The hotel was very clean, the hotel staff was spectacular, it was a great place to stay while we were passing through. Would definitely stay again!! My son has requested that all of our future hotel stays are at a Red Lion. :)Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not up to standards"
Requested several times to have the pillow top removed from the bed as I don't sleep well on soft mattresses. Door to room was out-of-balance in that you had to lift the handle to lift the door every time you opened and closed the door to the room. Room wasn't serviced one day during the 6 night stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice 3-Star Stay"
I had a perfectly acceptable 3-star expectation stay at this property. I wanted someplace clean, reasonably priced, and reasonably comfortable, and I got what I paid for. The bed and pillows were very nice, which is probably most important for me when I'm traveling. Not luxury, but very comfortable. Room amenities were standard for a 3-star place. I […] felt safe, which is also important. My one complaint is that my room was near the elevator and I swear I heard every *ding* it made -- and it was a busy evening, so there was a lot of guest-movement noise. No one was obnoxious, but I kept wishing the walls were a bit thicker. I'd stay here again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Attended a convention on site,"
Over all my stay was fine, My one comment is that the shower had very little water pressure and hot water was sporadic. The close proximity to the Columbia River was great!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Extremely friendly and clean. However, building itself seems to be suffering from rot. Also, broken lightbulb and computer black-out, and possibly understaffed led to some snafus. That said, we enjoyed Vancouver, the location of the hotel (except for being in the flight path of Portland airport).Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not As Good As It Used To Be"
The hotel is looking a bit worn out. I hadn't visited it for about 6 years. The carpet in our room was disgusting. However, the service in the bar was really good.The waitress was efficient, well informed and friendly.The front desk hadn't run my credit card for some reason (sloppy), so I couldn't use my room number and get everything on the same receipt. […] She sorted it out. The view across the river is great, but there isn't anything to do (other than run) in the area around the hotel in the evening. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Although the hotel is a bit dated, It was comfortable and and clean. When I went to make coffee there was a bug in the cup. I don't think it was due to uncleanliness, however. My view of the Columbia River was really nice and added to the experience. The room was quiet and I was able to rest well. The hotel was within walking distance of the town square […] and I enjoyed the weekend market. Parking was plentiful and overall my experience was positive. I would consider staying here again. I hope they get a chance to remodel and upgrade the exterior so it's more attractive and welcoming. The interior needs some help too but the exterior was pretty bad. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Dirty, damp, moldy, musty smelling"
Wow, must have been something before the management lost to the battle to mild and filth. I stayed here on the recommendation of a co worker that might have not stayed here for 20 years. There was mold on the end of the mattress against the wall. I would not recommend it.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay We apologize your room did not meet the cleanliness standards expected from our facility that we strive to achieve. Our goal is to provide an enjoyable stay and friendly service to all of our guests. We hope you return in the future for a more pleasant stay that meets your expectations.
The location is great, there is a brewery just down the street if you are into the local brewery scene. Also a food truck and coffee shop within 2 to 3 blocks of the hotel.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We had asked for a room close to our party. That was ignored even though we had reserved our room months in advance. My husband has a heart condition and he had to walk a long distance to get to and from the room.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay We apologize for not being able to take care of your request of being near your party and for the issue it caused during your stay. In the future we hope you stay with us again and are able to accommodate your needs.
"Great for providing conference requirements"
Great staff- friendly, helpful. Glad they allow pets at Red Lion at the Quay (Vancouver, Washington), even though mine could not come this time. Parking was free and adequate for my needs. Loved the river view from room & conference rooms. Saturday Farmers Market nearby was a delight.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Guests and staff were too noisy. Shower was not well cleaned.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Outdated, musty, and disappointing"
We were saddened by the state of this hotel. Everything feels very run down, and in desperate need of updating. The room smelled so musty that we had to leave the window open for a few hours. There was not much room to move about, few outlets, and nothing special about the room. We left for the day, after our first night, and our room was never cleaned. […] Several times we went to the hotel restaurant and found it to be adequate food, but overpriced, and with a small selection. Overall, we were very disappointed. We travel a lot and we will not return. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the odor in your room. I would like to apologize for your room not being cleaned as well. We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future. Kind Regards
Disappointed with the room. Dirty rag hanging front the top of the shower, enough hot water for almost one shower, the second shower was cold. The gentle man at the front deck said the next time I'm in town he would make it up to me. Sorry but there won't be a next time.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very much for your review. I am disappointed to hear that we presented so poorly during your visit. It is our objective to provide clean rooms and friendly service. I apologize for the lack of attention to detail in the area of Housekeeping. We will address these issues with our teams.We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to review the areas that we need to improve. I hope that you will consider visiting again to give us another chance when you are in the area.
While the hallways show the age, the rooms are excellent! My dog and I I had a lovely stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
"Fun, convenient, gorgeous views."
Loved the views, especially from the restaurant. Lovely landscaping, too. Unfortunately, a cockroach flew out of the blow dryer while in use. Wife & kids were a bit traumatized.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great views, close in to town."
The property as with most Red lions is older, but a nice place to stay.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Don't stay here"
The hotel was old and dingy. Do not stay here.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay I am disappointed that the hotel's appearance impacted your stay. Our property is a little long in the tooth and showing some age, but we strive to overcome these wrinkles with great service. With a bright future for the hotel, we look to freshen things up and make appreciable improvements in the coming months. Thank you for your honest feedback, it will help us improve! -Paul Thornton, General Manager
"live band always a plus"
What a beautiful scenery. This place has a great bar with live music. Always a fun time.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Bad, Bad experience"
The Hotel was dark and dank. I asked for a 2nd floor room for security reasons and they refused to give it to me even though the hotel was largely empty. the handle on the shower stall was broken and only icy cold water would come out. When I went to check out & register my complaint about the shower I had to wait for five minutes for someone to show […] up at the front desk. Very bad -- this hotel used to be my favorite in the area but has gone way down hill. Also the parking lot was poorly maintained. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize that the front desk did not provide you with friendly and welcoming service. I would like to apologize for the shower not working properly and that you did not have any hot water. We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels. We will most definitely take this feedback and share it with our staff. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit. Kind Regards
"I would stay here again"
I really appreciated being walking distance from our weekend event yet being able to stay at a quieter, more humble hotel. The restaurant was also terrific. Good food and a nice, calming view of the river. I will definitely stay here again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very much for your review! We really enjoyed your group and look forward ot having you back!
all was okay except front desk young lady on checking in. She couldn't find reservations at 1st.. claimed the computer had a glitch.. Didn't have my request for a possible river view that I typed in when I made my reservations..... basically made me feel stupid cause I didn't book room thru their reservation system in Spokane. Why, in more cases then […] not, are front desk employee's usually unfriendly? Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your feedback. This is really not the impression we wish to leave our guests with. Each person that visits our facility has an opportunity to review our accommodations and share that experience with others, online or in person. We want our guests to feel important and know that we value their choice to stay with us. We will share your feedback with our staff and strive to demonstrate the importance of welcoming each and every visitor. This is very helpful! I hope that you will visit again when you are in the area.
"Beautiful river view and great restaurant"
The front desk staff greeted us well and were very attentive and friendly. The hotel was very clean, including the room and everything in it. They have a great restaurant with a river view, that serves very good food, and the staff were also very friendly. The downtown is very close to this hotel and everything was walkable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very kindly for your review. We really appreciate the feedback. Please visit again soon!
Convenient location, beautiful view of the river, but the property is old and not very well mantained.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review of our facility. We appreciate your feedback. Until very recently our hotel was pending closure due to a major bridge construction project. Fortunately, the project was suspended so we are now in the process of making much needed updates. We sincerely hope that you will return to see what we've done with the place! Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.
Just stayed for a night to get away, was comfortable and clean. Decent for the price, but maybe a little over priced for the food as it was average at best (room service). Enjoyed the stay. Quiet, nice decor, friendly staff.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very much! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you back!
We were moving out of state and NEEDED a place to stay! The ONLY saving Grace for this hotel was that is was close to my employer so it was "convenient". I have lived in the area for decades and never gave this location a thought because when I had gone there in the past it was run down, smelled horrid, and was in need of SERIOUS updates.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Quay during your transition. I apologize that the experience did not meet your expectations. The good news is that our hotel is no longer pending closure so we will be updating beginning this year! We recognize the need for the improvements as well. However, it is always our objective to provide a clean and friendly environment for our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review. I hope that you will stop in when you're in the area to see what kind of changes we're making!
The tv was hard to watch there was mold in shower. The bed was very comfortable. I felt they gave us a shabby room because it was discounted. Everything else was fine.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your selected room didn't meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide quality service and a clean product for all of our guests regardless of the rate. We are in the process of updating our hotel and we will be installing new televisions before the end of the year. I hope that you will visit us again soon to see what exciting changes we are making.
The restaurant could use some help! Hotel staff were superbGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review!
Nice hotel. Helpful staff.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review!
Beds uncomfortable, shower slicker didn't work properly, hair all over bathroom floor behind door. Other than that, it was fun.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Old hotel, smells musty and moldy."
Very outdated building, both inside and out. The bar and restaurant were closed by 9 and were also outdated. If you like bad smells and lots of outside noise then this would probably be a dream come true.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is kind of funny...nobody really likes noise or bad smells, right?! It is true though, in our location there is a lot of air, boat and train traffic. Some of the rooms are better protected from the noise than others. Our Front Desk can always help select a good sleeping room for light sleepers. The good news is that our hotel is no longer pending closure so we will be doing some of the much needed updates! We will be excited to share our improvements and we hope you will choose to visit us again!
"Lovely hotel, beautiful location and great value"
Had a lovely one night stay. The bar was good fun there too.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you back again soon!
"Only one night "
Very courteous and helpful staff. The room was very nice.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our facility. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again!
"Great Place Great Staff"
We were looking for a quick hotel, the price was great, staff was great, and everything was really clean.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very much for posting such a great review of our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again.
location is good.but the equipment is too old.old TVGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Great news! Our facility is no longer pending closure so we will be updating our televisions and many other items! Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future!
There was no room service whrn there shpild have beenGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Nice enough place in a good location, but it does need updating.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Great news! Our facility is no longer pending closure so we will be updating our facility soon! Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future!
After staying in hotels on the coast that for the same amount of $ were less than appealing, we really enjoyed our stay at this Red Lion. It was very nice inside, though perhaps a bit old fashioned. The rooms were well kept, all non-smoking (which is a huge plus for us allergy types), very clean, with refridgerators/microwave/hairdryer etc. Nice pool […] too and very good service. I wish they had a hut tub, but had enough to do around town. Close to the water and good restaurants are very close by as well. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you very much! I am so happy that we were able to give you a clean, welcome place to rest after your journey. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our hotel and we look forward to having you back again.
"Nice for the price"
Need a GPS to find the place (had an iPhone, so wasn't a problem). We were visiting Portland in the high season and needed a decent, clean place that wouldn't break the bank and this foot fit the shoe (or whatever that expression is (I'm from France, whatever)). Service was good. The first room smelled like cigarettes (or so said my picky gf) and they […] were happy to switch us out. Would def recommend... Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
"Not what I was expecting"
I was highly disappointed with this hotel. The rooms didn't look anything like the pictures. They're actually much smaller. The furniture was old, and so was the carpet. The room smelled moldy, and I had to ask to get moved to a different room, which only smelled slightly less disgusting. The room I was moved to had sliding doors so I was able to vent […] it for a few hours. At night the ac wouldn't cool down, and cigarette smoke would come in thru the vents every time the next door guests would go out to smoke. I guess there is no 25 feet rule or is not enforced. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the odor in your room. I would like to apologize for the cigarette smoke from other guests going into your room and we certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay. We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future. Kind Regards
Price sweet. Nothing more though. Just standard 3 star cheap hotel you expect.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Awwww....we want to be better than that! We appreciate you posting a review of our hotel. I hope we can WOW you next time!
"Needs a little work"
The front desk clerk when we checked in was great. Very Personable and teased the kids, which had them laughing. The room could have used a better job of cleaning and the TV is antiquated. (Needed a DVD player).Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for your review. I apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not up to standard. We really appreciate you sharing this feedback with us as it gives us the opportunity to address these issues. The good news is that our facility is no longer pending closure so we WILL be updating. One of the first items on the list are the TV's! Thank you again and we look forward to having you back.
Great location, on theater. Very quiet with an inviting pool. Breakfast buffet is way overpriced, so I opted for the local Denny's instead of the twenty seven dollar, per person buffet breakfast. front desk is very helpful finding places locally. Definately a great place to stay when in the Portland area.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you so much for the spectacular review of our hotel!
"Nestled in Nowhere, a short hop from everywhere"
Only issue was substandard service in the restaurant; server/Maitre D' had an attitude and menu was bare bones, so we got up, went down to Beaches, and had a blast.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I apologize that our service standards were not met on the night of your visit. We appreciate the feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to use our guest comments as training material. Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to having you back again.
"Property, Fromm desk fine; restaurant server awful"
The property is generally okay although dated and in need of renovation. Front desk staff was great and the room was clean. Ancient television in a very small room and bathroom. You should advise potential customers that the hotel alows dogs because we heard a lot of barking. Ate dinner in the bar and that was good but breakfast service in the restaurant […] was awful: very slow service even after we mentioned a tight schedule. Server couldn't even make change for a $20 on a $15 tab! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Comfortable but not clean"
Great location along the water. Room was comfortable enough. Bathroom was tiny and awkwardly designed. The disgusting part was when I got in the shower - there was what looked like mud splatters on the wall and on the inside of the shower curtain. There was pink mold growing in the corners and......pubic hairs on the edge of the tub!!!! UGH.Genuine Expedia guest review
Carpets were dingy, toilet did not clear well and the tv had no sound.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I would like to apologize for the condition of your room and that it was not properly cleaned. Please be assured that this will be adderessed accordingly with out housekeeping staff. You are a valued guest and we do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
"Decent hotel for the price"
Found an unexplained $25 charge in my bank account and called hotel to question same. Called repeatedly for over 1/2 hour and no one ever answered the phone. I had to go through Expedia to get my question answered.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice room on the Water"
Food and service was great, there are other restaurants close by.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Wonderful Hotel overlooks the Columbia River..."
Loved the location, overlooking the Columbia river. Quiet well spread out hotel so you don't feel closed in my other guests. The front desk, Tanya was wonderful, very helpful as I checked in. It was a long trip, I had forgotten my cell phone, so she checked me as quickly as she could. Wonderful lady, very pleasant. As I checked out, she was helping […] me with a cab, then set me up on the hotel shuttle saving me $30.00...I will return to the Red Lin simply because of her help and my interaction with her. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Red Lion Hotel at the Quay Thank you for the excellent review of our hotel!
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )