"Resort fee should only be for resort useage"
I have been to this hotel a number of times while on business and every time resent paying a $25 resort fee when I have no time to even look at the pool, tennis courts or exercise facility. Food is over-priced and luckily we had a car to escape.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great place to stay if you're moving from the area"
We stayed here for two nights as I was moving from Oakland and had to pack the bed early. The hotel staff was friendly. Meritage restaurant makes a fabulous breakfast and the patio at the Paragon is a great place to sit with a drink and to watch the sun set.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great facilities, but hotel needs update"
Beautiful hotel from the outside, great view over the bay area and great facilities, but could really need an update in the interior + the restaurant personnel seems to have an old-fashioned almost snobbish attitude that belongs to a 4-5 star hotel of the past. The front desk people were very helpful when I got ill and needed a doctor, but overall the […] hotel seems to be struggling to find its way into the new world. It is a shame because it has all the things you cannot change over time: location, view, a history etc. Just the interior and the service needs an update. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"One night at Cal"
Claremont never disappoints. Great bar/restaurant for drinks dinner on the deck. Rooms are big but showing their age a little (wood floor creaks under the thin carpet). Lobby always comfortable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I am glad that the Fairmount has bought the hotel and will invest some much needed money in it. It is a great, old property, but tired. Doors are thin and don't reach the ground so every noise is heard. It has a great history and has the potential to be a landmark property.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A classic with gorgeous views and the best pool"
Fabulous time. Dinner in Le Meritage totally over priced.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The room was great and had a view looking over the bay. We ate at the Paragon restaurant one evening and the service was extremely slow. It was busy but I imagine that place is always busy. We ordered room service in the morning and it took over an hour for two plates of eggs. Overall, the atmosphere was great but the service was not.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to San Francisco"
Beautiful historic hotel. Bathrooms could use an upgrade. Shower heads didn't put out enough pressure.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Luxury and relaxing...."
This hotel was stunning. Staff was helpful and very polite. I had lots of questions about the sites, as it was my first time in the area. Everyone I spoke with was very helpful. Spa treatments were heavenly. Would recommend to anyone. Also, close enough to SF without having to stay right in the city.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Loved the room decor and beautiful bathroom but the view of the bay was minimal and overshadowed by the tennis courts, and the room was physically under the restaurant. That was not disclosed and the moving around of furniture and noise overhead went on until after 11:30p and again at 2:45am, and again at 6:30am. They were apologetic but the reservation […] was labeled as Expedia and we felt like second class citizens Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Beautiful, well-maintained and comfortable classic"
I stayed at the Claremont overnight on a business trip, but I now wish it had been for longer as I didn't come close to being able to take advantage of everything the hotel/spa had to offer. I understand that some may find it too old, but in my opinion it has just enough contemporary amenities (e.g., flat-screen TV, and thank you free wi-fi!) so one […] doesn't feel out-of-step, but I'm a huge fan of all of the original fixtures, moldings, designs. The lobby itself is a thing of beauty, and I welcomed the opportunity to have nice wide staircases to walk up to my room rather than take the elevator. Every member of the staff was friendly, courteous and polite, and my room was comfortable. I particularly liked the bed, as I prefer firmer mattresses and this one was just right. I'd definitely stay again if I have the opportunity. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Place to stay outside of SF"
Great hotels. Lots to do. Great rest. in the area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Expected More for the Price"
Was held to 4:00pm check-in because no rooms were available. Service was OK. Only one hotel restaurant available upon our arrival was with a 40 minute wait at the table for food. Great views of the bay. Was in Berkeley for niece's graduation and spa celebration. Spa was small but adequate. Spa hours are short. Room needs upgraded furniture and carpet. […] Close to university. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"The perfect stay"
2 nights at the Claremont for a conference during my birthday turned into a truly memorable stay that will surely bring us back; the hotel is beautiful, transforms you to another time yet is firmly grounded in the present with modern amenities and seems new. The veranda where I enjoyed a nice cold glass of Rose while watching the sunset on my birthday […] is not to be missed, and the breakfast in the formal dining room was wonderful. On top of that, the spa and pool are beautiful, with lap lanes available for distance swimmers like myself. You will surely enjoy your stay at this stunningly beautiful and historic hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"3 star not 4"
Rooms were spacious but the bathrooms needed serious upgrading. Friendly staff and rooms were clean but not worth the money spent. I have wanted to stay at this hotel for a long time and have enjoyed the food, drinks and views but the hotel didn't meet expectations.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Convenient locale, a bit dated, friendly staff."
Our first time at CR&S. Stayed three nights. Room was comfortable but uninspired for price. Hotel seems like it needs an updating. Pool area was nice and locker rooms were clean. Restaurant was decent but so many better places in Oakland and Berkeley to try out.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your impressions of our Berkeley hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location as well as our pool and Club facilities. Each of our guest rooms is completely different than the next and we would love for you to stay again and find one that best suits your taste. If there is ever anything you may need while visiting, our associates are always happy to help. We hope to see you again.
Parking was terrible, Greeted at the door but not offered a hand with our luggage. Check in was fast, Wasn't offered a hand yet again with our luggage. Our suite was in the furtherest corner of the hotel, had to take an elevator down then walk across and take an elevator back up then walk the opposite direction we just came from. Room was big and spacious, […] furniture was dated. Bathroom was dated too, for 400 a night I kind of expected a whirlpool tub for two, not a bathtub that you would find at grandmas house. Requested a bellhop at noon so we could check out by 1, bellhop never came ended up walking my own luggage out. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have other options available. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel exterior and lobby packed full of history. Rooms are nice, but somewhat dated.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Historical, indeed! The Claremeont Hotel Club & Spa was built in the early days of the gold rush and our décor pays tribute the classic beauty of days gone by. We do appreciate your feedback. Please know that each guest room is unique and we hope that you stay with us again to find just the right room that fits your needs. Thank you.
Totaly wonderful several days Pool was terrific Staff helped us with beds for infant and then for pre-schooler room was very clean all staff just smiled at every encounterGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Whether you are interested in a couple’s retreat or a family getaway, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa has something for everyone. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our associates to be so helpful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, thank you for your review.
"Nestled in the hills of Oakland/Berkeley"
I love the view of both the San Francisco bridges and Alcatraz Island. Just looking at the beautiful bay and beyond is breath-taking. The staff are all very friendly and kind. The spa is to SPA for. I had two days of pampering which I absolutely enjoyed to the tenth power. I relaxed so much afterward and during that I fell asleep at times, then I slept […] like a log at night. Wonderful!!! I was having trouble sleeping and it was good to finally be so relaxed that I was actually sleepy. The Paragon restaurant has delicious food for every meal time and I sat out on the deck for lunch so I could look at the beautiful grounds and at San Francisco city scape at the same time. It was awesome. I will go back again and again. Loved it. The only bad experience was that I made reservations for 3 for dinner at the Meritage and was excepted only to find that they were not open on Mondays. That was weird....Someone messed up. We ate at the Paragon instead. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We could not be more thrilled in learning that your most recent visit to The Claremont Hotel, Club & Spa was so positive. It is always our goal for guests to have the kind of experience you did when staying with us. We greatly appreciate the many kind words for our associates as well as the views from our property, thank you. Our Spa has been named among the ten best of its kind by Vogue, Elle and Shape magazines. We do apologize if there was any confusion over your dinner reservations, but we are glad it did not impact your overall experience too greatly. Thanks again for your review. We look forward to your return.
"Urban Hotel with great pretensions."
I did not use the Spa facilities, which may be excellent. The room was fine, but not excellent. Service was fine, but not excellent. Bathroom needed more light and more counter space and more amenitys. This is a hotel I knew as a child, 50 or more years ago. Then again, my parents had their 60th anniversary here. . . before it was "up graded" visually, […] especially in the reception, restaurant and shop area. I thought that the room fees and parking arrangements were very over-priced (although I understand that the parking is severely limited). Desk personel was pleasant and knowledgeable. Restaurant personel knew the menu and the wine list and was able to speak to wine qualities and suggest entres. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We are certainly pleased to know you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, however we couldn't be more disappointed that your entire experience was not completely positive. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. As you mentioned, we do charge for parking and facility fees. We invite our guests to take advantage of all that we offer in exchange such as 3 hours of child care, access to our Club with fitness classes, heated outdoor pools, complimentary wireless Internet and more. It is our hope that we can have another opportunity to fully impress you. Thank you for your feedback.
Everything was excellent and up to a 5 star rating. I was only wondering where my breakfast was in the morning because it was 15 minutes late. But they had warned me that that could happen.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is our pleasure to welcome our guests to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and it is truly a delight to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our property has quite a rich history and we do all we can to continue to honor it, from our decor to our service. We do apologize if your breakfast was delayed in any way and hope that it was not too much of any inconvenience. Thank you for providing details regarding your five-star stay, we hope you will come back again for another visit soon.
"Charming, with Old World Friendly Staff"
Great place to stay in Oakland. Staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Rooms are charming, but also up to date. Nice baths and comfy beds. Definitely coming back here - and will try the spa next time!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed the old-world charm of our property as well as the service you encountered. We will be happy to welcome you back again and you most certainly should give our Spa a try as you will not be disappointed!
"Bay Area luxury"
Claremont folks continue to improve on greatness.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice close to Berkeley campus; great facilities"
GreatGenuine Expedia guest review
"Wonderful pool and gym facilities"
Wonderful pool and gym facilities in the best location in Berkeley. Pleasant staff.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The Claremont is showing its age. The views and architecture are as wonderful as ever of course. But the bathrooms are vintage 1970s, the breakfast is too.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your visit with us. Our hotel is nearly a century old with all of the historic charm guests can expect while visiting, but we do apologize if your guest room or breakfast dining experience were not more to your liking. We feature a variety of different accommodation styles and our associates are always happy to help make you most comfortable. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future to fully impress you.
Nice hotel, but be ready to shell out an extra $30/day (after tax) for the resort fee and another $30/day if you want to park on site. You can park on neighborhood streets nearby for free. It's a close walk. Elevators were noisy and kept me up part of the night (old hotel = thin walls).Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your impressions. We are delighted to know you found the hotel to be so nice, however we must apologize if you were surprised by any of our fees. Any additional charges or resort fees are disclosed during the booking process when reservations are made directly, but we regret if that was not clearer. Our resort charge includes access to our fitness facilities, various spa activities, outdoor pools, tennis courts, complimentary wireless Internet and more. It is our hope that you will visit again.
"Hidden Cost Bonanza"
Great Hotel in Berkeley with views of San Francisco Bay, it has a Spa, pools, and tennis. We got a great deal with Expedia, but got hit with lots of hidden costs. $26 + tax for some sort of Spa Tax and the hotel has jumped on the bandwagon like lots of hotels in this area of only giving valet parking at $30 a day, plus tips. That made around $70 a day […] extra out of our fixed holiday budget. Wonderful Expedia price or not $70 is a great meal out for 2 every day. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. While we are delighted you enjoyed your overall stay, we certainly regret if you experienced any confusion regarding any of our charges, as it is never our objective for guests to feel as if we are intentionally hiding anything. We do indeed include both parking and facilities charges in our rate. We can’t speak for third party site, however, as any associated fees are outlined during booking directly, but we sincerely apologize if you feel you were misled in any way. Our facilities fee covers many amenities and services such as wireless high speed Internet access, three hours of childcare at our Kids' Club, group exercise classes, 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center and more. We appreciate your input and hope you will consider another stay in the future.
"Joke of a hotel"
At check-in, it seemed the hotel had misspelled my name. It was not a big deal, but the hotel staff kept insisting he had to use my incorrect name. Then, he gave us our room keys. The problem is that when we got to the room, there was a "privacy" sign on the door, and there was someone inside the room talking. How can the hotel allow this type of thing […] to happen?! What if we walked into someone getting out of the shower or sleeping? Or what if the hotel gave someone else the key to our room?! What a JOKE of a hotel!! We went back to the front desk to get the issue resolved. If that wasn't enough, the second key he gave us did not work. To top it off, I asked if there were any restaurants open (given that it was Dec 25th). He mentioned one restaurant, and then had the indecency to say, "And every other Chinese restaurant." Simply put, this type of comment is completely racially insensitive. One would think in a city like Berkeley, people would have (far) better common sense. Lastly, the wifi in the room was worthless. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We couldn’t be more disappointed by the experience you have shared with us. Providing hospitable service at every level is of utmost importance and it is out of character for our associates to interact with guests in this way. We will certainly review your feedback with our management team to ensure that we are delivering the service our hotel is known for. It is always our hope that guests enjoy all that we have to offer and we ask that you accept our sincerest apologies.
"Beautiful hotel from the outside"
The hotel was beautiful from the outside but the rooms seemed a little outdated. They were clean but there was an old musky smell to it probably because of the age of the hotel and due to the fact that they haven't renovated it yet. Staff was friendly but there was a resort fee of $25 plus $30 parking fee both for each day. That is an extra $55 per […] night hidden fee. Not sure if I want to go back. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. While it seems that you truly enjoyed the exterior of our property, we do regret that some of the accommodations were not to your liking. All areas in our historic hotel are distinctive, offering unique décor and a little something for every taste. As you mentioned, we do charge both resort and parking fees and we ask that you please accept our apologies if you felt misled in any way, as all charges are disclosed during the booking process. Our resort fee does enable our guests to enjoy a host of amenities from our Club facilities with fitness classes, our Aquatics Center, complimentary wireless Internet and more. We value your feedback and hope you will reconsider another stay in the future.
"Good location and nice health club"
Expedia must disclose all potential fees in order for the traveler to understand the total costs. It did not show the resort fee and parking fee in the estimate. I hope it is not on purpose. Please be honest to your members...Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are so glad to know you enjoyed our location as well as our Fitness facilities while staying. While it is truly not our place to respond to issues regarding third party booking sites, we certainly regret if you experienced any confusion regarding any of our charges, as it is never our intention for guests to feel misled. Our facilities fee does cover a whole host of exciting amenities and services such as wireless high speed Internet access, three hours of childcare at our Kids' Club, various group exercise classes, 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center and more. We appreciate your input and hope to see you again.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't mind staying there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"lovely old bones need major overhaul of rooms"
Weird smell in room and in the hallways. Needs major renovation; grand old hotel though; i really enjoyed it. Lovely restaurant albeit super slow service; snappy waiter, did not apologize for not hearing our orders... They were probably understaffed at the restaurant. Other hotel services were very good. Lovely bones....beautiful historic building.....Nothing […] a multimillion renovation could not fix. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"pricy-but one is treated well"
breakfast was very overpriced, bacon was very greasy and eggs undercooked.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Not great. I was fist put in a handicap room, requested a different room. a much smaller room was provided. Heat did not work so I was provided with a portable heater which was outdated and made a horrible noise. I work out at my hotel stays as I travel every week for work. the fitness center was down. No weights, aerobic except spinning classes, which […] I did not do. yoga classes did not fit my schedule. I would NOT stay here again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Fancy hotel with ok rooms and an abysmal spa staff"
Firstly, I should say the front desk staff, the valets, and the spa manager, Anthony, were stellar. I booked this hotel for the spa opportunities. The spa manager went out of his way to book me a massage after a message I had left hadn't been returned. The spa hours are a joke. They were open from 11 to 5, which, assuming one has come to the city to […] actually do something, makes obtaining spa time nearly impossible. When I went to the lobby to retrieve a bell cart for my enormous amount of luggage, an overbearing bellhop approached me, and, in a condescending tone, told me that they didn't "loan out" the carts. Then, when I made it clear that I was going to ignore his dire warning, he stepped off imperiously, and, loudly and spitefully, told me to "have fun". Hmm, okay.. From there things got much worse: to wit: when I arrived a few minutes late for my massage, I was greeted with weakly disguised scorn from almost all of the spa staff. I had entered the twilight zone. I apologized for the slightly late arrival. My "therapist", a middle aged lady with anger management issues, proceeded to treat me like some sort of pariah, and, after enduring the least healing and most disinterested "massage" I have ever experienced, I had to stop her mid massage. I felt like a turkey being basted; a turkey for which she carried generations of Faulknerian spleen. A consumptive 9 year old could have done better. It took me the rest of the day to shake off her bitter spirit.. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay did not exceed your expectations and if your spa experience was not all you had hoped it would be. We truly regret that you were inconvenienced in any way. We encourage everyone who stays with us to let us know how we can make each visit the best it possibly can be and we will be certain to share your comments with everyone here. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you again and provide you with the type of experience you truly deserve as our valued guest.
"Great weekend getaway ... a time to destress!"
Check in's a breeze, ok-to-nice welcome. Our anniversary celebration was known of, but not acknowledged with the smallest gratuity. We treated our daughter and son-in-laws room for their anniversary at the same time, so we all enjoyed our visit. After an exceptional dining experience in nearby Berkeley, we thought we'd go to the spa to wind down, relax […] in a jacuzzi with a cocktail social time around 7-7:30 pm, even possibly a game of ping pong/billiards, something, but found it was all closed for "winter" time (ps: it's still fall). Received an insincere apology. This could've been a really special and enjoyable visit but who closes the hot tub in the winter anyway? Other than that grand disappointment, the music was TOO LOUD, (whatever happened to the piano bar) there's little else to do to relax together (checkers?) outside of going to our rooms. Bed was comfortable, we'll bring our own pillows next time. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for sharing your feedback for our hotel. Sharing a getaway with loved ones can be such a special time and we are glad you chose to stay with us. Our Spa is always a favorite with our guests and we are delighted you agree. However, we can't help but feel disappointed to learn that you were inconvenienced by the hours of our pool and whirlpool areas. Please do know that one of our associates is available to discuss any concerns that may arise and we regret not having the opportunity to provide you with the some additional suggestions for activities on and off our property. We hope to welcome you back again.
"Great hotel to celebrate Thanksgiving"
Decorated beautifully for the holidays. The Thanksgiving brunch was wonderful. Great food, lots of choices, great quality food. The wait staff was so attentive and nice. We would have Thanksgiving here again. We've stayed at this hotel many times and love it. It's a real treat with beautiful views and an unmatched history.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We love the holiday season here at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and are delighted you were able to join us for Thanksgiving! Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always our goal to comfortably accommodate our guests and it seems as though we have achieved just that for each of your stays with us. The surrounding area is filled with some amazing attractions and your suggestions are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again!
"A Great Old Hotel"
The facilities are excellent; particularly the Spa area. It is an icon with a great Berkeley location and a fantastic view of the Bay. The only complaint was breakfast in the Meritage Room which I made a reservation for. The service was terrible and took forever. The waiter basically ignored us. However, I complained the the Concierge who was very helpful […] and assured me that it was an off day and tried to make up for it. Otherwise, the hotel service was exceptional. I have already booked another visit there when I attend my son's graduation from law school. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for your high praise of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We absolutely love hearing from our guests and learning all about their experiences. Despite how busy any particular day can be, everyone is important to us and we apologize that your dining experience was not all that it should be. Your comments will be shared with all of our associates. We look forward to seeing you again for your next visit and hope to provide you with an even better encounter.
"Lovely older type hotel"
Our overall expereince was very good. The staff is particularly pleasant and helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
When we arrived at the Claremont, the desk clerk asked, "What brings you here?" We told him we were eloping and he upgraded us to a beautiful suite on the 6th floor! We used to live in Berkeley, with a similarly spectacular view, and it was so romantic and familiar to be looking out over the Bay with views of all 3 bridges, the East Bay and San Francisco. […] The facility is gorgeous and very well cared for. The staff is superb. We took advantage of the fitness facility, which was top-notch. We honestly could not have asked for a more wonderful experience. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted you chose to stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. There is nothing like being treated to a special upgrade and our associates delight in helping our guests feel well cared for. Our Club facilities are some of the best that the area has to offer with numerous classes and the most up to date equipment. What could be a more wonderful way to elope than with a trip to Berkeley! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
It's so pretty in the pictures and the pool is very nice. Nice view of the city. Our room was on the first floor and was incredibly loud all night. Awful. Did not sleep. I asked for an early check in and a reservationist yelled at me over the phone, so I apologized and restated my question and he yelled at me again. The windows don't open and are cheap […] aluminum. Feels like a psyche ward from the 1930's. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While we are so glad to know you enjoyed the beauty of our lobby and use of our outdoor pool, we regret if you encountered any issues with the service you received. Please be assured that providing excellent service is important to all of our associates and we must sincerely apologize if your experience was anything less. Our need for attention to detail will be re-emphasized with all. Your feedback enables us to critically assess our performance and understand the required areas of improvement, and we appreciate you sharing your review.
"clean, but not enough bang for the buck"
The positive: the rooms were at least clean, and the views from the top are fantastic. The negatives: the rooms were cold, austere, and cavernous. They were also far smaller than similarly priced hotels; there wasn't even a bathtub in the bathroom. Also, they charge an exorbitant parking fee just to get through the gate. Yet the hotel is located high […] up on a hill, so we had no other option but to park and eat the fee. For the price of the room, you may as well spend the night in a luxurious San Francisco hotel with all the accoutrements and amenities. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
hotel was lovely; booked thru hotel.com so got the room right across from the housekeeping supplies and equipment. loved the paragon. disappointed that our sheets had a hole in them for the price we paid.....Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Excellent front desk and staff throughout the hotel and spa! Loved walking down through the neighborhoods to great bookstores and restaurants.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The stay started out ok. The valet staff was very nice. I went to the desk to check in and asked about being sure that I was getting a quiet room. I was happy when they went out of their way to make that happen. I had read reviews about the hotel smelling musty. It did. There was an odd smell in the hallways and even more in the room until I turned […] off the fan. The room overall was fine. The only problem was that the bed was so high, I practically had to climb up onto it. It was very comfortable to sleep in. The real disappointment came in the morning. At 8 am a small child was running up and down the halls with her mother. The mother was encouraging a quite loud conversation instead of letting her fellow guests sleep in. The next disappointment was that there was only one restaurant on site that was open for breakfast. This service ended at 10 am. So anyone enjoying a vacation was out of luck to get a later breakfast. They offered us brunch, but that was $59 per person. We opted to go back to the room and check out instead and go to breakfast closer to home. Also, there were only a few stations on the TV. For the amount you are paying a night, I would expect a better selection. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for your comments. It is never our intent for our valued guests to experience any inconveniences during their time with us, We ask that you accept our most sincere apologies if your stay was not ideal in all ways or if you encountered any disruption to your peace as the result of other guests. As you mentioned, our breakfast dining service makes way for brunch on weekends. We hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future so that we can provide you with a better experience.
The check in was slow, we ordered a king suite and got 2 dbl beds, coffee maker was broken, had requested and confirmed yet never received a fan for room, towels were thin and not soft, parking was a hassle. the hotel is pretty. we had come from a four seasons and expected the same quality and were disappointed.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Positive or otherwise, we truly appreciate hearing from all of our guests and we must thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While it seems as though you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, we must apologize if your entire encounter at our hotel was not all it should be. We believe in providing the very best in service and while it is not clear as to the circumstances of your reservation, we do apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way. Your comments will be shared with all of our associates as we always strive to improve upon our offerings. We hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back for the type of stay you deserve.
"Its an old hotel but it was clean and comfortable."
We could walk to UC Berkeley which was great! We had an electrical problem with a light, but all in all it was comfortable and staff was great.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Our hotel is quickly approaching our 100th Anniversary and we feature all of the historic charm of years gone by coupled with modern convenience. We are so glad you enjoyed your overall stay as well as our location, just a short walk to UC Berkeley. We do apologize. however if you were inconvenienced in anyway while waiting for the elevator. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
"just a few things..."
The water pressure in the shower was disappointing. There was also no mat on the tub and it becomes very slippery when you are actually taking a shower, almost fell through the glass encasing. Lastly, the food in the restaurant was very disappointing, I would have rather gone out of the hotel to eat.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )