All hotels in Ames, Iowa, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
1400 S Dayton Place, Ames, IA, 50010, United States of America, ‏‎855-238-1591
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.1 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 107 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.4
  • Service
    4.4
  • Comfort
    4.1
  • Condition
    4.1
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >
3.0 / 5Good
The hotel is conveniently located on "hotel strip" in Ames. It is an older building and the condition shows. They are building a new Hampton Inn a black away to replace this one.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Aug 18, 2015
Jerry
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Missed having a little fridge in the room."
There was no refrigerator or microwave.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review about our Hampton! We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon! We do have microwaves and fridges in our guest rooms with one king bed! We are also looking forward to having all of our guest rooms featuring these amenities in our new building set to open in early 2016! We hope to see you again soon!
1 night family trip Jul 25, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Hampton Inn Ames was very nice. The staff was great and the breakfasts provided by Abby were quite good she was especially nice to my grandchildren who came to visit me in the hotel for a sleep over.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your past time stay with us! We loved having you here and are glad to hear you felt the Hamptonality during your time with us! We hope to see you again soon!
7 night family trip Jun 30, 2015
Melanie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
No problems at all. The hotel has easy access from the major highways. Comfortable, quiet room. Restaurants were located a short distance away with a decent selection. On check-in, the evening desk staff was extremely helpful in giving directions to my meeting locations on campus at Iowa State. Hats off to Brennan for doing an outstanding job. I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to the Ames area.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your great review about our Hampton! We are glad to hear Brennan stood out to you during your time with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 night business trip Jun 4, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Last minute stop - good choice"
Check in went smooth and the young man was helpful, kind, and professional. My breakfast experience had a personal touch with the breakfast attendant being friendly and attentive... supplying me with water and appropriate conversation.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your great review about your last minute stop in Ames! Brennan was glad he had at the chance to welcome you to Ames and we are glad Lisa stood out to you during our On The House Hot Breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
1 night family trip May 31, 2015
jennifer
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Fit our needs"
Was not a great hotel but clerks were nice and baked cookies for the kids. There was a nice atmosphere. Breakfast was nothing great. Pool was nice, a bit small but suited our needs well. Exercise room lacked real weights or anything besides glider.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your short and sweet three star review about our Hampton! We are excited to be moving into a new building set to open in early 2016! During your next visit with us, please let our team know about your need for an expanded fitness center. We have partnered with our local anytime fitness center to allow our guests to use our local gyms throughout the area!
Other trip Apr 24, 2015
A father
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place to stay"
Was a comfortable stay, staff was super, friendly, and helpful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your 5 star review! Our team loved hearing your comments! See you again soon!
1 night family trip Apr 4, 2015
William
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Family stay"
We have a family of 5 and we stayed for just one quick night and were on the road again in the morning. The room was clean and the staff was extra helpful and friendly. The breakfast was average, but as expected.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for the five star review! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your quick one night stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!
1 night family trip Apr 2, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Friendly Staff"
The staff was super friendly. We missed part of breakfast because my son didn't feel well. The manager made bacon for us. However, our room never got cleaned. Other staff stepped right in to help out.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review about our Hampton! We are glad our team was able to take care of you during your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Other trip Mar 24, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Cold pool"
Pool water was really cold. Otherwise all else was great.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your four star review about our Hampton! We are so sorry to hear about the issue you faced with our pool. We are working with our engineering team to assure it does not happen again! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
1 night family trip Mar 20, 2015
Elizabeth
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Room was way to small and not mini frig."
Our key card did work 4 different times. I would go to the room and the key card would not work and I would have to walk back to the desk for a new card.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review! We are so sorry to hear about the issues you faced with your key card and your disappointment about not having a mini fridge in your guest room! We are working with our engineering team to correct the issues you faced with your lock, and we hope during your next visit you request a fridge to be put into your guest room! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Other trip Mar 19, 2015
pg
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hampton Ames"
The staff is one of the friendliest hotel staffs I've ever encountered.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your four star review! Your comments put a huge smile on everyone's faces! We are glad you felt what we like to call Hamptonality during your time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
2 night trip Mar 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Daughters Weekend Visit"
We don't generally stay at the Hampton. The room was very small and was advised they only had double beds for 2 beds in a room. But, it was clean and the breakfast server was excellent. Thanks
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your encouraging four star review! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, Lisa and Abby are shining stars and love to take care of our guests! We hope to retain your loyalty until we move to our new building set to open in early 2016 - where we will feature rooms with queen or king beds! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 night family trip Feb 21, 2015
Anthony
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice Stay!"
The hotel was very nice and up to date. They were very busy and the staff was a bit stretched. Good breakfast but were out of a number of items not able to keep up with demand. Still I would stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your four star review about our Hampton! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and will use your feedback to continue to train our team! We look forward to welcoming you back the to the area the next time your travels bring you to the area!
1 night family trip Feb 7, 2015
Kevin
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Comfortable hotel in Ames"
There were LOTS of families staying, but it was still quiet in my room.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Feb 9, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very comfortable and spacious!"
Very comfortable room! My only complaint was that the internet was so incredibly slow I wasn't sure if it was working. I tried to log on a couple times waiting for nearly an hour with no luck. I finally tried again, left for several hours and came back and I had finally connected.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to write a four star review about our Hampton! We are so sorry to hear about the issues you faced with our internet. We are addressing the issue and we look forward to having a new, faster internet provider in the next few months. We look forward to sharing this change with you on your next visit!
2 night family trip Jan 23, 2015
Bev
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hampton Inn"
We like to stay at this hotel when we visit our daughter at Iowa state. The hotel is nice, breakfast is usually nice, but runs low on some things depending on who is manning the station on which day. The pool temp needs to be upped just a bit in the winter. All staff is very friendly and helpful except for the one gal that checks us in each time. Rooms are always nice and clean.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 25, 2015
Michele
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice local hotel in a good location"
The hotel is nice. The bed was large, but was pretty hard. The breakfast is decent.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review about our Hampton! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 night family trip Jan 16, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"We Choose Hampton Inn!"
We LOVE Hampton Inns!! They are close to a 4 star hotel - amenities are classy - decor is up to date - staff is friendly and helpful. We were there 3 nights so we got to meet all the front desk staff on each shift - all of them were so kind and helpful and the breakfast lady was full of life and so nice to chat with while we were eating!! Pool area and workout room were clean and accessible. Breakfast choices were excellent - lots of choices for most dietary needs! We love the warm cookies and coffee available in the lobby as well!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your awesome review about our Hampton! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 night business trip Jan 15, 2015
denise
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Holiday weekend"
Very nice trip, we had no issues with the hotel or staff for our short overnight stay. The only comment I would make was the pool area is small and no hot tub which was more disappointing to the adults in the group than kids.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We love to hear five star reviews! Be sure next time you stay with us to check out our in room whirlpool suites to better fit your needs! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
1 night family trip Dec 13, 2014
Debra
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Well Done"
We liked this hotel. Breakfast was good and hot. Easy access.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad you hear you loved our breakfast! We have some exciting changes happening with the layout and design of our breakfast area and we look forward to sharing it with you in the next few weeks! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Other trip Dec 16, 2014
Skooter
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good hotel"
Everything was great at the hotel. Just need a happier gal at the front to check you in otherwise no complaints at all.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your four star review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at our Hampton! We are sorry to hear about the issues you faced with one of our front desk agents. We will use your feedback to continue to train our team! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Other trip Dec 15, 2014
Michele
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Locked Out!"
The hotel is an older one and the key card machine was having difficulty reading my door key. I had to make several exchanges of keys and the locking mechanism had to be cleaned twice. I was locked out of my room several times and had difficulty accessing the south exit/entrance due to card/reader failure.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your time with us at our Hampton! We are so sorry to hear about the issues you had with your door lock. We are working to improve them and we look forward to sharing the improvements with you on your next visit!
1 night business trip Dec 5, 2014
Julie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Kind and thoughtful!"
Loved this place! The bathroom was huge and beautiful. They were so thoughtful and helpful, even though I only stayed a few hours. We had a family emergency and I had to leave soon after I checked in. They didn't even charge me. It was so kind of them! Definitely going to stay here again any time in Ames.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad we had the chance to welcome you to Ames, and we look forward to having the chance to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
1 night business trip Nov 21, 2014
Christine
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Hotel just okay/average. Great staff!"
This hotel was just okay. Pool was small. Exercise room was small (1 treadmill, 1 elliptical). Room (ours anyway) was small. For a family of 4, things got tight pretty quick. We had a standard 2-bed room. Room could have been cleaner (cob webs in the corners of the room) but not bad. Breakfast was terrific! Nice area and very good attendant. Since we really didn't plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel, the size of the room played a roll but not as significant if we would have been spending more time in the facility itself.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback! We are so sorry to hear we were not able to exceed your expectations during your time with us! We have many exciting changes happening, (as we prepare to move to our new building set to open in 2015) and we thank you for your loyalty until that time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
1 night family trip Nov 19, 2014
Chris
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Iowa St visit"
good hotel, Staff went way out of their way to be helpful. They gave us directions and a restaurant recommendation. My daughter forgot her toothbrush and they supplied one. I forgot my fan and they hunted one done. They were just so friendly.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review! We are glad you were able to feel the Hamptonality during your time with us and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Other trip Nov 22, 2014
Nancy
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"One Night Stay"
Just an overnight stay from riding the Dinner Train in Boone. Hotel was very nice. Room was clean. Pool was nice. Water was luke warm but enjoyable. Would have been nice to have a hot tub. Breakfast was good. Banannas were a little ripe, but overall had good choices for breakfast.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad we had the chance to welcome you to Ames during your trip to take a ride on the dinner train in Boone! We hope to see you again soon!
1 night family trip Nov 15, 2014
Lila
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Football game weekend stay"
We were there for a football game - visiting team. It looks barren at the hotel but restaurants were very close and the stadium was less than two miles away. If we return to Ames, we'd very definitely stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your four star review about our Hampton! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us for the past football game at Jack Trice! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 night romance trip Oct 31, 2014
Clinton
US
3.0 / 5Good
maintenance issue in room. the door jam looked like someone had tried to break into room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! We are so sorry to hear about the issue that was overlooked in your guest room! We have taken the steps to fix the door jam. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
1 night trip Oct 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice Hotel in Ames"
We had a great experience and will be staying here again on our next trip. Clean modern decor. Excellent friendly service. Clean and quiet room. Excellent breakfast. Nothing that distracted from our overnight experience.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you so much for your awesome review about our Hampton! We loved having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Other trip Oct 17, 2014
Robin
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Convenient to Iowa State"
Decent hotel. Beds are firm to hard. Rooms are clean. Nice bathrooms. Good value.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your comments about our Hampton! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hampton soon!
Other trip Oct 13, 2014
jeb
US
3.0 / 5Good
stayed one night, breakfast was nice, lots of of options, the room was sad, I expect more from Hampton Inn, thats why I choose to stay there, but this hotel seemed like an old super 8 that was bought up by Hampton Inn.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review about our Hampton Inn! We have always been a Hampton Inn since we opened our doors in 1993 and we were renovated in 2007! We are in the planning stages to start construction of our new building set to open in late 2015 and we want to thank you for your continued loyalty until we move into our new home! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Ames.
Other trip Oct 9, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Fine for an overnight stay"
We chose this hotel because it was located off the highway outside of Ames, but close to Iowa State University which was our destination. The staff was fantastic especially the woman in charge of breakfast. She certainly brightened the day. The room was clean. The bedspread was extremely heavy and not useful, but the bed had no blanket on it so it got chilly in the room. Overall it was a pleasant experience.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your 3 star review! We are glad we had the chance to welcome you to Ames! We have forwarded on your comments about our duvet insert to our corporate brand performance support team for review! When making your next reservation let us know you would rather have a blanket in your room and we would be more then happy to get that set up for you prior to your arrival! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Other trip Oct 5, 2014
Susan
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"In town for the night"
Updated decor, the room was comfortable. Easy check in. The desk clerk was very accomodating.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your past stay with us in Ames! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area!
Other trip Sep 21, 2014
Deana
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to Campus"
The rooms were, it is off the highway, and close to campus. The rooms and hotel itself is clean. The beds are ok but not the most comfortable.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your past stay with us in the Ames, Iowa area! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed most of your time with us! We have forwarded on your comments to our brand team about our Cloud Nine bed by Serta so they can review them! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
3 night trip Sep 11, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Friendly atmosphere"
Staff was awesome very friendly made you feel at home and room was nice and comfortable
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! We are so glad to hear you felt what we like to call "Hamptonality!" We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 night trip Aug 23, 2014
tee
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"A good stop along the way"
A nice hotel. It was a little hard to find since we got off the wrong exit. An older hotel but decorated nicely. Breakfast was a bit sparse. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your comments about our Hampton! We are glad we met your expectations during your time with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Friendly and accommodating are two great things we love to hear about our team!
Other trip Aug 24, 2014
Lola
US
3.0 / 5Good
"One night college visit"
Spent one night before touring Iowa State University. Small room but clean and close to campus. Staff was very helpful with maps and directions to local stores and university. Nice breakfast with a super friendly and funny pantry lady!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
I am elated to see that you enjoyed your stay and the service. We strive to provide each guest with a Level 10 exceptional experience each and every time they stay with us. I have shared your response with the staff and it put a smile on their face! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
1 night trip Aug 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great Stay"
I was a little worried after booking and reading the recent reviews. I was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel very clean, quiet, with friendly staff, and convenient location to the highway. Great shower with lots of hot water and good water pressure. The breakfast was standard, but included in the price so a good value. Only slight disappointment was no coffee maker in the room, however, plenty of good HOT coffee in the lobby! Wouldn't hesitate coming back!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
We are so thrilled to hear your review about your past time with us! Our top three values are clean, comfortable and friendly and we are glad you mentioned all three in your review! All of our guest rooms under go an inspection prior to your arrival, and we are disappointed to hear a coffee maker was missing from your room, as we do feature one cup coffee makers in all of our guest rooms! If there was anything else we could have done to make your time with us more enjoyable please do not hesitate to connect with anyone on our team! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Other trip Aug 17, 2014
Jenny
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Bathrooms smell"
Kitchen lady was amazingly friendly. Great with children! Breakfast was same daily and rather dull. Pool facility room temp way too hot, I felt like we were laying out at the beach. is a small 3-4'9" deep. Rooms were very humid and AC unit very loud. Wasn't impressed. I've had better experiences at Super 8s
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review about our Hampton! We are so sorry to hear about your past time with us. We have underwent many changes over the past year and we hope to retain your loyalty until we move into our new building set to open in early 2016! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Other trip Jul 30, 2014
32yo
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Gone downhill"
I had 2 rooms this weekend and both had a funky odor and were humid even with the air set to 64. My child spilled her water bottle and when I scrubbed it up with the white towel, it was filthy from the soiled carpet. Toilets in either room took forever to flush. One room has 2 double beds, no fridge or microwave and has this LARGE table that takes up precious space. Breakfast is decent, but used to me much better in past years. My family always stays here when we visit and we are not going back.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback about your past stay with us! We love hearing details from our guests so we really know on the areas we need to focus on. We hope you are able to visit us again soon so we can share these changes with you during your next visit to Ames! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Other trip Jul 28, 2014
32yo
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice hotel"
Room was very clean. Bed very comfy. And staff were friendly, polite and cheerful!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jul 2, 2014
Dorene
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Rooms clean and comfy>wasnt thrilled with breakfast food choices too much
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your feedback! We rotate our breakfast menu every day, and we would love to hear what you think we could add to our mix of items! We just completed a breakfast refresh, and we hope you come back to see what new items we are offering at all our Hampton locations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 night trip Jun 28, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Yes, it was clean but it did not seem to meet the same standards of all of the other Hampton Inns we have stayed in. We opt to pay a little more and expect a little bit more out of a Hampton Inn. We have stayed in several Hampton Inns across the country this year and we were disappointed with this facility.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for providing us with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! We wish you would have brought up your concerns directly to us so we could have discussed what you think we could do to better our current building! We are in the planning stages of opening a brand new Hampton Inn and Suites set to open in 2015, and we too are very excited to be moving into a new building. In the mean time, we look forward to hearing your comments on what we should focus on to improve our current Hampton.
1 night business trip Jun 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Lazerfest"
Booked here for a roadtrip to Lazerfest. Best quality of this hotel was the staff. We had a near miss from a tornado during our stay and the staff handled it very well. The room was very clean and location was great. AC in the room was a bit noisy and the mattresses were a little stiff for my taste but overall it was a good experience and I would stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your review about your past stay with us during your trip to the area for Lazerfest! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us! We are very proud of our team and are glad our team stood out to you during your time with us! Hopefully next time you visit the area we will have better weather and you can explore downtown Ames! See you again soon!
1 night trip May 11, 2014
Jake
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very Friendly"
There were warm cookies when checked in! Very friendly, warm, and welcoming hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your five star review! We pride ourselves in having the best team in the area, and our team is glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Ames! We look forward to welcoming you back with fresh cookies again the next time you come to the area!
2 night family trip Apr 19, 2014
Carrie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Close to ISU"
We usually stay at the Microtel across the street for these quick trips to visit our college student. I usually stick with the cheaper hotels. This time we went for Easter, so we wanted a pool. We picked the Hampton Inn based on the pool, the price, and other reviews. It was okay. The beds are only doubles so they are a tight squeeze fitting two people. The Microtel has 2 queen size beds in their rooms. The Hampton rooms are really tight. They were clean and comfortable, just not very spacious. The pool was wonderful. There is not a hot tub, but the pool is a decent size. There is not an outside space with chairs, which was a shame. It was beautiful weather, but there wasn't anywhere to sit and talk outside. A patio space in back would have been perfect. The breakfast was not that great. The cold items like cereal, bagels, yogurt, etc was great. The hot food left alot to be desired. Everyone around us was saying the same thing too. The juice machine was broken, but there were a couple pitchers of OJ on the counter to make up for it. I wish the Microtel had a pool, because it was a better stay over there. We had a nice time at the Hampton Inn, but it is a bargain hotel in Ames. If you want a better stay, then you need to book a much more expensive hotel. For the price, it was a nice hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback about your time with us! We are always looking for ways to improve and we will use your feedback to better our Hampton! We look forward to welcoming you back soon so we can get your feedback on the many changes we have planned.
Other trip Apr 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very nice stay"
The Hotel was nice and was recently renovated. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the stay. The staff were very friendly and were always available to help or answer any questions.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our Hampton! Clean and friendly are the top two things we love to hear from you guests! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
1 night trip Mar 15, 2014
Paul
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Weekend in Ames"
Received a warm welcome, friendly staff, clean rooms
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for your five star review! Our team was very happy to hear your comments and we can't wait to welcome you back the next time you are in the area.
2 night trip Feb 7, 2014
Scott
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"*Everything we needed*"
For a two-night stay, this proved to be a good choice. Workout room and pool were appreciated, beds were comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful. And the front desk people were very helpful. This will probably be our new "go-to" place when staying in the fun city of Ames. And the price was reasonable. It also probably didn't hurt that the motel wasn't packed, but I think it would work for us if it was.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hampton Inn Ames
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Everything you mentioned in your review are the many things we love about being a Hampton Hotel! From our Clean and Fresh Could Nine Bed by Serta to our On The House Hot Breakfast (served from 6AM to 10AM Everyday!) we know you can get a good start to your day after staying with us! On behalf of our entire team in Ames, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to town.
2 night family trip Dec 26, 2013
Mike
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next >