not exceptional. We strive for a 100% guest satisfaction and we fell short of that. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in the future. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night family trip May 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"comfortable but a bit slow"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The beds were very comfortable. Though it took a bit for maintenance to come and fix the tv. Had to call 3 times in the span of many hours between leaving and coming back. Other than that, great room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Ashley, Thank you for the kind review of the Kansas City Crowne Plaza, I am pleased to hear you found your bed to your liking but I would like to apologize for the slow service getting your television fixed. I have passed along your comments to our maintenance department so this does not happen to future guests. Thank you for staying with us, I hope we will be your hotel of choice the next time you're in Kansas City. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night business trip May 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"AMAZING"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Loved the room, the service & the view. Lots of surrounding places to eat all within walking distance. Also within walking distance to the sprint center. Definitely recommend this hotel!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Tim, Thanks for your kind words about your room, the view and the service our associates provided you. On top of excellent service, Crowne Plaza - Kansas City offers a great location in close proximity to so many attractions in KC. Thank you for for staying with us, I hope we will be your hotel of choice the next time you are in the area. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night romance trip May 16, 2014
Tim
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The room was nice. The people in the room next to us were very noisy but finally stopped. The staff was great.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. They take a lot of pride in providing excellent service to all of our guests. I am sorry the room next to you was noisy but happy to hear you enjoyed your stay otherwise. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Kansas City. Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip May 5, 2014
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Sleepless in KC"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Teens partied in hall til 3 am Management was ineffective in quieting despite 2 calls to desk. Offered to move us at 1130pm. Why not evict the trouble makers? Would not offer any compensation because booked through hotels.com. Charged for everything, parking, breakfast, refridgerator. Room was very nice but very small. It was a one star experience but paid for four star. I will say the staff was excellent except for quieting the teens. I will never stay here again. I will stay at a Drury or Hampton and drive in
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Frank, Thank your for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and rectify the situation immediately. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as excellent even with the mishap. Thanks again for staying with us! Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Apr 25, 2014
Frank
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I wasn't able to get my messages on the phone in my room. I called the front desk and told them and they sent an employee to my room to check it out but he didn't know what to do. He said he would call his boss but I never heard back from anyone. The message was a client that I was seeing the next day and I never got the message. It turned out to be OK but that was frustrating. Also the TV remote didn't work.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear J, I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience with your voicemail. Thanks to comments like yours, we have more opportunity to train our staff on details that may not be clear. The response and reaction you received is certainly not typical of our normal level of service, I am so sorry you did not get to enjoy the typical experience we strive so hard to provide. I am pleased to hear everything turned out ok however. Again thank you so much for your valued input, your patience, and your patronage. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in the near future. Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Apr 24, 2014
J
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Just OK"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Only there for a few hours; major complaint was the restaurant which offered weak service and an awful buffet (at full price, BTW). Also the beverage machine took my money. When I reported it downstairs at checkout I got neither a real apology nor my $2 back, in rather a detached encounter. Not the money, but the principle. I won't be back unless there is no option.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for your valued input, I am very sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations, as we pride ourselved on providing the very best possible service and product possible. I am sure our team will be interested in reading your comments. Because of your candid feedback, we are able to evaluate and respond appropriately. Thanks again! Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Apr 11, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Perfect Location, but very pricey"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
This hotel was perfectly located where we were wanting to visit. We were able to walk to the Power and Light District with no problems at all. It was nice having the Starbucks inside the hotel too. However, this was an extremely pricey trip and we also had to pay park there, which we were not expecting. I will probably visit again though.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Caitlin, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our proximity to the KC Power and Light District. I apologize the parking fees were not conveyed to you prior to your arrival. Thank you for your feedback - we welcome you back the next time you are in the Kansas City area. Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 night trip with friends Apr 4, 2014
Caitlin
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Downtown KC by power and light"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Night security guard was not good. Let someone in our room at 3 o clock in the morning that didn't have photo i.d. And brought 2 other people to the room who were not supposed to be there. Rachel at the front desk was absolutely GREAT! Not one bad thing to say about her. She went over and beyond of what she had to do! She was great!!!!!!!!!!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your response regarding your experience with our security. I would like to sincerely apologize. We strive to ensure that each guest experience is satisfactory, and we utilize all feedback to train the team and create positive results moving forward. I am pleased to hear that our front desk staff was so great! I have shared your comments with our staff and it has made their day! Thanks again, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Mar 31, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Frusterated"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Our toilet wouldn't flush and we had to go to the lobby to use the restroom.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Rhonda, I am terribly sorry about your toilet, I hope our maintenance department was able to address the issue for you as that is definitely not a typical problem. I hope we will have to opportunity to show you a true Crowne Plaza experience in the future. Thanks for staying with us! Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Mar 24, 2014
Rhonda
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"I really enjoyed our stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Our friends had a room there last year, so I was pleasantly surprised at the rooms updates and the entire hotel for that matter. The service was great rooms were clean. And even with the college basket ball bracket going on there was attention for everyone and no craziness. I never felt like we had to wait or were put second at any point.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Cora's mom, Thanks for that quick yet effective review. All of our guests are #1, I am glad you never felt like the basketball frenzy was taking over. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Kansas City. Ashley Blair Guest Services
3 night business trip Mar 20, 2014
Cora's mom
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
I was not happy that they charged my card and it took 3 business days to remove the charge. Definitely a good walking distance to Power and Light. There over night staffs was a little grumpy
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your response regarding your experience with our overnight staff. We strive to ensure that each guest experience is satisfactory, and we utilize all feedback to train the team and create positive results moving forward. We appreciate your business and want to make sure we go above and beyond your expectations. Thanks, Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Mar 22, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Couldn't be happier"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The hotel was absolutely perfect for our bachelorette party. The suite was very spacious, location couldn't have been better, and service was incredible. We had one girl that ended up getting sick and the hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure she was okay. They gave us a later check out time and a fan to keep her cool. I couldn't say enough good things about this hotel! Will definitely stay there again if we ever go back to KC!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear B. Carr, Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown and our great location! Hope to see you return again soon. Safe Travels! Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 night trip Mar 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Not Bad, not Luxury"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The room was fine, clean and staff was very attentive, no complaints about them at all. We always have a good experience. The room needed a bit of work it was fine for us, but if you are expecting high luxury, it's not. The paint above the shower was peeling, bath room door was smashed in at the corner. Bath room is REALLY tiny, hard to close the door if you are on the heavy side. Airconditioning unit was running 247 to keep comfortable and it was VERY loud. street noise was also pretty bad even 21 stories up.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear jlmoor, Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about our hotel. I appreciate your comments about our staff. I would say they are the BEST in town. We are aware of our structural shortcomings and are addressing the issues in order to provide our guests the best hotel in Kansas City. We welcome you back, the next time you travel to the area. Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 night family trip Mar 14, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Close to the Sprint Center"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Spent a few nights, overall experience was good. Price is a little steep and parking is not included. Its a nice place but if it wasn't close to the Sprint Center I,wouldn't go back. To pricey.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Boyd, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied with the price and our parking fee. Thank you for your valued input and I hope we get the chance to regain your patronage again in the future. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Mar 17, 2014
Boyd
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The loca emotion is perfect for the convention center or Sprint Center. Rooms are small but nice. Staff is personable. Only real complaint us the elevators are dinosaurs. Very slow dinosaurs. :)
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Kris, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Crowne Plaza – Kansas City Downtown. I am sorry to hear your complaint about the parking garage elevators. We are currently in the process of renovating them and they will be much quicker very soon. I’d love to hear what you think about them the next time you visit the KC area. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Mar 8, 2014
Kris
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Elevators very slow, especially parking garage
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Feb 28, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Minor glitches but still my first choice"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I prefer to stay in a Crowne wherever I go. The staff was professional and very attentive. Only minor oversights during my stay that would have created a "perfect" type of stay. Please replace the AM room service card every day. It happens in every Crowne or other hotel I've gone to. The door is propped open to clean then nobody sees/checks the handle. I have to call or go get one every night, every time. My usual tactic is to ask for a handful of them on check in. That's how much this happens. I had early breakfasts (6:00am) and on day one I got a call asking if I was ready for my breakfast. Never had that before. It was a professional touch (probably not standard) that was missed the rest of the stay. It is so easy to oversleep in that first slot... kudos for the warning shot from that staff member. I learned later that the parking charges went to the room and I had paid cash for day one when I didn't need to. The staff made sure I wasn't charged for that. There was confusion on when the restaurant was open or not and the room book didn't have the room service menu in it which made for one confusing dining choice night. There was no non-alcoholic beer in the Executive lounge but I got one on day two at the downstairs bar... but none in the restaurant the day after that. In the Ex lounge I was told "We only have alcohol in the Ex lounge" which is a pretty off-putting and excluding statement to an executive that doesn't drink. Again all easy stuff to fix.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for the detailed review of the Crowne Plaza – Kansas City Downtown. . I appreciate your kind words about the staff and their efforts to please &/or assist our guests. I am glad that we were able to correct your parking fees. Please note that I have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage team and they will be addressed. Thanks again for staying with us, I hope you will choose us again when your future travels bring you back to Kansas City! Sincerely, Ashley Blair
Other trip Feb 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Crown Madness"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The hotel itself is not bad and is located in close proximity to the KC, P&L district. However, if it is your intent to have a nice quiet stay in the area then think again. They hold conferences and meetings quite often as we were told by the staff. On this particular weekend there were hundreds of people from out of town swamping the hotel common aread and the lines for the elevators resembled something you would see at a Disney resort. If you are looking for a place to hold a conference I would suggests this location, if other than that I would suggest a quieter location with less of a mass focus. All in all, not a bad stay but could have been better.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear seriouslyrowe, I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our property and personally apologize because it did not live up to your full expectations. Located in the heart of downtown, we are within close proximity to several attractions like the Power and Light District as well as the River Market, Crown Center and the Country Club Plaza. Plus the Kansas City Convention Center, this does lead to the hotel being very busy at times. I'd like the opportunity to welcome you back and regain your confidence if your future travels bring you back to Kansas City. Thanks again!
1 night romance trip Feb 14, 2014
seriouslyrowe
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good time great experience"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The staff were great people and treated us very good. Would definitely stay here again. Beds were a little small for me but it was suitable
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Ryan, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found your guestroom to your liking and got to experience our friendly Midwestern hospitality! We look forward to serving your travel needs at the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown should you return to the Kansas City area! Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night business trip Feb 1, 2014
Ryan
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great location, very run down hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Great location downtown but property has not been updated in 10 plus years, staff very friendly though
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 21, 2014
randall
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
A good weekend.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Jan 3, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very nice and helpful staff"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I have never experienced a more helpful and courteous staff. Very helpful and informative. It was very refreshing to know that customer service isn't totally dead in the hospitality industry.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Janna, Thank you for sharing your comments about our staff. I am very pleased to hear that you found them to be so helpful and courteous. Hospitality isn't dead, it's our business and we aim to please. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Jan 3, 2014
Janna
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Close to Perfect"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The heater broke the last day we were there, but they quickly let us move to another room. The best thing about that was it was right next door so didn't take us long to move everything.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear macfan101, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry about the heater on your last day but I am relieved to hear we were able to accommodate you so quickly. I am also sorry to hear you were disappointed with our bathroom size. I know it's a challenge getting ready with two girls at any time. Thanks for again for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your future visits! Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Dec 30, 2013
macfan101
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Setting the Record Straight"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Read reviews online and was expecting slow elevators, ungrateful staff dirty conditions and noise. The 3 main elevators were fine. 2 0r 3 others were being renovated. It seems like some prior guests thought the elevators should be used while the work was going on. The staff was great! From the front desk to housekeeping, all staff were smiling, helpful and courteous. Darryl was the shuttle driver and was GREAT!!!! He deserves a raise. Dirt and noise were never an issue. The only staff that didn't talk to me'twas pretty and smiling. She shyly told me she didn't speak English!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Bob, Thank you for your kind words, I am very pleased to hear we have exceeded your expectations at the Crowne Plaza – Kansas City Downtown. Thank you for recognizing our staff, I have shared your comments with our team. It really put a smile on their faces. We take a lot of pride in our work and aim to provide the highest level of guest satisfaction possible. The next time your travels bring you to Kansas City, we look forward to your visit. Thanks again! Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Dec 18, 2013
Bob
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Overall, good. I thought there weren't very many amenities for what you paid for such as refrigerator, microwave, etc in the room. The bathroom was very tiny.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City. I am pleased to hear your stay was good overall but that you didn't receive the amenities you would have liked; we do have refrigerators and microwaves available for use in the guest rooms. We would love to see you again the next time you are in Kansas City. Thank you! Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip with friends Nov 12, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very nice stafff and good location"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Our room could have used some updates. Small bathroom size and needed new carpet. Beds were very comfortable.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Mari , I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and the friendliness of our staff. We recently changed out our beds and bedding so I am very happy to hear that you were comfortable. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit the Kansas City area. Thanks for your review. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Nov 12, 2013
Mari
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
My only complaint would be about the Starbucks employees. They were extremely unfriendly and came across quite rude.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your experience with the Starbucks employees. I have passed your comments on to be addressed and I can assure you that is definitely not standard of Starbucks or our hotel staff. We take great pride in providing excellent service to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Kansas City. Thank you, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Nov 14, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to Sprint Center"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We stayed here because of it's proximity to the Sprint Center. I was a little disappointed in the condition of the hotel given the price we paid for the room. The room was clean but carpet was threadbare in places, the doors were all very old with scuff marks. Getting out of the parking garage to leave the next day was a challenge. Instead of the key card working you have to ring for help. It was settled quickly but an inconvenience, again, considering the price we paid for a single night there.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear mytime102, I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I hope you enjoyed your event at the Sprint Center - our location is fantastic to attend events there and other venues throughout the city. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the condition of the hotel but happy to hear it was clean overall. We would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again the next time you travel to Kansas City to see the changes we have made. Thank you, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Nov 14, 2013
mytime102
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel with a great view of the city"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the room and lobby were very clean, and our view and stay were amazing. I will be staying here again!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear MJ, Thank you so much for such a great review. I am pleased to hear you had an amazing stay. Reading such kind words always makes me smile. We can't wait to see you on your next visit to Kansas City. Sincerely, Ashley Blair, Guest Services
Other trip Nov 4, 2013
MJ
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not recommended"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The room was very small, the online pics of the the room were deceiving, the room was at least $100 overpriced, the carpet throughout the hotel was stained and nasty looking, the service in the restaurant was pathetic, and the food, however, was good. I hate to be so negative, but the place was just very disappointing.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to hear you did enjoy the food from our restaurant however, it saddens me that the rest of your experience was not up to our standards. I assure you we take pride in making every guest experience a memorable one. We would love for you to give our hotel another opportunity to change your mind the next time you travel to Kansas City. Thank you! Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Oct 31, 2013
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Eh, would go somewhere else for the money."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Not really sure if hotels.com fault or the hotels but there was a problem with the reservation and the front desk seemed to care very little. Also, we requested and paid extra for higher occupancy with a rollaway bed and was told was not possible when we arrived. Very complacent attitude at the front desk. This was my second time staying there and i do not think i would stay again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Brad, I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. Without being able to review the reservation I can not make a clear determination of where the mix up happened but a complacent attitude from the front desk is not standard at our hotel. We want every guest to walk away saying they would return and recommend us to their friends. We sincerely hope you would consider giving us another chance and welcome the opporturnity to have you as our guest again. Thanks for your review! Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip with friends Oct 26, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice place, close to what's happening downtown."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Polite staff, clean room, a little pricey, but overall a very good experience.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit to the Kansas City area. Thanks again! Ashley Blair, Guest Services
Other trip Oct 21, 2013
Tim
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Convenient location to venue"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I was very concerned about staying at the Crowne Plaza after reading recent reviews, but was extremely pleased with our stay. The hotel is conveniently located in safe, well-lit walking distance to the Sprint Center and area Power & Light District attractions. The staff was very pleasant, helpful, and efficient with registration and check-out. The hotel was clean with working elevators and ample parking space in the garage. Needless to say the hotel exceeded my expectations and I would not hesitate to stay at the Crowne Plaza in the future. A bonus...Starbucks!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Stephanie, Wow, what a great review! Thank you for the 5-star review and I will definitely share your comments with our team as it will definitely make their day! I am pleased to hear that we definitely exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we would be your hotel of choice the next time your travels bring you back to Kansas City. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Oct 3, 2013
Stephanie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Bachelorette Party"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Loved it here. Had 5 girls stay for a bachelorette party. Room and staff were amazing. View of the city from our room. Will definitely be staying again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Lauren, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kansas City to host your Bachelorette party. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with your room and our staff! We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to the Kansas City area. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip with friends Sep 28, 2013
Lauren
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"It was nice...except the price"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I enjoyed staying at this hotel for the most part. It was right down the street from our concert and that was extremely convienent. It was clean and cozy. The room was a little small for $200 a night, actually really small for that price. For having to pay that much, I was pretty disappointed with having to pay just to park there and the food was really pricey! We ended up spending way more than intended just to eat breakfast! All in all, it was not bad, but I really feel that for what we paid to sleep there the breakfast and/or parking could be complimentary.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Jessica, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and it's convenience to your concert venue. Being so close to the Power & Light District is definitely a perk. We welcome you back as our guest again the next time you are in Kansas City, we have several great concerts coming up. Thank you! Ashley Blair, Guest Services
1 night romance trip Sep 30, 2013
Jessica Bollig
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Close to Sprint !"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
There were no pop machines on our floor . Other than that it was great & very close to the Sprint Center . Stayed there a few years ago , will stay there again .Was treated very well !
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Deb, Thank you for a 5-Star review! I am sorry to hear you did not find our soda machines; we have them on alternating floors with snacks on every other as well. We can't wait to have you back as a guest again the next time you are in KC. Thanks again for staying at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City! Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 night trip Sep 27, 2013
Deb
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Location!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Easy to get to off of the interstate; traffic not crazy; great location for walking to restaurants or bars nearby; attentive hotel staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear Group of 4, I am pleased to hear you liked our location. You can't beat the proximity to the Power and Light District and all of the fantastic restaurants. I am also very delighted to hear that our staff was attentive. Our goal is to please every guest that walks through our front door. Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I hope we will be your choice hotel next time you stay in Kansas City. Ashley Blair Guest Services
Other trip Sep 29, 2013
Group of 4
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
Well, hate to say it but I should have heeded all the other reviews of this hotel. The room was nice looking, but the knobs on the heat/air conditioning were completely broken. There was no way to control what the unit was doing. We unplugged it one night because it was too cold. The bathroom had no vent fan at all. I imagine that is why the door had been water or condensation damaged. It would not shut all the way without a loud noise and I'm sure I woke up my friends closing the door in the middle of the night. At night on a Saturday the downtown area was extremely loud. On the 9th floor you'd think you wouldn't be able to hear what was going on at street level, but here you certainly could. The service we got was good for the most part. Brunch in the restaurant was nice and had good service. So, if you get a good deal, then ok. But do not pay full or close to full price for this hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown
Dear KC Tourist, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. I am disappointed to read that we did not live up to your expectations, especially regarding the heating/AC unit. All of our rooms have thermostats on the walls controlling the units. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our brunch in the City Grille and received good service. I have passed that on to our restaurant staff. It always makes their day to hear positive feedback. If you travel to Kansas City again, I hope you would reconsider us as your hotel of choice and let us prove to you that we are definitely worth it. Thank you, Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 night trip Sep 20, 2013
KCTourist
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews