"Great hotel to celebrate Thanksgiving"
Decorated beautifully for the holidays. The Thanksgiving brunch was wonderful. Great food, lots of choices, great quality food. The wait staff was so attentive and nice. We would have Thanksgiving here again. We've stayed at this hotel many times and love it. It's a real treat with beautiful views and an unmatched history.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We love the holiday season here at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and are delighted you were able to join us for Thanksgiving! Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always our goal to comfortably accommodate our guests and it seems as though we have achieved just that for each of your stays with us. The surrounding area is filled with some amazing attractions and your suggestions are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again!
"A Great Old Hotel"
The facilities are excellent; particularly the Spa area. It is an icon with a great Berkeley location and a fantastic view of the Bay. The only complaint was breakfast in the Meritage Room which I made a reservation for. The service was terrible and took forever. The waiter basically ignored us. However, I complained the the Concierge who was very helpful […] and assured me that it was an off day and tried to make up for it. Otherwise, the hotel service was exceptional. I have already booked another visit there when I attend my son's graduation from law school. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for your high praise of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We absolutely love hearing from our guests and learning all about their experiences. Despite how busy any particular day can be, everyone is important to us and we apologize that your dining experience was not all that it should be. Your comments will be shared with all of our associates. We look forward to seeing you again for your next visit and hope to provide you with an even better encounter.
"Lovely older type hotel"
Our overall expereince was very good. The staff is particularly pleasant and helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
When we arrived at the Claremont, the desk clerk asked, "What brings you here?" We told him we were eloping and he upgraded us to a beautiful suite on the 6th floor! We used to live in Berkeley, with a similarly spectacular view, and it was so romantic and familiar to be looking out over the Bay with views of all 3 bridges, the East Bay and San Francisco. […] The facility is gorgeous and very well cared for. The staff is superb. We took advantage of the fitness facility, which was top-notch. We honestly could not have asked for a more wonderful experience. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted you chose to stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. There is nothing like being treated to a special upgrade and our associates delight in helping our guests feel well cared for. Our Club facilities are some of the best that the area has to offer with numerous classes and the most up to date equipment. What could be a more wonderful way to elope than with a trip to Berkeley! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
It's so pretty in the pictures and the pool is very nice. Nice view of the city. Our room was on the first floor and was incredibly loud all night. Awful. Did not sleep. I asked for an early check in and a reservationist yelled at me over the phone, so I apologized and restated my question and he yelled at me again. The windows don't open and are cheap […] aluminum. Feels like a psyche ward from the 1930's. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While we are so glad to know you enjoyed the beauty of our lobby and use of our outdoor pool, we regret if you encountered any issues with the service you received. Please be assured that providing excellent service is important to all of our associates and we must sincerely apologize if your experience was anything less. Our need for attention to detail will be re-emphasized with all. Your feedback enables us to critically assess our performance and understand the required areas of improvement, and we appreciate you sharing your review.
"clean, but not enough bang for the buck"
The positive: the rooms were at least clean, and the views from the top are fantastic. The negatives: the rooms were cold, austere, and cavernous. They were also far smaller than similarly priced hotels; there wasn't even a bathtub in the bathroom. Also, they charge an exorbitant parking fee just to get through the gate. Yet the hotel is located high […] up on a hill, so we had no other option but to park and eat the fee. For the price of the room, you may as well spend the night in a luxurious San Francisco hotel with all the accoutrements and amenities. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
hotel was lovely; booked thru hotel.com so got the room right across from the housekeeping supplies and equipment. loved the paragon. disappointed that our sheets had a hole in them for the price we paid.....Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Excellent front desk and staff throughout the hotel and spa! Loved walking down through the neighborhoods to great bookstores and restaurants.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The stay started out ok. The valet staff was very nice. I went to the desk to check in and asked about being sure that I was getting a quiet room. I was happy when they went out of their way to make that happen. I had read reviews about the hotel smelling musty. It did. There was an odd smell in the hallways and even more in the room until I turned […] off the fan. The room overall was fine. The only problem was that the bed was so high, I practically had to climb up onto it. It was very comfortable to sleep in. The real disappointment came in the morning. At 8 am a small child was running up and down the halls with her mother. The mother was encouraging a quite loud conversation instead of letting her fellow guests sleep in. The next disappointment was that there was only one restaurant on site that was open for breakfast. This service ended at 10 am. So anyone enjoying a vacation was out of luck to get a later breakfast. They offered us brunch, but that was $59 per person. We opted to go back to the room and check out instead and go to breakfast closer to home. Also, there were only a few stations on the TV. For the amount you are paying a night, I would expect a better selection. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for your comments. It is never our intent for our valued guests to experience any inconveniences during their time with us, We ask that you accept our most sincere apologies if your stay was not ideal in all ways or if you encountered any disruption to your peace as the result of other guests. As you mentioned, our breakfast dining service makes way for brunch on weekends. We hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future so that we can provide you with a better experience.
The check in was slow, we ordered a king suite and got 2 dbl beds, coffee maker was broken, had requested and confirmed yet never received a fan for room, towels were thin and not soft, parking was a hassle. the hotel is pretty. we had come from a four seasons and expected the same quality and were disappointed.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Positive or otherwise, we truly appreciate hearing from all of our guests and we must thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While it seems as though you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, we must apologize if your entire encounter at our hotel was not all it should be. We believe in providing the very best in service and while it is not clear as to the circumstances of your reservation, we do apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way. Your comments will be shared with all of our associates as we always strive to improve upon our offerings. We hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back for the type of stay you deserve.
"Its an old hotel but it was clean and comfortable."
We could walk to UC Berkeley which was great! We had an electrical problem with a light, but all in all it was comfortable and staff was great.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Our hotel is quickly approaching our 100th Anniversary and we feature all of the historic charm of years gone by coupled with modern convenience. We are so glad you enjoyed your overall stay as well as our location, just a short walk to UC Berkeley. We do apologize. however if you were inconvenienced in anyway while waiting for the elevator. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
"just a few things..."
The water pressure in the shower was disappointing. There was also no mat on the tub and it becomes very slippery when you are actually taking a shower, almost fell through the glass encasing. Lastly, the food in the restaurant was very disappointing, I would have rather gone out of the hotel to eat.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Love the historic hotel look and feel.Spa is wonderful...great massage.Meeting friends at Paragon outside restaurant deck with view of the Bay and GG bridge makes for a classic bay area experience.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The Claremont is a grand old hotel that was glorious in its heyday. The restaurants, function rooms and foyer remain impressive. The guest rooms are another story. We were in the Bay Area for personal reasons and chose the Claremont because of good past experience. The one thing we requested (and paid for) was a room with a full view of the Bay and […] SF. They told us it was a busy night (we were there for three and had reserved *long* before) and they only had one room available -- cramped, dark with an oblique view of the Bay). We asked for a better one. They put us in a bigger room that had a tiny window and a view from one corner of the room only. The next day they found what they described as "spectacular." It was smaller, darker and more cramped than the first room so we gave up -- dispirited and wondering if this is what happens when you reserve on hotels.com. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Anytime I'm in the Berkeley and Oakland area we stay at the Claremont. Great restaruants and Wine Bar. Great location and service. Rooms air condition is out dated and noisyGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Fantastic hotel and a truly wonderful, attentive staff.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"20th Wedding Anniversary"
We had a wonderful night at The Claremont on October 2, 2013. Every person we met on The Claremont staff was outstandingly wonderful. They made the stay quite special. Normally we can't afford to stay at hotels like The Claremont but it was special for a special event. Thank you for doing what you do so well. Jerry and Linda HalversonGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing such a lovely story with us. We are truly honored by your glowing review and love knowing that you and your wife enjoyed such a special occasion getaway at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. What could be a better way to celebrate such a momentous time than with luxurious accommodations and hospitable service? It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we hope that we can do it again soon. On behalf of everyone here, Happy 20th Anniversary.
"Wish we had more time"
Weekend wedding, so didn't get to fully experience the facilities. Everyone does their best to make you feel like you made a good choice in the Claremont.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience while staying at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with comfortable accommodations but we do hope that you were not too inconvenienced by the shower. Each of our guest rooms has something different to offer. Next time, be sure to take some time to enjoy the many amenities and activities, as you certainly won’t be disappointed. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
"Close to Greek Theater"
Difficult to find for us and for taxis. But beautiful rooms and service, and you cant beat the pool and other amenities!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Avoid the hillside"
Service, food and staff are excellent, beautiful location, gorgeous Spa facilities. My room went to the hill side which turned out to be the noisy back entrance of the hotel. Trucks maneuvering permanently below my window starting at 6.15 a.m. is not what I expect for this room rate and this hotel category. If the windows were not as old-fashioned as […] they are it might be ok. But they do not close tightly and need to be replaced urgently. On my complaint the front desk manager answered I should have spent the few extra dollars for a bay view room .... Thank you, sir. It was not available. But that was the only strange reaction I have come across. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for your comments. It is regrettable that your accommodations were not up to your expectations during your recent visit and that we missed several opportunities to create a better overall experience for you. As you mentioned, we do feature a variety of guest room types but we apologize if you were troubled in any way by sounds from outside your room. Your input and feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time taken to share your experience with us.
AC was not working and made it too hot to sleep comfortably in our roomGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Awesome anniversary experience!"
Hotel found out it was our anniversary. sent a bottle of wine to our room.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Write your comment.Happy Anniversary! We love knowing that you enjoyed your special occasion getaway with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Berkeley is filled with unique charm and is one of the greatest places to enjoy some people watching. We delight in providing personalized attention for each of our guests and while it is great to know you enjoyed the special occasion wine, it is disappointing that your Spa experience did not measure up completely to your expectations. Our Spa professionals always hope to provide the most relaxing, rejuvenating time for our guests and welcome your feedback during sessions. We hope you will visit again.
"beautiful property elegant charm"
4th stay this year.A wonderful suprise in the east bay.a resort with old world charm,and fine food and service.Highly recommend to travelers who expect the best,you wont be disappointedGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is always such a treat to read feedback from guests who have stayed at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa so frequently. Thank you for sharing your comments and appreciation for our hotel. We are indeed filled to the roof with old world charm and it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. We value your recommendation and are delighted you found our hotel to be such a wonderful surprise. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and again.
"THE BIG VICTORIAN ON THE HILL"
WE ENJOYED A WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE ROOM, COMFORTABLE, BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS, GOOD CLASSES (I TOOK A YOGA CLASS) AND HISTORIC. THE MAIN PROBLEM WAS FINDING HANDICAP PARKING ON THE WEEK END. THE PLACE IS BIG AND IT TOOK SOME TIME TO GET USED TO, BUT FUN TO EXPLORE. CROWDS OF KIDS IN THE POOLS AND JACCUZZI, SO WE DIDN'T GO IN. WE DIDN'T ENJOY THE RESTAURANT, […] THE PARAGON, WHICH WAS NOISY AND THE FOOD WAS BELOW AVERAGE. WE HAD AN IN ROOM BREAKFAST ONE MORNING, WHICH WAS NICE, THOUGH. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is such a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Built in the early days of the Gold Rush, our hotel offers a timeless elegance. Our Club facilities feature countless classes and the very best in fitness equipment. Yoga is a favorite with many of our guests and we are glad you agree. Each of our guest rooms is unique with different décor and amenities for our guests’ comfort. We must apologize if you were not as impressed with your dining experience. If there was anything we could have done differently we would love to know. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
Room was incredibly small bed was only a twin sheets had blood on them room smelled incredibly bad. I was offered a complimentary night stay but refused because conditions were so bad that I would rather pay to stay somewhere cleaner. This is my first time ever reviewing anything.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Aged, dumpy, NOT a "resort""
This hotel is in dire need of remodeling. We were told our room was one of their best rooms and it was a nauseating and stained mustard color, cheap furnishings, an alarm clock that could not be shut off (and which housekeeping kept plugging back), and a completely inadequate bathroom (tiny). We could hear everything from the room next door and on Saturday […] morning we got to hear all the announcements for an amplified sports event being held in the parking lot. They charge a resort fee (which is why we came - a place near the city for our kids to swim) and their pool facilities are laughable. Evidently, you get access to a steam room and some fancy shower but I can get that when I go to my gym or get a massage at home. Also, room service food was horrible (but that's pretty common even in the best hotels). The staff was very nice. But, the place is a dump. We left ahead of schedule despite having paid for our room in advance. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
super friendly staff, great restaurants, beautiful grounds, views, and hotel.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We love your review! Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation for all that makes The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa such an amazing destination from our friendly associates, dining, views and more! We hope to see you again soon.
"Over priced and Arrogant"
Nice pool and beautiful old facility, but way overpriced for old style (1950s) room and a VERY arrogant staff.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Our property is rich with amazing history that dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush. Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel and pools. However, it is with great concern that we read the remainder of your feedback as providing excellent service is of utmost importance to us. Please know that someone from of our management team is always available should any issues arise during your stay and we will be certain to share your comments. It is our hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Price was a little high for the room accommodations. Service was great, location was perfect.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Expedia VIP status made no difference in room type"
We booked at last min a hit a good rate, but having stayed at the hotel many times this was the worse room ever! No robes no fridge or mini bar just overall in need of an update, can still be old school but kept up with the times of other 4/5 star hotelsGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While it is great to know you enjoyed staying with us in the past, we couldn’t be more disappointed by the experiences you have noted during your recent visit. Please know that someone here is always available to address any concerns you may have during your stay and we regret if any amenities were overlooked. Robes are typically offered in all guest rooms and refrigerators are available upon request. Thank you for your time.
"Parking sucks. No real restaurant."
This place lives off of its old reputation. It has no real restaurant. The wine bar is uncomfortable and over priced for the level of wines they serve.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your impressions. However, we are somewhat confused by your statements. We feature 2 distinct restaurants with bars but neither are strictly wine bars. We must apologize if your encounter was not more positive and hope you will consider visiting again so that we can provide you with the type of encounter you deserve as our valued guest.
"Fit for a Queen or King"
I will be back! 90 minutes in the Spa was Heavenly, and I enjoyed dining in the Restaurant Bay View sideGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great service, but the hotel itself is outdated.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not what I expected..."
First arrival, I went to check in, my room wasn't even ready when I really needed it to change and get ready for a function I needed to attend later in the day. One of the employee there told me they were fully booked and to come back later afternoon soooo I was very upset not able to get dress appropriately for the function. I was a complete mess. […] I thought this hotel was a 4 star hotel.... The hotel itself is nice... Old but nice but the staff is not what I expected... I would give this hotel a 4 star but the staff upset me... They upgraded my room to a bigger room which is nice but I got charged extra for it when they should of just gave it to me without any charge since they weren't ready for me when I first arrived. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Although we are glad you enjoyed the charm of our historic property, we never like to read when a guest feels their expectations weren't met in all ways. While it is not clear as to what time you arrived, it is truly disheartening to know that we missed the opportunity to create a better experience for you or if your accommodations were not ready at the time of your arrival. Typically our check in time is 4 PM. Please know that someone from our management team is always available should any concerns arise as we would be more than happy to provide you with a stay that exceeds all that you are looking for. Thank you for your time and candid review.
"Nice but outdated"
The ac unit would make a huge noise like water is running at all times. Room too close to the elevator . ( noise like you were in a casino)Genuine Expedia guest review
"Claremont Hotel has really great weather"
We signed up for the Elite Spa Suite with view of East Bay for five nights. The actual suite we were given was disappointing, with no view, in rear of building, first floor overlooking the gravel roof and air-conditioning units. Requested extra pillows, but never received any. The bed was comfortable. Room was clean. If you want to have a shaded seat […] near the pools, be sure to arrive early. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your visit to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your kind acknowledgement of our historic hotel is greatly appreciated. We must apologize if the view from your guest room, however, were not all that you had expected or if any requested amenities were not delivered. Please know that your comments are very important to us and we will be certain to share them with our associates. We hope that we can welcome you back soon.
"Beautiful old-world charm, and four pools"
We had a great time with our two boys under ten. Endless pool time swapping between the four pools with periodic smart breaks for water and sunscreen mandated by the lifeguards. Rooms are lovely, well appointed and call to an earlier time. Fantastic views of SF Bay and the city, and a poolside holiday barbecue party hosted by the hotel made for a very […] special fourth of July stay.Great activities and restaurants nearby. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Whether your visit is for a holiday or any day, a stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa can be a magical time. We couldn’t be happier to read your review and learn about all the activities you and your family enjoyed, both at the hotel as well as in the local area. From fun in the sun poolside to your visit to Tilden Park, it certainly seems as though you made the most of your visit. It is our hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to recreate your memorable visit. Thank you for your comments.
We really enjoyed our stay. There is a large pool area which had live jazz music while we were there. Later had drinks on patio of bar with a great view of the bay and San Francisco. Staff was very friendly. Room was comfortable.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate some quality time relaxing poolside, drink in hand, listening to the smooth sounds of live music. Our associates always hope to leave guests with a positive impression and will be thrilled that you found them to be so friendly. We hope to see you again soon.
"A Horrible Excuse for A Spa Hotel Experience!"
DO NOT expect to have a (4/Star - LUXURY) Spa/Hotel Experience. This place is definitly a 2.5 to 3.0 Star at best. There were so many "members of the club" using the pools and deck chairs, that we had to actually wait 30 mins. to sit. Hey, it seems to me, that if you are going to charge folks BIG $$$$ for a "luxury Spa Hotel stay, IT SHOULD NOT FEEL […] LIKE A HOLIDAY INN EXPERIENCE! HAVE A SEPERATE POOL FOR SPA GUESTS.... Your four star rating seems to be based on (GLORY YEARS IN THE 1920'S - 1950'S). ROOMS APPEAR NOT TO HAVE BEEN RENOVATED / UPDATED SINCE THE 1940's. We arrived for a one night stay on July fourth ( a major holiday), BUT there was only one person at the front desk. We stood in a very long line to check in. After finally making it to our (luxury room), we discovered it was simply a very small standard room, positioned on the second floor, at the back of the hotel, facing into SEVERAL open trash dumpsters, bushes/weeds. We did not get a snack basket, no robes or slippers as per marketing ad. We had to return to the front desk and demand a better room, robes, slippers and the promised "snack" basket. We got a basket, never got slippers, and finally got 2 robes at 8pm from a maintenance worker (after asking manager / housekeeper about 5 times.) Got home and were pretty peeved to see a charge to our visa for the basket and also an overcharge for the room. What a joke! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Three day stay"
This was our third stay at the Claremont Hotel. Our room was in the corner on the first floor, and as such we could hear the elevator ringing during the night. It was also smaller than I was lead to believe from the description and the price we paid. Our neighbors next door were very noisy our second night there. The water in the toilet circulated continuously […] and the handle did not work properly. They did fix it once they were notified. On the positive side, the spa experience was delightful, as was the Meritage restaurant and its staff. The Paragon was good on Friday, but marginal on Sunday, when the food was served cold and the hamburger bun was stale. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While it seems as if you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, from your initial dining experience to your time in our Spa, we must apologize if you were in any way disappointed with your accommodations. Every guest room in our hotel is completely unique from the next and our associates are always happy to help in any way they can. Your comments will be shared with everyone here as we continuously strive to provide the very best. We hope you will stay with us again for an even better experience. Thank you for sharing your impressions.
"Nice view, great staff"
Staff was very experienced, attentive and accommodating.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for your praise of the time you spent at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Views from our property can certainly be stunning and we are thrilled you enjoyed them as well as the hospitality of our associates. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again.
"Not what it appears to be!"
We opted for the Ocean View. It was a glimpse of the ocean after looking over a filthy roof in dire need of attention. The room was not very clean (splashed of coffee in the coffee/fridge area and finger prints on the closet door). The room was an odd shape which lead me to think that other rooms were better but I heard that all were "small". The furniture […] is what I would expect from a rummage sale...Why charge $269 for a room like this? We also got slapped with a $26 resort fee-we looked-nothing but screaming kids and a camp like feel. Not a Resort and Spa! We also had to pay for parking. I am a meeting planner/hotel consultant and I would have been appalled to have a meeting there or to suggest a client go for the resort and spa. Severely out of date/needs a remodel. I could not even offer the hotel an opportunity to correct the issue with my room or dispute the charge because the front desk was always busy. I know that because I even tried to call to get our car from the valet park and the phone rang and rang. We left our room with the phone ringing on the speaker phone and schlepped our luggage...out! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It's disappointing when a guest leaves feeling they did not have their expectations met, nor does it reflect the high standards of service that we have set. We urge all of our guests to let us know about any concerns that arise while they are here so that we can resolve any issues immediately. As you mentioned we charge for both parking and facility fees which are outlined during the booking process, but we do apologize if this was not more clear. Our facility fees provide an exciting array of amenities and activities for our guests to take advantage of like complimentary wireless Internet, access to our Spa and pools, unlimited fitness classes are more. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our associates to ensure that all is at its best for future stays. Thank you for sharing your opinions and thoughts.
"great property - rooms need updating"
I was excited to stay here but service could be improved. When I checked into my room I noticed my bathroom had hair on floor, sink and in shower so I called front desk. The front desk apologized and did nothing but provide me with complimentary water. I called front desk the next morning and asked to speak with house keeping manager and she came to […] my room and said no one told her about my room. Also, the fan in bathroom was broken and it was repaired. Service in restaurants were good. Friendly wait staff. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Everything about the place is excellent except the food.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your impression of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the service you received during your stay as well as use of our Club facilities. Please acceopt our apologies, however, if your dining experience was not as you hoped it would be. If there is anything we could have done differently, we would love to know. It is our hope to welcome you again.
I have stayed in several great hotels and was looking forward to a return visit to the Claremont. Although there is a certain grandeur to the hotel, it has certainly seen better days. The lobby and restaurants are passable, but the room in which I stayed was dingy and had an odor. Then, there are the electrical problems. One outlet in a room, which […] clearly needed to be updated, is hardly sufficient. The bathroom was horribly small and did not include a tub. The show was miniscule. The ceiling was sloped which made it even more confining. In addition, as much as I like birds, I do not find pigeons noisily mating on the skylight (the only "window" in the room) an especially amusing activity. While enjoying a late night cocktail, I ask the bartender about a piece of wine-tasting equipment that was centrally located behind the bar. He said it had been out of service for quite some time. On the bright side, the carpark service was exceptional. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is always our goal to provide the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort to our guests, so it is truly disappointing to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations and that your accommodations were not as you would have wished. All guest rooms at our historic property are completely different from each other and we apologize that you were not impressed in every way. We encourage all of our guests to share how we can make their visit the best it possibly can be and it is disheartening that we were unable to do that for you while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Thank you for your review.
Hadn't been there since 1965. Definitely a better experience. Lovely to be somewhere a little away from downtown Berkeley.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We couldn’t ask for a lovelier review, thank you! We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and learning what they enjoy about The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. It is a particular thrill to know you were able to come back to visit us after so many years! All of our guest rooms are completely unique, with views varying throughout. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it isn’t as long a wait as it would be our pleasure welcome you back.
"Friendly staff. Beautiful hotel. Great old charm!"
Love the architecture ! Friendly staff! Per friendly. Convenient location!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We love our guests! Thank you for sharing your fondness for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, we are thrilled that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Located in the heart of Bear Country, UC Berkeley is just steps from our door. It would be our pleasure to see you again, and we hope it’s soon!
"Very soothing respite with great views and service"
The place is great for a Berkeley stay. The amenities and rooms are terrific for families to enjoy.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Maybe time for a face lift for the Claremont?"
The hotel is pretty much due for remodeling for the decor seems dated and the carpet needs to be changed. Apart from that our room was lovely even if a little smaller than I thought it would be. The bathroom was wonderful and enormous; I think it was as big as the bedroom. The staff was really attentive and helpful, parking is overpriced.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
When we arrived, we were happy that we get an upgrade to a large room with view over San Francisco. Unfortunately, the room was next to a noisy outdoor fan so we asked for another room. We immediately got a new room. But to our surprise, it was a downgrade. We cannot understand how a hotel first upgrade a guest and then downgrade. We got a small room […] with no view and with no working air-condition. We noted a bottle of champagne and chocolate in the room. We asked in the lobby about the champagne and the chocolate, and we were informed that what was in the room belong to the room. On the evening before departure, the lobby called and asked if we had a bottle of champagne in our room. We responded that we had. The hotel wanted to collect the bottle. They sent a person to do so. We told about the room changes (the upgrade and then the downgrade) and that we were told the champagne belonged to the room. The hotel asked if they could send a bottle of champagne to the room. We were of course in no mood of sharing a bottle of champagne after the discussion...... We asked in an email the hotel how they felt about all this....still no response. Guess they feel ashamed. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )