"Alot of water damage in bathroom"
Went to pool...it was locked. We had to wait 20 minutes to go back. We were told chlorine needed checked/measured.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Hotel was very nice and convenient."
We were in Newport News for our grandson's graduation. Had everything we needed for our short stay.Genuine Expedia guest review
The customer support was beyond exceptional, namely the undivided attention given by Shirley! She's an amazing representation of great customer service. If I'm ever in town, I'll be sure to stay. There's just one objection, the continental breakfast, is much to be desired. Overall 10 out of 10!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
All was well except the bed size, I wish they had queen for standard beds.Genuine Expedia guest review
For the price range, it was okay, but little things at the hotel made it irritating. There was a lamp in the corner, but there was no outlet anywehere near the lamp. The door scanner had a low-battery so it took us multiple times of scanning our cards and alerting the staff each time we left our room and came back.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Afternoon, Thank you for choosing the Days Inn City Center for your lodging needs. I do apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory, I have addressed your experience with the Housekeeping and Maintenance department to ensure these issues don't happen. Thank you for sharing with us your experience, with out guest like you we can not better the hotel.
We were pleased with our stay at Days Inn. Found the staff very nice and friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and it was located close to all that we had to do. We thought it was very nice and would definitely come back to the Days Inn if we come back that way again. Thank you!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Wonderful!! I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasurable. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us as your feedback helps us to be the best that we can. Thank you for choosing the Days Inn City Center for your lodging needs and we look forward to welcoming you back.
"Close to restaurants"
Do not recommend smoking roomGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"not a place to stay if your looking to rest"
overall hotel and staff were good for the money. However if your looking to stay somewhere for the night and looking for quiet, this is not the place. There is a night club behind the hotel and it plays music until 2am in the morning. The bass is extremely loud. So if your looking for a cheap place to stay after a night of partying it was great. if […] your looking for a place to stay after a long drive not worth it. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Window had a bug my boyfriend killed and I think a dead bug was already there. Overall it was ok!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Morning, I apologize about the situation you encountered while staying with us. I am doing some research and I will also pas this along to our exterminator, thank you for letting us know. We appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs and we look forward to welcoming you back.
"Should have stayed at the Marriott"
The price is what got us, but once we arrived it was downhill...mold on the bathroom ceiling, toilet didn't flush. You get what you pay for.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Afternoon, I am sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience with us. We strive to ensure all of our guest are comfortable and receive excellent service. I am going to meet with the GM and Maintenance personnel to check the rooms and correct the problems. I apologize again for your inconvenience and hope that you will return and we can show you that we you as a guest.
The location was perfect for us(near CNU). the overall condition was much better than the price paid, The front end service was super. Arnita made us feel like guests in her home. Thank you Days inn & Hotels.com A+Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for your kind words,I am delighted to share this with Arnita. I appreciate you taking the time and expressing your experience with us. We use our guest experience to know where we need to improve and what we are doing right, so your review matters to us. We look forward to welcoming you back and helping us grow.
"Close to interstate 64"
Hotel was nice , comfortable and clean. Places to eat were close by, enjoyed my stayGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel staff were very nice. Hotel was clean but could really use an update. Bathrooms have wallpaper that is splitting at the seams. Beds were moderately comfortable. However for the price wasn't a bad deal. Hotel was busy but very quiet in the morning.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Morning, We are currently updating the hotel, I am addressing your concerns with the GM and inquire on the time frame of completion. I do ask that you return and help us grow. Thank you for your time and business, we appreciate you and your opinions.
"Will definitely return"
My family and I had a wonderful stay. The staff was nothing less than courteous from the moment we checkec in until we checkec out. My fiance and I will definitely consider this hotel for our wedding weekend getaway.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you so much for sharing your experience, I am very pleased to hear that everything went great. We would be honored to have you and your husband return. Please contact us at anytime and we will make your reservations. Have a wonderful day!
"Disappointing considering hotel is in Oyster Point"
Assigned us a first floor room with a large sliding window that had NO lock. Immediately went to front desk with luggage and she seemed surprised I asked to be moved and didn't even ask why. When I told her about the window she didn't react.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Morning, I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. All the windows are suppose to lock and very sorry yours did not. I am glad we were able to change your rooms and the rest of your stay went well. I am addressing the issue with our maintenance, thank you for your time and look forward to your next visit.
"The Hotel Clerk"
The clerk that work that morning was very nasty her attitude was not professional at all and I will not recommend that spot to no one, because it looks like the hoods hotel just dirty..Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good morning, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and your feelings as far as cleanliness of the hotel and the lack of professionalism from our desk clerk. I will research this further to insure no one else will encounter the same issues you did. Thank you for sharing your experience as this will only make us better.
We were pleased with our room accommodations and the price was very reasonable.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Morning, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Days Inn City Center, we enjoyed having you as our guest.Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
"Unexplained pet policy"
Upon arrival at 11pm, we unpacked. My husband took our dog out and was informed that there was a $15 per day pet fee, and that we would have to move up to the 3rd floor immediately. When we got up there it was a smoking floor, and we could not stay there we were allowed back down on the 1st floor. It was now 12:30am and we moved again. Then to top off […] our stay of 5 nights, we only had room service 2 of those days. The assistant manager at least tried to worked with us on the pet fees. If we could have gotten our money back we would have left the first night. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Morning, I apologize about the inconvenience you encountered while here at the Days Inn City Center. Yes, we do have a pet fee that should of been explained to you at the time of the reservation as it is an additional fee and is not included on online reservations. After review of the reservation it was not documented that you were traveling with at pet or we would have better accommodated you and your family needs. I am going to address your concerns in hope that you nor any other guest has that experiences. Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.
"Great little place"
This is a great little secluded place for a reasonable cost if you just want a quiet place to spend the nightGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate having you as our guest. We look forward to your next visit.
"Great hotel for the price"
Staff is friendly. Rooms was clean. No complaints from meGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for choosing the Days Inn City Center for your lodging needs, we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that there was no problems. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
"Great place for the Money"
Staff was great! Room was very clean. For the price you can't go wrongGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Good Morning, It's a pleasure to have you as a loyal guest, I appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience at the Days Inn City Center. We are delighted to have you and look forward to welcoming you back.
"i will stay in this chain again"
I witnessed 3 cockroaches in the room, I was unable to sleep because of them. There should not be visible or invisible roaches at all in a hotel room. One of them lives in the radio. The sheets also had holes in them.Genuine Expedia guest review
Non-smoking room directly across the hall from smoking rooms. I might as wellhave been in the room with the smokers. Tub was moldy, they never heard of Tilex.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for staying with us, we strive to ensure all of our guest has a positive stay. I apologize your stay was not 100% positive. I will pass this along to our maintenance and make sure we take care of the issues.
Good value for the money. Could walk to restaurants and shops and neighborhood was quiet and pleasant.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for taking time out of your day to fill out our survey, I do look forward to your return
"Not too shabby"
Stayed here for a Phish show that was at the Hampton Coliseum. All other hotels were charging an arm and a leg, but this was very reasonable for such a big event hat was going on around the area. Mini frig and a microwave in the room. They were very accommodating and the front desk was very nice, though there was only one associate working, which was […] surprising being that the hotel was fully booked and there were quite a few people waiting. Over all, it was a great experience especially for the occasion. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Stay if your only in town for a short time."
The hotel was decent, rooms and bathrooms need to be updated along with cleaned properly. Half of the lights and electronics worked in the room and furniture was dirty and old.Genuine Expedia guest review
It was great! It was very convenient to Hampton Collesium!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for taking time out of your day to fill out our survey, I do look forward to your return
ok roomsGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good hotel for the price!"
We weren't expecting the Ritz when we stayed, considering the cost of the room was $36. However, we were pleasantly surprised with the newly remodeled room, fridge, microwave, and overall condition of the room. The breakfast isn't extravagant but, again, decent. The nearby surroundings are safe, in a well-populated area. Would definitely stay there […] again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"ZERO FOR HOSPITALITY AND ETHICS"
This was my second stay at this property--the first time was strange as the management allowed homeless people to sleep on discarded mattresses outside near the side entrance. If this was meant as a noble gesture, they should have offered them a room inside of the building to save face with their paying tenants. Nevertheless, I booked this property […] again for a two-night stay because of its close proximity to my workplace, but this time their computers were down when I checked in and I was unable to add my fiancé’s name to the room. So, later that evening I went to the front desk to request a do not disturb sign and I asked the receptionist if I could sign my contract at that time and see replied that it was not necessary. Following, the next morning I went on a coffee run and my fiancé stayed behind and left the room to smoke and was locked out of the room in the rain with no shoes on because the key card would not work. At that time, she went to the front desk to request access to our room, but was refused because she was not on the contract, so she had to wait outside of the room until I returned from the store. I can understand, to some degree, them not giving my fiancé access to the room, but when I returned to question them about the issue, the manager informed me they had a signature on my contract and when I asked to see the paperwork there was a signature on it, but it was not mine. At that time, I refused to sign a contract and checked out a day early. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Very good for the price.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"So bad I didn't stay"
The hallways were musty and smokey and I really didn't care because I just needed a place to rest. When I turned on the room light a roach ran across the room and that was enough for me. I never stayed a s left immediately. The woman was nice enough to give met money back less what I gave Expedia.Genuine Expedia guest review
Hotel is under going remodeling. For what the hotel lacked the STAFF made up for it . Ceria, Anita , Kendra . ( and I hope I spell the ladies names correct and get their names right ) anyway these ladies made my stay of 5 weeks a pleasure . They went out if their way getting menues to area restaurants that delivered to hotel, made me aware of local […] activities as well, and I had a blast at every event. I can't say enough about these 3 ladies but when I come back to Newport News you best believe I'll be at the days inn . One more thing ...housekeeping ladies on my floor YALL ROCK!! See y'all at Xmas thank you for having me too Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel needs some updating. The bathrooms were older and the rooms needed some fresh paint, although everything was clean. The staff was wonderful. They talked to our children and laughed with us and made everyone feel comfortable, as if they had known us forever, yet very professional. I recommend this hotel for anyone. The price was great and it […] is just a few miles down the road from everything you need. We spent the weekend at Busch Gardens and it was conveniently just a few miles down the road. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you choosing the Days Inn for your lodging needs. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was pleasurable. We anticipate our renovations to be completed soon and look forward to having you back. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
"Not a Bad Place to Crash"
Travelling 9 hours on a Friday after work and school, we arrived very late and waited an unusually long time to check in behind a guest that was dressed like someone you might see at an hourly rate hotel. The wait was miserable because at that point we just wanted to shower and sleep in a non seated position. Our check in was very quick and simple because […] we had booked our room before leaving for our trip. The front parking lot was completely full, but the back was all but empty and we were able to park right at the rear door which is closer to the elevator than the front anyway. The upstairs hallway was under construction and the ice machine sat out away from the unfinished walls so guests could access it during the renovations. We stayed two nights, check out was fast and easy. I would stay here again, its much better than some of the other places we've stayed in the area Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center I apologize for the long wait to check in, especially after your long drive. I am pleased to hear your stay went well. We will be updating our breakfast options to ensure all of our guest can enjoy it. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with us, we look forward to accommodating you again.
"Decent Cheap Hotel"
Renovations going on while we were there, hotel is nothing fancy but was OK, I'd stay there again. My daughter goes to CNU and it is close to the campus.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Convenient to shopping, restaurants, Mariner's Mus"
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the process of being upgraded. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Any problems were quickly taken care of. The morning breakfast was sufficient to get us started in the morning. Would happily stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"we checked in and checked right back out"
As soon as walked into hotel lobby wished I was at a different hotel. It was under construction. Dust and drop cloth covering front desk. We check into room and left to get something to eat. I forgot my cell phone in room and when went back to get it, key card wouldnt work. After two attempts by front desk to fix it, they tell us we have to move to […] new room. Lug our stuff to new room. As soon as open door my partner notices it smells and there is no shower curtain in the tub. The poor front desk employee (and only one there working besides the construction worker) had just handed a shower curtain to some one walking in the hall who had to give it right to us. Needless to say we said we were checking out and wanted a refund. The one person who was working the front desk was doing the best she could under the circumstances and was very understanding when we said we were leaving. Until the hotel gets done with the remodel , dont waste your money or time with this place. They even had one room full of junk and I assume under remodel with the door wide open for all to see. Very unsightly. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Convenient to local attractions and restaurants. Hotel maintenance was not good. Breakfast, although free was a little disappointing.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Get out the vacuum"
While the hotel personnel were friendly and polite, the room had not seen a thorough cleaning in quite a while. I dropped something behind the nightstand and saw dust and dirt. It appears that only the middle of the floor gets vacuumed on a regular basis. Where the floor meets the wall, it was dirty. The bathroom light fixture was old and yellowed so […] lighting was dim and the fluorescent light fixture flickered. Everything just looked old and worn. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Nice Hotel. Great Rate!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"You get what you pay for"
It's a old hotel and they are doing much needed renovations. It might get another rating when the work s complete. But not now.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for staying during our renovation process, we are working diligently to hurry this process along and ensure our are not inconvenienced in the process. We look forward to having you back in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
"An overnight stay in Newport News"
We booked two non-smoking double rooms for an awesome rate. The hotel was in the process of renovating and painting which might not have been attractive to some guests but I thought showed they are working on improving the place. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and I would go back there again if I needed a hotel in Newport News. It was […] a basic hotel that met our needs. Decently clean and the beds were extremely comfortable and I had a wonderful night's sleep. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Get a 2nd floor room"
When I checked in, the desk person kept saying if the room wasn't to my expectations she would find me another. I soon found out why. The 1st floor room was not very clean and then I saw a big bug run across the floor. We looked at 2nd floor rooms and found one that was OK. Be sure to ask for a 2nd floor room.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete our survey, I apologize for the inconvenience. We are currently under renovations and repairing everything in our rooms. We would like to ask you to return and watch us grow.
"Very Unhappy Guest"
It was a nightmare, the rooom was smellie. The hotel itself was not clean, when I walked into the front lobby at the enterance the floor was all tore up the front desk was suppose to be wood grain and it looked very old and run down, even behind the desk. Then we got on the elevators and the carpet was so dirty it was suppose to be a beidge color but […] it looked black. When we arrived on the second floor and exited the elevators it was so hot and muggie until it just took your breath away. When I used the bathroom and shower I developed an allergic reaction in my priviate area from either the soap from the wash cloth or an unclean toilet. the floor was unclean, and we found blonde hair all over the bathroom sink, even in the wash cloths. My hair is black. The breakfast was a joke, there was only fruit loops & frosted flakes. Their was no amenities at all, and one of the front desk staff was very rude when we checked out early. We had to threaten to call the police because when we asked for a receipt from the front desk the lady became irate...This by far was the worst hotel stay I have ever experienced. However, when I phoned the front office manager, she was very nice and apologetic and was willing to help however she could. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The hotel is cheap and nothing fancy but it work the only problems we had were they had no towels when we asked for them and the toilet had a hard time flushingGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Overall my exeperience was ok. For the most part the staff was friendly, some werent that polite. There where short of towels and washclothes. When asked for clean clothes housekeeping was pretty rude. Although there where very friendly staff. Other than rude housekeeping my overall stay was pleasent.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Do NOT stay at this hotel unless you have to!"
My husband and I booked this hotel after reading the reviews; however, not only was the room dirty, falling apart, and smelly, but when we left for a meeting and then came back our door was ajar. Thankfully nothing was taken, but we checked out within hours of checking in and moved to the Magnuson. The only positive thing about the Days Inn was that […] the staff was kind, pleasant, attentive, and gracious, even when we said we were leaving. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Stayed one night, enjoyed the pool very much, wonderful restaurants in walking distance, a must to walk around the shopping center, listened to live music, a beautiful area, breakfast was ok, would be nicer if they had hot foods like waffles, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit would also be nice, had danishes, toast, bagels, cereal, juices, would stay a […] gain Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed yourself. I look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
"Family celebration for kids"
it was okay, staff was very friendly and personable, the public areas were very neat and clean and smelled ncie. pool was clean, kids enjoyed it.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Days Inn Oyster Point at City Center Wonderful! I am so glad your stay went well. I appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience. Please feel free to contact us the next time you are in the Newport News area, we will be delighted to welcome you back.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )