All hotels in Monterey, California, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
1252 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA, 93940, United States of America, ‏‎855-239-9246
Best Price GuaranteeBest Price Guarantee on hotel bookings. If you find a better price on exactly the same stay elsewhere we’ll match it
4.0 / 5Excellent

Score breakdown (from 556 reviews)

Average rating for:

  • Cleanliness
    4.1
  • Service
    4.1
  • Comfort
    3.9
  • Condition
    3.8
  • Neighborhood
    4.1
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great basic place to stay."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Cute, comfortable hotel. A very good deal for the price.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for your 4 star rating Sara! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel cute and comfortable. Monterey is such a beautiful place to visit that we want everyone who comes to be able to enjoy all it has to offer without breaking the bank on hotel rooms. I'm glad you felt you got a great deal for your rate. Please come back again! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night romance trip Jan 1, 2015
Sara
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very Good!!!"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
very good
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Andre for your four star rating! We love to hear the feedback and comments from our guests. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you as our guest. Please come back soon! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night family trip Dec 31, 2014
André
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Comfort Inn"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Great value.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
We are thrilled you found your stay to be worthy of a four star rating. I'm glad you enjoyed your time as our guest and felt like you received a great value. We hope you come back again so we can reach 5 stars in your book! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night family trip Dec 27, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Hair dryer didn't work"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Everything was good except the hair dryer! Make sure it works or not before you wash your hair. I noticed the dryer didn't work was late, waited almost 15 min for bringing me a new one.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay, minus the hair dryer incident. I'm glad we were able to replace it for you so you could dry your hair. We hope you had a wonderful trip to Monterey and hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip with friends Dec 29, 2014
Rin
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Decent budget motel"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
This is a nice budget hotel. If you don't want to spend much on a hotel, this place will fit the bill. It's an older motel right on "motel row" on Munras. They dress it up nice, flower baskets all around the outside, it's kept clean. The staff was very nice and attentive. When we first checked in, a mirror fell off the wall in the bathroom. The maintenance guy was there in seconds to fix it. The room was small but clean. The bed was fine. Six nice pillows on our king bed, something my girlfriend liked very much! My biggest problem was the bathroom. While it did have a window that opened for ventilation, the shower was tiny. It's a stall made of all tile, it's very narrow. Hardley any room to bend unless you're a very thin person. Any movement and you're butt is up against cold tile! We didn't do the breakfast on site and there are no restaurants in walking distance. Dispute this, I would recommend this place as long as the price was right.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Edward for the time you took to write such a inclusive review of your stay. I'm glad to hear you felt our property was clean and pretty, as well as our staff being friendly and helpful. A lot of comfortable pillows can not be underrated! I'm glad your girlfriend enjoyed them. I'm sorry your bathroom mirror fell! That must have been quite a shock! I'm glad our great maintenance team was able to take care of it promptly for you. We appreciate your recommendation despite your issues with our bathroom. Hopefully you and your girlfriend enjoyed your visit to beautiful Monterey and will stay with us in the future! Thank you again for your comments and feedback! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
2 night romance trip Dec 26, 2014
Edward
US
3.0 / 5Good
"You get what you pay for"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
We got a good deal for this hotel, but you get what you pay for. The room was on the smaller side with older furniture. The bed and the pillows were not very comfortable as I woke up with shoulder pain in the morning. The shower was very small. I constantly hit my elbows in the stall. My 6'3" husband couldn't even reach down to wash his feet and had to step out of the stall to do so. The AC unit in our room was so loud and noisy that it kept waking us up at night every time it came on. The first night we had to turn the AC off but then it got really cold at night. The walls are really thin. We heard our next door neighbor coming in at midnight and their conversation woke us up. On the plus side, the hot breakfast is good. Scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and the waffle makers are great for a motel. And the location is excellent--close to downtown Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the aquarium, etc. We probably wouldn't stay here again and will spend a little more to get a more decent room.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for your feedback Joy. I'm sorry you did not have a comfortable nights rest while our guest and found our shower too small for your husband. I'm pleased to hear you did enjoy our breakfast and great location. We hope you will give us another try next time you are in Monterey. Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
2 night romance trip Dec 25, 2014
Joy
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great value"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Nice place, across the street from a nice mall and movie theater. Close to the Wharf too. Nice owners. Rooms are clean, included a frig & microwave and the mattresses were okay, but not the best. Great value for that area and includes breakfast.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Sharmaine for your 4 out of 5 star rating! Thank you for taking the time to notice the cleanliness of your room and all the amenities. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our location, breakfast and of course our unbeatable rate. Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night family trip Dec 20, 2014
Sharmaine
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"nice hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Decent room for the price with nice breakfast included. Property not fancy but week cared for. Bed was comfortable with hard and soft pillows available.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for taking a moment of your day to rate us 4 out of 5 stars! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our hot complimentary breakfast. We are pleased your bed and pillows were comfortable and you were able to have a good night sleep. Please come back and see us soon! Kind Regards, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
3 night family trip Dec 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice hotel close to beach"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Wonderful location! Short driving distance to beach and aquarium! Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Pleasant Hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. Warm, clean pool. Updated, comfortable rooms. Mattresses are a bit saggy and worn out, but loved the comforter instead of the usual "blankets." Abundant breakfast bar. Will definitely stay here again.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for the five star review CrazyCalParents! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn. We appreciate you kind compliments of our friendly staff. They join me in thanking you! I'm sorry you were not a fan of our mattresses, but I'm pleased to hear you loved our comforter. We are so glad to hear you will be staying with us again in the future! We look forward to your next visit! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Dec 18, 2014
crazycalparents
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place to stay overnight or a few days!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
We arrived after driving in a storm for 3 hrs, the woman at the front desk checked us in quickly and was very sweet. She gave us dinner suggestions and ideas for things to do with little ones on a rainy day! The room was very clean and had a microwave and refrigerator, plus they serve a hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, etc). We would definitely stay here again!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
I'm so glad you made it safely to our hotel! It sounds like you had quite the memorable drive. I'm pleased to hear we were able to get you into a comfortable room quickly and give you suggestions for dinner. I'm sure after a long drive you all were ready to get out, stretch your legs, and start having some fun. I hope your little ones enjoyed our suggestions! Thank you for your wonderful compliments and review. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Dec 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good value for Monterey"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
The Comfort Inn has always proved to be a good value for the rate...location and staff are excellent, rooms are nicely sized and moderately quiet. Free continental breakfast is definitely a plus! Parking could be better.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay Sue! We are thrilled to hear we stood up to our Comfort Inn name. We want each and every stay to be as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Thank you for your compliment of our friendly staff, convenient location, comfortable rooms, and wonderful breakfast. I know parking can be a little tricky, but we are glad it did not put a damper on your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Monterey! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Dec 16, 2014
sue
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"So-So!"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Bed too soft. Bathroom is nice. Room is downstairs - lots of foot-steps noise from upstairs people.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for taking a moment to leave your thoughts about your time as our guest. I'm glad you found our recently updated bathrooms nice and comfortable. I'm sorry you heard the people above you. We hope you had a great time visiting Monterey! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night family trip Nov 29, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice hotel close to attractions"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Amazing hotel for the price and location Will stay here again where in town had a really nice free breakfast to get the day started
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thanks for the great review Patty! We are thrilled to have earned a five star rating in your book! I'm so happy to hear you will be back! We look forward to your next visit! Thanks Again! Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Dec 3, 2014
patty
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice stay, overall satisfied."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Pros: Nice hotel, we had some good view rooms hanging by the mountain side at the back of the hotel. Nice rooms, very pleasant cosy looking property. Staff were friendly. Maintenance was pretty prompt. Our room was missing shower curtains, they had it within 5-10 minutes. Cons: The beds although comfortable for many, would find problems with people with back problems. The mattresses can be a little firmer. On the pro-side, they thought about this on the pillow part, since they kept a pair of soft and firm pillows on each bed. On the breakfast menu, the scrambled egg which was kept the self-serve trays, were totally under cooked, with watery inside. So the cook needs to see this note. Overall the breakfast (included in the price) was not too bad though, except the scrambled egg :).
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you SIRAJ for your thoughtful and insightful review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel comfortable, our location beautiful, and our staff friendly. We know our guests have different likes and comfort levels with bedding and pillows. We are glad you were able to select a pillow type that worked best for you. Thank you for the feedback on our breakfast, especially the scrambled eggs. I'm sorry the morning you were here they were under cooked. We have shared your notes with our breakfast host. Thank you. Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night family trip Nov 26, 2014
SIRAJ
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Better than expected."
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Very clean rooms. Nice and clean bathrooms. Didn't try their breakfast though.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Mohammed for your five star rating! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time as our guest and found our rooms and bathroom clean and pleasant. We hope next time you will come and try our delicious hot complimentary breakfast! Our hot yummy waffles will make you want seconds! Kind Regards, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night family trip Nov 24, 2014
Mohammed
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not what I expected.."
  • Cleanliness
    1.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The outside apprerance is cute, and inviting, however once I started walking up to the rooms there was a slight stale musty odor that was worst when I stepped in my room. At first glance it looked clean but when I pulled back the comforter I noticed there was hair on my bed. Several longs strans. I called to the front desk to have them come change the sheets and although the woman at the front desk was super sweet she said the cleaning crew was gone and I'd have to change the sheets myself.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
I am so sorry we were not what you expected. It sounds like we didn't reach our own high expectations. I'm so sorry you found hair in your bed. That must have been very unpleasant. Please accept my apologies. We hope you will come back and let us try to wow you again. Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip Nov 22, 2014
cecilia
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great Breakfast! Great Location"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Only negative was the thin walls. You could hear people talking.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for your four star rating! We are thrilled you enjoyed our hot complimentary breakfast. We try to have a plentiful selection for all the different likes and diets of our guests. We are conveniently located so anywhere in Monterey is quickly and easily accessible. We are sorry you were able to hear other guests talking. We hope that was just an isolated incident. We hope you enjoyed your time in lovely Monterey! Come back soon! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Nov 20, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Nothing great basic room at good price using Expedia.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the Comfort Inn - Monterey by the Sea. We are happy you enjoyed our budget friendly rate and all the amenities that are included in the rate. We hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast as well as all the amazing views from our hotel. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest and changing your three star review to a five star review! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Nov 20, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice hotel. Close to the highway but quiet."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Complimentary breakfast is good. You can make your own waffle. Scrambled Eggs , hard boiled eggs, and sausage. Room is clean . there is a microwave and minifridge. Walking distance to Delmonte shopping mall.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for your review Ledadoll! We appreciate your compliments on our deluxe, hot, complimentary breakfast! We try to have something for everyone. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and the many amenities we have for our guests. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest in the near future! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Nov 16, 2014
Ledadoll
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Nice cheap hotel, but breakfast is not worth it."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff is friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is - well something to eat. Definetly not fancy, the tables in the breakfast room was very small for a famliy of four. Next time we would probably find breakfast somewhere else.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
We appreciate your feedback on your stay Soren. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We enjoy getting to know our guests and being apart of their memories to Monterey. I'm sorry you were not wowed by our breakfast. I hope it was enough to at least tie you over till lunch. We hope you come back and see us again! Warm Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
2 night family trip Nov 9, 2014
Søren
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"November visit"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Good room for the price (shoulder season). Clean room, friendly staff. Only complaints are nearly unusable shower (too small and no water pressure) and free breakfast is kind of a letdown.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Nov 3, 2014
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Quiet comfort"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
It was a grat stay and the hotelnis charming!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Oznur for your five star rating! We are thrilled you had such a great stay and found our hotel charming. Monterey is such a beautiful back drop, we just try to enhance its beauty! Thank you again for your compliments! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip Oct 30, 2014
Oznur
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good econimical choice in Monterey"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This is not a fancy hotel. The rooms are pretty plain but, the rooms are clean. The beds are comfortable but not luxurious. The linens on the bed are nice and the pillows are good. The included breakfast is quite good. Toast, muffins, fruit, coffee, waffles, eggs and sausage. All in all, a very good value. I stay here every year when I come down for a Monterey golf weekend.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Dear Marshall, Thank you for the 4 star review and sharing your feedback as our guest. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and especially our hot complimentary breakfast. We appreciate you being a loyal guest to the Comfort Inn - Monterey by the Sea. We look forward to seeing you next year on your golf trip! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Nov 4, 2014
Marshall
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Exactly as advertised"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
When you just need a place to stay for 1-2 people and don't plan to spend time in the room, this place is perfect. Close to Hwy 1 and not far from Cannery Row. Rooms not really big enough for kids though. Clean and pleasant, it was exactly what I needed for a quick two-day golf stay.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Mike for taking a moment to share your experience and thoughts on your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and found our hotel to be what you needed. I hope your golf game went well. Monterey has some amazing courses to play. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest! Kind Regards, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Nov 4, 2014
Mike
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"nice getaway"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Our stay was very nice; the people at the hotel were very nice/friendly/helpful.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Sandra for taking a moment to review your stay with us at the Comfort Inn - Monterey by the Sea! We are thrilled you had a wonderful experience as our guest. Thank you for your compliments of our friendly staff. We hope you find yourself in Monterey again soon! We'd love to welcome you back as our guest! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
2 night trip with friends Oct 16, 2014
Sandra
US
3.0 / 5Good
"I would stay again."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Very small parking spaces. The room was basically nice, but you could tell it used to be a substandard motel that Comfort Inn did its best to remodel. Shower was very small.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip with friends Oct 24, 2014
Theresa
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great Location"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
This is a hotel- not a motel. So you will hear parking lot noise. The staff is great, the breakfast is awesome, my room was clean and perfect for a nights stay....
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay as our guest. I'm glad you found our staff great, our hot complimentary breakfast delicious, and your room clean and perfect for you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest next time life brings you to Monterey! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Oct 24, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"very good hotel with beautiful flowers"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
I loved the surroubding of the hotel with a lot of beautifull flowers all around The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was better than other same line hotels a lot of fruit I miss salade in the morning with my eggs but may be american are not use to it
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night business trip Oct 16, 2014
haim
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Close to Poppy Hills Golf"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Clean, efficient hotel room. Only criticism is the limited selection of TV channels.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night trip Oct 12, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Experice in staying at this hotel"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Bath room was very small. So many times that the elbow hit the water control knob while taking the shower.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
4 night romance trip Oct 6, 2014
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Make sure to ask for a room with a new mattress"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
The location was convenient. very close to town. The hotel is very cute on the outside. However, the hotel room is not as comfortable as I expected. The mattress is over 20 years old. It was very lumpy and had old springs in it and was so sagging in the middle that we were sleeping so close to each other it was very uncomfortable. The hotel is in the process of slowly upgrading the mattresses. So make sure to ask for a room with a new mattress. Also the bathroom only has a shower stall which is very small and its difficult to move your arms around to wash your hair and I am a very small girl. I could not imagine a larger man trying to shower in a 3'x3' shower stall. The walls are also very thin. You can hear every word of the TV show the next door neighbor is watching. Also, the breakfast was ok. They had hot waffles, but not much protein available other than yogurt.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Sep 25, 2014
Jessica
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
We arrived late and were required to park in the street.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Roger for your 4 out of 5 star rating. I am sorry there was no more parking spots. We hope every aspect of your time in Monterey was just as wonderful. Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip Sep 18, 2014
Roger Kelley
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Just Right! Pleasant stay :)"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Loved our room...clean bed/sheets-room was nicely decorated. We did experience what others noted in reviews-that the walls are thin. We also did experience the parking issue. It seems like the spaces are on the smaller side for a mid sized car to fit. When we came back from our late dinner (around 10:30 p.m.) there were only two spots left to park in. However, we were rather pleased with our room! The decor was pleasant, the room did not smell-other than the smell of bleach but after leaving the window open in the bathroom...it finally went away. We truly loved the fact that the front desk called our room after a couple of hours to check if everything was ok and to our liking. We thought that was rather nice-in comparison to a previous location (not a Comfort Inn) we stayed at a few months back. Will be coming back again, perhaps in December to celebrate my birthday. Love Monterey!!!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Dear Sylvia, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and are planning to come back in December for your birthday! We look forward to it! I'm glad you loved your guest room and had a comfortable stay. We want to make sure everything is perfect for you while you are our guest. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit! Best Wishes, Janea E., Front Desk Manager
Other trip Sep 26, 2014
Sylvia
US
3.0 / 5Good
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
Good overall, would stay there again. Great location. Gentleman at front desk was not friendly or welcoming though.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Jennifer, thank you for you 3 star rating. We are thrilled we will have you as our guest in the future. I am so sorry our front desk was not friendly or welcoming. Please come back next time you are in Monterey so we can show you how great we really are! Kind Regards, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip Sep 20, 2014
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Pictures do not look like the room"
  • Cleanliness
    2.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    1.0
  • Condition
    1.0
  • Neighborhood
    2.0
I won't not recommend this hotel at all. First when we walked in the front desk person was on the phone and then when she got off the phone she asked me my name. Then the phone range again and instead of telling the person to hold and wait, she took the call and I waited another 5 minutes. Then I finally get my room keys. We get to our room and it's so small. There was not even a bath tub no table space to put our belongings. I went to the front desk and asked them to put us In a different room. She said because you booked from hotels.com that's the only one we can give you. Then we saw ants, the restroom had hair that was not ours and the beds felt like rocks! The breakfast was not great at All! Hard bread and warm apple juice. I will never book with confort inns again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations. The first thing we want our guests to see and experience is a smiling, happy, front desk staff member to welcome you and assist you with all your needs. I'm sorry that was not your experience. Please accept my apologizes for all the inconveniences you encountered as our guest. We hope you will give us another chance to show you how great we can be. Kind Regards, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip Sep 17, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Not as pictured"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Pictures of rooms are not representative of what you get. Perhaps they showcase the premium suites but all room. Just beware. The room we got seem old and dingy.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
I'm sorry you were disappointed with our rooms. The pictures we have on the social media sites are in fact of our rooms. We do have different layouts and room designs. We do our best to show our guests the rooms they can expect to receive while our guest. I hope you enjoyed your time in Monterey and come back soon! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night romance trip Sep 15, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Ok for the price"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    2.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Staff: The person at the front desk wasn't very friendly or pleasant. Didn't have any contact with housekeeping but the room was cleaned fairly well. Room: Older motel with some remodeling. Bathrooms appeared to be updated. Water pressure was good. Flat screen TV but there didn't appear to have cable channels. Bedding had a modern feel to it. Room had a slightly funky smell but went away after I ran the AC (which was a little on the noisy side). Facilities: Small pool that faces the street. Not very appealing but I didn't plan on using anyway. Didn't try the free breakfast either but others seemed to enjoy it. Overall: Ok for a couple of nights if you get a good rate and don't plan on spending much time in the room.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
I’m sorry you encountered an unpleasant front desk team member. I will be sharing your comments with our team. We want each and every guest to feel welcome and appreciated. I’m sorry that was not the case with you. I hope you will accept my apologies. Thank you for leaving your review of your recent stay. We love to hear feedback from our guests. We have updated our bathrooms and are constantly working to make our property more beautiful for our guests. I hope next time you are in Monterey you will get the opportunity to sample our hot complimentary breakfast and outdoor heated pool. Hopefully you enjoyed your visit to beautiful Monterey! Janea E., Front Desk Manager
Other trip Sep 19, 2014
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very helpful and friendly staff"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
The room was small, but everything else about this motel was pretty nice. The staff was especially helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was real food, and really good. The location is about a mile from the tourist stuff, in a row with lots of other motels.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for your 4 our of 5 star rating. We are thrilled our staff was helpful and friendly. Our hot complimentary breakfast is always a big hit with our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location. Please come and see us again the next time you are in the Monterey area! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip Sep 12, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good location but you might need ear plugs"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Good location near downtown, cannery row and aquarium. Right across from mall and restaurants. Hotel is old and walls are thin. Room was clean but strong smell of bleach was not pleasant. The parking lot is just a few feet from the front door of your room so if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The breakfast didn't look appetizing so I grabbed a banana and split. GET IT?:) Would I stay here again? Probably not. .
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Butch for your feedback on your stay with us at the Comfort Inn. I'm sorry your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been. I hope that, withstanding the issues you encountered, you enjoyed your time in Monterey and our fantastic location to all the local attractions. We hope you will change your mind and come back for a second chance. Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night business trip Sep 10, 2014
Butch
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Entire family was happy"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Had two rooms with kids and grandparents. Rooms were small but nice, clean and had everything we needed. Kids really enjoyed the heated pool. Great location near Warf, park and shopping. Very good value for the area.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you Anthony for your 4 our of 5 star rating. We are thrilled your rooms were clean and had everything you needed. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our heated pool, our great location and of course our unbeatable rate! Please come and see us again! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night trip Sep 6, 2014
Anthony
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Clean and close to everywhere & great breakfast"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
enjoyed our time but had trouble with the TV. Had to get up to change the channel each time. Great breakfast and friendly staff.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Dear David, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly and our hot complimentary breakfast delicious! I'm sorry you had an issue with your television. Next time please contact the front desk so we can fix the problem right away. We know when you just want to relax having to get up to change the channel is a real inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback! Best Wishes, Janea E,. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Sep 12, 2014
David
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Good value"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Front desk gentleman very nice, checked on us after settling into our room. Rooms comfortable and clean but very small. A lot of outside noise. Breakfast good.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for reviewing your stay! I'm so happy to learn you found our front desk staff member friendly. We want to go the extra mile and make sure everything is perfect with you room shortly after check in. That way we can fix any issues. I'm glad you enjoyed our hot complimentary breakfast! We hope to see you again! Best of Luck, Janea E., Front Desk Manager 888-930-7666
Other trip Sep 7, 2014
D
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good value."
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Room was clean, but small. Bed was very comfortable and bedding was new. Would stay there again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you John for your 3 out of 5 star rating. We are thrilled your room was clean and you were able to have a comfortable night rest. We are delighted to have you as our guest in the future! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
2 night trip Aug 24, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good price for the comfort"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
As other reviewers have indicated, the shower stalls are tiny. But it seems most places in this area are the same. For the price, our rooms were comfortable.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for your comments Vincent! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our best value prices. We hope you come back and stay again soon! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Sep 1, 2014
Vincent
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Great place to stay!"
  • Cleanliness
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Comfort
    5.0
  • Condition
    5.0
  • Neighborhood
    5.0
It was awesome! The gentleman behind the counter (I think his name was Andrew) greeted me right when I walked in around 9pm on Sunday, August 24, 2014. I apologize I forgot his name but I want to make sure he gets recognized. He provided the best customer service. He was friendly and even gave me information on what to do in Monterey when I was looking at the pamphlets on the side. I loved the continental breakfast!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Aug 24, 2014
LP
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Good location"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    -
Good location, handy to everything. Way too expensive for what you get. An older hotel, small room and bathroom. We paid $200 for a $100 room. At least it was clean, which was obvious from the strong bleach odor in the room.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you for your comments and review. I'm sorry you found our hotel was not the value you were expecting. As you stated we are close to everything and that includes all the big events that come to Monterey. We hope you will give us another try on your next visit to Monterey. Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
Other trip Jul 21, 2014
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"No shower"
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    3.0
  • Condition
    2.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Overall good, but it seems they remodeled everything but the shower. Weak pressure and uneven temperature.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Thank you James for your review and comments. I am glad you enjoyed you stay overall. I'm sorry about the inconvenience you experienced with your shower, water pressure, and temperature. I hope you will come back and give us another try! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
1 night business trip Jul 14, 2014
James
US
3.0 / 5Good
"close to all must-see sights"
  • Cleanliness
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    2.0
  • Condition
    3.0
  • Neighborhood
    3.0
Breakfast service is good, We got a room at lower level and smaller as we checked in late...
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
2 night family trip Jun 30, 2014
David
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
  • Cleanliness
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
  • Comfort
    4.0
  • Condition
    4.0
  • Neighborhood
    4.0
Everything was fine except the water pipes were loud. If you neighbor was taking a shower you were able to here the water the whole time.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
1 night trip Jun 30, 2014
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews