"insects in and around the bathroom"
I was highly disappointed in the quality of the hotel. When I arrived to my room the first night i noticed a foul odor. On the 2nd day of my stay i had been out of my room most of the day, when i arrived back i walked into the bathroom and turned on the light there was a huge roach crawling on the counter top near my toothbrush, the humungous roach […] then preceded and crawled across the toilet paper. I took several pictures with my cell phone then used something tokill it. It fell to the ground and I took more photos. I then called to the front desk and explained the situation to a staff member where she immediately changed my room to the room right above the previous room. A security officer brought new keys to my room and he to saw the insect as well. After he dropped the keys off i just decided to leave the premises without checking out. I was so disgusted and revolted that i could no longer stay. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Choo Choo review Oct 2014"
The room has some serious cleanliness and comfort issues for the money. The staff however did everything in the power to rectify that situation. Bad conditions, excellent front staff.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A night we will NEVER forget"
This was the worst Hotel i have ever stayed at, everything was broken , ( the elevator, the coke machines the so called Hot Tub ) and it was So dirty, spider webs,vents dirty, carpet nasty, bugs crawling everywhere. We will NEVER stay there againGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Beware. Not worth the money"
We went for a surprised celebration and the first train car we checked into the TV didnt work. It took over an hour to be moved to another. Got to that one and toilet ran all night and we had to take top off to flush. Very poor service and the next day when talking to a manager she didnt even seem to care. Would not recommend or go back. Very disap […] pointing. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great location, but it is an older hotel."
Room had a musty smell to it but overall was an okay stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Train Car for fun"
It was a very fun and enjoyable over night stay.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Anniversary Get Away"
It was nice, except the towels had long hair in them. My wife took a bath, and every towel that she used to dry off with had long hair in them.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I had a very pleasant stay at the Chatanooga Choo-Choo Hotel. It was clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Everyone at the check-in desk was very polite and helpful. Surely, would recommend to others.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Interesting and historical place to stay"
Easy to find, and connected to attractions via electric bus and rental bike, the Chattanooga Choo Choo is a great place to stay if visiting Chattanooga. I stayed in a large room with a king-size bed. The normal hotel rooms are just that: normal hotel rooms. The ambiance of the old train station is lGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Convientent to downtown area via free bus"
Hotel is at the end of the free shuttle to the river front and other amenities. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. My wife and I loved it.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We've stayed there several times. The rooms although a little dated have always been clean and the staff friendly and willing to help. The rooms are comfortable - the hotel is old but we have enjoyed our stay each time. Pricing is always reasonable - would recommend this hotelGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The rooms were not like the web site shows them. It was a quarter of a mile from the lobby. Every time you needed something you had to walk it. The phone wasn't working and the front desk didn't answer the phone when called from a cell phone. The cleaning people left us with no towels of any kind. We had to walk to the front office to ask for them. […] We had requested a first floor room but instead got a 2nd floor one. You had to open three heavy doors to get to the room. You could not open your curtains because the window was directly across from another rooms window. The lobby was being renovated so the only meal you could get was breakfast. The neighborhood was not a safe place. Accosted by panhandlers every time we went out. Not at all happy with the place and would never suggest it to someone else. You live and you learn and we certainly learned not to go back to that place. We are 73 and 80 which should explain why our complaint about walking and heavy doors mattered. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Everthing was not working because of all the construction. The elevators did not work. The stairways smelled like an animal died there. I left my phone charger in the room, I called the same day. They transferd my call to security dept. which went directly to voice mail. It took 4 days later when security called me. I WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN. I WOULDN'T […] RECOMMEND IT TO NO ONE!!!!!! THERE IS A LOT MORE THAT WAS BAD ABOUT THE HOTEL. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
This hotel is begiining a restoration so let's see what happens. I am more concerned about passing a message back to Hotels.com (even though you do not ask anything about your performance) than having anything posted about this hotel at present. When making this reservation, there was a "single room" and a " 2 queen bed room" at the same special rate. […] I specifically asked your representative to check to see if the single room was a King. She put me on hold, made a check, and then assured me it was a King bed. I then confirmed with her I wanted the King bed room. When I checked in, they said my reservation was a 2 Queen bed room. The manager showed me your communication to the hotel, which clearly showed no preference, so the hotel assigned me to the 2 Queen room. They could not switch me , because at check in they were sold out. Coincidently, there was another person checking in at the same time with a similar problem, and had also booked through you. Please advise how this happened. Thank you. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
We had a great time .Next time I want to stay in one of the railroad cars !Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Boarders what appeared to be a rough part of town"
The hotel is old and it shows. The room was clean. The outside of the buildings could use a good pressure washing. I saw no mention of the $35.00 pet fee nor the $7.00 per day parking fee on the website, but was charged for these items. The exterior door to our building, Hotel 2, was not secured, although it had an operating card reader on it. I called […] the front desk about this on Friday night. When I left on Sunday, it was still broken. With all the homeless folks around and the fact that it butts up against a rough looking area, the doors should be secured and were not. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"so much fun"
This is a very old hotel with plenty of history. Don't expect a brand new hotel. It has character. Enjoyed staying in such an old hotel.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Good. Was a little disappointed when we went from lobby to actual rooms. Hotel close to everything. Had a shuttle nearby. Overall very good.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"It was ok."
The room was a little dirty. What looked to be puke stains on the back of both doors. The smoke alarm was taken off but dust was still there. There was a layer of black dust on all the switch plate covers. The indoor pool was too cold to swim in, even the room was cold. Our room was a decent size. The bed was rock hard. I felt like they nickel and dimed […] us every chance they got. Parking was not included in the stay. I'm glad I didn't pay full price. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to downtown"
Neat old train station convenient to downtown bars. Stayed in building 3. Elevators were not working. Stairwells were very dirty and musty. The interior hallways were hot. Room a/c was great. Shower curtain smelled terribly like mildew. Took a chance staying here. Sorry, but not going back.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Chattanooga Choo Choo I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I feel assured that if we had known of your concerns with your room we could have rectified the situation. We will use your comments to continue to improve our product and service. We would like to earn your business back. Regards, Jill Ellis QA
Toilet leaked, told when checking out, didn't really care.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We stayed here very last minute and had a great time! We were in building 3 and the room was huge! Lots of fun thing to see!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Chattanooga Choo Choo I am so glad that you enjoyed all of our amenities that we have to offer. We appreciate you sharing your story with us. Our goal is for every guest to walk away saying just what you have said. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM .
"Choo Choo disappointed."
There were ongoing renovations which meant we had to use the service elevator next to the laundry room. We were not told that there were 3 hotel buildings when we registered. After check in, we had to drive all the way back to Hotel #3 which appeared to be deserted. There were no hotel personnel in the building except the laundry room staff. We were […] not offered much information about how to get around, where to have breakfast, room service, etc. We felt somewhat abandoned after getting to our room. We would have preferred to stay in a room closer to the front desk, but were never asked. Our stay at the Choo Choo was disappointing all the way around, Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Chattanooga Choo Choo Thank you for your valuable feedback. I apologize for the situation that occurred. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM
This hotel is AMAZING when you first check in. They have rose gardens, a trolley ride, great food, nice pool ... but if you stay in hotel number three watch out for smelly halls, mold in the shower, and temporary having to use the service elevator. They are remodeling. Its going to be great when its done. Try to stay in the train cars ... way nicer […] and costs just a little extra. The surrounding area is great! You can practically walk everywhere. Just remember they are working to make it better and focus on the big picture :) Nice place for families and couples alike. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The bed mattress was like sleeping on a slab of concrete. When we got our final bill they had charged us $7.00 to park in the parking lot. This was above the final cost Hotel.com said our final bill was and they would not remove. I will never stay here again not in a good part of town.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Hotel room was as good as expected. Hotel lobby is cool, but room in hotel #3 too far from lobby and in need of some care. The Terminal Bar was excellantGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The history surrounding the Choo Choo made the outdated and uncomfortable room bearable. They are undergoing an extensive remodel (much needed) and we will revisit after the repairs are complete next spring.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Was looking forward to a historic stay and what we got was a mass remodeling mess and big disappointment with how the place is being maintained while the 8 million dollar renovation is taking place. They either need to lower the rates or do a better job of keeping the rooms and related areas bettered staffed and maintained. Breakfast was the only meal […] available because of the mass renovation. Would have been nice to have know that ahead of time instead of finding it out after we had planned a dinner at the hotel and was told there was no food for the guests except for breakfast. I will say the breakfast service and food was great. This hotel hopefully will become a great place to stay again but for now it leaves a lot to be desired. Also the grounds outside our balcony surrounding the pool were quite nice and Jim the GM was quite helpful and apologetic for our inconvenience. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Trains and history"
Loved the trains and the History of the place. It was an experience. Our first room was dated(the70' s) ,the carpet was nasty.A dirty wash cloth was in the bathroom floor when we arrive. But we stayed and had a restful night. We (my sister and I) decided to stay another night once we found out the actual train cars were available. This was not obvilious […] when making reservations. The staff at the desk were awesome. I want to stress that. Everything was clean in the train cars. Even had soap,shampoo which we hadn't realized weren't in the other room.neatly folded towels and .bottled Water were also in this room. However quaint everything was the walls between the two rooms were paper thin.I woke the baby in the next room by talking on the phone.We were woken ourselves by several intoxicated people walking by the cars at late hours.The next morning we were disturbed by a women roaming around in only a leopard print short robe.we understand that won't happen to everyone..We believe the Choo Choo had once been a grand place. It seemed deserted at times. There were signs that a restoration was in the near future .we plan to bring our families next time.It was a great place for Young children to explore a trains. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Chattanooga Choo Choo Thanks for your 4 star review! Sorry about the situation that occurred. I am pleased that you had a good experience overall.. Thanks for the great comments about the hotel and the staff! Thanks for recognizing the changes we are making. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM
Terrible experience!!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"A little older but a lot of charm"
Overall the stay was fine, you have to pay for parking which seems a little rediculous since they don't share it with anyone but it is only $7. The hotel itself was obviously older and could use some touch ups but the grounds had tons of charm. I would stay there again.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"If in Chatt. A worthwhile stay."
For a history or architecture buff a worthwhile stay. Having said that the hotel and especially bloc. 3 are showing their age.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great travel spot"
Lobby is gorgeous and you are right in the middle of a seemingly popular area of town... staff was great both night and morning crew... room was clean.. could use some updating but was again clean and quite spacious... pool was very cool and the 24 hour security is reassuring... my husband didnt sleep the best but beds werent horrible.. just averag […] e Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Chattanooga Choo Choo I am pleased that you had a good experience. Your 4 stars and means a lot to us. Thanks for your comments about the staff. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM
Arrived at The Chattanooga Choo Coo my reservation could not be found .... Spent an hour trying 2 get checked in ..No one Ever Apologize for the Inconvenience ...was asked 2 pay 400 additional dollars because they could not locate my reservation even after I gave them.my conformation number ...this was truly a nightmare ...but what gets me Beth ? Never […] apologize ... Geez ...No Thanks Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
The Hotel is very nice. We enjoyed the idea of the trains. The room was nice but the rugs felt damp and sticky. I did not feel comfortable without some footwear on. The only other thing I would say is that the drains in the bathroom did not drain properly. They need to be cleaned out. The convenience of the shuttle bus is a fabulous idea. Yes, I would […] recommend the hotel. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Brilliant....would go back in a heartbeatGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Old and run down."
Too expensive for the condition of the hotel. Front elevator out of service. Had to walk all the way to the back. Sliding door in room was filthy. No refrigerator, microwave, or dressers.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very happy with accommodations and near to shuttle to get to convention center.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"staff not accomidating!!!"
The staff needs to go to nice school!!! Saying thank you and being pleasant would go a long way.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We like the hotel. But the room needed a thorough cleaning. Toilet leaked water and the tub was not clean. They could save money by fixing the toilet.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great concept, tired rooms"
This has the potential to be a great hotel, however the section we stayed in (Building 1) was greatly in need of refreshing. Everything looked tired and abused. Note: we did not stay in one of the rail cars. We were there during a slow time, so did not experience much of the hustle and bustle we expected.Genuine Expedia guest review
I had always heard about the Choo Choo and chose it in part because of that. I thought it was supposed to be historical wonderful rooms.....NOT, although there were train car rooms....I was put in an old motel room. It was HOT, musty, humid. The button for the air was broken off. I had to use a flashlight to discover a peg of the button to cool the […] room. Within 15 minutes, I heard dripping and it had leaked a huge circle of water on the carpet in front of the bathroom. The lights had been unplugged. I called for service, when the service man came, he called and had me moved. He was very kind. However the new room was also hot. The TV had been unplugged and it took the security man and myself to figure it out. The beds were HORRIBLE! By morning I had terrible hip pain from the mattress. There were no blankets just a light one with a sheet so you could not sleep cool with blankets. Then the phone did not work in the new room so I could not even call for help! This was sadly disappointing. I was hoping for a time of refreshment staying there and instead I was worn out. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Iconic hotel stay"
Having read the mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. OK, so the hotel isn't in great condition (renovations planned for 2015), and it's possible to stay in cheaper rooms, but if you want to soak up the atmosphere and stay somewhere a little different then stay here. The neighbourhood is also being redeveloped, so there are a few interesting galleries […] and cafes just around the corner too. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Stay... Very nice to our little dog!"
Close to everything, and great for the dog.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
This hotel is due to be renovated in the very near future, and really needs it. The bathtub had no stopper, so it had to be a shower, like it or not. Elevator is very tiny. They charge $7.00 a day to park at your hotel. They did not mention that when we booked.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Not happy with the changes being made"
My husband and son volunteer on the Tennessee Valley Railroad so we come to Chattanooga often. We have always loved staying at the Choo Choo Hotel. We loved the buffet on Saturday nights and also loved going to the Station House restaurant where the waiters and waitresses sing to you. We were very sad to hear they are closing both of these restaurants! […] I understand wanting to bring new things into the hotel like the comedy bar and the sports bar, but not at the expense of the other two restaurants. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Poor Customer Service"
This stay was not as planned. I have always liked the Choo Choo and it's historic personality, but this stay was not good. They stuck us at the furthest building even though it was mostly deserted. They put us on the 5th floor even though the elevators were out of service for remodel. They charged us for parking but gave no amenities with it. I would […] not stay here again. The location is far away from where Downtown is growing. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"It's a place to sleep"
Not bad, it's clean and comfortable but outdated. Like going into a time machine. Evidently they are making some renovations though.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
We always pleased to go here for a night away. We are deeply sadden that the station house restraunt will be closing. That is our #1 reason we love to go here.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
I'd always heard about the Chattanooga Choo Choo and was very excited about the opportunity to plan a special romantic get away there. I was very disappointed. The Grand Lobby is shabby and run down as were the rooms and property in general accommodations were not cheap and we did not get the value for money spent The city experience was great but the […] hotel experience was less than acceptable Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )