"Beautiful property, great pool"
Daughter was at UC Berkley. The hotel was conveinently located close to campus, shops, and restaurants. I will stay here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is located in the heart of Bear Country and we are always happy to welcome UC Berkeley families! Thank you for taking the time to let us know your impressions of our hotel. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed not only our location, convenient to campus and local attractions, but also the beauty of our historic property. We look forward to seeing you again.
"High on the hill"
Beautiful hotel. quiet surroundings, tennis players hideaway (remembering for next time). Rooms are super clean, great beds. If you are using public transportation - be aware the Rockridge BART station is an easy walk from the hotel. However, coming back at the end of a long day - it's an uphill slog. Parking is $30 a day for those who are driving. […] Good spot. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Very outdated bathroom. Super loud air-conditioner. Old room. Needs overhaul.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We regret that your encounter at our historic hotel was not as positive as we would hope for and apologize for any inconvenience you encountered in your guest room. We will share your suggestions with our management team. It is our hope that you will consider another stay.
"Did not get the room that I paid for..."
I booked the "Elite Room" and what we got was the accessibility room. The hotel told me that happens when you book through the 3rd party. Really?! Although old, this hotel definitely has the high class atmosphere which I enjoyed, but the room had an awful view of the roof + parking and it was really not a pleasant room. The dinner was over priced and […] the kids pasta was the worst pasta I have had in my entire life. The pool was heated and the kids loved it. Overall, I'll give it 3/5. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Tiny room with fleas"
The hotel is beautiful and we love going to the restaurant and spa. However, the rooms are small and dated. We booked through hotels.com a standard room with two double beds. We arrive, they said they only had a king bed. Took the room with looked like a maids room which would barely fit a king bed. Window was a sliver looking at a roof. Then we discovered […] fleas crawling on my 2 year old daughter. We we reported it they said they were aware that they had that problem. BUT THEN MOVED US TO AN EVEN SMALLER ROOM - A DOWNGRADE. After complaining to the manager, we were moved again. This time to a normal sized standard room overlooking parking lot with nice fake leather chairs. I would not recommend staying in this hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
fell in love in my hometown... a great experience. Hotel staff helped me deal with expedia and thier issues with a change of schedule that I wouldn't have expected them to deal with. It took time but I got what I wanted and was happy!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I would definitely staff there again. Beautiful hotel and an excellent experience.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is so great to read that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. The beauty of our property is a reflection of our dedication to providing luxurious and comforting accommodations for our guests and we are so glad it shows. We hope you will come to visit us again soon.
"Worst rooms in the hotel!"
Again with booking Expedia we received a room across from the elevators that rang throughout the night. The view was of the roof. We will not use Expedia again as this is the second time this has happened to us. We were unable to move rooms or even pay for an upgrade. The hotel had an event with loud music below our floor that lasted past midnight..we […] have young children so this was not appealing to us. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are so glad you found our associates to be so friendly and professional, we must apologize if your encounter fell short in any other way. While we can’t speak for third party bookings, it is regrettable if your accommodations were not as you had hoped. We have a variety of room styles and decor in our historic hotel and always do are best to offer our guests what would make them most comfortable. Your comments will be shared with our management team. It is our hope that you will consider another visit so we can change your impressions.
"Classy hotel with an old world charm"
Entrance and the lobby are magnificent and unlike most other hotels- even unlike most other 4-star hotels. This hotel is not for everyone though because of its age, and styling - it's not contemporary. The room was very comfortable but the floors were creaky. I wish they did not charge me $30 for parking on top of $26 resort fee! In summary, I would […] go back because the style/ decor of the hotel is to my taste. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Classy, old world charm! The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is filled with such rich history and offers our guests something that more modern facilities cannot achieve. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodations to be so comfortable. While we do charge for both parking and resort fees, we hope that it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience. Our guests can enjoy many amenities and activities in exchange for our resort fee including complimentary wireless Internet, use of our Club facilities with outdoor pools, saunas and hot tubs, 3 hours of childcare and so much more. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit. Thank you for your review.
"Resort fee should only be for resort useage"
I have been to this hotel a number of times while on business and every time resent paying a $25 resort fee when I have no time to even look at the pool, tennis courts or exercise facility. Food is over-priced and luckily we had a car to escape.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Comfortable stay at a nice facility"
The Claremont Resort is a nice expansive facility tucked away in the Berkeley hills. We were pleased to have a large room with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. Not all rooms are big, however, so experiences may vary. Our room did not have a view, but was nonetheless lovely. Only downside is that noise from adjacent rooms and the hallway can be […] loud and parking is a steep $30/day (tho at least they have parking!). The pool and grounds are also quite nice. Huge pool plus lap pool plus hot tub plus kiddie pool. There's also an entire fitness facility with a very nice locker room, sauna, steam room, and whirlpools. The property is a private club as well as hotel, so many people will be using the facility. It did not seem cramped for space, though. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We are so glad to know you enjoyed such a comfortable stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! Thank you for letting us know about your time and for sharing an assessment of each area you visited. Our guest rooms are all unique, with each one offering different styles and views and it is great to know you enjoyed the spaciousness. The Club has so many activities, fitness classes, pools, tennis and more. We do apologize if any sounds from outside your guest room were of any disruption to your peace, however. We do hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future.
Rooms ok but was put in handicapped room with a view of tbe roof. Supposed to be an upgrade. Very noisy from hallway, adjscent rooms and rooms above. Charged 26 resort fee on top of e erything else plus pasrking. Nickel asnd dimed.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We believe it is the little things that count and we couldn't be more disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations or if you felt misled in any way by our charges. Our resort fee enables guests to enjoy a wide range of incredible amenities and activities such as complimentary Internet, 3-hours of childcare, access to our pools, tennis courts, countless health club and spa choices and more. Please know that our associates are always happy to help you find the guest room that would make you most comfortable and we regret if any sounds from outside your room were of disruption to your peace. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
"Great place to stay if you're moving from the area"
We stayed here for two nights as I was moving from Oakland and had to pack the bed early. The hotel staff was friendly. Meritage restaurant makes a fabulous breakfast and the patio at the Paragon is a great place to sit with a drink and to watch the sun set.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great facilities, but hotel needs update"
Beautiful hotel from the outside, great view over the bay area and great facilities, but could really need an update in the interior + the restaurant personnel seems to have an old-fashioned almost snobbish attitude that belongs to a 4-5 star hotel of the past. The front desk people were very helpful when I got ill and needed a doctor, but overall the […] hotel seems to be struggling to find its way into the new world. It is a shame because it has all the things you cannot change over time: location, view, a history etc. Just the interior and the service needs an update. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"One night at Cal"
Claremont never disappoints. Great bar/restaurant for drinks dinner on the deck. Rooms are big but showing their age a little (wood floor creaks under the thin carpet). Lobby always comfortable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I am glad that the Fairmount has bought the hotel and will invest some much needed money in it. It is a great, old property, but tired. Doors are thin and don't reach the ground so every noise is heard. It has a great history and has the potential to be a landmark property.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"our visit to the claremont"
We like to visit the grand hotels of the West: the Del Coronado, the Coeur d'Alene, the Santa Maria Inn, etc. So the Claremont was on our list. We appreciate the history and the architecture. We stayed two days - we did not get the full SPA experience because all the spa options are way too expensive - $350 for a 50 minute massage - that's not our market Also, […] we wanted to visit the bar but they closed early right in our face. Then while we were sitting in the area we saw seven other people all turned away as well. Had they waited a bit longer they would have had at least nine more customers. Because they were slow, a hotel of this caliber should NOT close early. We paid too much for our stay for that. Had they been committed to customer service would have taken some action. Other parts of the service were good. We did not eat in the hotel, we went into Berkeley and had a great time. We don't do Valet. All the non-Valet spots are up the hill. View from the room was great: the Bay and downtown SF. Clear view even when the bay had fog. Awesome. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Positive or otherwise, the feedback our hotel receives is not taken lightly and is always appreciated. We believe that providing superior service is fundamental. Please accept our sincerest apologies if you felt anything but welcomed, as each and every one of our guests is highly valued. If at any point in time a guest finds something amiss, our associates are always more than happy to help and we regret if the hours of our restaurant were inconvenient for you. Many of our Spa treatments can be selected a la carte for more affordable options for all and we feature a number of spa specials and collections that provide great savings. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future so we can improve upon your impressions.
"A classic with gorgeous views and the best pool"
Fabulous time. Dinner in Le Meritage totally over priced.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The room was great and had a view looking over the bay. We ate at the Paragon restaurant one evening and the service was extremely slow. It was busy but I imagine that place is always busy. We ordered room service in the morning and it took over an hour for two plates of eggs. Overall, the atmosphere was great but the service was not.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to San Francisco"
Beautiful historic hotel. Bathrooms could use an upgrade. Shower heads didn't put out enough pressure.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Amenities, Bad Room"
I'm not sure if it's the fact we look young or booked through a website, but first they put us in a room with two double beds facing the hill. When we asked to be switched to a queen or king they put us in the roof - literally with two micro windows 1 foot tall by two feet wide and skylights both of which have plantation shutters instead if blackout […] shades. Not good when you have a toddler who needs to nap ... and you've paid an arm and a leg for a fancy hotel. Very disappointed. I have to say the cost of parking is also a bit ridiculous. On a positive note the food was good through room service and at the Paragon. The pools and club amenities were great - very kid friendly. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are so glad to know you enjoyed parts of your encounter with us, including dining at Paragon and our Club and pool amenities. Our historic hotel is unique in that no two guest rooms are exactly alike. With that being said, we do apologize if you were not fully impressed with your accommodations. Our associates would be happy to help find you just the right space for your family’s needs. As you mentioned, we charge for parking in our secure lot, but we regret if you were unaware. Please know that regardless of how your reservations are made we value each and every guest. It is our hope that you will give us a chance in the future to offer you the type of stay you would hope for.
"Luxury and relaxing...."
This hotel was stunning. Staff was helpful and very polite. I had lots of questions about the sites, as it was my first time in the area. Everyone I spoke with was very helpful. Spa treatments were heavenly. Would recommend to anyone. Also, close enough to SF without having to stay right in the city.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I paid and reserved a bay view room but I got a room with a view of a roof top. The room was not clean and the fixtures were falling apart.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us here. It is always our intent to honor all guest room requests and while it is not clear in this forum as to what transpired our how your reservations were made, we must apologize for any inconvenience. We can understand how frustrating it can be when expectations are not met. Guests are always encouraged to let us know if anything is amiss while they are here and we regret if you found any issues with your accommodation. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to change your impressions.
Loved the room decor and beautiful bathroom but the view of the bay was minimal and overshadowed by the tennis courts, and the room was physically under the restaurant. That was not disclosed and the moving around of furniture and noise overhead went on until after 11:30p and again at 2:45am, and again at 6:30am. They were apologetic but the reservation […] was labeled as Expedia and we felt like second class citizens Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Staff is very friendly. We had breakfast 2 days, and both the food and staff were wonderful.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Exemplary service is what we hope to achieve with each and every guest encounter! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation of our efforts at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We do hope you will visit again soon.
This is a hotel to take you back to a gentler, kinder time. The room we had was exceptional. A lot of space, bay view, and best of all a bath tub. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was perfect. Spa facility is world class. The over all impression is this is a place that caters to their clients satisfactionGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Reading your review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa brought us such happiness. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and your kind acknowledgement of our historic hotel is greatly appreciated. Knowing that your visit brought you back to a gentler, kinder time is such a gracious compliment! With the San Francisco Bay on full display, views from our property are something that should not be missed. Thank you for sharing your story, we hope that we can welcome you back soon.
"Beautiful, well-maintained and comfortable classic"
I stayed at the Claremont overnight on a business trip, but I now wish it had been for longer as I didn't come close to being able to take advantage of everything the hotel/spa had to offer. I understand that some may find it too old, but in my opinion it has just enough contemporary amenities (e.g., flat-screen TV, and thank you free wi-fi!) so one […] doesn't feel out-of-step, but I'm a huge fan of all of the original fixtures, moldings, designs. The lobby itself is a thing of beauty, and I welcomed the opportunity to have nice wide staircases to walk up to my room rather than take the elevator. Every member of the staff was friendly, courteous and polite, and my room was comfortable. I particularly liked the bed, as I prefer firmer mattresses and this one was just right. I'd definitely stay again if I have the opportunity. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Place to stay outside of SF"
Great hotels. Lots to do. Great rest. in the area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Berkeley Graduation Stay"
The staff was awesome, particularly all of the concierge staff, although the rest of the staff was also excellent and very friendly.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Right in the heart of Bear Country, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa loves to welcome our guests attending any events at UC Berkeley and we are delighted you chose to stay with us for graduation. Our associates will be pleased to know that you found them all to be, as you put it, awesome! We hope you will visit us again soon.
"The Claremont Experience. Was not all That!!!"
All my life, I heard about this pretigious hotel right here in the bay area called the Claremont. It's suppose to be so luxurious and classy. And the PRICE definitely reflects that! So now that I'm grown and pretty well traveled I decided to get a room at luxurious hotel in the bay area where I live. I had a lady friend come from out of town and was […] telling her about this renowned hotel and all it offers! When I arrived I thought it looked somewhat old but, I thought maybe they kept like this to give it charcater. When I walked in the hotel Staff I must say was EXCELLENT!!!! Very polite and attenative. Now for the ROOM. It was extremely small, especially for $400.00 a night!!!! ARE YOU KIDDING?!?!?!?!?! It didn't even have a bathtub and the AC unit was old and very useless. The Hampton Inn runs circles around it. For half the PRICE!!!!! Prices for room service was equally outrageous!!! CLAREMONT DO BETTER OR LOWER YOUR RATES!!!! THE BEST THING ABOUT YOU IS THE STAFF!!!! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to detail your encounter. Our associates will all be so pleased to know they left you with such a positive impression. We are, however, terribly disappointed to learn that your accommodations were not as you had anticipated. Please know that we always hope to accommodate our guests in a way that suits their expectations and offer a variety of room styles. At our historic property, not two rooms are exactly the same! Your comments are of great value to us and will be shared with everyone here so that we can improve. We appreciate your input.
"Expensive for nothing, gives Berkeley a bad name"
1) Whoever is in charge of tourism and hospitality in Berkeley needs to intervene to stop this hotel giving the city a bad rep: -They overcharge on parking $30 per night per car and they don't tell you until you've arrived and have no option but to succumb. This is separate from the $26 resort fee which does not include parking! -When I complained […] the manager on duty didn't even show any interest in listening -Old and dated furniture, mattress uncomfortable with cheap pillows -Our room smelled weird -Not worth the value -I called front desk numerous times no one answered, day or night 2) Expedia should reconsider this hotel as a VIP Access partner: - They didn't give any discount although I am an elite plus member and I redeemed Expedia points to make the reservation - They didn't offer any room upgrade or offer an explanation Overall, this is a hotel you look at from the outside but avoid ever staying at. They're values are alien to the City of Berkeley. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Your review is of great concern to us. While it is truly not our place to respond to issues regarding any third party booking, we certainly regret if you experienced any confusion regarding any of our charges, as it is never our intention for guests to feel as if we are intentionally hiding anything. Our facilities fee does cover a whole host of exciting amenities and services such as wireless high speed Internet access, three hours of childcare at our Kids' Club, various group exercise classes, 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center and more. We appreciate your input and value your patronage.
"Expected More for the Price"
Was held to 4:00pm check-in because no rooms were available. Service was OK. Only one hotel restaurant available upon our arrival was with a 40 minute wait at the table for food. Great views of the bay. Was in Berkeley for niece's graduation and spa celebration. Spa was small but adequate. Spa hours are short. Room needs upgraded furniture and carpet. […] Close to university. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Well maintained property with upscale rooms"
All good things about the property and location. Hosted family in four rooms over several days, but found staff to be overextended with full hotel as schools are graduating. Large, well appointed room with one very small window and view of ugly roof. Rm 915 has noise issues.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our property and guest rooms for your family’s visit, but we do apologize if any other aspect of your encounter here fell short of your expectations. We take great care to provide excellence in all we do, including service and with that, we must apologize if you were left in need during your stay. Please know that your comments are not taken lightly and we will use this to improve. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to welcome you.
"Quality hotel with site activities - pool, etc."
Our appointed room wasn't available so we got a free upgrade to a great suite! THANKS! So staff was helpful and generous, facilities were great and we had fun!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa There is nothing quite like an unexpected upgrade to create cherished memories! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us and for letting us know that the service of our associates was so positive. We are so glad you had so much fun with us and we hope you will visit The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa again soon.
"It was just as expected"
I have stayed there before. My room with a view of the bay was superb. I was there for a graduation so I did not use much of the amenities. Everything was excellent. I would definitely stay there again, and it is the best accommodations in the area.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for sharing your review with us as well as your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are delighted to have accommodated you so well in our historic hotel. The view from our property are truly such a treat and it is great to know you found everything to be, as you put it, excellent. Please know that we care about all of your experiences and do regret if the sound of other guests was of concern. Congratulations to your son on his accomplishments. We hope you will find your way back to stay with us again.
"The perfect stay"
2 nights at the Claremont for a conference during my birthday turned into a truly memorable stay that will surely bring us back; the hotel is beautiful, transforms you to another time yet is firmly grounded in the present with modern amenities and seems new. The veranda where I enjoyed a nice cold glass of Rose while watching the sunset on my birthday […] is not to be missed, and the breakfast in the formal dining room was wonderful. On top of that, the spa and pool are beautiful, with lap lanes available for distance swimmers like myself. You will surely enjoy your stay at this stunningly beautiful and historic hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
My friends and I were very much looking forward to our stay at the Claremont. We had all been to the property but it had been years. Sad to say we were terribly disappointed. The hotel is beautiful but....1) we decided to have drinks and some food at the Paragon. The service was awful. The server took forever to greet us. The bus-person literally threw […] our silverware and napkins in front of us. The food was mediocre. We ordered mussels and were not given a bowl of the shells or a spoon for the broth. We requested both multiple times but they were never brought. The cheese platter was over-priced and the cheeses were all very strong. I like that but the people I was with do not and there were no selections for them to enjoy. The bread supplied with the cheese platter was stale. Very disappointing for the venue and the price. The rooms are obviously older however there were other issues as well. There were three of us booked in the room but only one robe. The hot water ran out in the middle of my friends shower. We were also disappointed at the fact that we could literally hear every work spoken clearly in the hallway, above us and in the surrounding rooms. The three of us are world travelers and have each stayed in countless older hotels. For the price it was just not worth it. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We couldn’t be more disappointed by the experience you have shared with us. Providing hospitable service and an impeccable stay on every level is of utmost importance, and it is out of character for any our associates to interact with guests in this way. We will certainly review your feedback with our management team to ensure that we are delivering the service our hotel is known for. As you mentioned, we are a historic property, but it is truly regrettable that you encountered any issues with your guest room bath. We have let our Maintenance Associates know of your concerns so that they can resolve any matters right away. It is always our hope that guests enjoy all that we have to offer and we ask that you accept our sincerest apologies.
"Large beautiful older hotel with excellent views."
The Spa experience was excellent. Very relaxing and individually tailored. We stayed in a large view room and for a hotel 100 years old it was clean, simple and comfortable. We live locally and will be returning for one of their seasonal dining experiences. Glad we decided after years of going to events at this Resort that we finally went upstairs.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa You certainly don’t need to travel far from home to experience a great getaway! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. It is a delighted to know that you have enjoyed coming here for our events and now you can also add a wonderful stay to the lovely experiences you have had otherwise. Our resort is closing in on its 100th anniversary and we are delighted to share all of the historic charm that our property offers. We hope you will stay again soon.
"terrible hotel except the view"
We arrived around noon, the hotel staff told us the room is not ready and their check in time is 4pm. So we have to wondering around for hours. After we finally checked in, the front desk told us they would not locate our luggage they took for storage while we were away. After waiting for more than an hour and five phone calls, I got up and went down […] to search myself, and there it is the luggage lies right in the lobby where we left it! Then the room, they have to send someone to change the bedside phone as it does not work. Then the safe is not work, so they send some one again to replace it. They were drilling the wall while my husband was taking a nap(we were out wondering for too long waiting for our room to get ready). Oh, I forgot the room design is hideous,the clackroom is a boom on the wall on one bed side, it is very likely at night, you will walk right into that wall. Over all it is a hotel that shows some of the past glory but completely let go. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are so glad to know you enjoyed the views from our historic property, we must apologize if the rest of your stay with us fell short of your expectations. We can understand how frustrating it can be when any matters arise while traveling. As you mentioned, our check in time is indeed 4pm. We always do all we can to comfortably accommodate our guests quickly and try to permit early check in when we are able. All of our policies are outlined on our website as well as during the booking process, but we regret if this was not more clear. The matters you have mentioned regarding any issues in your guest room have been shared with the head of our Maintenance Department to make sure that everything is at its best. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will reconsider another visit so that we can treat you to the special stay you deserve.
"Not worth the price"
I paid about $350 per night and was greatly disappointed. The room I was in had a window that was stuck open with rain coming in, a door that bottom was slanted and let light in, and I could hear the ding of the elevator all night. I was able to switch rooms for my second night. They fail to tell you the only breakfast option on Sundays is a $60 brunch.... […] But it gets booked. Wish I knew this before I checked out or else I would have ordered room service. I expected more for the price. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your point of view. It is with great regret that we learn of your stay, as this is not the experience that we intend for any of our guests. We take all reviews very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with all of our Management team so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can regain your trust.
"Smoke and Mirrors"
The hotel looks beautiful and regal situated on the hills of Berkeley and the lobby is quite nice...but the rooms are a complete bummer. It appears as if nothing has been updated in the rooms for at least a decade. Bathroom was a decent size but the wimpy shower stall was only one step above a fiberglass drop in and there was no place to put toiletries […] except the shower floor. Towels were cheap and tired. The hairdryer was broken. Pillows were tiny and had no loft whatsoever. Having worked at hotels in the past, I was frankly shocked to see a 4 diamond rating plaque over the reception desk. I know that this designation is not easily obtained and I can only guess that it dates back to the 1980's when maybe things were "fresher". We stayed in room 122 which overlooks the dumpster. Bottles and trash disposal was at 3:00am. Total sadness. $30 to park your car in their lot every day seemed like a rip off. On a happier note, the two restaurants on site seemed lively and the food was decent. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is always our goal to provide the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests. While we are delighted you enjoyed our Lobby as well as dining at our restaurants, it is truly disappointing to read that your entire stay did not exceed your expectations and that your accommodations were not as you would have wished. We encourage all guests to share how we can make their visit the best it possibly can be while they are here, when it would matter the most. It's disheartening that we were unable to do that for you while you were here. Please know that your comments are being shared with our Management team as it is only through the eyes of our valued guests that we can improve. Thank you for your review.
"3 star not 4"
Rooms were spacious but the bathrooms needed serious upgrading. Friendly staff and rooms were clean but not worth the money spent. I have wanted to stay at this hotel for a long time and have enjoyed the food, drinks and views but the hotel didn't meet expectations.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Convenient locale, a bit dated, friendly staff."
Our first time at CR&S. Stayed three nights. Room was comfortable but uninspired for price. Hotel seems like it needs an updating. Pool area was nice and locker rooms were clean. Restaurant was decent but so many better places in Oakland and Berkeley to try out.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your impressions of our Berkeley hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location as well as our pool and Club facilities. Each of our guest rooms is completely different than the next and we would love for you to stay again and find one that best suits your taste. If there is ever anything you may need while visiting, our associates are always happy to help. We hope to see you again.
Parking was terrible, Greeted at the door but not offered a hand with our luggage. Check in was fast, Wasn't offered a hand yet again with our luggage. Our suite was in the furtherest corner of the hotel, had to take an elevator down then walk across and take an elevator back up then walk the opposite direction we just came from. Room was big and spacious, […] furniture was dated. Bathroom was dated too, for 400 a night I kind of expected a whirlpool tub for two, not a bathtub that you would find at grandmas house. Requested a bellhop at noon so we could check out by 1, bellhop never came ended up walking my own luggage out. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have other options available. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel exterior and lobby packed full of history. Rooms are nice, but somewhat dated.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Historical, indeed! The Claremeont Hotel Club & Spa was built in the early days of the gold rush and our décor pays tribute the classic beauty of days gone by. We do appreciate your feedback. Please know that each guest room is unique and we hope that you stay with us again to find just the right room that fits your needs. Thank you.
Totaly wonderful several days Pool was terrific Staff helped us with beds for infant and then for pre-schooler room was very clean all staff just smiled at every encounterGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Whether you are interested in a couple’s retreat or a family getaway, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa has something for everyone. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our associates to be so helpful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, thank you for your review.
"Nestled in the hills of Oakland/Berkeley"
I love the view of both the San Francisco bridges and Alcatraz Island. Just looking at the beautiful bay and beyond is breath-taking. The staff are all very friendly and kind. The spa is to SPA for. I had two days of pampering which I absolutely enjoyed to the tenth power. I relaxed so much afterward and during that I fell asleep at times, then I slept […] like a log at night. Wonderful!!! I was having trouble sleeping and it was good to finally be so relaxed that I was actually sleepy. The Paragon restaurant has delicious food for every meal time and I sat out on the deck for lunch so I could look at the beautiful grounds and at San Francisco city scape at the same time. It was awesome. I will go back again and again. Loved it. The only bad experience was that I made reservations for 3 for dinner at the Meritage and was excepted only to find that they were not open on Mondays. That was weird....Someone messed up. We ate at the Paragon instead. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We could not be more thrilled in learning that your most recent visit to The Claremont Hotel, Club & Spa was so positive. It is always our goal for guests to have the kind of experience you did when staying with us. We greatly appreciate the many kind words for our associates as well as the views from our property, thank you. Our Spa has been named among the ten best of its kind by Vogue, Elle and Shape magazines. We do apologize if there was any confusion over your dinner reservations, but we are glad it did not impact your overall experience too greatly. Thanks again for your review. We look forward to your return.
"Urban Hotel with great pretensions."
I did not use the Spa facilities, which may be excellent. The room was fine, but not excellent. Service was fine, but not excellent. Bathroom needed more light and more counter space and more amenitys. This is a hotel I knew as a child, 50 or more years ago. Then again, my parents had their 60th anniversary here. . . before it was "up graded" visually, […] especially in the reception, restaurant and shop area. I thought that the room fees and parking arrangements were very over-priced (although I understand that the parking is severely limited). Desk personel was pleasant and knowledgeable. Restaurant personel knew the menu and the wine list and was able to speak to wine qualities and suggest entres. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We are certainly pleased to know you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, however we couldn't be more disappointed that your entire experience was not completely positive. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. As you mentioned, we do charge for parking and facility fees. We invite our guests to take advantage of all that we offer in exchange such as 3 hours of child care, access to our Club with fitness classes, heated outdoor pools, complimentary wireless Internet and more. It is our hope that we can have another opportunity to fully impress you. Thank you for your feedback.
Everything was excellent and up to a 5 star rating. I was only wondering where my breakfast was in the morning because it was 15 minutes late. But they had warned me that that could happen.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is our pleasure to welcome our guests to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and it is truly a delight to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our property has quite a rich history and we do all we can to continue to honor it, from our decor to our service. We do apologize if your breakfast was delayed in any way and hope that it was not too much of any inconvenience. Thank you for providing details regarding your five-star stay, we hope you will come back again for another visit soon.
"Charming, with Old World Friendly Staff"
Great place to stay in Oakland. Staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Rooms are charming, but also up to date. Nice baths and comfy beds. Definitely coming back here - and will try the spa next time!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed the old-world charm of our property as well as the service you encountered. We will be happy to welcome you back again and you most certainly should give our Spa a try as you will not be disappointed!
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )