"Great place to stay, but..."
Great location, river views, and condition. Rooms a bit small. My big gripe is the nickel and diming to pad the bill- overpriced parking at $32/night and $10-15/day for internet access? You can get free internet access in most places at half this rate. Pretty cheesy for a chain that tries to emphasize quality.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Decent hotel to attend concert at Moda Center"
Upon arrival, Valet Parking was extremely congested and confusing. There were eight in our party and the staff checking us in were wonderful and efficient. They suggested the best way to get to Moda Center (Max) and mentioned fun places to stop at on the way back from the concert. We had dinner in the hotel bar and our server was awesome; we came back […] to the bar after the concert and were lucky enough to get the same server. Our hotel room was clean and comfortable, but for the price, I was expecting a little more. Yes, I realize it's downtown Portland, but was a little disappointed that the room was small and "plain jane". Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for the rave reviews of our staff - a great hotel is great because of it's people and our staff takes pride in the hotel and work well together to serve our guests. You may be interested to know our hotel will be completing a renovations project for our rooms at the end of this year. We hope you come back to see us again soon and let us know what you think of our new product.
The hotel was wonderful, room good sized and well furnished. Two small negatives, #1it was very noisy- street noise in the room even at night, #2 the pillows were overly soft which I don't like. Even with the small things I would use this hotel again. But would remember some ear plugs.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The room was very small and I wanted 2 beds ,but was given a very poor roll bed , which made no room to even walk aroundGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"OK hotel, great location. Horrible room."
Arrived at check-in, "I see you booked through Expedia, how about a room overlooking the water?" sounds great. Get to the room and paint is missing from sliding bathroom door, scuff marks on walls and best part no refrigerator, oh there was a spot in the cabinet for one, it just wasn't there and it had been listed as an item that came with the room. […] We called the front desk and were told "that is a popular request right now. We see you are staying two nights call back tomorrow and we will see if we can get you one".... ARE YOU KIDDING ME! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I apologize for your disappointing stay. Your concerns are important to us as well and it is clear we did not live up to our own standards. Our hotel does have refrigerators available on request, but we obviously did not have enough of them to meet the demand while you were here. Our hotel will undergo renovations to our guestrooms at the end of this year and refrigerators will be in all of our guestrooms. We hope you take the opportunity to come to Portland in the future and stay with us again!
"Comfy but loud"
The hotel was lovely and the room itself was very clean and comfortable, if small. The only major complaint I have is that the location could be a bit closer to inexpensive restaurants and the hotel's soundproofing is not what I would expect. I had to turn on a noise machine app on my phone to be able to sleep.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel close to downtown."
Friendly staff. Good customer service. Room was quiet. Overall good experienceGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for the kind review of our hotel. We appreciate you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. Please come to visit with us again soon!
"Nice but not worth the price"
It was good. The hotel is in an excellent location. I was there for a conference and it's always nice to stay at the conference hotel. However I feel this hotel is overpriced. It's a very small room, and it's really nothing special. For the rate they charged I was expecting something better.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Very nice, close to everything down town. Great"
The staff all went out of there way to help. It was a very relaxing stay. Thank youGenuine Expedia guest review
I was disappointed with the $32 per night charge for parking. There was nothing mentioned in the web site, so it came as a surprise when we pulled up. To make matters worse, we found out later that we could have parked across the street in a public lot for $19 per night. The hotel itself was very nice, and the staff was great. We enjoyed our stay, but […] the high parking fee will make us think twice about coming back. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good Waterfront Location"
Excellent customer service. Food was excellent in the bar and restaurant.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Very nice stay"
Much much nicer than I expected for the price. I have paid twice as much and not been ner as satisfied.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The staff was fantastic and I was impressed with how friendly and personable everyone was. There were minor things that stuck out such as only having free wi-fi on the 2nd floor. One had to pay if you wanted it in your room. You also had to pay for the bottled water in your room. It would have been nice to have small complimentary bottles available […] . Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
I travel a lot (but hardly ever feel like writing reviews) and this was the first time I've stayed at this particular location. The staff was by far the friendliest hotel staff I've ever encountered. The room was very clean and the breakfast was great and reasonably priced considering the selection they had on the buffet. The location was perfect - […] one block away from I-5 and close to great restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for your rave review of our hotel. The staff takes great pride in their service and it is a pleasure to have it recognized. I will pass this along for our staff to review. Thank You!
Great hotel to stay at. Had a great deal. Will recommend. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff that remembered my name.Genuine Expedia guest review
Wonderful experience! Came to town for a race, and have another coming up in May, and will be planning to stay at the marriot again!Genuine Expedia guest review
"Check in was a nightmare and very scary!"
We checked in to the hotel after a long drive from Seattle. The man at the front desk said "I would like to upgrade you to our concierge level", so I ask if the bellman coule take our bags to the room. Well, I opened the door ahead of the bellman and there was a naked man on the bed! My girlfriend and myself were appalled. The bellman apologized, quickly […] got us another room and said he would immediately send us a cheese and wine tray. we got settled in our room and the tray never showed up. I had to call twice for it. this make our 1 night stay a horrible experience...stay away! Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and I apologize for this incident. Our goal of having a relaxing stay for our guests is of most importance to us and it is obvious we did not live up to our reputation. We have reviewed this incident with the staff to make sure we do not have this happen again. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the future and to welcome you back and show you what a great hotel and staff we have.
The hotel staff was extremely polite, friendly and helpful.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"the waterfront is a great hotel."
my stay at the waterfront was great. this is the second time i have stayed there, and both times the staff were always very helpful.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Nice hotel downtown."
We stayed for three nights while attending a dance convention. The hotel staff was terrific, very helpful and pleasant. The room was comfortable and well maintained I would definitely recommend this to someone wanting to stay in the downtown area.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Overall Great Value"
Great location & good value. The first room we were given upon check-in was next to a bachelorette party...very loud. When we realized this, we went back to the front desk & asked for another room. They gave us a very nice room & the rest of the stay was pleasant. The valet was really pricey so that was a mistake to use. Though the folks were super […] polite, save the money and self-park! Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
"Excellent customer service!"
Spent my 45th bday in Portland at the Marriott. The service was excellent and I would stay there again.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Everything was nice, but the room itself"
The hotel was extremely fancy. Loved everything about the hotel until I got to the room. Wayyyy too small and the TV needs to be desperately replaced. Clearly the cheapest "HDTV" they could find.Genuine Expedia guest review
The room was very, very small. No sitting area, fridge, microwave....Otherwise it was good. Just have come to expect at least a mini fridge in the room.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Switched Rooms due to dirty room"
Upon check in the valet was strange to me, looking at me weird. There were people everywhere. Very busy hotel. The front desk gave me a dirty room on the 3rd floor so I had to go back to the lobby and get a new room and was given the 16th floor. Then everything was much better. Clean room and seemed newer or just not many guests stay up there. Express […] check out works great and valet retrieved my car promptly. Overall a great hotel except some minor details. I'd stay here again. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I'm sorry we missed the mark with your first room and apologize for the inconvenience. Our staff is very proud of this hotel and the service we offer, but it's clear we missed on your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Besides a little mix up with our rooms and having to pay $10.00 per day for wi-fi the hotel was a great value and an excellent experience.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Good stay, reasonable price"
The price was fair, but not overly cheap, good location, and clean rooms.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"great location, great service"
I was very happy with this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone going to Portland for the first time. Walking distance to all the best attractions. Staff was great, room was great- view was perfect!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice Hotel and great location."
Had a great time with my Grandson and Husband. Played in the amazing pool and hot tub. Walked over the bridge to the OMSI.Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Our pool, hot tub and exercise room are a great way to relax at the end of a long day. We're glad you were able to enjoy it! We're looking forward to a renovation of our guest rooms later this year and hope you take the opportunity to visit us again when we premier our new room package!
"Birthday in Portland"
Great time and great room. At end of hall looking over the river.Genuine Expedia guest review
The checkin desk staff were all well groomed, articulate and extremely helpful. Why should this be surprising in today's hospitality industry? For a big hotel, everything was fine.Genuine Expedia guest review
Very satisfied.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"unfriendly staff, rooms decent"
We asked for a room with a balcony as shown on our hotel confirmation, staff didn't care and gave us a room without one after explaining, that was no big deal to us. Then we asked for an extended checkout and the guy we spoke to rudely said 1 hour max or else we would get charged by the hour. Went to the bar to order drinks and the bartender ran to […] grab the manager as if we did something wrong, manager came out to unpleasantly ask for our IDs and asked bluntly asked what we wanted to drink. The drink we wanted was down to the last drip so she seemed irritated that she had to walk somewhere to get more in the back. When checking out none of the staff bothered to ask us about or stay or anything like that. The only friendly people we came across working in the hotel throughout our experience were the valet guys. Definitely put a bad impression on Marriotts customer motives. The Governor hotel in Portland on the other hand was awesome worth spending a little more. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We're sorry your impression of our hotel was not a positive experience. Our staff prides themselves on giving excellent service. We will review your comments with our hosts in an effort to learn from your experience and we wlcome the opportunity to serve you in the future.
"Not the best stay, but not the worst either"
I reserved a water facing room with two queen beds. At check-in, they had a water facing room with one king bed. They ended up putting us in a water facing handicap accessible room with two double beds. Room was okay...beds weren't that comfortable, not book in the room describing the hotel amenities/services and the hot water in the sink took forever […] to get warm...never did get hot; but the shower was hot. No refrigerator in the room which would have been nice to keep cold drinks in. No newspaper in the morning (not even a USA Today). Main restaurant only served breakfast...good food but expensive ($43 + tip for two people). The only place to eat lunch or dinner was in the "Bistro" which was basically the bar with some added tables for eating. Bistro/bar waiters were exceptionally nice. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and I apologize for your less than Brilliant Stay. Our hotel staff prides themselves on giving excellent service in a clean hotel and we obviously did not live up to our own expectations. Our guests have told us they prefer the atmosphere of our "Bistro" rather than the Truss restaurant for a lunch and dinner option. Regarding our in-room amenities, we do offer refrigerators upon request and as a "Green" hotel we no longer deliver newspapers to every guestroom but we do make them available upon request. We hope when you visit Portland again that you give us an opportunity to show you what a great hotel and staff we have.
"My hotel room had a river view and was very quiet."
Good experience. I have stayed here once before in the winter. Close to downtown and walking distance ot MAX, etc. The river view on a snowy weekend was appreciated. Very quiet room and very clean. Breakfast was over priced. It would be nice to have some sort of discount if you are a guest. Very cold and snowy weekend and the hotel have free hot chocolate […] which was some of the best I have had in years. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Will definitely stay there the next time we come to Portland (5/14) but hope the weather will be better. Not prepared for seven inches of snow and freezing rain with no snow removal. Believe it or not, was glad to get back to Chicago with below zero wind chill temperatures but at least with cleared streets and sidewalks!Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Close to restaurants and shopping"
Excellent especially under extreme weather conditionsGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"Great Hotel but bad house keeping"
The hotel is great, rooms are decent but still has popcorn ceilings. Location is right in downtown, walking distance to everything. The only bad thing was that house keeping never came to make my room everyday I was there. The privacy sign was not on the door. Came back to the room everyday disappointed and had to call the front desk for them to make […] it up while I left the room for dinner. Front desk said my room was marked as clean on their books and was surprised. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront I apologize that housekeeping did not service your room in a timely manner. I understand how frustrating that can be when you return to your room after a long day only to find that housekeeping has not taken care of your room. When you return to Portland, please let us know you are coming, we would like the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have and that the staff is commited to great service.
The hotel was fine. Great service at front desk. Parking very expensive at hotel and surrounding area. Makes room prices go up at least $35/day.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
"Nice hotel. Decent rate."
Nice hotel for the money. We were upgraded to a room on a high floor with a beautiful view of the river and mountains in the back ground. Good location. An easy walk to most of downtown Portland.Genuine Expedia guest review
"Could have been better"
I have an over-all rating of 3 for this location, but rate everything else as a 4. Seem odd? I brought the overall rating down due to two things. First, the walls in the place are paper thin between the rooms. Not only could we hear our "neighbor" use the toilet, but we could then hear him/her zip their pants up. Second, on Sunday morning we went to […] the restaurant for breakfast and were told there would be a 35 minute wait while they cleared off tables. Now that seems a little extreme. So, we went down to the lobby bar that has a few breakfast items, took a seat at a table, and we were then ignored for 15 minutes while the employees there served walk-ups and talked and laughed amonst themselves. We left before being talked to. We had had room service breakfast the day before, and the food was not that good. Would we stay there again? No, we would not. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
The room looked out over the water and it was a great view!!! The only complaint would be a train went by (somewhere) around 4 am and blew it's whistle much longer than seemed necessary.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Nice hotel- frustrating to be charged for internet but they did remove the charge at check out when I mentioned it.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Has everything you could need with very comfortable rooms and nice bed.Genuine Expedia guest review
Nice hotel on the waterfront. Great 10th floor view of the river, east Portland, and beautiful Mt Hood. The only problem was the sound of trains blowing their horns constantly after midnight into early morning.Genuine Hotels.com guest review
The Marriott is a beautiful hotel in downtown Portland. However, they do not offer guest parking (other than valet for $32 a night) nor do they offer free wi-fi. If you are a business traveler on an expense account and without a car this would be a great location, but for the casual traveler driving through there are better choices in the greater Portland […] area. Read moreGenuine Hotels.com guest review
"No attention to detail"
The problems overshadowed how nice a place it was. The room was nice but a shoe and deoderant were left under the bed. That was not as weird as the silicone breast enhancers outside on the terrace to the parking garage. Perhaps the most disturbing was the fact that there were people jumping on the roof of the parking valet area from the balcony in their […] room. If it was not for all that we would have enjoyed the nice room and the hotel much more. Read moreGenuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our staff prides themselves on giving great service and providing a clean hotel room for your stay. I apologize for our lack of detail for your stay. We hope when you visit Portland again, that you give us the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have.
"close to the river trail"
The motel itself is great but there everything costs - wi-fi, coffee, everythingGenuine Hotels.com guest review
Lady checking us in was unfriendly and aloof. Overnight parking was $32.00. Also, had to pay for internet access. Seemed like they dinged you every chance they could!Genuine Expedia guest review
Response by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront Thank you for staying at the Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront. We appreciate you for taking the time to review our hotel. Valet service parking is an added expense to your stay as available spaces for parking in the downtown area are very limited, however we ensure that our pricing is competitive in the market. We apologize for the lack of service you experienced at the front desk. We pride ourselves on the high level of service you come to expect from Marriott and we continuously take steps to improve it. Your feedback is invaluable in this process and we wanted to thank you for that.
Great staff, great people. Thanks Marriott !Genuine Hotels.com guest review
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews
We are now watching this hotel on your travel dates
( - )