All hotels in Berkeley, California, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA, 94705, United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.0 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 425 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.3
  • Service
    4.2
  • Comfort
    3.9
  • Condition
    3.9
  • Neighborhood
    4.4
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 9
  • Next >
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"So good."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Oh so lovely. Lucky me -- was upgraded to a suite. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy it. Great experience.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jun 24, 2015
christine
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Recent 5 night stay at the Claremont Hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
My husband and I stayed for five nights at the beautiful & historical Claremont and that alone, was a treat! The rooms were somewhat outdated and needed some fix-up,( i.e.: broken shutter, chipped paint, old bathtub, too hot of water that couldn't be adjusted), but were clean & comfortable. The view, and surrounding neighborhood was lovely, walkable to nearby stores/restaurants. They are known for their tennis & swim club, and spa which is a private club to any paying local resident-if you don't play tennis or swim laps a lot-you get charged a usage fee that you don't use. We did not use the facilities once, but the relaxing surroundings, porches and restaurants make up for it. Very nice! The staff all around is lovely and very friendly. Maid service was excellent! Our only complaint was the taxi service. We requested a taxi to the ferry for SF and were put into a limo service that's contracted by the hotel and it was $59 to go a few miles. They claimed you couldn't get a taxi, not true! VERY high! We called the taxi service ourselves when we left for the airport and it was only $42 several miles. All in all-we had a lovely stay, just remember if you don't have a rental (overnight parking is very expensive!) to call your own taxi or you'll automatically get the limo service. The hotel front desk graciously handled our complaint and took care of the miscommunication with the limo service.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night romance trip Jun 17, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Classic, Picturesque Hotel (needs new elevators)"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Classic, old school hotel with picturesque outdoor pool and hot tub. Wait staff is first-rate, but of the elevators (only three in a very expansive hotel), one was permanently disabled, the other two iffy over a three-day stay. The elevators malfunctioned then were shut down repeatedly. Classic setting close to UC-Berkeley and just 20 min. from SF if no traffic
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip Jun 17, 2015
Richard A
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Everything I needed"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Stayed here overnight on the way home from a campus tour trip with my son. I wanted a place that was convenient to the airport, had a reliable shuttle, a decent gym, a good breakfast, and a comfy bed. Check marks for all categories. For my departure time the shuttles ran every 15 mins and it was there on the hour. The breakfast restaurant had a good menu or buffet choice, and the service was friendly and prompt. The room was clean and the bed was comfy (not sure if they use the real Heavenly beds though?). I would stay there again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jun 9, 2015
Roy
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Professor"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Very comfort room at 7th floor,it is much better at 3rd floor at the first night.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jun 1, 2015
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"bad location. overpriced. renovations in progress."
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    1.0
This hotel looks grand from afar, and even walking in it looks nice on the surface. But beware the current renovations - they are polluting the air and the rooms stink like crazy. But they still put you in them and charge you full fare. The spa is removed from the property, the locker room was dirtier than the mediocre Chicago gym that I belong to, and this hotel is a HIKE from anything else you might want to go to in Berkeley. The only good views are likely from the very top and most expensive rooms or from the balcony of their overpriced restaurant. I travel a lot and like to stay in nice hotels/resorts. This one is absolutely not worth the money.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip May 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Relaxing stay in the East Bay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Superb. A grand old hotel in the style of the early 1900's. I was here on business in San Francisco but felt like I was on vacation.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip May 27, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Not enough value for the rate"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Expensive for the level if service and condition of the facilities. Not a good value at the price paid for.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip May 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Iconic building in great location."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Great location. Furnishings seem tired and in need of replacement. Excellent location in the Berkley. Being a resort they charge an extra daily fee and also charge for parking.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night romance trip Apr 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Beautiful place but a few put falls"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The hotel has a lot of charm and is beautiful. The window was broken in my room (last time I was there I had the same problem). I asked for it to be fixed, but they did not fix it after I was told it would be. Food is good, but really slow service.... A lot of staff chatting behind the bar as I stood there waiting to place an order.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip May 18, 2015
Laurie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Luxury"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
We were there for our daughter's graduation. The hotel and staff were amazing.. The food was delicious -expensive though. I would improve with better pillows we all woke up with stiff necks.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip May 20, 2015
Kathryn
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Extra fees enough to sour this traveler."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The room was very small for the price. When we arrived the front desk was very courteous and friendly including the valet, bell service, and receptionist. I wasn't happy with $30 parking per day. When the people next door arrived it was obvious that the old poorly fitting door was no enough to keep in their secrets. We heard every word. We had to call for a robe and housekeeping was there promptly.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip May 17, 2015
Robert
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Graduation"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Beds were not good
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip May 14, 2015
George
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"walk a mile but worth it!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
it was fine. nice view.my room was a very long trek from elevators
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip May 5, 2015
John
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Service not up to par for this class of hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
I've stayed at the Claremont many times over the years and the service seems to have gone way downhill in recent years. The staff was rude, the light and the sink in my room were broken, and the pillows on the bed were old, smelly, and flat.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip May 7, 2015
Jennifer
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Lovely family vacation spot."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Had a great time; only an hour from Napa vineyards and the French Laundry. Old style but very comfortable.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night family trip May 1, 2015
Juliana
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Lovely hotel - best in Oakland/Berkeley"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Room could have been more comfortable but grounds and amenities are excellent.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip May 1, 2015
Cherrie
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great, but a little less than great....."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
We were getting away for or anniversary and wanted somewhere special, so we booked a room at the Claremont. The hotel is elegant and offers a nice range of amenities including a wonderful full service spa and dining options. We had dinner at the Meritage which was lovely with a full view of San Francisco city lights and Bay Bridge views. The food and service were excellent! Our room was clean, but there were maintenance issues when we arrived in our room. We called the front desk and they immediately sent a maintenance person to correct the issue. While promptness was appreciated, we were also in the middle of getting ready for dinner. Although the room was a "deluxe king with hillside views", we were disappointed that the room was more of a function business style unit with bed, desk, and TV. There wasn't a living room area to relax in. The "hillside view" overlooked the utility and parking area behind the hotel. Our sap experience was wonderful. duet massage with access to the steam room, deluge shower, whirlpool, and sauna. Overall the experience was good, but very spendy.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Apr 25, 2015
Jennifer
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Not Worth the High Rates"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The staff was very helpful and the room was clean but dated, including a shortage of convenient outlets to plug our electronics into. We would never have paid this resort's high room rates but the weekend we were there was Cal Day and most all other hotels were booked solid. Definitely not worth the high rates.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Apr 18, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Lovely!"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
My family loved our stay in this hotel. The grounds and hotel is absolutely beautiful. Exceptionally friendly staff and food was amazing.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Apr 16, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Fix up your hotel!"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I was put in a very old room that needed repairs, paint and the bathroom was accommodated poorly. The Claremont is such a landmark in the Bay Area ~ yet it was like a National Park Lodge. Gorgeous from the outside, somewhat shabby on the inside.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us about your experience. It is wonderful to know that some aspects of your time here were appreciated, including our location. However, we regret if your entire encounter at our hotel was not all you had hoped for. Our historic property dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush and we strive to maintain our classic elegance in all areas. Your comments have been shared with our management team. We hope you will consider another stay.
Other trip Apr 4, 2015
Elaine
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The room was lovely and everything we needed was provided. Doorman recommended that we ask for a bay view and we were given one.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
A room with a view can be a lovely surprise. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and found all of the amenities and services to make your stay complete. We hope to see you again!
Other trip Apr 1, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice place, disappointing plumbing"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Multiple requests to get showers fixed and drains cleared were only marginally successful. Otherwise, great location, nice grounds, and surprisingly affordable with Expedia based rates.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly happy to know you appreciated our location and property here but we must apologize if you encountered any issues with your guest room bath. This is not the type of encounter we would hope for any of our guests and want you to know that our maintenance team will actively seek a resolution. We hope you will stay with us again for a fully satisfying stay.
Other trip Apr 1, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We booked a last minute overnight trip to take advantage of the kids' pools. We got a great rate through Expedia. We were also able to be upgraded when we checked in so we stayed in a recently renovated room that is considered a junior suite. The suite can accommodate a roll away bed plus has a pull out couch so our kids (ages 5 and 7) did not have to share. If we had not been upgraded it would have been MUCH less comfortable for 4 of us in the same room, but we were mainly there to spend the day at the pool. The pool and kids' club are great (you get 3 hours of kids' club activities as part of your stay and my daughter enjoyed the cooking class). The staff was great. We did not realize until we got to the pool that the pool is shared use for local members of the Claremont fitness/tennis club so it was more crowded than we were expecting.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
We are happy enjoyed your overall stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. All of our accommodations vary in size and décor and it sounds like your upgrade was the perfect fit for your family. We feature an aquatic center with a 25-yard heated lap pool, a recreational swimming pool, children’s activity pool and more! It is great that your children were able to make good use of our many activities as part of the stay too. We hope you have the opportunity to come back again. Thank you for sharing your time with us.
Other trip Mar 30, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Classic hotel in need of investment."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Classic hotel. Large spacious rooms and bathrooms, great facilities, but rooms are tired and dated and need to be redone. Could be absolutely 5 star with upgrades.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Positive or otherwise, we appreciate hearing from all of our guests. While it is great to know you enjoyed the classic qualities of our historic hotel, we couldn’t be more disappointed that you were not fully impressed in all ways. Please know that we will take this opportunity to review your feedback with our management team. Thank you for your time.
Other trip Mar 25, 2015
JMac
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Bathroom needed deep cleaning and upgrade. Shower floor dis colored and looked dirty
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Thank you for sharing valuable feedback about your stay with us. We are truly disappointed that we were not aware of the concerns you have shared here during your visit, when it would have mattered the most. Please know our housekeeping associates have been alerted. It is our hope that you will visit us again for a better experience.
Other trip Mar 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Amazing health club.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Mar 15, 2015
Abraham
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Best in the Edt Bay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
The Claremont is the best hotel in the Oakland/Berkeley area. Spa and fitness center are top rate, and common areas are attractive.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Mar 18, 2015
Cherrie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Beautiful hotel and excellent spa facility"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Very relaxing close to great restaurants nearby. The spa is the best part of the hotel
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Our Spa has been named as one of the best of its kind in the country by Vogue, Elle and Shape Magazines for good reason! We are glad you enjoyed it as well as the beauty of our resort and location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa.
Other trip Mar 21, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Fabulous spa, pool, fitness, tennis"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Aménités lacking: cut corners Parking co not nice for guests Room service fair Not enough phone operators
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
We appreciate you sharing your experience and although we are glad you found our Spa and Club facilities to be so fabulous, we never like to read when a guest feels their expectations weren't met in all ways. Please know that we will share your comments with our team. We hope you will visit us again.
Other trip Mar 20, 2015
no
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
I stayed at this hotel because it was hosting the business training I was attending. Dinner was served. The food was great and the staff were VERY attentive.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Business events at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa are often the way some of our most devoted leisure guests come to first learn about all that we have to offer! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and found both your dining experience as well as our service to be so memorable. We hope you have the chance to join us again.
Other trip Mar 19, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"A nice place, but we got the room no one."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
A very nice hotel we went for a work training at the berkely campus. Room was clean and that's all that was enjoyable. The room for over $300 we got an awkward placed room that was on the smaller side. Again room was nice and clean with a wonderful view of the bay but would only pay $150 for the room and no more (including the taxes and parking pass). But also our room was across from the employee service doors. So at random points of the night doors opening and closing would wake us up. Also a small thing but was worried about the people around us and floor beneath, the floors are squeaky with every tip toe step. That is our experience, can't say that it's like that for everyone, we just happen to get that one room out of all of them.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Mar 12, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"quiet,relaxing resort hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
every body was nice and courteous.Especially the concierge Jennifer was very friendly and helpful!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
We always want our guests to experience the best service possible! Our associates at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa will be delighted they left you with a positive impression. We hope you have the chance to come back for another relaxing stay soon. Thank you so much for your feedback.
Other trip Mar 12, 2015
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"It looks pretty, but . . ."
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    1.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
After my third bad experience at the Claremont, I thought I would write a review. The rooms are cramped and out of date, hallway noise always transmits into the room, the AC doesn't work, and the staff are never helpful. Also, the spa is falling apart and the steam room is perpetually "closed for repair." What made this particular stay even worse is that our room was directly above their loading docks and all night long truck noise and heavy machinery noise thundered into the room. We couldn't sleep at all. I asked to be moved and they said they had no other rooms. In the morning, I complained and asked for some compensation for this horrible experience and they just shrugged. Why do we keep staying here? Convenience. But this will be the last time.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night romance trip Mar 4, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
disappointed with the room. The bed was uncomfortable. I expected down blankets in this hotel but there wasn't.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
While we are glad you enjoyed our public areas, it is regrettable if your guest room amenities fell short of your expectations. We value your comments and will share them with our management team. It is our hope that you will consider another stay in the future. Thank you.
Other trip Mar 5, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Amazing staff"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The people here were amazing and offered the best hospitality possible. An efficient and friendly front desk made me feel right at home and the bartender made the best mojito I have had in a long time. Unfortunately, I only stayed one night, but next time I hope to spend multiple nights to spend some time at the spa.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
It’s always our desire at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to provide exceptional service, great accommodations and top amenities to make our guests’ stay great, and we’re thrilled that your time at our hotel did not disappoint. There is nothing quite like the perfect mojito! We hope you have the opportunity to visit us for a longer stay next time. Thank you for your review.
Other trip Feb 24, 2015
James
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Lovely property, could use an update"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Lovely property, fabulous common areas, lobby, restaurant, bar and pool. The carpets and furniture could use an update, but over a lovely stay at a fabulous hotel.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
We are so glad you had such a nice stay with us and enjoyed our public areas including our Lobby, restaurants and pool. Our historic property pays tribute to a time gone by with our furnishings and décor but we do apologize if you found any area not at its best. We will share your comments with our management team. We hope to see you again.
Other trip Feb 21, 2015
Carrie
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Bellman and lady who checked us in were terrific."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The price from Expedia was immediately grossed up with fees and surcharges, which was offputting, but upon arrival, our desk clerk upgraded us to a bigger room which more than compensated for the problem of higher fee. Net, net, the higher cost than posted originally on Expedia was worth the room provided by the wise woman who checked us in.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! Thank you for allowing us to make your time even better with the upgrade. While we can’t speak for third-party reservations, we regret if there was any confusion over any of our charges. It is never our intent for our guests to feel misled. Our associates are always happy to help in any way they can and we will share your kind words with our associates. We will be sure to share your concerns about your guest bath with our maintenance team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again for another stay with us.
Other trip Feb 18, 2015
Linda
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice hotel outrageous parking cost"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The cost for hotel parking was unacceptable. I will not return for this reason.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Feb 4, 2015
Dona
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Old lady and quite the Lady she was."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We were in Oakland to visit our son who abruptly left NYC to start a new career in the food industry. We have friends and relatives in the area near Oakland so we went for Christmas. We had a ball and enjoyed our stay and will repeat again soon.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
A trip to Berkeley to visit your son sounds like the perfect way to get to know the area. We are so happy you chose to stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and enjoyed it so much that you plan to return. Our historic hotel is nearly 100 years old and our décor pays tribute to our charming past. Traveling throughout the area, and beyond from our central location is always appreciated. We will be happy to welcome you back for your next visit.
Other trip Feb 9, 2015
Mihcael
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
It was ok. For $230 a night, I expected more. But I guess the price reflects the Claremont's "mythology", not necessarily their maintenance standard of a room. Overall, it was ok since I only spent one night to attend a training.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Thank you for your candor. We are happy to know you enjoyed the service provided by our associates during your one night stay. Your view of our property is very important to us and if there is ever any issue with a guest room, our team is always available. We will let our maintenance team know about the matters you have shared here. It is our hope that you will stay with us again.
Other trip Feb 7, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"A bit disappointed........"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
An iconic hotel in need of the facelift it apparently getting. Our stay was impacted by the constant sound of jack hammering in the pool area. We'll be back after the renovation.........
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Feb 3, 2015
Steven
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Best Birthday!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Amazing. Being locals and driven by many times, we went to celebrate a birthday. Just amazing!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night family trip Jan 30, 2015
Mark
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Our room was small, but comfortable. View of the air conditioning system, but we were just there for one night and didn't really matter.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Thank you for sharing your overnight experience with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are so appreciative of your praise for our property and common areas. Each of our guest rooms is unique with different views but we do regret if you were disappointed. We hope the next time you have the chance to stay to enjoy even more.
Other trip Feb 3, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Perfect stay"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I stayed here with my parents when they come to visit me. We've stayed in Shattuck Hotel and Marina double tree before, though Claremont is a bit far from Berkeley campus, it's definitely the best hotel in Berkeley. The hotel is a little old, but all the amenities and services are perfect. They have good French restaurant, spa, fitness center and swimming pool. I would definitely recommend it if you want a better experience.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
5 night family trip Jan 25, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Still best for UC visit"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Rooms need to be remodeled and updated old-old-..............
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
We are so glad you find The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa the best place to stay when visiting UC Berkeley. We strive to maintain the historic quality of our property in all areas and it is wonderful to know that you enjoy our public areas. It is disappointing if you encountered any issues in your guest room, however. We will share your comments with our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Other trip Jan 31, 2015
Jim
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Poor service at a beautiful hotel."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
I have never received such poor service at a four-star hotel. I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday. We got into our room at 10:45 p.m., at which point I called down to ask for two champagne flutes to be brought up (I had my own bubbles). This was too monumental a request: guest services expressed doubt and said that they would have to check with room service, needlessly informed me that there would be a "three dollar charge" (classy), then called back to tell me they couldn't help, but I could go down to the bar and get the glasses myself if I really wanted them. To me this is ridiculous. I know we aren't in Vegas, but this is an expensive hotel and it is not like it was three in the morning when I made this simple request. The hotel is beautiful, but guest services needs to get its priorities straight.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 22, 2015
John
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"business stay"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
business stay
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Jan 20, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Berkeley"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
It was lovely. The staff at the hotel is amazing.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jan 15, 2015
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Spend your money at another place"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
very disappointed.The girl at check in was not very welcoming, then she gave us a very small room, the windows were blocked out and we were next to the service elevator. Forget trying to relax in your room. The spa had several non functioning showers in both the men and women's sides. Based on our room definitely didn't feel like we were in a nice place.The amenities close early so that was out also. We were going to book a room on our return to the city but decided against it. I love old hotels but this was a real let down. Not a deal. The girl at checkout was very nice but by then its to late.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night romance trip Jan 3, 2015
Deborah
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 9
  • Next >