"My choice for Missoula"
Great hotel! Staff is competent, friendly, & helpful; adequate parking; room recently remodeled & very spacious; very quiet & convenient. All the right bells & whistles. The only negative was that when I checked in, one of the first things I saw was a large gob of long, black, curly hair on top of the stack of washcloths in the bathroom, and a couple […] of the same hairs on the bathtub. Eew. I have short, white hair: wasn't mine. The housekeeping staff was very nice about replacing the washcloths and removing the hair gob, but still ..... that kinda colored the entire experience. I'd say, definitely stay here, but check the room over first. For those of you with stair-climbing issues .... stay on the first floor. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Just okay on all fronts."
Not the nicest Red Lion I've ever stayed in, but still nicer than a motel 6. Everything about it was just okay... But not bad. Room was clean. My two biggest complaints were that 1) the walls were very thin and you could hear trains going by at all hours and b) the AC was the most obnoxious thing I've ever heard (to the point of jarring me awake whenever […] it would restart in the middle of the night.) I wouldn't stay here again, but can't complain for the $60 rate I got. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Bad front desk employee"
The showerhead was broken when I talked to the person at the front desk she was of no help. The service was by far the worst I have ever had at any hotel I have stayed at. The lady at the desk had no idea of anything going on. I asked for a couple plastic cups as I was explaining to her what plastic cups are I found them myself. My friend that I was […] staying with asked some simple question about places to eat or just locations of certain things she had no idea of anything that was going on. Every time you asked her a question she just had a dumb look on her face as if you asked her how time travel works in theory. When I told her about the shower head I got absolutely no response. I had suggested she inform her maintenance person or at least let me talk to him about it. She said "Well he is here if you want to talk to him you can wait" I sat in the lobby for over an hour just to find out that she had never even let the maintenance guy know I was waiting for him. I was never greeted with a smile or even a simple how are you doing today. I will not be staying at the red lion again based on the simple fact that this front desk person had no idea what customer service is about. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Horrible. Absolutely horrible."
Hotel service was horrible. I booked on Hotels.com and paid in full at booking. The hotel would not allow me to check out without paying them. They threatened to call the police if I left without paying. They ended up charging my card for the full booking anyway. Later that day, they called to say it was a mistake but no apology. It took three days […] for the he bank to release the funds back to my account that Red Lion held. I'll NEVER stay at a Res Lion again and I'm not sure I'll use Hotels.com again either. Sad. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. In looking at your reservations, I see that we charged Hotels.com for your reservations, not your credit card. It is required that all guests provide a credit card upon checkin for incidentals, and we place a $25 hold on them for the duration of your stay, but there are no charges to your card. I am sorry that you had a bad experience, but this is not typical, and hope that you give the brand a chance again in the future.
"Room hard to find"
Comfortable bed! Fan not noisy. Room numbers need to be more visible from the parking area, hard to find. I will stay again. Hotels.com has the best price...Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you for taking the time to complete a review! We will be installing new numbers on the doors (not the doorways) very soon! We look forward to your next visit.
"Don't get a ground floor room"
The room was adequate and clean. However, because I had a room on the ground floor, I was ill-prepared for the noise that occurred when the room right above me became inhabited. The noise from the person's footsteps interfered with my rest. Because the motel had steps to the second floor, I chose a ground room. Never again!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you experienced so much noise during the night. I hope to see you again, and we will always do our best to accommodate your requests.
"Ok for off season price"
Check in person had minimal greeting skills & offered no information. The heater fan was noisey. Not many customers, but those staying were all clustered together in one area...spreading us out would have given all more privacy & reduced noise. Breakfast was good & the lobby area was pleasant.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you for taking the time to write a review! All feedback, good or bad, is important to us. We are always training our desk agents to improve and pride ourselves on being able to provide as much information as possible. I apologize that your check in experience did not leave a good impression. We hope you return for another visit so we can give you a better guest experience.
"heading to Billings. Would diffenetly stay again."
Enjoyed our stay except parking lot and walkway was ice.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we will definitely make sure to put down ice melt when necessary.
Front desk staff not very welcoming upon arrival.. Cleaning staff very nice.. Breakfast pretty standard but good.. Shower design poor.. Room comfortableGenuine Expedia guest review
The hotel is located on the highway about four or five blocks from the downtown area. They serve a good breakfast with lots of variety. There were gaps around the door to the room and cold air came in..brrr. However, it is reasonably priced so there is value for your money.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Missoula Red Lion"
I was dissatisfied with the overall stay. From the exterior, the hotel rooms did not appear "welcoming". The drapes were pulled in all of the rooms and were dishevelled. Appeared unkempt... sloppy. The heater in my first room did not work at all (temps in the teens outdoors). Moved to a second room. Initially very cold, and did not warm up above low […] 60's in the room. Very chilly night. No extra blanket in the room. Well used furniture. Table top next to the lounge chair was greasy... not clean. Carpet was well worn. Wallpaper pealing away in spots. I am typically happy with the Red Lion chain. This time, however, I was dissatisfied. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Friendly, unobtrusive staff; Easily accessible roomGenuine Expedia guest review
"Just acceptable overnight in a pinch."
It was below zero outside and the heat was problematic; I had to keep turning it off and on to get it to work. In general the cleanliness was OK but small details had been overlooked, such as the tray with coffee and tea items was dirty. That cast doubt on the thoroughness of the rest of the cleaning. The facility was "pet friendly". I began sneezing […] as soon as I entered the room but I have never had an allergy to animals so I think the room was not well cleaned The hand towel hanger fell off of the wall when I took the towel, just a simple matter of tightening a screw. I will not stay here again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
AC unit was to loud.Needs some tlc in the bath room shower.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good basic comfort"
Comfortable room, good location near river and downtown.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you so much for the great review! We so pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel. We appreciate your business, and hope you have the chance to visit us in the near future.
"close to downtown"
A nice hotel, close to downtown, walking distance to St. Patricks hospital and other sites in Missoula. The pool and hot tub are outside, so they are seasonal, and were therefore closed.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Last time at the Red Lion"
I have stayed here multiple times, and this last visit confirmed for me that it will be my last. The room is dated, with very few electrical outlets, and a super loud heating/AC unit that sounds like a freight train as it turns on and off. The other two rooms I have seen at this hotel are similar. You are really paying to stay close to downtown at these […] rates - the chains out on the highways are much nicer/newer and cost about the same. For a small amount more, the Doubletree and Holiday Inn downtown are so much nicer. After we checked out, we realized that we left a computer cord in the room. We have called multiple times about it and can't even get a call back from anyone. We had pretty much determined this was our last time at the Red Lion after a sleepless night battling the AC unit, but the lack of customer service after check-out confirmed we won't be staying at the Red Lion again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the loud heater in your room and the lack of electrical outlets. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! I spoke with you as soon as I was made aware of your missing computer cord. Unfortunately, it was not located, and a credit for the replacement value was made to your account. Please contact me directly at the hotel if this has not been resolved. We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.
"... peeling wall paper, dirty carpets, etc."
I was very disturbed by the low standards of cleanliness and presentation of the room.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice, clean, and comfortable"
Other than the fact that I paid $50.00 to much by booking through Expedia, my stay was very comfortable. I was there for a medical procedure, which went well, and the staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable, and I will stay ther again at the end of this month, booking the room myself, NOT through EXPEDIA !!Genuine Expedia guest review
Loved the comfortable beds, big rooms, microwave and fridge. Great breakfast. Disappointed pool and hot tub closed as temp was in 70's and would have enjoyed it. Otherwise no complaintsGenuine Hotels.com guest review
It was a perfect place to stay and enjoy the Downtown area, as well as an easy trip to the park for the ALS walk. My only issue was that every time we left the room and came back, my room keys did not work. Very Very frustrating. But a nice breakfast, the staff, well, you could tell that it was just a paycheck, no Red Lion loyality, but they were nice […] and helpful. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
I booked the room online and the photo of the hotel and area was a new hotel with indoor pool and spa. When I arrived for check in....it was a very dated hotel with peeling paint and dirty outdoor pool. the spa was full of bugs.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Clean, updated hotel. Breakfast every morning."
The hotel was clean and comfortable. Interior was up dated. We were able to check in early (1pm) and check out at noon. They served breakfast every morning (eggs, sausage or bacon, cereal, waffles, toast, juice, etc). My only complaint was that they say breakfast is served until 10am but they closed it early one morning we were there.Genuine Expedia guest review
"good older ,ho tub not working!!!"
sad the hot tub was broke , nice room for price . good breakfastGenuine Expedia guest review
Staff was cooperative. Heating/cooling unit had an electrical short, probably in wall outlet, and was very difficult to increase or decrease heat due to 'short circuit'. Room was quiet. Great location on river, near parks and trails, downtown and hospital. Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker in room were appreciated.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Good location, good amenities"
We stay here all the time whenever we are in town. Consistently good. We'll keep coming back.Genuine Expedia guest review
The staff was great the service was good and the overall condition of the room was great. Will definitely stay again and will recommend to friends good location to spend some time in MissoulaGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Good weekend experience.Guest laundry room inadequate. Get to breakfast early.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice hotel close to downtown"
A very nice motel, nice breakfast and great outdoor pool.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Filthy furniture, dusty, smelly room."
First room had terrible smell, chair filthy and stained. Second room had a little better scent, but filthy, stained chair, dust everywhere. A running water noise heard constantly. Flimsy walls, heard every car door slam, people coughing. Terrible experience.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Its value when compared to double tree or other establishments was excellent. It was $100 less per day. They were doing a lot of improvements when we stayed, so there was a lot of clutter, but it was for good reason.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel, comfortable and spacious room"
We had a spacious 2 queen bed room, on the second floor. It was near the pool and that got a little noisy, but it quieted down at night, so no problems sleeping. The room is quite large, one of the largest we had, and clean, and with quality accomodations. Except the TV. Old and the cable service not very reliable. They had Direct TV, but some channels […] were doubled and some were scrambled, although they appeared as available in the line-up. So I would recommend something be done about that. We liked that they have a large counter in the bathroom for all the toiletries we carry, and another sink in the room, that is very convenient. Also, the tea and coffee in the room. They had a good breakfast, cereals, eggs, sausage, yogurt, waffles, tea, coffee, juices. It was a great stay, and I would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly. Staff was very helpful and friendly, made us feel welcome. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula I would like to thank you for your review and I am happy to see that you were enjoyed your stay. Any feedback we receive from our guests, good or bad, assists us in making our have a more enjoyable stay. We will certainly look into the issues regarding the TV channels, and we are in the process of updating all of our TVs, as well as updating to HD programming. We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.
Nothing real special about this hotel. Front desk was nice, room was fine, except mattress very soft and worn, pool was okay, and the location was a good long walk from down town.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Extension cords strung in room. Light bulbs out and not replaced. Pool area very dirty. Worst Red Lion I have ever experiencedGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the lack of attention to detail in your room, as this is certainly not the type of experience we want our guests to have. We look forward to creating a more comfortable experience for you in the future.
"Nice hotel. Good location."
Good value for money. Room was comfortable- a little noise from people talking outside, but otherwise fine. Safeway grocery store conveniently located right next door. Lots of parking on-site.Genuine Expedia guest review
The grounds of the hotel were filthy cigarette butts broken toys, and all the employees walking right past coffee cups on the fence. Dead wasp traps were not attractive next to the pool. the lounge chairs next to the pool three were broken and ripped. the room was ok , the mattress was good but the smell in the room was bad.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula The experience you had with our team is extremely disappointing. We review every guest comment and address each of them with our staff and team leads. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to every guest and clearly we failed to do that during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you experienced with the overall cleanliness of the hotel will be looked into and addressed accordingly.
"Loud air conditioner"
The air conditioner was portable and so loud!!!!!! Could not even hear the tv. Carpet was dirty. Breakfast was not good. Would not stay there again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. Please accept my apologies that your air conditioner was so loud! We are in the process of replacing ALL of our units with new, permanent units. While the portable units are temporary, but I am sorry that made your stay unsatisfactory.
Convenience , to downtown shopping ,and concert we were attending. Poor air conditioner!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Adequate overnighter ..."
It's an old structure. One ice machine was not working and the other was overworked.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Exactly what we wanted."
We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I would definitely stay here again. The room was spacious, with a large TV, a microwave, a coffee maker, and a small refrigerator. It was nice and clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was good-sized. When we arrived, the young man who checked us in was friendly and gave us some good suggestions […] about restaurants that were within walking distance from the property. He was very knowledgeable about the area and also gave us advice on the best way to get where we were going. There is a small outdoor pool, although we did not try it out. The only complaint I had is that the shower had poor water pressure and it took longer for us to get ready that usual, but it was by no means a huge inconvenience. I would not hesitate to recommend the Red Lion Inn to anyone visiting Missoula. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
The inn is actually a motel with outside-entrance rooms, loud individual a/c units, and a number of permanent residents. It's also not really within walking distance of anything interesting. It basically should be a $60 affair. We paid $130.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Air conditioner loud, ran at only one speed (wouldn't switch). TV volume often changed between channels, sometimes becoming so loud I'm certain it could be heard in adjoining rooms. Receptionist got the last names of myself and my friend (who was booked in a separate room) mixed up at least four or five times on a rather quiet afternoon at the front […] desk. Since he goes about 6-5 and 350 pounds and I'm about a foot shorter and 150 pounds lighter, that seemed somewhat strange and unprofessional. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Cleanliness of room/hotel and Hotel location. All GOOD.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Dated and dingy."
This is not the experience I expect from a Hotel.com hotel.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel based on the experience during your stay. You are a valued guest and we do hope that you will stay with Red Lion Hotels again in the future.
"Nice hotel but A/C unit not working"
Portable AC unit in room that had a large pipe that had to feed out the window I guess for condensation. It looked like a dehumidifier, not sure, Either way the window had to stay open which was a little unnerving in a new town. Otherwise room was very spacious, clean, and staff was courteous.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula Thank you for taking the time to complete a review! We appreciate all guest feedback and would like you to know that we are in the process of installing new air conditioning units in all of our rooms. We hope to see you in the future, where we'll be able to keep you cool with a closed window!
"In the heart of the city"
This is a motel-type building. Rooms open to the parking lot. The outside of the hotel is dated and in need of refreshing. It's obvious that the rooms have been refurbished. Clean and nice quality furnishings. The air conditioning in our room was portable, but effective. Within walking distance of restaurants. Short breakfast hours... done at 9:00. […] Less than impressive food. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"clean and comfortable"
very comfortable room - clean and quite and everything worked great breakfast helpful staffGenuine Expedia guest review
"Horrible Hotel in Every Way -- AVOID!"
This was a horrible hotel. We booked a King room and received a Queen. The temperature outside was 91 degrees and the room had NO air conditioning. The front desk had no interest in these issues. The property is old and used up. Avoid this property.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the air conditioning not working in your room. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and have issued a partial refund. We would like you to know that we are in the process of installing new air conditioning units into ALL of our rooms, so please give us another try in the future.
"I will never stay there again!"
I will not stay over there again. I had a credit card that they had on file from when I reserved my hotel. To hold a room. Being it was a business card I can't bring it with me. I had the cash to pay for the room.. The manager and desk clerk were arguing back and forth with each other. They gave me the creepiest room ever. I will never go back again, […] I hope they don't treat their other customers that way. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Inn Missoula We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding condition of your room. I would like to apologize for any unprofessionalism that you witnessed as well. Please be assured that we will certainly address your concerns with our staff. You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
"Well located. Easy access to downtown, river front"
We picked this hotel for location which is its best feature. It shows some signs of its age, but was clean, comfortable and well appointed. One day our room did not get serviced, but it was no problem getting towels, etc.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )