More of a motel than a hotel. Overpriced. Went somewhere else.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice staff but hotel is more like a hostel"
Had planned on staying for two days in Dec. but when I saw my room with only bunk bed and TV I could only do one night. Staff on sight were nice but look of hotel was very basic and noisy with a lot of young people making noise during the night. Wouldn't recommend it if you are looking to be comfortable. If you just want somewhere clean to lay your […] head it is ok. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Might be good to stay with your friend, but it would not good for most cases. Uncomfortable things were - No yelp access. Probably blocked by other residents - Google complaints illegal access. It works anyway though. - No refrigerator. - No lighting near the bed. - Height of bed is too low. - Charging additional fee for amenity ($10/day)Genuine Expedia guest review
"You could do better..."
This hotel was not what I had expected. First of all, the room is not completely closed off with windows. There are blinds in the middle of the wall that act as a window but it is hard to keep the room cold. Secondly, because of the openness of the room, you can hear everything outside (dog, police siren, doors slamming, etc.). Also, the water from […] the shower never stayed the same temperature. It was either hot or scolding hot. Overall, this hotel seemed like a 1 star to me. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"I will not Stay again"
Gave us a key to a room that someone else was asleep in, and then yet another guest was given access to our room. Security risk, anyone? The only window to the room faced the walkway for all guests. It was broken, open, and every person that walked by looked into our room. Security risk, anyone?Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good Price for the BEST Location"
My experience at Stay Hotel was overall AMAZING! Especially for the price we paid. (good price for literally THE BEST LOCATION) The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful kindhearted people. The hotel room is nice and clean, it is exactly what the pictures show and the location is by far the best. It is literally walking distance to everywhere...farmers […] market, waikiki beach, international market, shopping center, even a great bus stop location near the area, etc. My friend I will definitely come back to Stay Hotel! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Good location but didn't look like pictures on web"
The room was very small. Bathroom had no counter space. Air conditioner was very noise. Wi-Fi was not working in the room. Never came back.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Inexpensive, Simple Hotel, With No Amenities"
The hotel was clean and simple. It's in a great location and was cheap, so that's what mattered the most. However, the in-room wifi wasn't always working, the 'free breakfast' was not at all worth getting up for, and the toiletries, towels, and linens were very cheap. I didn't expect it to be fabulous, and the things that weren't great didn't make me […] dislike my stay. You get what you pay for, and it was clean and simple. It was what I expected. The value is fair. The Sway restaurant is great, and they have an awesome happy hour! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Not a bad stay"
I've stayed all over the Waikiki area, but this time around I was staying for an overnight layover so budgeted it. Overall Stay Hotel was an OK stay. The staff was nice, location was prefect and very convenient, but the room (especially the bathroom) was claustrophobicly tiny. Also keep in mind there is no safe in the room or a fridge.. it's a very […] basic room. The thing that bugged me the most about the hotel was the resort fee ($10). The night I stayed the wifi was down and I had an early morning flight so was unable to make breakfast (and a breakfast to go is not an option) - so I was glad they were willing to waive the fee. Overall, i'd rethink if I were to stay here again. For around the same price you can stay at other hotels with rooms that are a bit more spacious. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
not worth $$...stinky ...loud..even for budget travel...Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The employees were great very friendly and always were there to help you. location was just a block from the beach. The only downfall was the bathroom in the room was hard to move around in because the door was always in the way. If the hotel would change the door to slide instead of open it wold solve the problem.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The worst hotel you could find in waikikiGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel in a very convenient location"
You do get what you pay for. That is, it is not a 4 star Hyatt but is a nice hotel in a very convenient location. Unfortunately the room wireless never worked but staff was good, simple breakfast was fine. No room to park the car at the hotel but parking garage nearby with 24 hour staff.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your comments with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your hard earned vacation and please accept my apologizes for the Wi-Fi being down. We are currently working on a better version. Unfortunately parking is a challenge for all hotels in and around the Waikiki area. Our overflow parking is right down the street and is open 24 hours to accommodate most of our parking needs. All of us here hope that you were able to take home many fond memories of our beautiful island and we look forward to perhaps hosting you in our home again in the near future. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
I had a hard time finding the hotel as it was in a somewhat sketchy area, and it was also very small, more like a motel if you ask me. For the price I guess I can't complain, but I thought this would be nicer than that Pagoda (which I don' think it was) and the Pagoda is actually cheaper and in a more convenient area . I don't think i'm coming back […] to this hotel ever again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your visit. Stay is a budget boutique hotel in an excellent location, less than a 2 minute walk from the beach. The Pagoda is 2.5 miles outside of Waikiki, so we are in 2 totally different markets. Although we did not live up to your expectations, we hope that you enjoyed your hard earned vacation and took home many fond memories. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Served our purpose well."
We were in Waikiki to take a 4 year old to the zoo and aquarium. From hotel able to walk to those activities as well as to the beach and eating places.Neighborhood felt safe to walk. Location is directly behind a Hyatt, so delivery vans and buses come and go all day. Our room was freshly painted, bathroom small but also renovated. Only drawback was […] no fridge and ceramic tile floor color choice appeared dirty. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Kula grandma, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your visit with your 4 year old. We are currently working on purchasing fridges for all the rooms and we have an ongoing project to wax all the room floors. We look forward to perhaps hosting you in our home again in the near future! You certainly live an a beautiful area and one of my favorite places to visit when in Maui. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
If you only need a place to sleep and clean up this is it. Nothing fancy. Free breakfast, and restaurant/bar in the lobby. WiFI adequate. Great spot in the middle of Waikiki and short walk to the beach. Many restaurants and shopping nearby. A bit noisy.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Good hotel for little money"
A friend and I just stayed at Stay Hotel Waikiki for a week. It is a good hotel if you don't want to spend too much money but would still like to live near the beach (it's one block away from Waikiki Beach). But don't expect too much! We stayed in a room with a bunk bed (which was the cheapest one). There was very little room and the bathroom was so […] tiny that you could hardly walk in it. Nevertheless, the room was pretty clean (room service came every day), it even had a balcony, and the staff are very nice! It was very loud at night but you can get used to that (at least I did). The breakfast they offer can't really be called breakfast, so don't expect too much of it (we only ate there once). Overall I'd say that if you don't mind living in a small room with not much luxury, you will be fine there! I enjoyed my visit in Waikiki, and maybe I'll even choose this hotel again if I ever get the chance to visit Hawaii again. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Steps from Waikiki, Shopping & restaurants."
Great central location, Friendly Front Desk StaffGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Won't "STAY" here again"
This was our worst stay on Waikiki in several trips. The room was very small (to be fair, probably the 120 square feet listed) and with no chair, table or luggage rack it seemed even smaller. The pictures glamorize the rooms, at least ours was not like the photos. There was a security light right outside the bathroom and with no curtains on bath and […] half of bedroom it was like daylight or worse all night. The windows were high and frosted so there was no view, city or otherwise. Continental breakfast was OK, not great. Wi-Fi was mostly good. The neighborhood was noisy and scary, especially at night., but it was convenient. Room floor was dirty and sticky. The mattress was on particle board, no spring at all, and sagged so you rolled to the middle. The amenity fee of $10 covers Wi-Fi, breakfast, and local paper. Staff was very good. The stated rate was discounted by 45-50% but it's hard to believe they ever really get over $200 a night for this room. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Thank you for sharing you comments with us. We will be ordering luggage racks for the rooms shortly and we are looking into different window coverings to reduce the lighting in the room We in the process of getting proposals to install double pane windows in the to help eliminate the outside noise. Thank you for choosing Stay for your recent accommodations and with the upcoming changes, we hope you will give us another opportunity to gain your much valued patronage in the future. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Noisy hotel, nice location."
Hotel is in a great location. Staff was very friendly. We were able to check out beach accessories from the hotel - towels, mats. They also have swimming gear (fins) and blow up accessories. Outside noise was unbearable. Very very loud all day and all night. Bring earplugs if you plan to stay here. Felt like staying in an upscale hostel. No tables […] or chairs in the twin room we stayed in so we sat on our beds to eat. Bathroom had no counter space. We set a towel on the floor to place our hair irons and blow dryers down. Air conditioner was a perk. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Kay, Mahalo for sharing you comments with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed our staff and location. We are in the process of obtaining bids to replace the glass in the rooms with double pane windows to eliminate most of the noise. Thank you for the comments about the bathroom, tables and chairs, we are going to speak to ownership to request these items for the rooms. Hope you got a great tan and took home lots of photos of our beautiful island. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Very nice value for the location being."
Small and cozy, excellent for travelers with a budget. Although the noise from the outside could not help being terrible.Genuine Expedia guest review
Cheap, clean and convientent! It is near everything important to see in Waikiki, friendly local staff and has a good resturant with happy hour specials. If you have traveled the world and stayed at youth hostels and the like, you will feel like you died and went to Heaven! I was in room #602 with a partial view of diamond head and surfers catching waves […] at Waikiki from my balcony. I took the bunk bed option and had a friend stay with me. It was small but hip, comfortable and functional. A jewel of a home base/oasis found in the heart of hustle and bustle. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Raini, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourself during your recent stay. We truly appreciate our Kama'aina visitors and we hope to see you again in the very near future. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
Loved it! Best staff ever. Phyllis at the front desks gets 5 stars from me! I've stayed at maybe 12 hotels in Waikiki and for the price and location, this one's the best. I'll definitely be back! Thanks, Phyllis!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Val, Mahalo for sharing your comments with us. Very glad to hear Phyllis took great care of you during your recent visit. I will certainly share this with her. Look forward to seeing you again soon! With Warmest Aloha, Earl
Great stay for 3 a day trip. Service was great. The staff was very helpful.. I would recommend to anybodyGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Mahalo for your comments. Glad to see you enjoyed your experience! With Warmest Aloha, Earl
The hotel is located at the end of the waikiki shopping area close to beach We arived and had to wait until 4 pm to check in yet they made us check out at 11 am there is a 10 dollar fee for the free wi fi and breakfastGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Gary, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Glad to see you like our location. We do post notices of our amenity fee on the booking page under Policies and Fees. There is also a notice in your key packet and registration form. I'm sorry you didn't not notice it. We hope you had a great vacation and look forward to seeing you again in the future. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"OK for a place to sleep."
Basic - nothing fancy.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Thank you for your comments. We hope you had a great vacation here on our beautiful island. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Nice hotel for a short stay"
I stayed here for 3 nights. Bathroom was leaking after the second night! I am sure they would have fixed the issue if it was reported. Since I was leaving the next day, I literally had no time to even think about anything else. All my attention was on the island and the hotel was only to sleep in. I hardly spent any time here. The rooms are quite small. […] It had a balcony in it, but not a great view. Beach is very close and walkable. If you don't want to spend much on the hotel and rather use that money on activities, go for this hotel. Parking fee is additional. Finding a spot is very difficult in that area. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Anita, Thank you for your review. Yes, of course we would have taken care of the leak had we known about it and I apologize for any inconvenience. Very glad to hear you made the most of your short time here. Hope you took home many great photos of our beautiful island. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
Good small hotel, close to the beach.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha G, Thank you for taking time to share your comments. Glad to see you enjoyed your experience at Stay. We hope to see you again soon! With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"The best hotel deal in Waikiki"
Great customer service, room suited my needs (primarily a place to sleep and shower after a day at the beach). It's an older building, as are most of the hotels in the area. Pictures make it look extremely new. It isn't, but it is clean and well-maintained. The restaurant bar has a great happy hour special too!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Economy at its best"
The hotel is on a side street in the center of Waikiki. Location is great and you can walk to the beach and area shopping and restaurants within a couple of blocks. Personnel /staff are pleasant and very helpful. Room was spartan but very clean and comfortable. Hotel has a restaurant with a modest menu, great bar and bartender. The happy hour prices […] are a real bargain. Their desert menu is delictable. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Location great. room was not."
Location great. Will spend more money next time to stay somewhere nicer.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great stay for the price"
The hotel staff was friendly as are most Hawaiians you meet. Everyone had lots of advice to make sure we got where we needed or made suggestions for food or fun. The room was comfortable, I just wish it had a fan for the humidity but other than that it was great. The location is a block away from kuhio beach and there's a few abc stores nearby for anything […] else you may need. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Able to find a better hotel"
I don't recommend the hotel because of cleaniness. I spilt a wine on bed sheets one night so there was a small stain on it. Next day after the room service was done, I realized that the bed sheets wasn't changed but just flipped to the other side! I found the stain on the other side of bed... The hotel charged $10/night for service fee. I didn't mind […] to pay it if they did all the service, but didn't. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Kayo, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Please accept my sincere apology for your sheet not being replaced. I will certainly share this with our housekeeping manager and staff. We are currently under going new training on cleanliness which will improve our service to our valued guests. Again, my apologies. We all hope that despite your inconvenience, you we able to take home many fond memories of your island visit. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Close to EVERYTHING"
Perfect get away spot to sleep if you on the go all day.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Avoid Stay Hotel - the only nice thing about it was the staff. The room was Filthy! The rug was suppose to be orange and white...but was definitely orange and dark grey. The window curtains were so dirty on the bottom...and the floor didn't look clean either. It looked like they'd never cleaned the rugs - GROSS! The charge $25 parking which is standard […] in Waikiki....but $10 for internet and breakfast (if you can call it that) was a joke! Especially since the internet wasn't very good. It reminded me of a hostel NOT a hotel. Yes, the location is close to the beach...but theres TONs of other hotels that are on the beach too Would not recommend this hotel! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Mahalo for taking time to write this review. We have embarked on several deep cleaning projects in the past week that includes waxing the floors and replacing the curtains. The rugs were just deep cleaned less than 2 months ago, but we are now removing them from the rooms. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, but we all hope that you were able to take home many fond memories of your island visit. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Great location but very noisy"
I loved the location but it was just too noisy with tour buses, delivery trucks, etc. at early hours plus running their engines at all times. The hotel basically did a half renovated job of the old building. Bathrooms, windows (double pane for the noise) need upgrade and they have the slowest elevator, luckily I was on the 2nd floor. The positive is […] it's clean, affordable and great location. But I think I will spend a little more and stay elsewhere the next time. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
We paid $25 more per day than price given to walk ins. Breakfast was nice.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Place was awesome to stay at. Decent, rooms were nice, although the website was misleading with pictures of how big the rooms were, and there were no full length mirrors. Other than those two complaints, everything was great!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Basic lodging in Waikiki"
We were staying one night as a layover between the mainland and Kauai. Very convenient to Waikiki (half a block from the beach) if that is what you are looking for. The room is very small and basic, adequate for sleeping and with a small balcony. The best feature for us was the Sway restaurant in the hotel, which was very good.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Stuart, Mahalo for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and liked Sway! They do serve very good food and drinks. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Will not stay again"
Location is good but extreamly noisy due to hotels location.Rooms and hotel is very old and it shows.Do not expect any comfort and housekeeping service is bare zero at best.I will pay a bit more and stay at another hotel and not return again. The front desk staff are all friendly but that*s about it.And the only elevator is extreamly slow.Hit the call […] button and come back next year and it might be there.Use the stairs. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Since we are in the heart of Waikiki, noise is a factor in all the hotels in the area. Fortunately, in the next few weeks, we will be starting a window replacement project that will reduce the noise dramatically. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Was a good place for the price. Expect to pay 15$+"
Place was good for the price. The only problem was Parking. 15$+ for parking a day or 25$+ for parling at hotel garage. Was not told about free breakfest either. Could have saved a lot of money if we were notified before we stayed.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Tiny room but close to beach"
This is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Despite the size this hotel's location is central and very close to the beach. There are also no resort fees and parking charges...loved that! If you don't mind sleeping in a closet this is the place.Genuine Expedia guest review
"STAY AWAY!!! Sweaty, dirty, dog kennel place!"
Terrible, dirty, rundown tourist hotel. More like a dog kennel than a hotel. Light switches are on power cords plugged in wall. Closet "door" is a dirty sheet. Bathtub/shower has black visible mold. A/C unit in wall is noisy and ineffective. Room was still sweaty hot after four hours of A/C running on full. Tiny room, was probably less than 200 SF. […] I bailed after one night, and wouldn't have spent that one had I not arrived late. Internet service was so slow it took 3 minutes (by my watch) to load single pages. I needed that in order to find a replacement for this hotel. The picture of the hotel in the ad looks NOTHING like the actual hotel. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Location is the only positive"
It's cheap.. You get what you pay for. Don't reccommend it. Spend an extra 50 a night somewhere else!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"pleasant hotel excellent Bar/restuarant near beach"
Excellent Bar/restaurant and hotel staff. will recommend and will def be back. Thanks to all for a pleasant and fun experienceGenuine Expedia guest review
This place was very small, crowded it was not very clean. It looked NOTHING like the picture on the internet what it looked like was a backpackers youth hostile. Not very impressed will not be staying here again.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Thank you for visiting Waikiki, and staying at our hotel. We were terribly sorry to learn that your experience did not meet you expectations. We continually strive to improve our hotel, we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your comments regarding the guest room have been shared with our Housekeeping department to ensure that our cleanliness standards are always enforced. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Me and my wife were fairly excited but..."
Me and my wife were fairly excited about our stay at this hotel because of the rage of reviews we saw on how cheap it was. We researched and we saw their pictures of the hotel and we were amazed so we booked the room immediately. Once we got there, we checked in and the staff working at the front desk was horrible. Horrible because she was disorganized […] and didn't really give that professional welcome feeling. The worst part is was getting to the room, It didn't look like how the pictures did with the hand and the well furnished room. The main thing, we were just satisfied we got the room, but didn't really feel like what we paid for was worth it. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Jordan, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very disappointed to hear the service you received at the front desk was less than professional. Most of our guests love the staff. I will be sure to share this with our supervisor for correction and training. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Nice hotel by beach"
The best thing about the hotel was that it's price, very affordable. You are very close to the beach,shops & food. There's nothing fancy about the hotel but it was nice.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha Scott, Mahalo for taking time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope you got a great tan and took home many beautiful photos. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
"Stay away ...."
At first looks ok from the outside .. The lobby was nice look .. As u get to the elevator that takes for ever , that's we're hell kicks in.. The rooms are so small .. It looks bigger on the web site . The bath room is like a oven , it tends to stay warm in there , even with the windows open . The shower acts up with the hot water .. They should of name […] this place . "Stay Away From Hotel " ... This place wanted a 100 dollers despot .. Most hotels I stayed in hawwii alwasy ask for 50 to 60 dollers, that wasn't a issue .. I got upset that they wanted $10.00 a night amente fee, I wouldn't of mine it , if I was there for a week . Yet staying 2 weeks it adds up . There wasn't anything specil they let u use anyway .. Most hotels include all of these things with the hotel fee ... Beware and stay from this place .. If you need a fast short stay it would be ok .. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am sorry you didn't see the amenity fee notice on your trip summary. It confirms the room type, the dates and tells you of the mandatory hotel fees, which describes what is included in the fees. This is also on your signed registration card. Mahalo for giving us the opportunity to host you in our home. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and took home many memories of our beautiful island. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
The worst hotel I've stayed in Waikiki. Definitely not a 3 star hotel, more like 1 starGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Stay Hotel Waikiki Aloha, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit, I would have liked the opportunity to have met you while you were here so we could have assisted you in having a better stay. With Warmest Aloha, Earl
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )