Service was really, really good. All folks in hotel were very friendly and attentive - spa, front desk, bellhop, housekeeping, fitness center, etc. It was notable for me and I travel a fair amount. Hotel is really unique - historic but updated - a bit funky but fun.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
They made us wait 30 minutes at check-in claiming Expedia cancelled our reservation. Not a great way to start a stay. We were given free parking as compensation for the hassle but our room smelled musty, rain leaked from the ceiling, and the furnace in the closet was loud. There were no bathrobes in our room and the windows wouldn't close.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Much too expensive for what you normally actually get and use in room, service and location but they don't have much competition. Quieter than the downtown options. "Venerable."Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good looks but not comfortable"
The hotel has a great view. The club is nice. But that's about all. Charge 26 resort fee and 30 per day for parking, but the spa is really just some shower and jacuzzi, not even as good as some gym. The room is really not so good, not very clean and shower head is leaking. Food is expensive and greesy even for the sala. Spend more than 700 for 2 nights. […] Not worth it. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The Claremont Hotel is a lovely property that is well kept and really pretty inside and out. The room I was given, however, was such a contrast to the rest of the hotel. It was extremely small with an outdated bathroom, a cheap and older hair dryer and clock, no bathrobe, bad t.v. connection and the room was located next to the maintenance room which […] was loud throughout the night. I couldn't help but think that the money I saved by using hotels.com was taken into account by the front desk and I was given a room of a lower standard. I can get a much more updated, larger, well appointed room elsewhere for the $300 per night I paid to stay there. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The Spa was fantastic. The restaurants were great. The room was awesome!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Very nice staff....rooms seemed a little out dated but clean. I liked the area a lot and wish we would have had more time to explore. Would have been nice if they had a shuttle to Airport and Bart.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Rooms are old and worn"
Beautiful hotel and setting, but rooms are old and worn and in major need of updating, to the point of being shabby. I travel at least 5 nights a month for work, and this was one of the worst rooms I've stayed in for quite a while. Also, the hotel does not provide any transportation to the Bart station, to campus, or anywhere else. You have to wait […] for a cab to take you anywhere and it is really too far to walk and a long wait for a cab. Overall, I was disappointed with this hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"a night at the claremont...best plan every"
the claremont hotel accommodations where perfect. despite a small check in mix up (i guess the hoteldotcom reservation isn't housed with other reservations and they couldn't figure out my name for about 15 minutes), i was able to get into the spa for a lovely soak and steam before they closed at 5pm. the room was relatively large with beautiful view […] of the Bay. the room had a great bar area, which made opening my wine easy. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Worth it for the pool and gym"
The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The room was good but not great. The furniture is a bit dated, but it's an old hotel in general.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Gem with beautiful view at good price"
great place to stay with a large group of friends - price is terrific and rooms are comfie, with terrific views... wish the bar stayed open on a Saturday night past midnight, however!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"6OTH WEEDING ANNIVERSAY CELEBRATION"
MADE THIS RESERVATION AT THE REQUEST OF MY FATHER TO SURPRISE MY MOTHER TO CELEBRATE THEIR 6OTH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY. HE TOLD ME THAT ROOM, SERVICE AND EXTRA CARE SHOWN THEM WAS OUTSTANDING AND MADE FOR A MEMORABLE STAYGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great old place. Needs a buffing.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Great service and nice getawayGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Overpriced and Overrated"
When we walked into our room, we were stunned at how small and basic it was compared to all the pictures. Moreover, simple amenities like a fridge were nonexistent, and both sides of the bed did not even have a nightstand, The TV was perhaps a first-generation flat-screen, with grainy, pixelated images and words. And the room itself did not have any […] grounded electricity outlets to plug in, say, a laptop. That had to be done in the bathroom. Finally, the hotel charges $30 to park overnight and another $26 for access to "amenities," such as the steam room, whether you want to use those facilities or not. Clearly, they do not know the definition of "amenities." Overall, I would suggest that others save their money and stay somewhere that the brand and prestige are not part of the price tag, which is far too high for what is offered. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel overall is beautiful with nice amenities. The higher end rooms are quite lovely and almost regal. The regular rooms are much simpler but nice, not incredibly spacious but not cramped either. The bed was comfortable, the restroom was spacious and clean. I enjoy staying here especially when I have time to enjoy the full grounds and amenitie […] s. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
I enjoyed my stay very much. An item in the room was dirty when I entered the room. I called the Front desk, and it was taken care of by the time I returned from dinner, and hour later, just as I had asked. Beautiful design and quality of hotel; quiet with nice view if you take the bay view option. Front desk staff were excellent. Other staff I met […] in passing were professional, and kind. Please note that only booked here because of a Hotels.com discount that brought the price down to a a few hundred dollars. For me, after 3 weeks of hiking, it was a really nice treat. Nothing like waking up to the soft finish of the sunrise in a comfortable bed in a very nice room. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great experience -- highly recommended"
I did not partake in the amenities of the location -- we were there because of the great deal, and needed a place to stay in the middle of moving from one house to another, so we weren't on vacation! Everything was wonderful. The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was smallish but very nice. Water pressure was pretty incredible, perhaps the strongest […] I've ever experienced. The only tiny thing that was an annoyance was the door: Because the floor of the hotel has clearly "Settled" a little since it was built, the bottom of the door had to be angled to swing open properly, but it left a 2-3 inch gap between the floor and the bottom of the door. We put a rolled-up towel down, and it was fine. I don't think all the rooms have this problem. I would definitely stay again! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
This was one of my best hotel stays ever. From the moment we arrived, everything was taken care of. I was surprised pleasantly that the Bellman took my name and passed it to the front desk for expedited check in! Restaurant was casual yet excellent cuisine. A very romantic spot with wonderful view of the Oakland harbor lights. The room was quiet and […] spacious and well appointed. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
This is a very old building that has beautiful architecture but would benefit from a renovation. The fixtures in our bathroom were inadequate. We were booked for a room with a king sized bed and ended up in one with 2 doubles. The hotel staff is wonderful and helpful. Dining prices were very expensive, especially compared to local restaurants.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
great hotel. old rooms.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A wonderful experience"
We had a wonderful time and the staff made it even more enjoyable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Staff won't help with reservation adjustment AT ALL since it was booked through expedia. They were very curt about it and obviously have a beef with the fact that I used expedia. They made it difficult for the expedia service reps over the phone as well. Also, totally separately, our friends mentioned the staff at the front desk were rude to them too. […] So I think it's a regular occurrence. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We regret that the experience of your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Every guest that walks through our door, regardless of the method used to make their reservation, is very much a special guest at our hotel and we were truly disappointed to learn you did not feel this way. While we cannot address any third party reservations in this forum, please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience. We hope that you will return someday and allow us to show you that your comfort and satisfaction are what we are all about.
"Leisure @ the Claremont."
David @ the Paragon bar was very accommodating. Treated my daughter well while we celebrated her 21st B-day. Nice facility. We'll be back.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel is historic, stately, immaculate, and elegant. We were not, however, provided the king bed we requested (the excuse given was that when reservations are made through third parties [Expedia in our case], the request takes second place to other guest requests). We were placed in a room with a queen bed near the elevators. Hence we heard elevator […] noise and air conditioners going on and off all night disrupting our sleep. Having said all that, I will continue to stay at the Claremont whenever in the area. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad you have appreciated the elegance and history of our hotel during your stay with us. It is a concern, however, that you were not pleased with your recent guest room accommodations. It would be out of place for us to discuss any third party bookings but we truly regret any inconvenience you may have encountered. Your comfort is always important to us and we are happy to honor all requests when we are able to do so. We look forward to welcoming you again.
"Beautiful property, great pool"
Daughter was at UC Berkley. The hotel was conveinently located close to campus, shops, and restaurants. I will stay here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
"High on the hill"
Beautiful hotel. quiet surroundings, tennis players hideaway (remembering for next time). Rooms are super clean, great beds. If you are using public transportation - be aware the Rockridge BART station is an easy walk from the hotel. However, coming back at the end of a long day - it's an uphill slog. Parking is $30 a day for those who are driving. […] Good spot. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Very outdated bathroom. Super loud air-conditioner. Old room. Needs overhaul.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We regret that your encounter at our historic hotel was not as positive as we would hope for and apologize for any inconvenience you encountered in your guest room. We will share your suggestions with our management team. It is our hope that you will consider another stay.
"Did not get the room that I paid for..."
I booked the "Elite Room" and what we got was the accessibility room. The hotel told me that happens when you book through the 3rd party. Really?! Although old, this hotel definitely has the high class atmosphere which I enjoyed, but the room had an awful view of the roof + parking and it was really not a pleasant room. The dinner was over priced and […] the kids pasta was the worst pasta I have had in my entire life. The pool was heated and the kids loved it. Overall, I'll give it 3/5. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Tiny room with fleas"
The hotel is beautiful and we love going to the restaurant and spa. However, the rooms are small and dated. We booked through hotels.com a standard room with two double beds. We arrive, they said they only had a king bed. Took the room with looked like a maids room which would barely fit a king bed. Window was a sliver looking at a roof. Then we discovered […] fleas crawling on my 2 year old daughter. We we reported it they said they were aware that they had that problem. BUT THEN MOVED US TO AN EVEN SMALLER ROOM - A DOWNGRADE. After complaining to the manager, we were moved again. This time to a normal sized standard room overlooking parking lot with nice fake leather chairs. I would not recommend staying in this hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
fell in love in my hometown... a great experience. Hotel staff helped me deal with expedia and thier issues with a change of schedule that I wouldn't have expected them to deal with. It took time but I got what I wanted and was happy!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I would definitely staff there again. Beautiful hotel and an excellent experience.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is so great to read that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. The beauty of our property is a reflection of our dedication to providing luxurious and comforting accommodations for our guests and we are so glad it shows. We hope you will come to visit us again soon.
"Worst rooms in the hotel!"
Again with booking Expedia we received a room across from the elevators that rang throughout the night. The view was of the roof. We will not use Expedia again as this is the second time this has happened to us. We were unable to move rooms or even pay for an upgrade. The hotel had an event with loud music below our floor that lasted past midnight..we […] have young children so this was not appealing to us. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are so glad you found our associates to be so friendly and professional, we must apologize if your encounter fell short in any other way. While we can’t speak for third party bookings, it is regrettable if your accommodations were not as you had hoped. We have a variety of room styles and decor in our historic hotel and always do are best to offer our guests what would make them most comfortable. Your comments will be shared with our management team. It is our hope that you will consider another visit so we can change your impressions.
"Classy hotel with an old world charm"
Entrance and the lobby are magnificent and unlike most other hotels- even unlike most other 4-star hotels. This hotel is not for everyone though because of its age, and styling - it's not contemporary. The room was very comfortable but the floors were creaky. I wish they did not charge me $30 for parking on top of $26 resort fee! In summary, I would […] go back because the style/ decor of the hotel is to my taste. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Resort fee should only be for resort useage"
I have been to this hotel a number of times while on business and every time resent paying a $25 resort fee when I have no time to even look at the pool, tennis courts or exercise facility. Food is over-priced and luckily we had a car to escape.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Comfortable stay at a nice facility"
The Claremont Resort is a nice expansive facility tucked away in the Berkeley hills. We were pleased to have a large room with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. Not all rooms are big, however, so experiences may vary. Our room did not have a view, but was nonetheless lovely. Only downside is that noise from adjacent rooms and the hallway can be […] loud and parking is a steep $30/day (tho at least they have parking!). The pool and grounds are also quite nice. Huge pool plus lap pool plus hot tub plus kiddie pool. There's also an entire fitness facility with a very nice locker room, sauna, steam room, and whirlpools. The property is a private club as well as hotel, so many people will be using the facility. It did not seem cramped for space, though. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We are so glad to know you enjoyed such a comfortable stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! Thank you for letting us know about your time and for sharing an assessment of each area you visited. Our guest rooms are all unique, with each one offering different styles and views and it is great to know you enjoyed the spaciousness. The Club has so many activities, fitness classes, pools, tennis and more. We do apologize if any sounds from outside your guest room were of any disruption to your peace, however. We do hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future.
Rooms ok but was put in handicapped room with a view of tbe roof. Supposed to be an upgrade. Very noisy from hallway, adjscent rooms and rooms above. Charged 26 resort fee on top of e erything else plus pasrking. Nickel asnd dimed.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We believe it is the little things that count and we couldn't be more disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations or if you felt misled in any way by our charges. Our resort fee enables guests to enjoy a wide range of incredible amenities and activities such as complimentary Internet, 3-hours of childcare, access to our pools, tennis courts, countless health club and spa choices and more. Please know that our associates are always happy to help you find the guest room that would make you most comfortable and we regret if any sounds from outside your room were of disruption to your peace. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
"Great place to stay if you're moving from the area"
We stayed here for two nights as I was moving from Oakland and had to pack the bed early. The hotel staff was friendly. Meritage restaurant makes a fabulous breakfast and the patio at the Paragon is a great place to sit with a drink and to watch the sun set.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great facilities, but hotel needs update"
Beautiful hotel from the outside, great view over the bay area and great facilities, but could really need an update in the interior + the restaurant personnel seems to have an old-fashioned almost snobbish attitude that belongs to a 4-5 star hotel of the past. The front desk people were very helpful when I got ill and needed a doctor, but overall the […] hotel seems to be struggling to find its way into the new world. It is a shame because it has all the things you cannot change over time: location, view, a history etc. Just the interior and the service needs an update. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"One night at Cal"
Claremont never disappoints. Great bar/restaurant for drinks dinner on the deck. Rooms are big but showing their age a little (wood floor creaks under the thin carpet). Lobby always comfortable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I am glad that the Fairmount has bought the hotel and will invest some much needed money in it. It is a great, old property, but tired. Doors are thin and don't reach the ground so every noise is heard. It has a great history and has the potential to be a landmark property.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"our visit to the claremont"
We like to visit the grand hotels of the West: the Del Coronado, the Coeur d'Alene, the Santa Maria Inn, etc. So the Claremont was on our list. We appreciate the history and the architecture. We stayed two days - we did not get the full SPA experience because all the spa options are way too expensive - $350 for a 50 minute massage - that's not our market Also, […] we wanted to visit the bar but they closed early right in our face. Then while we were sitting in the area we saw seven other people all turned away as well. Had they waited a bit longer they would have had at least nine more customers. Because they were slow, a hotel of this caliber should NOT close early. We paid too much for our stay for that. Had they been committed to customer service would have taken some action. Other parts of the service were good. We did not eat in the hotel, we went into Berkeley and had a great time. We don't do Valet. All the non-Valet spots are up the hill. View from the room was great: the Bay and downtown SF. Clear view even when the bay had fog. Awesome. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Positive or otherwise, the feedback our hotel receives is not taken lightly and is always appreciated. We believe that providing superior service is fundamental. Please accept our sincerest apologies if you felt anything but welcomed, as each and every one of our guests is highly valued. If at any point in time a guest finds something amiss, our associates are always more than happy to help and we regret if the hours of our restaurant were inconvenient for you. Many of our Spa treatments can be selected a la carte for more affordable options for all and we feature a number of spa specials and collections that provide great savings. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future so we can improve upon your impressions.
"A classic with gorgeous views and the best pool"
Fabulous time. Dinner in Le Meritage totally over priced.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The room was great and had a view looking over the bay. We ate at the Paragon restaurant one evening and the service was extremely slow. It was busy but I imagine that place is always busy. We ordered room service in the morning and it took over an hour for two plates of eggs. Overall, the atmosphere was great but the service was not.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to San Francisco"
Beautiful historic hotel. Bathrooms could use an upgrade. Shower heads didn't put out enough pressure.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Amenities, Bad Room"
I'm not sure if it's the fact we look young or booked through a website, but first they put us in a room with two double beds facing the hill. When we asked to be switched to a queen or king they put us in the roof - literally with two micro windows 1 foot tall by two feet wide and skylights both of which have plantation shutters instead if blackout […] shades. Not good when you have a toddler who needs to nap ... and you've paid an arm and a leg for a fancy hotel. Very disappointed. I have to say the cost of parking is also a bit ridiculous. On a positive note the food was good through room service and at the Paragon. The pools and club amenities were great - very kid friendly. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Luxury and relaxing...."
This hotel was stunning. Staff was helpful and very polite. I had lots of questions about the sites, as it was my first time in the area. Everyone I spoke with was very helpful. Spa treatments were heavenly. Would recommend to anyone. Also, close enough to SF without having to stay right in the city.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I paid and reserved a bay view room but I got a room with a view of a roof top. The room was not clean and the fixtures were falling apart.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us here. It is always our intent to honor all guest room requests and while it is not clear in this forum as to what transpired our how your reservations were made, we must apologize for any inconvenience. We can understand how frustrating it can be when expectations are not met. Guests are always encouraged to let us know if anything is amiss while they are here and we regret if you found any issues with your accommodation. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to change your impressions.
Loved the room decor and beautiful bathroom but the view of the bay was minimal and overshadowed by the tennis courts, and the room was physically under the restaurant. That was not disclosed and the moving around of furniture and noise overhead went on until after 11:30p and again at 2:45am, and again at 6:30am. They were apologetic but the reservation […] was labeled as Expedia and we felt like second class citizens Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Staff is very friendly. We had breakfast 2 days, and both the food and staff were wonderful.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Exemplary service is what we hope to achieve with each and every guest encounter! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation of our efforts at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We do hope you will visit again soon.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )