All hotels in Honolulu, Hawaii, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
You can collect Hotels.com® Rewards nights here
2424 Koa AveHonoluluHI96815United States of America, ‏‎800-491-6126
Best Price GuaranteeIf you find a better price on the same exact stay within 7 days of booking, we’ll match it. See our ‘User Terms’ for details and recent changes.
Hotels.com reviewsTripAdvisor reviews
3.0 / 5Good

Score breakdown (from 1,039 reviews)

  • Location
    Great location
  • WiFi
    Good internet service
  • Service
    Fantastic service
  • Room
    Room is not nice
  • Comfort
    Uncomfortable
  • Wellness Area
    Poor wellness & sports facilities
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 21
  • Next >
1.0 / 5Poor
"Hotel location"
It was terrible roaches all over and bad customer service. I was not comfortable. I want my money back.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Madea, Thank you for leaving your feedback. I am glad that we are able to come to a mutual agreement on your compensation for what you thought was a dead insect in your room. Admittedly, with Hawai'i being a tropical location, insects are occasionally seen especially after rain showers, however, we keep these instances at bay with a regular bi-weekly pest control service of both our common areas and our rooms. I am sorry that this experience tainted what should have been a much more pleasant stay for you, and I hope that you give us another chance to make a better impression. With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night trip with friends Mar 25, 2016
madea
US
3.0 / 5Good
I'm a Hawaii resident that decided to rent a hotel last minute after having dinner in Waikiki. It was the cheapest at the time so we booked it. As we arrived, customer service was great and checked us in quickly. parking is very small and limited but there is a parking garage on the same street for 10$/10 hours. The room was very small and my bf did mention it felt like a prison, which is kinda did. Cleanliness was alright. Not the best but I did feel comfortable. The room we were in could hear everything. We could hear people's conversation as they walk by since it is jealousies. At check out we had the same lady, again very quick and she told us to take a grab and go breakfast for the 3 of us which came with an apple, cinnamon roll, and a muffin. You also could get nutrition bars.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to hare your feedback about your recent stay. While I am sorry to hear that you felt confined in your room, I am glad that you were able to enjoy the freedom of being just steps away from Waikiki Beach. With our sunrise snack boxes in tow, it's very easy to enjoy a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise. You will be happy to hear that we are in the process of renovating our property, so I do hope that you give us another chance to make a better impression on you when our progress is complete. With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night family trip Mar 25, 2016
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
The hotel is convenient for Waikiki and much more affordable than the bigger hotels on the main drag, but it is definitely an older building and not as polished as nicer places. The biggest issue is that it is super loud and even with the balcony doors closed you could hear all the street noises. Thankfully we were so tired from jet lag the couple nights we stayed here that we were able to sleep but bring good earplugs!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Emily, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. With our centralized location in Waikiki, the urban noise can sometimes be heard, which is why we will be embarking on a window renovation project in the coming months. I am happy to hear, however, that you did manage to get a good night's rest for the time you did spend with us. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression on you after we complete our renovations. We are excited about the upgrade! With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho Assistant General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night romance trip Mar 2, 2016
Emily
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Nice people"
Room was very small. Clean but not some place I would stay again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Joseph, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff, and we do hope that you will give us another chance to make your stay even better with the unveiling of our renovations in the coming months. With warmest regards, Carolyn Pinho Assistant General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night family trip Mar 2, 2016
Joseph
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Nice & friendly"
The staff was wonderful. The parking if you have a car was terrible. Little to no parking available on-site.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback, we're so happy to see you had a great stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night business trip Feb 23, 2016
A Traveler
US
2.0 / 5Fair
Tub faucet was difficult to turn off. Tub filled during shower. Trash left in elevator. Floor was either dirty or stained. Overall we called it "sketchy".
Genuine Venere guest review
2 night romance trip Feb 17, 2016
Amanda
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Hard luck."
Was not as presented in the add on the computer when booked. It is said you get what you any for, not in this case. Car parking at $30 / night, what a disgrace.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Jim, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you didn't think our photos on line reflect our hotel accurately. We try very hard to make sure our guests had an accurate representation of our hotel with photos, we even have went as far as having a staff member take photos and putting them in the management photo section. We will continue to look at how we can be even more transparent. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night romance trip Feb 23, 2016
Jim
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not a 3 star hotel"
The hotel is in a great location. It's a short walk to the beach and shopping. The hotel staff was friendly. For the condition of the hotel it's older and I wouldgive it a 1 or 2 star. I've stayed in a hotel 6 that was better. As for staying there again I would not for the price I paid.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha John, Thank you for your feedback, we're so happy to hear that you loved our location. We really are in the heart of everything, making it really easy to have a relaxing vacation. We are currently undergoing a renovation and I believe this will be a big help with the issue you mention. I'm glad to see that staff really showed you the Aloha spirit and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
3 night romance trip Feb 20, 2016
John
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Disappointed"
No box-spring on our queen bed. Felt like we were sleeping on the floor. The tile floor as not been clean , very dirty. The bathroom was a joke, needed updating badly. All an all, very disappointed with the room, and will never ever stay at the Stay.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback and we're very sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. The condition of the room you describe is not up to our standards and i will speak to our housekeeping staff as this is out of character for them so I will make sure this doesn't happen again. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
6 night romance trip Feb 13, 2016
A Traveler
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Bad experience"
The only good thing about this Hotel is the location, it is close to beach, restaurants, entertainment and shopping, otherwise the room is extremely noisy and outdated, the floor is not clean , bathroom is very small and some plumbing is broken, staff are ok but the problems with the room are overwhelmingly. Unfortunately I didn't check the reviews on Other websites before booking and I found out that similar complaints were posted along time ago which means there is nothing changed
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback but we're very sorry to hear you did not have a good stay with us. I will share your feedback with our management team to make sure the issues you've presented do not happen again. We are currently undergoing a renovation which I believe will resolve all of your issues. We hope that we get a second chance in the future to show you a a much better experience. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night business trip Feb 15, 2016
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Wouldn't stay here again."
This hotel was only 2 blocks from the beach, so that was great. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the room was filthy. The floor looked like it had never been mopped. The shower was leaking and the paint was swelling up from water damage. The ac unit was super loud. At night, the building next door had bright lights and sounded like they were unloading something out of a truck. I was extremely bright and loud which made it difficult for us to sleep. I would not stay here again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Gwendolyn, Thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry to see you did not have a good stay with us. What you describe is unacceptable and I will be discussing this with our management team to make sure this doesn't happen again. We are currently undergoing a renovation which I believe will solve a lot of the issues you've described here. I hope that you will give us a second chance once these renovations are complete to make a better impression on you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Feb 7, 2016
Gwendolyn
US
3.0 / 5Good
Close the beach but the room was pretty loud. The windows aren't the best so lots of outside noise from the downtown night life came in.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha James, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the city noise was an issue. We are currently undergoing a renovation that will include new windows for the building, we believe this will be a big help in keeping that noise out. We hope that you will come see us again once this is complete so we can get your feedback. Thanks again. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night business trip Jan 29, 2016
James
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Small getaway"
Great for what I wanted
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Carla, Thank you for your review, we're so happy to see you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night trip Jan 29, 2016
Carla
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Not good"
I to have never got kicked in . Nobody wasn't at the desk for 30 minutes when we got there . Would not stay there no more . No tv cable
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Jimmy, Thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry to hear about your experience at check in. This is definitely not what we expect our guests to experience and I will be addressing this with our management team. I hope that you will give us a second chance to show you the great service that so many others have mentioned. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night family trip Jan 22, 2016
Jimmy
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Very average at best"
The room was just very average and the bed was very saggy. I had to put the coffee maker on the floor to make coffee because there was no table and the cord was so short. Lol
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Douglas, Thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry to hear your stay did not live up to expectations. I'm extremely sorry to hear about the inconvenience with the coffee maker, I will speak to our management staff to make sure this never happens again. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night trip Jan 17, 2016
Douglas
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Clean & Basic"
The customer service was really good! They were courteous and understanding. There is a bar in the lobby that also has karaoke. That was entertaining. They allow beach toys for borrow on a first come first serve basis, so that was nice not having to rent a boogie board.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha KeVonne, Thank you for your feedback and we're happy to hear you had a good stay with us. Wang Chungs is definitely a great time and we're happy to hear you got out and enjoyed Waikiki Beach since it's so close. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night trip Jan 16, 2016
KeVonne
US
3.0 / 5Good
"moderately priced hotel"
Rooms and lobby are clean. Location is convenient to Waikiki. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Lobby computers were not working while we were there. WiFi okay. Lobby carry-out breakfast: small apple or orange with two small pastries. Seems a little over-priced for the small room that we had.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha De Pere, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you loved our location. I apologize for the lobby computers being out of order. We are undergoing a renovation and we hope that you will come see us again once it's complete to get your feedback. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
7 night romance trip Jan 10, 2016
Richard
US
1.0 / 5Poor
Hidden $10 amenities fee. Anywhere else the $135/night room would have been $50.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Robert, Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you did not have a good stay with us. Our $10 amenities fees is noted on the booking but I'm sorry to see that message got missed here, we will look at what we can do in the future to make sure that doesn't happen again as we realize being transparent as possible is very important to our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will give us a second chance in the future to so you the great stay so many others have mentioned. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night trip Jan 14, 2016
Robert
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Excellent location but the hotel was quite dirty"
The staff was very nice and there is an awesome Kareokee bar in the lobby. However, the rooms and overall condition of the hotel were dirty and run down. The photos online are worlds away from the room we were given. The location can't be beat but there are cleaner places for the same price.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your review and I'm very sorry to hear your stay did not live up to expectations. We pride ourselves on good service and clean rooms and it seems like we did not meet that here. I will share your review with our management staff to make sure this does not happen again. We hope that you will come see us again so we can show you the great experience that many others have mentioned. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
Other trip Jan 18, 2016
the Smths
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Location the only good thing going for this place"
Spend the extra money and get a decent hotel. It's just an overpriced hostel and pretending to slash the price on Expedia is just plain deceptive marketing. As if you could ever charge $230+ for such a room!
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, We're sorry to hear that you did not feel your stay with us was a good value. We do price very competitively for the market. We try our best to make sure we're competitively price and we will review this as a management to make sure that is always the case. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
Other trip Jan 12, 2016
Jamie
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Hotel Looks different . Good Photoshop!!"
Very disappointed when I arrived and see the hotel. The location is good and staff very friendly and helpful
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, We're very sorry to hear your stay did not live up to expectations. We try very hard to be as transparent as possible with our pictures even to the point that we have photos posted that a staff member took as we realize this is important to our guests. We'll continue to look at how we can do a better job at this. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
Other trip Jan 7, 2016
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"An affordable 2-star hotel, close to the beach."
2-star hotel. Hotel staff was nice. Rooms were clean. 1 block from Waikiki beach. Close to major dining and restaurants. This hotel will be fine if you are planning on staying out, such as shopping, dining, or at the beach. Which this is what you should be doing since you are in Paradise! Hotel is dated. All rooms are exterior entry. Beds, furniture, and entire bathroom are old and need updating. Only mirror was in bathroom, which is only big enough to allow one person. In summary, if you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel close to the beach that will allow you to shower and rest, then the Stay Hotel is fine. If you are expecting the quality of a 3-star hotel or higher, do your research and stay somewhere for $200 and above.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 5, 2016
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Costs more than what it is worth for"
Good place to stay only if you are in building 1-5 .. Also, there's no room service to clean things unless you are staying for the whole week
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. We're happy that you had a good stay but I'm sorry to hear about the room service. We do have room service everyday and I will speak to my housekeeping manager to see what the issue was here to make sure it doesn't happen again. We hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night family trip Dec 29, 2015
Apurba
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Nice price and close to beach, but comes at a cost"
The hotel was okay as long as you don't mind being woken up every day by a garbage truck slamming the dumpsters for about 30 minutes. This was my biggest complaint as well as the noise from emergency vehicles constantly. During the day it's fine, but all night? The Windows can't shut out the noise because they are not sealed. Room was kind of small but has all the essentials. My favorite part was the water pressure of the shower. It felt like it was raining on you. The staff was excellent though. They always were willing to help you with anything and everything.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Norman, We're very sorry to hear about the issues with the city noise. We do have ear plugs available for free at the front desk for guests that have issues with city noise. Also we are currently under a renovation and we will be changing out the windows to help with this as well. We hope we get the chance to host you again once this is complete. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
Other trip Jan 3, 2016
Norman
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Close to beach but forget about having good night"
the location of the hotel is good, near to beach. the surrounding that can be heard from room 302 was so terrible that we can hardly sleep. it seems there are always trucks or coaches around that area and the construction around it created too much noise for comfort. the wifi in the room and lobby are just terrible, the connection was so unstable.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Jan 3, 2016
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Perfect hotel and location. Great karaoke below"
Loved Wang Chung's downstairs
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Gilbert, Thank you for your feedback, we're so happy to see you had a great stay. Wang Chungs is definitely a fun place! We hope to see you again soon! Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Dec 23, 2015
Brandon
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Location"
The room was very small, it had no chair or a desk, no bedside table to place your coffee or water on, coffeemaker needed to be placed on the floor in order to reach power outlet, on the positive note the room was clean, had a refrigerator and location of the hotel was 5 minutes walk from the beach.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the issue with the coffee marker, I will make this issues known to our management team to make sure it never happens again. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night trip Dec 26, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
Always friendly and comfortable
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night trip Dec 24, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Wannabe Boutique in a great location."
Typical converted hotel that tries hard to be "boutique" but falls short. My room had two twin beds which actually were a mattress on a metal frame, a bit disappointed with the bed. The room was in L shape so the AC unit had to be running at all times to keep the room cool, so this added to the noise from busy Waikiki(windows were likely single pain). Great location in the heart of Waikiki a block an a half away from beach, so if you don't mind average amenities, this could work for you. I was there on business and expected a bit more of what even a 2 star hotel tends to offer
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
3 night business trip Dec 20, 2015
Cristian
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Great location, friendly staff"
Just a block from the Waikiki beach, perfect location without the steep pricing. Very friendly staff and you also get some beach equipment to borrow, as well as morning snack pack. Rooms are in decent shape given the pricing and location.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for the review. We're so happy to see you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
Other trip Dec 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Gritty."
I love this place. Cool and raw. But not clean and comfortable. If you want to feel safe and sterile--go to the Hilton.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha James, Thank you for your review, we're happy you had a good stay with us. We do pride ourselves on great customer service and a clean property so hearing you didn't think that was the case is concerning and I will review this with our housekeeping manager to make sure all of our guests leaving feeling they were in a clean environment like so many others have mentioned. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Nov 7, 2015
James
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Awesome location"
Stayed one night as flying lay over. Happily stayed for longer. Room was clean, bathroom tiny but functional, top reason is location. Surrounded by the 5 star hotels, Stay Waikiki has excellent location, 2 min walk from beach....same to shops and restaurants. Budget style hotel that provides a good stay and we will visit again.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Kevin, Thank you for your review, we're so happy to see you had a nice stay with us. Our location is definitely fantastic with everything you would need right in walking distance. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Dec 8, 2015
Kevin
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Not like the photos!"
We stayed here for the first night of our hoeneymoon... Mostly because the cost was low and the photos of the hotel looked great. This hotel does not look like the photos beware! When we arrived it took about 10 minutes of waiting at an empty front desk for someone to arrive. There no parking at this hotel so you have to find it on the street or in another structure. The rooms are like hostiles and there was a cockroach bait motel in the bathroom. Not horrible, but not great either.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Michelle, Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear your stay didn't live up to expectations. We do try to be transparent with our photos and we will look into how we can make sure this is more clear in the future. We do have very limited parking and like you said we do have many other options very close. We are currently under going a renovation and we hope that you will give us a second chance in the future once this is complete to let us know what you think. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Dec 7, 2015
Michelle
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Nice to try once."
I always wanted to stay in this hotel. Great deal so I booked it. Unfortunately, the only thing that makes the special price worth it was the location, the staff and that the had a fun bar that served some tasty food. Parking is very scarce, more rooms than spaces. One of the smallest bathrooms I have ever used. At first I thought it didn't come with a shower, you have to literally step inside and close the door to see or get to it, it's right behind the open door.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your review, we're happy to see you loved our location and got to try some of the great food from Wang Chungs. We are currently undergoing a renovation and I hope we get the chance to see you again once that is complete so we can get your feedback on the new design. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night trip with friends Dec 5, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Clean and decaffeinated"
Room was clean. Added fee per day for towels and internet. Hard to get caffeinated coffee in room and lobby. As promised close to beach.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha David, Thank you for your review. We're happy to see you liked our location and your room was clean as excepted. I will definitely relay your feedback about the coffee to our management team to make sure that doesn't happen again. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Dec 3, 2015
David
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Buisness trip overnite"
Needed to stay for 8 hrs to sleep and get back on a plane. The room was neat and tidy, the bed were not very comfortable and the hotel charges an additional $10 per day for coffee and snack bars. The hotel is situated right on the beach with karaoke bar in the lobby. the partying and other night life was clearly heard in my room until 2am due to the style of windows installed. this is clearly younger persons spot as I was unable to sleep until after 230 am due to excessive noise.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Charles, Thank you for your feedback. We happy to see you found the room neat and tidy and we are sorry about the noise. We are currently undergoing renovation and one of the changes will be replacing the windows to help with this city noise. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Hawaii. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night business trip Dec 4, 2015
Charles
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Look elsewhere"
The room is very basic and sterile. There are no views, and the outside noise is quite loud. The check-in took a very long time due to computer issues. Would not go back.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry to hear your stay did not live up to expectations. We will use you feedback to help constantly improve our guest experience. We hope that you will give us a second chance in the future to make a better impression on you like so many others have experienced. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
Other trip Dec 8, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Surprised by Extra Fees and Brown Bag Breakfast!"
We were surprised that we had to pay a $10 a day fee for use of the computer, washing machine, swimming gear, towels, etc etc. And this was supposed to be already included in our package for the hotel. The breakfast also was not very good. It was supposed to be "free" with the $10 daily fee, if that makes any sense. The breakfast was an apple plus 2 granola bars! The excuse for not having a real breakfast with eggs, toast, cereal, etc was " it was a health concern." Ok ..pardon me, but NOT having a real breakfast is a HEALTH concern! There was not gym or workout facility, there was shuttle or van to take us to and from the airport. With the price we payed, I would have expected a lot more out of the hotel. Hint to the owner: Do not charge this stupid $10 daily fee..that is ridiculous! Include a real breakfast and do not give your guests a brown paper bag with an apple and 2 granola bars! And it would be nice to have a shuttle or van to take you to and from the airport to the hotel. Those 3 things would give the hotel a much higher rating and would get more people to want to come to the Stay Hotel. You take care of the guests and the guests will take care of you...please remember that. Your business will grow and prosper if you would think of taking care of your guests.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 6, 2015
Ronny
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Super close to the beach"
We stayed at the condominiums a street behind, but it was just fine. We had to log our luggage up two floors, but not really a big deal (first world problems). Staff was very nice and helpful. The room and buildings were clean, the building was old but you could tell they were trying to do the best they could with what they had without having to tear down and completely rebuild the complex. If we end up back in Honolulu, we will definitely consider it, but it will depend on price and what else is available in the price range.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Other trip Dec 5, 2015
Kyle
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"Hot. Air conditioner poor 30 $ extra to park."
Clean but hot. Better when windows were opened, air conditioner didn't work. Parking underground but at a 30$ extra cost. Pleasant staff
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your review, we're very sorry to hear about your air conditioner. That is definitely not up to our standard and I will discuss this with our management team to make sure it doesn't happen again. We do have a parking charge of $25/day. We hope we get another chance to make a better impression on your next trip. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager
Other trip Dec 3, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"It was a good room ,close to the beach."
The stay was good. The coffee maker in the lobby was the best.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you very much for the review. We're happy to hear you got great service and enjoyed our 24 hour coffee in the lobby. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Nov 25, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Great price but came with faults"
Shower was a constant stream of water that ran all night and kept me up. Told the front desk and was told they would notify maintenance to get fixed and it was never fixed. So another night of listening to water running. The floors were dirty so I had to either wear my sanders while in the room or wipe my feet off before crawling into bed.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your review, I'd first like to apologize for the maintenance issue you encountered. I will be sharing your feedback with our maintenance manager so we can make sure something like this doesn't happy again. We hope that you will give us a second chance in the future to make a better impression on you and show you this is not our standard of quality. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
Other trip Nov 23, 2015
A Traveler
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Sticker Shocked."
The hotel was ok but the great deal I thought I was getting turned out to be not so great. This hotel charges a $35.00 amenities fee. I have no idea what the "amenities" were. Especially not $35.00 worth. Also they have very limited parking that I also had to pay an additional $25.00 for. I was lucky to even get a space there. One of the managers left early so I could park where she was. If she hadn't, I would have had to pay to park in a lot a block or so away or could have chosen a free public lot that was 3 or 4 blocks away. The room was ok and the bed pretty comfortable. I just wish I had known about the additional fees. It took a long time to check in because they didn't have enough staff. They were training a new person though so hopefully that will help. It is close to the beach though. I probably won't stay here again. Mostly because of the fees and because we didn't like Waikiki at all.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Beckie, Thank you for your feedback, we do have very limited parking but there are many other options within a block or two should be be out of parking. We do have a $10 amenity fee, with includes, WIFI, free to use guest washer and dryer, grab and go snack bag in the morning and beach supplies. Thank you again for the feedback and I will share this with our management team and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Nov 18, 2015
Beckie
US
3.0 / 5Good
"Broken elevator"
Elevator down
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Olovesi, Thank you for your review. Our elevator was under renovation but until this week Tuesday. The great news now is that it is full up and running. We hope that you get a chance to visit us again now that it's back running again. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night trip with friends Nov 7, 2015
Olovesi
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Refund Expected"
We checked out and are expecting a refund. The hotel was under renovation without forewarning and the rooms were dirty (body hair everywhere). There was no desk (need for business), etc. The front desk agent was nice enough and said she would follow through on a refund.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your review and I'm very sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with us. We did notify all of our online travel agent partners of our elevator renovation and it is on their site that we will be undergoing this work until 11/16 but I do apologize that this came as a surprise which is what we were trying to avoid. I will review your feedback with our management team and look further into what may have caused the issues you experienced. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night business trip Nov 9, 2015
Not Provided
US
2.0 / 5Fair
"poor stay"
Hotel is being refurbished but personnel need to learn courtesy and good spirits
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us. It's very troubling to me to hear about the lackluster customer service you received while staying with us. We strive to provide a warm sense of Aloha to all of our guests but it appears we have failed you. If you have a moment I'd love to discuss this more with you. You can reach me either by the e-mail or phone number below. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki tkloss@stayhotelwaikiki.com 808-923-7829
1 night romance trip Nov 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
4.0 / 5Excellent
"Very close to beach"
The elevator was under repair (to be fixed by 11/16/15) and we knew that ahead of time. Because of that, they waived the $10 amenities fee, gave out complementary light breakfast bags and bottled water and had our luggage carried to and from our room. So overall it was a good deal in a great neighborhood. A block or two from the beach. Some downsides -- the windows couldn't be closed all the way which brought in a lot of outside street noise. The rooms open up to an outside hallway which wasn't a problem but was unexpected. The front desk staff was not always able to answer our questions about public transportation. Finally, when when checked in it was very early and they were gracious enough to let us in, although accidentally gave us a room that hadn't yet been made up. It got resolved relatively quickly but was a slow start.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha William, Thank you very much for your review, I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but I do apologize for the few inconveniences you experienced, I will be going over this with our management team to make sure this is corrected. We do have a fabulous location and I'm happy to see you took advantage of it! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Hawaii. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
2 night romance trip Nov 5, 2015
William
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Equivalent to a Hostel Stay"
I travel often to Waikiki but this was my first time at Stay Hotel. Be prepared for loud noises throughout the night! I'm usually a deep sleeper that can fall asleep regardless of the background noise but was unable to fall asleep at this hotel. It's almost like road noises and people talking are amplified making it seem as though you are sleeping outside. Beds are slightly less comfortable than an air mattress. The room stays lit up at night due to street lights even with the makeshift curtains closed. No elevator at this hotel if that's important to you. No onsite parking available. My wife and I found a parking garage a couple blocks away for $40 and since we pack light and enjoy exercise, this was not to big of an issue although onsite parking is a nice feature to have. There is a nightclub onsite with karaoke playing late into the night. Nice option if you are down to party but not if you're into getting some restful sleep. The proximity to the beach, nightlife, restaurants, and shopping was about the same distance we had to walk to the parking garage. Only a couple blocks away, so pretty close. The staff was very friendly which was my favorite part of my visit to this establishment. Overall this hotel reminded me of a hostel stay in a 3rd world country. It was just nice enough to make us feel grateful that we had a roof over our heads to keep us dry while anxious to leave first thing in the morning.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Erick, Thank you for your review, I"m sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to expectations.As I responded in your Trip Advisor review, I have already reviewed your feedback with our management staff to see how we can continue to improve and make sure we're meeting and exceeding expectations for all of our guests. We have already been working on ideas on how to make sure we don't have any guests leave feeling the way you do. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future to make this up to you and give you a great experience and great service like out guests have mentioned. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night romance trip Nov 6, 2015
A Traveler
US
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"Above and beyond"
I was here from Ohio to handle the arrangements for the sudden death of my father. The hotel worked with me to give me the best rate even to rearrange my stay because my original room I booked for just one night wasn't available the rest of the time I was here. They were kind to me and a very great customer experience. The room was nice enough I had zero complaints. The elevator didn't work but the steps were quick and easy to take. The location is perfect. 2 min walk around the corner to the beach. They have things already there for you to take to the beach. I don't have one single complaint and would recommend this hotel over "fancier" ones I've stayed in the past because the location really is great and the hospitality shown to me was beyond expectations
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha Brittany, Thank you for the great review, we're very happy to hear you had a great experience while staying with us and I'm happen to hear our front desk was able to make things a little easier on you. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
1 night trip Nov 4, 2015
Brittany
US
1.0 / 5Poor
"Super basic room"
The room has nothing to offer besides a bed. Shower is tiny, shutters for windows with no view & not a quiet place. I felt like I was in a college dorm.
Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki
Aloha, I'm very sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I do wish you would have brought this to my attention while you were with us so we could see what could be done to make this better. We never want to see someone leave unhappy. We have started a renovation and I do hope that you will give us a second chance once this is complete and let us know what you think. Mahalo.
Other trip Oct 25, 2015
A Traveler
US
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
  • < Previous
  • Page 1 of 21
  • Next >