The Claremont is a grand old hotel that was glorious in its heyday. The restaurants, function rooms and foyer remain impressive. The guest rooms are another story. We were in the Bay Area for personal reasons and chose the Claremont because of good past experience. The one thing we requested (and paid for) was a room with a full view of the Bay and […] SF. They told us it was a busy night (we were there for three and had reserved *long* before) and they only had one room available -- cramped, dark with an oblique view of the Bay). We asked for a better one. They put us in a bigger room that had a tiny window and a view from one corner of the room only. The next day they found what they described as "spectacular." It was smaller, darker and more cramped than the first room so we gave up -- dispirited and wondering if this is what happens when you reserve on hotels.com. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Anytime I'm in the Berkeley and Oakland area we stay at the Claremont. Great restaruants and Wine Bar. Great location and service. Rooms air condition is out dated and noisyGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Fantastic hotel and a truly wonderful, attentive staff.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"20th Wedding Anniversary"
We had a wonderful night at The Claremont on October 2, 2013. Every person we met on The Claremont staff was outstandingly wonderful. They made the stay quite special. Normally we can't afford to stay at hotels like The Claremont but it was special for a special event. Thank you for doing what you do so well. Jerry and Linda HalversonGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing such a lovely story with us. We are truly honored by your glowing review and love knowing that you and your wife enjoyed such a special occasion getaway at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. What could be a better way to celebrate such a momentous time than with luxurious accommodations and hospitable service? It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we hope that we can do it again soon. On behalf of everyone here, Happy 20th Anniversary.
"Wish we had more time"
Weekend wedding, so didn't get to fully experience the facilities. Everyone does their best to make you feel like you made a good choice in the Claremont.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience while staying at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with comfortable accommodations but we do hope that you were not too inconvenienced by the shower. Each of our guest rooms has something different to offer. Next time, be sure to take some time to enjoy the many amenities and activities, as you certainly won’t be disappointed. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
"Close to Greek Theater"
Difficult to find for us and for taxis. But beautiful rooms and service, and you cant beat the pool and other amenities!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Avoid the hillside"
Service, food and staff are excellent, beautiful location, gorgeous Spa facilities. My room went to the hill side which turned out to be the noisy back entrance of the hotel. Trucks maneuvering permanently below my window starting at 6.15 a.m. is not what I expect for this room rate and this hotel category. If the windows were not as old-fashioned as […] they are it might be ok. But they do not close tightly and need to be replaced urgently. On my complaint the front desk manager answered I should have spent the few extra dollars for a bay view room .... Thank you, sir. It was not available. But that was the only strange reaction I have come across. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for your comments. It is regrettable that your accommodations were not up to your expectations during your recent visit and that we missed several opportunities to create a better overall experience for you. As you mentioned, we do feature a variety of guest room types but we apologize if you were troubled in any way by sounds from outside your room. Your input and feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time taken to share your experience with us.
AC was not working and made it too hot to sleep comfortably in our roomGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Awesome anniversary experience!"
Hotel found out it was our anniversary. sent a bottle of wine to our room.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Write your comment.Happy Anniversary! We love knowing that you enjoyed your special occasion getaway with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Berkeley is filled with unique charm and is one of the greatest places to enjoy some people watching. We delight in providing personalized attention for each of our guests and while it is great to know you enjoyed the special occasion wine, it is disappointing that your Spa experience did not measure up completely to your expectations. Our Spa professionals always hope to provide the most relaxing, rejuvenating time for our guests and welcome your feedback during sessions. We hope you will visit again.
"beautiful property elegant charm"
4th stay this year.A wonderful suprise in the east bay.a resort with old world charm,and fine food and service.Highly recommend to travelers who expect the best,you wont be disappointedGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is always such a treat to read feedback from guests who have stayed at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa so frequently. Thank you for sharing your comments and appreciation for our hotel. We are indeed filled to the roof with old world charm and it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. We value your recommendation and are delighted you found our hotel to be such a wonderful surprise. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and again.
"THE BIG VICTORIAN ON THE HILL"
WE ENJOYED A WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE ROOM, COMFORTABLE, BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS, GOOD CLASSES (I TOOK A YOGA CLASS) AND HISTORIC. THE MAIN PROBLEM WAS FINDING HANDICAP PARKING ON THE WEEK END. THE PLACE IS BIG AND IT TOOK SOME TIME TO GET USED TO, BUT FUN TO EXPLORE. CROWDS OF KIDS IN THE POOLS AND JACCUZZI, SO WE DIDN'T GO IN. WE DIDN'T ENJOY THE RESTAURANT, […] THE PARAGON, WHICH WAS NOISY AND THE FOOD WAS BELOW AVERAGE. WE HAD AN IN ROOM BREAKFAST ONE MORNING, WHICH WAS NICE, THOUGH. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is such a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Built in the early days of the Gold Rush, our hotel offers a timeless elegance. Our Club facilities feature countless classes and the very best in fitness equipment. Yoga is a favorite with many of our guests and we are glad you agree. Each of our guest rooms is unique with different décor and amenities for our guests’ comfort. We must apologize if you were not as impressed with your dining experience. If there was anything we could have done differently we would love to know. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
Room was incredibly small bed was only a twin sheets had blood on them room smelled incredibly bad. I was offered a complimentary night stay but refused because conditions were so bad that I would rather pay to stay somewhere cleaner. This is my first time ever reviewing anything.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Aged, dumpy, NOT a "resort""
This hotel is in dire need of remodeling. We were told our room was one of their best rooms and it was a nauseating and stained mustard color, cheap furnishings, an alarm clock that could not be shut off (and which housekeeping kept plugging back), and a completely inadequate bathroom (tiny). We could hear everything from the room next door and on Saturday […] morning we got to hear all the announcements for an amplified sports event being held in the parking lot. They charge a resort fee (which is why we came - a place near the city for our kids to swim) and their pool facilities are laughable. Evidently, you get access to a steam room and some fancy shower but I can get that when I go to my gym or get a massage at home. Also, room service food was horrible (but that's pretty common even in the best hotels). The staff was very nice. But, the place is a dump. We left ahead of schedule despite having paid for our room in advance. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
super friendly staff, great restaurants, beautiful grounds, views, and hotel.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We love your review! Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation for all that makes The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa such an amazing destination from our friendly associates, dining, views and more! We hope to see you again soon.
"Over priced and Arrogant"
Nice pool and beautiful old facility, but way overpriced for old style (1950s) room and a VERY arrogant staff.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Our property is rich with amazing history that dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush. Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel and pools. However, it is with great concern that we read the remainder of your feedback as providing excellent service is of utmost importance to us. Please know that someone from of our management team is always available should any issues arise during your stay and we will be certain to share your comments. It is our hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Price was a little high for the room accommodations. Service was great, location was perfect.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Expedia VIP status made no difference in room type"
We booked at last min a hit a good rate, but having stayed at the hotel many times this was the worse room ever! No robes no fridge or mini bar just overall in need of an update, can still be old school but kept up with the times of other 4/5 star hotelsGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While it is great to know you enjoyed staying with us in the past, we couldn’t be more disappointed by the experiences you have noted during your recent visit. Please know that someone here is always available to address any concerns you may have during your stay and we regret if any amenities were overlooked. Robes are typically offered in all guest rooms and refrigerators are available upon request. Thank you for your time.
"Parking sucks. No real restaurant."
This place lives off of its old reputation. It has no real restaurant. The wine bar is uncomfortable and over priced for the level of wines they serve.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your impressions. However, we are somewhat confused by your statements. We feature 2 distinct restaurants with bars but neither are strictly wine bars. We must apologize if your encounter was not more positive and hope you will consider visiting again so that we can provide you with the type of encounter you deserve as our valued guest.
"Fit for a Queen or King"
I will be back! 90 minutes in the Spa was Heavenly, and I enjoyed dining in the Restaurant Bay View sideGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great service, but the hotel itself is outdated.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not what I expected..."
First arrival, I went to check in, my room wasn't even ready when I really needed it to change and get ready for a function I needed to attend later in the day. One of the employee there told me they were fully booked and to come back later afternoon soooo I was very upset not able to get dress appropriately for the function. I was a complete mess. […] I thought this hotel was a 4 star hotel.... The hotel itself is nice... Old but nice but the staff is not what I expected... I would give this hotel a 4 star but the staff upset me... They upgraded my room to a bigger room which is nice but I got charged extra for it when they should of just gave it to me without any charge since they weren't ready for me when I first arrived. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Although we are glad you enjoyed the charm of our historic property, we never like to read when a guest feels their expectations weren't met in all ways. While it is not clear as to what time you arrived, it is truly disheartening to know that we missed the opportunity to create a better experience for you or if your accommodations were not ready at the time of your arrival. Typically our check in time is 4 PM. Please know that someone from our management team is always available should any concerns arise as we would be more than happy to provide you with a stay that exceeds all that you are looking for. Thank you for your time and candid review.
"Nice but outdated"
The ac unit would make a huge noise like water is running at all times. Room too close to the elevator . ( noise like you were in a casino)Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our outdoor areas and hotel, It is truly disappointing when a guest leaves feeling they did not have their expectations met in all ways. We apologize if your peace was disrupted by the sounds of the elevator. We will take this as an opportunity to share your comments with our maintenance associates to ensure that the air conditioning unit is in its best condition. Someone from our management team is always available to all our guests should they have any concerns and it is disheartening to know that we were not given that opportunity to provide you with a better experience while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Thank you for providing your opinions and thoughts.
"Claremont Hotel has really great weather"
We signed up for the Elite Spa Suite with view of East Bay for five nights. The actual suite we were given was disappointing, with no view, in rear of building, first floor overlooking the gravel roof and air-conditioning units. Requested extra pillows, but never received any. The bed was comfortable. Room was clean. If you want to have a shaded seat […] near the pools, be sure to arrive early. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your visit to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your kind acknowledgement of our historic hotel is greatly appreciated. We must apologize if the view from your guest room, however, were not all that you had expected or if any requested amenities were not delivered. Please know that your comments are very important to us and we will be certain to share them with our associates. We hope that we can welcome you back soon.
"Beautiful old-world charm, and four pools"
We had a great time with our two boys under ten. Endless pool time swapping between the four pools with periodic smart breaks for water and sunscreen mandated by the lifeguards. Rooms are lovely, well appointed and call to an earlier time. Fantastic views of SF Bay and the city, and a poolside holiday barbecue party hosted by the hotel made for a very […] special fourth of July stay.Great activities and restaurants nearby. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Whether your visit is for a holiday or any day, a stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa can be a magical time. We couldn’t be happier to read your review and learn about all the activities you and your family enjoyed, both at the hotel as well as in the local area. From fun in the sun poolside to your visit to Tilden Park, it certainly seems as though you made the most of your visit. It is our hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to recreate your memorable visit. Thank you for your comments.
We really enjoyed our stay. There is a large pool area which had live jazz music while we were there. Later had drinks on patio of bar with a great view of the bay and San Francisco. Staff was very friendly. Room was comfortable.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate some quality time relaxing poolside, drink in hand, listening to the smooth sounds of live music. Our associates always hope to leave guests with a positive impression and will be thrilled that you found them to be so friendly. We hope to see you again soon.
"A Horrible Excuse for A Spa Hotel Experience!"
DO NOT expect to have a (4/Star - LUXURY) Spa/Hotel Experience. This place is definitly a 2.5 to 3.0 Star at best. There were so many "members of the club" using the pools and deck chairs, that we had to actually wait 30 mins. to sit. Hey, it seems to me, that if you are going to charge folks BIG $$$$ for a "luxury Spa Hotel stay, IT SHOULD NOT FEEL […] LIKE A HOLIDAY INN EXPERIENCE! HAVE A SEPERATE POOL FOR SPA GUESTS.... Your four star rating seems to be based on (GLORY YEARS IN THE 1920'S - 1950'S). ROOMS APPEAR NOT TO HAVE BEEN RENOVATED / UPDATED SINCE THE 1940's. We arrived for a one night stay on July fourth ( a major holiday), BUT there was only one person at the front desk. We stood in a very long line to check in. After finally making it to our (luxury room), we discovered it was simply a very small standard room, positioned on the second floor, at the back of the hotel, facing into SEVERAL open trash dumpsters, bushes/weeds. We did not get a snack basket, no robes or slippers as per marketing ad. We had to return to the front desk and demand a better room, robes, slippers and the promised "snack" basket. We got a basket, never got slippers, and finally got 2 robes at 8pm from a maintenance worker (after asking manager / housekeeper about 5 times.) Got home and were pretty peeved to see a charge to our visa for the basket and also an overcharge for the room. What a joke! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Three day stay"
This was our third stay at the Claremont Hotel. Our room was in the corner on the first floor, and as such we could hear the elevator ringing during the night. It was also smaller than I was lead to believe from the description and the price we paid. Our neighbors next door were very noisy our second night there. The water in the toilet circulated continuously […] and the handle did not work properly. They did fix it once they were notified. On the positive side, the spa experience was delightful, as was the Meritage restaurant and its staff. The Paragon was good on Friday, but marginal on Sunday, when the food was served cold and the hamburger bun was stale. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While it seems as if you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, from your initial dining experience to your time in our Spa, we must apologize if you were in any way disappointed with your accommodations. Every guest room in our hotel is completely unique from the next and our associates are always happy to help in any way they can. Your comments will be shared with everyone here as we continuously strive to provide the very best. We hope you will stay with us again for an even better experience. Thank you for sharing your impressions.
"Nice view, great staff"
Staff was very experienced, attentive and accommodating.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for your praise of the time you spent at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Views from our property can certainly be stunning and we are thrilled you enjoyed them as well as the hospitality of our associates. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again.
"Not what it appears to be!"
We opted for the Ocean View. It was a glimpse of the ocean after looking over a filthy roof in dire need of attention. The room was not very clean (splashed of coffee in the coffee/fridge area and finger prints on the closet door). The room was an odd shape which lead me to think that other rooms were better but I heard that all were "small". The furniture […] is what I would expect from a rummage sale...Why charge $269 for a room like this? We also got slapped with a $26 resort fee-we looked-nothing but screaming kids and a camp like feel. Not a Resort and Spa! We also had to pay for parking. I am a meeting planner/hotel consultant and I would have been appalled to have a meeting there or to suggest a client go for the resort and spa. Severely out of date/needs a remodel. I could not even offer the hotel an opportunity to correct the issue with my room or dispute the charge because the front desk was always busy. I know that because I even tried to call to get our car from the valet park and the phone rang and rang. We left our room with the phone ringing on the speaker phone and schlepped our luggage...out! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It's disappointing when a guest leaves feeling they did not have their expectations met, nor does it reflect the high standards of service that we have set. We urge all of our guests to let us know about any concerns that arise while they are here so that we can resolve any issues immediately. As you mentioned we charge for both parking and facility fees which are outlined during the booking process, but we do apologize if this was not more clear. Our facility fees provide an exciting array of amenities and activities for our guests to take advantage of like complimentary wireless Internet, access to our Spa and pools, unlimited fitness classes are more. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our associates to ensure that all is at its best for future stays. Thank you for sharing your opinions and thoughts.
"great property - rooms need updating"
I was excited to stay here but service could be improved. When I checked into my room I noticed my bathroom had hair on floor, sink and in shower so I called front desk. The front desk apologized and did nothing but provide me with complimentary water. I called front desk the next morning and asked to speak with house keeping manager and she came to […] my room and said no one told her about my room. Also, the fan in bathroom was broken and it was repaired. Service in restaurants were good. Friendly wait staff. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Everything about the place is excellent except the food.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you for sharing your impression of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the service you received during your stay as well as use of our Club facilities. Please acceopt our apologies, however, if your dining experience was not as you hoped it would be. If there is anything we could have done differently, we would love to know. It is our hope to welcome you again.
I have stayed in several great hotels and was looking forward to a return visit to the Claremont. Although there is a certain grandeur to the hotel, it has certainly seen better days. The lobby and restaurants are passable, but the room in which I stayed was dingy and had an odor. Then, there are the electrical problems. One outlet in a room, which […] clearly needed to be updated, is hardly sufficient. The bathroom was horribly small and did not include a tub. The show was miniscule. The ceiling was sloped which made it even more confining. In addition, as much as I like birds, I do not find pigeons noisily mating on the skylight (the only "window" in the room) an especially amusing activity. While enjoying a late night cocktail, I ask the bartender about a piece of wine-tasting equipment that was centrally located behind the bar. He said it had been out of service for quite some time. On the bright side, the carpark service was exceptional. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa It is always our goal to provide the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort to our guests, so it is truly disappointing to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations and that your accommodations were not as you would have wished. All guest rooms at our historic property are completely different from each other and we apologize that you were not impressed in every way. We encourage all of our guests to share how we can make their visit the best it possibly can be and it is disheartening that we were unable to do that for you while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Thank you for your review.
Hadn't been there since 1965. Definitely a better experience. Lovely to be somewhere a little away from downtown Berkeley.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We couldn’t ask for a lovelier review, thank you! We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and learning what they enjoy about The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. It is a particular thrill to know you were able to come back to visit us after so many years! All of our guest rooms are completely unique, with views varying throughout. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it isn’t as long a wait as it would be our pleasure welcome you back.
"Friendly staff. Beautiful hotel. Great old charm!"
Love the architecture ! Friendly staff! Per friendly. Convenient location!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We love our guests! Thank you for sharing your fondness for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, we are thrilled that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Located in the heart of Bear Country, UC Berkeley is just steps from our door. It would be our pleasure to see you again, and we hope it’s soon!
"Very soothing respite with great views and service"
The place is great for a Berkeley stay. The amenities and rooms are terrific for families to enjoy.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Maybe time for a face lift for the Claremont?"
The hotel is pretty much due for remodeling for the decor seems dated and the carpet needs to be changed. Apart from that our room was lovely even if a little smaller than I thought it would be. The bathroom was wonderful and enormous; I think it was as big as the bedroom. The staff was really attentive and helpful, parking is overpriced.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
When we arrived, we were happy that we get an upgrade to a large room with view over San Francisco. Unfortunately, the room was next to a noisy outdoor fan so we asked for another room. We immediately got a new room. But to our surprise, it was a downgrade. We cannot understand how a hotel first upgrade a guest and then downgrade. We got a small room […] with no view and with no working air-condition. We noted a bottle of champagne and chocolate in the room. We asked in the lobby about the champagne and the chocolate, and we were informed that what was in the room belong to the room. On the evening before departure, the lobby called and asked if we had a bottle of champagne in our room. We responded that we had. The hotel wanted to collect the bottle. They sent a person to do so. We told about the room changes (the upgrade and then the downgrade) and that we were told the champagne belonged to the room. The hotel asked if they could send a bottle of champagne to the room. We were of course in no mood of sharing a bottle of champagne after the discussion...... We asked in an email the hotel how they felt about all this....still no response. Guess they feel ashamed. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
A grand old hotel with a wonderful ambiance. The rooms are a little dated, but it does not take away from the charm/character. Staff was outstanding.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Built in the early days of the Gold Rush, our historic hotel is certainly filled with the ambiance of years gone by, but certainly not short in modern convenience. We will be sure to share your kind words with everyone here! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
"Excellent Hotel Experience"
Excellent hotel experience! Helpful staff; good restaurants; great spaGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa Thank you so much for your feedback! From helpful service to delicious dining and more, we couldn’t be happier to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We hope to welcome you back again for another excellent visit.
The exterior of the Claremont is stellar, the grounds immaculate. The lobby and common rooms are gracious and elegant. The service was excellent. Our room was not as remarkable as the rest of the public areas: standard decor and furniture, older plumbing and set up in bathroom. There were 2 of us and only 1 bathrobe, something we were looking forward […] to both luxuriating in. The advertised rates were $70.00 less than charged, d/t fees added for using the hotel grounds and equipment. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Disappointing older hotel needs an upgrade"
What a disappointing stay. We spent two nights over Spring break and were told there was a two-hour wait for room service coffee on Easter morning! Can you imagine not hiring enough employees to provide coffee to your guests? There weren't even enough employees to keep the hotel restaurant/bar open past 9PM. There was no complimentary coffee in the […] lobby and the hotel staff seemed rather unhappy to be working there. Ugh! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Berkeley location"
Great front desk staff Great restaurant food. Great views.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa We love our location as well! Thank you for sharing your impressions of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa as well as your appreciation for the service you received from our associates. We must apologize if you found anything amiss with your accommodations. Or hotel maintains a strict no-smoking policy and provides an exterior designated smoking area for people who choose to smoke. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay!
"front desk a wasteland"
The front desk is dramatically understaffed, resulting in long waits to both make a reservation, check in, or get follow through on the requests made when checking in (we requested a crib at the front desk and evidently that request was never filed with housekeeping, so we had to call it in again and waited a long time to get anyone on the line).Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"On a String..."
The Hotel is, of course, gorgeous. But it appears as if all the money has been put into the Lobby and Spa. The rooms hint of their former glory, but are done on a Best Western budget. For example, the tiling in the bathrooms is the cheapest possible white ceramic. The lighting is poor. It just doesn't wow. The exterior of this amazing property is clearly […] in need of a makeover and shows its dirt and stains prominently. The roof needs badly to be replaced. The walk to The Club is oddly not pedestrian friendly - is a service road for club members. The Club is also in need of a refresh - needs new carpeting for example. Be careful about the surcharges at this property - we paid $50 per night over and above the rate quoted on the teaser rate on Hotels.com. All in all, there are few nice properties to choose from in the East Bay - this is the grandaddy, but sadly is not entirely impressive. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"need for improvement"
Hotel personnel were courteous. Common areas were too often unclean...e.g. empty and dirty food containers left on tables and floors for hours; dry food between sofa and chair cushions; fabric coverings often soiled...especially in club locker room entrance area. Both fastening screws in magnifying mirror in bathroom to room were pulling loose and condition […] was not corrected despite notice. Paragon service, food and drinks were exceptional...especially view on veranda. Morning breakfast (Heritage?) sit down service and food was wonderful. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Great health club and location.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Older hotel with lots of charm but..."
The location of the hotel can't be beat, and the architecture is beautiful. I had a phenomenal spa experience. However, the hotel is old and that is part of the experience. Newer hotels tend to be designed so that there is more distance between the exterior hallway and the beds, but in my room, the bed was just steps away from the door, meaning that […] any conversation in the hallway was heard clearly in my room as well. Also, my $265 room had a lovely view of the trash facility out back. I would recommend that the hotel could invest in either some landscaping to block the view with trees or shrubs, or at least keep the doors of the trash shed closed at all times so that at least it is a little less obvious. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa While we are so glad to learn you enjoyed the location and the beauty of our historic hotel, it is disappointing to learn that you were at all troubled by any other aspect of your stay with us or if sounds from outside your guestroom were of any disruption to your peace. We will be sure to share your suggestions with our management team to ensure a more positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back again so that we have the opportunity to provide you with the type of experience you deserve, thank you for your candid feedback.
A great spa and fitness center, but the hotel in itself is in need of a large scale renovation. The rooms are small and aged.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Old hotel thatvis living off former glory"
Old room that is in big need of updating. Poor service: no shampoo or conditioner, or robes. Room service took forever to bring these items. great location and setting. At $350 a weekend night, this hotel is way too steep for what you get.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Great experience when staff went out of their way to get my daughter and me onto the day spa. Thank you, Claremont!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )