All hotels in Washington, District of Columbia, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
1917 Bladensburg Rd Ne, Washington, DC, 20002, United States of America, ‏‎855-239-9222
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
3.8 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 206 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.2
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.2
  • Condition
    4.1
  • Neighborhood
    2.9
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Close to family members living in NE Wachington,DC"
Was pleased with the location closeby to where family lived that we were visiting on Thanksgiving, was able to get a last minute reservation at a reasonable price. Hotel was clean and comfortable and staff was cordial and professional.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Nov 28, 2013
Ramona Torres
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Comfortable and good value"
Only thing I was not aware was the $15 parking per day.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the review and for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We do apologize that you were not aware of the parking fee, we do make it as prominent as we can on a majority of websites. We are glad you received a great vaule and had a pleasant experience overall.
1 night trip Apr 24, 2014
Sam L.
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"met expectation"
The hotel was clean and the personnel were great and helpful and giving suggestion of services available to the community. It was also easy to get to. The pool water however was too cold.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel a good fit for your travel needs. We will share your comments regarding the pool temperature with maintenance so they can test it again for our guests.
2 night trip Apr 25, 2014
Fields
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Fine, met my needs for a short business trip"
Unfortunately, they were totally booked, so I wasn't able to check in to my room early. But, overall a pleasant stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We are very pleased that you had a nice time as our guests. We appreciate you selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your place to stay while in DC. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
1 night business trip Apr 24, 2014
SD
US
3.0 / 5Good
"You had to pay for parking each day your there $15"
They said a shuttle picked up every 15 minute and could pick you up that was a lie. We had to wait 2 hours for the janitor to pick us up in his car from union station. This is no lie. He was very nice thought. I had to use my phone GPS to get us back because he wasn't sure how to get back. They constantly ran out if towel in pool and workout area. They worked on company van right outside my room first night didn't get sleep and had to move rooms. But everyone was extremely nice!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review and for sharing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback . As you mentioned we were working on routine maintenance to the shuttle so it was not available for a short length of time. Please note, there is no mid day service for the shuttle, so depending on what time you were back, we may not have been running it which is why our employee gladly picked you up. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Thank you we appreciate you assisting our employee with navigation through the city streets, it is not always a one way in, same way out sometimes. Yes, there is a daily fee for parking at our hotel as with a majority of downtown hotels, malls and establishments.
Other trip Apr 26, 2014
i travel creque
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"close thing main location"
With the exception of the kids who were roaming the halls and slamming the doors throughout the night, it was a great place. I thought the room was nice and large. I would stay there again
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and will return for a future visit. We apologize for the disturbance, we do host groups during the busy tour and travel season and work closely with the chaperones and security to avoid too many distruptions for our guests. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
1 night trip Apr 5, 2014
James
US
3.0 / 5Good
The internet was down the whole first day which was very inconvenient. It hindered my ability to work and almost made me choose to leave the hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We fully understand the importance of having a good internet service and connection in order to work while away from the office. Unfortunately, this temporary outage was out of our control and we were in constant talks with the provider to return the service as quickly as possible. We greatly apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Thank you for staying at our hotel and please now this kind of interuption was not the norm for the hotel.
4 night business trip Mar 25, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
Was not happy with the area. Did not feel safe. Had to move to another hotel so we could walk around. Did not feel safe enough walking in the area.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your feedback. The downtown part of the city where we are continues to thrive and grow but like many heavily populated areas, the look of it doesn't match the people and great culture we are surrounded by. We are sorry to see you were inconvenienced in having to find another hotel and did not feel comfortable enough to stay due to our location. We understand we are not the ideal fit for everyone and appreciate you giving us a fair chance.
4 night trip Mar 11, 2014
Joann
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Nice solid hotel in a badly needing renewal area."
Very pleased with the room condition and facilities. The shuttle schedule was problematic and inadequate. We had to make our own arrangements for transportation, the last minute, to make it to a scheduled event. We found the front desk people friendly and helpful.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We appreciate the compliments for our staff and pleased to see that the guest room and facilites were a good fit for your needs. We are working on our shuttle service and recently increased the times we depart the hotel and pick up from the Metro. We will continue to work on our procedures and communications regarding this to better your next guest experience.
Other trip Mar 19, 2014
George
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Free Shuttle to Union Station kept changing departure and arrival times daily even after guests were already downtown, causing us to have to call numerous times for pick up. They had a sign up list, but did not look for the parties at the station, thereby left people behind who did not arrive at an altered time.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. The courtesy shuttle runs from 7am to noon, then again at 6, 7 and 8 pm and typically departs every 30 minutes (based on traffic that is subject to change). Please note the shuttle does not run mid day as we found our guests were in DC visiting the sites and the shuttle was not needed as much during those hours. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and will work on a solution to this matter.
6 night trip Mar 8, 2014
Mary
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Not a Fan...but..."
I am really not a fan of this hotel, but it meets the basic needs. My business is in Landover MD and the choice of hotels are few and far between. The service is text book - noting above an beyond. The neighborhood is not great if you want to enjoy the great city of Washington DC.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our hotel and customer satisfaction is very important to us. While we are glad that we met your needs from the accommodations side we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. If there is more we can do to better your experience next time, please let us know. Thank you again for your business.
4 night trip Mar 9, 2014
Sabina Zetrenne
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!"
There was a crime committed during our stay with a shootout right in the parking lot. This happened at 3:00 in the morning and the parking lot was closed off for well over 12 hours. It was difficult to get in our out. This is not a safe neighborhood. The shuttle only goes during limited times and only goes to the metro. Stay at a more convenient location. There is nothing but fast food around the hotel and nothing to walk to. The pool area didn't have towels without asking and was dirty. The walls must be very thin because you can hear EVERYTHING around you. Also, the maintenance were doing some sort of cleaning at 3:00 in the morning. It was a horrible stay!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Guests safety and comfort is very important to us. You did not get to see our wonderful customer service and for that we apologize. The alleged crime was not committed at our location, it was very unfortunate that it ended there after a chase, the vehicle crashed at our property. We understand the situation was frightening for our guests but the police handled it very well and proceeded with extreme caution and care. None of our guests were in harms way at any time. We cannot take back your experience but assure you and our guests what you experienced is seldom seen around us.
2 night trip Mar 14, 2014
Kathryn
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Nothing out of the ordinary"
Had a good time. No complaints other than I had to stay next door at the Fairfield because they didn't have the room I booked originally. It was no big deal. Overall a normal trip with no problems.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize once again for the inconvenience about moving you to our Fairfield Inn and really appreciate your understanding and cooperation. We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the different accommodations. Please come back and visit us the next time you are in DC.
Other trip Mar 12, 2014
pj
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Cheap Hotel in Washington DC"
Dee, a sales manager, was an amazing host to the hotel. Unfortunately, a few details were overlooked as far as our reservation, clean bedding, and dirty hallway carpeting. The breakfast was also ok. It seemed like hotel worker's families, from the neighborhood, were also there to eat as well. It was interesting because this became weird when trying to locate a table, but the kids who were eating hugged the hostess of the breakfast bar. I've had better quality food at other Holiday Inns. I don't know why because I would think their meal distributer would be the same.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for expressing your concerns. We appreciate the compliment for Dee, she is our newest team member and we are delighted to see her personally being recognized and will pass along the compliments to her . We take great pride in the hotel and cleanliness is very important to us. Due to the recent snow and ice melting, we've had a lot of water and salt on the carpets we are on the schedule to have that cleaned. We had some groups in house during your time with us causing our breakfast area to be a bit crowded. We apologize for lack of seating and are working on ways to improve this. Thank you again for taking the time to share your trip with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Other trip Feb 18, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"interesting stay"
overall the stay was good. however paying $15 a night for regular parking was ridiculous considering that there were no parking spaces at times due to the event that took place near the hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for taking the time to reach out and share your recent stay with us. We appreciate the review and feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience with the parking we are working with the hotel to come up with a fair and reasonable solution to ensure our registered guests have a place to park at all times. Please check back with us as we will have a new policy in place soon.
Other trip Jan 26, 2014
miss D
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great price compared to the other local hotels"
Initially, trying to check in at 2:30 (check in policy at 3) there wasn't a room available until 3 to 3:30 (3:30 was when a room was finally available) so we went swimming until the room was available. The second night, the maintenance was working on the sewage in the kitchen which the smell over-flowed into the rest of the main floor and tapered off up the floors, the smell was sufferable if we didn't go near our hotel door but stayed by the beds and TV. The hotel staff did a good job at evacuating the smell with floor fans by later that evening. The breakfast food on all the days was slim pickings by the time we got down at 9 (it was scheduled to go to 10). The room was clean and beds/pillows were comfortable. The staff was very helpful and kind. It seems that the owner needs to know that certain aspects of the hotel needs updating/fixing. The card key lock for the door to the pool never worked. Maintenance was attempting to fix it but we left before it every got fixed. The pool room itself was nice but the pool water was incredibly cold. The hot tub was nice (the first day) until they started draining the water. And we didn't know why it was so low until another hotel guest said that they were told that someone did "something" in it that caused them to have to drain it. It would've been nice to have a sign before my daughter and I climbed into it. The hot tub wouldn't even be an issue if the pool wasn't freezing.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for reaching out to us and share your review and feedback with us. While we cannot take back the experience you had we appreciate your patience with us and would like to apologize for the inconveniences you faced. We listen to all guests and take their comments seriously, we will use your feedback to work on future improvements for the hotel. We hope you will consider another stay with us in the near future to see what you experienced is not the norm for our hotel. Thank you again for being our guests.
2 night trip Jan 22, 2014
Mr Smith
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
A very friendly, professional staff. This will be my only choice in the DC area.a really good value.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the 5 star review! Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service in friendly, clean and comfortable environment for our guests. We are delighted to see we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to being your choice hotel when visiting Washington DC.
1 night business trip Jan 6, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Convenient location"
The hotel was conveniently located and was easy to find and use as a stopping point.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that our location was a perfect fit for your travel needs and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Washington DC.
1 night trip Jan 1, 2014
JA
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Bad"
Checking in they ask u for more money after u already paid
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your feedback. The only fee we would ask for at check in for our guests that book via a 3rd party, is the parking fee which is not payable through a 3rd party site. We would not ask for the room and tax unless it was determined that it was not pre paid.
Other trip Dec 30, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Washington trip"
Pleasant stay. Area is not the best.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 29, 2013
Rosie from FL
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Near my family event."
Very comfortable stay and four minutes from my family event. Love being close to departure highway. Unfortunately, because of time restrictions, I was not able to use the pool or hot tub. I will try on my next visit. My only complaint was the parking fee. Not sure why I was charged since there seemed to be plenty of parking. I think this should be clear at the time of reservation.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your kind words and review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you selecting our hotel as your place to stay. In the city, parking is hard to come by so unfortunately, all hotels charge for parking. We do our best to keep our fee low for our guests. It is listed on the website that parking is for a surcharge, we do understand the amount is not listed but we were unable to do so with the website restrictions. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit next time.
1 night trip Dec 15, 2013
William Cradle
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"pleasure"
Great
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
1 night trip Nov 29, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to Echostage"
I shows at Echostage and this hotel and the Fairfield Inn are closest, which I've also stayed at (besides the Days Inn, which I haven't stayed at). Overall, it's decent, especially if you are going to see a show. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the rooms are poorly insulated from noise and weather. It was high winds in the 30s the night I stayed, you could feel cold air coming from under the window HVAC unit. The next morning we could hear the next door guests making all sorts of noise. It was really irritating trying to sleep. Next time I'm staying at the Fairfield Inn which is 50 ft away and is apparently managed by the same company. I thought the rooms were better there and staff was more helpful. Also, don't call a cab if you're going to Echostage, it's a 1/4 mile walk even in the freezing cold wind. They blocked the hotel entrance on Bladensburg Ave so it turned out to be a $15 cab ride that wound up going all the way up NY Avenue and back. As other reviewers mentioned, there's no decent food around, just Fast Food and Pizza Delivery. McDonalds drive thru also stays open til 3 AM on the weekends, which we wound up walking through on the way back from the show.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your place to stay. We are a very convenient location to EchoStage and appreciate all guests that stay with us before and after events there. We certainly want our guests to have a very restful nights sleep and understand if the guest room was not a good fit for your needs. We appreciate all your feedback and will look into making some changes where we can in the near future. Thank you again for staying with us, we will see you at our sister hotel for the next show you attend.
1 night trip with friends Nov 23, 2013
Eric
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great hotel in the heart of DC"
The staff went above and beyond to accommodate my needs during the stay. The only downside was noisey club goers in the hall around 4am. I would return for my next stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the wonderful review and compliments for our staff. We are pleased to see that you had a great stay. We appreciate seeing that you will return, we look forward to seeing you again.
Other trip Nov 18, 2013
sysha
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Super Clean Comfortable Hotel"
This is an excellent hotel. It's not in a fancy section of town, but it is super clean, very quiet, and the staff were incredibly nice. It's a great value for your money.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We greatly appreciate the compliments for our staff and pleased to see you had a enjoyable time with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in DC.
Other trip Nov 17, 2013
K
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Excellent Choice"
It was one of the most relaxing hotels I've visited.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are pleased to see your time at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Washington DC NE was so relaxing. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
2 night trip Nov 1, 2013
Vincent
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Mother/Sons trip to Washington DC"
This was a beautiful hotel, very clean, excellent staff. However, it's location relative to points of interest was too far away. When I called the main Holiday Inn line, the person I spoke with indicated this hotel was located "minutes" from center city. The fact was that it was off track, and each taxi driver did not know how to get to hotel without looking at GPS. No nice restaurants or any place to go to within walking distance, except for fast food. Furthermore, I was vexed that considering so far away, the only shuttle options to center city 7 AM and 9 AM; and return trip only offered at 8 PM!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate you and your family being our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your compliments for the hotel, staff and services. The hotel is in an urban area about 10 minute drive from the city center and within 4 miles from all major attractions, not within walking distance to the city center. We apologize if that was misquoted and we will work on better communicating that to our guests. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope you consider us again for future visits to DC.
Other trip Nov 4, 2013
Mom of two boys
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Two nights on business in DC"
I paid in advance for two nights, non-refundable. I got friendly staff, a nice room hich was clean and comfortable and a little less than two miles from where my business was. I'm entirely satisfied.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC Northeast as your place to stay while on business. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave a positive review and share your trip with us. We are delighted to see that the location was a good fit for your travel needs and you enjoyed your time as our guest. We hope to be your first choice for accommodations the next time you are in DC.
Other trip Nov 3, 2013
Dominic
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Excellent customer service"
Overall, I was happy with my stay. The staff was very polite and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was great. I stayed in a room with very shear curtains that you could not close, so the light from a lamp post right outside my room made it very difficult to sleep as I am one who needs pretty much near darkness to sleep. I eventually just tied together two blankets and made a new curtain and hung it over the other one in order to get some rest. The only other thing is that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night trip Oct 20, 2013
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Room had a very musty odor. ( stale cigarette smoke?) . Not sure. Noisy neighbors- music playing ALL NIGHT LONG. Around 11pm, noisy neighbors decide to run up and down hallway, laughing and screaming. View from our room-tractor trailor parking lot. :(
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Oct 12, 2013
Maria
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hot tub, pool, & fitness room. Warm, & quiet."
It was nice having shuttle service. Saved a lot on cab fare.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased to see you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle to get back and forth from the hotel, we understand the cab fare can add up and were happy to accommodate our guests any time we can. We hope to see you again.
Other trip Oct 15, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Not bad, secure stay, but mediocre breakfast."
Everything was fine, but I was excited about much hyped breakfast which was on a poor side.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy breakfast. I'll follow up with the hotel to see if we changed vendors or what may have happened. Thank you for letting us know, we hope you consider staying with us again as this was not the norm for us at all.
Other trip Sep 28, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
Hotel was safe and the parking was good. Shuttle was conveinent and staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet was awesome. The pool was clean, and the hot tub was nice. Great stay overall. Would recommend.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the your review. We are delighted to see 5 stars from our guests as our goal is to always provide 100% guest satisfaction. Pleased to see our hotel, staff and services exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
1 night trip Sep 14, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"stay inside the hotel!"
I like the hotel but the neighborhood was not the greatest
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Like most downtown city hotels in a big populated area, some neighborhoods are more intimidating than others. We cannot change the location of the hotel but know that the area is growing and with each new year brings more economic and revitalization projects bringing new business, shops and restaurants opening all within a mile or less of our hotel. We hope that you return to the hotel again on future trips. Thank you again for the business.
1 night family trip Sep 6, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Convenient access to CUA , safe parking in city"
Great location for access to NE DC. Breakfast hot and ready!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to see our hotels location was a perfect fit for your needs. Thank you for being our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Other trip Aug 31, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Misleading Shuttle Service"
The hotel itself is very clean and friendly staff. However I booked this hotel because it said "complimentary shuttle service" but this shuttle service is very limited. It went every 45min from 7-10 to Union Station but would never go from Union to the hotel until 6pm and 8pm. Because the hotel is far away from downtown DC it cost a lot to take a taxi back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your feedback and review. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and any misinformation posted about the hours of the limited shuttle. Several websites did not allow me to put the full hours on the site due to limited character space. I assure you it was not done intentionally. I will look into this further and see if there is anything differently I can do to better list the hours. Also, our front desk team will be asked to communciate the schedule appropriately to avoid any further misunderstandings.
1 night trip Aug 20, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"a very convenient and satisfying place to stay"
It was really good the service was amazing and I love how there's a fitness room and swimming pool. And i like how it includes breakfast.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We are delighted to see that the hotel, staff and services were a great fit for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you all back again the next time you are in DC.
3 night family trip Aug 15, 2013
Enoch
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Everything is great until you have a problem"
Our first night, we were kept awake by noisy neighbors but by 11 they had left and we were able to sleep. At 4:30 we were awakened by loud music, cursing and door slamming. When we down to breakfast we said something to the front desk. The lady was very sympathetic, looked into our room and assured us that they were checking out today. We continued our day in town. After a long day on the town and a 10 hour drive ahead of us, we went to bed around 10. At 10:30 the loud music, swearing and door slamming started again. After 6 calls to the front desk, the security guards finally talked to them. They ignored it and we called back 15 minutes later. We were told there was a 1 warning policy and they would make sure they left. By the time the security guards came up to dismiss them, they were gone. The manager was rude, dismissive and almost irritated that we were coming to her with a complaint. She had terrible customer service, no empathy and treated us unfairly, especially after a long night of no sleep. It's too bad because the rest of the hotel was wonderful!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for sharing your trip with us. It is never easy to see that guests were left with a negative experience due to the actions of other patrons staying with us. While we were able to remedy the situation quickly, it still left you with a restless night. I appreciate you alerting the front desk and sharing your concerns with the manager, I hope you can accept my apologies that any member of our staff was anything less than 100% professional with you. We appreciate your business, we hope you will consider us for a future stay despite this unfortunate one time experience.
Other trip Aug 22, 2013
Jodi
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Very nice comfortable hotel"
Loved the hotel. Nice breakfast bar. Did not know about dinner Mon-Thurs. Liked shuttle to Union station. All the amenities you would expect from this type of hotel.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We are delighted to see that our hotel, services and amenities exceeded your expectations. The summer dinner promotion ends September 1st, we are glad our guests enjoyed it and hope to bring it back next year. Thank you again for your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 night trip Aug 10, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Mediocre"
Took forever to check in - lady at desk and two managers were too busy running reports to help me. Pool was out of order during our stay - specifically booked a hotel with a pool - 10 year old daughter very disappointed. Check out took forever as well - same desk lady couldn't handle the desk, phones, printer problems, etc. When I complained about the service and the pool, parking fee was refunded. Area around hotel is not ideal - busy road and lower end surroundings. No major restaurants other than fast food.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide exceptional service for every guest and we apologize we fell short on that goal with you. What you experienced is not up to the high standards of customer service that we strive to acheive everyday. Thank you for expressing your concerns, we will look into this right away with the manager and provide additional training to our front desk team members. We welcome the opportunity to have you return again so we can show you this was a one time occurence.
1 night trip Aug 12, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Wonderful staff!"
The staff at this hotel were excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll pass along the compliments to our team members. Glad you had a great stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Other trip Aug 4, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Exceptional Staff!"
We were quite pleased with the room - it was what we were expecting. The staff however was the exception! They went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. My family and I were quite impressed with the care they provided!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, thank you for being our guests. We greatly appreciate the compliments and delighted to see that our staff was able to make your stay perfect! We will certainly pass along the remarks to the team. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Washington DC area.
2 night trip Jun 28, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Passable hotel near Venue"
Hotel is in a very sketchy area of town, Fridge didnt work, shuttle service is pointless as is hardly ever runs. They charge $15 a night for parking in their zero-security lot. The "breakfast" is horrible, I would reccomend eating your foot before eating the "food" The room itself was ok, I found the beds to be somewhat uncomfortable and smelled faintly of BO, the ac went in and out, and the room upon first arrival smelled like a partially dissipated fart.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
We appreciate your business while in town. Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your visit, I assure you what you experienced is not up to the high standards we strive to uphold everyday. We cannot take back the experience you had, we can only apologize that we did not provide a pleasant stay and move forward.
Other trip Jun 24, 2013
Person w/ face
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great stay"
Clean hotel nice rooms good service
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to see you had a great stay. Thank you for the compliments on the service and cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
1 night trip Jun 1, 2013
Donta
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"great hotel"
spacious room, great location, very close to white house and other tourist site seeings (15 mins car ride) the staffs are very friendly. It was a good value and my family enjoyed the stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Dear Guest; Thank you for the 4 star review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Other trip May 29, 2013
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Hotel was very good - clean, excellent breakfast. Staff, especially shuttle drivers, were very polite and helpful. We called a cab and it never came in more than 30 min. Then, the shuttle driver dropped us at US Capital - it was on his way to do something else. The only problem is that the hotel shuttle picks up and drops people at certain times at Union Station. The description of the hotel on this website states nothing about this restriction - we chose the hotel especially for the shuttle service and were surprised to find out its limited operating hours. Please, list 100 percent correct info; otherwise, it is misleading and not fair.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us . We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel, staff, and services to be a great fit for you. We appreciate you mentioning the shuttle service and I'd like to apologize if the information on our website was misleading in any way, I assure you that was not our intent. We were very limited with what we can display because of the space alloted to us depending on the website. I had to list it as limited service times or please see front desk for times. The shuttle makes several trips a day at pre determined times and we convey that at check in. Thank you again for your time and your business. We look forward to seeing you again.
1 night trip May 17, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice Hotel situated nicely"
This Holiday Inn had a friendly, informative staff and they were quick to respond to questions, etc. The shuttle was very convenient to take downtown D.C. (Union Station).
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased to see that our staff treated you well and you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle to and from Union Station. Thank you again for the wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visting Washington DC.
Other trip May 16, 2013
Rick
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Pool,Breakfast,Convenient Shuttle Service"
We enjoyed staying at this hotel. It fit our budget, our family requirements (pool,breakfast) and was clean & comfortable. The front desk & all staff were kind and helpful. The free shuttle service was a wonderful bonus. At check-in, you "Must" Log-In for Scheduled Shuttle Service for each day of stay if needed. We travelled to Union Station daily & were picked up each evening after a day of sight seeing. Something that may be of concern to some is "location", an older section of D.C. There is a Police Station one block from hotel and on occasion Police sirens would sound. However,our young child found this quite exciting. Having said this, we always felt safe inside the hotel and never had any problems or concerns. We would stay again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
We'd like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review and your business. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable stay in a friendly and safe enviroment and I am pleased to see we met that goal and exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your family visit to Washington DC and look forward to having you as our guests again. Thank you for again for the wonderful 5 star review!
4 night family trip Mar 29, 2013
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Iffy neighborhood"
Neighborhood not ideal. Staff was very, very nice. Shuttle to Metro reliable but limited runs. Room average, complimentary breakfast very good. Next time I will pay a bit more to be right by the Metro.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments for our staff, service, reliability of the shuttle and breakfast. While we were not the ideal location for you because of the distance to the Metro, we greatly appreciate the business and thank you again for choosing our hotel as your place to stay while visiting Washington DC.
3 night trip Apr 17, 2013
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"I'll be back"
The staff is excellent - I really enjoyed my stay - they were incredibly friendly and helpful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday Inn Express Washington DC Northeast
Thank you very much for the great 5 star review. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and helpful. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and please come back and see us again when you return to Washington DC.
2 night trip Apr 16, 2013
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews